The Caribbean Court of Justice vs The Privy Council: Implications for the Indian Diaspora
Submitted by Dr. Kumar Mahabir

Recent rulings by the Privy Council in England on Caribbean cases have, once again, raised questions about whether local courts can be truly trusted to make impartial judgements, and the integrity of local magistrates and judges. Courts follow a hierarchical structure and must oblige by the precedent set by the highest court for that jurisdiction as set out in a country’s constitution. 

Once upon a time, the Judicial Committee of the Privy Council was the final court of appeal for all territories of the British Empire. As countries became independent over the course of the 20th century, many dropped the colonial body in favour of a domestic alternative. Ireland, Canada, India and South Africa were among the first to establish their judicial sovereignty, and 22 more were added to that list from 1933 to 2015. However, eight Commonwealth realms and three republics still utilise the decisions of Her Majesty’s Lords.

Eight of the territories that rely on the Privy Council are in the Caribbean. An alternate, the Caribbean Court of Justice (CCJ), was established in 2001. But nations of the region have been reluctant to acquiesce to the Treaty. Only Guyana, Barbados, Belize and Dominica have done so. The Court, however, functions and adjudicates on matters relating to the revised Treaty of Chaguaramas, which also established the Caribbean Single Market and Economy (CSME). 

Despite the fact that the CCJ is seated in Port of Spain, Trinidad and Tobago is most reluctant to accept the CCJ. Trinidad and Tobago is joined by the commonwealth realms: Grenada, St Vincent, St Lucia, Antigua, St Kitts, Jamaica and Bahamas, who still have Her Majesty the Queen as Head of State. With nationalist Barbados and Guyana becoming the regional powerhouse, the debate between the Privy Council versus the CCJ has intensified. This was the subject of our Indo-Caribbean Cultural Centre (ICC) ZOOM discussions.

The following are excerpts from our ICC Thought Leaders’ Public Forum held on 3/07/22. The program was chaired by Charlene Maharaj and moderated by Shalima Mohammed, both from Trinidad. The topic was “The Caribbean Court of Justice vs The Privy Council: Implications for the Indian Diaspora”. See the unedited recording of the program 

https://www.youtube.com/@dmahab/streams

DR. DEREK O’BRIEN (UK) said: “I think the closest that Trinidad has come to replacing the Privy Council with the CCJ was a suggestion back in 2012 that it would use the CCJ only for criminal appeals. So, as it stands, I think it’s going to be a while before any of the other countries in the region replace the Privy Council with the CCJ.”

BARRISTER ROWAN PENNINGTON‑BENTON (UK) said: “I think actually that the Privy Council here now has quite a lot of cases remotely, and I think that was sped up really by Covid, so I mean that gets over perhaps some of the accessibility points … but I think the main points of principle were rightly raised by Dr O’Brien. I think my central point is just that I wonder whether there will be changes in practices of these institutions that might help the CCJ to move its position forward.”

DR. HON. JUSTICE ANTHONY GAFOOR (Trinidad) said: “Barrister Richard Clayton, KC, said that logic suggests that replacing the Privy Council with the CCJ is not a question of whether or not it is possible, but it requires widespread support. Look at the example of the Brexit vote, which of course has caused all sorts of issues within the UK. The desire to take back control through the private consciousness is a sentiment expressed by many people, but as Richard Clayton says, it can only work if that development chimes with the national mood and aspirations.”

ATTORNEY GANESH SAROOP (Trinidad) – substituting for Senator Attorney Jayanti Lutchmedial – said: “We really have to get things right at the lower level before we can engage and focus our minds on the CCJ. You have to get things right on a basic level before we can take it to a higher level. To move up, you have to creep before you walk, and we are not necessarily doing a good job at creeping at this stage, because there are fundamental mishaps in our justice system as it currently stands.”

