Fat Women

BIG BEAUTIES. The buxom Tonya Babb is the new Big & Beautiful queen in Barbados. Babb, who also took prizes for Best Talent and Congeniality, was crowned Sunday night at the Sherbourne Conference Centre before a packed audience. Babb, Miss A&T Marine, beat the Berry’s-sponsored Stephanie Skinner and Miss Sharon’s International Fish Latoya Marshall into second and third respectively. Skinner was awarded additional prizes for Best Business Wear and Most Improved, while second runner-up Marshall walked away with Miss Photogenic. In this Sandy Pitt picture, the happy queen (centre) shares the moment with first runner-up Stephanie Skinner (right) and third placed Latoya Marshall.

We shall digress from the politics to discuss how we feel about the ‘Big Beauties Show’ which was recently held at the Sherbourne Conference Centre. Based on feedback a good time was had by all. We wonder how many people in the audience attended the show out of desire to positively support the fat participants or whether it was the opportunity to have a good laugh. Let us say up front that we harbour no ill feelings towards any of the fat participants, all of our anger is targeted at the organizers of the show. We feel to a man in the BU household that a show which is held to parade obese woman is an unethical and insensitive act. We believe that it was staged to exploit for financial rewards ONLY. Remember that Barbados when last we checked has been given the honour to occupy twelfth position on the fattest country list in the whole wide world.

What an honour!

The fat women who participated in the show should be respected as individuals but at the same time must be told to go and loose some weight pronto! By ‘bigging-up’ these woman what are we saying to the wider society? We know the response, yeah, yeah, fat people are people too. Sorry people that does not wash as all! We now live in a country where to eat junk food, sit in-front the big screen television and gossip on the phone is part and parcel of our lifestyle. We offer no apology for saying that those fat people who participated in the ‘Big and Buxom Show’ need to examine what they are doing by first rearranging some of their life’s priorities. We could list all the ways a fat person is inhibited from enjoying many simple things which life has to offer them but why bother. It’s their right to parade their fat and physically unappealing bodies on stage! BU loves you but we will love you some more if you stop ‘wolfing’ down all those carbohydrates and start to manage your diet.

Here is something to think about:

When any man sees this woman and he sees a fat woman how do you think he will respond? Something to think about. No one can have the perfect body but we can try. Stop glamorizing obesity. It is costing the Barbados government mega-bucks in healthcare as well as chasing our men from the bedrooms.

129 responses to “Big Women + Fat Women = Unhealthy Women”

1. Here’s congratulations to a person who is overweight but as Ian so pointed out, will have no problem with her heart because of her broad hips.

The BWA’s PRO now acting as Project Manager, Marketing/
    Communications was recently engaged to another BWA employee Stephen Griffith.

Here’s to her health and happiness.

Congrats

2. The Devils Advocate Avatar
    The Devils Advocate

I have been fat, I have been slim, both times I have been critisized by the public. Barbadians need to mind their own business. Some of you do not understand what anorexic is yet you affix that label to others. I am 5’9″ and weigh 135lbs yet Barbadians call me “anorexic”. When I was heavier (181lbs) everyone was telling me how ‘good’ I look. I did not feel that I looked good. I am tall with a small frame and 181lbs was too much for me to carry. I am under constant pressure to ‘eat more’ and to stop ‘starving’ myself. My metabolic rate is so high that even though I am always hungry I no longer gain weight the way I did before. I have noticed that some of the larger women in society have something against any person slimmer than they are and feel free to make comments but I cannot dare to call them fat. Its seems that women are pressured to be fat in Barbados because men here seem to prefer larger women. I know of men who deliberately sabotage their mates attempts to lose weight and we usually say that a woman should be glad that he loves her fat. Does he really love her fat or does he feel more secure with a fat woman? We need to understand that some men do not have loving intentions when they choose a fat mate or try to keep her fat, despite health problems. Overweight women in Barbados do not have trouble finding sex partners or husbands, this is why the majority of women are overweight. If bajan men really liked women slim there would be more slim women. We are so used to being big that we desribe normal sized women as anorexic.

3. Here is an interesting bit of trivia.

Since posting this topic it has consistently remain in the top ten most popular topics. It receives hits daily from all over the world by people who seem to have a healthy apetite for information about obesity, fat, big and several other search words which are used to stumble on this topic.

