Submitted by Observing

There has been much “talk” about violence in schools from many quarters. While there is no doubt that violence has been with us for a while, I wish to present eight (8) main factors which on their own or in combination with each other are primarily responsible for what we are facing now.

1. Social and emotional regulation
    Many students are unable to recognize far less regulate their emotions. Unfortunately, this skill is not typically taught in the “average” Barbadian home or early in primary school. Immediate adult managed behavioural control (aka punishment) is usually the norm. If we as adults often have difficulty controlling our emotions and reactions, we should expect that children will too. 
  2. Dysfunctional homes or families
    The first place that children learn anything, is the home. Children learn from what they see. It is obvious then that where violence, vulgarity and vicissitudes exist in abundance, then that child will adopt and act out those accordingly. 
  3. Undiagnosed or untreated mental health issues and/or learning deficiencies
    There is a clear rise in students who require additional learning assistance, or who have learning disabilities and socio-cognitive or psychological challenges. When left unchecked or undiagnosed, they manifest themselves in negative ways. Where teachers are not empowered to identify them or trained to intervene then the problem is magnified. 
  4. Abuse or neglect
    Childhood trauma is real and stays with the individual for years. Abuse and neglect can have severely detrimental effects on a child. These effects impact their view of the world, their value system and their actions, sometimes on a subconscious level.
  5. Drug use
    Let’s face it, most of our children are experimenting with drugs. However, some of them have gone past experimenting, to making it a daily routine. Many cases of violence and outbursts in schools can be traced to young minds influenced too early by the effects of marijuana use. 
  6. Community / social norms
    It takes a village to raise a child. IF that village is “negative” the outcome for that child is almost a foregone conclusion. Only strong homes, steady anchors and solid willpower can overcome some of what our students see every day. 
  7. Media and technology influences
    Youtube, TikTok, Pornhub, WhatsApp, Snapchat and the list goes one. This unfiltered and easily accessible world has had a profound impact on the way our children see themselves and how they interact with each other. In the absence of a consistent guide, monitor or mentor, technology takes over to our sometimes shock and horror. 
  8. Lack of easily accessible positive alternatives, support, or early intervention 
    Every negative needs a positive. Every pessimistic child needs an optimistic adult. Young people need opportunities, alternatives and hope. If these are not provided, then the negative easily takes over. Additionally, early intervention (age 3 onward) when needed is an absolute must if we are to avoid the tragedies now facing us with our 16–21-year-olds. 

When one looks at how we got here, one can argue that the period of the 1990’s played a huge part. This period saw the emergence of the ZR culture, the penetration by global media, the loss of the supportive extended family, the movement from the villages to the “heights and terrace”, the culture of materialism and excess in a time of economic “prosperity”, the normalization of marijuana use, the adoption of negative cultural norms from regional neighbours and the clear consistent but seldom spoken about corruption and cronyism at high levels. 

We are seeing the results, not only in schools, but society as a whole. In the same way that Rome wasn’t built in a day, it took years of Neo’s fiddling for its burning to be complete. 

Another post will touch on some solutions, the challenges to those solutions, and the role that various actors should play. Hopefully discussion may lead us to progress. 

As Lord Ras Shorty I said, “watch out my children.

35 responses to “School violence – To the point”

1. @Observing

An erudite summation of the issues. Issues that are known and allowed to fester over the years.

2. Crime prevention minister concerned about surge in school violence

Minister responsible for crime prevention Corey Lane has voiced deep concern over the recent rise in violent incidents within schools.
    Speaking at his Wildey office on Tuesday, he acknowledged the worrying trend and outlined his ministry’s ongoing efforts to support the Ministry of Education in addressing the issue.
    Lane emphasised the importance of preventive measures: “I think everybody is concerned with just one incident of violence, I am concerned [too, but the number of incidents] doesn’t have to be high for me…. I think that these are deep-rooted issues that we have to continue to work on, regardless of if there are spikes or not.”
    The Minister in the Office of the Attorney General with responsibility for crime prevention stressed that the focus should remain on preventive strategies rather than reactive ones, adding: “We have to remain focused and continue to press and have initiatives to prevent in the first place and not treat.
    Prevention is better than cure.”
    The start of the current school term has seen several reported incidents of violence, including stabbings at secondary schools and a primary school student brandishing a knife. In response, the National Peace Programme is collaborating with the Ministry of Education to roll out initiatives aimed at curbing violence.
    “We’ve always been working with the Ministry of Education,” Lane said. “A government, all the ministries work in synergy. As the Prime Minister has said from day one, we are in this together.”
    He cited the Critically Understanding and Rehabilitating Behaviour (CURB) programme, describing it as a key initiative that functions as a “clearing house” for addressing deviant behaviour.
    “A lot of young people get in trouble as they reach that 16 to 25 age range; a number of teachers have indicated that we would have seen this down the road,” Lane said.
    He contended that Barbados has a strong track record of identifying issues early on, but that the goal is now to provide appropriate interventions in partnership with various ministries, including Youth, People Empowerment, and Culture.
    Lane also highlighted his ministry’s role in supporting the national crime prevention programme through collaboration with the Barbados Police Service, acknowledging their efforts in tackling crime.
    “We continue to give them our support where we can, we continue to make recommendations where we see areas that need improvement, and we continue to commend them when they continue to do the outstanding work that we’ve seen from them,” he said.
    The minister further disclosed plans to launch the Live Wise campaign, a series of initiatives aimed at raising awareness and promoting behavioural change through education. The campaign will target at-risk youth, parents, teachers, churches, and the media as part of a comprehensive strategy to reduce violence and crime.
    “So we have a number of initiatives coming out… to educate in order to bring about behavioural change,” he added. (SZB)

