The following article penned by political analyst Ralph Maraj was recommended by BU family member Ras Jahaziel. He attached the following note:

I think he is also writing about Barbados culture. My position is that none of this is accidental or normal development, after reading please study the video attached – Ras Jahaziel

Whenever ­Carnival comes arou­nd, the word “culture” is bandied about voluminously and loosely in Trinidad and Tobago. It is often necessary to remind folks, official and ordinary, that culture is far more than the arts, festivals, and ­cuisine.

A nation’s culture is its light, its beacon, its soul, leading its people on. Soon we will see whether the culture that gave birth to the most powerful nation on earth and is alive in its constitution and history will rise to protect the United States against the fundamental assaults by its present president and administration.

I have said our culture should move us “towards national equilibrium, refinement and resilience, a civilisation with standards and benchmarks and which is eventually its own protection against disintegration”. Can Carnival take us there? Or is this national festival part of the spreading swampland of social and cultural decay that I posited 14 years ago as the root cause our great ills, including the unprecedented level of crime and murder?

Culture is simultaneously the foundation, fabric and future of a society. I have said “culture determines the harmony between individual effort and social responsibility; and between narrow ethnicity or nationalism and the larger universality.

“Culture shapes ethical conduct in public life; tolerance levels for corruption; the strength of our institutions to ensure justice and accountability; whether we turn our diversity into an advantage; the development of discernment; and ultimately, the protection of our society from the manifold violations to which we are vulnerable.”

Our culture could either save or destroy us. The stronger the culture, the deeper the democracy to protect our rights and freedoms.

Ultimately, we are all responsible for what we have become as a nation. The politics has certainly had the major responsibility. Had it triumphed, we would be in a safer place today. But, notwithstanding early promise, politics fell victim to colonialism’s racial divide and handed down the poisoned chalice that debilitates us to this day. Despite valiant efforts of some, instead of arresting the swampland, our politics has been poisoned to become part of it. It remains one of the greatest threats to the sustainability of Trini­dad and Tobago.

Our Carnival, touted as our “great culture”, cannot escape scrutiny. There is a predominant banality here. Come tomorrow and Tuesday, we will again likely see the tyranny of shallowness in full flight when our former glorious parade of the bands degenerates into the annual degradation of a massive street fete with tens of thousands “wining” near-naked on the streets, all trivialised, many performing acts close to fornication in public, debasing the society.

This is our replacement for the magnificent street theatre once produced by George Bailey, Harold Saldenah, Irvin Mc Williams, Stephen Lee Heung, Peter Minshall and others. As I have said, the Carnival “has become the great trivialiser, showcasing us to the world as a frivolous, flimsy people, wining, jumping, ‘prancing’ to the precipice”. And “proud” of it!

I maintain that this “corrosive cultural debasement has been eating at the nation’s innards, weakening the social fabric, nurturing generations of young adults who are adrift, driven mainly by pleasure and materialism, so lacking in intellectual and spiritual depth they could fete every day, and with no commitment whatsoever to society and community”.

Can’t leaders see how this soulless environment also produces our epidemic of annual teenage pregnancies, child abuse, domestic violence, corruption, student hooliganism, crime, drug abuse, alcoholism and more? Indeed, do the nation’s leaders have any understanding of the inextricable link between culture and civilisation?

Do they appreciate how culture eventually protects a society against disintegration? Have they honestly assessed whether we have made any evolutionary cultural steps in 60 years of Independence? Have they discerned the profound connection between culture, enlightened law, a flourishing intellectual life and an eventually refined people? Or are mainly intellectual featherweights parading the political landscape?

This nation needs the profound now more than ever. We need our music to stir the soul, to express love, mourn loss and relate with the infinite. No more “hold dem and wuk dem”, please. Will tenderness completely disappear? And will singing become bawling? Please spare us the tramping noise encouraging us to wave bottoms and hollowness in the air.

There is so much pain here but unreflected in the arts. We need poignant tragedies and mordant ­satires enacted on the stage. We need compelling novels, short stories and poetry to plumb the depths and dilemmas of our existence. Ours is not a hollow story. We need sustained profundity and beauty in our intellectual life to arrest the spreading swampland.

