By, Dr. Tara Inniss Department of History, Philosophy and Psychology, The UWI, Cave Hill Campus (updated 9 Mar 2925)

A Symbolic State of Affairs and Some Words from Our ‘Fallen Historians’

How symbolic of our current state of affairs that we remove from among our first landing places of indigenous, European and African peoples, the very civic institutions that are part of an enduring (and admittedly problematic) development of our modern democracy to put up yet another hotel on our already hotel-dense “Platinum Coast”? According to the Ministerial Statement delivered by Dr. the Hon. William Duguid on March 7, 2025 the listed indigenous archaeological site, the remnants of a military fortification, and a monument may now be retained – we hope. But the land tax department. The post office. The police station and magistrate’s court. The library. All parts of movements and institutions that have been providing Barbadians and visitors to these shores with services that have become part of our daily lives and responsibilities will be removed to somewhere else. But the people did not have the full information about a space that belonged to them. They did not have a say. We have been silenced and made absent in the process. 

A land transaction was initiated with an investor in 2021 – the same year that the Republic was founded when all crown property became state property – after a Request for Proposals (RFP) was sent out by BTI, Inc. for tourism development. Incidentally, we were getting regular COVID updates at the time and there seemed to have been a thrust towards better public information due to the pandemic – but mum on this. But today I feel like I am left to imagine a lot about what happens in Government – I don’t really feel like I know and apparently, members of the ruling party’s Government did not know either, but our civil servants must have known and so did our members of Cabinet, and then the House of Assembly and then the Senate – where probing questions about this land transfer reached the public for the first time!

Something seems amiss in the new Republic – and I think it seems to have similar themes of “silence” or “removal” or “absence”. 

Well, we know where Dr. Karl Watson would have stood on this matter of questions raised about what happens to our heritage in these transactions? I don’t even have to say. I heard his name invoked several times by Senators just days after his funeral in their response to the “Resolution re Acquisition of land at Trents, St. James for Holetown Civic Centre” (Barbados Senate Debate 5/2/2025). 

And, at the time of our move to a Republic Professor Emeritus Pedro Welch said of the Republic that “The historical significance is already laid. The thing is fait accompli. It will happen and historically, it will be recorded in the history books. What will be missing from the history books is a sense of the vox populi. In other words, the voice of the people” (Barbados Today “Historian: Switch to republic undermined by lack of public education” 27/ 11/ 2021). It is still missing in yet another fait accompli.

Trevor Marshall, another recent fallen historian, spoke of a game of “chess” and “castles” in reference to the Prime Minister’s move to establish the Republic and that “Under a future republican system of governance, … [he] does not contemplate Barbadians having any deeper nationalistic pride, generally” (Barbados Today “The Impact of the New Republic” 30/11/2021). We have not. There is no greater pride.

I do sense, however, that we have a Republic to defend since we now have one and what we cannot afford is to continue to have our voice missing from the history books. 

I agree that the services at the civic buildings can be moved if another existential threat to our island nation – climate change – is likely to continue to have an impact on the provision of services at that location, but this should have been done so in consultation with the public as a principle of sustainable development and in our work towards achieving UN Sustainable Development Goal 13 Climate Action. I think, however, that climate change also places an existential threat on our tourism economy and hotel development too, right? And that should have also been a consideration in any plans to take public land out of public use. 

A whole host of thoughtful, creative and locally-inspired and designed public uses for that land could have been integrated into any RFP back in 2021 – maybe even a reflective park commemorating all the events and services provided at that space for over a thousand years which have gone into bringing us to our state entering a new phase of sovereignty and self-rule using sustainable development principles. And yes, Golden Square Freedom Park opened in the City in November 2021 but I think we have emerged from an oppressive land regime as a people who deserve more access to public space in our parishes – not less. That fact could have also been considered.

Imagine the power of symbolism there – to establish a democratic space where all of the people of Barbados could own a piece of this rock near the sea; where they could make a firm statement of belonging where visitors would be welcome too all while recognizing that that this site of landing which brought a lot of pain to our people, also could be a space of resilience against old and new forces that are here to limit us. 

But in the year of the Republic – public land was vested in a foreign investor/ local business to build a luxury hotel and none of us knew. No one told us. I guess we have now learned that there was an ad in the paper when we were homeschooling our children and looking for COVID vaccines. I suppose that suffices for public consultation when in fact public officials were appearing in press conferences almost daily/ weekly on other important national matters at the time. 

And now, is this the legacy of that space? Is it a monument to our civic silence, absence and removal? 

