BU family member asked the following questions directed to the government through its agent the Fair Trading Commission (FTC).

• How is it even possible for a rate hearing to take three years?
  • Can this be ‘for real’ in 2024 when things change almost daily?
  • How are the intervenors selected? …and what are they expecting to achieve?
  • Are intervenors paid by the FTC?

After reading Minister of Energy Lisa Cummins defence of the Electricity Supply Bill, 2024 the first thought was the blogmaster’s lack of confidence in government. There is too much mistrust in government to encourage public confidence. The blogmaster suspects it has to do with the fact there is an unacceptable level of inefficiency seen at every turn. The latest fiasco being the government forced to delay a decision to remove dark tint from vehicles.

We have laws that govern tints on vehicles; they don’t allow dark tints. It must stop and the Government has set a target date that no later than the 14th of October, persons who are not having tints that are compliant, in other words, the light tint, will be fined… Loop

Here is what ordinary Barbadians must be thinking about the lack of urgency by all parties to regulate the energy sector, including the Barbados Light and Power – the energy sector is too important to Barbados – being a net importer – to encourage regulatory decisions taking 3 years and counting. This lethargy permeates all that we want to do in the country. Nothing is implemented easily and well.

This latest attempt to alienate intervenors from the process must be viewed with suspicion given the track record of successive governments prioritising pandering to investors. Minister Cummins’ assurance that the draft Electricity Supply Bill, 2024 was widely circulated rings hollow because it was the same assurance given to the public regarding the Bail Bill. The Barbados Bar Association rejected the claim.

The previous Decades of deceit: How successive BLP and DLP governments have colluded to bury corruption blog exposes the objective of successive governments. Continue to pander to the narrow interest of capital and to hell with the masses.

The role of intervenors is critical and must not be marginalised by the Mottley government. We are at a critical juncture in our history where political opposition has been weakened given the ongoing ‘challenges’ being experienced by the Democratic Labour Party (DLP).

If the government is committed to implementing renewable energy (RE) solutions, where is the national policy to manage imports of ICE vehicles in Barbados? If government is committed to RE is it accurate to conclude the offshore oil exploration effort has been retired? Given the bevy of public relations resources available to government there is a deafening silence about important matters.

The people must demand respect from those elected to serve them.

122 responses to “Electricity Supply Bill, 2024: marginalising intervenors”

1. BLPDLP.

2. This is not a comment about the performance of any individual but an acknowledgement of the quality of work of ex-Senator Watson. I do believe that we would have a much better debate if ex-Senator Watson was participant.

I do not know the workings of a political party, but it should have been possible for Mr Thorne to ring-fence his critical areas, keep her and yet keep her out.

I believe that he caused more damaged to the country, himself and ‘his party’ than to the BLP. If ever there was a case of cutting off one’s nose to spite one’s face this is it.

3. Draft power bill not rushed, says Cummins

Minister of Energy Lisa Cummins says a wide cross-section of stakeholders was consulted on the draft of the Electricity Supply Bill, 2024.

Leading off debate on the bill in the Senate yesterday, she said it was being prepared from 2019 and included input from a large number of entities, including the Barbados Light & Power Company, Fair Trading Commission, the Government Electrical Engineering Department and the Electric Light & Power Act Committee.

“There can be no justifiable allegations that the development of the bill has been rushed or less than fully transparent,” she said, adding that an open invitation was extended to the public.

“Based on this early consultation, the draft bill was updated during 2020 and was later presented to the Chief Parliamentary Counsel for its review. In 2022, an updated draft bill, based on the guidance of the Chief Parliamentary Counsel, was made available to the Ministry of Energy and Business and was submitted to the Cabinet of Barbados for approval in November of 2022. Drafting instructions were given to the Chief Parliamentary Counsel and once the bill was returned to the ministry, in legal form, it was ready for broad public consultation.”

Consultation

Cummins stated that in 2023 a consultation was held at the

Lloyd Erskine Sandiford Centre

where a large crowd gathered. The bill was again circulated to over 45 stakeholders after that meeting.

