Barbados General Election Watch

The coming General Election constitutionally due early next year promises to be one of the most interesting in our history.

Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart despite a feeble challenge to his leadership manifested by the effort of the Eager 11 and baring no further attempts is expected to lead the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) into the next general election.

Leader of the Opposition Owen Arthur who relinquished the leadership of the party to Mia Mottley after the election defeat in 2008 is back after winning support from his parliamentary colleagues.He too is expected to lead the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) into the next election.

The other political parties – People Empowerment Party (PEP) and People Democratic Congress) PDC – have not been able to offer a credible third party option.

1. I had money in my pocket when Arthur was in power must I continue to be broke or try something or someone else. Please call elections!!!!!!

2. what a choice! from the frying pan into the fire perhaps.
    as long as their Swedish banks accounts are good who cares.
    [same shit different pile]

3. sir cow Williams for prime minister..

4. old onion bags Avatar

Harry ..ya too puerile..is man talk here…

5. We endorse the call by one of our favourite callers to the talk show today for the new candidates to show themselves on the talk shows and be questioned by the public. The logic here is that we have to place stock in the new candidates because there is really no hope for the old ones.

Of course BU’s offer remains on the table for them to enter and hone their arguments. It is perhaps the only place where they can truly test their debating skills.

6. The following sent to BU’s mailbox.

The entire speech delivered by The Prime Minister The Hon Freundel Stuart QC MP, to the DLP Annual Conference yesterday will be shown tonight on Channel 8 at 9.00PM .

7. Observing (and observing) Avatar
    Observing (and observing)

lol.
    Don’t think it will change the results much 🙂

8. ”The entire speech delivered by The Prime Minister The Hon Freundel Stuart ‘

Oh….Goody. 😉

9. ‘…If the media cannot make you it cannot break you …’ PM quote late PM Barrow referring to himself.

What is the standing on his response on CLICO what now is Government required to do to allay fears to investors?

10. @Brief

Hmmm, Maybe you will get an answer 20 years anon. Or guh ask Duprey how the house of cards fall.

Dontcha know, is only the small man like me an yuh get touch.

11. Pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar
    Pieceuhderockyeahright

To govern a people you show how you care.

Neville Rowe. Did you know that Neville Rowe is responsible for the population increase in Barbados in the 1970’s?

One man. by making Elasta curl available at an affordable price, was responsible for all dem notty hair niggers getting collie hair overnight and fooling many a girl to gi up de po po so dat dem baby gine got curly hair!

But behold a miracle, one lil black man brek de strangle hold dat all dem merchant including Cave Shepherd had pun de market and overnight based on making this and other commodities affordable, Neville move from baxters road to st Mary’s Rowe and de rest, like Bussa, is history.

If de DLP GOVERNMENT was serious bout maintaining its seats de one ting dat de late David and Freundy of de “sound dat silence makes” would have done was to have enlisted de support of those merchants who were capable of sourcing affordable food fuh all uh we niggers, junkies, coolies and Guyanese dat round hey sucking in we bellies and brekking air causing we can’t afford de highway robbery dat dese cuntglomerates subjecting we too.

But wid clowns like James Paul (whu cuntry he from again? Miss Griffith at immigration better get Percy de pig check Paul certificate! ) and de part time minister of agriculture, de udder part uh de time he does be talking wid ***, if dem had enuf vision to see dat as dem legacy fuh a barbadus whey you can afford a square meal (whu afta all it ent no high science idea like drinking mo milk or tekking $30k from de credit union and paying a bill dat is customarily $15k) dis wudda happen during dem late great five year term

Errol Barrow got to be rolling in his grave when he look and see how far out to sea dis DLP mottley group (not to be confused wid Mia Mottley) are

It is too late now my cretinous brethren, go home and try like I did 68 years ago, try to hold the image of your short time in government in “mens occulis”, like i held the image of that succulent temporary teacher at ***, do that while you pelt off that collosal jerkoff one similar to what this five year DLP bungle has been

But take comfort in the fact that those who inherit the spoils of the war you effed up will not heed the cries of we poor people eider and a can of eves wid five stinking half cut hotdogs previously at 99 cents now at 2.69!