I wonder what Watson, Welch and Marshall would have to say about that from beyond… they don’t have to. We all know. 

They said it before. 

Listen 

and don’t forget. 

For the post-script on the legacies of the services that will be removed to somewhere else follow the link…

A post-script on what will be removed to somewhere else and what legacies those civic institutions represent: 

The land tax department (now Barbados Revenue Authority BRA). Well, our indigenous ancestors did not have a capitalist economic relationship with the land, so I don’t think they paid taxes as such. And for hundreds of years most people in Barbados did not own enough of anything to pay land tax so they could not vote. But we have land deeds going back to the 1640s in Barbados and for as long as the English (later British) have been on the island we have been paying taxes, and that certainly seems to have continued into our Republic but whether we have a say may be up for debate. 

The post office. We have one of the oldest postal services in the Americas dating to 1663. Mail used to come through Barbados first from London to Barbados to the English Americas. Later, mail remittances would be the salvation of our people as Barbadians migrated en masse to the rest of the region, Panama, Cuba and beyond! It was (maybe still is) the place that Barbadians heard from loved ones who had sought opportunities globally because they could not sustain themselves locally. 

The police station. Yes, undoubtedly a part of our problematic history of law and order established just after emancipation in 1835 when the colonial government invested more in law and order to control a newly emancipated population than in education or health care – something that would not be fully reversed until our Independence in 1966 – and what our people really needed – and continue to need! However, the Barbados Police Force has contributed to the story of continued stable rule on this island. 

The library. In 1777, a Literary Society was established in Barbados and a Library Association in 1814 – both private organisations – were not really organized for “we” as such. The first public library established in 1838 (same year as full emancipation) at Codd’s House in Bridgetown (now demolished) which was endowed with the collections of the Literary Society and Library Association. In 1874, it was moved to a section of the Public Buildings or Parliament. In 1904, another angel investor Scottish-American industrialist/ philanthropist Andrew Carnegie established the Carnegie Free Library in Bridgetown (a year before the Holetown monument was erected) – now vacant. A cherished institution which proved vital to generations of students looking for quiet places to study and to escape into the world of literacy. Now, young people are disappearing into the digital world – and that is ok – I guess. But what of digital literacy? But I suppose the irony is Carnegie invested in our minds. I suppose this investor could be said to invest in our pockets. 

The library. The archive. Our local tradition of continued record-keeping in the face of fires and hurricanes and the people who manage access to the public record, information and data should not be made to disappear without our say either.

63 responses to “A Symbolic State of Affairs”

1. I greatly appreciate your clarifying thoughts on this topic, Dr Inniss.

2. Wuh de Shiite!!
    UWI Cave still have people of THIS ilk?
    What an enlightening article!
    How educational and informative…. AND HONEST.

Perhaps there is hope….

If only THIS was the kind of UWI ‘research’ shared daily on VOB – instead of old newspaper articles about ‘wanted’ run-away slaves…

It should NOT be left to BU to highlight the lotta shiite that ALL our politicians have been depositing in the place.

Now perhaps we can get to some practical SOLUTIONS….

3. ‘ALL AHEAD’