4. partly bajan girl Avatar
    partly bajan girl

An interesting topic and very important to discuss!
    Its tasteless to show both socalled “beauty” of too fat or too skinny woman on a runaway or in contests.
    The women here are beautiful,but not because they are fat,but because they bear their weight with pride.
    Thats not what i wanne attack,either.
    I am a littble bit too heavy myself,and then its nice to be appreciated so much anyway by bajan men.
    But on the other side,i do not want to be a “kink-object,either”
    The ideal of beauty from old Africa is also a bit different than the western ideal generally.
    And that again derives from different livingconditions ,powerty etc.
    From I(i`m born in Scandinavia) first visited Barbados and till now,I have seen a quite sad development in the way that there are more cars pr. household(noone WALKS anymore in my grandparents neighbourhood),more cheap junkfood instead of the delicious,homemade original “slow-food” of Barbados,
    and a lot of fatter and fatter Bajans.
    Its not a good development,even if it reminds of the U.S.
    I think the healthoutorities must be much more aware of how advertising and lifestyle is projected from U.S to here,especially by magazines ,shopping malls and TV.
    IMO,its too many cars on this island,and thats a serious problem,enviromentally and from a healthview.
    Many bajans have big and many cars now,but a ridicoulos short distance to walk on this tiny island!

5. partly bajan girl~some good points! We live in a Barbados today which is focussed on the economic side of things. Despite our reputed higher education our behaviour is out of alignment. Maybe one day our people will realize that we don’t have to justify or find excuses for every thing that is not “good”.

6. It dosen’t matter what the size is, what matter is the heart of the person you’re dealing with. i love big and fat women and cabt stand slim women. its all about choice and interest. big and fat women has a lot of fleash to give and juices but slim ones gives only bones and little skin to hang on…i never see anybody that goes to a meat shop and buy bones less fleshy meat. no one.

7. Partly bajan girl Avatar
    Partly bajan girl

Oh God!
    This is not a discussion about what bodyfigure you prefer on them girls,
    but about how Bajan community (and others),are strongly influenced by a “high-culture” that want us to drown in fat as long as we pay.
    This topics answers so far,
    only make my suspicion stronger about that smart and talking Bajan girls arent considered sexy?;-))

8. We noticed Liz has been gaining some pounds again. We noticed also that after dancing about 1 minute to her introduction song before taking the platform last night she was badly out of breath and had to ask for water.

Makes his go ummmmmmmm.

9. I really do admire full figure women …they hold their heads up with grace….they are articulate….friendly and always makes u go.whew…when they are dressed…so special they ladies are…so remain focus ladies…

10. BU, I think you need to read up on why some people are as you call it obese. Some are due to genes, some because of desease. I for one tried to fit into what “gods judges on why people are obese” sure i lost only if i didnt eat anything. sence i dont even eat 1000 cals a day as it is i dropped down to 500 a day. i would lock myself away everyday in a room without water or anything. i dropped the pounds in 7 mos. what did it cost me? my life. i now due to the yo yo dieting ended up with liver disease. plus all the illnesses that go with it. i dont have long to live. was it worth trying to be what dumbbutts think i should be? hell no. everyone in my family is large as far back as i can remember. and dont tell me a farmer who eats only what they raise after working day in and day out by hand not machines works the farm but still was a large person. if your not a doctor then shut up. you dont know nothing.. if they want to have a beauty contest good for them.. i was a model in a show once. people are what people are and if you have a problem with people being obese then stuck it up. most people are. and by the way my husband said that gal you have one here is one he would run from for sure cuz she looks like something the dogs buried. of course im sure you are like some of the asses that go to chat rooms who think that putting people down due to size is “helping” we have heard it all.. you dont know the pain some go though due to people like you.. could we call this a hate crime? just a thought.. you can answer this if you wish but i wont come back to this site its to dumb to bother with.. what a loser site