Our culture must demand depth. Or, we will continue to feed the children a diet of superficiality and decadence where the loud and the profane, the inane and repetitious, thievery and mendacity will be lauded and rewarded.

And we will continue to pay in the decay of our society with falling standards, daily inanities, general purposelessness, collapse of community and family life, crime and violence, materialism, individualism, divisiveness and so much more. As we peer into the abyss, folks, what do we see? Culture or darkness?

—Ralph Maraj

Video submitted by Ras Jahaziel

59 responses to “Our culture or darkeness?”

1. The article is on point.

2. Exactly why I lost interest in Cropover.

3. Tremendous!!!! I have felt the same about Crop (sp?) Over too.

Debasement, rather than celebration of creativity.

You will get to where you aim for.

If you aim for darkness, that is where the society will arrive.

Well done Sir, perfectly penned.

And if those in authority do not take those words on, they are NOT ‘leaders’.

4. I have never taken part in any crop over event preferring to stick to my memories of what Barbados culture was like rather than engage in the fantasy created whenever.

I have never attended a calypso tent because I can’t remember any in existence growing up so why would I engage in the make believe.

Sure, I have listened to some of the music and enjoyed some but atleast that is real. Alot of it is really dark and does not reflect what I know of the past and is pure make believe.

5. Well, Maraj asked a lot of good questions but answered few.

Maybe his is also a representation of what Caribbean-ness has become, at the centre. And it maybe time for all the rose-coloured glasses to be thrown away.

At the same time, he seems to look towards a failing empire as a significant data point, primarily the madness exemplified by one man, while ignoring what he’s a product of.

Therein appears a possible set of contradictions.

He could have perhaps suggested straight lines between the decadence of the Caribbean and the forces which gave rise to it over 500 years ago.

He could have supposed the workings of universal forces making themselves known. But then again, modern writers, as artists, are not so engaged, too, in the occupation of the Birdmen.

6. We have reached a point in our ‘development’ where anything can be explained away as ‘we culture’.

7. Stuff and nonsense from the usual suspect!

Cultural expression is not static. Cropover was fine in the beginning. I took part and enjoyed. It has since devolved into debauchery, lacking in real creativity.

8. Bushie wondered when someone would finally be HONEST about the crap.

Carnival has ALWAYS been a lotta shiite – and been highly responsible for the LOW level of human decency and social cohesiveness in places such as Brazil and Trinidad.

In true brass bowl form, we CHOSE to follow such examples, and reinvented CRAPover. It is now a perfect reflection of the fact that EVIL has taken over our world.

Mature, fat, unattractive, semi-naked women and drunken shiite men, behaving in the most disrespectful manner – with their children looking on in amazement…. AND WITH AUTHORITIES PROUDLY ADMIRING THE DEBAUCHERY and parading it for all the world…

This signifies ‘culture’?, ..and visionary national development? ..and social progress?
    Steupsss…

Then these SAME degenerates can be heard complaining about the ‘youth’ and about their lack of respect for rules, authorities, parents, schools and especially for the damned shiite CHURCHES – who not only don’t have the BALLS to call out the lotta shiite, but some of whom even have THEIR OWN revelers to boot.

If the old mature leaders of society can be so crass, …what did we expect from the youth? do as we SAY … not as we do???!!
    We GET what we PLANT.

What a place!!

9. Crop Over was created to fill the calendar with attracting tourists in mind?

10. Bush Tea
    March 6, 2025 at 9:25 am

Mature, fat, unattractive, semi-naked women and drunken shiite men, behaving in the most disrespectful manner – with their children looking on in amazement…. AND WITH AUTHORITIES PROUDLY ADMIRING THE DEBAUCHERY and parading it for all the world…

It is worldwide, even in the US as we watch these American tanks rumble out to Ukraine!!

https://imgur.com/jMoxhCu

11. I just can’t understand how a woman would let herself be filmed in this state of undress.

12. special band fuh rite bajans.

