BU family member asked the following questions directed to the government through its agent the Fair Trading Commission (FTC).

• How is it even possible for a rate hearing to take three years?
  • Can this be ‘for real’ in 2024 when things change almost daily?
  • How are the intervenors selected? …and what are they expecting to achieve?
  • Are intervenors paid by the FTC?

After reading Minister of Energy Lisa Cummins defence of the Electricity Supply Bill, 2024 the first thought was the blogmaster’s lack of confidence in government. There is too much mistrust in government to encourage public confidence. The blogmaster suspects it has to do with the fact there is an unacceptable level of inefficiency seen at every turn. The latest fiasco being the government forced to delay a decision to remove dark tint from vehicles.

We have laws that govern tints on vehicles; they don’t allow dark tints. It must stop and the Government has set a target date that no later than the 14th of October, persons who are not having tints that are compliant, in other words, the light tint, will be fined… Loop

Here is what ordinary Barbadians must be thinking about the lack of urgency by all parties to regulate the energy sector, including the Barbados Light and Power – the energy sector is too important to Barbados – being a net importer – to encourage regulatory decisions taking 3 years and counting. This lethargy permeates all that we want to do in the country. Nothing is implemented easily and well.

This latest attempt to alienate intervenors from the process must be viewed with suspicion given the track record of successive governments prioritising pandering to investors. Minister Cummins’ assurance that the draft Electricity Supply Bill, 2024 was widely circulated rings hollow because it was the same assurance given to the public regarding the Bail Bill. The Barbados Bar Association rejected the claim.

The previous Decades of deceit: How successive BLP and DLP governments have colluded to bury corruption blog exposes the objective of successive governments. Continue to pander to the narrow interest of capital and to hell with the masses.

The role of intervenors is critical and must not be marginalised by the Mottley government. We are at a critical juncture in our history where political opposition has been weakened given the ongoing ‘challenges’ being experienced by the Democratic Labour Party (DLP).

If the government is committed to implementing renewable energy (RE) solutions, where is the national policy to manage imports of ICE vehicles in Barbados? If government is committed to RE is it accurate to conclude the offshore oil exploration effort has been retired? Given the bevy of public relations resources available to government there is a deafening silence about important matters.

The people must demand respect from those elected to serve them.

122 responses to “Electricity Supply Bill, 2024: marginalising intervenors”

1. Who is paying for upgrades
    is it investors
    or consumers

2. “Do the regulators in Barbados operate independently ? A lowly blogmaster is asking.”

generally ‘regulators’ are paid for by the industry
    as in the industry is ‘self regulating’

3. @ Bush Tea

I stated a couple months ago on this blog that we and the FTC need to pay close attention to the transactions between Enema Head Office and the local entity here. looking at financial information from the local entity, without drilling down on the transactions like TRANSCTION FEES, MANAGEMENT FEES and expenses charge by head office to the local entity is pointless. The FTC must ask Enema to supply a break down of ALL inter company transactions between the local Entity and the parent company.

Failing to doing this and only taking what you are fed from the Bajan entity is a waste of blasted time!

4. Mr. Bush Tea and Mr. David.

I followed that rate case real close because Watson grabbed my attention when she started to talk to Bajan consumers and explain things so we can understand. Do you know who disclosed all of that bad dealing by Emera/BL&P? Ms. Watson did. Not FTC, not the rest of the intervenors. That lady did.

And Kerrie Symmonds curse her for it and the Prime Minister praised him for doing that. Imagine. One singular woman against a regulator, the most powerful prime minister we ever had, head curser Symmonds, our whole government, and a multi-billion dollar company with all of its might and money.

And now, again, she is the person who outed them about this Electricity Bill, not the Minister, not Symmonds the senior minister, not Thorne, not his energy spokesman (doesn’t he work for Bizzy Williams?), not anybody else in Barbados. I saw her comment on WhatsApp after the senate debate. She excoriated the minister, and the DLP too for supporting the Bill. The woman got some huge balls. That might be an insult to her.

I hope she don’t give up on Barbados. I would be tempted to if I was her.

5. “Do the regulators in Barbados operate independently ? A lowly blogmaster is asking.”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    LOLABB…You are a serious ‘gallows bait’ Boss.

Operate Independently shiite!!
    Everything in Brassbados is either political, family, close friends, school ties, nepotism or bribery.