11. The Devils Advocate Avatar
    The Devils Advocate

Yes, some of us have genes that cause us to be overweight but most of us overeat. Some of the women that you describe as ‘skin and bones’ and ‘something the dog buried’ are normal size for the genes they were given. Some women are big boned and need more flesh to cover their bones some have a small frame that cannot carry the weight, it is not fair for society to expect ALL women to be one size or another and place value judgements on people based on their size. Generalisations do not work but I must generalise and say that I have found that fat women who are fat by their own making tend to insult every slim woman they see. Fat women who are comfortable with their size tend to carry their weight better, so much so that they are not considered fat. Some of you who like fat are just as shallow as those who like thin and you try to insult or pull down those who do not fit your idea of beauty. Strangely enough fat women do not care how they hurt their slimmer sisters with their insensitive comments yet we slimmer women cannot openly refer to fat women in derrogatory terms. Some of the women around me blame the birth of their children for their increase in weight (some of the babies are teenagers). I have given birth to three children and yet I have remained slim. I have never been on a diet in my life nor do I belong to a gym so why is it that my children have not ‘destroyed my body’. Stop blaming innocent children and own up to the truth.

12. loss so wiregfht

13. I have read most of the comments posted here and do agree that the issues of health and appearance seem to have become quite blurry as we continue to speak on the general topic of Obesity- because basically we seem unsure of what healthy really looks like.

Health sometimes (actually most times) cannot be measured by how a person looks. A fact that might have been pointed out already.

I dont think the BBW show was created to tell women that they should be unhealthy and eat as badly as they can, just to be paraded before an audience of unruly people who want to laugh. Quite the opposite!!

As far as ‘glamourizing’ goes, I dont think it is about that at all! One woman thought she could make some ladies feel good about themselves by offering them an opportunity to dress up and look beautiful and feel appreciated.

All beauty shows in my estimation are essentially ‘meat markets’ and it so happens these BBW shows have more ‘meat’ that the standard beauty shows, but these larger women represent a growing sector of our community. Is the waif-like anorexic appearance more tolerated that the obese one simply because there is less flesh and fabric used? Is thin the more acceptable norm for us to see ‘glamourized’? By targeting this show are you not saying that Health=NOT BEING FAT? So you (BU)have created the blur of health being synonymous with appearance. As David, you have agreed with that when you said,” It does not mean that we are saying all obese people are ‘unhealthy’”.

So I guess all I am trying to say is:
    The standard beauty shows offer younger girls opportunities, why cant a BBW show do the same?
    Instead of pulling down the show and obese people as just people who eat loads and don’t exercise, why can’t sponsors offer lifestyle prizes – gym memberships, healthy cooking classes and other POSITIVE prizes that affirm, and not just for weight loss (appearance only) reasons but Healthy ones. And have these bigger ladies address other women about lifestyle changes, this may help to change the perceptions of healthy living, because the larger people in the community are sick of ‘skinny’ people saying that Healthy=Skinny, slim cannot always in this ‘expanding’ society be the poster boy for Healthy.

Let us try to help the upliftment of our fellow person, regardless of race, religion, hairstyle or size. Let’s build upon someone’s attempt at helping a sector of society by contributing positively rather than tearing down.

To David: Wasn’t that the premise on which this site was built?

14. I always find it amusing how people who don’t have a clue are always the first to talk. It is sickening how everybody will get down on an easy target. Illness & general bad health are not specifically reserved to fat people. Every fat person did not purposely get fat. A lot work hard at trying to be healthy sometimes it works and other times it doesn’t. We have to live with it. I don’t envy either a fat person or a slim one, every body should just live their lives and MYOB. If I choose to enter a show it is my business. If you want to come and laugh at me it is your pathetic business. Statements like Professor Fraser’s just gall me because nobody is poking at him and telling him how awful he is as a human because of one flaw. Get over it! I am trying the best I can to live a happy and fulfilled life right now, must I waste my time trying to live up to YOUR ideal!?!

15. Bajan_Sun_Goddess Avatar
    Bajan_Sun_Goddess

i’m new soo i’ll reopen this one. i really am trying to understand the eva mendez tribute. are you trying to say that thin women are beautiful and large women are ugly? i’m not a skinny minny sooo i find this kind of insulting and offensive. also, to say that fat women drive men out the bedrooms? To each man his own. there are many men who prefer large women, whilst many men prefer thin women.

