A few words to express concern about worrying instances of vegilante behaviour in our society. A few weeks ago 43 year old Peter Caddle was beaten to death in Jackson, St. Michael by boys from the area. He reportedly had injured an elderly woman with his car.

Last week street dweller Albert John was declared dead from natural causes although he reported to the QUEEN ELIZABETH HOSPITAL (QEH) with multiple injuries about his body. Members of the public have raised alarm that the result of a post mortem appears to ignore the fact John was badly beaten.

Emma McManus (l) Pedro Caddle (c) Albert John (r)

To whom much is given much is expected. The Barbados Police Service (BFS) and government pathologist have a responsibility to fairly discharge assigned duties. As soon as the public starts to question the integrity of public actors, houston, we have a problem.

Almost 100 days have elapsed since Commissioner Boyce promised to investigate a slapping incident on Kadooment Day 2024 by one of his officers. It has been four years since the death of Emma McManus in Barbados from an aledged cocaine incident. The billionaire McManus family and part owner of Sandy Lane hotel have contested Coroner Graveney Bannister’s inquest findings and the matter continues to languish in our moribund court system.

Barbados cannot advance as a small proud island state if we are unable to uphold law and order as well as deliver justice. What is justice?

… it refers to the principle of moral rightness based on ethics, rationality, law, fairness, and equity. Justice involves ensuring that individuals receive what they are due, whether in terms of rights, obligations, or punishment – Source: Internet

As a caring society we have to agitate against injustice at every turn. Many Barbadians have disassociated themselves from the adage each of us have to be our brother’s keeper. We are happy to allow selfish thought and positions to guide our behaviour. The late great Martin Luther King reminded the world, “injustice anywhere is a threat to justice everywhere.”

For many Barbadians, a street dweller beaten by misdirected youth or a bad boy murdered who is well known to the Barbados courts may not raise a concern of consequence. However, ignoring injustice anywhere comes with many downsides. If we aspire to creating an equitable, just, and sustainable society, where all individuals can thrive and contribute positively, we have to prioritise a fit for purpose action plan like yesterday.

Do we have confidence in our government and relevant non government organisations to engage in required reform and capacity building initiatives to advance our small society? We have allowed the Zr culture to compromise mainstream society for over 40 years. We are unable to fix potholes on Broad Street and St. Lawrence. We are unable to maintain the school plant to ensure our children access the right to the best education. Do you know we have a non brand name school where the children are currently destine to complete a whole term of online tuition? From all reports teachers have not been as passionate to deliver the best learning via online. Who will suffer because of it? Our next generation of deviant youth. We create the problem and then blame the youts.

We are responsible for the outcomes of our actions. If we create a problem, we must also bear the consequences that come from it.

Piss in the blogmaster’s pocket do!

91 responses to “Warning signs!”

1. Indeed, the litany of ills is incomplete.

I am amazed at the numerous systems that are not functioning properly and yet citizens stand ready to reward incompetents for their massive failure.

2. Former NYPD Officer Avatar
    Former NYPD Officer

Was this a malicious statement? What does the police expect when they slap persons in their face, intercept persons on the streets wearing skimask like thugs, hiding phone underneath a desk, allowing rogue female cops to do as they please, tease homeless person. Mr Boyce are you still concerned. I served under Orville before I migrated and the management of our once good force is now poorly managed due to what is apparently political interference. If our once well respected police service is to halt the slide of the disrespect, zero impunity must be shown to rogue officer and swift disciplinary action meted out.

3. Charles Brathwaite Avatar
    Charles Brathwaite

Hard to argue with the details but even this headline is part of the problem. It’s not “Warning Signs”. The country is clearly, clearly in decline and lacking effective leadership at many levels. Let’s not deny and pretend the decline is on the horizon or somewhere in the distance still heading our way.

The only question is what do we as citizens want to do about it? And what are we demanding from our leaders? However, if we ourselves are good with the status quo and not interested in demanding better. Well unfortunately, we will just continue to reap the consequences.

Sad reality, but leaders will not perform to a higher level than what we expect and hold them accountable to ourselves. Let’s look in the mirror and act……if we are really interested for more than a second.

4. David we seem unable to even deal with the basics of law enforcement on our roads and you want all of the above addressed?