GOVT PROCEEDING WITH HOLETOWN REDEVELOPMENT AMID PUBLIC CONCERNS
    By Shanna Moore

In the face of mounting public opposition, the government on Friday said it was pushing ahead with its plan to redevelop the Holetown Civic Centre for tourism, awarding a $176 million (US$88 million) contract to the Insurance Corporation of Barbados Limited (ICBL) to build a 100-room hotel.
    Despite concerns over the loss of a historic community space and insufficient public consultation, Senior Minister, Infrastructure and Planning in the Office of the Prime Minister Dr William Duguid, in a ministerial statement, dismissed claims that the government has been secretive about the project, saying consultations and public notices have been in place since 2021.
    “There has been no attempt to hide anything,” Duguid told Parliament. “We have been speaking about this at public meetings, publishing notices, and discussing it in Parliament. The facts are on the record.”
    The civic centre, which houses the police station, magistrates’ court, post office, library, and government offices around the 1905 monument to the island’s colonial settlement, will be relocated to Trents, St James, where a new multi-million civic centre is to be built.
    The new centre was initially budgeted at $40 million, but an additional $8 million was approved after government agencies requested larger accommodations.
    “The government departments to be accommodated in the new facility made a request for a larger building for the development,” he said. “In this circumstance, the government has approved an additional $8 million to meet their requests.”
    The new civic centre will house the Holetown Police Station, Licensing Authority, Revenue Authority, Post Office, Library, Magistrates’ Court, and the soon-to-be-established Social Empowerment Agency.
    Dr Duguid defended the decision to award the hotel project to ICBL, saying their proposal was selected over a competing $160m (US$80m) condominium complex submitted by Apes Hill Golf and Beach Club because, according to the minister, it would bring greater benefits to the economy.
    “A hotel development offers greater valueadded. It will generate employment, bring in foreign currency, and boost tourism in the area,” he said.
    While Dr Duguid noted that no final agreement has been signed, he confirmed that a five-star hotel with approximately 100 rooms is being proposed, subject to planning approval.
    The project has drawn criticism from the Barbados National Trust, CTUSAB, historians, and other figures, who have raised concerns about the loss of a historic community space and a lack of sufficient public consultation, with some residents questioning whether the government is prioritising tourism over community needs.
    The senior minister for public infrastructure insisted that the government had engaged with stakeholders and residents throughout the process and that subsequent meetings were recently held with those who raised concerns.
    He also reassured the public that historical considerations were always part of the plan and that the national monument at the site would be protected, as was stated in the 2021 public notices.
    “Most critical to the current public debate surrounding this project is the section of that notice which said prospective partners need to take note that given the historical significance of the national monument in that location, there is a requirement that it be protected,” Dr Duguid said.
    Duguid also acknowledged concerns about increased traffic congestion and infrastructure strain, noting that while major construction in the area could pose challenges, a traffic management plan is in development to ease congestion once construction begins.
    He further noted that the Ministry of Transport and Works has engaged an engineering firm to implement flood mitigation measures in Trents to ensure the new civic centre will not be at risk from water damage in the flood-prone area.
    Maintaining that due diligence was done and that the project is necessary for modernising public services and boosting economic growth, Dr Duguid said: “You can hide and buy land, but you cannot hide and work it.”
    “This project has been in the works for years, and we are committed to moving forward in a way that benefits the people of Barbados.” shannamoore@barbadostoday.bb

Source: BT

4. For some reason the blogmaster’s mind wondered to a subplot to this story that would make a good book, in the fiction category of curse. The timeline of the approval of the sale to ICBL, the topical story at the time concerning Inniss’ mishap involving a payment from ICBL etc. We live in interesting times. One day there is a good story.

5. Our politicians have become lazy in thought and are prepared to pursue investment opportunities at almost any cost. One can understand the desperation of government to secure foreign investment given the fragile state of the economy despite the PR stuff output by government’s talking heads.

6. Optumistic as always – you are…

The cynical view is that there appears to be a relentless desperation to secure ‘SOMETHING’ at every possible opportunity – You can call it ‘investment’….

It ALSO appears that for some of these decision makers .. EVERY SHIITE that they touch turns into an expensive mess … and YET they get to persist…

Is THAT not interesting?

7. William Skinner Avatar

How can a people have illusions of their place in the geo-political power houses if their culture is being destroyed and their lands are being sold. How can we not go on our beaches but want to stand up in international fora to be hailed as orators.
    These are the questions that will inhabit the minds of those who actually live on the planet . Watson , Marshall and Welch , were firmly grounded in reality. We have no doubt that they knew all about : geo-political trends , international trade , economic theory and global bodies/groups from the north to the south and east to west but they chose wisely to look at the real big picture. Any one of them could lecture on interconnectedness and then wake up the next morning and could not get a simple sea bath or sit in some well appointed seaside park relaxing in the place built by the Blood Sweat and Tears of their ancestors.
    The purpose of education is not to make men carpenters but to make carpenters of men. (W.E. B. Du Bois)

8. Not sooooo quick!

A few weeks ago this writer, Pacha, was the voice in the wilderness screaming against an amateur of everything pretending to be an historian talking shiiiite about Marshall, Watson and Welch. Subjecting them to the world of a religious idiot!

Again, we hasten to say that we’ve had biting critiques of at least two of these. That more time should elapse between those need be unearthed.

Instead our guns are best directed at those who would have allowed a neophyte to descercrate the memory of these three, two weeks before stumbling on a piece by a real professional historian. A person who must have known them much better.

Yet another, who in his quintessential Bajan cowardice, sought to impute that somehow Pacha appeared to be talking differently now these people were dead, ignoring the requirement not to immediately speak I’ll of the dead, especially about one of these three, against whom bitting critiques were made, personally known to that one.

Now today we have a Bushie being surprised that professional historians still exist. When even yesterday this same rasssoul Bushie sought comfort with the same motley bunch in arguing that the simplicity of village life represents a sophistication equivalent to modern economic management theory.