“Consultation and the views of a wide cross-section of Barbados were critical due to the pending changes to the electricity sector and this time those invited to give comments, up to this month, included development agencies and global energy specialists.”

The minister said further comments from local and international partners were still being submitted, considered and, where appropriate, included in the draft.

“This has been an exhaustive process of engagement so there can be no justifiable allegation that the development of the bill has been rushed or less than fully transparent.

“The bill paves the way for Barbados to overcome the technical and regulatory constraints to transitioning an isolated island electricity grid towards 100 per cent renewable energy generation. Moreover, the bill has been created on the foundation of establishing greater coordination between the key policy, licensing and regulatory agencies to achieve maximum efficiency and transparency within the management and regulation of the island’s electricity sector.”

Cummins said the bill before now the Senate represents one that “reflects our policy position of moving towards 100 per cent renewable energy whilst ensuring the necessary protective measurements and promoting fairness to all”.

She told fellow senators that Barbados was a small market and a single utility company was common, pointing out that across the Caribbean region the same obtained because of size and scale.

She said her ministry now had a full grid characterisation study, where the entire country had been mapped to show where clusters of solar systems exist, clusters on transmission and distribution lines, where storage needs to be deployed and for what purpose through the help of other partners.

(NS)

4. Nicholls: Public’s interest represented even without ‘intervenors’
    A government senator has stoutly defended the removal of the word “intervenors” from the new Electricity Supply Bill 2024 which faced some criticism on Friday when it was debated in the Senate.
    The island has had a long history of robust contributions from intervenors in public utility rate adjustment applications and related matters. However, Senator Gregory Nicholls told the Upper House that the public interests would still be defended under the new legislation.
    At the same time, he insisted that critical data of investors, both local and foreign, needed to be protected.
    “We have heard a lot of criticism of the bill in the short time that it was put on Parliament’s website for our consideration, about the whole question of the absence of intervenors,” he stated. “Provision was made for an opportunity to be given to interested parties during the period in which applications for licences are made to make representations to the minister or objections.”
    Nicholls added: “All of a sudden, we hear the criticism [that] the public interest is not going to be adequately represented because the government has taken this on.
    “Now, you want to put photovoltaic panels on your roof. What public interest element is there in giving someone the ability to go to the minister to object or make representations in relation to your licence? What is the public interest there? I understand the public interest in relation if you had an electrical supplier, like the public utility, which has obligations under the Fair Trading Commission Act and the Utility Regulation Act in the performance of the delivery of the service. What public interest is there at the application for a licence to supply electricity? In a fair competitive market, we’re not talking monopolies.”
    The government senator and attorney-atlaw said the country could not plan a future that was based on fossil fuels, and it had to encourage investors who bring technology that exploits the wind, sun, and waves.
    “Now, I understand if there are environmental impact considerations because those are dealt with at the town planning stage.
    You still require town planning permission to erect these installations,” he said.
    Nicholls argued that to give the impression that the removal of intervenors at the stage of issuance of a licence to operate electrical supply systems “is now some great problem for the people of Barbados” did not reflect the provisions of the bill.
    “This is a process of applying for a licence to supply electricity, whether it is through generation, transmission, distribution, storage and things of the like,” he outlined. (IMC1)

Source: BT

5. I shall await Trevor Browne’s response, for he understands this area.

6. If our government agencies are unable to deal with relatively minor issues such as assembling Steal houses, conceptualizing HOPE schemes, or even executing radical vaccine heists, who are we to expect a coherent stab at executing a revolutionary transformation of our national energy sector?
    It is quite obvious that the usual suspects and key players are seriously jockying for position to rip Bajans off ‘bigly’ – under the cover of this energy plot.

Imaging being able to invest $800 million – (Bds or US??) in batteries (borrowed at 3.5%), …with a FTC GURANTEE that the investment will turn 10% return MINIMUM – ALL PAID BY BB ELECTRICITY CONSUMERS?

How much dinero is that Northern?

The PhotoVoltaic scam was only in the millions, but that worked out so well for a select few, that they immediately wetted their lips for the REAL billion-dollar battery pie.