5. Local media has reported that three individuals have been charged with murder and placed before the law courts in the matter of the death of Peter Caddle. It may be inconvenient for the writer to incorporate this information in this slanted post, but misinformation, disinformation by any name is not compatible with truth. One government minister is also recorded as stating that vigilantism will not be tolerated here. I am of the opinion that the case of Albert John will be examined in the Coroner’s Court and any inadequacies in the report of the pathologist will be subjected to judicial scrutiny. I imagine that any information the poster has which would supports an alternative explanation with respect to Mr. John’s demise will be placed before that Court.

6. Who to blame? Check the link only if you have a strong constitution.

https://x.com/taviodavis/status/1857821785195962448?s=46

7. @Charles Brathwaite

There is no need to quibble about what relative means. Barbados as bad as we may think it is, isn’t the worse.

8. @John A

The country, even those affected (we the people) are contented to bury our heads in the ass. To fix the problem all of us will have to suffer some ‘pain’.
    Everyone wants to go to heaven but nobody wants to die (Arthur).

9. @BMcDonald

You like others are happy to focus on the mouthings of politicians, routine action of the BFS and Court.

The important question to answer is why are we here?

Why are some misguided people taking the law into their own hands?

Why is justice being delayed at Whitepark for too many? This includes a moribund Bar Association and Disciplinary Committee.

Why are people with money able to hogtie the system?

You may continue to focus on the minutiae while others see the big picture.

10. @ David

Our court system is too dated to deal with the road users, its that simple. Here are my suggestions for a party with testicular fortitude.

FENCE 5 ACRES OF STATE LAND AND OPEN AN IMPOUND FACILTY THAT IS SECURED. VEHICLES WILL ONLY BE RELEASED FROM IMPOUND WHEN PROOF OF FINES AND STORAGE FEES ARE PRODUCED. THIS CAN BE PRIVATISED IF WUNNA NOT ABLE WID IT.

INTRODUCE A TICKETING SYSTEM THAT CAN BE ISSUED BY POLICE WITH THE FINE BEING PAYABLE AT ANY POLICE STATION WITHIN 48 HOURS OF ISSUE OR YOU TAIL IMPOUNDED. THIS IS NOT ROCKET SCIENCE TO INTRODUCE.

CONTRACT OUT THE TRANSPORT TO THE IMPOUND YARD TO PRIVATE SECTOR VEHICLE TRANSPORTERS, WHO WILL BE ACCOMPANIED BY AN ARMED POLICE AT POINT OF COLLECTION. THERE IS NO SHORTAGE OF VEHICLE TRANSPORTERS ON THE ISLAND AND WHERE THERE IS A DEMAND FOR THIS SERVICE THE PRIVATE SECTOR WILL ANSWER IT.

The above will apply to ALL road users not just PSVS. Finally the fines will NOT be paid to the consolidated fund. Proceeds of the fees will be paid to MTW and the Police dept, via a body appointed to adhere to a percentage system for disbursement. For example 70% to MTW and 30% to the Police for better wages and working conditions.

Start there and stop running wunna mout and asking ” what wunna want we do?”

11. @John A

It will take a special resolve to implement non traditional methods in Barbados.

12. And that my friend is why we are where we are on so many issues.

13. I was on Broad Street yesterday between noon and 1:30 PM and it is in fine condition. My suburban road however is pot holed.

I took a ZR van to town and came back home on the same van. Safe driving all the way by the quiet, respectful middle aged driver, who has been driving me and others on that route for 25 years or more.

14. I’ve read recently that 90% of the mostly MEN in our prison have only a birth certificate. Nothing at all from any school.

It would be interesting to find out how many have a father’s name on that birth certificate, and how many fathers of our inmates have spent, time, effort and money caring for their sons. I would not be at all surprised in 90% of our prisoners have NOT been cared for by their fathers.

The President, the Prime Minister, the Cabinet, the Commissioner of Police and the Chief Justice have their work cut out for them. But FIRST the mothers and the FATHERS in our country must LOVE THEMSELVES, and then must love their children, especially their sons who are suffering terribly from the lack of parental love.

High officials cannot/WILL NOT come into our houses and raise our children for us.