DR. INDIRA RAMPERSAD (Trinidad) said: “In my opinion, I believe that accession to the CCJ is inevitable. We are going to need a special majority and will need to poll the public through means of public opinion avenues like a referendum, because I believe it is the democratic way to go, but alas, we don’t have that provision in our constitution. Those islands such as Jamaica have it, but they will have to amend the constitution and bring about the question of constitutional reform in the process. So, the debate will be going on and on, around and around, but we need to ultimately get the facts clear.”

19 responses to “CCJ versus the Privy Council”

1. Either way you may look at it makes no difference to the average Joe.

Whether the privy council or the Caribbean Court of Justice, as final court, the same level of unblinded injustice happens.

An injustice which sees politics, class interests, the influence by power centres, a following of the same immoral ethos, etc

How many times has this region sought to find definition in structures which were or are carbon copies of the colonials and all that happens is a mimicking of what was.

Certainly, as long as the general culture of the regional regime is informed by the law lords is the length of time we’ll be fooling ourselves.

2. Terence M Blackett Avatar
    Terence M Blackett

IN A WORLD WHERE BLACK IS WHITE & WHITE IS BLACK WITH NO GREY AREAS – NO WONDER THE MADNESS CONTINUES UNABATED! THE LAW IS A JACKASS & THE OUTRIDERS INCLUDING THE HORSES & CARRIAGES ARE ALL COMPROMISED ENTITIES! JUSTICE IS A “TWO TIER TOWER” FROM WHICH JUSTICE IS METED OUT ACCORDING TO THE WHIM & FANCIES OF MEN IN FROCKS WITH AN ASININE WIG ON THEIR HEADS! THE SUPER RICH HAVE THEIR OWN INFAMOUS FORM OF JUSTICE WHILE THE POOR, MARGINALIZED & WORKING CLASSES SINK UNDER THE WEIGHT OF LEGAL TYRANNY & OPPRESSIVE LAWFARE

Listening to #PierMorgan & #AndrewTate 4 days ago, I am convinced that the position I hold is as “SACROSANCT” as gravity – for when you see the “INFIGHTING” amongst so-called “INTELLIGENT HUMANS” & as cited in this piece, between “OFFICERS OF THE COURT” – you know the world has truly “GONE 2 HELL IN A PAN CART”!!!

In a Shakespearean “MUSE” of “UTTER SARCASM” – this was my commentary to both “PIERS” & “ANDREW”!!!

#GothamCity is truly ruled by the #CriminallyINSANE* – where the #Inmates of the #ArkhamAsylum run the place with the #JokerAtTheHELM* & #Batman draped & covered by his wings has gone into #Hibernation – sleeping blissfully unaware in his cave #UpsidedDown!!!

So as the world turns, #TwoAlphaHeGoats in an “ALL-OUT” #VerbalSpittingMatch – #LockingHorns & #ButtingHeads over a #StormInATeaCupScenario that would be “DEEMED” as #TerminalVelocity, if & when it reaches the “DEVIL’S PLAYGROUND” of #UkraineVersusRussia or vice versa!!!

Meantime, the #DustHasSettled & the #AcridSmokeHasCleared and the (DIS) #UnitedKingdom of #Amnesia & #Paranoia bobs & weaves along at the bottom of #Atlantis in a #SubterreanWorld of #MindlessDistanciation, #BlatantSophistry & #StifflingIntrigue!!!

#WhatAPlace
    #WhatACuntry
    #WhatACurse

WHAT’S THE NEXT TOPIC OF DISCUSSION???

3. @TB

Trying to relate your concern to that of the author?

Do you agree the CCJ is a more relevant organ for dispensing relevant justice in the region compared to the privy council?