12. @ Piece-a-Cut Rock
    Then the fault lies within…….blame your icon EWB and his SA connection…money which brought progress and at this price….blame GHA for liberating us and giving blacks adult suffrage…..blame JMGM Tom for occasioning the industrial estates and introducing offshore business and with it leaps and bounds success….blame OSA and his majestic fourteen golden years of unsurpassed and enviable standards of living…..ONLY ONE SAFE AND SOUND was your past icon DAVID….who did absolutely nothing but bring football and infamous Haggatt hall big screens to show his skill at MAGNIFYING 1,000,000 fold…..Yes Rocky, he was d only one who found a most indelible way OUT YOUR NOW IRRITANT BLOW HOLE…

13. Pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar
    Pieceuhderockyeahright

@ old onion bags

I think that you confuse me with the cadre of people who see David as the New Dawn Prophet untimely cut down in his youth.

The evil that men do lives on behind them the good is oft buried with their bones so let it be with Caesar. A well run political campaign is his legacy nothing else. I concur. Talk about families first, just talk. Maybe but if you knew the man there were few people who practiced that tennet as completely as he did.

There is good in each of us and without judas betraying Jesus what would Christianity be without a crucified and risen Christ?

Every now and again I see a chink in your normally coherent reasoning and you act like the invading American forces in Baghdad and tear down the Saddam statue as you espouse eradicating the contributions of the players on history’s landscape because they are either B or D.

Without the contribution of EWB our chilren wud not not have had the benefit of free education.

Thus shall we pass across life ‘s glades only remembered by what we have done.

DLP it is time to go home as one day it will be time for Owen to go home and let Mia handle the reins as it will soon be time for u and I to go home permanently and allow other quicker minds sans Alzheimer’s to come and dance and parry here

14. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ old onion bags | September 27, 2012 at 6:07 AM |

Cool it, Onions! The “piece of de rock” is on your side singing in the same choir even if not always from the same hymn sheet.
    Read between the lines by looking under the rock for the real message from rock of ages.
    He has a point about modern politicians who see politics as an avenue to get rich quick (ask payne/lynch/marshall(s)/lowe/lasley/boyce/sinckliar).

15. Is it true Wickham has done constituency polling for the parties but the results have been withheld? Onions?

16. The PM on the campaign trail?

There will be a zonal meeting for the St. James North, St. James Central and St. James South Branches at Queens College on Sunday 14th October, 2012.
    The joint meeting begins at 5.00p.m, the speakers will be Hon. Donville Inniss MP  and Hon George Hutson MP, Senator Harry Husbands, Parliamentary Secretary in the Prime Minister’s Office.
    The featured speaker for the evening will be our esteemed Prime Minister The Hon Freundel Stuart MP QC.
    On Sat.13th October there will be A  Mass Canvassing, beginning at 8.30 o’clock, in the three constituencies.
    The St James South Mass Canvass will meet at the DLP St James South Branch Office at 106, 4th Avenue, Wanstead Terrace at 8:30amThe St James North Canvassers will gather at the Weston Resource Centre at 8.30 am and then move into the canvass area.
    The St James North Branch has established an office in Rock Dundo, St James and this office will be formally opened very shortly.
    Stay tuned and keep informed by staying close to the Candidate Senator Harry Husbands and the Team DLP St James North.
    All are invited to this official opening, more details will follow.
    See attached

17. @ David
    David | October 6, 2012 at 1:45 PM |

Is it true Wickham has done constituency polling for the parties but the results have been withheld? Onions?
    Seeing for the first time…but I am like you CLUE-LESS.

18. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@David | October 13, 2012 at 5:40 AM |

We hope BU is charging those parties (both D & B) for these under-the radar-party advertising ploys. If these same advertising flyers were to appear in the Advocate or Nation space would have to be bought and paid for either in cash or in kind.