15. Cuhdear Bajan
    November 17, 2024 at 2:16 pm

It would be interesting to find out how many have a father’s name on that birth certificate, and how many fathers of our inmates have spent, time, effort and money caring for their sons. I would not be at all surprised in 90% of our prisoners have NOT been cared for by their fathers.

It would also be interesting to find out how many have the same mother on their birth certificates, and how many different fathers have sired them.

16. We all know that before they got to jail they had to have child support so no way the father is unknown in the system.

The mudda ent giving up dat money to keep de fadda name quiet.

17. … and de more men de mudda got de more chile support coming to her.

18. I would be willing to bet that unlike in the past, most birth certificates will have both the father’s and mother’s name on them.

How else is the mother to prove to a court who the father is if she applies for child support.

19. What would be interesting to see is which parishes produce the most inmates regardless of gender.

Drugs seem to be the common denominator so I would guess the parishes that have the highest rainfall would be the most likely to top the list.

Parishes like St. Thomas, St. Joseph, St. Andrew and parts of St. John would probably be the sources of the drugs and networks of distributors in the more densely populated parishes would likely be associates, maybe friends, of the producers.

Maybe we should be more interested in inmates in Dodds by parish than murders by parish.

20. Winston Hall was a St. Joseph man.

Who were the guys around him, probably school mates.

21. Stuespe

22. Proverbs 28:28

Wicked rulers use their power and wealth, while godly leaders serve their people and honor the Lord.

23. @John November 17, 2024 at 3:09 pm “We all know that before they got to jail they had to have child support so no way the father is unknown in the system.”

You must have led an extra-ordinarily sheltered life if you really believe that all fathers financially support their children.

24. @John November 17, 2024 at 3:09 pm “the mudda ent giving up dat money to keep de fadda name quiet.”

Child support is NOT a gift to the mother. Child support is money provided to the custodial parent to buy food, shelter, clothing, utilities, medical care, school and recreational supplies FOR THE CHILD. I expect that non-custodial fathers rarely provide 50% of a child’s financial needs, and really they should be providing more than 50% since the mother is likely doing more than half of the cooking, cleaning and washing for the child. Significant numbers of Bajan children live in the homes of their grandmothers, principally their mother’s mother. Have you ever heard of a father paying rent to the maternal grandmother of his children? And yet his children are being housed there. Where else in the world is free housing provided?

25. @John A November 17, 2024 at 11:03 am “FENCE 5 ACRES OF STATE LAND AND OPEN AN IMPOUND FACILTY THAT IS SECURED. VEHICLES WILL ONLY BE RELEASED FROM IMPOUND WHEN PROOF OF FINES AND STORAGE FEES ARE PRODUCED. ”

You tough man.

Good thing I don’t own a vehicle. Not even a box-cart.

26. Cuhdear Bajan
    November 17, 2024 at 5:47 pm

Have you ever heard of a father paying rent to the maternal grandmother of his children? And yet his children are being housed there. Where else in the world is free housing provided?

“Yes, there are some countries that provide free or heavily subsidized housing, food, clothing, and education to their citizens. Some examples include countries with strong welfare systems like Sweden, Finland, and Norway. These countries prioritize social welfare and provide various benefits to their residents.”

Of course, in the days of slavery, Barbados too provided free housing, food, clothing and education to all slaves.

The Plantation was once a socialist utopia.

27. If the bigger picture is a lack of enforcement action, how can you minimise the work of the understaffed Barbados Police Service when the results of their efforts are praiseworthy. We are here because as is abundantly clear from the post, people, rich or poor use a variety of resources and responses to face the challenges which confront them and sometimes those actions face criminal sanctions. Sometimes conduct which is even more repugnant is not capable of being held to the same standard. It is for this reason that a minister of government warning against vigilantism cannot be ignored. Indeed it would have been a source of regret if no such statement was made under the circumstances. As far as the ability to address the flaws in the judicial system, both criminal and civil, it must be recognized that some of the flaws are structural as a post colonial legacy and some are sociocultural since the country is very small. The blogmaster may be of the opinion that constant focus on the flaws will inevitably lead to change and i agree, but change is not going to come at warp speed because of the varied interests affected.