4. “IN A WORLD WHERE BLACK IS WHITE & WHITE IS BLACK WITH NO GREY AREAS – NO WONDER THE MADNESS CONTINUES UNABATED! ”

it’s called Apartheid and Segregation and White Supremacy Racism and Colonialism, as practiced in USA, Israel, Australia, UK, Canada from 1444 to 2024

You can see white racists now calling themselves news services with their twisted warped biased prejudiced reasoning on social media

You can see right wing politics against liberals with their spin lies and denials about truth of their racist dog whistles

Racist white people don’t like #BlackLivesMatter movement which has all colours defending black peoples basic rights of equality truth and justice

One Step More..

400 years of victimisation
    Struggling down here in Babylon
    My people you got to be strong
    Just like the Conquering Lion
    The Hanging Tree
    Take them to hanging tree
    Take oppressors to the hanging tree
    I and I people want to be free

5. Terence M Blackett Avatar
    Terence M Blackett

IN A WORLD OF CALCULATED CHAOS & CONFUSION – THE CRUCIBLE OF ALL COSSWOBBLE IS BEING PLAYED OUT WHERE – LEFT v RIGHT; WHITE v BLACK; POOR v RICH; WARMONGERS v PEACEMAKERS & ON & ON IT GOES!!! A CLASH OF CIVILIZATIONS AWAITING ULTIMATE RUIN TO SIMPLY DISAPPEAR INTO THE ETHEREAL DUSTBIN OF HISTORY – NEVER TO BE REMEMBERED FOR ANYTHING GOOD (OTHER THAN THE MADNESS OF HUMAN FOLLY)

We have been “WARNED” that the “LOVE OF MONEY” is at the “ROOT”, “BARK”, “BRANCHES” & “LEAVES” of “ALL EVIL” – for men will sell their own “MOTHER” for a small piece of paper according to the “O’JAYS”!!!

Every facet of human existence “BOILS” down to $$$Dollars & CENTS* – where some of us have more “WORTHLESS TOILET PAPER” than we have “SENSE” – for men keep building air castles & houses of cards upon foundations of sand – no wonder it all ends in “TRAGEDY”!!!

Today, exposing the #SYNA_GOG_OF_SATAN comes with a “HIGH” price (PAST & PRESENT)!!! Anyone that’s anyone, who tries will face the “WRATH” of those who hold the “HIGHEST SEATS” in the “TEMPLE OF THE BLACK DRAGON” – as has been proven since the 14th century & today, this “GROUP” of “SATANISTS” continue their nefarious roles in every dubiously “EVIL” enterprise on earth!!!

They control #POLYTRICKS* #ReLIEgion #PoLIEtics #eCONomics #EnterTAINMENT #EDU_TAINMENT #BIG AGRO #BIGBIZ #BIGPHARMA #BIGMONEY & the entire raft of “SERPENTINE PILLARS” that hold up this crumbling edifice we called “PRISON-PLANET EARTH”!!!

Anyone who gives a “FLYING FISH” about anything in this “DESPICABLY EVIL, WICKED & CORRUPT WORLD” will have a “TERMINAL AWAKENING” of antediluvian proportions not long from now, as the world takes a bedevilled turn into the abyss!!!

In the “IMMORTAL WORDS” of that wise king (SOLOMON): “EAT, DRINK, LET YOUR HEART BE MERRY & ENJOY THE WIFE OF YOUR YOUTH; LET HER BREAST SATISFY YOU & BE ALWAYS LAVISHED WITH HER LOVE – FOR GOD WILL BRING EVERY WORK INTO JUDGMENT” (#WhetherGoodOrEvil)!!!

LET US THEN HEAR THE CONCLUSION OF THE WHOLE MATTER:

FEAR GOD; KEEP HIS COMMANDMENTS – FOR THIS IS THE WHOLE DUTY OF MAN!!!

Anything more or anything less, is just “A HOT, STEEMING PILE OF BULL CRAP”!!!

6. Terence M Blackett Avatar
    Terence M Blackett

Good Afternoon in my neck of the woods…

#GoodMorning where you are…

QUESTION: “Do you agree the CCJ is a more relevant organ for dispensing relevant justice in the region compared to the privy council?”