If a person being fat offends you, then dont look. Have we soo adopted western standards that we believe that being thin equals beauty, sophistication and a higher level of desirability?
    If you are fat and you are fine with that then so be. if you arent then change it.

i’m sick of ppl telling me how to live and act and dress and look just cause it makes them feel more comfortable. screw them. i do what makes me happy the same way throwing up your food makes you happy. embrace the cheesecake!!

16. BSG you have gone back in the archives haven’t you 🙂

Look the thrust of out blog was to focus on how the show maybe glamorizing being fat. The problem we highlighted as a result is that fat is generally known/proved to be unhealthy.

Nothing personal!

17. All I know is that all the big fat girls who went to school with me, that is women who were shorter than 5 ft, 7 inches and more than 220 pounds by age 18 were all dead before the age of 55.

So continue fooling yourself if you wish.

It does not matter what you boyfriend or husband likes.

Obesity kills.

18. Devils advocate Avatar
    Devils advocate

“I do what makes me happy the same way throwing up your food makes you happy. embrace the cheesecake!!”
    Are all slim people anorexic?
    BSG does not seem very happy despite the comment.

19. A fat behind + 2 large lovely bubbies + wide hips + strong legs with shapely calves + fat pouty lips + teeth so white yuh need sunglasses + smooth jet black skin = heaven’s delight (if God got anything better, He kept it for Himself)

20. What you need to focus on is why the rate of addictions is on the increase, whether it be food, drugs, alcohol or even sex. The problem is that each generation feels worse about who they are then the previous one did. We are raising children, girls and boys with broken spirits and no self esteem to speak of. As an obese person myself, I know what emotional eating is about. And strongly feel that until we look at the root cause we will never turn the tide on the disease. But in the meantime, have some respect for these men and women, its not so easy to overweight in a society that worships thin and being told constantly in some form that we are not good enough only serves to compound the issue.
    And as for that rather silly Video you have placed here, yes Eva is truly beautiful but it would be fantastic if the video itself was not vertically distorted making her look even thinner than she really is. And while you are at it, how about a blog on the rampant costs and health risks of bulemia and annorexia.

21. Sally the point of our blog is not to ridicule fat people. You seem to have become emotional about the subject and given your admission we understand. We want to highlight how obesity is being glamorize in these types of beauty competitions. This is our opinion. You mention about us making fun of obese people who are battling a desease.

You must separate the obesity caused by biological dysfunction and then there is the lifestyle part, the people who eat too much etc.

22. Obesity is not a disease.

Obesity causes disease.

I mentioned obesity as a disease to a sister (who is a nurse) and she retorted, “you notice that there no obese people in Haiti”

Disease what.

Cut down, on the starch, fat and sugar.

And get moving.

23. Bajan_Sun_Goddess Avatar
    Bajan_Sun_Goddess

actually,devils advocate, i consider myself to be quite happy being the way i am. also, not all skinny women are not anorexic however alot of women either throw up their food or smoke to remain thin. They are both unhealthy practices.

i understand the need for persons to be healthy and being fat does put a strain on your organs and makes them work harder i agree. however if a person is quite content being fat that is their choice. when they get sick, they foot de bill.

However i still have the issue with the eva mendez video. In my opinion, it’s telling me if you want to be beautiful, look like her. can any of you men honestly say you have never seen a beautiful woman who was fat? It’s all on how you carry yourself, dont you think.

24. Dear Bajan Sun Godess: The truth is that when fat people become sick the taxpayers foot the bill. I believe that I read in yesterday’s paper that the current Minister of Health was saying that the last survey showed that the taxpayers pay upwards of $50 million a year treating fat related illnesses.

Eat more fruit and vegatables.

Eat less fat, sugar and simple carbohyudrates.

Sweat for at least 1/2 hour everyday.

No need to smoke.

No need to throw up your food.

Sweat more. Eat less.

25. We read in the press yesterday that the Big and Beautiful Show is floundering on the rocks. No sponsors willing to jump on board. We thought it funny that criteria for entering the show is to be 250 lbs and one of the prices is gym membership. We are sorry but we can’t understand it!