Source: BT

3. ‘CURB’ ??!!
    Shiite!!! not another damn acronym.
    Is this what we have politicians to do..?

The mistake that we make is in paying politicians a large salary.

If these jokers were volunteers – who received a STIPEND and basic expenses, then when they fail miserably, and find themselves lost in their incompetence, they would quietly go away – and get back to the menial work that they are capable of performing – or at least …can get away with.

Corey would have gone back to Brass Tacks long ago and relieved us of Taahir;

At least one more dentist would be available to pull teeth; and many more lawyers would be competing for the limited clients’ funds.

But most of all, Dwight would be back doing whateverthehell he was doing before he got into making elaborate promises about STEAL houses, Hard Wood houses, HOPE houses and giving illogical responses to questions raised.

Our BASIC systems are FLAWED.
    Obviously, if the foundation is bad, NOT A SHIITE will sit well on it.

What a pitiful place!!

4. @Bush Tea

They need to collect the thoughts of education practitioners instead of politicizing every issue with an eye on winning an election.

5. NorthernObserver Avatar

But Bushie, without Dwight, we likely wouldn’t have got his wife, who was amazingly able to execute that governance no-no of being both Board Chair and CEO of the QEH. Her CEO replacement, found in the UAE, had to settle for a single role.

And your former favourite, Wilf, was Chair of the ’24 Annual BLP Conference. Another resounding success, aka the 5 Beacons. Though after that Sunday service some may recall 5 Deacons.

And how could you lift Dwight above the former hurdle champ. Who as MoE has encountered more obstacles that she did on any track.

Btw, you went down St.Lucy recently to see the new Dental College (another Dwight announcement you may recall) is progressing, where another fav DoGood, is rumoured to be the first Dean of the Faculty. Carry some water.

6. Very logical submission by Observing.

7. @David
    “They need to collect the thoughts of education practitioners instead of politicizing every issue with an eye on winning an election.”

If only that were the case!!!! This same principle can be applied to many other sectors other than education. But, we like um so!

8. @Observing “Drug use. Let’s face it, MOST of our children are experimenting with drugs.”

Please provide data to support this. Thanks.

9. @Northern

You seem very, very cynical today.

10. Young drug users a worry for NCSA – Barbados Today

https://barbadostoday.bb/2022/11/05/young-drug-users-a-worry-for-ncsa

11. NorthernObserver Avatar

@SS
    I like Dwight, he could talk more shite with a straight face than most. After all, MPs are mostly here for entertainment, and he delivers. And has nearly as many spectacle frames as Ms Cummins. It is nearly impossible, other than it happened, and continues, for the MoEd to have so many eff-ups, and these are just the ones reported upon. Even you noted
    “Late in publishing the CAPE results.
    Late in notifying teachers about their transfers.
    Late in opening schools-my grandchildren are still at home.
    Late, late, late.
    I think that more than a few officials deserve a good cut ass for being late”
    I think you should begin with the Minister. You can’t miss!!! 😀
    I hope (not the Lancaster development) the QEH improves. Like the NIS, I deem it a pillar of local society.
    I was disappointed Bushie left out some of the better entertainers 😁

12. Cuhdear Northern, yuh gotta give Bushie a break….
    It is really hard to keep track of the top ranking political jokers bout here… even for a bushman.

Just when you think that Wilfy gone clear by making his wifey a new JP, DooShiite announce that somebody just buy Paradise Beach – WHEN, for years, NOBODY COULD BE FOUND WHO OWNS it… or where the NIS money gone… So HE must know – ent it?

But lo and behold, the queen Bee (Ms. “Gimme de vote and watch muh”) suddenly insisting that brass bowls stop watching she (and complaining) … and BRING DE SOLUTIONS.
    Looks like the next election slogan will be “gimme de vote …and bring solutions Barbados”
    LOL – Perhaps she got Grenville lined up for the BLP yuh… ha ha ha

Then we got the Tyre Slasher, de bull in the china shop (all talk and no sense)

-Eddykashun in a mess… But the women in charge are untouchables..