Was the chairman not found to be an undercover Emera employee – and had to withdraw from presiding over the Rate Case after social media pressure?
    Is that not why the Deputy has been essential?

Was the last FTC boss not forced out – despite being the ONLY QUALIFIED AND EXPERIENCED staff member capable of managing the rate hearing?
    Please do not ask Bushie why..!!

Have you checked the turnover of ministers, permanent secretaries and staff over the last few years? Who has been unhappy?

It appears that the expected role of the regulator is to find ways to make the fancies of idiot politicians look and sound sensible.
    To their credit, the current panel appears to be fighting to protect their PROFESSIONAL integrity – but with people like the tire slashing clown in positions of influence, theirs cannot be an easy task.

But independent? … LOL.. you must mean “in de pen, ent”?

@ John A
    You don’t know the half of it Boss… you are only brushing the surface.
    Have you read the statements of the various intervenors?
    Precious…

6. @ Brojoh
    Isn’t Ms Watson a lawyer?
    …and apparently a good one?
    smh..

Do you know that FLOW is currently able to increase THEIR rates whenever the Hell they want to? …They need NOT go to the FTC like the electric company…

Know why?
    Because a very articulate lawyer represented them in their last rate case, and they were able to kerfuffle the FTC into selling out Bajans to the telecommunications vultures.

If BL&P had the sense to hire THAT lawyer – instead of the hopeless lot that they did, ..then perhaps YOU would now be singing a whole different song of praise…

Lawyers will be lawyers – for whoever is the paying client, and some of them ARE INDEED intelligent – as we see with Ms Watson.
    Consequently, Bajans may be suitably highly impressed…
    ..BUT NOT stinking Bushie doh!!

Bushie is looking for commitment of the ‘Cynthia Forde variety’ before dispensing lavish praise on such specimens.

7. Tammy Bryan should have resigned from the moment it was known she provided legal services to the utility. It is (was) the honourable thing to do.

8. @Brojoh September 29, 2024 at 12:17 am “Every man has his price – something MAM understands very well. Everybody waiting to see what MAM will offer Watson.”

Every MAN may be for sale. But not every WOman is. I know the Watson’s. Tricia is NOT for sale.

9. Thanking Tricia Watson for her advocacy.

In 2012 my electricity bill was a bit over $200 BDS per month for a household of 2. I determined to get it down, so I had all my bulbs changed to low energy bulbs. That brought it down by almost half.
    For 2024 so far I have paid $526.95 BDS for a household of 1. That is a average of $58.55 BDS per month. I am determined to keep it under $100 BDS per month for the rest of my life. Because clothes dryers are such energy hogs I dry my clothes in a sheltered space outdoors. I managed to do this even when I had 2 school aged children. rain every day in September, a full time job, and sick elders. I mean who cares if neighbors or complete strangers see my panties on the line.

The people who make political and economic decisions, and the people who own electricity companies can become fat [and fat is not good] and rich [where is the evidence that rich, rich people life longer, healthier and happier lives than people of more modest means] but not offa me.

And lest anybody think that I foolish. I understand that the cost of electricity drives up the cost of everything. But half of what the capitalist merchants try to foist on us are consumerist junk soon to full up we landfill.

Why do we buy so much “stuff?”

Why?

10. @ Cuhdear, how could you compact so much jobby in two short posts..?
    Some issues are WAY above your simplistic analysis. Your original pseudonym (SS) was MUCH more apt…

Why do we buy so much stuff?
    – So that employment and services can become available to MANY OTHER people around the damn place. NOT EVERYTHING IS ABOUT YOU AND YOURS.

~~~
    “The people who make political and economic decisions, and the people who own electricity companies can become fat..”
    DUH!!.
    Most fat people are poor as shiite. They are fat because they are foolish, do not value their temples (bodies) and are either gluttons or adicted to shiite (fast) food because they are LAZY.
    There is no corelation between wealth and fat -except in your simple mind.