It is not difficult for a bushman to estimate the kinds of ‘constituency contribution cheques’ that must be in circulation. LOL..
    Enuff to change laws, quiet intervenors, and perhaps even to hand out billion dollar, long-term, utility licenses to shady characters.

The only real challenge is how to keep this all under wraps….
    Perhaps a new Law that ensures ‘confidentiality’ and excludes nosey big mouth intervenors…?

But of course our lawyers cannot be expected to see any flaws here…

WHAT a place!!
    Everything is a scam….

7. Lol…twasn’t it you who accused my countryman and I of being too harsh?
    And now this.
    Don’t tell me….they have to buy the batteries from an Emera (spell check wanted enema 😁) subsidiary.

8. I new to this blog. This post is getting wide circulation. Watson got everybody watching and interested. The (remaining) Dems are a pack of real moojins. I watch this woman in the rate case tear holes in all the big obnoxious lawyers and FTC people. No fear. No surrender. Emera on the back foot, a multi-billion dollar company. How you chase her way I don’t know.

I see somebody say they waiting for Browne response? You will be waiting in vain. Browne can’t comment. He too wants to sell you electricity at the same high feed in tariffs. His silence is assured by his deal with the Devil (government). I was hoping to hear what he had to say too. He surfaced this week to talk about houses, but not a word about electricity. Must be busy planting canes.

Every man has his price – something MAM understands very well. Everybody waiting to see what MAM will offer Watson.

9. “The previous Decades of deceit: How successive BLP and DLP governments have colluded to bury corruption blog exposes the objective of successive governments. Continue to pander to the narrow interest of capital and to hell with the masses.”

You can’t bury corruption when it is still living and thriving.
    When the Global economy is squeezed the local economy is squeezed,
    when energy costs rise the poorest are squeezed more.
    Eventually a breaking point is reached and a revolution to replace Government and corruption will occur.

10. “Senator tells govt to be open about rising electricity costs

An Independent Senator has warned the government to have a frank and sober conversation with Barbadians about the likely cost of electricity as the country transitions to alternative energy, and the impact on poor households if power bills become unaffordable.
    Senator Crystal Drakes, in her contribution to debate on the Electricity Supply Bill 2024 in the Upper House, said: “I want to highlight that there’s another element of the system that also is not being taken into consideration in terms of the cost to the end consumer.”
    The economist reminded the Senate that when the 2030 agenda for the shift away from fossil fuels was pushed, consumers were given the impression that alternative energy would be cheaper.
    “There needs to be a clear, frank conversation with Barbadians about the electricity costs in the next three to five years, because the economic argument around moving towards renewable energy was that we were going to save foreign exchange because we are no longer going to import the level of fossil fuels that we had in the past.
    She added: “But if in the interim, fuel costs remain in the system . . . we are stuck somewhere at square one as it relates to cost.”
    According to the senator, Barbadians were still paying some of the highest electricity rates in the Caribbean with only Bermuda and The Bahamas paying more.
    She pointed out: “The question overall then has to be what energy system design gives us the most affordable energy – given the renewable energy targets that we have – that is reliable? . . .
    What is the energy design that allows us to at least optimise our ability to move towards renewables, get the price down, and still maintain a reliable grid that allows for the smooth running of Barbados? “Because from the time you have an unstable grid, everything goes haywire. Ask the people in places like South Africa that have to do load shedding, where you have to shut down one place so that you can bring online another place . . . . We cannot manage our electricity system in that way, so there needs to be reliability.”
    The economist told the Senate that to grow economically, the country required energy. However, she stressed that if Barbadians cannot afford the cost of electricity, it would lead to a rise in poverty.
    “If we are building in cost that both includes fossil fuels and feed in tariffs, then we have to then look at things like subsidised rates for lower-income households – for instance, households that have more than seven persons below a certain income bracket,” Drakes said. “Those are the types of policies that we would have to start to look at so that the people at the bottom, the people who simply cannot afford – not the ones running ACs all day long, but the people who have a certain standard of living – are kept above something that is dignified in Barbados.” (IMC1)”

Source: BT

11. Senator Nichols response is baffling

12. I don’t believe a word of what came out of Lisa Cummins’ mouth, or that of Gregory Nicholls.

13. Gregory Nicholls want St Thomas seat. And he don’t want MaM to expose why she move he from chairing Transport Board. That is why he gotta sing loudest, ask how far to bend over, how high to jump, and make sure his head is far far up MaM behind and his nose is noticeably brown. And he don’t care if he look asinine doing it.