Well, these two ideas cannot comfortably coexist. And even as village life has had a central place within the evolutionary history of mankind, it however cannot, has not, will not, ever be able to, give us the highly sophisticated measurements which humans continue to develop throughout the world.

The problem is that tooo many people here fail to embrace the limitations of self, the one, and in so doing promote an internal or atomized logic which is subject to being easily exposed.

We expose them now, even as the renderings of Inniss leave much to be desired.

9. Peter L. Thompson Avatar
    Peter L. Thompson

Dr Inniss-Gibbs vividly exposes very profound deficiencies in the decision making processes for economic and social development in Barbados.

The processes are obscure, bureaucratic, and impervious to interventions in the public interest. The development on Holetown beach has not yet been submitted to the Town Planning and Development Department, yet its fundamental parameters have already been set in stone by an MOU between the Government of Barbados and the ICBL that is not available to citizens for analysis or public comment.

Furthermore, according to the Barbados Physical Development Plan prepared by the Planning and Development Department, Holetown has for over two decades been regarded as “built out”, with little opportunity for a growth and expansion. The current plan lists eight key directions for Holetown development and none of them mention expansion of hotel room infrastructure. In their goals and objectives, they list “ Embrace the waterfront as a public space” and “Celebrate cultural heritage as central to the identity of Holetown”.

Why is it that the Barbados Physical Development Plan seems to be being ignored?

In addition, Barbados Tourism Marketing Inc. has responsibility for steering the development of Barbados tourism through their National Tourism Plan as well as a professional staff in their tourism product development department.

Why is it that this all seems to be being ignored. When the BTMI markets Barbados, they emphasize the people, the culture, the heritage… they do not try to compete with beach focussed mass tourism destinations like the Dominican Republic. Why are we not developing the tourism industry along the lines that industry experts recommend?

The tragedy here is that the proposed Holetown development is not only bad for Holetown and bad for Bajans, it’s bad for the tourism industry itself.

10. @Enuff

Over to you.

11. Power of Soul
    What version of African Culture do you want in the carnival?
    Reggae, Jazz, Soul, Heavy Duty Dub it is all the same to me
    Each generation has a different and a unique style
    but it is all the same roots branches leaves x fruit

Loran’s Dance, Lorna’s Dance, Heavy Duty Dub

12. Would like to hear Marsha Caddle’s view on the Holetown development. It is interesting her resignation came amidst of the controversy surrounding development at Holetown. Marsha in the interest of the people’s business state your position.

13. William Skinner Avatar

These childish attempts to prove that “sophistication” is the domain of a selected few is comical. Nobody on this blog has ever attempted to elevate village life to any “sophisticated ” intellectual level. In blunt words, village life needs no such elevation because it was the Village where the “sophisticated” were nurtured and as we say “raised”. Therefore referencing the Village, is no intellectual exercise because the Village has nothing to prove.

14. It ALSO appears that for some of these decision makers .. EVERY SHIITE that they touch turns into an expensive mess … and YET they get to persist…”

These politicians are gluttons. Always moving to a new money making scheme and the Bajan public discussing as if they are part of a debating team
    Steal houses
    HOPEless houses
    Keep your eyes on land, roads and half an eye on agriculture …

Most of these initiatives are about shifting some money from the public’s pocket to that of another.

These politicians can put as much lipstick as they want on these pigs and pass them off as fine young ladies to the Bajan public, but they all end up at the market, someone ends up at the bank and the public wondering ‘how could they fool us again and again and again …’

15. Well, if that is true, even as these rejoinders always equate to “I ain’t say so”, this time the comments were just made yesterday and could be easily unearthed.

Of course, this writer shall consistently assert a right to paraphrase and will never see any need to quote anybody word for word on a blog. that is the province of the 11-plus boy.

16. Well as i said before the outcome of this issus goes way deeper than Holetown. It speaks to a brek ass country that willing to sell anything to everyone at any cost to the people of Barbados.

Wunna thought you had concerns with the direction we were going in, well here is your answer. This government sees hotels as the only growth path for this island and in their eyes there is nothing that can stop them pursuing either, not even the wishes of its own people.

17. @John A

Exactly. Investment at any cost it looks like.