~~~
    “For 2024 so far I have paid $526.95 BDS for a household of 1. That is a average of $58.55 BDS per month.”
    So what??!!
    Bushie know of people who have paid $0 per month.
    They are either Parros or have been disconnected from the utility.
    Why not get some dried cow shiite for cooking, and a smut lamp – like you did back in 1950s, and reduce your bill even more… steupsss.
    The WHOLE point of living is about HUMAN DEVELOPMENT. Improving the quality of life for all is a positive thing.

~~~~
    “I know the Watson’s. Tricia is NOT for sale.”
    Ms Watson is a lawyer – and it seems, a very good one. She has a practice.
    THIS MEANS that her professional services ARE for sale.
    What has your knowing her family to do with it? If you did NOT know them would it mean that she was for sale?
    ~~~

Finally, “who cares if neighbors or complete strangers see my panties on the line”.
    NOBODY CARES… it is just that they block the damn sunlight and reduce the performance of the neighbor’s solar panels.

11. Everyone has a price means exactly what it says. A price is what you are prepared to sell for.

By definition, it has nothing to do with accomplishing what you initially stated as your goal but rather changing course in return for a reward, whether financial or social.

One should think through what was is saying rather than mouthing stupid stuff that defeats your argument.

Because……if everybody has a price then there is no-one prepared to stand on principle.

In other words, not one of of us BU Blabbers would do any better.

Luckily, there are numeous examples of people dying for their principles!

Perhaps you should retire that saying instead of attempting to change its OBVIOUS meaning.

12. Translation:

WE can attempt to reduce our electricity usage and live within our means.

I know Tricia to be a principled person from a principled family.

Whether you agree with Simple Simon or not, this was not all about her. She was giving an example of how those who cannot afford it can deal with high electricity bills and drink mauby instead of champagne on mauby pockets.

This would be a short-term measure. The ultimate goal is to improve the standard of living for all. Unfortunately, she linked standard of living to body fat and lifestyle, which was a bit of a mess.

P.S.Tricia Watson’s services may be for sale but that does not mean that she accepts all clients and cases. I do not know her and so this is not a character assessment, just a statement of possibility.

13. The challenge for Barbados is bigger than usage at the household level, it is also about decreasing cost of energy in the economy (commercial) which is obviously a big problem. Again the comment is not about decreasing usage at the household level.

14. NorthernObserver Avatar

I said earlier I’d await Mr.Browne. His reply came via BAPE letterhead, not his own nor Co-op Energy.
    Seems to me this Bill is all about breaking up a monopoly (single licencee) in favour of multiple, without an understanding of how multiple licensee’s would function together.
    Nor is it clear to me, though I recall 25 years or longer being mentioned, how these licensees fit into the current, or future, franchise network.
    While the FTCs ability to function has been raised, why is this? To replace much of their role by “the Minister” isn’t comforting.
    And the legislation contains all forms of checks and balances (read Reports), which we already know public entities don’t merely avoid, they ignore blatantly without consequence. So while it may read nicely, it isn’t worth the paper it is written on. It ain’t happening. No Reports will be forthcoming.

15. David,

Yes, but since when do we stick to the main point alone?

16. @NO

It seems the government is pushing the narrative that it has a responsibility to insure investment targeting the electricity sector is not hindered.

17. @Bush Tea “…they block the damn sunlight and reduce the performance of the neighbor’s solar panels.”

They do not.

@Bush Tea “So that employment and services can become available to MANY OTHER people around the damn place.”

A careful reading will show that I was writing about “stuff” destined for landfills. I was not writing about services at all. Most of the “stuff” is imported and provides employment for other people in other places.

“…obesity in children appears to be predominantly a problem of the rich in low- and middle-income countries.”
    Source: Obesity and socioeconomic status in developing countries: a systematic review. U.S. National Institutes of Health
    Just in case those “foolish people” at the NIH don’t know what they are writing about you may want to check with the “foolish people” at our Ministry of Health, or with any of our “foolish” NGO’s concerned with health and nutrition. Or stand at any school gate and see for yourself. Or listen to the calypso “Too Much Fat Pun De Road”

18. It’s okay to call capitalist pigs fatties
    they’re greedy and always want more

Privatising profits and socialising losses
    company earnings are shareholder property
    losses are the responsibility of society

seems like with foreign companies
    profits migrate offshore and
    costs for redevelopment / upgrades are grabbed by higher costs to consumers

19. @Bush Tea “The WHOLE point of living is about HUMAN DEVELOPMENT.”

If you were a more thoughtful person I would engage you in a discussion about “what is human development” but unfortunately such discussion would be beyond your intelligence level.