ANSWER: I don’t know…

To be perfectly “BLUNT” – I am not even sure, if I really care!!!

I obey “GOD’S LAW” to the “HILT” (yet I am not “PERFECT”) – however, I am often in “CONTENTION” with “MAN’S SO-CALLED LAWS” because the “TWO” conflict in varying degrees of “LATITUDE”, “MAGNITUDE” & “ALTITUDE”, & if the “GOOD FOLKS” like #TwoTierHerrStarmer has his own way – I may be “ARRESTED” by the “Secret Services” for “LANGUAGE” that can be “CONSTRUED” as “ANTI-ESTABLISHMENT”; “ANTI-BRITISH”; “ANTI-STATE” & all the other “OXYMORONIC” cliches used to justify the “MADNESS OF LAWFARE”!!!

#ButThenWhoTheHellCARES*

Anything worth living for is worth “DYING” for (in the words of the (“ANCIENT PROPHETS”)!!!

#HopeThatHelps

7. @TB

You have to care about law and order, particularly how justice is meted out. The blogmaster was looking forward to a relevant comment from you on the issue at hand given where you are perched in the ‘mother county’.

8. LOL @ David
    What Law and Order what??!!
    Boss, ‘Law and Order’ is defined by what a set of elected jackasses in Parliament decides on the spur of the moment.

As a result, the FOCUS of these final courts simply reflects the current biases of the idiots in charge.
    Political bias in the USA, Racial bias in the Privy Council and insularity in the CCJ.

Have to agree with TB that these are all just a lotta shiite institutions, and that some SUPREME concept of justice is required, if we are to maintain some basic sanity,

Hard to have faith in such basic idiocy…

9. Terence M Blackett Avatar
    Terence M Blackett

“The blogmaster was looking forward to a relevant comment from you on the issue at hand given where you are “PERCHED” in the ‘mother county’…”

#ROFLMBO

#ILuvUBigBruh – you are such a #HotMess!!!

You absolutely “CRACK ME UP” & that’s why after almost 15 years on BU – I have the greatest “RESPECT” for you as an “ADVOCATE” of “FREE SPEECH”!!!

#LookBruh, in my “UNDERGRADUATE YEAR”, I read law & criminology and was oftentimes the most “VOCAL CAT IN THE LECTURE HALLS” – upsetting the learned tutors with provocative questions & hearing “GASPS” from my fellow class mates at the “DISSIDENT VIEWS” I held as a “BLACK BOY FROM THE WEST INDIES” who spoke with an American accent!!!

Most thought that my “POST ANTEBELLUM NARRATIVE” was a salacious tangential harbinger of what “AFRICAN AMERICANS” felt in the wake of the Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade; “JIM CROW” & the malevolent abnegation caused by segregation!!!

In America, (the “LAND OF THE SUPPOSED FREE & THE HOME OF THE SLAVES”) – this is how “LAWS” affected our people:

Jim Crow Laws (1876 -1965): Segregationist laws enforced racial segregation in public facilities, transportation, education, and employment, perpetuating racial discrimination and inequality

War on Drugs (1970s -1980s): Harsh sentencing policies, particularly mandatory minimum sentences and crack cocaine sentencing disparities, led to mass incarceration and disproportionately affected Black communities (BIDEN & HARRIS SHOULD HOLD THEIR HEADS IN SHAME)

Black Codes (1865 -1877): Post-Civil War laws aimed to re-enslave freedmen, restricting their rights and freedoms, and perpetuating racial control

Vagrancy Laws (18th -19th centuries): Laws criminalizing poverty and homelessness disproportionately targeted Black people, leading to forced labor and imprisonment

Convict Leasing (1865 -1928): Prisons leased prisoners, often Black people, to private companies, perpetuating forced labor and exploitation

NEXT UP: THE WEST INDIES & I’LL LEAVE BRITANNIA OUT OF THE MIX

The Slave Code of 1661 in Barbados, defined #BlackAfricans as “HEATHENS” & “BRUTES” unfit to be governed by the same laws as “PALESKIN CHRISTIANS” – cementing their subjugation!!!