18. NorthernObserver Avatar

The battle of Canada? The two short listed firms were ICBL-Poulin and Apes Hill-Chomeday of Gildan fame. Both understand quid pro quo well.
    Albeit when I heard the Minister in the Ministry of Ministers, Duguid, was making a Ministerial statement, I was expecting the long awaited one for Savvy.
    Or possibly, since the BTI was involved, it was the hotel associated with the new Dental College in St.Lucy where eminent domain was used to acquire 9 acres, to add to many owned by BTI at that site.
    But alas, we were back to Holetown, where some MOU was signed, WITHOUT any permissions from the Planning Department. Did it contain a clause on specific performance?
    Déjà vu? Sounds eerily similar to Bay St. Poulin better get building before the GoB changes. Now the lack of recent reports from ICBL makes sense, for surely they would have to inform shareholders of this large new investment. And the NISss as the largest minority shareholder in ICBL, gets a de facto 12% share in this new venture. Could they even be the financier? Déjà vu all over again?

19. William Skinner Avatar

Everything the good doctor said , or similar views , have been expressed before by the same three historians identified in the article. Still, like @Bushie and others, we welcome her article.
    We really think that @Bushie, was merely saying that it’s not often that people from Cave Hill, take time to enlighten the citizens. To even suggest that @Bushie now understands there are “professional” historians is pure nonsense.
    To quote @ Bush Tea :
    “Wuh de Shiite!!
    UWI Cave still have people of THIS ilk?
    What an enlightening article!
    How educational and informative…. AND HONEST.

Perhaps there is hope….”
    Ah lie.

20. @ Northern

I feel you make these statements just to VEXIFY me! Thing is you may well be right, as the excuse would be it is a good safe investment for NIS because they would be entitled to not only a loan payment from the developer, but for 12% of the profit on operation as a shareholder. Of course wunna know that dividends only get paid IF dem is a profit?

Problem I got though is IF the NIS is involved in the financing in anyway, you taking up the same public money that dont want it built to now lend out!

You feel dem would go that far though Northern?

Lord Help the rock do.

21. You are congenial idiot. Can only operate enterly based on the emotional.

We don’t know any other kind of mind which would presume everything some body says is the same as three other people. Intelligent life is far more complex. Academic life tooooooo.

And in academic circles, or between people so exposed, these kinds of equations would hardly ever be accepted as more than mere man-in-the-street talk.

But it takes a certain infantile mentality to so surmise.

The underlying and material issue is not whether people from Cave Hill speak publicly or not. The more prescient concerns are that Cave Hill has largely been a waste of time, one.

And two, that there is a culture which goes back to before neoloberalism where people from up there , pretending to act in the públic’ s interest eventually turned out to be frauds.

In these circumstances why should anybody therefore be accepted without serious interrogation. Because dey saying somethings pleasing to a simpleton, absent of complete bodies of works examined, etc

22. real Bajans talking.

23. come sing a song with D.

24. pay attention.

25. @ William
    Boss, ya mean that you can’t see that Pacha is a strife-maker and a gallows bait..?

Looka!!!
    When you see those wild balls outside yuh off stump – just turn yuh back, steupsss, and wait for the next lolly that coming – nuh…

Leave them to Bushie, cause the Bushman does step to the side and smash those shiite balls from Pacha over mid-on fuh sixes…
    All now so …Bushie here looking at his last long-hop making is way up the wicket … with sugar dripping from it…

murda!!!

26. NorthernObserver Avatar

@JohnA
    Sorry for your vexation.
    But wait, who paying, different from building, the offices they moving up de road by Maple grounds. Is it ICBL? That $40M number bandied about.
    And while ICBL put forward a Proposal, who is to own the land? That man Kinch bought de land after submitting a development proposal, similarly with no formal planning approval. ICBL buying de land? Does that $80M include the land? Tek care we don’t find out the land title somehow belongs to the Ministry of Housing, not the BTI.
    This BTI seems to have a recurring major role, yet they don’t file Annual Reports either. The boss man, been there forever. High time one of our many journalists interview him?

27. William Skinner Avatar

@ Bushie
    Good advice. We know that you are adept at defending yourself. @ Pacha belongs to a group of people who have been exposed to rigorous intellectual interrogation.
    We should continue to be amazed by his profound thoughts and if he ever leaves the pages of BU, it’s survival will be in serious doubt.
    Ah lie

28. Bushie
    You are the real gallows bait! However, we’ll prefer the guillotine in your case.

Anybody who reads somebody unknown and embraces that person without a deeper examination cannot claim to be sentient.

Pacha seeks no congregation of the like-minded, presiding over things unknown to so sit in judgement.

Your real problem is that weeee were able to show the weaknesses in recent arguments of yours, contradictions.

