There is voluminous information in today’s main daily newspaper about the current state of debt in Barbados. The overriding message from various talking heads seems to be that Barbados’ debt is sustainable all things being equal. All the prognostications end with the caveat that we have an open economy therefore vulnerable to exogenous shocks. A winning argument!

From the perspective of a lowly blogmaster Barbados is continuing to build its economic house on sandy ground. Despite the flowery talk Barbados is a one leg economy almost entirely dependent on a fickle tourism product to earn foreign exchange. How then can our economy be described as being resilient? Until the grandiose plans to leverage Guyana resources to produce food and improve inter island transportation is realised this blogmaster remains a skeptic.

Have a view of the short video, it is ONE minute duration. Let us keep it simple.

56 responses to “Debt is our new slave master”

1. It’s amazing when the same aged talking points are repeated over and over again for years how that talk becomes the religious doctrine felt safe to be aired in public at no cost to either the people walking about constantly repeating it, the people who erected them in the first place nor those unborn but in whom these notions shall again be imbued.

What that mindset misses deliberately is that this, the path of constantly borrowing fiat money from the international bankers, was always a treadmill willingly entered into as part of their continuing determination that this fraught system of global circulation of paper was always a bubble which could not continue forever but which will, sooner or later, end in an explosion from which conditions hithertofore unknown must come.

These are the people who have had no critique of end stage capitalism, those addicted to this free money issued elsewhere, those afraid of contemplating the end of neoliberalism and what it will mean for us all.

None of these people now want to suggest the means old financial systems used to clear out debt. Given all of these, the end of the economic system of things cannot be far off. Can’t we see how the Western powers, none others, are reverting to their old ways of stealing the resources of other people through gun boat diplomacy. Where are our guns? Where are our boats?

2. @ Pacha
    “…Can’t we see how the Western powers, none others, are reverting to their old ways of stealing the resources of other people through gun boat diplomacy. Where are our guns? Where are our boats?”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~
    ‘reverting???!!”
    When did this EVER stop Pacha?

Dogs bite. Cats scratch, and albino-centric personalities (ACs) are driven by GREED, envy and vindictiveness.
    They are NOT therefore to be blamed for doing what comes naturally to them.

The REAL problem is with brass bowls, whose NATURAL DISPOSITION is to love, to be selfless, to be fair to all, and to FEAR GOD…
    BUT who allow themselves to become bewitched with the glitter and short term highs of the albino-centrics…. and who then FAIL MISERABLY out of their depths, cause they DON’T have the natural spitefulness and greed required to be ‘successful’ AC’s.

Debt is no ‘new’ slavemaster. It is one of the oldest. But when the use of violence, vindictiveness and deceit became untenable (due to the ever-present news cameras and global communications, the demons went back to the ‘Debt trap’ approach’.

The demons were caught too many times in their lies, murder, coups and assasinations and had to find new ( or old) methods.

Proverbs 22:7 says, “The rich rule over the poor, and the borrower is slave to the lender.”
    This is so obvious and intuitive, that our leaders MUST be deliberate in leading us back into slavery.
    One wonders at the number of peices of silver involved in the sale…

3. In 1985 the island was less indebted.

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=NHe7lMdpe-4

4. Slave master being the new debt is a play on our history as black people held in bondage.

5. One neat thing with an unconstitutional parliament, if and when a constitutional parliament rises up, it can legally claim that any debts incurred in the last 6 years are not the responsibility of the people of Barbados but of the imposters incurring them.

6. When the mother country enslaved us. They made it clear that our status as slaves would be held in perpetuity. That the nation is broke and indebted would indicate to me that we have become re-enslaved with no means of us being able to escape this legacy.

It is pointless talking about independence, republicanism, or of our desire to develop a new constitution.

Our status has always been that of the enslaved.

Some of us are slow to understand this. One day soon the penny will drop.

7. People use physical strengths to make some little money.
    They use their brain to make a little bit more money.
    But people use their heart, a loving energy, love, joy happiness & attract abundance.
    Gratefulness, thankfulness attract the abundance and wealth, that is a simple rule that has never changed for thousand and thousand years.
    Oftentimes we think too much, when you learn how to smile inwardly and use your heart to attract abundance you are never going to lack it.

8. Why do we educate our people at great expense to taxpayers are happy to go with the flow of consumerism and capitalism?