The Caribbean was where chattel slavery took its most extreme judicial form. The Slave Code & similar laws in other islands, such as Jamaica & St. Lucia, institutionalized the notion that enslaved Africans were “PROPERTY”, rather than human beings. This led to brutal treatment, forced labor, & family separation (HARBINGERS THAT STILL AFFECT OUR PEOPLE TODAY)!!!

The sugar plantations of the Caribbean, owned & operated primarily by European “COLONIZERS”, relying heavily on enslaved Black labor. The region became a major supermarket for enslaved Africans, with Barbados & South Carolina in the United States developing large-scale Black populations (THROUGH SLAVE BREEDING PLANTATIONS WHERE THE GUY WITH THE BIGGEST DOGGIE BECAME THE VILLAGE RAM). Enslavement became the primary institution for social & economic governance in that part of the hemisphere!!!

The legacy of slavery continues to shape the lives of Caribbean Blacks today. The historical trauma & systemic inequalities perpetuated during slavery have resulted in ongoing disparities in areas such as:

(1) Economic opportunities & wealth distribution
    (2) Access to proper education & good healthcare
    (3) Political representation & decision-making power
    (4) Social & cultural marginalization
    (5) The “UNJUST BURDEN” of carrying the entire world’s economic system on the “SCARRED BACKS” of our “ANCIENT FORBEARS” – (SLAVISH LABOR FOR 400 YEARS WITHOUT A PAYCHECK) – yet you tell me that I have no reasons to take the “PISS”, or be “ANGRY” as a “SKUNK”!!!

#Cmon

The Caribbean’s history of slavery & colonialism has led to a disproportionate burden on Black communities, perpetuating cycles of poverty, inequality, & marginalization – hence the region’s criminal justice system, in particular, continues to be criticized for its biased decision-making & discriminatory practices, which have contributed to the over-representation of “BLACK MEN” in prisons & the criminal justice system (A SPIN-OFF FROM THE DAMNABLE EFFECT OF FORCED SLAVERY & INCARCERATION & THE INJUSTICE METED OUT WHEN TRYING TO FIGHT AGAINST IT OR TO SIMPLY RUN AWAY)!!!

My conclusion does not need a bibliographical spreadsheet regarding either the “BRITISH PRIVY COUNCIL” or the “CARIBBEAN COURT OF JUSTICE” – as both institutions are “2 CHEEKS ON THE SAME BACKSIDE”!!!

The complexity of the legal system, with its numerous rules & customs, is often perceived as a source of confusion, leading to frustration & the sense that the law is arbitrary & capricious – ask #KingCharles, he should know, based on this often “MUTED MAXIM” – “PREROGATIVA REGIS”!!!

Maybe, the “GLOBAL ALLIANCE FOR RESPONSIBLE MEDIA” would also be “VIRTUE-SIGNALLING” with the “LABEL” of “DISINFORMATION” given my “RANTS” about pretty much “EVERYTHING”!!!

#BlameItOn5G

10. The Zionist regime and its fervent America tail which this dog wags is about to be subjected to the divine punishment of the Islamic Republic of Iran.

This judgement will last for three or four days and should it not be accepted with the humility befitting of a child recognizing its wrong path, then the likelihood of the use of nuclear weapons will loom large.

We’re talking in the wake of the American/NATO sponsored fascists in Ukraine having attempted to set off a nuclear incident by bombing the Kursk nuclear power plant, ten times in size of Chernobyl. Russian Federation nuclear weapons doctrine has thusly been breached.

In the case of West Asia where only today the Zionist again killed another 120 people, including children, while they were praying. Could you imagine how the Western, Zionist media would have gone off should roles be reversed.