28. “….change is not going to come at warp speed” ….because of the preponderance of low-esteem BBs who continually make excuses for mediocrity.
    Such thinking stems from the REALITY that we are the results of CENTURIES of systematic genocidal reprogramming by albino-centric slave-masters, who murdered, lynched, imprisoned and mutilated ANYONE showing signs of the MAJESTY that we ought to be rightfully reflecting, and aspiring towards….
    Brass Bowls are the REMNENTS of that once great race that exemplified the qualities to which the blogmaster refers….and optimistically dreams..

So EVERYONE is correct…
    We SHOULD be embarassed, sickened and sad at our current state…

But we are so far REMOVED from our original status and quality (due to unnatural selection by albino-centrics), that most of us think that we are LUCKY to be just badly mediocre wannabe albino-centrics…

Indeed, IF IT WAS AT ALL POSSIBLE, we would not even EXIST as a people… BUT for the love of God. And DISPITE their very best efforts, SOME of us are STILL able to see our TRUE value, potential and calling…

Rest assured, ..at some point, there WILL be an intervention, and the blind among us will see; the deaf will hear; and the brass bowls WILL be polished.
    ..even those ‘on island’… lol

Isaiah 11:11
    Then it will happen on that day that the Lord
    Will again recover the second time with His hand
    The remnant of His people, who will remain,
    From Assyria, Egypt, Pathros, Cush, Elam, Shinar, Hamath,
    And from the islands of the sea.

And He will lift up a standard for the nations
    And assemble the banished ones of Israel,
    And will gather the dispersed of Judah
    From the four corners of the earth.

What a time to be alive…

29. Wonder when the violence at the centre will be so centered!

For yesterday it was reviled, in the NYT, no less, that a senile Joe Biden has given permission to the comedian who played a piano with his phallus, Vodymor Zelensky, to use American made long range weapons, ATACAMS, to attack Russia proper.

Russia for its part has previously changed its doctrine for the use of nuclear weapons to include such veiled attacks by NATO through proxy regimes, like Ukraine.

And the Biden regime, acting as Perfidious Albion, to lock a NATO, to be led by another mindless member within a few months, to a war against Russia, giving a dying NATO war making alliance continued relevance.

Those changes to its nuclear posture thusly require the Russian Federation to deploy its nuclear forces on the suppliers of such ATACAMS missiles.

Russians do not bluff!

Such a response will at a minimum involve the use of battlefield nuclear weapons on NATO targets as a legitimate response. Or to a city near you!

Then all hell breaks loose! And as no such response can be limited to any battlefield anywhere, a full blown nuclear escalatory cycle is then most likely embarked.

Talk about violence. Well, this is the mother of all violence!

30. @BMcDonald

The blogmaster is concerned about how do we move the needle in a material way to affect meaningful changes. The BFS doing well with a undermanned force, a judicial system groaning under its own weight, does nothing to adding value to action plans.

31. One is forced to ask why should we be having to do studies about the situation now when the trending started several years ago? Is this another case of being reactive?

Reaching out to youth

Research group seeking to understand offenders

THE CRIMINAL JUSTICE and Research and Planning Unit is going directly to young people to find out what interests them, the paths they want to take, and to help them avoid crime and recidivism.

Officials will be visiting Dodds Prison to interview young offenders, speaking to families of young men who are now incarcerated, and also getting information from the schools they attended.

The unit, in partnership with the National Peace Programme, will be doing so this month, being marked as Crime Awareness Month.

Activities began on Saturday in the car park behind Kensington Mall with a special event for young people.

Director of the unit, Cheryl Willoughby, said they will be engaging with the youth directly.

“Our theme for this month is engaging the youth to prevent crime and re-offending. We partnered with the National Peace Programme to have a focus on youth and some of the activities that they are interested in participating in,” she told the DAILY NATION.

Willoughby said they want to get as much information from youth who found themselves on the wrong side of the law.

“We have recently done some research measuring recidivism, that is re-offending, and we also did some research looking at gun violence. So our aim now is to do that qualitative research, where we go into the prison to find out exactly what the young people are saying to us. Those who are on remand

Continued on Page 4.

Criminologist: We need to monitor at-risk young people

for gun violence, we want to find out what they are saying, to take a look at the families, to take a look at the schools that these young people are coming out of.”

The criminologist said recent research has shown that in the first half of the year, the average age of those on remand or accused of murder in Barbados was 17-plus years.

