The Trump 2.0 era demands CARICOM leverages maximum benefit the union can offer. It is obvious Trump’s focus is on prioritizing national interest above the building of traditional alliances preferred by his predecessors. The reality is that our region is of minuscule geopolitical importance to the USA. Hopefully Caribbean leaders will recall the negative impression caused when Trump invited a select few to Mar-a-Lago in 2019. How did we benefit from presenting a disunited front?

There is the saying “God helps those who help themselves” which emphasises that success comes in large measure from putting in self-effort. If ever there was a time for Caribbean leaders to unite it must be now. If the blogmaster was Mottley a request for a meeting to strategize with the Heads of Governments (HoGs) would have been dispatched long before January 20, 2025.

Although the region is small there is potential to do a better job maximising on our limited resources be it oil, fishing and other food items, facilities sharing to reduce cost etc. The focus has to be implementing strategies to navigate a turbulent Trump dispensation. It is called being proactive.

We have to sensibly pursue foreign policy approaches with other large countries to mitigate Trump’s unpredictable foreign affairs policy.

Our regional private sector has a role to play by developing non traditional markets and generally adopting a more aggressive posture to driving economic development in the region.

The ‘we gatherin’ initiative by the Barbados government has attracted criticism in some quarters but it presents an opportunity to repurpose the initiative. At the moment it is perceived as nothing more than a bram on steroids.

The blogmaster is sadly aware our regional institutions struggle to execute mandates with few exceptions like the Caribbean Development Bank, University of the West Indies, Caribbean Public Health Agency (CARPHA) and a couple others. There was a time West Indies Cricket and LIAT (1974) would have been included – see CARICOM institutions. However, sometimes all it takes is for a single event to trigger a level of cooperation among actors who were previously disinterested to do so. Are we there yet?

There a BU contributor who has branded the term ‘will the real leaders please stand up’. If ever there was a time for leaders in our region to stand up-should they exist- the time is now.

Another BU commenter @williamskinner remains optimistic that we should stay the course with the regional project Caricom. United we stand divided we fall.

We are simply saying that there is nothing in these global movements that we should take for granted without first making it abundantly clear that we will not become satellites of any .

We are remaining standfast that imperialism is not the preserve of any one global entity. Here and there we get a few crumbs from the table but there is nothing globally that presents the Caribbean as a global player and this is because, as you have stated , the simple fact that we have failed to make the transition from how we see ourselves culturally and intellectually.

In order to correct our overcome our current weaknesses we need new vibrant leadership at all levels. We refuse to be mentally distracted because the transition to true and sustained statehood, is taking longer than we hoped. Once we get rid of petty leadership and present a radical united front in these emerging economic/trade groups, we would avoid further exploitation.

Unfortunately, we seem to believe that being under one yoke of imperialism is essentially different if we change the players. This is a totally unrealistic position to take, taking into consideration, our historical journey.

We note how some new emerging leadership in Africa is returning to the completion of the transition to true economic and cultural freedom. We also note that both once reactionary and progressive thinkers in the region are now calling for the completion of the Federation project , which was supposed to be the foundation of the new Caribbean United State.

45 responses to “Caribbean leaders raise ‘wunna hands’”

1. Terence Blackett Avatar
    Terence Blackett

THIS IS ALL ABOUT DOLLARS & PRETTY MUCH LITTLE #SENSE

Andy Knight wrote the following:

“According to historical data, remittances from the US into Trinidad and Tobago averaged $105.62 million from 2001 to 2013, with a record high of $131 million in 2011. A look at more recent data shows that personal remittances paid in Trinidad and Tobago were reported at $148.6 million in 2023. So the loss of remittances could very well be significant for those countries and peoples in the Caribbean that depend on this source of revenue…”

SEE: https://thecaribbeancamera.com/trump-caribbean-threats-2025/

No current figures are available of remittances for Barbados…

A lot of families depend on this income stream – let’s see what happens if #TheDonald turns off the spigot to whatever degree he deems necessary!!!

5 years ago John Bolton had “remittances 2 Cuba” halted & it will be interesting to see whether this same approach will be adopted as millions flow into the Caribbean from families abroad…

LET’S FACE IT – THE WORLD HAS CHANGED IN AN INSTANT & THERE WILL BE NO GOING BACKWARD (EVER AGAIN)

#StayTuned

2. Terence Blackett Avatar
    Terence Blackett

FOREIGN AID IN THE CROSSHAIRS AS USAID GOT NUKED BY ELON MUSK – WHERE STAFF WERE LOCKED OUT OF THEIR OFFICES & COMPUTERS & THE WEBSITE BEARS A 404 MESSAGE & SO WHAT THE OTHER BASKET OF DEPLOARBLES ACCORDING 2 KILLARY CLINTON? DO THEY EVEN MATTER???

The US PREZ signed the executive order “REEVALUATING and REALIGNING UNITED STATES FOREIGN AID” which states in part “… the United States foreign aid industry and bureaucracy are not aligned with American interest and in many cases antithetical to American values”…

A proviso of the Order is for a 90 day “PAUSE” in US foreign development assistance & with USAID torched by “ELON THE PYLON” – many lesser developed countries & small nation states are literally up “SHICK CREEK” without a paddle!!!

Prime Minister Dr. Ralph Gonsalves pointed this out on Wednesday, January 29, 2025, on NBC Radio’s “Your Morning Cup” programme…

His comments came days after the circulation of information that more than 127 persons from St Vincent and the Grenadines (SVG) were on the United States Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE) deportation list…

Prime Minister Gonsalves said on NBC Radio on Wednesday that while he had not received anything formal about the deportations, St Vincent and the Grenadines is obliged to receive from another country, its nationals who are being deported in accordance with domestic and legal processes.

He said that once the deportation conditions are satisfied, “clearly, we have an obligation to receive our citizens”.

Gonsalves, who is also Minister of National Security, said that the issue of the domestic law is usually very clear and that is what country’s act on firstly.

“But responsible countries would have to pay attention also to international law, best practice” for instance, if persons are not detained in circumstances which do not offend international humanitarian law.

“There is a certain basic minimum of treatment which you have to accord them,” Gonsalves pointed out.

He added that in relation to international best practice, the difficulties that CARICOM countries have- and they have made representation about this to various US governments- from George Bush to Joseph Biden, is that all the information in relation to the deportee is not sent to the country.

He said that this request has been around even before the time of the Unity Labour Party (ULP) administration.

“CARICOM and St Vincent and the Grenadines have been asking that if you are deporting someone, we are obliged to receive them, but what has been happening, and this is when time to time, they deport small numbers- two, three, four, five, we have had them through successive administrations, we ask for the antecedents of the person who is deported,” the Prime Minister said.

He noted that at times, someone would complete a jail sentence, for example, for burglary or robbery, and they are deported with that information only.

“…. all the information we have is that he/she has been serving time, and we do not know the history, how long they have been there, what is his/her skills, educational attainment, the criminal record…

“…because that person has to be reintegrated into our society, and they arrive at the AIA, and our security forces may hold that person for a short period of time to question them, and the police would try to get background, but they are not obliged to answer you because the time you can question them is very limited time…” Gonsalves pointed out.

He said there were times when persons were sent to SVG and have nowhere to go as they didn’t have family in the country.

“…and you have to put them up at Government’s expense for a short period of time until they’re properly settled so we would like to see all the information is provided to us,” he said.