-the only thing that the BWA can be relied on to get done, is ‘Water Wednesdays’

-Energy is headed towards blackouts and price rises – led by nuff bravado and shiite talk..

-Sanitation gone back to the Froon / Stinkliar days (no trucks, no pickup..)

-Transport – no improvements seen (dispite the $7500 cheque)

Boss..
    There’s just too much jobby…
    We can’t flush all.

13. @Cuhdear Bajan

I stand kinda corrected.

MOST are experimenting with drugs “which includes alcohol.”
    MANY are experimenting with marijuana.
    SOME are addicted without even knowing it.
    ALL are affected.

Regarding, evidence, David’s link provides some but this also supports it.

https://www.ncsa.gov.bb/News/Latest-News/NCSA-survey-suggests-many-children.aspx

I think we can all see the phrase “more than half” in the leading sentence. There is more information where that came from but in this “closed” Barbados of ours data is hardly ever shared, especially if it is “bad.”

On the anecdotal and unofficial note, have a chat with any School Principal or Counselor or Senior Teacher in any school right now or take a walk past the “holes” and the “blocks” to see the ever decreasing ages of those who partake in vegetable libation. The hurtful part is that they are openly encouraged, often times by a relative or sibling.

Just observing

14. Give Bushie a break DO, …Observing…
    You REALLY responded to Simple???!!

Most kids are experimenting with drugs BECAUSE that is exactly what they see everyone else doing…
    What the Hell else can the poor children do…?

The biggest drug dealers in ALL history are called modern day DOCTORS.

These ‘dealers’ dispense dangerous drugs at an ASTONDING rate – to clueless brass bowls, as if their reputation depends on it.

They have a license that protects them from prosecution,(even though medical practice represents the THIRD leading cause of death in the USA) .

Then we have BBs like Simple, who ROUTINELY buy and injest drugs at EVERY possible excuse… for pain, high blood pressure, depression, arthritis, to lose weight, to gain weight… to sleep….!!!
    …bowing down to the modern drug god of quick treatment of symptoms, and avoidance of ROOT causes.

So what would we EXPECT our children to do when THEY are confronted with life’s problems? NOT THE SAME SHIITE as their parents and elders?

Not …FIND some drug that treats the symptoms of hopelessness, depression …and of hypocritical adults?

This time SS does be in the QEH dispensary every damn week, with a pan-cart collecting she pills…
    So what different expectation can be demanded of the youths…?

WE got them hooked…

15. NorthernObserver Avatar

Getting a visitor driving permit had been become very simple and quick online. When asked recently I said just google it and follow the links
    Then I was told they aren’t working. So I tried and found the same.
    Is this related to the BRA hack?

16. NorthernObserver Avatar

C’mon Bushie, Simple isn’t stupid. I am confident she weighs the pro and cons of any medication suggested, against alternatives.

17. Where is the proof of evidence of the correlation between herb usage and violence in school?
    Is it based on medical scientific data?
    Is it a personal hypothesis or theory?
    Is it based on witnesses experience and testimony?
    Is it plucked from the speakers backside?

It is like the trope with legs about Nappy Hair which is Hair Discrimination.

Hair Discrimination
    Policies that discriminate against natural hair have been used to justify the removal of Black children from classrooms and deny them educational opportunities. Discriminating against Black hair reinforces the othering of Black children, enforces harmful stereotypes, and is a form of policing Black identity.

Holy Herb

Bible Verse
    Revelation 22:1-2 On each side of the river stood the tree of life, bearing twelve crops of fruit, yielding its fruit every month. And the leaves of the tree are for the healing of the nations.

The Prophet
    “Herb is the healing of a nation, alcohol is the destruction.”
    ― Bob Marley

Slavery Reparations To Be or Not To Be
    As a side issue for Barbadians here is a Guardian article by Hilary Beckles chair of the Caricom Reparations Commission

https://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2024/oct/24/britain-caribbean-slave-trade-commonwealth-summit

The B-Line states

Do you have an opinion on the issues raised in this article? If you would like to submit a response of up to 300 words by email to be considered for publication in our letters section, please click here.

18. “I am confident she weighs the pro and cons of any medication suggested, against alternatives.”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~
    …and then wuh?
    …keep a detailed record of the relative weights? LOL ha ha ha
    …so that she can brag about the matter during her weekly ZR ride to the QEH and back…? Murda!!