A good day to you.

20. Dear Bushie:

I am sorry to learn that you are a big guts person.

21. I reiterate with an edit

“MUCH of what the capitalist merchants try to foist on us are consumerist junk soon to full up we landfill.”

We do not have to over consume anything, including electricity so that other people here and elsewhere can become fat [yes fat] and rich. We have no obligation to enrich and fatten LOL!!! capitalists.

22. @bushtea

You serious? I don’t know who represented Flow in the last rate case. But after years of Watson working for the average man for free in a rate case that is still going on, and some others since you are really questioning her being for sale to the highest bidder?

You feel she had to step up and do this? She could do like all the other lawyers in Barbados and keep her head down or up politicians asses and just make money and mo money.

But she hasn’t, she is giving her time and attention. Isn’t that what we keep calling on lawyers and other educated people to do? If her posts are correct she saved us over 500 million dollars in electricity rates since she started. And the only person who seems to get under the government collar is her.

You contradict yourself a lot though – seem just contrary for the sake of being contrary. I for one am very glad she stepped up.

23. Why do we return to what is obviously a flawed and losing position. Allow me to plunge a dagger into the heart of your argument and hopefully you will make a silent and graceful exit …

(1) “Because……if everybody has a price then there is no-one prepared to stand on principle.”

This is patently so not true?
    a) Because a price can be determined does not mean an item is on sale. or must be sold. In addition, you make the weak assumption that the price van always be determined by a monetary value.

b) From above, I am hoping that you begin to realize that the price may not be in monetary terms only. Take me for example… though I am content to sit on the sidelines and watch the silly theatrics that goes on in Barbados, if there was something that I could do that would benefit the island then I would readily lend a hand. In fact, I am engaged in one such effort. My price is not the corrupt shekels that are being passed around.

Also, Mia provided us with a great example where price was determined by other than monetary value.

(2) “In other words, not one of us BU Blabbers would do any better.”
    It pains me to tell you, “Please speak for yourself”. I will make no judgement on the abilities of other BU Blabbers.

You have been seduced by sweet sounding words that often lack the promised followed up or action. As sweet as they may be, these words are worth less than a truthful silence; truthful as no follow-up or action is expected.

I will end here, though this may not be the last word.

24. LOL
    looks like a lotta panties got exposed this morning yuh…

Lawyers are professional advocates who generally sell their services to their clients.
    It is therefore INCORRECT to classify one as ’not for sale’.
    FULL STOP.
    If any part of this is wrong, …. or not applicable to Ms Watson, then Bushie humbly apoligise.

@ Simple
    Sorry to hint at the size of your bloomers…. tek another apology.
    You can relax and stop researching via the NIH webshiite…
    After covid, NOBODY takes them seriously … well nobody who understands how they have been hijacked…

25. @Bush Tea “…they block the damn sunlight and reduce the performance of the neighbor’s solar panels.”

@Cuhdear “They do not.”

It is somewhat amusing to see what balls are allowed to pass without drawing a reaction and what balls the batter decides need to be played. In this case, it is not an aggressive shot, just an attempt to smother the ball. It will be interesting to see if they are further developments to this exchange.

26. Your argument is not with me, dear. It is with the Oxford and other reputable dictionaries. Let Google be your friend today!

“Every man has his price” means that everyone can be bribed or will accept A REWARD for changing his position, or at the very least, retreating from its pursuit.

That definitely means that one would fail to stand on one’s principles!

If you would READ before you write you would see where I remarked that the reward need not be monetary.

Or perhaps you are one of those people who can sound out words but not comprehend their meaning! How else can the rest of your mumbo jumbo be explained????

LET…..ME…SEE…IF….I…..CAN …..HELP…YOU!

I passed NO JUDGMENT on any BU contributor! What I said was CONDITIONAL. That is where the word “if” comes in.

IF we accept that every man (or woman) has a price THEN we must accept that all BU blabbers must have a price!

Unless wunnuh en men or women.

Hmmmmm….🤔

27. Following on from the previous lesson which I introduced a week ago regarding the loose words we swing around like a cudgel, in an effort to sound sophisticated like Machiavelli:

If we accept that every man has his price and can be bribed, then we provide cover for the corrupt.

Why should they feel guilty because they have managed to reach the feeding trough before the rest of us greedy pigs?????

Why should they make way for other greedy pigs who would do the same?

Wuh, if it en dem it gun be somebody else, nuh?

So STFU! It is every man fuh heself and survival of the “fittest”!

If only some people would think before they speak they might realise where their words contribute to the normalisation and acceptance of the status quo!