9. NorthernObserver Avatar

What new?
    The island was riddled in Debt, when the former administration demitted office in 2018. That Debt was primarily local Debt, Bonds & TBills. But also a mountain of unpaid Accounts, plus monies borrowed ‘off book’, like the seizing of contributions destined for the NIS. In the so called Debt Restructuring which occured, billions of dollars of local debt was written off, TBills seized and converted to longer term Debt (Bonds), thereby reducing the cost of servicing this Debt. They then negotiated (nice word) with all those owed money, and offered them a haircut, to get monies owing. Sometimes a haircut after a hair cut, the baldy treatment?
    This provided the new ability to service more debt, and call in the IMF. So instead of local Debt, they now turned to foreign debt, which given the then prevailing interest rates and ‘concessionary terms’ was relatively cheaper than much existing debt.
    Based on recent comments from Minister Straughn, the island may now have maximised the foreign debt available, so guess what, the focus now returns to local Debt, Bonds and TBills.
    What was old is new again?

10. TLSN
    January 13, 2025 at 1:19 pm

In 1985 the island was less indebted.

… and in 1966 it was probably non existent!!

Funny how the D’s and B’s worked diligently together to change all that.

We were probably more independent before independence than we are after it.

11. Bushie

No! Not even ‘overtly reverting’.

Was just trying to make circumstances more palatable for the fools who still have their donkey hitched to the Western wagon.

12. @NO

Debt accumulation seems to be a thing in the region. Read some where that St. Vincent printed 30 million above approved limit and national debt increased by 16%.

13. NO

How is Barbados any different to the USA, most Western countries, most countries of the Global South, even Japan……..

When it comes to debt to GDP ratios.

And if this larger picture is true, is there not a need for a deeper analysis? Is something more profound not happening?

14. Pachamama
    January 13, 2025 at 3:46 pm

NO

How is Barbados any different to the USA, most Western countries, most countries of the Global South, even Japan……..

When it comes to debt to GDP ratios.

And if this larger picture is true, is there not a need for a deeper analysis? Is something more profound not happening?

The major difference is that those industrialised countries can service and hopefully pay down their debts.

Much of the debts is a result of theft and corruption and wasted spending.

15. US Banks are the old slave master too
    country and western rebel musikkk

16. Well what I have watched this government quietly do is try to reduce debt service as opposed to reducing debt. There is a BIG difference between the 2 and this is my concern.

So we keep refinancing debt at lower rates to reduce debt service, that being the monthly payment to the creditor. This does nothing to however reduce the debt owed to the creditors and in some cases actually increases it quietly. So lets look at it simply at a domestic level of buying a car as an individual.

You borrow $40,000 to buy a car over 4 years at say 5% and a year into the loan you say to the creditor ” tings tite want help.” The creditor says ” of course sir thats why we are here.” So they then renegotitate the loan for you and say “let me lend you the same 40k at 5%, but as you so nice i will give you 8 years to pay back.” You say wah! My payment gone down monthly and you finding you got a few hundred dollars in you pocket so this was a good thing! But was it really? You now have a much longer period to pay interest and your 40K debt has gone no where.

Then you do what government does you take the few hundred you save on the car loan and rush in courst god blyma and buy a 70 inch Tv on Credit with a 4 year loan. But don’t worry all is good cause you save a few dollars on the monthly car payment, so you only had to put $200 more with it to mek the Courts payment.

That sounds like total madness to any reasonable person, but in a simplified way that is what both parties have been doing for the last 20 years. Thus ends shop keeper economics 101.

17. NO

That is not true. These debts have long been recognized as unrepayable.

The US. For example, has about 36 trillion net, in debt, as measured as accumulated deficits, less surpluses since 1776.

However, when unfunded liabilities are added the total national debt goes to nearly 300 trillion, social security and so on.

If you have followed the financialization of economy this would have been long clear. And everybody, except you, recognizes this. Even the American government itself as seen in actions which have included the removal of the gold standard back in the 70s and several bubbles since, many others.

Separately

Cuba is now an associated member of BRICS. Barbados should have been too. This maybe the only glimmer of hope for Barbados but it would mean ending the adiction to debt. And putting the country on a whole new developmental trajectory. However, this writer highly doubts that Barbados will ever muster the courage to fully turn East!