Do you REALLY think that Simple understands the implication of injesting titanium dioxide? ..or any of the other shiite added to make stuff look ‘pretty’, last long without spoilage, or just sell better?
    …far less of the poisons marketed as ‘medicines’, which are generally DESIGNED to keep us as lifelong ADDICTS and customers of the DEMONIC global drug cartels such as Bayer, Pfizer, J&J etc.

The children’s problems are FAR MORE understandable (and probably solvable) than the everyday IDIOCY that WE have adopted as adults.

What would be surprising would be if children were NOT experimenting with drugs…

What a place & time
    What blindness..

19. @555Dub Street
    My grandchildren often say that if doing a multiple choice exam follow the age old maxim – “When in doubt the answer is C !”

Just observing

20. The Observer
    You need to partake in the puff as an experiment to determine if you become violent or just mellow yellow

21. @NO

Know of someone who processed a request via the online in June this year.

22. @555
    Did many times at a ripe mature age. Very mellow indeed!!!!!

Not a violent bone in this body

23. When I in jest and suggest that you ingest
    I am often met by abuse
    and by “How dare I accuse?”
    I expect a cybercrime suit
    So I am please to see you recruit
    And to even suggest
    that others ingest

24. The Big Fat O
    I was not talking to you
    mind your business

25. NorthernObserver Avatar

I used it April. Several others used it successfully up to early Sept. Now it’s dead. Even the older email addresses, seem dead too.
    Must have got caught in the BRA hack.

26. @NO

That shouldn’t be a surprise, BRA is the revenue collection agency therefore if hacked it would have compromised its online payment system.

27. People often blame music for all the violence
    but I and I and I say music is pure niceness
    you may as well blame media for reporting it

Gunman Vs How The West Was Won

Part 1
    I wake up in the mornin
    What do I see? Gunman standing over me
    With their guns and their bayonet, me cry oh-whoy
    People a-go feeling it, me show out we all are revealing it
    Yeah-eh-eh-eh-eh

Whoy, e-whoy e-whoy

It was the savior of me life, really opened my eyes
    Said I can see what is over me
    It was the savior of me life, really opеned my eyes
    And savе me, o-whee, from gunman

Part 2
    You see, dis are version cah go put in nation, version
    Say, version galore, Jah Jah know say dis are version galore
    You do me dat!

Tell dem when di west was won
    Cah Lord, mi are go tell dem when di west was won
    Said every star boy have them gun in a dem hand
    Cah whether outlaw or a Christian (Bimma)
    Shout out, we all are revealing, yeah-oy

Cah now go tell dem when di west was won
    Said every star boy have them gun in a dem hand
    Cah whether outlaw or a Christian (Hey-a)
    Cah mi say Jesse James and John Wayne a fight down the lane
    But Randolph Scott, it is a break on a watch
    But as I roll-o-o-o (Slam-bam-billy)
    As I roll-o-o-o-o-o-o (A weh mi say, hey)

Say that di man John Wayne, him big like a crane
    Cah when him really talk, it no go in a no vain
    Him make blood run like a pouring rain

Mi are go tell dem when di west was won
    Say, every star boy have them gun (Hear me star, hear me)

Say dat mi lay down in a mi bed, tell me what did I see
    Cah four gunman, mi say, standing over mi
    Only Jah Jah could a help mi (Bang-bang-diddley)
    Only Jah Jah could a help mi (A weh mi say)

28. @Bush Tea October 24, 2024 at 6:56 am “Then we have BBs like Simple, who ROUTINELY buy and injest drugs at EVERY possible excuse…for pain, high blood pressure, depression, arthritis, to lose weight, to gain weight…to sleep.!!!
    …bowing down to the modern drug god of quick treatment of symptoms, and avoidance of ROOT causes. This time SS does be in the QEH dispensary every damn week, with a pan-cart collecting she pills…”

Why you doan lef me doh!

At three score and ten and more I have spent 1 day in any hospital in the last 42 years. I am not YET a burden on any country’s health system. I follow the the rules stated by most of Barbados’ centenarians.

Exercise, mostly walking and working the land.
    Eating ground food which I mostly grow myself.
    A beer or other alcoholic drink from time to time.
    Loving everybody.
    Even my BU “enemies” LOL!
    A very good night to you.

P.S. Believe it or not I have NEVER used the QEH pharmacy

29. And Bushie I haven’t gained any weight in more than 40 years.
    Walking 15 or 20 minutes to or from the ZR stop is actually healthy exercise, which is partly why I haven’t gained any weight in more than 40 years.

30. LOL @ Cuhdear
    Good to hear that you are still kicking..

Yuh had Bushie worried there for a while when you took so long to share some licks on the bushman’s donkey.
    Wuh happen? checking out a new ZR fella?

As to “Why you doan lef me doh!’
    LOVE….!!!

Bushie TOO love to pick on you and Kiki…

31. mekkin de school children sick.

https://barbadostoday.bb/category/local-news/