But instead on bowing to the majesty of Pacha, you prefer to seek comfort in a company of fools, watching a cricket match.

We’re are quite sure there’ll be a prohibition against such immoral behavious within a foolish book somewhere near!

29. David
    Not me!! Every now and then I take a seat in the gallery and witness the egofowlism, homegeneity, banality and reductivism; and I’m reminded why I just sit in the gallery. I good.🤭

30. @enuff

This ‘noise’ about Holetown is not because of a flame in the BU space you have to admit. You have bigger fish to fry.

31. Who is you? I like my fish grilled.

32. @Enuff

You have gone on the defensive? It is the usual after spending time in office and the same old approaches are revealed. Then again the detritus always comes to the fore.

33. David
    I don’t know what you’re talking about.

34. @Enuff

Let your heart be troubled. There is an inevitably to it all.

Something you must be aware of given your keen interest in current affairs. The anti government position taken by former Senator Crystal Haynes, the resignation by Marsha Caddle after giving it a second try, the public rumble between Minister Charles Griffith and Trevor Prescod in the well of parliament last week and so on. What does it portend? Has it given a struggling political opposition some oxygen?

35. David
    I am aware of all of the above. Troubled? No! I’m not a politician. I hope ICBL starts the process quickly so the hotel and new civic centre can be constructed asap. You are focused on politics and winning elections, I’m more interested in progress.

36. Terence Blackett Avatar
    Terence Blackett

BABYLON IS FALLEN IS FALLEN AND HAS BECOME A DWELLING PLACE OF DEMONS, A PRISON FOR EVERY FOUL SPIRIT, AND A CAGE FOR EVERY UNCLEAN AND HATED BIRD

In this piece, it is clear that the maladroit manoeuvres of men “CONFIRMS” the #BiblicalExegesis of the above statement cited from Revelation, chapter 18, verse 1!!!

Even the phrase “FALLEN HISTORIANS” used by the writer can be construed as “OXYMORONIC” due to the inherent contradiction between the idealized role of a historian & the implications of being “FALLEN” (WHETHER DEAD* OR MORAL FAILURE)

Here’s a breakdown:

From the hubris of #OntologicalConsonance, historians are traditionally seen as “GUARDIANS” of sociological truth, theoretical objectivity, & academic integrity (THEY ARE NOT PROPHETS OR SEERS)!!!

Their work involves meticulous social research, impartial analysis, & accurate representation of the past (USING THE BAROMETER OF EMPIRICAL MODELLING) to suggest what the future may hold based on the cyclical nature of history. The title “HISTORIAN” carries an expectation of ethical commitment to these principles!!!

The term “FALLEN” typically connotes a moral or ethical decline – someone who has abandoned their principles, engaged in dishonesty, or been discredited. It suggests a departure from virtue or professional standards…

When combining these [2] terms – it creates a “PARADOX”. For “FALLEN” historians becomes arguably a “FAIT ACCOMPLI” – ceasing to fulfill their core tenets of their role. The philosophical oxymoron arises because the idealized identity of a historian (UPHOLDING TRUTH) clashes with the notion of being “FALLEN” (i.e. #CompromisingTruth). Therefore, in this sense, the phrase implies a “CONTRADICTION”: one cannot be both a true historian and ethically “FALLEN” simultaneously – as their “LEGACY”; whether good or bad lives on with primordial exactitude & phenomenological correlations…

Historians can make errors or act unethically, thus, the phrase highlights the literary dissonance between expectation & failure, making it oxymoronic in its juxtaposition of inherent integrity & moral decline – for the oxymoron reflects an idealized perspective. It underscores the tension between the profession’s ethical ideals & the reality of human fallibility, emphasizing that a “FALLEN” historian is, rhetorically, no longer a historian in the truest sense (WHETHER DEAD OR ALIVE)!!!

Daniel, the “PROPHET” warned that in the last “DAYZ”: “MEN SHALL RUN TO & FRO & KNOWLEDGE SHLL BE INCREASED”…

For the “SENTIMENTALISTS” amongst us, deprecatory & diabolic underhandedness in the “CHANGE MOTIF” of what we have held dear & is slowly but surely being “REMOVED” & carted off, can both be a good thing & I guess, a bad thing – all at once (2 things being possible at the same time)!!!