Dear God never let him get a ministry in this Buhbadus.

Cummins should never ever be in the people parliament. She is a crap talking condescending fool sucking on bajan’s teats.

Bajans does accept too much sh#t masquerading as chocolate.

Engineers bout here quiet quiet hiding behind a retiree and hoping to get at a turn at the trough.

This country sick sick.

14. Didn’t Nicholls collect a black eye in the arbitration matter between that Marcia Weekes sponsored dance event and the NCF -NIFCA? What recommends him to be a player anyway. His bow tie?

15. @Hants

BOTH political parties are responsible for the lack of urgency and dysfunctional governance of RE. Under the DLP it was a pro private sector Darcy Boyce and under this government it is a level
    Of incompetence in implementing and enforcing fit for purpose policies.

16. Reading between the lines it seems the general consensus is the public is being shafted by big business working in collusion with Government and Tricia Watson is good at identifying bullshit and holding bullshitters to account.

Perhaps nationalising the energy industry is the way to go for future planning as the costs for solar energy to replace more expensive electricity are getting lower.

A project to replace the national grid with solar energy would be a green initiative and better for the environment.

17. @ Bush Tea

When you hear phrases like a guarantee 10 % return dont leave it there ask how? So is it a 10% net of tax? Is it net of finace cost on implementation? In other words this 10% could infact be a gross of 15% to us the tax payers.

The details are in the fine print and the unspoken!

18. Why would the government be minded to nationalize IF one of the reasons the Electric Bill 2024 seeks to marginalize intervenors in order to protect the confidentiality of investors?

19. “Why would the government be minded to nationalize IF one of the reasons the Electric Bill 2024 seeks to marginalize intervenors in order to protect the confidentiality of investors?”

these faceless investors implies big bucks for profits for a small minority of greedy fat bastards..

painting a picture with broad brush strokes.. the point I was touching on about (nationalisation) was for best interests of the people not Government’s which could imply a change of Government would be needed to serve people interests and not the self serving bunch of hippos who provide lip service when electioneering and begging for votes with empty promises of radical changes that are soon forgotten

nationalism socialism communism marxism are all dirty words to the rich capitalist piggies in the western hemisphere.

when Gil Scott-Heron sang the Revolution will not be televised he was talking about a revolution of the mind

20. I meant nationalisation not nationalism

21. “Every man has his price – something MAM understands very well. Everybody waiting to see what MAM will offer Watson.”

In the past, Mia has correctly estimated the price of a number of individuals and successfully executed the purchases.

One has to know what is a man’s price for a purchase to be successful. Some men would never take a penny but would accept an honor.

In our search for heroes and given that their occurrence are a few and far between we have often ignored the fact that an offer and acceptance occurred. Purchases need not be in currency.

Closing our eyes and awarding accolades and honors cannot change the fact that some were bought.

22. Hell gine break loose sooner rather than later as energy is a major input cost. Prepare for the coming dark day as Hamas retaliates and we continue to import to survive.

23. The pride has gone Avatar
    The pride has gone

Nicholls speech in the debate was one of the most frightening speeches that I have heard.

It was not the speech of a Malcolm X or a freedom fighter and it was not a call of defiance or an appeal to the pride of our people. As I I could see our people on their bellies and crawling with their exposed buttocks in the air as we searched or FDI.

Our education has robbed us of our manhood and pride and our ambition has driven us to prostitution

24. When we say, “Every man has his price” doesn’t that include the one who says it?

If it does, then……. what the hell are we on about?