“This is a small country, you could imagine if you send home 50 who are criminally minded? Or in some cases psychopaths? You don’t have a background about them…” the national security minister lamented.

“This country has been reeling for the last few years, from a rise in gun crimes, recording 55 killings in 2023 and 54 in 2024, record numbers and an influx of persons who may bring new and different criminal skill sets to the country could be problematic for an already struggling police force,” Gonsalves pointed out.

SVG is not the only Caribbean country set to be affected by ICE’s deportation push.

Saint Kitts and Nevis has 68 persons on the US deportation list, Antigua and Barbuda has 110, Barbados 151, Saint Lucia 202, and Jamaica 1100.

MUCH, MUCH MORE CAN BE READ @: https://www.searchlight.vc/front-page/2025/01/31/100-vincies-said-us-deportation-list/ & ELSEWHERE ACROSS THE SEARCHLIGHT PLATFORM!!!

MOST ARE IN DENIAL AS TO WHAT THE NEXT FEW YEARS HOLD BUT ONE THING IS CLEAR – TURBULENT STORM-CLOUDS ARE GATHERING & FEW ARE PREPARED 4 WHAT’S COMING!!!

3. @TB

What is your opinion on what Caribbean countries can do to navigate the next 4 years?

4. Terence Blackett Avatar
    Terence Blackett

“What is your opinion on what Caribbean countries can do to navigate the next 4 years?”

“WHY 4 YEARS?”

What if I told you that is now possible 2 (DE)ratify the Constitution of the United States when it comes to the issue of “TERM LIMITS” on the presidency!!!

The term limits on the US Presidency were not directly due to a world war but were “INFLUENCED” by the presidency of Franklin D. Roosevelt (FDR) during #WorldWarII. Roosevelt was elected to a 3rd term in 1940 & a 4th term in 1944, both during that decisive World War. His unprecedented election to a 3rd & 4th term led to concerns about the concentration of power in the presidency!!!

In response to these concerns, the 22nd Amendment to the US Constitution was proposed in 1947, two years after Roosevelt’s death, and ratified in 1951…

To amend or repeal the 22nd Amendment, a formal process is required. According to the Constitution, an amendment can be proposed either by a 2-thirds vote of both houses of Congress or by a constitutional convention called for by 2-thirds of state legislatures. Once proposed, the amendment must be ratified by 3-fourths of the states, either through their legislatures or through conventions…

FOR THE RECORD, WORLD WAR III WILL BE A GREAT PRETEXT FOR DJT* TO REMAIN IN OFFICE UNTIL 2028 (where he’ll be 82 years & a possible further 4 years into 2032 – where he will be 86 years) – mirroring (FDR)!!!

To answer your question calls for some unconventional gymnastics & I am not sure at my age that I am able to perform such feats of Copperfieldian agility given the ‘ole knees propensity to act up now & again!!!

On a less jovial note, I am not sure that CARICOM* has the “TOKENIZATION” to offset the demands within its economies without the collateralization of foreign partners (i.e. China, USA, EU etc, etc)!!!

The Caribbean is already overleveraged & with this insatiable desire to always go “CAP IN HAND” looking for what our leaders call: “INVESTMENT OPPORTUNITIES” (which you & I know is a CROQ*) – I do not foresee any meaningful change without “COMPLETE SOVEREIGN INTERGRATION” (i.e. complete dismantling of nation state borders & the adoption of the “FEDERAL REPUBLIC OF THE CARIBBEAN) – one sole “UNION” of nation states under an “EXECUTIVE BRANCH OF GOV” with a Caribbean PREZ* & branches of GOV* that will meet the combined needs of all 44,636,789 people!!!

WE EITHER UNIFY OR WE DIE A SLOW DEATH ON OUR FEET!!!

A lot more can be said but I hope that helps!!!

#Blessings

P.S. THIS IS UNDOUBTEDLY THE MOST PRESCIENT PIECE OF POLITICAL SOCIOLOGY I HAVE HEARD IN 8 – 9 YEARS SINCE TRUMP’S 1ST soirée!!!

5. @TB

You sidestepped the question. Whether 4 years or 10 years what epiphany must our leaders experience to switch the dial?

6. “How did we benefit from presenting a disunited front?”
    Trump cancelled “Black Identity in America” and his fan base is talking about the Boogaloo Movement. The Boogaloo movement is an anti-government, anti-law enforcement extremist militia movement that believes the state places too many limitations on individual liberty, and that a second civil war is necessary to push back against these intrusions.

Business as Usual
    Officially : people of a paler shade should be like John and say “Trump is Great”
    Unofficially : people of a darker shade should go through their record box to teach their children about psychological warfare and how to sing and dance to their music and start to exercise to get strong to defend themselves to get ready for any wars that other may start such as taking freedoms, 21st Century slavery, racial war, ethnic cleansing

Chapter One Black Liberation Dub Chapter Two Anti-Racist Dub Broadcast
    War A Tribes, War Dubbing, War Is Over

7. Terence Blackett Avatar

“You sidestepped the question. Whether 4 years or 10 years what epiphany must our leaders experience to switch the dial?”

Indeed…

#MyBad

Epiphanies are born out of “TRANSFORMATIVE PROCESSES”!!!

Such transformations provide sudden, deep & lasting insight that can alter one’s perspective, emotions, & behaviours, leading to significant personal growth & change (IF THAT IS AT ALL POSSIBLE GIVEN HOW FAR WE ARE DOWN THE ROAD)!!!

The question must be asked: “ARE OUR ELECTED LEADERS READY FOR:

(1) Shift in Perspective
    (2) Emotional Impact
    (3) Clarity and Focus
    (4) Breaking Old Patterns
    (5) Empowerment of Others
    (6) Integration of Knowledge
    (7) Motivation for Change
    (8) Spiritual or Existential Impact

Without these fundamental changes based on one’s understanding of themselves, others, and/or the world – (AS YOU OPINED: #SwitchingTheDial WILL BE NIGH IMPOSSIBLE)!!!

Hope that helped this time…

8. After turning their backs on the regional project at the time of the gifted independence from the CIA, it fell to this generation of politicians, as captioned above, to deliver a better alternative to the federation or confederation as trumped by Grantley Adams before.

It was at that historical juncture where the still ideals of a William Skinner missed the historical opportunity. Developmentalists often argue that once such a One Caribbean idea, and the like, are missed, they are almost never recaptured again.

9. David,

This is a wonderful opportunity for the world to rearrange itself. It is also a wonderful time for a renewing of our minds here in Barbados.

How wonderful it is for even the blind to be able to see the United States of America as it really is!

When so-called soft power is no longer being used to fool the people, hard power is all they will have left. But this time it will be the USA against the world!

I think Trump is going to be great for the world…..unintentionally, of course.

10. Terence Blackett Avatar

@Sorry David

An addendum to what I posited before in regards to “SWITCHING THE DIAL” – wouldn’t it be wonderful if the citizens were free from taxation (WHETHER IN THE BORDERS OF THEIR COUNTRY) or in the havens, hamlets or halls of foreign lands???