Just remember the vilification BU endures both now and in the past from the operatives (henchmen) and hierarchy of these mafia and mob type political vehicles acting in the interests of vested financiers.

BU will be the most sought after Media forum in the upcoming elections to express genuine views and assessment of both parties’ performance and potential to bring about necessary change and genuine restructuring of the economy and society. Don’t let the political parties use BU as they would wish for narrow partisan gains.

19. @Miller

BU appears to be on a distribution list not so the BLP.

20. De DLP got a mass canvas? Wuh dem painting? A picture of Froon wid he sleeping giant standing tall?

21. MInister of Finance Chris Sinckler will be sued this week for defamation by the BLP (Arthur,Wood,Barker) for saying that Arthur will send home 10,000 civil servants.

22. woo hoo! somebody actually suing somebody.

23. The BLP is set to assume the reins of Government once again come tomorrow January 25, 2013. The BLP under the leadership of party leader Owen Arthur completely destroyed the DLP under the leadership of Freundel Suart. The final election result shows the BLP winning 29 seats , the DLP GAINING NO SEATS and an independent candidate, a former member of the DLP winning the other seat. Meanwhile former Prime Minister Stuart who lost his seat to a returning Noel Lynch said that he would retire from elective politics.

The final result in the election is as follows:

BLP = 29 SEATS
    DLP = 0 SEATS
    INDEPENDENT = 1 SEAT

24. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS

25. I wonder if it is generally being recognized that some critical dates and normative periods for implementing tasks key to holding a general election at this time are rapidly falling in place in a manner that suggests that there might well be an automatic dissolution of the house on 12th February.

Some say 28 and some say 21 days are required by the electoral office to make all necessary preparations for the elections from the date they are called. Since automatic dissolution is on 12th February it would be necessary to call the elections today (14th Jan) to avoid automatic dissolution if the required period is 28 days, or by next monday (EWB day) if it is 21 days.

There does not appear to be a heightened buzz in the various government departments re. preparation for estimates so it appears that FS is not attempting to prepare and pass estimates before that deadline so it would not be surprising if he is leaving the 2012-13 estimates to be debated in the next parliament. This suggests that he is not going the route of the 90 day extension of cabinet rule following the automatic dissolution of the House.

I still don’t believe that FS would repeat the St John situation and delay the calling of the elections to the last minute so I would bet that he will call elections either this week or early next week, before 21st January, to be held somewhere around 11th February to avoid automatic dissolution ( an occurence that would solidify his unenviable record in matters requiring prompt action.

The alternative would be allowing automatic dissolution and calling the election close to the 90 days allowed which would be even worse for his image and I suspect would try the patience of several interest groups as well as solidify an unwonted and counterprodictive image for him and the DLP.

26. @Checkit-out

The PM is scheduled to deliver the feature address at the BCCI luncheon on jan 30, maybe …

27. Very good analysis, Checkit-Out.

If it makes Freundel feel powerful, leave him be. It may be his LAST chance to ever hold such power in his hands. I gone pass thinking that power has gone to his head. If he loses, I wonder how he will feel having to move out of Illaro Court? Has he purchased a mansion yet? It sure will be a great step down to move back into mummy’s house!!!

28. Why dont we make some nice limericks on Fumble Stuart
    I will begin with this plaintive one

A humble politician called Fumble,
    with a particular penchant to stumble,
    mumbled and bumbled
    and eventually tumbled
    when he was soundly defeated at the rumble!

29. You err Prodigal; FS does not dance to the beat of normal drummers. Moving out of Ilaro court will be of no moment to him as I understand that he never really moved in, in body or in spirit.

Actually, FS has many very good qualities. He could have made an excellent PM if those good qualities were not offset by other qualities that are not ideal for a PM. As it is, that mix of qualities plus the venality and intransigence of his team seem to be leading to a Just Asking type of denouement.