25. It’s obvious that we can go about the place telling the world what to do but we can’t or don’t know what to do with our own problems. We read recently that we can train boat builders, who will eventually be able to build boats for the global market. Do honestly think that countries that dominate the global fishing industry, is waiting on our people to be trained in boat building , to build boats for them.
    Lets get the fishing industry back on its feet first.

26. I’ll say it again for those in the back – if we accept that everybody can be bought off, then we admit that we too can be bought off.

And if we too can be bought off, then what right have we to condemn?

Just asking!

27. @ John A
    “The details are in the fine print and the unspoken!”
    ~~~~~~~~~
    Perfectly correct.
    Although, in Brassbados, it does not even matter if those details are spoken or written – since brass bowls are VERY open to being dumped on…

Case in point – from a casual scan of the current rate hearings…
    Do you know that the current phase of the electricity rate hearings has nothing to do with ‘rates’? ….but is all about the fact that EMERA has been caught with their hands in the electric cookie jar – TO THE TUNE OF OVER $100 MILLION?
    – Apparently. this includes $100M from some insurance fund, and another $18M from a tax rebate which was apparently given by government.

Apparently, the FTC ruled that (unlike how we treat common criminals who divert funds illegally) they will be required to pay back every cent.

This is what the company is appealing in court.

Have you seen any serious or detailed reporting or analysis of this issue in the Press?

Bushie sees every damn day when some hungry parro (complete with photo and handcuffs) is sent up for taking up a corn beef and some eclipse from Massy,
    …or when some bank clerk diverts a couple hundred to their own account – because they had determined that they could better utilise those excess funds…

..BUT when $116 Million is stolen from the electric cookie jar, AND VERIFIED BY THE FTC ….there is NO NEWS….

But then if you were a FOREIGN OWNED news agency, essentially doing the same damn thing, how could this be news…?

A people ALWAYS get exactly what they deserve.

What a place
    What a curse

28. @ Rusty
    Hell gine break loose sooner rather than later as energy is a major input cost. Prepare for the coming dark day as Hamas retaliates and we continue to import to survive.
    ~~~~~~~~~
    Prophetic.

29. The price may appear to be well within the reach of others but some of us are not looking to buy/sell anything. Just gazers.

30. @ David
    Nicholls is a ‘good’ lawyer.
    THAT should explain everything.

Is that not someone who can, with a straight face, defend whatever position supports your paying client’s case?
    Bushie listens to NONE of these people – except to assess their oratory skills, and their professional ability to lie with deep conviction.

Always mindful that they WILL do an equal BUT OPPOSITE job, when paid from the OTHER side of the issue.
    That we have put our National affairs into such hands – is the TRUE ‘curse’…

Barrow was correct about the only remedy for lawyers – of sending them on a one-way cruise…

31. Everyone has a price does not mean that everyone can be bought or that their price is on display and easily discernible.

Some may be tempted to offer an individual a ton of cash, but a simple dinner with flying fish, cuckoo. some beer and a good conversation may be preferable to some.

32. I have noticed that the tenor of the Bajan voice is changing.
    I have noticed that though some seem still willing to go along with fancy and empty phrases these same folks are now willing to point out the problems within the system.

Brains are beginning to work. Fancy footwork is no longer fooling some and we are getting an admission that problems exist. We are beginning to hear voices registering protests and we have seen a few who are willing to take to the streets.

It appears that the CIA has recognized the upward trajectory of the people’s minds and actions and has urged Mia to increase the size of her standing army. A wasted 61-0 heading to an arrogant dictatorship and a suppression of a people’s right.

The worst thing that happened to Barbados was handing arrogant fools 61-0. Instead of seeing it as the people’s call for action, they decided it gave them an opportunity for unlimited abuse of the people.

33. Wondering how some of these guys have the ability to wake up everyday and come here. Truths issue from them like water flowing in a river, but their words seem to fall on porous dry and parched land. No sooner does it hit the ground than it disappears into thin air.