Defeating the very purpose of our discourse!

28. P.S. to the comment before last –
    If what you are doing for Barbados is in line with your principles, then that does not fit into the “Every man has a price” scenario.

It was far easier teaching three year olds. I’m thinking that this is as difficult as teaching Pythagorus at the senior school.

🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

29. Time for an intervention.

https://www.youtube.com/shorts/C6DKlyhQtSA

30. NorthernObserver Avatar

That’s the line… opportunity for all? Yet, it’s getting clearer why Emera is bleeding the reserves, their “investment” in BL&P is reduced if others can procure licenses, to share in what currently solely THEIR pot.
    Nor it is clear, that the totality of licensees will lower the price of electricity to consumers. Instead of regulating one entity, a combo of FTC and Minister get to oversee potentially multiple entities.
    If the FTC couldn’t regulate a single entity in a timely manner, what chance is there to regulate multiple parties using at least two entities.

31. @NO

Don’t disagree. Increasing intermittent energy on the grid will reduce cost to end consumers re storage capacity. How it will impact BL&P sales appears obvious.

32. @ David

The FTC under its current structure is incapable of regulating an International entity like Enema, full stop!

When the FTC regulated the BLP they were a local entity which filed their financial report in Barbados under Barbadian law. Their operation was 100 percent based on their local activities, both in terms of expenses and income. When you have a foreign head office with overseas branches, head office has the potential to basically “control” the profit of the local entity.

So the questions that need to be asked are ones like this. What value of transactions did Enema and the local entity have between them as a percentage of their revenue?

What professional fees occurred during the period under review?

Were any large capital expenses invoiced from Enema head office to the local entity for the period under review?

These answers WILL NOT be shown in the audited financials either. One would have to be in possession of the Notes to the Audit in order to find this information and even then one would need to know where to look.

33. (a) [“Every man has his price” means that everyone can be bribed or will accept A REWARD for changing his position, or at the very least, retreating from its pursuit.

That definitely means that one would fail to stand on one’s principles!]

Wrong, wrong, wrong!
    Your error is that you have reduced the great expanse of human behavior to ta simple market place. Because a person has a price does not mean he has to sell his product to everyone who comes knocking or to even sell his product.

(b) [“Or perhaps you are one of those people who can sound out words but not comprehend their meaning! How else can the rest of your mumbo jumbo be explained???”]

Instead of gracefully surrendering and going silently into the night we see the old ‘read to respond’ argument being trotted out.

(c) [“If we accept that every man has his price and can be bribed, then we provide cover for the corrupt.”]

Wrong, wrong, wrong!
    Because everyone has a price, it does not mean that everyone can be bribed. Let me give you simple examples
    (1) Suppose I have a million dollar home and no one else has a million dollars then no one can pay the price. Accept the fact that the price can be too high and not reachable.

(2) Suppose I have a million dollar home and you offer me two million dollars. Though I would be willing to part with the home, my wife and children may be unwilling to do so. Other factors besides the market place can come into play.

Everyone may have a price, but not everyone is participating in your simple market place.

Go gently into the good night,

34. @ David
    “Projects with champagne taste and mauby pockets”
    Boss..
    John Beale’s article in BT is a FIRST CLASS summary of your work on BU over the years.
    Congrats.

35. @ TheO
    Give it up….
    Everyone DOES have a price.

1-The albino-centric are inclined tends to think of ‘price’ in monetary terms…
    2-The community centric tends to think of ‘price’ in terms of principles and morals..
    3-While the spiritual person sees ‘price’ as the totality of their physical existence.

‘Death’ is therefore the price that a spiritual person is willing to pay – rather than to compromise their principles, or indeed their familial relationship with God.

The community centric person may be inclined to accept promises of social improvements (many are so comforted) in exchange for their principled stand.

The (typical) albino-centric however, will sell out their country, electric company, tourism industry, agriculture, educational management…. to the highest bidder…
    …and THEN come in parliament talking shiite about ‘facilitating investments’ – ie collecting their pieces of silver.

If you listened to Symmonds recently, or indeed back when he was promoting investments in PV (back before he was removed from that ministry), you will understand how the ‘price’ system works.

36. @Bush Tea

Read, a good summary of current state.

“Projects with champagne tastes and mauby pockets
    It is with some concern that one reads of over-ambitious plans for grand projects that it is obvious we cannot afford and are really not priorities.