30. @check it out
    Good points. EWB days sounds good strategically and in terms of timing. Thing is though, how have the DLP’s chances (at having a strong opposition) increased or decreased in the past two weeks, especially given the BLP’s boycott of. Parliament? Despite Barack’s “payment”, an AX solution and passage of legislation I don’t get the feel that the pendulum is even remotely shifting their way.

Are there any rabbits left in the hat?

Just Observing

31. Observing; I too get the feeling that the pendulum has not reacted significantly to the last 2 positive happenings for the DLP. The problem might be that practically everyone had made up their minds as to how they would vote some weeks ago and that dragging it out to this time will not change the results substantially. If the PM goes into overtime inadvertently or otherwise I think “Just Asking’s” predictions might practically come true.

The sad part would be that that prediction might have been partially reversible if the typical cognitive processes and actions of a good leader were in evidence at the points along the way when a different timing would have been influential.

But, perhaps its strategy. I still think that this election is a good one to lose for either of the 2 parties as the coming government is likely to be a one-term one for the BLP if it wins and a 2 term one for the DLP and the loser will have a better chance to regroup and have a lasting successful government 2 elections from now when hopefully economic portents will be better. Re. FS, I don’t think he will retain leadership of the party if perchance it wins against all odds.

32. Observing;

Re. rabbits still in the hat. Yes! Number one is the famous recording at Pegasus Hotel in Jamaica that is supposed to be a Bajan 47% moment that will swing the tide of the elections. Problem is that I think the effect of the DT exposures in 2008 were vastly overrated as to their effect on those elections and that that particular exposure, whatever its merits, is likely to fizzle as a major setback to the BLP’s chances in the elections. I think the BLP’s time had just come for a loss at that time. The putative Pegasus recording, to have had any real effect should not have been telegraphed over the past several months allowing OSA to muddy the waters about it, if it had any credence in the first place. That rabbit is likely to be DOA when it is pulled out of the hat.

Another rabbit, the effect of the purported note to FS to please take MAM off OSA’s hands is similarly likely to be DOA. Will FS have the note (duly signed) certified by an accredited hand writing expert as having definitely been a product of the genuine hand of OSA?

Re. other possible rabbits; I don’t think there are any but who knows if FS has some other stillborn ones up his sleeve?

33. millertheanunnaki Avatar

NOTICE TO QUIT

TO: FREUNDEL J .STUART (PM by Default)

You are hereby required to vacate Premises at No. 1 Palmetto Square aka the House of Assembly within 21 days of either one of the following two dates at your discretion.

(1). Tuesday January 15th 2013, the anniversary of the de facto expiration of the lease of occupation agreed between you and the Electorate hereafter referred to as the “Landlord”.

(2). Monday, January 21st, 2013, the revered celebration of the birthday of a great man who was a true friend and social facilitator to the Landlord.

The lease is up for renewal on condition that you will speak the Truth and only the Truth within those 21days and not repeat the lies and slanderous statements made during the January 2008 negotiations in which your deceased joint tenant convinced our agent that you would have removed the rubbish left by the previous tenant, clean the house from top to bottom and pay your rent on time.

Our agent has paid many visits to the premises but has seen very little improvements and disappointingly is of the opinion that things have deteriorated significantly that even the neighbours are complaining about the very nasty and unhygienic conditions that exist in the economic political, social environment and the general industrial relations climate.

Any move by you to go beyond the 21st January to signal your intention to renegotiate the lease would result in a call for the people to march for your forcible ejection from the premises because of your incompetence and vacillating inability to make decisions and solve problems you falsely pretend to be capable of.

We don’t expect the Grand Old Duke of York Sir Roy to be leading the charge this time around but a heroine once MIA but now found and returned to the heat of the battle.

You have been duly warned. The choice is up to you, Fumble & Co.

34. Stillborn rabbits. Lol. I love it.

I agree with you that the “check” in 2008 tightened the screws rather than put them in. The BLP had already lost. Time will tell if “taking time is foolishness or not.”