To name a few, I hope the WS, BT NO, JA and TB do not get frustrated and tired.
    May 000 (my hero) put away his bong and stay off the evil stuff.
    (Why did i have to add that last sentence. I don’t know. I gotta be me)
    -x-
    Have a great day Barbados

34. To become wise and knowledgeable nowadays you have to ask the right questions on google and possess the master key for the search engine to unlock pertinent info for the right answers for the future doom gloom prophecy moaning, weeping and wailing and gnashing of teeth, and all that..

here’s is a sample question or two

> how does energy supply affect cost of living

Of those who reported a rising cost of living, 79% cited higher gas and electricity bills as a cause. The uncertainty effect indicates that fluctuations in energy prices increase the uncertainty in the expectations of consumers about future economic conditions and lead them to postpone their purchases of durable goods.

> durable goods

Durable goods are also classified as items that have long periods between successive purchases. They usually include cars, home appliances, consumer electronics, furniture, sports equipment, firearms and toys. When durable goods are selling well, it generally indicates a positive economy.

so put that in your pipe and smoke it

35. @Donna

It is a saying which must be taken against a background. All of us have a price but it about a threshold and appetite that separate fish from fowl.

36. Interesting to see the newly minted legal counsel Sade Jemmott has joined the FTC in that matter Bush Tea.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2024/09/26/fsc-seeks-to-join-light-power-rate-case/amp/

37. You know what GP use to posit to the blog- pressure does burst pipes.

38. @BushT
    Didn’t it take a foreign Caricom journalist to pen the article on CBL? And the aftermath…the land at Paradise sold first to Pharliciple, and then one is told to something like Blue Development, which according to Avi “is in court”, have you read of those proceedings in the press?
    Haven’t you read where they are calling for the 6 month report of the NISSS?
    Bajans got nuff nuff money, small potatoes like money getting teef, or missing isn’t news. Steupse.
    To besides, the local newsfolk having to travel to St.Lucy daily for updates on the Dental College, and checking the new hotel at SixMens. The studious have a new 1200 page Maritime Bill to peruse.

39. “Interesting to see the newly minted legal counsel Sade Jemmott has joined the FTC in that matter Bush Tea”.
    ~~~~~~~~~
    LOL @ David
    Look closely at the latest motion being argued about ‘new evidence’ to be submitted by BL&P.
    It seems that part of the company’s defence is that they were given permission in writing, to hand over the money to EMERA by the FTC and FSC among other agencies.. EVEN THOUGH IT WAS CLEARLY CONTRARY TO THE LAW.

Talk ‘bout a place crazy as shiite!!!

40. @Bush Tea

It boggles the mind a competent regulator would have approved monies to be remitted to Canada maintained in that fund to manage pole and support infrastructure. We cannot make this stuff up.

41. Part of the problem is that our lone Barbados consumer body cannot even agree greater effort needs to be made to accommodate the people’s voice in the process via intervenors.

42. ” Nation Update: Felicia Dujon visits Hilda Skeene “

43. David
    The regulator as we call them can only approve, if required, monies be removed/transferred from accounts requiring such approval. Emera do not want Bajan dollars? So someone else would have to approve the funds be converted to FX?

44. @NO

The FTC is the regulator.

If BL&P have increased the class of pole to combat aggressive climate conditions, greater reason to have left the reserve funds untouched?

45. @ David
    @NO knows what he is talking about…
    FSC and Central Bank would have had to approve.

If this was just a movie, rational viewers would characterize it as being MUCH too far fetched and divorced from rational reality.

But even more uncanny, is the REACTION (total lack of it) from both the public and the responsible authorities to this situation.

BUT let Vybz Kartel visit… and see the interest.

Obviously where there is NO ONE looking out for the interest of the public, we all know how the screw will turn…into the consumers.

Our legislators are actually changing this Law to protect their foreign investor friends from the prying eyes of the paying public…

What a time …
    The Bible did say that the time will come when;
    -The first will be last, and the last will be first. (Eva shiite upside down)
    -That ‘Good’ will be ‘Evil’, and evil, good.

What a prediction!!
    What a sign!

46. @Bush Tea

Do the regulators in Barbados operate independently? A lowly blogmaster is asking.