13. What is Barbadian / Caribbean Culture?
    It’s people were branded by their masters and taught their master’s culture and version of religion and had their own original African culture and spirituality beaten out of them, but they still have a spicier Palate connected to mouth and taste, both literally and metaphorically

Is Carnival a legacy of Slavery Days as an annual celebration for good slaves
    or is it a celebration of freedom from Slavery or is it about procreation of the race?

Can you tell me the definition of power?
    “It’s the ability to direct or influence another’s behaviour or course of events. That’s what I have. I can remove you from this class and fail you. Or I can send you before the Dean for violating the student code of conduct. The thing is, I can alter the course of your life. That’s power. You don’t have any.

When Christopher Columbus first came in contact with Native Americans, it was the Arawak people in the Bahamas. I’ll read to you from Columbus’s journal: “They willingly traded us everything they owned…” They do not bear arms, and do not know them, for I showed them a sword, they took it by the edge and cut themselves out of ignorance.They will make fine slaves… With fifty men we could subjugate them all “and make them do whatever we want.” You ever feel like that, Trent? Ever feel like making someone do you want, whether they want to or not? It’s a very European mentality, stemming from the oppressive political and religious structures of the Renaissance. Kings and priests with absolute power ruling masses who have none. That was the mentality of the men who discovered America. And it is the mentality our society struggles with today… What you know of history is a dominant culture’s justification for its actions. And I don’t teach that. I’ll teach you what happened. To my people. And to yours. Because we are all the descendants of the subjugated

Journey to the Zeroth Dimension
    Yesterday I was chatting about yogic ascetic karmic reincarnation spirituality and other deeper universal things to teach the Bu students about understanding of life as an organic spiritual journey on a long road where the journey is the lesson for happiness and not the joy of reaching the final destination and it takes one step at a time to increase awareness of the atmic point between duality and non-duality
    The Atmic Body is the 5th of the energy bodies, appears as the colour blue and is where source and matter meet. This is where the Blueprint of Divine Health is transformed. This is the level we begin to experience a deeper sense of self and an alignment of life purpose where intention and experience dance together.

but as per usual it went above the head of the boy who did not understand the deeper question and was offended and became defensive reactionary and offensive and another backward boy chimed in with his same old usual tired boring 1-D insult. It is difficult to converse with people on a lower level when you are on a higher level but you persevere and put ideas out there so they may copy them and fake it to make it until they get it each one teach one iron sharpen iron reasoning

Reincarnation And Rasta Culture, Peter Tosh
    Instead of referring to the fantasy pages in the bible of I and I’s reality
    It was I from the beginning who was the follower of Christ
    and it is I reincarnated in this time to be the same follower of Christ
    but because I and I culture was taken away what you would call 21 thousand miles from Africa and taken to Jamaica seen but the culture wasn’t taken out of I
    The time that I was taken away Jah say this time I shall not write on no more table of stone the culture but upon their hearts so that in this time we shall teach the nation and these are the days that is the manifestation of those prophecies.
    So the Rasta man is nothing new under the sun
    It is just the man who lives the life of Christ, don’t intend to subordinate to colonialism and slavery and victimisation and all those shitstems that tend to incriminate and discriminate man because that is totally illegal and what you call unconstitutional.
    I don’t even like to talk English ’cause it always like to get my tongue complicated seen. English is not my tongue and I been talking that from I was born and still I still can’t talk English, I don’t like English because there is something else trying to come out, but so because of education I was educated with this thing here

Now turn your awareness to the phenomenon of sound
    Listen to the various noises and sounds in your environment
    Completely dissociate from the source of the sounds
    Experience the outer world as only energy frequency and vibration
    Allow your sense of hearing to broadcast out into the far off distance

Ain’t Gonna Turn Back, Flat Foot Hustling Dub, Walk With Jah
    Dubplates and Raw Rhythm

14. I left Barbados before cropover became a part of our culture.
    I remember cutting canes for my grandfather. but there was no cropover celebrations.
    I remember a few church fairs, but it is my recollection that they were not connected to cropover.

You want to see Bajan culture… go to instagram and look at Bajantube. Ridiculous
    I suspect he will now be missing for two weeks

15. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

David, yes the article is “on point” … but we must step back and see (accept) the realities of any and all “cultural” relevance in society.

The remarks re calypso tents and Cropover is strange in my view.