Cuba
    https://youtu.be/ars3nYTdIqI?si=e_6a1Jh4o_UR9E68

18. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Pacha
    Little difference. Against @John’s point, the USA has become DE-Industrialized. What the RH does MAGA mean? The same as RE-industrialize. They can always pay, they can print $. What about their ‘allies’ who don’t have a $US printing press?
    What is DJT beef with Canada? A trade deficit !!! Which he translates to a subsidy.
    You cannot have the highest labour rates (in $US), and associated costs and expect to produce goods which are more competitive? China, and increasingly others, own the production.
    Even China (the hybrid?) is afflicted with Debt issues, getting diseases like Real Estate crashes, previously only known in other economies. A cost of success.

19. “What the RH does MAGA mean?”

The South is gonna rise again.

The N***** word is gonna be all over internet.

20. NorthernObserver Avatar

Pacha
    Not sure what is not true.
    Anyways of course many debts are unrepayable. But take note, for the US speaks from both sides. Notice how they’re scooping up gold? Beware.

Poor Cuba. If Trudeau had only one ball, he’d cuddle up to Cuba where several of his Canadian based entities own 49% of Cuban hotels in trouble. Maybe after Trump fires the first volley on tariffs, he’ll do thusly. For that would piss the Americans off. And then kick them out of Guantanamo.

21. @John A

The other consideration is that debt to gdp can be favorably impacted by expansion of the economy.

22. @ David

Yes that is true, but the game we are playing is a dangerous one of kicking the debt down the road and running behind lowering debt service. I would support that too, except all we are doing is using the ease in debt service yearly to borrow more money. I.E take the car loan free up and buy a 70 inch TV.

When if ever do we intend to address our DEBT?? Have we learnt nothing from covid? Instead of trying to insulate our selves from the next diease, or global financial fall out we seem hell bent on exposing ourselves more to such disasters.

No matter how you dress up a loan it will always be a liabilty. We seem now to celebrate when someone lens us money, instead of being concerned that our debt without negotitaion of extensions is in fact unserviceable. Again nothing learnt from the last debt restructuring.

23. It’s impossible for America or any other Western country which has outsourced production, printed endless reams of paper and locked within the Western cyclical financialization of everything to within a short or medium term to recover economically to the extent where debt repayment could be even considered.

We are not merely talking about interest or dividend yields. We’re talking about the principal.

In the case of the USA, their GDP is about 21 trillion but national debt as measured above will be about 40 trillion by year’s end. Then you’ll have to deal with supply push inflation which has been a bother over years, and more

Even to consider such a reindustrialization mega project will take a decade. Then you will have to even depress wages more severely, while retraining the population to fill new industrial jobs for most of these skills have long atrophied or never existed, and on and on.

Don’t let us talk about rebuilding the country for there is no money so to do. And reindustrialization require modern infrastructures. And though many jobs could be so created the country has no such determination. Trump’s talk about Maga is nonsense. He’s just a politician bloviating. In any event such a project would require a strong national will long absent.

These and more merely highlight the impossibility to prevent an empire energized by centrifugal forces from collapsing, with all its global implications, including for Bridgetown.

24. @John A

The rule of thumb for borrowing is the capacity to repay based on some globally accepted metric. According to the Governor and Straughn we operate well below that number.

25. Well if all that is true maybe the Gov and minister can explain to.me why we had a debt restructuring where the NIS lost 1 billion dollars of its worth because and i qoute, ” the debt as it now stands in unsubstainable.”

Some of we might believe anything but not all of we thank god. Prior to the debt restructuring if you recall Sinkyuh echoed the same words which were, ” we well within our debt burden in terms of servicing it.”

So i say crock crock and more crock with a slice of BS to add flavour! LOL

26. @John A

You of all people know why. Barbados was on lockdown in the capital market, had achieved junk status and to unlock financing the services of White Oak had to be contracted.

27. NorthernObserver Avatar

Which makes the return to home-grown financing all the more interesting. Or is this desperation?

28. So my point David is we learnt nothing because we are setting ourselves up for the same thing to happen again.

29. Home grown financing means nothing unless it could happen more than once and that a country has the capacities to regenerate internally or by having net and sustained inflows. Is this not a reason why Sagicor left?

30. NorthernObserver Avatar

LOL…the meaning or realities…are nothing to pols. They see a large local savings pool, and want a piece. Supermax Bonds, whatever. They see a pool earning 1%, and will offer 5%, as that is cheaper than anything else.