Trum[p] is looking at an “EXTERNAL REVENUE SERVICE” (#ERS) as another arm of state capitalist appropriation of “TaXES” whose regulatory framework would mirror the #DayzOfCaesarAugustus – “WHERE A DECREE WENT OUT TO ALL THE WORLD THAT THEY SHOULD BE TAXED…” (Luke 2:1)

SOME SCHOOLS OF THOUGHT HAVE ASKED WHETHER #CaesarAugustusDecree “that All the World Should be Taxed” DID ACTUALLY OCCUR – given that according to the Gospel of Luke, Caesar Augustus issued a decree that all the world should be taxed…

This decree is mentioned in Luke 2:1 & is used to explain why Joseph & Mary travelled to Bethlehem for the birth of Jesus…

However, historical records suggest that there was no single census of the entire Roman Empire under Augustus. Instead, the “CENSUS OF QUIRINIUS” was conducted in 6 CE, after the death of Herod the Great, & was specific to the newly formed Roman province of Judaea…

This census was carried out by #PubliusSulpiciusQuirinius, the governor of Roman SYRIA*, & it did not require people to travel to their ancestral homes. The discrepancy between the Biblical account & historical records has led to various interpretations & hypotheses among “DOTISH” scholars who look for every “PEG” to hang a “DOUBT” upon!!!

The phrase: “NO TAXATION WITHOUT REPRESENTATION” highlights the historical context from which & where American colonists argued vehemently against being “TAXED BY THE BRITISH PARLIAMENT” (without having representatives in that body)!!!

This principle was a significant factor leading to the American Revolution. However, there are no specific historical periods where U.S. citizens were entirely free from taxation. The concept of taxation has been a continuous aspect of “GOVERNANCE”, with various forms & rates of taxation applied throughout U.S. history…

NOW WE’VE COME TO THE END OF THE ROAD

In the POST-modern context, U.S. citizens are generally subject to taxation on their “WORLDWIDE INCOME”, regardless of where they reside. Now, a bill introduced by Representative Darin LaHood in December 2024 aims to modify the taxation system for U.S. citizens living overseas…

This “BILL”, the RESIDENCE-BASED TAXATION FOR AMERICANS ABROAD ACT, would allow Americans living abroad to elect to be treated as “NON-RESIDENT” Americans, subjecting them to U.S. tax only on U.S.-sourced income & gains. This change would address the issue of “DOUBLE TAXATION” faced by U.S. citizens living overseas, who are currently taxed by both their country of residence & the U.S. on their global income!!!

This proposed change does not mean that U.S. citizens would be entirely free from taxation, but rather that they would be taxed only on income earned within the U.S. or from U.S.-sourced income while living abroad…

ANYONE WITH EYES 2 SEE WILL UNDERSTAND WHAT TRUMP IS INSTIGATING

The “SOVEREIGN WEALTH FUND” he signed into law by “EXECUTIVE” statute will not “ONLY DRAIN” money into “US COFFERS” but will allow 4 Trump 2 completely “ERASE” taxation for all US citizens by (A STROKE OF GENIUS OR A FORM OF DISRUPTION THAT WOULD SINK ATLANTIS)!!!

#StayTuned

11. What is the game theory in economics?
    Game theory studies decision-making in situations where different players interact and their outcomes depend on each other’s choices. It uses models to simulate these scenarios and helps us understand what choices would be best for each player, given what they know about each other’s preferences and strategies.

What is chaos in economics?
    Chaos theory explains that it is possible to get random or irregular results from normal equations. Learn about chaos theory and the butterfly effect.

The butterfly effect illustrates how small changes in input can lead to disproportionate changes in output, making the behavior of nonlinear systems very difficult—if not impossible—to predict.

Chaos theory is considered by some to explain chaotic or random occurrences, and the theory is often applied to financial markets as well as other complex systems such as predicting the weather. Chaotic systems are predictable for a while and then appear to become random. Using chaos theory, a change in price is determined through mathematical predictions of the following factors: a trader’s personal motivations (such as doubt, desire, or hope, all of which are nonlinear and complex), changes in volume, the acceleration of changes, and momentum behind the changes.

Countries need to print money to win price wars, tariff wars, economic wars, games of wars

12. @David
    Unfortunately one from ten always equals zero.

The Barbados experiment is faltering. Not sure how the CARICOM experiment will go under Tron’s Supreme Leader

13. Positive (Double Negative Dub)
    The force between two negative charges is repulsive. So if you want to define “apart” as positive then two negatives (charges) makes a positive (force). But if you define “together” as positive then two negatives make a negative.

14. This time period gave us the best political leaders we’ve ever had. Absent, is undoubtably Tom Adams, who came just after, and OSA much later.

As politicians go, went.

Of course, in economy, the ‘big four’ had a cadre of economists holding up the other half of political-economy.

15. Another for the Caribbean Queen.

16. @Terrance Blackett quoting Andy Knight “So the loss of remittances could very well be significant for those countries and peoples in the Caribbean that depend on this source of revenue.”

Remittances are moneys sent by people resident abroad to be used to support their left behind children or the elderly parents who raised the remmitter. I trust that nobody is suggesting that any American resident financially abuse their minor children or their elderly parents.

In addition my mother like many Caribbean mothers spent 11 years without pay raising an American child. Now she needs to send an invoice. Should she send it to the USA government who is taxing the now adult child resident in America?

In addition she looked after an American child without pay every summer for 8 years. Now she needs to send an invoice. Should she send it to the USA government who is taxing the now adult child resident in America?

If we are talking money, we also need to monetize the “free” labour of Caribbean mothers and grandmothers, or our family resident in America should be ordered not to send any American children here for “free” childcare, and for “free” elementary and secondary education when the American based parents do not pay a cent of tax in Barbados.

P.S. My mother of course like many Caribbean women was never a “gimmee, gimmee” woman. Raised her own children, and some American children and in addition did 23 years of full time work, so was never dependent on remittances from anywhere.

17. I am often wondered why people and organizations spend so much time counting money/remittances.

While nobody counts labour.

Caribbean mothers and grandmothers can withdraw their labour. Let their adult children who live abroad pay the $25,000 USD per year for childcare in the great white north, ie. the USA, UK, Canada.

18. Terrance how much would you pay for 11 years of excellent child care?

19. And some ‘o wunna talkitg sh!te on this blog were raised “for free” by your grandmothers in the Caribbean. If granny hadn’t done it wunna woulda end up in some nasty expensive foster home.

20. Caribbean leaders raise ‘wunna hands’ and open your eyes. The old colonisers like eagles are soaring over the region targeting the weakest prey. Your feckless leadership is mmceding our beloved Caribbean to these pack of devils.

Barbados first female leader appears to be an advocate of the above policies.

Barbados could become a beautiful piece of real estate for foreigners. Mia, more than any other leader , is doing the maximum to ensure that this dream is realised.

https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2025/2/5/is-south-africa-confiscating-land-targeting-some-groups-as-trump-claims

21. 8-step education reform

by GARRY HORNBY and MARCIA PILGRIM REFORM OF THE SCHOOL SYSTEM in Barbados remains a controversial topic on which diverse opinions continue to be shared in the media. However, it is crucial to realise that effective reform involves implementing policies based on research evidence of what makes a significant impact on education outcomes.

Analysis of research evidence on interventions that have been found to bring about substantial changes indicates that effective education reform in Barbados would best be achieved through implementation of eight key evidence-based policies.

1. Community secondary schools

The key to achieving effective education reform in Barbados is moving from a selective secondary school system focused on the achievement of a high level of academic qualifications by a minority of students, to one that provides all pupils with an appropriate education with a focus on obtaining a comprehensive education with opportunities to excel in a wide range of areas. This requires establishing secondary schools that serve all children from feeder primaries in their local communities and offer options for a choice between obtaining academic or vocational qualifications on leaving school.