A tent is merely a modern day (for last 40+ years) manifestation of commerciiallization of a long (cultural) tradition of making folk-music.

In simple historical analysis: surely we can accept that our fore-fathers (mine and several here, anyhow) made music/folk rhythms/ballads/whatever for many years during captivity.

Freedom brought a greater exposition of that and we have embraced it as a serious cultural data point. What is a ‘tent’ but the commercial dynamic of that! Why is it make believe in any practical sense.

I further offer that the “depravations” at a Crop Over, Carnival, Mardi Gras or Brazil Extravaganza are more changes in societal moral acceptances than CULTURAL debasement!

But that can become a loaded statement and may be seen as contradictory!

We try endlessly to reconcile the ethos and traditions that are innate to us as growing-up (culture) and the shifts and changes that infuse modern dynamics (massive commercialization, moral decay) which turn our dearly loved traditions upside down.

We can always embrace the aspects of CropOver or Carnival we truly enjoy and dismiss the trivialities rather than dismiss the IDEA of the festival; if we really want to enjoy “we culture”.

CULTURE as Marharaj writes so well is a complex model of tradition, ethos, habits, beliefs etc … we can’t just jettison ‘de bumbaclot toute baga’ like a Tanti Merle or Ossie Moore bad joke!

Peace out.

16. Bushie

Where did carnivals come from?

Where did your presumed spirituality come from?

Is it also possible to say that the cultural intents of your Shiite religion is just as carnal as you now talk only about carnaval? For example, are you not associated with 1000 different religious deviations, in the Western world alone? And do these deviations, as maybe presumed, not representative of the carnal to which you now subscribe to carnaval?

Will you ever be able to stop yourself from basking within the proximate and transport yourself beyond the worldview to which you are so intricately tethered?

It it not possible that ancient acts of worship could have been made to be something else?

Have you ever tried to explain any of these manifestations outside the cloistered mindset of your own 21th century mind?

Can you ever find some space to understand how ancient expressions of worship could have been distorted in the same or similar ways that you have oft represented as representative of what you presume to be real spirituality or religion?

How ignorant must one be to perceive one kind of cultural misrepresentation but remain recalcitrant about other possibilities?

Is it not long past time for you to dispense with this old time White shiiite religion?

We ask these questions, all based on the same or similar variables, as we tried to tease out a research question.

17. Hants

It is as BT pointed out all over.

It afflicts all classes and colours, all mankind.

The amazing thing for me is that it seems to have spread from what are essentially Roman Catholic countries.

Catholicism is associated with the Inquisition and burning of heretics at the stake.

It is extremely difficult to believe what we see except for the fact that the Bible speaks about it.

It is supposed to happen.

2 Timothy 3
    King James Version
    3 This know also, that in the last days perilous times shall come.

2 For men shall be lovers of their own selves, covetous, boasters, proud, blasphemers, disobedient to parents, unthankful, unholy,

3 Without natural affection, trucebreakers, false accusers, incontinent, fierce, despisers of those that are good,

4 Traitors, heady, highminded, lovers of pleasures more than lovers of God;

5 Having a form of godliness, but denying the power thereof: from such turn away.

6 For of this sort are they which creep into houses, and lead captive silly women laden with sins, led away with divers lusts,

7 Ever learning, and never able to come to the knowledge of the truth.

18. Am I the only on that see sexual tourism as part of our tourism package. We are fully aware of why pedophiles visit some Asian countries, but for some reason we never hear of this type of behavior in the Caribbean,

Fool me once delivered by “Bush”

19. “Am I the only on that see sexual tourism as part of our tourism package. ”

You have got to keep the Customer Satisfied

Getting down to the Nitty Gritty White people often catch Jungle Fever

A perfect place (‘Tautology’ or ‘Pleonasm’) for legal black market Sex Tourism would be the synonymous ‘Holetown’ (giggle giggle)

20. @Dee Word

We are discussing a soft issue although many prefer to frame positions in the absolute.

21. You can actually trace it all back to the decade of the swinging sixties ……. in which Independence took place!!

Before and after Independence is also before and after the mid 60’s!!