26. Devils Advocate Avatar
    Devils Advocate

“actually,devils advocate, i consider myself to be quite happy being the way i am. also, not all skinny women are not anorexic however alot of women either throw up their food or smoke to remain thin. They are both unhealthy practices”

So basically you are saying that the only way to be thin is to stop eating, throw up your food or smoke?
    Why is it that people try so hard to find something abnormal about being slim?
    Obesity is defined as being VERY overweight 100-150lbs heavier than the average for your height. ‘Obese’ is not used for those who are 20-50lbs over.
    I find that ‘fat’ and obese are used interchangeably in these postings.
    5’9″, 165lbs=fat
    5’9″, 300lbs=Obese
    5’9″, 450lbs= morbidly obese
    A fat woman can still be healthy but an obese person cannot fool themselves that their body is functioning properly. Yes I have seen beautiful fat women as well as beautiful obese women, but is beauty all?
    If you are 60-100lbs over average please, my sisters, do not follow the normal route of denial, get out there, get moving and work on activating your metabolism.
    My family has lost almost all of it’s BBW’s (and BBM’s) to strokes, heart attacks and complications from diabetes. If you are fat, fine but if you are obese we may lose you way sooner than we would like and then what would be the point of being beautiful?

27. i am new to this site so some one enlight me as to who david is ….is the manager of the site? let me quote u right you said “the point of our blog is not to ridicule fat people “but yet u start the blog with a tribute to eva mendes who is a recovering drug addict by the way ..and has admitted to eating disorders in the past ….wow this is the perfect woman ? i on the other hand is what society deems over weight, and i have always been from a child and i have always been active in sports …..i even represented my country in sports, i always get a clean bill of health ……

28. do u really think all men chose slim woman over fat ones ….how old are you really ?

29. teardrop, fyi, all men may not prefer a fat woman over a slim one… however the fact remains that slim is not always beautiful. What about those slim girls that are so ‘tweet tweet tweet’ or for lack of better words UGLY and all the larger ones that so appealing to the eye. At the end of the day it lies in the eyes of the beholder… how old are you now?

30. teardrop, you tell them that being overweightis not always unhealthy.. i too am big and when i go to the gym the slim girls are struggling to catch up with me…. if the big and beautiful show embraces obesity… what can be said about miss teen barbados and miss barbados world? Well call me shallow but when our young women see these ‘model type’ figures it promotes anorexia in hope of them being what accepted as “beautiful” teardrop i am on your side… bajans need to stop being so biased and take their heads from the clouds.

31. Whether ya fat (like me) or slim, when ya numba call, ya got to go and meet ya Maker. So eat, drink and be merry ’cause today could be ya las’ mas. Ease off de fat gals man.
    How ya like ma?

32. MY RESPONSE:

There is TOO MUCH FAT ON DE ROAD. as sung by me -Asiba-The Buffalo Soldier

The FAT is sinking down Barbados to way below sea-level.

The situation needs arresting not caressing.

In Japan in order to combat rising obesity as a result of western influenced diet, the Government has mandated that women’s waist should not exceed 26 ” and men not to exceed 33 ”

A lot of FAT is based on ignorance, laziness and indiscipline.

No excuses ! Stop eating so much crap, start to exercise more and check my video to the song TOO MUCH FAT ON DE ROAD on youtube.

Asiba say so.
    Asiba is the commander in chief of MAF-which is MOVEMENT AGAINST FAT.

33. DONT GET TIE UP:

I dont hate FAT people as some persons seem to think.

As a matter of fact: I love FAT people
    I love to see FAT people
    I want to see FAT people
    I love to see FAT people
    I want to see FAT people………..

in the gym …….exercising
    HUFFING AND PUFFING
    CRINGING AND SWEATING
    AND DOING SOME FATBUSTING

34. Asiba,
    You got a problem wid fat people (like me) and I got a problem wid ugly men like you. I could lose weight starting now but you will always be ugly. Tek dah.
    How ya like ma?

35. I am on a serious mission to keep this whole situation about FAT and overeating on the front burner because it represents a threat to health of the nation.

Our Prime Minister has just alluded to the situation of chronic non-communicable diseases—lifestyle diseases. The Minister of Health has dealt with this matter. Dr.Henry Fraser has been on it for years. Dr. George Alleyne has stated that people in Barbados are getting fatter and fatter.