Establishing community-based secondary schools requires abandoning the 11-Plus examination and introducing a system for transfer from primary schools in which students attend the secondary school nearest to where they live. These will become community schools which will facilitate the involvement of parents and other members of local communities. Such schools have been found to be essential to establishing world class education systems internationally.

Greater involvement of people from the community in which schools are based is possible with neighbourhood community schools. Faith leaders and people from the local business community are more likely to associate themselves with local schools and thereby be able to provide support for them. The involvement of community leaders in schools supports the maintenance of good discipline, prevents disruptive and violent behaviour, and provides links to sources of work experience and jobs for school leavers.

2. Sixth form colleges

In the past 30 years, sixth form colleges have been increasingly established in many countries because of their popularity with students and the superior education outcomes they deliver. Children would attend the secondary schools nearest to their homes from Forms 1 through 5 and then have a chance to gain entry to sixth form colleges at around age 16 years based on their CXC examination results.

It is proposed that Harrison College and Queen’s College be renamed sixth form colleges, since they have the best record of achieving academic excellence, as they gain the most Barbados scholarships each year. They would cease to teach students in Forms 1 through 5 and enrol students in their sixth form years who are undertaking advanced level CAPE courses. All other secondary schools would enrol students in Forms 1 through 5 and offer programmes leading to CXC and CVQ qualifications. Students would then get into the sixth form colleges based on their passes and grades in the CXC exams taken at the end of the fifth form year.

3. Refocusing primary school teaching

Once the need to focus most of their time and effort on preparing children for the 11-Plus has been eliminated, primary school teachers will be able to deliver a more broadly-based and relevant curriculum that will involve a major focus on the effective teaching of literacy and numeracy. That is, helping pupils develop the reading, writing, speaking and mathematics skills they need to succeed at secondary schools and in later life.

Effective literacy teaching must embrace a balanced approach to the teaching of reading that has been shown to significantly improve outcomes when adopted by countries such as Ireland. Numeracy teaching needs to involve maths enhancement programmes such as that found effective in significantly improving maths outcomes in Jamaica.

In addition to facilitating academic learning, teachers will be able to focus on teaching social and emotional development programmes in order to help children learn the personal and interpersonal skills needed for developing the confidence for achieving educational success, gaining employment and having a fulfilling life. They will be able to focus on the development of the so-called soft skills such as teamwork, communication, time management, conflict resolution and problem-solving skills.

Without 11-Plus preparation, teachers will have more time to address the needs of pupils who are struggling to learn basic academic skills as well as high-ability learners who may need to be extended or provided accelerated learning pathways. When widely implemented, these strategies will lead to a significant increase in the proportion of children leaving primary school with adequate reading, writing and mathematics skills to be successful in their secondary education.

4. Comprehensive policy for special educational needs Countries with well-organised and comprehensive special educational needs provision, such as Finland, achieve higher levels of overall education outcomes, as indicated by the results of the Program for International Student Assessment. So it is important that the Ministry of Education develops a comprehensive policy for the education of children with special educational needs and disabilities. This must focus on both the majority of children with special needs who are educated in mainstream schools, as well as those with more severe and complex special needs, who are educated in special schools or special units attached to mainstream schools.

This policy needs to be underpinned by specific legislation on children with special educational needs and disabilities that establishes responsibilities for meeting their needs for the ministry and schools. The policy needs to delineate the process by which children are identified, assessed and determined to be eligible for special education support, and the role of the multi-disciplinary team in deciding whether this should be in mainstream school, special school or special unit provision.

The ministry needs to provide guidelines for schools and ensure they are followed. For example, using individualised education programmes for those children with more severe needs in special schools and units, and support from teacher-aides for those in mainstream schools with less severe needs, setting out details of the procedures to be used and the resources to be provided by the ministry and schools.

Every school, primary and secondary, should have qualified learning support coordinators to manage and coordinate the schools’ special needs provision, identify children who are experiencing difficulties and those with potential high ability, provide support and guidance to teachers, and liaise with the ministry, other agencies and parents.

The coordinators in secondary schools and large primary schools would be full-time, while those in smaller primary schools be part-time.

The ministry needs to establish an educational psychology service to provide guidance to schools on how to organise effective education for the wide diversity of children. Besides conducting diagnostic assessments of individual children with special educational needs, psychologists would help schools set up programmes aimed at building positive learning environments, such as social and emotional learning initiatives in all schools and anti-bullying ones in secondary schools. An important focus will be facilitating higher levels of academic achievement for all children through the establishment of evidence-based teaching strategies.

Psychologists will also work closely with school counsellors and social workers. The Ministry of Education also needs to establish a parent partnership service with coordinators who work with parents of children with special needs and disabilities to help them access the most appropriate education and other services for their children, as well as offer parent education and support.

5. Implementing effective parental involvement Involvement of parents both at home and school is an essential component of effective education that all teachers need to be able to facilitate. Developing constructive working relationships for engaging parents from the early years, through elementary and high school levels will bring about improved outcomes for pupils. An example of this is to have regular student-led parent-teacher conferences, which research has shown has many benefits, including increasing the numbers of parents who attend parent-teacher meetings.

Having children attend schools in their local communities enables parents to support the school more easily and to be more able to attend parentteacher meetings, be involved in the school’s parentteacher association and engage in other activities based at the school. It also facilitates improved pupil behaviour at school since parents can be more easily involved in behaviour management procedures, such as home-school behaviour programmes.

School boards of management should include parent representatives, as well as the principal, teacher, ministry and community representatives. This will ensure maximum involvement of the local community and facilitate good discipline as well as academic achievement.

6. Teacher education for diverse learners

There is a need for comprehensive and rigorous pre-service and ongoing teacher education at the pre-primary, primary and secondary levels. At preprimary, training for early childhood teachers should be established on a similar basis to that for primary school teachers at Erdiston Teachers’ Training College. For all teachers training needs to be focused on the development of effective evidence-based strategies for teaching students with a wide range of abilities and needs.

For primary school teachers there needs to be an emphasis on the effective teaching of literacy and numeracy skills, as well as social and emotional development. Those in secondary school need an emphasis on strategies for teaching diverse learners and on promoting positive mental health and wellbeing. For all teachers there needs to be specific training on facilitating optimum involvement of parents in the education of their children.

Specific training on teaching children with special educational needs and disabilities should also be provided for all teachers in early childhood centres, and mainstream primary and secondary schools through input into initial training and in-service training.

Advanced training should also be made available for teachers in special schools and units, and for learning support coordinators. Training can be provided by means of a combination of on-campus sessions with online learning, supplemented by establishing communities of practice at each school, which has been shown to be a costeffective approach that is popular with

teachers.

7. Modernising schools and classrooms

There needs to be an upgrade of facilities throughout the school system so students and parents are assured that every school offers a well-equipped and high-quality environment for learning. There is a need for world class facilities and resources to support the world class education we are aiming for.

School buildings must be safe and healthy places for pupils and their teachers. School classrooms must have enough space for typical evidencebased learning activities and provide minimally distracting environments in order to facilitate learning.

