Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar has vowed to allow U.S Forces access to Trinidadian territory to defend the people of Guyana.
The Prime Minister in a statement also said her government fully supports the US Government’s deployment of American Military assets into the Caribbean region to destroy the terrorist drug cartels – YouTube
Has Kamla Persad-Bissessar crossed the line?

79 responses to “Has Kamla Persad-Bissessar crossed the line?”
-
At times one has to wonder if this is bigger than Guyana, Venezuela and drug cartels.
With China dishing out cash to several of these islands, with Chinese citizens buying up CBI passports and with the idiot in the Whitehouse shrinking foreign aid, the US may have responded with a strategy used over the years gunboat diplomacy.
Some warships and some marines serves notice to the Caribbean “you are still in my backyard”. Of course there is no predicting the behavior of the Caribbean leaders, the line to Trump’s butt may soon be overcrowded.
-
I did not suggest that the Caribbean should refuse help from China.
I attempted top place the US policy in a wider framework than Guyana, Venezuela and drug cartels..I saw it as a policy geared towards blunting the increase activity of China in the region.
For me, what remains is to see how other Caribbean leaders react. -
I agree with Pamla 100%. If the USA needs a base in the region and your country can benefit, open your doors to them. If China can lend you funds at favorable terms borrow from them.it does not have to be an either or.
As for Maduro he is an unelected dictator who has crippled a once wealthy country and in so doing basically made the middle class extinct. I do do not speak from hearsay either, as I have good friends down there. While the favored has access to showcases with Lexus and BMWs in them, the masses fight for a bus. The faithfuls have access to supermarkets with every imported item in them at exorbitant prices, while the masses shop where basics are in scarce supply.
How could Maduro who started work as a bus driver, now be worth $700 million USD as reported by Forbes Financial?
Finally if Trump is going after the drug cartels I hope he succeeds, as those that profit from that trade are the scum of the earth, be they president or porter! Just hope he has better information than Bush did when it came to “weapons of mass destruction.”
-
Please do not conflate my belief that the US society will ultimately recover as undying support for Donald Trump and his ugly policies.
At same time that we talk politics one should not rule out the behavior of individual countries “Rwanda, South Sudan and eSwatini have already accepted deportees – almost entirely citizens of other countries – as has El Salvador in Central America. Uganda, too has, agreed to take deportees”.
That is what gets my attention, that is what I watch from the sidelines, the ugly and mean Donald Trump’s ability to get folks/countries to sign on to his ugliness.
Credible foreign policy or not, I am just waiting to see who else will join DT in some way.
End note here
-
@David I wish I could say that I’m in shock and disbelief at people agreeing with this. However, as we have seen recently, we live in strange times. Many have no principles or values, so they take whatever position is convenient at the time depending on who is doing or saying what.
It is for this reason that no social media influencer or personality can rile me up with any emotionally driven posts on current affairs. I have enough resources at my finger tips to do my own research and come to my own conclusions.
Many out there are simply scumbags with hidden agendas. I will keep a close eye on these developments.
-
This scenario is reminiscent of April Glaspie telling Saddam USA would never get involved in an Arab-Arab conflict when Kuwait was stealing oil from Rumaila oil field, the largest oil field discovered in Iraq, while giving Kuwait assurances their military would provide them with full support, which led to them getting a foothold in Middle East and never leaving followed through with military campaigns in Iraq, Libya and Syria, which has also lead to their complicity in Gaza war crime horrors.
While these constant war shenanigans were carried out China was helping developing nations develop.
The hypocrisy of the West has been made apparent with their constant propaganda against Russia and China while turning a blind eye towards Israel with a total lack of meaningful action. -
So answer me one question, when Maduro was going into Guyana to slice off some of their land he wasn’t a dictator then? He was what then, a poor little unfaired bis driver right?
He better be careful his trusted generals don’t hold him and sell his ass to the USA for the $50 million bounty Lol. I Also hope a message is sent to any other want to be dictators in the region, that there will be a price to pay for what wunna may be thinking of doing. I ain’t calling no names, but who the cap fit let them wear it! If wunna doubt the state of Venezuela, go there for a few days and see for yourself. If you are a woman carry some tampons though cause them hard to find down there except in the fancy outlets where a box could be $25 usd.