BRASSBADOS IS IN THE CROSSHAIRS OF GEOGRAPHIC & ECONOMIC VULNERABILITY

These are the “RISK FACTORS:

1. Isolation & Trade Costs

Remote locations increase transportation expenses, making imports/exports costly & limiting access to global markets

2. Limited Resources

Small island states have restricted natural resources (arable land, minerals, freshwater), forcing reliance on imports for essentials like food and energy

3. Economic Concentration

Too many are now dependant on narrow industries (TOURISM, FISHING, BUYING & SELLING IMPORTED CRAP), leaving them exposed to disruptions (e.g., #PLANdemics, overfishing, etc)

4. Extreme Weather, Climate Change & Environmental Risks

One of the foremost existential threats come from yearly “HURRICANES” where low-lying islands face inundation from sea-level rise, saltwater intrusion, coastal erosion & massive infrastructural damage due to hurricanes, tsunamis & severe wind

5. Rapid Pace of Political & Social Challenges & Change

With limited global Influence; limited bargaining power in international forums – factors that precipitate & affect access to aid, climate financing, & trade agreements does not allow much leverage in the board-room

6. Brain Drain

The vast majority of competent, erudite, “GIFTED”, & skilled workers “LEFT THE BUILDING” (as ELVIS” did), emigrating for better opportunities, “GROWTH” & for a chance to create something uniquely “PERSONAL” – while at the same time, the down-side resulted in the reduction of local capacity for “INNOVATION” & “GOVERNANCE” (given the fact that the “REAL BRAVEHEART LEADERS” exist in domicility) even until today in 2025 – refusing to jump on to a “SINKING SHIP”!!!

7. Governance Issue

Small populations struggle with political instability, CORRUPTION*, and/or inadequate institutions. Many require external support for survival, which can be inconsistent or tied to geopolitical interests. Exposure to commodity price fluctuations & economic downturns due to import/export dependencies. Most important of all, delivering good healthcare, great education, & 21st century utilities will be costlier given our small island, dispersed population groups…

IF THERE ARE ANY ANSWERS LEFT – THE MOTTLEY CREW GOV WILL NEED 2 ADDRESS

A. Representation of Marginalized Voices

B. Innovation in Policy Ideas

C. Checks on Political Monopolies

D. Revitalizing Democratic Engagement

E. Adaptation to Societal Shifts

F. Reducing Polarization

G. Crisis Response

H. Challenges from New Parties

The nation face obstacles like electoral system barriers, limited funding, media bias, & internal fragmentation & flux. Success depends on strategic alliances, public trust, & sustained grassroots mobilization if we are to see any real meaningful change – FOR THE BETTER!!!

ALL ELSE IS DOOMED 2 FAILURE

#NoOneIsComing2RescueUs

#GodHelpThoseWhoHelpThemselves

#CarpeDiem

37. There was a time when I was always ridiculed by some prominent BU bloggers for having the audacity to insert links from the UK’s Guardian newspaper.

One of these links was sent by me on in 2023. Please read the link below. Now ask yourselves who’s fooling whom.

https://www.theguardian.com/global-development/2023/jun/06/caribbean-beaches-public-access-development-transparency-engagement

38. ” I hope ICBL starts the process quickly so the hotel and new civic centre can be constructed asap.”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    An interesting position taken here by Enuff.
    One wonders what the ultimate objective is in that case…?

A cynical Bushie immediately sees it to be – to get ICBL (our new-found Canadian financier) his promised ‘pound of flesh’ BEFORE the GROUND SWELL of local opposition and INDIGNATION rises to the inevitable crescendo of REVOLT
    What, otherwise, would be the RUSH…?

If the project is INDEED so positive for Barbados then…
    1 – Why not take the time to bring EVERYONE on board with the ‘great’ concept?
    2 – Why not follow the LEGAL process – and FIRST GET PLANNING PERMISSION?
    3 – Why the secrecy ..until publicity became unavoidable?
    4 – Why no REPORTS wrt the MANY OTHER questionable projects with MULTI-MILLION losses to the treasury, in which this government has been involved? What is DIFFERENT here – compared with HOPE, STEAL, and even Four Seasons and Vaccines…?

Enuff has been the COHERENT defender of government policies so far.
    So when Enuff becomes ‘scarce’ or is CLEARLY rambling..
    THEN Bushie knows that we are up shit street…

39. @ Bush Tea

Enuff sees progress in the construction of the hotel on the site even if a majority of citizens the government serves are not onboard. To hell with the governance process. Therein lies the rub.

40. @ Terence
    “CHINA IS SO EMPTY -where is everyone”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Taking over the lands of the world’s brass bowls, who have Judas-type leaders, that are willing AND ABLE to sell out the FAMILY HOME – so that they can drive new electric BMWs and fly first class…

Check down in Greenland etc…
    …and all over Africa and the Caribbean…
    Steupsss..
    There is more than one way to skin a cat…
    ..or to CONQUER a country inhabited by BBs….