The pegasus tape, even if of mammoth rascality will only save a few seats. Too little too late.

35. Observing;
    Saw on Barbados Today last night that it will be publishing the results of a new Cadres poll from tonight over the next 4 days and will put the poll results up for downloading on Friday. It should be very interesting and should answer some of the questions you have been raising over the past 4 weeks.

I think Wickham is on VOB Brasstacks today so it should be interesting to hear the tenor of his comments re. the current positions of the parties.

On another note. I was fairly reliably informed yesterday that the prelude to the eager 11 affair (some DLP members going to the GG to oust him) did indeed actually happen. If that is indeed true it would speak volumes of the rotteness of the ethics of many of our politicians and their selfishness and lack of committment to the well being of the country itself.

36. @Check it out
    We should have s cyber beverage sometime! If the BToday poll correlates with the Nation’s poll then we’ll see how it is taken.

“it would speak volumes of the rotteness of the ethics of many of our politicians and their selfishness and lack of committment to the well being of the country itself”

This is the root of the problem over the last 3-4 years. No philosophical mooring, no fundamental principles, no understanding of the individual benefits of collective and national growth.

DT may have had a vision. FS may be resolute and principled. But too many of the players around them are essentially greedy, arrogant and over inflated with a sense of importance that never existed and still doesn’t.

To make things worse their collective capabilities, efficiency and effectiveness leads LOTS to be desired. Many of them have yet to grow into the role of MP or minister.

FS should have placed his stamp early to avoid further rotting or called early election to have a greater mandate. Patrick Manning did this to great effect sometime back and won, but hindsight is 20-20.

AT least 11 DLP seats are comfortably in play and maybe more. None of the BLP seats are up for grabs. This is the reality that faces them now.

Just Observing

37. Additional Services Avatar
    Additional Services

I dissagree with the comments on rabbits pulled from a bag and them being dead on arrival. Like everything else in life it depend on the facts and evidence demonstated by each rabbit, presuming of course they can be proven to be credible and not just a political fabrication.

If FS and the DLP have an audio recording of a meeting in the Pegasus hotel in Jamaica during which either OSA, Dale Marshall, George Payne or MIA are present and actively participating in meeting in which the spoils of the HMP Dodds prison are being allocated for the award of the contract to VECO, then that is highly damaging evidence to BLP and single handedly would cost the opposition any chances it had of being elected.

The late David Thompson of a rabit procurer and purveyor of political dirt and it is reasonable to assume that there is alot more than just the $75K cheque to OSA which he banked in his personal bank account.

If FS and the DLP have a hand written note from OSA (either signed by him or in hand writing known to be his) in which he is offering MIA to DLP for the taking then that is going to split the woman vote with the base of the BLP and nationally. It will feed into the sentiment (and the DLP campaign attacks) that OSA does not care for the women in his party, particularly MIA and that truly wants to destroy her. If its a close election then this alone might be enough to push the DLP over line and squeak home with a very narrow majority in Parliament, someing like 16 – 14 in favour of the DLP.

This is the DLP’s election to lose. The people in Barbados will not vote in the BLP, they will vote out the DLP. The DLP must use all of the armaments in is arsenal including David Estwick, Chris Sinckler and Donville Inniss to butress FS perceived weak national support.

38. Observing;

Generally agree with your observations above. But, if it were true that a group of Ministers went to the GG to have him removed because of an apparent remoteness and intransigence well over one year ago, can we really give any of the actors a full pass (including FS) over their subsequent behaviour? Was FS telling the absolute truth when he suggested, after a year’s simmering thought, that there was no coup attempt and therefore no need for him to act? Was his lack of action then merely a strategy to hold the DLP together at all costs? Did his earlier and later decisions as PM or acting PM reveal a picture of someone who was resolute or rather someone who left all important decisions to work themselves out at the latest possible time?