The generation born during WWII where life and death became so cheap is where we can look to try to explain how what we see blossomed and became accepted.

….. or, we can just look in the Bible!!

22. It is a worldwide phenomenon, and it is supposed to take place.

23. William Skinner Avatar

While we grasp what the writer has said, he has made the now cardinal mistake of branding the entire Carnival season as the loose costumes and so on , he has deliberately left out that in his country , there are two impressive performing arts centers, where alcohol is not even served ,and where the arts are performed in facilities on par with those found anywhere.
    In Bim the jump up and loose dressing, does not define Crop Over. The NCF has been trying its best to infuse other parts of our culture in the festival . We cannot paint an entire festival by only one of its parts.
    While we like others, do not subscribe to public nudity and other negatives, we are amazed that both Carnival and Crop Over are judged only by people loosely costumed or dressed gyrating in public to music.
    While both Carnival and Crop Over are parts of our culture they do not define us within the broader context of what culture is or means.

24. Wildlife Islands at the Edge of the World
    The isolated remote archipelago Caribbean islands provide the most significant vital breeding stations for God’s most favourite mammals called humans supporting internationally important colonies and provides a stopover point for migrants and vagrants so subspecies can evolve and it should be designated a special area of conservation for both it’s natural and cultural significance.

25. @William

Do you deny the revelry of TT Carnival and Crop Over define how the two events are generally perceived? It doesn’t mean that there are not other positive activities. We have Zrs that deliver a good service. There are others that fuel a thriving sub culture. You may understand the analogy.

26. William Skinner Avatar

Yes we agree that’s how they are perceived but to carry this perception so far that we are saying they are responsible for all our social deviancy cannot survive serious scrutiny. The same way you have said that there are ZR drivers who deliver a good service , there are Carnival and Crop Over revellers who do not behave in any debased or vulgar fashion.

27. If we discuss social AND economic development and the elements and dynamics that play a part, the only way to discuss the issue is to understand the hip bone is connected to the thigh bine and thigh bone is connected to the knee bone.

28. Not many people realise that yesterday was Ash Wednesday and the reason for all those funny little black crosses people wear on their foreheads. They have been to church and the priest has marked them as professing believers as they prepare to make their sacrifices for the lenten season.

Lent is supposed to be a period of fasting, self-denial and sacrifice, meant to replicate, appreciate and celebrate the 40 days of fasting Jesus suffered in the wilderness before his triumphal entry into Jerusalem riding on a donkey with palms laid in his path.

As I understand carnival from other cultures it is the last day people do as they please and let go before observing the season of lent which leads up to Palm Sunday and Good Friday.

Yet, not a single mention of these events.

Carnival has taken over …… as it is supposed to.

29. Why does every issue has to be atomized?

Is everything to be forever subjected to an internal logic?

Will weee never see how a single manifestation can be seen appearing in many different spheres of the culture thus giving life to a dynamic?

Don’t we see politicians wukking up, politically, all day and night. Wukking up by not wukking for the people!

Dont weee see ourselves ludely wukking up by lacking a military determination to drive our country in different directions?

The simple is exclusively for the simple-minded.

30. Another view of Lent

31. Our drunkenness make the unseen the continuity of circumstances.

Such drunkenness, ignores the elimination of government itself.

We see it in the ways this and the last government have gutted the NISSS, sold everything not nailed down, etc.

A drunkenness which was similarly seen after WW2 where NATO formed to denude European countries of socialist or communist political parties.

A drunkenness which led Joseph Stalin to jettison the communist and most popular party of Greece leading President Tito of Yugoslavia to develop a genuine state run by workers’ cooperatives. Which years later led to the breaking up of Yugoslavia by Jeffrey Sacks as an agent of the IMF and America because a country built on workers’ cooperatives could not be allowed to stand. Of course, Sacks is now preaching differently on Russia. However, drunkenness is the price for forgetfulness.

32. “Culture is simultaneously the foundation, fabric and future of a society. I have said “culture determines the harmony between individual effort and social responsibility; and between narrow ethnicity or nationalism and the larger universality.”