-
It’s all about the oil
Nothing but the oil -
David the court ruled on that matter and said Maduro had no case
-
Looks to me like some are looking to big Satan to cast out little Satan!
Trump cares nothing about drug cartels. Trump is all about THE OIL. He loves oil. Have you lot never listened to him talk about seizing oil? Probably why Amerikkka engineered Venezuela’s collapse!
Quite frankly, I hope we never find any amount beyond the little bit that we need for domestic consumption. That wouldn’t be worth fighting for.
-
This matter of Venezuela has to be seen within the context of the history of domination, imperialism.
Has anybody ever noticed that where ever the British built its empire, upon which the sun never set, that they wickedly left fault lines behind which are the genesis for all the problem in the world.
Check it out – Pakistan/India, Israel/Palestine, China/Taiwan, Russia/Crimea, Belize/ Guatemala – and on and on. The clear reason is the same. A determination by the British through the use of perceived internal and conflicting claims to divide and rule forever, once their interests so demand.
So whether we focus on British colonialism in South America and the case of counter claims to parts of the Essequibo . Or what is happening in the so-called Zangesur Corridor in which Azerbaijan, Armenia, Turkeye, Iran and Russia have interests, and for which America, under Trump, just recently had the leaders of Armenia and Azerbaijan in the White House to sign a dubious agreement that is supposed to have American troops physically trying to put a spanner in works of China’s and BRICS’s ambitions to build out the Belt & Road Initiative, within the very land mass which the British diplomat Halford John Mckinder theorized a Eurasian, Great Game Conflict, as central to continued White domination.
One of the machinations of the wicked British is to use Turkeye by tempting them with notions about the revival of the Ottoman Empire with the Turkish speaking people since scattered at empire’s end. Only the British could best plan these levels of wickedness!
More generally, there is nowhere on earth, and America has always been seen by the British as its enforcement arm, where when there’s terrorism, wars, the overthrow of disobedient governments, unnecessary economic hardships, drug running, all others forms of wickedness, where the British MI6 spy agency is not at its center.
Unless one can see the whole, the singularity of Venezuela is likely to confuse.
-
I remember when we used to look at photos of leadership in the USSR to determine who was on their way up or out. That type of analysis has mainly been abandoned, partly because of the dissolution of the USSR and perhaps because Putin will eliminate anyone seen as on their way up.
Like that train of thought, other thinking may also need to be abandoned. Trump started out with fortress America, but events have forced him to change his stance. We now see a different outlook towards Ukraine.
What has not changed is the Monroe doctrine. As some of these Caribbean/Latin America countries are seen to pivot towards China we can expect and will see the US use its military power to slow/reverse these changes. Intimidation at its very best.
Its not clear that this will work with Venezuela but it may have made a few of the leaders of smaller countries uncomfortable.
-
Whilst I have no doubt about the eventual recovery of the US. History may sum up Trump’s presidency as ‘the wrong man at the wrong time with the wrong policies’
His policies has made it clear that the king, the US, is not fully clothed. The TACO president can still pull his blustering and bluffing in the continental US, but now the rest of the world knows that Trump’s US was “punching (well) above its weight.
He could have sing and dance without throwing a punch, thus leaving the whole world ignorant/guessing about our weakness. Instead the arrogant 0idiot threw punches that barely landed and now the whole world knows that some of our clothing is missing.
The one area where we maintain superiority is our military. Having failed elsewhere, we may turn to our military to try to save face.
-
The one area where we maintain superiority is our military.
~~~~~~~~~
When last wunna win a war TheO?
Don’t mek we laugh do!!
Wunna one area of superiority is wunna military SPENDING…LOL de last cut-ass came from the Houthis in Yemin…
Perhaps Trump is just looking to pick on someone wunna can manage – like Grenada back in the 80’s…
ha ha haWhat a world..!!
-
Yuh right! Yemen just beat them like yelping dogs.