Most classrooms in Barbados have progressed from blackboards to whiteboards, but to be optimally effective they need to be replaced with more recent technology, in which all classrooms have an interactive whiteboard with a reliable Internet connection. These can be operated from laptop computers which are used by teachers to prepare and present lessons. Interactive whiteboards scaffold learning through technical and pedagogical interactivity to encourage participation. The multimodal interface fosters learning across the curriculum with pupils of all ages and those with special needs.

This sophisticated technology requires training for teachers so they can make best use of its wide range of applications. In primary schools use of interactive whiteboards will improve the teaching of literacy and numeracy. In secondary schools they will enhance teaching across the curriculum from arts subjects through technical and vocational education. In special schools and classes they will increase engagement in learning of children with a wide range of special needs, thereby improving outcomes.

8. Adding vocational options at secondary schools In addition to teaching academic subjects, secondary schools need to place greater emphasis on technical and vocational education by making these attractive alternative options during the later stages. So while all students will study a broad mainly academic curriculum, with some technical/vocational courses, in the first few years of secondary schooling there will be a point when they have to decide which type of programme to concentrate on, as is the case in many OECD countries.

This could be implemented in Barbados by allowing students to opt whether to follow a curriculum focused on technical and vocational education in order to gain Caribbean Vocational Qualifications, during their fourth and fifth form years.

This curriculum would be available alongside the more academically focused curriculum taken by students aiming to sit CXC exams.

So whereas students following an academic programme and sitting CXCs would be aiming to go on to sixth form colleges and then university, those following the technical and vocational route to prepare for taking CVQs would be aiming to go on to institutions such as community colleges, polytechnics or hospitality schools, or aiming to leave school at age 16 years to get jobs.

Making the possibility of a choice between academic or technical and vocational programmes a reality will require the development of a suite of technical and vocational courses to be included in the first three years of secondary education, and to make up a substantial part of the 4th and 5th form years for students who opt for this track.

Conclusion

Implementation of this reform proposal in Barbados would transform the education system into a world-class one that will ensure development of the talents of all young people and prepare them for the diverse needs of the workforce. There will be a necessary transition period when schools are being upgraded and teachers are undergoing training to provide for more diverse students and learning how to help parents get more involved in the education of their children.

However, disruption while implementing these eight components will be minimal and more easily tolerated as teachers and pupils adapt to a more equitable and effective education system, and benefit from school environments more conducive to teaching and learning.

Dr Marcia Pilgrim is a retired secondary school and special education teacher.

Dr Garry Hornby is a former teacher and educational psychologist, now emeritus professor of education.

22. CARICOM PLEA … BCA, GCB SEEK INTERVENTION ON GOVERNANCE REFORM

The Barbados Cricket Association has slammed as “misleading” a narrative suggesting it was anti-governance reform, and says it has reached out to regional nation grouping, CARICOM, to help facilitate dialogue with Cricket West Indies over the troublesome issue.
    In a joint media release with the Guyana Cricket Board on Tuesday, the BCA also branded as “disrespectful” the fact both territorial boards had been “publicly admonished” by CWI directors over their decision not to attend the last meeting, which led a failure in achieving a quorum and a subsequent adjournment.
    The BCA and GCB were no-shows for last month’s CWI meeting, a move which the regional governing body president Dr Kishore Shallow labelled “deeply disappointing”.
    Both bodies have now agreed to attend next Sunday’s CWI meeting to “make our submissions to be minuted and will exercise our vote accordingly.”
    “The narrative has also been sent that BCA and GCB are against governance reform. This is entirely misleading. We have voted in favour of most resolutions inclusive of some that are now revealing to be questionable,” the joint statement said.
    “In light of no dialogue, BCA and GCB have written the CARICOM Secretary General setting out our concerns and proposed way forward as it relates to the items being tabled surrounding amendment of the section changing the tenure in office of the President and Vice President ñom two years to three years with term limits of three consecutive terms.
    “It is hoped that this matter will be elevated at the next CARICOM Heads of Government meeting scheduled to take place February 19-21, 2025 in Barbados.
    “It was further disrespectful to the BCA and GCB that CWI Directors have publicly admonished us for not attending the last meeting despite our known position. In fact, it is unprofessional and a breach of the Code of Ethics.”
    Last month’s meeting had been called to vote on governance reforms arising from the Wehby Report, aimed at modernising CWI’s governance framework. But while the four other full CWI members – the Jamaica Cricket Association (JCA), the Leeward Islands Cricket Board (LICB), the Trinidad and Tobago Cricket Board (TTCB), and the Windward Islands Cricket Board – were in attendance, the BCA and GCB opted out Both boards contended they had “continuously added their voices to governance reform” but had found their attempts to move discussions forward stymied.
    “We asked for further dialogue but, instead, our concerns were referred to the Integrity and Dispute Resolution Committee. The committee, chaired by a CWI Director, rejected our position,” the joint release continued.
    “It must be pointed out that no committee has the authority to overrule a request of a representative of the shareholders and furthermore, any Ethics or Integrity or Disputes Committee should be independent and should not be chaired by a sitting CWI Director.
    “Dr. Shallow chaired two forums just prior to the AGMs of 2023 and 2024 which allowed members to articulate their positions on various resolutions without having to vote, thus allowing Shareholder Representatives to consider arguments (for and against) and report back to their Territorial Boards prior to the Annual General Meeting (AGM).
    “However, in this case CWI is not holding a discussion forum but is instead holding a Special Meeting to vote on the proposed resolutions. Why are we being denied a forum which would allow us to ventilate what we consider to be fundamental to be the way forward for CWI? Why the indecent haste?”
    The Wehby Report, commissioned in 2019, was authored by an independent five-member task force headed by prominent Jamaican businessman and former senator, Don Wehby.
    (BT)

Source: Barbados Today

23. Perhaps the Caribbean could deal with Trump like a game of cricket.

Main Source’s “Breaking Atoms” is one of my personal favorite albums; it still holds up today, however, I want to talk more about one of the album’s highlights, “Just A Friendly Game Of Baseball.” In a clever, conceptual masterpiece of a song, Large Professor uses the sport of baseball as a metaphor in reference to the actions of the police force in our country, or some may say police brutality. Now keep in mind this song came out in 1991, and it’s just as relevant today as it was 33 years ago. (And in present day 2025, it’s STILL relevant.)

“Cause to the cops shootin’ brothas is just like playin’ baseball, and they’re never in a slump”

“I guess when they shoot up a crew it’s a grand slam/And when it’s one, it’s a home run”

“……plus I wanna switch/Sides, and step up to the batter’s box/Fuck red and white, I got on Black socks (sox)/But let him shoot a person from the White Sox/What’s the call? Foul ball!”

“My life is valuable and I protect it like a gem/Instead of cops gettin’ me I’m goin’ out gettin’ them”

“And legally they can’t take a fall”

“RBI, real bad injury/But don’t be happy you’re in jail for a century”

“I know a cop that’s savage/His pockets stay green like cabbage cause he has a good batting average”

“No questions, just pulls out the flamer/(Gunshot) And his excuses get lamer”

“And people watch the news for coverage on the game/Hmm, and got the nerve to complain”

“So the cops usually torment, I mean tournament/Win em I was sayin’/You can’t let the umpires, hear you speak and battle like the other kid, you won’t be playing/Cause they’ll beat you till your ass drop/A walking gun with a shell in his hand is their mascot”

“Instead of innings, we have endings”

24. West Indies cricket has followed the political fortunes of Caribbean politics.

It rose from the mid-seventies when the region, arguably, was on the rise.