My Culture is World Culture the whole shebang and the appreciation of the differences in the various sub-cultures all around the world

Born For A Purpose / Reason For Living, Still Alive, Don’t Trouble I, Dreadlocks History
    this record comes laden with a discomix, smoothly transitioning from vocal to dub like many tunes from yesteryear. The lyrics as well are striking, backing singers are harmonious and the horns are triumphant, rising with the vocal. Great dub mix, drums and bass illuminated amongst the occasional echoing horn and guitar note. The experience is complete with an excellent deejay piece on the flip. In many ways it’s the complete roots tune, conscious, heavy, deejay piece on the flip, great dub mix. A tune that would unite the various tribes of reggae lovers due to it’s quality.

33. expect the same in 2025.

34. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

Too tired to comment.
    Maybe all that wining and wukking in POS got to me.

35. Williams / De Pedantic,

I do not think anyone, apart from John, is arguing against Carnival / Crop Over as a whole.

As the author writes, it is the decline and deviation from its intent and artistic depiction of culture and social commentary that is the issue.

Deviation into deviance.

On the aspect of the dance depiction being a reflection of social changes, probably true, but are we just to accept this and embrace it even?

That aspect detracts and dilutes the creativity and artistic aspect and core.

36. David
    March 6, 2025 at 9:28 am

Crop Over was created to fill the calendar with attracting tourists in mind?

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Horsemeat Avatar
    Horsemeat
    March 7, 2025 at 3:44 am

Williams / De Pedantic,

I do not think anyone, apart from John, is arguing against Carnival / Crop Over as a whole.

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Here is a pragmatic approach grounded in reality.

All of the tourists come from our former colonial masters who we have been led to believe are evil.

Then we turn around and beg them to come, compromising our values in the process.

What kind of complete hypocrites have we become?

Our problem is we have been misled into believing a lie about the past by politicians and their historians.’

So, what do we do?

An engineer can make a mistake and a few people get killed in a single building collapse.

Historians and politicians can kill our entire culture and far more people than any engineer can kill.

……. look at the murder stats!!

The way we are going, we should break every past yearly record this year for murders … do the numbers.

Either we need to get rid of Crop Over or we need to fire our historians and politicians.

…. we could also do both.

…. and we could also do a better job researching our past than has been done

…. and we could be more careful about wo or what we believe.

37. @John,

‘Grounded in reality’? What reality have I missed? As repeatedly stated above, Carnival and Crop Over are events to celebrate artistic exhibition, whether of fantasy or of current social commentary, including celebration by revelry.

There is nothing wrong with that per se. Neither is their any need to justify it as not being authentic to historical cultural pastimes.

What the author (if my interpretation is correct), others above and myself have drawn issue with, is the descent into depraved inclusion, which do not lend any creative aspect nor enlightenment, to the event.

And I agree that those aspects influences behaviours, where or not we try to decipher the reality of the chicken or egg phenomena.

But, to castigate Carnival and Crop Over as a whole, based on that is ludicrous and tunnel visioned.

As noted above, I agree that it is desirable to reduce aspects that may influence wider behaviours, though it must be noted that those wider behaviours have other influences as well, so to jump to crime figures and point the finger just at Carnival and Crop Over is unjustifiable and actually, not ‘grounded in reality’.

In fact, that stance is absurd.

What needs to be done is to establish parameters for the events that lend to improved behaviours, but this is relevant to all aspects of society, ZR’s etc.

On the issue of attracting tourism dollars, why is this hypocritical?

Surely a country can recognise that colonialism and slavery was a blight, while also understanding that the industry is needed to survive.

While Crop Over does attract overseas visitors, Bajans and non-Bajans alike, it began as a far more domestic event.

How many visitors were present at the initial Garrison events? Very few.

Burn Mr. Harding, Burn.

38. We should not try to pretend that Crop Over is “we culture” that’s all I am saying.

It is simply a marketing tool to separate visitors and ourselves from our money.

It isn’t self sustaining because it is not in reality “we culture” and rather a manufactured fantasy and requires substantial subsidies … our tax money.

If a private company wants to subsidise you can bet the cost of its products and services will rise.

It cannot stand on its own.

That is the reality we seem unable to face.