“So it tells me that we need to look at our schools, to look at the systems within the schools to monitor these young people who are at risk. So that is what we plan on doing. We want to move beyond just quoting statistics but to actually look at what we need to do in order to address the issues that we are seeing coming out of our research.”

At Saturday’s event, young people interacted with members of the Planning Unit and also played backgammon, road tennis and dominoes. A make-up booth was also on site.

“Recently in the media, we were hearing a lot of statistics regarding the level of offending among our young people. So what we have done at the unit is to put those statistics into some context and reach out to the young people to find out what it is they would like to get involved with,” Willoughby explained.

“Based on feedback and our research among the community members, we have decided that this is a great intervention. So that young people can be involved in some positive activities as well as have a platform to socialise with each other, and not focus on some of the negative things that we have been hearing regarding crime and violence within our communities.”

The director said it was an opportunity for the Planning Unit to work with young people, for them to take a good break and to get involved in some fun activities, as well as an opportunity to earn a little stipend based on their efforts.

“So the Office of the Attorney General is not only focused on seeing the numbers, but as well as doing something about the situation that we are seeing. So we are addressing those crime factors by working with our young people today and I’m happy to be here,” she added.

She said Saturday’s event was something they want to repeat in every community where the focus is not only on the central areas of Barbados, but also in rural ones.

“Because if you look at the crime statistics, you will recognise that there is a spread when it comes to crime, although The City, because it is densely populated, will tend to have numbers that are overwhelming. But because of the density of the population we would say that we also need to get into the rural parishes as well.”

The event was well attended by the young demographic.

“As you can see we have people from all types of backgrounds here as far as the young people are concerned and we welcome all of them, all age groups,” Willoughby said. (BA)

32. Albert John’s son asking questions a he should.

Son questions autopsy

Call for clarity in cause of homeless man’s death

THE SON OF ALBERT JOHN is calling for clarity on his father’s passing, as he questioned the post-mortem which ruled the death of the homeless man as one of natural causes.

Speaking on yesterday’s Starcom Network Brass Tacks Sunday

radio call-in programme, Shawn Francis appealed for a thorough investigation into the circumstances of his father’s death. It was reported that he had been attacked by a group of assailants on November 3 in the area of King Street, The City.

“I would like for something more substantial than natural causes, because his kids, his children, his two daughters and his other son in Sweden, they are heartbroken as well, but they want to know something more than natural causes.

“My father was on the street. I was told he was living a rough life, and natural causes for him would have been something else. This is not natural, and I just want some more details as it pertains to the autopsy and the findings of the autopsy from the pathologist. I just want some real answers, I mean, from somebody of importance,” he said.

Francis, who resides in Austria, called into yesterday’s programme during a panel discussion that centred on homelessness in Barbados.

Joining moderator Barry Wilkinson were president of the Barbados Alliance to End Homelessness Kemar Saffrey, deputy chairman of the National Task Force on Homelessness Jerome Gittens, and veteran journalist David Ellis.

According to a police report, 62-year-old John, of Kensington New Road, The City, died at the Queen Elizabeth Hospital after presenting there with multiple injuries.

It added that a post-mortem conducted by a Government pathologist revealed his death was due to natural causes.

However, the son has asked for these natural causes to be identified, along with a full autopsy report of his father’s medical illness.

‘Probe process’

Francis also called for a probe into the autopsy process, citing claims made by a relative.

“We need a little more answers than natural causes, but my father also needs to rest. My father had a very hard life,” he added.

Francis shared some of the circumstances which led to his father’s homelessness.

“My father was a car washer. I just remember him because I was not raised with him. He took me to another family to be raised, but my father coming up, seeing him, my father always used to work for what he wanted. I used to watch him as a young man, riding his bicycle, taking two bicycles along this entire time.

“Then he met someone in Barbados, went to Sweden, had three kids and this story is a long story . . . . My father had a life, obviously, but my father had to come back to Barbados due to unforeseen circumstances, but he was on the streets not because he did not have somewhere he could not go. My father has a lot of family, but my father was on the streets merely probably because of mental guilt,” he said.

John, who often roamed the area of Hunte’s Gap and Baxters Road, The City, and rested under the Charlton Chambers building in Whitepark Road St, Michael, was well known by people in the King Street neighbourhood.