And just as the political leaders failed to unleash regional potentials, admistrators of regional cricket, imbued with a backward and grounded British organizational culture, insisted on a management model with the sole purpose of extending the relative power of managers and returning players to the historical relationship.

That internecine war was the genesis which shall continue to make the region the cricketing dwarfs it has been prior.

25. David
    February 4, 2025 at 6:21 am

@TB

You sidestepped the question. Whether 4 years or 10 years what epiphany must our leaders experience to switch the dial?

Look at the picture of our losers, sorry, leaders, like a pantheon of criminals.

It isn’t our leaders that need the epiphany, it is us!!

We get what we deserve as leaders because we don’t know what is possible nor what we need.

26. Rasta Determination
    Locks up your head

Satta Dread
    Ooh, ooh, oh
    Mmm-mmm, yeah, yeah
    In the time to come
    When you have to fight the war
    You better humble in yourself and you will live
    And if you deal with war
    You will surely go down in fire
    ‘Cause if you satta, you will live to see
    And if deal with war
    You will surely go down

A time will come, Natty Dread
    When you have to enter
    Only righteous Dreadlocks will enter Zion I
    Don’t live with war
    ‘Cause if you do you will fall
    Because Jah Jah
    He don’t partial, He don’t partial, oh no

Don’t deal with war
    ‘Cause if you do you will fall
    Only righteous Dreadlocks will enter Zion I

You better know yourself Natty Dread
    And you will enter
    And if you deal with war, you will surely go down, yeah
    Satta in yourself
    Satta, Natty Dread
    ‘Cause if you satta, you will live..

27. Good to hear Minister of Agriculture Indar Weir echoing suggestions made on this particular blog. Hopefully to be discussed at the upcoming HoGs conference in Barbados.

28. A simple note…. The best leaders the Caribbean had was when Britain was granting independence to the islands. It has been all downhill from them.

We had no Lee Kuan Yew or perhaps it was our history of slavery that sent us into a slow decline. What we have seen in the past 6 years was a woman running all over the world, grabbing every microphone in sight and trying to clothes herself in Barrow’s garb. Hmmm!

Could it be? Nah…. It was Ninja man who removed them. I would still search the official residence…

29. The blog gone real real silent.

It seems like nobody on this blag was raised for “free” by their unpaid grandmother.

It seems like nobody on this blog has sent their children home to be raised for “free” by their unpaid grandmother.

It seems like nobody on this blog has buggered off to the great white north and left their little children to be raised for free by the unpaid grandmother and child mothers.

And yet I know many, many children who were raised here while the young, strong, healthy parents lived in the USA/UK/Canada.

Labour deserves to be paid.

Time for reparations for Bajan grandmothers.

30. Call for competitive economy

INDEPENDENT SENATOR Andrew Mallalieu has reiterated his call for Barbados to foster a naturally competitive economic environment rather than relying on artificial measures to sustain business operations.

Speaking during debate in the Senate yesterday on the Foreign Currency Permits Bill, 2025, he expressed full support for the amendment, noting that it rectifies a misstep in the transition from the previous international business company (IBC) regime to the current framework.

“It is, in fact, fixing something that we shouldn’t have got wrong in the first place,” Mallalieu said. “The purpose, when the leader of Government explained to us when we changed from the previous IBC regime to the current regime, was that those businesses would be in no worse position after the changes were made. But unfortunately, in this one area, they were.”

He also highlighted broader economic concerns, cautioning against dependence on legislative interventions to compensate for structural inefficiencies.

“When you have an uncompetitive economy, you have to have laws to make you artificially competitive. And when we get this wrong, we make a mistake, as we did here, and we left one small aspect out, we fall back to the natural state – high duties, high taxes, uncompetitive. So we have to come back and we have to fix it.”

Mallalieu advocated for a long-term solution that focuses on making Barbados naturally competitive, reducing the need for legislative patches.

Turning to the broader economic outlook, he echoed sentiments expressed by fellow senators, regarding the execution of Business Barbados initiatives. He stressed the importance of shifting from bureaucratic frustration to facilitation through the new measures being implemented under Business Barbados.

“I would like to reiterate my call that I made previously from this floor. Now that the legislation has passed, now that we are all encouraged and we’re excited by this, can we hear what the standards of service are going to be? How long will it take for us to do certain things within these industries?”

Mallalieu urged the Government to deliver on its promise of service benchmarks, stating that it was now time to reveal those operational timelines and ensure accountability.

(CLM)

31. IDB and Partners Commit to Developing the Silver Economy 

January 24, 2025

The commitment was made in Barcelona, Spain, at the first Europe-Latin America and Caribbean Silver Economy Forum, which brought together over 200 global leaders, aging experts and representatives from key sectors.

The Inter-American Development Bank (IDB), IDB Invest and IDB Lab, along with ”la Caixa” Foundation and key international partners, committed to working together on a joint development agenda to address challenges and opportunities arising from the rapid aging of societies, particularly in Latin America and the Caribbean.

The commitment comes as the population of Latin America and the Caribbean is aging at a faster rate than that of any other region in the world. The percentage of people aged 60 and older is projected to more than double, increasing from 12% to 25% by 2050. This growth will bring the size of this demographic to 195 million people — one in four individuals in the region.

Worldwide, the silver economy generates about $22 trillion annually while in countries like Argentina and Colombia, it accounts for 40% of GDP.

This demographic shift is already driving significant economic and financial challenges and opportunities, as this population group also represents 40% of consumer spending and a rapidly rising share of pension payments and healthcare services.

The Forum centered on the thematic areas of jobs/entrepreneurship, finance and care, fostered the exchange of cutting-edge knowledge, and discussions on innovative solutions to the challenges posed by the silver economy. It also focused on creating business opportunities between Europe and Latin America and the Caribbean.

Co-organizers of the Forum include AARP International, Universidad del Pacífico, Women Entrepreneurs Finance Initiative (We-Fi), Telefónica Foundation, ONCE Social Group, Avina Foundation, the German Sparkassenstiftung for International Cooperation, and Endeavor Uruguay.

The partners committed to working together on a common agenda aimed at supporting projects and initiatives that better meet the needs of this growing demographic group.

“Latin America and the Caribbean is already the fastest-aging region and by the end of the century will have the highest percentage of adults aged over 60 in the world, with more than 36%. Now is the time for action and for working together on an agenda and strategic alliances where both the public and private sectors meet the needs of our aging societies, creating jobs, improving their access to financing and services, and providing them with better care,” said IDB President Ilan Goldfajn.

”la Caixa” Foundation General Manager Josep Maria Coronas said: “The interest in the financial stability of the elderly and the dignity of old age has accompanied ”la Caixa” Foundation since its founding. This commitment to the elderly continues to this day. Our Elderly program organizes numerous activities in which more than half a million older people have participated in the last year, improving their well-being and contributing to active and healthy ageing.”

This pioneering event brought together over 200 global leaders, aging experts and representatives from key sectors, including governments, businesses, NGOs and startups, who focused during three days on the silver economy as a driver of development.

To learn more about the work of the IDB, IDB Invest and IDB Lab in the Silver Economy, visit our recent podcasts and publications.