31. Yes Northern if you think they aint eyeing the billions on the bank like white shark watching injured seal you fooling yourself. First you create a sutuation of no return from the banks by not introducing a minimum savings rate, then you say ” people dont worry we got series Z bonds here offering 4.5% over 3 years with option to roll over at market rates on renewal. Lol

Look i want to see things stabalise but this blatant borrowing and financial slide of hand with pushing debt forward, sounding alot like the sinkanomics that i did vote out.

Come on surely my divine leaders can do better than this. Lets look at cuting cost by addressing these SOE’S and make a true effort at diversification no matter how small. After all we got to start somewhere.

32. NorthernObserver Avatar

JohnA
    Challenge. The folks aren’t as stupid as Bushie likes to make out. The interest disparity has existed since your friend Sinkyuh. Thus far, Bajans didn’t bite hard on BOSS or BOSS+. They got a few banks to buy Bonds. Ryan was reporting positively on TBill sales, but since I’m not buying either, I haven’t followed offerings.
    White Hoax is straining their brains trying to find an angle to entice buyers.

33. @ Northern

Thing is many paper owners were historically buyers or friends and family of buyers. I dont know if you could even entice them back now with a 5% offering. As for people who never owned state paper to now become buyers, I think convincing them going be a tall order! I know it was always thought over the years government paper was safe. Many of the owners of such paper, had you of told them years ago that a restructuring would be coming down the road all would of cuss you. Then it happened.

Time will tell i suppose. If not they can force them on the central bank and commercial banks once more. Problem is there is a limit to what they can absorb and its no where near 100% of an offering.

34. We are surprised that anybody would think that Trump has any personal abilities, would have enough time, would be allowed to do anything objectionable to the Deep State, could turn back decades of failures.

That Trump could be taken seriously in the face of the failures of his first term.

Trump, a braggart, a con man, a show man, a man inclined to say whatever he feels in any moment even if that is to undermine previously stated policy.

True, he was undermined around the North Korea issue. He was rightly skeptical about Covid-19. Like any common criminal he knew fellow travelers, the Bidens, to be gangsters. While sending strategic weapons to Ukrainian fascists and he aided the terrorists in Syria.

Of recent, he was seen to have re-twitted Jeffrey Sacks excoriating Netanyahu in the worst way. Observers have read this as a sign that Trump will be less disposed to being led into an Israel promoted war against Iran diverting him away from a promised domestic concentration.

We ourselves are not persuaded that he has the political skill to not be ‘mouse trapped’ by either Netanyahu, who he doesn’t trust given the treachery of supporting Biden when the election, 2020, was uncertain. Of course, the Jews like Adelson’s widow, she having promised 100 million for the election campaign based on Trump’s promise to hand over the West Bank to Israel. But hacen only given less than half this money that promise may have lost being front of mind.

That some here give credence to a man who presents as some grand deal maker who for instance forced Mexico and Canada, last time, to revise the North American Free Trade Agreemeb to stem Chinese ‘encroachment’ as Mexico, and more so now under Presidenta Sheinebaum, the Chinese may even bring Mexico into BRICS, for such is their growing investment there. Obviously, as a back door to the America market.

When all the bragging from this here braggart is over, Trump will be no more that a balloon of hot air bursting and hitting the ground in failure having used and fooled 70 million voters.

Nothing will change! As so-called respectable everywhere will have to bite their lips as an empty vessel takes center stage.

35. @ NO
    “The folks aren’t as stupid as Bushie likes to make out.”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    True dat!
    Dey are worse! Bushie tends to be soft hearted. 🙂

So they are sitting on $billions of savings in the foreign-owned banks while getting 0.005% interest; paying an arm and a leg inbank charges – just to stand in line for hours; – while the banks lend them back the SAME money at 5-8% for consumables – and 15-24% for credit card debts.

You REALLY wanna talk bout stupid?

Why the Hell can they not get back to a modern version of the old ‘meeting turns’?
    What the Hell stops us from getting together as FAMILIES, and funding family-owned enterprises – like the Indians, Syrians, Lebanese etc do?
    Why does the damn credit unions not own a bank themselves – where THEY could facilitate community-centric financial development?
    What stops the shiite churches from leveraging their numbers to build community investment – all they can think of are shiite offerings?
    Not to mention the lackie Workers Unions – still operating like in the days after apprenticeship … begging for pay raises to keep up a basic living wage.
    Why are THEY not major SHAREHOLDERS representing the interests (AND INVESTMENTS) of workers???? Stupid!! with a capital ’S’.