All it take is to dangle some shiite money in their faces
    and they will even sell their mothers…

Hear Duguid..
    “…wuh that is a 80 MILLION investment, – US dollars!!”

Translated:
    “Even muh mudda would get sell off… far less a few thousand brass bowl voters..”

41. “She explained that the company was seeking assurances and guarantees that the Government of Barbados would “indemnify them if any future Parliament at any stage in the next 40 years were ever to tax them for anything in the industry for any goods or services that others in the industry were paying taxes for”

42. Duguid has to be some sort of an idiot, or he thinks we are the idiots.

He makes a big deal about moving the various government functions out of the 100 year flood plain and yet is going to approve locating a Hotel in the middle of it.

What a rubbish argument.

Down there has flooded for time immemorial.

One of those fields “beyond recall” which somehow received its name from our ancestors and became known as “Swampy Ground” is the site of a part of Sunset Crest, which routinely floods as it has in the past 300 plus years.

Flooding is routine on the West Coast and will never be stopped, but it is rarely a threat to life or limb.

The only incident I can think of where there was loss of life on the West Coast due to flooding was of course Carew at Weston, last seen standing on the roof of his house floating out to sea.

What was the purpose of the flooding?

A government approved blocked gully facilitating the movement of trucks in the construction of a Golf Course to which a 2 million gallon per day catchment area was reallocated, away from its planned public use.

The developer, in less than a decade then sold off his development to a purchaser for $100 million USD.

The only losers in the deal were the citizens of Barbados.

It is alleged some ministers of Government received condos for their assistance in screwing their constituents.

43. NorthernObserver Avatar

All we need to know, is the BSE has not placed a ‘halt trading’ order on a stock which is not in compliance. And has not been for some time.

44. @NO

Does anyone care?

What was the share volume traded for ICBL last year?

45. NorthernObserver Avatar

Exactly.
    Nobody cares.
    No Auditor General Report. Nobody cares. Reports are useless anyway.
    We are a nation of laws, but they only apply sometimes, and to certain groups.
    The BSE is so busy, it is possible one member can be delinquent, and it goes unnoticed.
    All of this is apparently progress.
    We have progressed from missing one Report, to missing 15 in a row. Clearly progressive.
    What does the blog master say, piss in my pocket?

46. NorthernObserver Avatar

And so you know, Hamilton Financial, the entity which owns the majority share in ICBL, is a St.Lucian company, and has been since BF&M days. Nothing that Poulin did, he merely bought it.

47. Enuff every man is entitled to his opinion but can you really say what is happening at Holetown is PROGRESS? If so who is going to benefit from this PROGRESS you speak of? While you think on that let me tell you who will not beenfit.

The beach goers both local and tourist who used that area to park and use the beach behind it.

The guys who launch their vessels to the south end of the said beach.

Our grandchildren who would have lost yet another piece of public beach front land forever.

The many Bajans who would of benefitted from PLT’S proposal for an upmarket product with local offerings for ALL.

I could go on and on but I believe you get my point. You can build hotels on land anywhere on the west coast, as that is between buyer and seller of said land, that is not the case here. The Bajan will not be offered another piece of beach front land in Holetown in exchange for the site being given away. They are hotels on the west coast like ticks on a mongrel tail. How many pieces of beachfront land is there owned by the state in a historic area, with parking and great swimming?

Progress my tail. You talk about giving a few bajans jobs as maids and butlers progress? You call a one time sale of a state asset that is irreplaceable progress? What benefit is this atrocity to future Bajans yet to come? Are you suggesting they should seek satisfaction in telling stories from their parents about the days ” when we used to be able to go to Holetown and park for a swim.” Oh and for the record giving them a 4 foot wide access that a car can’t fit through is not an access either. It is merely the equivalent to the White Developments of the 1950s where you would had to of ” beg for a pass.”

48. What does the blog master say, piss in my pocket?
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Or…piss in our BB ‘topsies’..

No surprises here @NO..
    Brass bowls generally do not complain about being used as night stools.
    They will begin to ‘care’ when Gabby explains that, in his shiite song about ‘dah beach is mine’, the ‘MINE’ refers to those WHITE PEOPLE with the money to influence our politicians.

In order to see the beach, the BBs can always google ‘Barbados beaches’..

What dry bones….
    What blindness!!

…and what TRAITORS we have in our Parliament.