    The large new Geriatric Hospital, built in the wrong place with the wrong design to replace a large and serviceable Geriatric Hospital, ostensibly to join our large number of derelict buildings in Historic Bridgetown at a cost that remains a secret, is now followed by two extraordinary new proposals.
    The first is apparently to possibly replace our school buildings (some 23 secondary and 70 primary) with brand new buildings.
    The second is to abandon the Historic Garrison headquarters of the Barbados Defence Force (BDF) with its many barrack buildings and offices—again with the inevitable fate of dereliction—for a brand new and larger garrison in the middle of the country. Where is the obviously required report on the need for this, including estimated costs and the sources of repayment for the funding? And what serious uses could be applied for the adaptive reuse of the abandoned barracks? Together, these proposals would run into some billions of dollars. And every so often, someone suggests that a new hospital would solve all the problems of management, morale, machinery and medical teams. Isn’t it time that common sense and sound management prevailed over exotic visions of champagne tastes for mauby pockets? Obvious errors of judgement are allowed to proceed:
    1. A geriatric hospital by the highway with no ventilation, no verandas and dependent on air conditioning is fatally flawed.
    2. The 35 per cent failure rate in English and Maths at the Common Entrance Exams will not be solved by brand new buildings, but by improvement in teacher salaries, morale, skills and goals.
    3. Secondary students leaving school without certificates and choosing careers in crime will not be solved by splendid new buildings but by literacy, numeracy and appropriate skills.
    4. And abandoning the BDF HQ at the Garrison will only produce the biggest derelict disaster site in Barbados at a cost we can ill afford.
    If more office space is needed, some of the eight buildings already going derelict above Garrison Hill could be repaired and utilised, and/or part of the adjacent old Mobile site with work done to clean up the oil remains.
    It is interesting to note that Costa Rica and Panama are prohibited in their constitutions to have a traditional army although they do have a defence force. It appears that the BDF is receiving more and more duties, especially related to development matters for our youth.
    Is the BDF the best area of government to carry out this function? Projects can be very risky Government officials, in their exuberance for doing projects and winning support from the population, often exaggerate and make promises on projects that they know are far from being realised. Also, projects – like construction and divorce – usually end up taking longer and costing more!
    The Hilton Hotel replacement may be an example of this. Greenfield projects often are risky and are not for the faint-hearted.
    Certainly one should never encourage the masses to invest their modest savings into projects until they are established and shown to be viable.
    The Pierhead Project has taken 28 years to finally get started, but it promises to be successful under the new ownership. Whereas, after 18 years, the Four Seasons Project is stalled and remains a concrete jungle graveyard next to the beautiful Paradise Beach. This project has been a disaster by the several Barbados governments and the private sector and it should be carefully analysed to show the many mistakes of the various parties because it has cost the taxpayers of Barbados millions.
    After 64 years, we still have not made any progress on the proposed Barbados National Art Gallery. The new financing and management arrangement with CoopEnergy for the sugar industry needs further explanations, given the recognised difficulties of this sector that cost the government tens of millions.
    Accountability and better project management Project ideas must stand the test of very thorough analyses and feasibility studies, followed by appropriate funding as well as a well-executed implementation phase.
    A Public Investment Unit (PUI) has existed in the Ministry of Finance and Economic Affairs for a long time (circa 50 years). Given governments’ poor experience of having many projects with large cost overruns and delays, it would seem prudent to thoroughly investigate the reasons for what amounts to costly mistakes for the taxpayers. Is it possible that projects are being proposed without proper feasibility studies by the PUI? And if the PUI is doing the studies, as it surely should be, why are they not made available to the public? As a former CEO of RBTT Bank in Barbados, which financed the large Judicial Centre around 2006, I observed that some of the civil servants involved in the project had little or no experience in project finance and implementation. I have also been informed that few, if any, of the government projects have a formal Project Implementation Plan, an absolute necessity for timely implementation.
    In addition, Barbados has substantial undisbursed balances on approved loans from international funding institutions that have not been withdrawn on the prior agreed schedule.
    Barbados incurs a commitment fee on these balances. In fact, some of these institutions have indicated that they will not consider more funding until Barbados improves its implementation. This is sullying Barbados’ reputation.