About the IDB

The Inter-American Development Bank (IDB) is devoted to improving lives across Latin America and the Caribbean. Founded in 1959, the IDB works with the region’s public sector to design and enable impactful, innovative solutions for sustainable and inclusive development. Leveraging financing, technical expertise and knowledge, it promotes growth and well-being in 26 countries. Visit our website http://www.iadb.org/en.

About IDB Invest

IDB Invest is a multilateral development bank committed to promoting the economic development of its member countries in Latin America and the Caribbean through the private sector. IDB Invest finances sustainable companies and projects to achieve financial results and maximize economic, social, and environmental development in the region. With a portfolio of $21 billion in assets under management and over 394 clients in 25 countries, IDB Invest provides innovative financial solutions and advisory services that meet the needs of its clients in a variety of industries. Visit our website http://www.idbinvest.org/en.

About IDB Lab

IDB Lab is the innovation and venture capital arm of the Inter-American Development Bank Group. We discover new ways to drive social inclusion, environmental action and productivity in Latin America and the Caribbean. IDB Lab leverages financing, knowledge and connections to support early-stage entrepreneurship, foster new technologies, activate innovative markets and catalyze existing sectors. http://www.idblab.org.

About ”la Caixa” Foundation

Built on 120 years of history, ”la Caixa” Foundation is one of the largest foundations in the world. For more than a century, ”la Caixa” Foundation has been working to offer people more opportunities, especially to those who need them most. Since its inception, it has been marked by a strong commitment to promote social progress through social programs and educational, cultural and scientific activities. In 2024, “la Caixa” Foundation had a €600 million record budget. 

Source. IDB

32. Back in time or to the future. Harrison Point.

Naval Facility (NAVFAC) Barbados was operated by the United States Navy for twenty-two years .

33. Interesting comment from a banker.

Resilient with risks

Economist sees growth but high dependence a downside

Barbados’ economy is showing some “resilient economic growth”, but the country’s high dependence on the global economy is a significant risk.

That is the assessment of Vangie Bhagoo-Ramrattan, head of the economic research unit at First Citizens.

The Trinidadian economist said the major risks to Barbados’ economic prospects, and those of its Caribbean neighbours, included United States policies following the return of US President Donald Trump’s to office, political and geopolitical risks, Chinese economic policies, and global interest rates and inflation.

She was speaking yesterday during an Economic Outlook 2025 webinar hosted by First Citizens and the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Barbados.

“The Barbados economy is characterised by resilient economic growth, driven by strong tourism activity, improving labour market dynamics, healthy accumulation of foreign exchange reserves and adherence to the economic programme and reforms, which is underpinned by an [International Monetary Fund] programme and steady improvements in fiscal operations generating consistent surpluses,” Bhagoo-Ramrattan said.

“However, there are risks, debt remains very high, but is forecasted to decline at steady pace to a targeted 60 per cent of GDP by fiscal 2035/2036. Overall risks to the outlook are high and are tilted to the downside due to the country’s high dependence on the global economy.”

She said there were four factors that are likely to shape the economic outlook for 2025, the first which was “US policies, and really Trump’s second term in office, so broadly speaking, increased protectionist trade policies”.

“We’re looking at US fiscal policies in terms of tax cuts and deficit spending, and we’re looking at the implications of mass deportation and the impact on the US labour market,” the economist said.

Effects of tariffs

“Economic growth in the US is projected at 2.7 per cent for this year, just slightly down from an estimated 2.8 per cent last year, and the US economy continues to be supported by robust consumption as well as more accommodative policies such as tax cuts, which should positively impact in the near term.”

She added: “One of the major downside risks to the outlook for the US is really any adverse effects of tariffs and a reduction in the labour force due to lower migration flows to the US.

“Now, while there is no clear indication about the pace and the extent of additional or any new tariffs, one of the major risks to the global economic outlook is any escalation in protectionist trade policies which would have far-reaching implications.

“It could worsen the trade tensions, it would lower investments, it would reduce market efficiencies, . . . of course distort trade flows, and again, disrupt supply chains.”

Regarding geopolitical risks like conflicts in Ukraine and the Middle East, she said the fallout was “farreaching and can cause disruptions in global economic activity, both through trade and financial linkages”. (SC)

34. FUZZY PICTURE

Data lagging behind trends on tourism spend, says banker

A senior banker believes that data collection methods not keeping pace with changing tourism trends means that Barbadians may not be getting a full picture of the industry’s contribution.

This includes the amount of money visitors are spending, says Claire Jordan, chief executive officer of First Citizens Bank (Barbados) Limited.

She used the example of the Oistins Bay Garden facility in Christ Church, arguably the country’s most popular tourist attraction, as one area where there could be imperfections in capturing tourism data.

Jordan asked: “How do you capture money spent in Oistins, for example? [It’s] one of the single largest or most popular attractions. And it is so into the grassroots and embedded in the economy. How do you capture that spend? It’s impossible. So the data is imperfect and directional, but it gives us, I guess, a platform on which to infer more.”

Another area was the accommodation sector where more people were staying at Airbnb properties.

The official was speaking yesterday during an Economic Outlook 2025 webinar hosted by First Citizens and the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Barbados.

With long-stay visitors from the United States now rivalling the number from the United Kingdom, Jordan, who has served on the boards of the Barbados Tourism Marketing Inc. and the Barbados Tourism Product Authority, observed firstly that “the UK visitors tend to have a much longer average stay than the US market”.

“And so . . . when you see the sort of the balance shift, it may well be that the US visitor isn’t spending as much per se,” she said.

“So you may have more people, but if there is a reduction in the number of guests out of the UK, that may be impacting – as well as the surge in people who are staying in Airbnb and there may be flows that are not being captured under the traditional buckets of that hospitality [sector] where the statistical department is capturing their tourism spend data.

“There may be spend that’s not being captured because trends have changed, and the way we collect the data may not be keeping pace with that.”

Jordan also mentioned the separation of data for people in for cruises as opposed to long-stay visitors.

“The numbers are captured separately. We know how many people home port, we know how many people come on cruise ships, we know how many come in via air. What is very difficult to track is the spend by those within the categories,” she observed.

“Obviously, you know that someone who’s coming here for one day, there is data that suggests an average spend, and that is tracked in the . . . tourism sector but . . .capturing the spend accurately is difficult because there is such a repeat component to the tourism arrivals.” ( SC)