Steupssss..
    You only got Bushie hot under the collar now, NO…

Any bets that YOUR dinero is working for YOUR family’s benefits, and not some foreign exploiter’s… like we do in Brassbados.

Does the bushman need to be even MORE explicit?

What a curse..
    What self imposed serfdom

36. NorthernObserver Avatar

@BTea
    Absolutely amazing your families have seemingly struggled to support each other.
    I have no answer.

@JohnA
    So I rant occasionally about the lack of Reports.
    The truth is, we all know, these Reports exist. There is no way, the IMF (and they are the lead, others follow) is lending all this money without such Reports. No way. And you have Commercial Banks in the Swap lending millions without deep financials? Cause we know Banks lend money just so.
    After defaulting, the GoB set about to restore confidence, and FAIL to produce Annual Reports? In 6+ years, not a QEH, TB, NIS….. natta. They cannot find accountants according to one source, but can pull off the Climate swap which includes multiple lenders, multiple guarantees, multiple debt owners, and a pant load of finance and accounting effort?
    And they expect the peeple to fall into line, to support them, and deliver three bags full. Steupse.

37. @ Northern
    There is another possibility.
    What if there are TWO sets of reports in play?
    What if the local audited reports that are required by Law do not exactly align with the MAIN reports REQUIRED by our masters (IMF and other lenders)?

If you had a wife like Cuhdear, whose lips have no control knobs, would you parade your REAL outside girl in public for all and sundry to see?
    You know how Cuhdear would get on..??!!

Those ‘REAL’ reports cannot be exposed for comparison with the fairy tales that are presented to the wife – about how stable things are, …how everythig going as planned etc….

If you can keep the outside girl dependent on your largesse, distracted with fete after fete, and planning for ‘We Gatherings’ – then, apart from a northern relative over and away ( and John A), who else will worry about the lack of reports?

Of course, Cuhdear knows full well that WHENEVER the shit hits the fan, SHE has the papers for the properties and the bank accounts. The outside woman will be smelling Hell when THAT time comes…

So the IMF just smiling …and waiting on the feteing brass bowls…

Do you think that THEY are stupid Enuff NOT to know there is an outside woman, their sweet reports, …and the REAL hidden reports…?

What a mess!
    What a time!

38. Terence M Blackett Avatar
    Terence M Blackett

WE CAN POSTULATE ALL DAY LONG ABOUT THE GOTHIC NATURE OF MODERN CIVILIZATION ( Hashtag small ‘c’) BUT CLEARLY THE DEARTH OF “vision” IS NOW TANKERED INTO THE SULPHURIZED MIASMIC CAULDRONS OF THE WRETCHED ABYSS

[7] years ago, I posted a VT by my mate Aaron, who moved from the US 2 Dominica with his family, to escape the “US GESTAPO”, due to “A CLEAR & PRESENT THREAT TO LIFE & LIMB” – who then had his world turned upside down due to #HurricaneMaria, which made landfall as a #Category5Demon, on September 18, 2017!!!

The hurricane caused devastating damage, leaving 31 people dead and 37 missing on that beautiful island. It resulted in intense storm surges, torrential downpours, & in its wake, destroyed over 90% of the roofs on the island (REMINDING ME OF WHAT I SAW IN CARRIACOU JUST LITTLE OVER A MONTH AGO) – with a combined total damage estimated @ US$930.9 Million (LET ROUND IT OFF @BILLION)!!!

NO WONDER SKERRITT WENT ON THE HUNT TO SELL PASSPORTS TO SAM KUTCH & THE DUPPY CAUSING AN INTERNATIONAL SCANDAL WHERE EVEN ARAB-BASED AL JAZEERA DID AN EXPOSE ON THE SHENANIGANS

It’s now all about to “COLLAPSE” into the “BOTTOMLESS PIT OF HELL”!!!

The theatre is on fire & “FOLKS” are waiting for the curtains to part!!!

#Heavens2Murgatroyd
    #WhatAWorld
    #WhatMassPsychosis

39. NorthernObserver Avatar

While anything is possible, there is at least ONE Report? And whether it is audited by anybody other than the IMF, is merely pedantic. Very clearly given the time, 6+ years and counting, NO effort is being made in this area, beyond satisfying the lenders.
    I have already stated the private sector merely needs to pull a Sinkyuh and freeze VAT and other tax remittances into Escrow, to choke the GoB into complying with local laws.
    Similarly citizens can do their part, by a continued failure to buy GoB Debt instruments. To besides, they are very risky, under these circumstances.
    And realise, the GoB is only requested to COMPLY with EXISTING laws. These aren’t some new benchmarks which have suddenly been instituted.
    Still no Auditor General Report?
    Its only getting worse.