On the day following his death, some of the residents spoke of him as a loving figure who worked washing cars or picking breadfruits to sell in pursuit of an honest dollar.

Two of them said that each day they would leave a container with a hot meal for him.

Some reported that John was attacked by a group of men who accused him of stealing an undisclosed sum of money.

“My father never was reported to have stolen anything from anyone,” Francis said. “He could go to almost any door and say he wants something to eat. The reports that I’m getting, they’re just getting a lot of hearsay.”

Francis said his father’s passing has greatly affected their family, and he has made steps to seek legal representation to get justice.

“It was just very heartbreaking, to be honest. Getting the news, his passing, it really has affected me and my siblings, being that we have been so far away from him. He was our father; he was on the streets but he was still our father,” Francis said.

Saffrey disclosed that a few lawyers who work in the building where John would sleep each night have offered their assistance to the Alliance..

“There are lawyers on our board but there are lawyers that know your dad personally and have asked me to pass on your number to them because your father used to wash their car or used to be around the particular area,” Saffrey told the son.

“So they have asked to assist in this case in terms of making sure that justice is brought for your father.”

(JRN)

33. Over twenty years ago, I sat in seminars with Cheryl Willoughby, Yolande Forde and others and learnt about the circumstances of incarcerated young men. Studies had already been done and documented. Recommendations had been made.

Cuhdear Bajan is quite correct in her estimation regarding the lack of fathers in their lives. Many of them do not even know their father’s name. And regardless of the idiotic comments from John Knox, an unmarried woman cannot just show up by herself and have a man’s name recorded on a birth certificate as father.

I suggest that boiling the problem down to a battle of the sexes is counterproductive. Both men and women have their issues with responsibility. Rather than pointing fingers at each other as to whose issues are worse, it is best that we address them all together.

Unless a woman is raped, she has the responsibility of vetting her prospective partners and controlling her domain until a steady relationship is established. If a woman is raped, abortion is still available in Barbados.

And men have the responsibility to not take advantage of a woman who does not control her domain, especially if a child is the result.

In the end, nobody escapes the negative results that are unleashed on society.

Just a few days ago, I learnt of the murder of a man who I sat with in many a youth development committee meeting. Nice, hardworking guy, with good intentions. His father and mother were married forever. Had many boy children, none of whom were criminals.

The last conversation I had with him was a few years ago. He was questioning why, since he had no children, why he should be worrying about and labouring so hard with other people’s children.

I said that, since he had no children, it would be somebody else’s child looking after him in his old age.

Unfortunately, he had the misfortune of being fortunate enough to purchase a property with an abandoned house. The thinking is that he went, along with another man, to inspect and start the cleaning up process.

Probably stumbled upon a drug house.

They were both shot. He died several days later.

Didn’t live to get old.

This is serious business. This is not time to be making mock sport!

34. Shouldn’t we be encouraging private sector to invest in programs to encourage men and women? We have a thing these days where we say what the audience wants to hear. Boys are said to be in crisis for crissakes. They make up the majority of people who are incarcerated.

https://www.cbc.bb/lifestyle/community-news/empowering-women-positively-impacts-societies/

35. David
    November 18, 2024 at 6:48 am

Shouldn’t we be encouraging private sector to invest in programs to encourage men and women?

Not going to work.

The only reason a private sector executive would do something as idiotic as this would be if he/she had decided to run for a seat in the House of Assembly and was willing to buy votes!!

Only a politician could come up with an idea like this.

Are there examples?

36. @ David
    We think that a comprehensive analysis of our police force will reveal that its standards are not that poor in terms of solving crimes. We further suggest that a serious shortage of police man power coupled with dangerous political party (s) interference has created great despondency within the force.
    That being said we have previously voiced concerned about making social deviancy about gender. In terms of private sector engagement , you should have learnt by now , that our private sector is not keen on any real progressive with with the state to assist what is commonly called Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR)
    We hate the truth but in a society that wealth distribution is still advantaged by one group, there appears to be a focus on such issues as absentee fathers, irresponsibility by women and others such issues that really are not the sole overpowering root cause of social deviance.
    We need to lift the debate to serious reasons when dealing with such matters. Once we continue to only exert our energy within a narrow group , we will not make the society any better.