I know that most will hold that the eager 11 blip was just an attempt by some of his ministers to get a meeting with him and that therefore he was on good grounds in not taking any action on it, but when the GG visit, the GG’s quick resignation right after the alleged visit and the eager 11 matter are juxtaposed, the picture seems to be emerging of something quite rotten in the body politic that might paint a picture of resoluteness in the PM but could also point to a contrariness and some selfishness also.

39. The latest CADRES poll is predicting the DLP will lose 10 seats which aligns with how BU has called it so far.

40. The BLP meeting at Heroes Square should serve as a good barometer for public sentiment coming after the poll release on Barbados Today. Good timing!

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2013/01/16/away-swing/

41. David

If that meeting was to be a good barometer, then the DLP need not worry as no inclement weather is on the horizon for them.

It’s over before it even began. That’s the wisdom of preparing for victory but only beginning the offensive when the objective is assued.

Classic Art of War tactics.

42. Pink Lips;
    Wot dat yuh say? Sumting seems to be missing.
    Pass that by me again.

43. Observing;

Tomorrow appears to be another critical path decision day in this unbelievable saga since, from Marshall’s facebook page as publicised on BU by David, this senate might meet for the last time paving the way for an election call right afterwards.

However, I’ve been hearing from some staunch, bright DLP stalwarts that the PM will not call the elections tomorrow but will either allow the parliament to be automatically dissolved or prorogue it just before the 11th february himself without setting a date for the elections at that time. Do you know if the constitution speaks to such a situation? If he prorogues it, isn’t parliament still subject to automatic dissolution from the 11th and the return of the writs (elections) in 90 days or can he preempt automatic dissolution in that way?

I can’t see the utility or advantage that the above scenario would give to FS or the DLP if he were indeed minded to take that path, but

But perhaps its just best to wait until tomorrow and see if Freundel does anything then.

In any case his troops appear to be standing firmly behind him.

44. @Checkit-out

It is obvious the PM has a plan, let us wait to see how it plays out. We know the PM and the DLP can’t be deliberately trying to lose the general election by pissing off the electorate with this cat and mouse game of when to call election.

45. David; He also had a plan to carry the nomination for the St John candidate for the bye election on DT’s death to the bawler as well. I suspect that there is no credible strategic plan but a prediliction for putting off decisions to the latest possible date. In which case May, here we come. But I hope for an opposition sake and for Barbados’ stable reputation (which is really priceless) that he does have a credible plan this time.

Re. the DLP, for now they look like the mice in Hamelin being led by the Pied one. Hope that they actually know his plan. I’ll bet for a date being announced today to allow Barbados’ economy to get a chance to restart its engines soon as everything is at a standstill pending the elections, butI’m usually wrong in these things

46. A big requirement to breeding enthusiasm, excitement into any journey towards a goal is confidence. BU’s only interest is for the PM to signal to his people – by his actions/speech that he is on top of things.

47. @check it out
    Parliametnt is due to meet on Tuesday (nation newspaper) so I don’t believe today will be the day. FS has already made up his mind and the signs indicate he intends to be PM for a while longer so we’ll just have to wait. Remember the wait for chief justice, governor general, eager 11 response? The history of the man has shown his methods. As another from the past might have said “like it or lump it.”. Whatever happens, after the 12th Parliament will automatically dissolve. I don’t think FS will leave that to happen. An announcement will come before then.

Chris’ display in today’s paper indicates that it is still very much every man for himself in the DLP camp. Random “unendorsed” ads don’t help. As David said, maybe there’s a plan…then again maybe not. The right hand seems to be clueless about the left hand. It would be a sad day in politics if this great party waddles into a general election so outmatched, outgunned and unprepared, with the belief that the cry “arthur is corrupt” will save the day for them.

Re the constitution it just says writs must be issued after dissolution (not time specific) returnable within 90 days (no minimum). Open to some interpretation but will have to take gudance on one more versed in election law and regulations.

Just Observing

48. Didn’t want to say it…BUT suppose….there is no intentions to call an elections….what next?….SCARY

49. Election date will be announce next week,and elections will be on the last thursday of february