40. And we wonder why the man on the street feels he can do as he wants with no repsect for the law.

Are our divine leaders setting any example by failing to obey state laws? What example is government setting when it comes to adherance to laws? Or is it that shooting, driving ZRS how you like and tiefing are the only concerns we should have?

I feel sorry for the young ones coming up, thankfully i in the last quarter now with no overtime planned, so at least i remember when this island was somewhere special.

41. Terence M Blackett Avatar
    Terence M Blackett

THE HANDWRITING IS ON THE WALL: $300 BILLION TAKEN OUT OF CHINA BY ITS RICHEST FAMILY; MOBILE iPHONE MANUFACTURER FOXCONN IN DEEP KAKA AS EQUIPMENT SEIZED OVER FLOWS OF TECHNOLOGY INTO INDIA; JAPANESE BILLIONAIRE HELD FOR ALMOST 6 MONTHS OVER MOVING HIS BIZ/ASSETS BACK TO JAPAN; MASS MIGRATION OF COMPANIES TO VIETNAM, INDIA & OTHER SUB-CONTINENT LOCATIONS – CHINA BLEEDS

As BRICS* gain momentum – the fallout is hitting the “FAN” with repercussions in 2025 that do not look good for the global village “IDIOTS”…

Most know what is coming but the “MAINSTAREAM LAMESTREAM MEDIAs” sole intent is to “DUMB-DOWN” the “MASSES” with constant bread & circus, while exacerbating the “CULTURE WARS” using F.E.A.R #FalseEvidenceAppearingReal as a tactic of polarization, ideological quarantine effects & fanning the flames of “MASS WOKERY”!!!

So while “BALAAM” sits on the “JACKASS” that he wants to keep “BEATING 2 DEATH” – the “ASS” has to open his mouth & speak truth 2 power!!!

As stated before, “THE 4 HORSEMEN ARE HERE” – who survives, time will tell!!!

#StayTuned

42. Terence M Blackett Avatar
    Terence M Blackett

THE UK OUTTA’ CASH……………………………………. STRIKE UP THE PRINTING PRESSES

43. It appears as if the criminal, Donald Trump, has put Netanyahu and the Zionists under severe pressure viz-a-viz the ceasefire which the Biden administration was effing around with for over a year. Both Biden and Blinken made public statements about their loyalty to Zionism and at the same time they pretend and act as impartial arbiters.

Only under American empire!

Indeed, Trump might be again proving the thesis of Mearshimer and Walt wrong for the Zionists have never been the tail which wags the American dog but the tail wagged by this American settler-colonial dog.

These liberals and woke-ists who pretend a progressivism have genocided Palestinians for 15 months and that it took a Donald Trump to read the riot act to cancer-reddened, criminal, Netanyahu is exemplary of the uselessness of these so-called progressives. Having their way and allowing a weakling like Harris into the presidency, all Palestinians would be dead before these liberal bullers and wickers would have lifted a finger to save a single live of a Palestinian.

It’s early days yet. A lot a game-playing to go. There might still be a war to come or deepen with BRICS members Iran or Russia or China. Trump wants nothing to interfere with his domestic agenda. The Christian-Zionists in America are as fascistic as their cohorts in Palestine. They control the American economy and even that will be up for sale.

Only the big, mushroom-headed, tingamehe can save us now.

44. Cancer-ridden

45. @ Mr gloom and doom

Put the tv in the rum shop it may encourage more and longer traffic during cricket , basketball etc . Instead of being dead money it may improve the economy of the shop and assist you in paying off both loans faster and you to move on to economic 101.5

The PHDs that ‘running’ the ECONOMY got to think about things to improve the economy = keep the money circulating = like providing jobs etc

Isn’t it you once said the way out of debt is to grow the economy? How will u grow it or or at what pace unless u invest in it?