37. @John November 17, 2024 at 6:44 pm “Of course, in the days of slavery, Barbados too provided free housing, food, clothing and education to all slaves.
    The Plantation was once a socialist utopia.”

No it was not and you really need to stop lying to yourself and others. The plantation was no socialist utopia for the enslaved, although it may have been so for the enslavers. My own mother, born in the first quarter of the 20th century worked in a plantation kitchen in St. Peter, and she was adamant that none of her daughters would ever work in the white people’s kitchens. She often had to work until 11 at night when the “master” had a big fete/dinner for the other plantocrats, she then had to walk a couple of miles home, and walk back to the job by 6 the next morning to make breakfast for the “master” because the exploiter pretended that he cold not make his own breakfast, and while his frowsy wife and children lay in bed. No utopia in early 20th century Barbados, and certainly no utopia between 1627 and 1938. Others may believe your lies but not me.

If enslaved people labored for 60 hours a week or more without wages how could the provision of minimal necessary food clothing and shelter be considered a free gift?

People like you may long for the days when enslaved people enriched them but are not going back there.

38. There is something referred to as corporate responsibility and many successful companies adopt community projects to satisfy a goal of giving back.

39. Do not disagree with you William. At this stage of decline it isn’t so much about the BFS but more to do with ‘uppin de ting’ given the current situation.

40. @William Skinner November 18, 2024 at 8:02 am “That being said we have previously voiced concerned about making social deviancy about gender.”

But whether we like it or not it is greatly about gender, and being about gender is not only a Barbaodd thing. In all countries, rich, middle, poor, black, white, brown, whatever, Christian, Muslim, Hindu whatever YOUNG MEN committ crimes at a significantly higher rate than any other demographic.

If we continue to pretend that it is not so, how will we fix it.

And even though I have no sons, I’ve had a father, brothers, nephews, male cousins, son-in-law etc. and YOUNG MEN commit violent crime, while for example old men and old women, and young women rarely do so.

Also the bad mix of fatherlessness and the desire for quick money leads young men to prison and early graves.

41. Donna
    November 18, 2024 at 6:18 am

Unless a woman is raped, she has the responsibility of vetting her prospective partners and controlling her domain until a steady relationship is established. If a woman is raped, abortion is still available in Barbados.

In the real world of Barbados society, many women are irresponsible and seek only to convert their sojourn with “partners” into child support $$$.

Men too are irresponsible and are good for the fling until it suddenly dawns on them that they have been trapped and are financially unable to go forward with the weight of the responsibility thrust upon them!!

Not much hope of stopping the cycle because mothers beget daughters, sons too, who perpetuate the cycle.

A friend of mine used to run a business which employed mostly women from the lower rung of the ladder, mostly black.

He used to talk with them and try to show then a different perspective on life.

Some told him they were looking to get pregnant so they could avail themselves of the Government grants, ie $$$$.

All were shocked and amazed to hear that it was unusual for a girl from a “good” family never to accept money from any man. Their fathers ensured that never happened.

How that helped the young men who would eventually become their suitors was to ensure they used their money wisely in some cases to invest in businesses or real estate and make a safe place for the “daddy’s” girl and “daddy’s” grandchildren.

…. and yes, daddy had a say in who was to be his future son in law and father of his grands.

My friend read the tea leaves and started another business which depended solely on him and his family. When he got it to a position where he could sell the other business he did and is a much a happier man today.

He makes the point that past generations in his family employed 100’s of Bajans in their day but he done with that, he is breaking the cycle ….. it just makes no sense with the types of labour laws on the books to be saddled with employees, too expensive.

He will probably never be a millionaire but he will be happy.

42. The point Simple Simon is that the problem is with us today. To fix parental delinquency is a long term goal and is bigger than government. We have to implement fixes today to lessen the negative impact on society while long term solutions are rolled out. Many who write here have no idea the seriousness of the problem impacting at risk groups.

43. Cuhdear Bajan
    November 18, 2024 at 8:04 am

My own mother, born in the first quarter of the 20th century worked in a plantation kitchen in St. Peter, and she was adamant that none of her daughters would ever work in the white people’s kitchens.