    Perhaps Barbados could follow the successful initiatives of Jamaica’s Economic Programme Oversight Committee (EPOC) which has improved transparency and accountability so that it is now embedded in their culture, with substantial improvement in the country’s financial situation.
    Governments, politicians and investors alike must be held accountable for their actions and we need thorough investigative reporting to encourage accountability.
    John Beale is a former Ambassador to the US and the OAS, and Investment Officer at the International Finance Corporation (World Bank Group).”

Source: BT

37. NorthernObserver Avatar

This man Beale needs to add commentator to his impressive list of “former” occupations. And BT formally warned about publishing such anti-Barbadian rhetoric.
    Every 5 years each and every Barbadian has the opportunity to cast their vote to hold the Government accountable. You want more?
    What formal Project Implementation Plan? This should be the responsibility of the lending agency, as our swivel service is full up with work. Follow Jamaica? He mad. WE are well ahead of them in every area, but Olympic medals and Pot production. They even manage to near bankrupt their entire rum industry.
    And calling Four Seasonings (c Hants) a disaster? This record breaking project, was able to have 20(?) loan recipients ALL default in mere months, and have that bill footed (guaranteed) by Bajan taxpayers. And without a single report from CBL on the matter. Where else could this happen so quickly and smoothly? We en’ the Gem of the Caribbean fuh nuttin’!!!
    How can Beale claim cost overruns, when nuhbuddy even knows what the cost is? Steupse. OK, so we know the Steal Houses cost a few dollars more, but that was caused by COVID, and see all de peeple who get train in Steal house construction.
    And National Art Gallery.? The entire island is an Art Gallery. And he talks about priorities.
    Like he en’ know de peeple living too long. Put them in a box where poor maintenance can cause HVAC problems and get rid of the lot of them. Steupse.

38. Mr Blogmaster
    Please note that the problem of comments appearing and disappearing continues
    Thanks

39. A price is the amount for which you would sell. PERIOD.

The context in which it was first used here was in relation to Ms. Watson, and what inducements Mia would offer to MUTE HER INTERVENTION.

Every man has a price means what one is willing to SELL OUT FOR!

That is what the dictionary says. This is what the saying means. It does not matter what your interpretation of it is!

Sticking to one’s principles is not selling out and therefore that person cannot be said to have a PRICE!

What was MLK’s price? His principles were equality and justice for all! He did not sell out or abandon his principles! HE PAID A PRICE! He did not did not HAVE A PRICE!

Bullshit! Utter bullshit from The OG and Bush Tea.

40. Question: What was MLK’s price?

41. “He paid a price with his life.
    He did not have a price.”

Best decision Bushie EVER made …was not to argue with women, children ..or…

Fortunately, this is particular point is about as meaningful an argument as the one made by Kerrie Symmonds on the Electricity Bill.
    How Mia could send him back to talk more shiite – after his gross mismanagement of the original Photo Voltaic investment nonsense, speaks more of her management style, than it does of his ability to talk long jobby – about something about which he knows little.

42. Kerri Symmomds engages in a level of political hyperbole that too many Barbadians give value. We get the government we deserve.

43. So…one last try for the impaired.

A price in this context is what you are willing to sell for. When you sell something, you no longer have it.

Therefore, when your selling price is determined and is paid to you, you no longer have your principles.

Those who stand on principle and never back down often PAY a price. They do not accept payment or reward of any kind that would be counterproductive to the pursuit of their principled aims.

Accomplishing one’s principled goal cannot be considered as one’s price, since one has not sold anything.

If you cannot understand that, then I cannot help you. But I know I am right!

The saying, “Every man has his price” has never had a positive connotation. And it was not so offered here in relation to Ms. Watson.

Because it never is. It makes no sense to do so.

44. Oh! And in response to some previous mumbo jumbo – if you do not sell, then that was NOT YOUR PRICE!

I cannot believe I habe to be saying this.

45. I will stop here
    Market place and transactional.

46. May I add that when I was talking about ‘price’, I was talking of Mia and an actual example.

Ex-Senator Watson was not on my radar.

47. Since when was PAYING a price and accepting payment the same thing???????

Lol yourself! Murdaaaaaah!

True, the argument is not relevant to the topic and will soon draw the ire of the blogmaster.

But was fun to see how illogical you two can be in your pursuit of being right. Truly, I am stunned. The OG is challenged wordwise….. but for you to tangle yourself up in that mess, especially that last bit was shocking!

Two opposite sides of a transaction presented as being the same!

Lord have mercy!

48. I gun try dah pun Andrew Bynoe at Emerald City tomorrow!

Come to think of it, I gun try um pun Emera light bill too!

Problem solved! Paying a price and accepting payment – SAME THING!

🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