46. https://youtu.be/sGJvJAYn4-Y?si=aHhKES3SENllTiU3

https://youtu.be/sGJvJAYn4-Y?si=aHhKES3SENllTiU3

https://www.youtube.com/live/vbcGtWDItTA?si=lYdWp0NES_lxTPdF

https://youtu.be/19aMCj7BisI?si=5hLzqMiaZJ9xHYFa

https://youtu.be/CUntFhRf1YY?si=eUe_1QPWZkGt5QQv

https://youtu.be/0Xz4g59CBNs?si=8u2DxfRso0XCJ779

https://youtu.be/fX2IEoeEsY0?si=QkH5Bups4aot4UYO

https://youtu.be/xyv2x3GAytk?si=4nxCDue8HQYzHMGF

https://youtu.be/3vpNZUfaEn0?si=4Bpd4ARjMzxKgjYq

https://youtu.be/LOvj98r-BhE?si=-pCjzuzGCy_9WY_8

Once the Albinos in Europe are no longer able to loot Africa & the third world the western MNC built on straw bricks will implode / collapse,see video.
    They corrupt us dollars Ponzi financial system will soon implode. The US is quality of just printing printing paper (dollars) out of thin air to fund resources wars.

47. ‘Low appetite for Govt paper’

by SHAWN CUMBERBATCH shawncumberbatch@nationnews.com

GOVERNMENT’S STRATEGIC SHIFT back to mainly domestic financing makes sense overall, but investors still feeling “sour” about their debt restructuring losses in 2018 could be a major obstacle.

Economist Professor Troy Lorde gave that assessment as he observed that some Barbadians “are concerned about what seems to be our dependence on borrowing”.

Lorde, who is Dean of the Faculty of Social Sciences at The University of the West Indies (UWI), Cave Hill, also called for “a lot more transparency around how we spend those monies”, while acknowledging that if there were reasons like climate resilience and infrastructural improvements, this could be considered money well spent.

“The question is whether local sources have any real risk appetite for Government debt and we understand why. When the Government came in, in 2018, a lot of holders of domestic debt took [financial] haircuts and I think that would have soured a lot of [individuals] from really purchasing Government debt,” he told the DAILY NATION.

“So I think there is some souring there. I don’t think there is the appetite for domestic investment in Government paper. The BOSS Plus bonds, the interest rates promised on those are very nice, but I think that those haven’t been taken up in the way that Government had hoped.”

His former UWI colleague Jeremy Stephen, who lectured in banking and finance at Cave Hill, said any Government emphasis on domestic borrowing over external financing was nothing new.

He saw it as “just returning to normal” after the economic disturbance that led to debt restructuring in 2018 “diverted Barbados from its path”.

“Returning towards a less of a dependency on external financing is important over time for a country like ours,” Stephen explained. The two experts were reacting to Government announcing in its Medium Term Debt Management Strategy for 2024 to 2027 of a renewed emphasis on domestic financing.

Government’s 2024/2025 borrowing plan is for $577 million in domestic financing, comprised of $392 million from domestic bonds and $185 million from treasury bills, and external financing of $384 million in $158 million from investment loans and $227 million from the International Monetary Fund.

Lorde said a focus on more domestic financing meant Government was reducing foreign interest rate risk, but he saw the need for more transparency in how borrowed money is being used.

“When we borrowed $25 million, was it used solely for the thing for which it was borrowed? Or did we need it to pay salaries or repay other debts or do something else? This is what I get from members of the public – they are concerned that when we borrow, that these monies may not be used totally to do these things that were outlined,” he said.

Stephen said that historically, Government has opted to primarily find financing through the local market.

Protecting Barbados dollar

He reminded that a precursor to the debt restructuring was the substantial investment in treasury bills by the Central Bank for Government to fund “a lot of Government’s recurrent expenditure, that being the salaries and advances that it made to state-owned enterprises”.

“The whole model is all about protecting the value of the Barbados dollar. The whole idea was that we borrow most of our foreign exchange, but you don’t want it to leak back out as quickly, which meant that you had to in some way support any financing within the local economy via financing from local sources. So it’s not necessarily a bad thing,” Stephen said.

He envisaged that Government will borrow more slowly over time from external sources, try to capitalise on foreign exchange earnings from tourism and the international business sector in particular, and focus on slowing the leakage of foreign exchange where it is spent more for something like imports “and not necessarily for debt service”.

“You wish to control that more, so you can stagger those debt payments easily, and you can predict those debt payments and they [Government] don’t want to depend too heavily on [external] debt. So most financing needs will be driven by the local market for that reason.”