Such was the devastation of the 2000 pounds of explosives in this bomb that no whole dead bodies of the 120 killed were found. Families were simply handed unrecognizable bags of human flesh.

Weeeee have long parted company with Bushie. Our determination was that his specious notion about karmic justice cannot, has been and will always be not susceptible to other cosmic forces.

His was tooo simplistic an enduring notion. For no sets of forces other than that which he proposes operate in this way anywhere in the universes.

As we write reports are coming in that the Ukrainians breached the Kursk nuclear power plant.

On Iran however, given the determination that the Zionists are intent on having their way with the Palestinians and in the absence of which they are fully prepared to deploy the Sampson Option, and given that Russia and China are legally obliged to bring their nuclear armaments to the defense of Iran. Well, the outcome is therefore pelucid.

Indeed, all told, we say twice so!

11. @Pacha…
    “Weeeee have long parted company with Bushie. Our determination was that his specious notion about karmic justice cannot, has been and will always be not susceptible to other cosmic forces.”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Where did Bushie ever suggest that karmic justice was not susceptible to other cosmic forces?
    IT SURELY IS!!
    In fact, this is the VERY POINT of project ‘Life on Earth’.

Karmic justice (reaping what you sow) is the ground rule of Nature.
    WE have collectively CHOSEN albino-centric styled brassbowlery (the love of money, greed, selfishness, spite, war etc) as the seeds that we want to plant, and AS A RESULT, MUST EXPECT to reap the appropriate fruit.

However..
    THE GOOD NEWS (Gospel of Christ) is that this karmic justice is no longer an INEVITABLE CONSEQUENCE of this BASIC ground rule – and that COMPLETELY DIFFERENT consequences can now be achieved – THROUGH the ‘cosmic force’ called the GRACE OF GOD.

WRT Gaza…
    When helpless Africans were being trafficked across the Sahara for 1300 years there may have been no Aljazeera to spread the news of the wickedness nightly; no Refugee Agencies to provide tents and water; and no ‘Doctors without borders’ to help the victims – BUT SURELY YOU CAN IMAGINE THE TERROR, THE PAIN, THE FEAR of those children, parents, elders – for GENERATIONS…. one thousand three hundred years to be exact…
    Even if YOU can’t, KARMA can, so…..

The children of these ‘Trans-Sahara’ demons have now been treated like animals for the last 10 MONTHS – by EVEN GREATER SAVAGES called ‘Israelis’ – only this time, in the FULL GLARE OF THE GLOBAL PUBLIC. This is how Karma works… in ‘mysterious ways’..

Common sense should tell you that these current Israeli monsters will will SHORTLY reap their just (and you can expect – EVEN MORE HEARTLESS) rewards- in coming months.

Trans Atlantic Reparations
    More critically, the Trans Atlantic Demons are also overdue in reaping THEIR just rewards. THEIR ‘reparations’ will not be measured in ‘dollars’ as Sir Cave Hillary and company seem to hope, but in currencies of TERROR, very similar to what THEY dispensed when they planted their seeds of greed and hate…

It will NOT be pretty – this is why the book of Revelation is NOT a painter of ‘pretty’ pictures…. Bushie’s apologies to the soft-hearted…

Finally, Karma ALSO works for INDIVIDUALS.
    Warning all wunna brass bowls doing the lotta shiite and thinking that wunna got away with the lotta loot in the bank, ..got away from our shiite justice system, ..got away with the acclaim of equally wicked brass bowls who condone your wickedness….

Karma’s patience is long (a chance for you to access the GRACE that is on offer) – but her vengeance is sure….

What a time to be alive…

12. The stupid stupid _ _ _ _ is still rambling on and on with his white tropes memes psyops Christian misinformation about slave trade

Nelson Reggae Mandela names and shames the real enemy to the black man

Under pressure
    Black people under pressure
    In a South Africa
    Them a murderer

13. The Blogmaster may be too soft hearted to ban your donkey from BU,
    but you can rest assured that Karma has your little Asian burro in sight….