It is a BIG problem -no doubt.

When I wrote and recorded the song Too much FAT on de Road, I did it from a healthy lifestyle perspective, not as any attack on FAT people.

No one can deny that Obesity and our eating habits are of concern. A lot of what we eat and how we eat and drink is based on ignorance and misguided approaches brought all the way down from slavery. It is the continued enslavement of ignorance that I am dealing with here not any personal attack on FAT people.

I am consious of the cost to the healthcare system of people eating and drinking indiscrimately and growing FAT and overweight. I am well aware that this is money that could be spent on areas such as education and housing. The simple thing is that lifestyle diseases can be avoided by a more enlightened approach.

Your comment above is not called for

Iam not that sort of person and that is why I would not hide behind the cloak of annonymity

36. Asiba,
    You are implying that all fat people overeat and that is simply not true. Some fat people would tell you that they eat very little but maybe it has something to do with their genes or some other problem. Aren’t there any unhealthy ‘thin, fit-as-a-fiddle, persons that you know that have died of heart attack, diabetes, stroke etc. or any of the ‘illesses’ that fat people are predisposed to? Fat persons always seem to be the ones easily targeted and made fun of? We are human too, so it isn’t always what is said but rather how it is said.
    To ‘hide behind the cloak of annomity’ or not, is a choice we all have on BU.
    Peace, my friend.
    How ya like ma?

37. Asiba,
    Ya got me sa vex dat I typing too fast and making real mistakes. I meant to say, ‘healthy’, fit as a fiddle and not unhealthy and also I meant to say “illnesses’.
    Ya see how vex and frustrated you making dis fat person?
    One love still.
    How ya like ma?

38. I for one believe that being overweight is a big thing if it is going to cause health problems. It is obvious that we have several overweight Bajans but it is time we sit and wonder why.

For one, doctors tell you watch what you eat. It is a serious thing but to be honest i get very tired of eating bush and fish. I am not much of a beef lover, and i stay far away from pork but I may eat a bit of chicken every now and then. Not as a rule, but to break the monotony of fish.

There are way too many places to get unhealthy food in Barbados. And with people dropping into “stress eating”, they tend to gravitate towards these places for comfort food. in addition, since we are in the age of fast, quick and in a hurry, people like to grab a quick bite since everything is so hectic in the world today.

Only disciplined persons are able to keep up with being healthy and as a man I find it much easier to do such than most women do. We need to encourage our people and educate them on the risk of being overweight. At the end of the days its their choice.

39. i love fat people. Get fatter man it is awesome

40. hi i m pawan kumar, i m searching fat woman i like fatty woman, because my wife very fatty

41. @Asiba

If you are really serious about the issue you should do some research on the foods that we have adopted as staples in Barbados (well… all over the world..)

You will find that most of them are actually poisons which are concocted to make us addicted to them so that we buy more and more.
    Many are not well suited to our genetic types (wheat flour, rye, milk etc are examples for type O’s), and some of them are downright POISON – read about aspartame that is used in sugarfree products.
    Practically all these new ‘manufactured’ food products are questionable -and many are KNOWN to be dangerous.

You are right about the need for a war on fat, Asiba- but it is much more than fat … we all are being slow poisoned….

We need a war on bad food…

42. hi people can i please see the big big big big big big big big big tits on boys peenes

43. I am a woman. I am big. I am 5’3″ tall and weigh 303 lbs. Now, I bet you are thinking that I am going to support the “fat” pageant” WRONG!! Aside from being very, very unhealthy, I am very, very unhappy. And…any fat, obese person that says they are overjoyed with themselves, is lying to themselves as well as, others. One may be fat and young, and have talked themselves into being happy with themselves, but just wait until your weight catches up with you. Being extremely overweight, is NOT HEALTHY!! And, unless you have a thyroid problem or some other physical problem that is making you fat, there are no excuses for fatness.

Not only is obesity not healthy, it is not attractive either. At least, to most people. Now, I am talking about extreme obesity, not the person who may be 10 or even 50 pounds overweight. Extreme obesity is NOT attractive.