They have not won a war since the invasion of the Philippines in 1898.
Indeed, we’ve argued that America is as weak as a spider’s web and that even the Boy Scouts of BDF could beat them too.
But war is about vastly more than the military facet. America and the White world has no other forms for power projection so necessary to buttress the military – thanks to neoliberalism and more. Their economies are dead. Industrial capitalism has also defeated financial capitalism.
For they are unable to fight a modern all-arms military conflict, they armies are depleted, they do not have high speed or hypersonic weapons, they can’t even defend the Zionist state from Iran, they lack the industrial capacity to maintain and build sea vessels and on and on. Indeed, China builds 20 to 30 times what America could. Not to talk about technology, space etc,
For years we’ve argued here that Ukraine was being destroyed at the behest of NATO. America lead NATO, more and more from behind. LOL Recently, a disclosure was made that Ukraine had lost 1.8 million men, dead alone. Military math means that about 6 million more were badly injured.
Another case, as with Israel and the Europeans, the Takfaris too, where America is so weak that they even call on Sam Poochie and the Duppie to fight for it.
More fundamentally, no brassbowl body is afraid of America.
Of course, these scenarios make more certain that our next war, WW3, which we are currently in, will see the use of nuclear weapons because it’s the White people’s only shot at winning.
Given that there cannot be a limited nuclear war, all nuclear powers will from the first use be obligated to either use theirs, for fears that they’ll be preemptively targeted, or loose them.
This is the state of affairs of the decadent humanoid. Only such a mammal has characterized such self destructive genius.
Congratulations ………. humanoid!
-
Caribbean needs US help like a hole in the head, can’t truss it.
US revokes visas of Palestinian officials ahead of UN meeting.
In the 1980’s Netanyahu became best friends with Donalds Trump’s father, Fred.
Between 1984 and 1988, Netanyahu served as the Israeli ambassador to the United Nations. -
Ah tell yuh, The OG has drunk several gallons of the red, white and blue Kool-Aid. Strong military! Murdaaah!
The OG stands a better chance of killing me with laughter!
And, by the way, with respect to that military spending, the Pentagon has failed to pass an audit for seven years straight.
-
Who has a superior military to the USA ?
Waiting for the answer
-
“the Pentagon has failed to pass an audit for seven years straight.”
I have told you Barbados is a global leader in excellence. Truth is, the Pentagon has never passed an Audit since it was instituted in 2018. Their problem, is they actually submit failed reports. Barbados has them beat, are smarter, they simply fail to report. Period. Don’t give others the chance to say ‘you failed’.
-
“Who has a superior military to the USA ?”
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
LOL….You MUST be a Bajan politician @ John2Spending wise, – NO ONE IN HISTORY has a ‘superior’ military….
BUT…
‘winning military battles wise’,
– FEW have been as pathetic.Somewhat like our politicians since Tom.
Big donkeyed budgets….
Unlimited deficits …
EVER growing DEBTS…
….and can’t get one shiite done successfully– EXCEPT to hold fetes, where – JUST LIKE THE USA’s military, most of the STATE MONEY expended ends up in the few ’select’ hands of contractors, consultants, and political contributors….
Boss…
A ‘superior military’ is one that consistently ACHIEVES superior RESULTS – by successfully getting to the objectives set.ie…
-If you say you will ‘liberate’ Iraq, it does NOT then go from being a BETTER SOCIETY than yours is (under Saddam), – to the Stone Ages after your ‘liberation’…-If you say that you will ‘throw out the Taliban from Afghanistan’, then you don’t end up running with your tail between your legs, and leaving them with your military hardware – and more in control of the country than ever before.
-If you say you are bringing transparency to government, then you don’t operate as a MAFIA… with ZERO accountability.
-If you say that you are bringing breathalyzer testing, then it don’t take YEARS …and still nothing….
-If you say that you will provide a report on the $60 MILLIONS dumped into HOPE, then you just do it!!!
Do you think that you get the difference yet – between BILLIONS of dollars spent …. and YET the lotta dollars can’t get one shiite done?