35. Economist questions inflation figures accuracy
    A regional economist has cast doubt on the accuracy of Barbados’ official inflation figures, suggesting they may significantly understate the true cost of living for many households.
    Head of the Economic Research Unit of First Citizens Bank, Vangie Bhagoo-Ramrattan said the published low inflation data may be incorrect concerning the prices consumers are paying to put food on the table.
    Bhagoo-Ramrattan, the main presenter at a webinar on Friday on the Economic Outlook for Barbados for 2025, first outlined how the authorities measure inflation before she sought to back up her conclusions.
    The senior economist, who also examined the global and regional situation, said that in Barbados in particular, inflation is measured by the retail price index (RPI).
    “The retail price index measures changes in the retail prices of a fixed basket of goods and services, and it should represent spending patterns of the majority of households in Barbados. That’s how the inflation rate is calculated; they use the basket to find the percentage change, and it is also weighted. So, the RPI in Barbados is weighted. Food and non-alcoholic beverages accounted for the largest — about 22 per cent — followed by housing, water and electricity, things like that, 15 per cent; and then transport is the third, which is 13.5 per cent,” she explained during the webinar organised by the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Barbados (ICAB) in collaboration with First Citizens Bank.
    “So, there may be a disconnect between . . . so the disconnect may possibly stem from the calculation of the inflation rate, in that the items that make up the basket, may not accurately reflect current realities. So, the basket may have been around since 2016. So, obviously, consumer tastes would change over time. So, that might be part of it, the calculation of it,” she argued.
    Bhagoo-Ramrattan then turned her attention to the related issue of the purchasing power of consumers, while pointing to the concept of inflation or the definition of inflation.
    The economic researcher reasoned that even if Barbados recorded an inflation rate of one per cent, though that appeared low, it still meant that prices were rising at the rate of one per cent.
    “Now, the problem,” she suggested, “may be that the pace at which your wages are increasing, it’s not keeping up with the pace of inflation. So, your purchasing power is still being eroded. So, those are some of the reasons why there may be a disconnect in terms of feeling a low rate of inflation that is quoted by . . . which are published.”
    In its review of the economy for 2024, the Central Bank of Barbados reported that “favourable” price dynamics reduced inflation significantly during that period.
    The bank pointed out that domestic inflation slowed to an estimated 1.4 per cent on a 12-month moving average basis by the end of the year, representing a 1.8 percentage point decline from 2023.
    The regulator is also projecting that inflation will remain low, stabilising around two per cent, as global commodity prices ease. (EJ)

36. In its review of the economy for 2024, the Central Bank of Barbados reported that “favourable” price dynamics reduced inflation significantly during that period.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    LOL ha ha ha
    Murduh!!!
    Funny that it takes a Trini economist (WETHTI) to call out this nonsense.. The Bajan ones too busy looking to get Board appointments…

It is AMAZING the depth to which a politically appointed lackie is willing to sink in order to see things the way that would please their political masters.
    What the Hell!!

Every BB Tom, Dick and Cuhdear knows the OBVIOUS story of inflation in Barbados in recent years – especially in the damn Trini supermarkets….

Steupssss…
    …then they expect people to buy their shiite projections about 4% growth (actually 10% growth attributed to the foreign investors and local bribe-takers, and MINUS 6% to ordinary BB Bajans)…. even by THEIR projections.

What a place!!!

37. @Bush Tea

Unfortunately our educated people especially the middle class continue to be tone deaf regarding the structural issues in the local economy. The thing is, it does not require deep learning to understand the problem. It is as if the narrative and jargon continually pushed by successive governments must be protected at all cost.

It was meant to be the middle and intellectual class to help to navigate to a wholesome sustainable society. Are we there yet?

38. @ David
    What educated people what??
    …you mean eddykated?!!

Boss…
    Look up the word ‘CURSE’ …and it becomes clear where we are….

Curse…
    “…..intended to invoke a supernatural power to inflict harm or punishment on someone or something.”
    Key points to note – “supernatural”, and WHY the curse…

Bushie has already explained WHY, and by WHOM!!!

In NORMAL circumstances, even the fellows on the damn blocks would see the lotta shiite going on, and raise Hell to make CHANGES….
    …but here we have – even our best and brightest CANNOT see the obvious…???!!!

Bushie still trying to figure out people like yourself, N.O., Pacha etc – and exactly HOW wunna break de spell…
    nha ha ha

39. Let’s pray that Mia can work her magic and receive a small portion of the 3.9 trillion reparations in advance.

How ironic that our relatively new found republic remains on bended knees whilst praying that the mother country will cough up some reparations to rescue it from destitution and poverty.

Bush Tea, if your cupboards are bare and you lack the wherewithal to ameliorate yourself. Then you have no choice but to sell the family silver.

https://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/2025/02/07/foreign-office-opens-talks-on-paying-slavery-reparations/

40. “…if your cupboards are bare and you lack the wherewithal to ameliorate yourself.”
    ~~~~~
    @ TLSN
    There are certain circumstance where death is the natural and most appropriate consequence contemplatable.
    So…
    If any BB ‘lacks the wherewithal to ameliorate themself’ and HAS NO INTEREST IN ACCEPTING THE HELP FREELY OFFERED to do so…. then what else is to be expected?

We have ALWAYS lacked such an ability in reality – because it is a SPIRITUAL challenge that we face. Instead, we have focused on the materialistic mirror image fostered by the albino-centrics, that money and things are the means of amelioration…

This stupid false IMAGE is about to be BUSTED, bigly.. – with the spiritual intent of pointing us to the REAL spiritual challenge that we face – and hopefully to the REAL salvation being offered…
    Our fight is NOT about flesh and blood…

But the curse is a strong one, and BBs are addicted to their dollars….

What a time to be alive TLSN…. ent it??!!

41. Art on Saturn
    Barbados needs some more creativity and fun
    where is the fire
    even the Bu has become too serious with too much doom and gloom

People are not begging for reparations they are turning tables
    Britain is finally decolonising it’s full of itself puffed up big head
    and giving back some shit they stole like lands artifacts treasures
    and paying it’s dues for it’s dreadful crimes to mankind that we call infamy

The War is a spiritual battle against conservatives extremism ism schism the woke are waking up to fight immigrant haters on the beaches and chase the devils to outer space

Somebody Else’s World (a.k.a. Somebody Else’s Idea)
    [Verse 1]
    Somebody else’s idea of somebody else’s world
    Is not my idea of things as they are
    Somebody else’s idea of things to come
    Need not be the only way
    To vision the future

[Verse 2]
    What seems to be, need not be
    What need, had to be
    For what was is only because of
    An adopted source of things
    Some chosen source as was
    Need not be the only pattern
    To build a world on

42. Just got back from traveling to 2096 and brought back and English newspaper.. the headlines

British PM declares ‘reparation talks dead, beyond resurrection’. COMCARI ministers in tears as they depart.

Barbados withdraw from reparation talks, now talking of restitution.

Jamaica ‘was never in favor of reparations’ wants English migrants for farm work in Jamaica.

Trinidad reparations festival to be renamed carnival

Goeth still alive! Claims he knows it was a bunch of nothing from 2020

43. Reparations for the Sub-Dwellers of Underground: The Immeasurable Equation

“if you are not a myth whose reality are you? If you are not a reality whose myth are you?”

“I’m not real, I’m just like you. You don’t exist in this society. If you did your people wouldn’t be seeking equal rights.

You’re not real, if you were you’d have some status among the nations of the world. So we are both myths.

I do not come to you as a reality, I come to you as the myth because that is what black people are: myths.

I came from a dream that the black man dreamed long ago. I’m actually a presence sent to you by your ancestors.”

It takes a motion to notion
    and it takes a notion to motion.

Out of nowhere they come like embers suddenly aflame
    With living reach
    Spiral infinity
    Being.

Yes. Out of nowhere they come from the no point.

When the person Myth meets the person Reality
    The spirit of the impossible-strange appears
    In dark disguise
    It is always there where nothing inverts itself
    and becomes something
    Whatever is the imperative need

Sometimes in the ignorance
    I feel the meaning
    Invincible invisible wisdom,
    And I commune with intuitive instinct
    With the force that made life be
    And since it made life be
    It is greater than life
    And since it let extinction be
    It is greater than extinction.
    I commune with feelings more than
    prayer

The Music is a Universal Language
    Music is existence, the key to the universal language.
    Because it is the universal language.
    Freedom of Speech is Freedom of Music.
    Music is not material. Music is Spiritual.