14. Waiting for you to stop repeating your foolishness instead of doubling down repeating the same point over and over.
    When you are wrong you are really really wrong

It went over your head that Mandela and South Africans supported Palestine for a good reason and still do in the current genocide times.

It was Cuba and Palestine who helped liberate them

If it was up to countries like USA UK Israel,
    South Africa would still be under Apartheid

So don’t expect the white devils to free anyone

15. This is out of your league Kiki… There is no music video for this level of understanding.

So Mandela and South Africans supported Palestine over Israel… true…but who the Hell was Mandela? … He had power over Karma?
    ONLY one living man had THAT power – and this is explained in the GOOD NEWS (Gospel).

So NO contest..

ANY FAIR-MINDED persons (especially those who had THEMSELVES suffered similar subjugation) would be minded to make that choice of Palestine over Israel – Bushie supports that choice too…

BUT…
    This has NOTHING to do with the work of Karma, skippa.

Wuh, there are a lotta REALLY nice albino-centrics today too, ..that are nothing like their wicked trans Atlantic ancestors who built the foundation for their current status and comfort…
    Good luck if you think that Karma will just ‘let bygones be bygones’?
    Let’s say your great grand father planted a shiite tree, but since you are now a nice reggae-loving roots man, you expect that tree to produce mangoes…? ha ha ha

BTW..
    What Mandela what??!!
    South Africa (like Brassbados) is STILL under apartheid. The ANC (like the B/DLP) has been a massive failure…. mostly producing a lotta western-minded, crooked, opportunists since SA’s ‘liberation’.
    ..what is different, is that most (practically all) of the albino-centric manipulators are now BLACK skinned and albino centric of heart.
    …EXACTLY like the Israeli Holocaust ‘victims’ ….who have now become even worst animals than the NAZIs that tormented them…

What a world
    What a time

16. @Bush Tea

You prefer the apartheid regime of a Botha? It will take time.

17. @ David
    Hello??!!
    You may have been watching too many Kiki videos yuh…!!

18. “but you can rest assured that Karma has your little Asian burro in sight….”
    “This is out of your league Kiki… There is no music video for this level of understanding.”
    “Let’s say your great grand father planted a shiite tree, but since you are now a nice reggae-loving roots man, you expect that tree to produce mangoes…?”

You don’t know “karma” or “dharma”
    action in the form of prayer

“Jnana”
    “path of knowledge”, also known as the “path of self-realization”.

“Rāja” was both the goal of yoga and a method to attain it.

Bhakti is a spiritual path or spiritual practice focused on loving devotion towards any personal deity.

Karma can literally be translated as ‘action’. It refers to the metaphysical law that every action has an equal reaction. This reaction can either take place immediately or at some point in the future. Indian philosophy is characterized by the notion of infinity, implying reincarnation and rebirth. Therefore these karmic reactions operate across lifetimes. Good or virtuous actions will have good reactions and bad or vicious actions will have the opposite effect. Karma is determined by the accumulation of virtuous and vicious actions, which form a chain of cause and effect. In this infinite chain, three kinds of karma can be distinguished: past karma (Sanchit Karma), present karma (Prarabdha Karma) and future karma (Agami Karma).

As you can see, karma does not only entail what happens to you, as popularly believed. It operates on a more subtle level by determining the choices and duties you have in a particular situation. Good past karma creates a larger range of possibilities to choose from than bad past karma. Present karma determines the moment to make these choices. Future karma is affected by the choices you make.

Dharma can be described as ‘duty’ or ‘morality’. You can think of dharma as the power that maintains order and righteousness in society.

In conclusion, karma refers to an endless chain of actions and reactions. What actions are right are wrong depends on your dharma, your duties in life. Your duties, as well as your choices, are determined by past karma, and they inevitably come back in the present.