Aside from that, nothing is made for extremely obese people. Come on fatties! How difficult is it to fit is theatre seats, airplane seats, restaurant booths with fixed tables, normal size chairs, normal size beds, normal size anything!! And the clothes for fatties. OMG!!! Unless you spend hundreds of bucks, you look like you are wearing a potato sack or a tent!! And…even the clothes I do spend hundreds of dollars on, still do not look good on me. (Have you ever noticed that it is normal sized people that model the fattie clothing in all the catalogs? And…even in the catalogs that do use plus sized women, they are certainly not 300 pound women!) And…how about hospital gowns, hospital beds, hospital MRI machines. Come on!!! Nothing is made to fit the extremely fat people!!

And…no one has any idea about the “fun” things I have missed out on because of my weight. I cannot walk well without breathing heavily and hurting beyond belief, so trips to the coast are out, trips to anywhere are out!! Disney Land is out, can’t fit on any rides. All I could do would be to sit somewhere and eat!! I have a walker, but it is giant sized also, and I am embarassed for people to see it!! My family are all in a different state than I am in, and I have not been back to see them because I would have to purchase two airplane seats to accomodate myself, and I refuse to do that.

Well, I have rambled on for a while, but this is honesty! Fat is not healthy, not pretty, not convenient, not anything good!!

Here is the good note: I have gone back to basics. Eating all foods in their natural form, mostly raw, mostly organic. I have only started this a few months ago. To date, I have lost 30 lbs. Horray for this fat grandma!!

So, go ahead. Have your fat pageants. Do whatever you like, fat people. But know this; most people do not look at a fat person and say, “How beautiful.” I am only talking about the physical part, that first look. Yes, it is true that when other’s get to know us fatties, most of us are well liked, seemingly happy people.

All of us fatties need to get back to basics. Natural food in it’s natural state.

44. Murad Hussain Shah Avatar
    Murad Hussain Shah

Very good

45. Asiba-The Buffalo Soldier-'why should I wear a jacket and tie' Avatar
    Asiba-The Buffalo Soldier-‘why should I wear a jacket and tie’

Hurrah !!
    as I read the post from JOAN

Some ignorant uniformed people feel that what I am doing with my songs is some kind of a joke but I know that are equally honest and sensible persons who know better.

One significant thing about the FAT thing is that in many cases, it is the indiscipline of excesses. It is gross indiscipline. We need some discipline.

There are so many issues around the FAT thing -social and otherwise that it remains a challenge and as an artiste I will continue to write and sing about FAT.

check the link
    or -copy and paste

http://www.imeem.com/people/ag1vkwe/video/xN6zrBTo/asiba-the-buffalo-soldier-too-much-fat-on-de-road-music-vide/

46. Asiba-The Buffalo Soldier-'why should I wear a jacket and tie' Avatar

Funny enough Bush Tea. I do refer to these foods as poisons. I cant believe that someone else actually sees it that way too. -Glad that I am not alone. Sometimes I feel that way though.

I totally agree with you that there needs to be a war on bad food and this is part of my fight also.

I put my money where my mouth is and I have written and recorded a song entitled -“EATING RAW’ which some individuals at first mistakenly interpreted as a sexually overtoned” song which it definitely is not. The song actually refers to eating food in its natural state-.

The thing is that I have spent my hard earned money and money gained from royalties to pay to record these songs but the radio stations play foolishness from Jamaica and America and refuse to promote local music.The radio stations do not play a quarter of the music produced by Barbadian artistes.

So the WAR is on and I have appointed myself the chief executive officer of MAF——MOVEMENT AGAINST FAT.

This will manifest soon when I record another FAT song to add to the list that includes :-

(1)”TOO MUCH FAT ON DE ROAD”; (2) “STILL TOO MUCH FAT ON THE ROAD” ;
    (3)”EATING RAW”

47. Asiba-The Buffalo Soldier-'why should I wear a jacket and tie' Avatar

Here is the youtube link for the song TOO MUCH FAT ON DE ROAD

48. Asiba-The Buffalo Soldier-'why should I wear a jacket and tie' Avatar

Definitely a FAT problem in Barbados

It is hurting my eyes when I see FAT overweight individuals who seem to over indulged in the eating thing.

Something has to be done and done quickly. It is a national problem

49. […] in a previous blog declared our position on the issue of fat people. A significant percentage of the population […]