Skippa…
“Unless the Lord builds a house, its builders labor over it in vain; unless the Lord watches over a city, the watchman stays alert in vain.” Psalms 127:1What a time!!
-
Who has a superior military to the USA ?
Waiting for the answer
The long set of BS not need
-
The best military are those of Sweden and Normay. They are hardly called on, as their leaders avoid disputes and their populations there are both disciplined and respectful of their countries and what they stand for. Thus was born the saying ” the best military is the one you never have to call on.”
-
@ John A
Amen.They also happen to have the most advanced standards of living, social systems, educational standards, and general government transparency.
-
-
Still waiting to hear which military is superior to USA
-
The Sweden that you have referred to is something from its long distant past. It has a huge problem with crime, particularly, with Eastern Europeans and Muslims. Bombings and shootings are now common place in Sweden.
-
“Still waiting to hear which military is superior to USA”
(/blockquote>How do you keep a cxnt in suspense?
The jury is still out it’s in the balance and can go either way
War Games
USA has strongest air power and can drop big bombs from high up in the sky
but has an aversion against putting boots on ground and losing soldiers
politically wars will not be popular and would lose reelectionChina could possibly beat USA in a longer protracted war
it has a lot more soldiers and a bigger population to tap intoUSA are stumped for ideas after their initial bombing campaigns of 1-2 weeks
China plays the long game for decades and hundreds of yearsWar Mongers, Everything Is Different
-
@ TLSN
They have a problem with border control, as much of Europe now has as a result of the freedom of movement crap. It looks like many of the victim countries of this idea have now had enough though and are looking to make plans to reign this in.
The problem with the freedom of movement is that the criminal element always gravitate to the greener pastures, whether it be USA or Europe.
Another amazing little gem too is Licenstein. Tiny little country that is wealthy as hell with little crime or problems, at least for now!
-
Wars are not fought and won on paper. On paper, the USA looks like it has the best military. But on difficult terrain in foreign territories it turns out that it is a different story.
I’ll search for a video I saw of Chris Hedges interviewing another war reporter, one who actually went out into the field. He’ll tell you something about the glorious battles of the United States of America’s military.
Hang on!
-
Dub
U forgot about the navies
IMO it the politics civilian leadership ( presidents) that are responsible for what can may call USA military defeats .
Ur point about man power I agree but note the case of Russia in Ukraine. Rushdie is superior to Ukraine in all military aspects = man power numbers ( active and reserved) , equipment numbers and technology.
What’s stopping china from invading Taiwan? No answer needed
@ Bushie
The houties defeated USA ? They had a few scrimmages with one or 2 battle ships and could barely touch them. That’s like the USA fight them with the little finger onlyAccording to ur logic and consider the taliban was/ is a milarary then the taliban is the most superior military and the USA can be concidered the worst
Doing the same thing over and over…….,
Saying the same thing over and over…….,,,,
Politicalising ever topic every dayWaru + Mariposa and not one word
Yes @ you bushie
-
TLSN and John A are missing…
Sweden has a problem with Right wing Nazi movements corrupting youth
only stupid dummies buy into the shrill hyperbole of racial annimus
TLSN has never been in a fight with the skinheads going toe to toe blow for blow
-
See wha uh tell yuh! America recalled their supposed projection of military might blaming a hurricane.
As if military actions must be held in perfect weather. Populations have to be totally brainwashed to totally believe anything White people say.
The truth has long been that the American military has been weak because of the state capture of what Isenhower called “the military industrial, “congressional” complex’ and other controlling forces of course, like the Zionist Lobby.
Indeed, the state has long been the property of vested interests. Like under Covid when we saw the hold of “big pharma” on the sickness industry. We suggest, that there is no space within the state for ordinary people, except to act as window dressing at the once four-yearly or biannual pantomime called elections.
Venezuela has been armed to the teeth by weaponery which America does not have, will never have. And America will never have them because the corporates which dominate the military industry primary strategy is to maintain its domination of the national budget, not developing effective military hardware. The height of military-Keynesianism. And it does this by having absolute priorty over healthcare, education and other social needs.