Unless you are ancient, your mother never lived in the days of slavery when plantations provided free housing, food, clothing, education and provided free medical attention.

Plantations cared for the welfare of their slaves from cradle to grave …. a socialist utopia.

The oldest slave I came across in the slave returns from 1817 was a supercentenarian, 114 years of age.

But it was never a model that could persist, just too expensive to maintain.

Your mother worked as hard as she did because if she didn’t, there were many others who could do her job, just as well and just as diligently, perhaps even better.

A socialist utopia with no birth control will support for the time it exists a growing population.

44. … so of course she wanted better for her children, any mother would.

45. David
    November 18, 2024 at 8:32 am

The point Simple Simon is that the problem is with us today. To fix parental delinquency is a long term goal and is bigger than government. We have to implement fixes today to lessen the negative impact on society while long term solutions are rolled out. Many who write here have no idea the seriousness of the problem impacting at risk groups.

The problem is Government is too big and takes billions of dollars out of the economy which could be using those billions to invest and create jobs.

Listen to Trump in America, forget what you think about him and apply some common sense.

46. Nothing Government touches prospers.

Those billions are wasted.

47. Cuhdear Bajan
    November 18, 2024 at 8:22 am

But whether we like it or not it is greatly about gender, and being about gender is not only a Barbaodd thing. In all countries, rich, middle, poor, black, white, brown, whatever, Christian, Muslim, Hindu whatever YOUNG MEN committ crimes at a significantly higher rate than any other demographic.

Sex!!!

The reason men commit crimes is to get Sex!!

No money no honey!!

48. @ Cudear Bajan
    Again , crime in Barbados is not only committed by one gender. Statistics will show that throughout the region, involvement in crime by our youth ; involvement of young women has been rising now for a number of years. Our point is that having established that youth are becoming involved in crime and other social deviancy, it would pay as better, to find solutions rather than beat up any gender. If we want to convince ourselves that absentee fathers and irresponsible women remain the major issue , we can continue but very little will be solved.
    We assure you that the way we educate our youth is also guilty when it comes to crime and social deviancy. But we don’t want to address that because we pride ourselves on having the “bes”t education system in the world. There is a bigger picture here. For example you mentioned that many of those involved may not have a single certification but education are two different things.
    That in itself tells the story. Garbage in garbage out. Let’s have a real discussion and step out of our crumbling comfort zone.

49. @William

What are your thoughts about dwindling male teachers in the system? In the absence of weak parenting at the household level does having fewer males in the teaching profession acerbate the problem?

50. @David November 18, 2024 at 8:32 am “To fix parental delinquency is a long term goal and is bigger than government.”

I doubt that any government at any time anywhere can fix parental delinquency. The most that governments do is punish after the fact. As I said yesterday no high official will come into our homes and raise our children for us, in fact some of them may themselves be struggling to do demanding, time consuming jobs and adequately parent their own children, so we can’t expect much help from there. Haven’t we recently seen a high official and daughter charged?

The solution is for parents to be heavily involved in child raising, this is especially needed between fathers and sons. Sometimes we fool ourselves that because a child has reached 16 or 18 that they know what is good for them and that they can create a good life for themselves. The research is showing that the human brain is often not fully developed until 25 or so. In my own family a sister had a son who when he finished secondary school thought that a good life path was to sit at home and play endless video games. That can’t work in my family. We DO NOT GIVE UP on our young people, because we know that much of the time they don’t know what is good for them. This was about 20 years ago when university applications were on paper and had to by typed or filled out by hand. A university application takes an hour or so to fill out but the youngster could not find the time in a 168 hour week, so mum did it and said “sign here” and took it to the university herself. He was admitted. Did well. Went to work. Is doing well, married, sons. Mortgage almost paid off. Meanwhile “daddy” was thousands of miles away. Without the push and insistence of mum I wonder what would have become of him.

Parents, especially between fathers and sons need to push and advocate and encourage their sons. Please dads know that because your 16 to 24 year old son is over 6 feet tall and more than 200 pounds that brain is still not fully developed and he still needs you, especially when he says he does not. And if you don’t mentor, encourage and look out for your own son, your own flesh and blood, then the “drug man” will.

And if the fathers can’t or won’t mentor, encourage and look out for their own sons, then the mothers MUST.