Once we mature we will do a cost benefit analysis and decide what to do and doing away with it is definitely a realistic option.

There is no need to castigate it, participation is a choice, but there is a need to analyse the costs and benefits dispassionately.

That’s my nature and training as an engineer speaking, separate the wheat from the chaff.

If you reread what you have said, you are actually agreeing with it but going all around in circles!!!

39. William Skinner Avatar

@ Horsemeat
    Very balanced position. Quite frankly if a serious analysis was done we would probably discover that of all the thousands dancing in the streets, those engaged in vulgarity were in the minimum. While even in the minimum, we do not condone it because vulgarity has never been a part of our culture.
    Similarly, while our murder rate has increased, the number of young men and women are not out there robbing people . While one murder is too much, we refuse to believe that all young people are criminals.
    For example , why no positive comment on the youth taking a renewed interest in the steel pan.
    We can connect anything and everything and perhaps everything is but to carry this interconnectedness to extremely almost esoteric levels is not always necessary.

40. Carnivals are free (hooray) which means poor people and children can go
    Local Artists play music and people dance and have some fun
    Locals in community are involved in floats and costumes
    Those who want to go go
    Those that don’t want to go or think they are tacky or have got bored with them can choose to not go

41. It all costs money, the cars for the calypso kings, the music, the tents etc. etc. etc!!!

What are the additional costs and how much revenue does it attract?

42. All we can agree on is that Crop Over is not “we culture” although it is promoted as if it is.

We agree it is degrading, not only because of the behaviour and social ills it promotes, but also because it is partly financed by our former colonial masters who we are supposed to hate!!!

No one can say if there is a financial or economic benefit.

How much of the 2 billion we owe away went to finance Crop Over to date?

No one knows.

Are we just funneling $$$ into a black hole and making ourselves out to be hypocrites?

It that is the case, it is time to wake up from our fantasy.

43. Crop Over, whether created for the tourists or not, used to be an explosion of Bajan creativity, which I embraced and enjoyed, every aspect of it. Kadooment was supposed to be the culmination of the festival. I guess that is why we focus on it more. I never thought about tourists for one damn minute. It was all about us. We were who we were and we did what we did, oblivious to their presence. We expressed ourselves, and if they liked it, they liked it. We were not performing for them. I am not against getting together with my people, co-operating in creativity, celebrating ourselves. I highly recommend having fun!

I am not against tourism either. There is more to it than sex tourism, which I am against. What I bemoan is our utter dependence on tourism. This utter dependence leads to selling our souls and birthright back to massa. That cannot end well.

44. It HAS become our culture…. check out our children honestly.
    Just get on ANY school bus…

Culture is NOT fixed into a peoples’ DNA.
    It is what you come to ACCEPT as natural.

THEREFORE any shiite that you PRACTICE, and that comes to be ACCEPTED – especialy by official authorities – BECOMES YOUR CULTURE.
    ..like how the unkempt hairstyles of our students is now ‘we culture’.

It CAN be changed.

So Cropover REALLY used to be an interesting and uplifting experience – especially for children who may never have lived the traditional sugar cane era of Freight Carts, cane cutters, ‘hard times’ etc.

Then came the albino-centric, ‘economists’, parro-types, who look to auction all the family silver off – so that they can get a short lived ‘high’ (high GDP growth in a particular year before elections)

Judases!!!

…anyway Bushie done for today-
    before wunna mek de Bushman REALLY vex
    bout the lotta shiite bout here…

45. Donna
    March 7, 2025 at 10:12 am

Crop Over, whether created for the tourists or not, used to be an explosion of Bajan creativity, which I embraced and enjoyed, every aspect of it

Do you even know who created it? …. I do!!

Here is a view expressed by our cultural icon, an explosion of Bajan creativity.

46. John
    March 7, 2025 at 10:30 am

Do you even know who created it? …. I do!!

I’ll give you a clue, he was not a Bajan!!

47. What don’t you understand by “whether created for the tourist or not”? It means that I don’t care!

Ignore button pressed. Engaging with you is a bore these days. We know who you are and we know what you are.

48. Did JM create it, or RE-create it? Surely it was a Quaker in the 1700’s who created Harvest Home.