We are disappointed that an asshole like Kamala Persad-Bi has not yet calculated the fundamental geopolitical, geostrategic shifts in the world. That such a person could have only recently been elected also speaks to the nature of the Trinidadian population. That this idiot in an attempt to please the fascist in the WH, could have missed these forces, the forces of BRICS, and sided with a dead American Empire, declining to at best stay neutral, tells us about the depth of do-do the region is in. Mottley would have been no different either.
The Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela has, for example, Russian S-400 air defense systems. And there is no military aircraft on earth which these systems cannot defeat with ease. Also, Venezuela has hypersonic missiles able to sink any vessel entering its waters.
This schema makes the capture of Venezuela’s oil, and that misadventure was only about oil, not crime or drugs, far too expensive for the fool in the WH. It sends a message to Guyana that the soft coup launched by Mottley, Arthur, Beckles and the Caribbean Court of Appeals in Guyana may soon come to haunt the region if Venezuela, as the now demonstrated preeminent regional military power, decides to intervene in the greater Esequibo region to settle this national fault line purposefully left behind by the wicked British.
-
Yes BRICS!
However, the Shanghai Cooperation Organization (SCO) met over the last two days in China. This is to BRICS what NATO is to the G7.
Of course, nobody in the Western world, including people in Barbados, would have known.
The SCO, like BRICS, comprises half the world’s population. That is not hard to do once you have India and China, egen as India has dispensed with strategic duality and is rushing headlong into the arms of a rival China.
-
@ Mother Earth
You need to hold your fire until Wednesday’s Chinese National Day Parade
Chinese: 国庆阅兵, officially the National Day of the People’s Republic of China ParadeThe West is calling it Anti-West Parade as they invented Duality of the Human Race like the Devil who has not got any spirituality i.e. non-duality oneness for humanity
We no like them and them no like we
I no deal with War as I am a man of peace
the Prince of Peace is coming from the East
as Prince Buster would sayAfter world war II white scum formed apartheid states of South Africa and Israel and the wicked white world let them have them nuclear bomb
Clint Eastwood And General Saint-Can’t Take Another World War https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0alvr-L5ccE
-
Guys, you are making me look bad. You are making me look like an apologist for and a supporter of the US and it wickedness. But a greater sin, would be for me to allow you to continue your flawed thinking.
I call on David to immediately disband and ban BU Military War Council.
These military strategists are still fighting using World War and World War II strategy. One strategist positioning his/her troops in difficult terrain.. Psst, psst.. guided missiles, planes, drones, bombs from the sky …
At this time, the ugliest America is here with us. It is uglier than anything that we have seen before. I am convinced that Trump’s war machine will not care about rules, or the World’s opinion. It will not fight limited and constrained wars of the past. I am fearful that no type of warfare will be off of the table. Weapons and technology tested by Israel will be deployed; The imaginary Russian juggernaut is being held to a tie in Ukraine and depending on North Korea for support. I doubt their missiles (if available) are as effective as claimed..
Any war in Venezuela will fail only if the people are prepared to fight to the end. Guerilla warfare will trump Russian weaponry
Honestly some folks are brilliant and insightful, but, but, but, but they should be removed from BU Military War Council.
-
Any war in Venezuela will NOT fail only if the people are prepared to fight to the end. Guerilla warfare will trump Russian weaponry
Honestly, some folks are brilliant and insightful, but, but, but, but they should be removed from BU Military War Council.
-
All those bombs from the sky were available during the Afghanistan invasion, dearie.
That only just ended.
-
@ Theo
The one card we have not discussed is will Maduro’s thousands of warriors be there when he needs them? Remember those members of his voluntary guard are also suffering for lack of basic essentials in their day to day life. Also he lost the elections and much of his army would of been in that vote.
I believe before it comes to a war, a handful of his guard will capture him and turn him over to the USA for the $50 million USD.
-
Yes those bombs were available but the taliban after being run out the capital went into gorilla mode
It order to defeat the. USA would have had to do what Israel is now doing in Gaza. The America. Public would not stand for that from our military