The blogmaster did a scan of the review and it is the same old. Growth realised was heavily reliant on the tourism sector and related services. Despite Dr. Greenidge’s flowery narratives that is the main take away.

Although achieving growth for which we are grateful, what about the inadequate numbers of sanitation trucks and buses to service the public? Telecoms that continue to take advantage of consumers? What about our pop down QEH?. Many other issues we have to get right to define what is fit for purpose government.

The blogmaster is not being deliberately obtuse, the reality for the man in the street is that our economic technocrats must demonstrate how it will work for the betterment of households.

#manyhandsmakelightwork

Blogmaster

The review provides an update on key economic indicators, including economic growth, the debt-to-GDP ratioinflation, the unemployment rate, and the level of international reserves, as well as information about Government’s fiscal performance in the first three months of fiscal year 2023/24 (April to June 2024).

Governor Greenidge also gives his outlook for the economy for the remainder of the year and takes questions from the media and members of the public.

Central Bank of Barbados

Review of Barbados’ Economy: January-June 2024

83 responses to “4.5% growth in Barbados’ economy for January-June 2024”

1. Terence M Blackett Avatar
    Terence M Blackett

REAL GDP GROWTH

https://www.imf.org/external/datamapper/NGDP_RPCH@WEO/OEMDC/ADVEC/WEOWORLD

Barbadian will not see any real growth however in their back pockets as “SLEIGHT-OF-HAND” eCONomic “TERRORISTS” give with one hand & take with the other (DOUBLE)!!!

2. Economists have still not learnt how to subtract.

Even when people dying, population aging, economists can only add

And neoliberalism and financialization have sent this irrationality inter outer space.

3. @ Pacha
    What the Hell is an economist?

Not just someone who plays around with numbers until they manage to arrive at some ‘output’ that satisfies the rhetoric of their paymasters?

‘GDP Growth’ is the current buzz-word…. (as if growth can be infinite in a VERY defined world, without serious consequences).

But GDP is a largely ACADEMIC concept.

for example…
    If we manage to import a few rich foreigners to come and become modern ‘plantation lords’, while exploiting locals with shiite wages and slave-like working conditions, the damn GDP INCREASES – due to the increase in economic activity (while the foreigners rake in huge profits) even though the brass bowls are sucking salt – while accumulating garbage at home, and waiting days for emergency hospital care.

Even ‘minimum wage’ is a poor measure of quality of life, since all the foreign plantation lords (like EMERA and LIME) do is to increase their prices – so that brass bowls are in an EVEN WORSE relative economic situation.

How hard can it be to conceptualize a measure for ‘quality of life’ that delineates a relative national standard of living – which reflects the situation of citizens, and hence a meaningful performance measure for politicians and technocrats?

..of course this approach may suggest that a REDISTRIBUTION of material assets FROM the overly rich, and towards the productive poor, is what is REALLY needed….

So Bushie has LITTLE interest in overpaid ‘economists’ talking shiite about ‘growth’, except in relation to their OWN salaries and perks….

4. Terence M Blackett Avatar
    Terence M Blackett

FROM THE MOTHER OF ALL “GRAND DADDY PERKS” (GDP) WHO ALWAYS INSIST ON “GOOD DEBT PAYMENTS” EVEN WHEN “GREAT DEPRESSION PROLEMS” LOOM ON THE HORIZON & THE “GREAT DELAY 2 PANDEMONIUM” KEEPS GETTING KICKED INTO THE LONG GRASS AS THESE MONETARY “GORILLAZ DONT PLAY” OR CARE LESS WHEN IT COMES TO “GROWTH DENYING POVERTY”

#ForgiveThePlayOnWords as acronymic citations is usually an #EastWind that assuages a torrent of “WRATH” when it comes to these “DIRTY BASTERDS” called “VAMPIRE EconOMIC HITMEN” who as the song says: “SUCK THE BLOOD OF THE SUFFERERS” until they themselves explode like rats who have ingested too much sodium bicarbonate!!!

On a more serious note, the “BUSHMAN” is correct and for anyone to accept that “RABID CONSUMERISM” is the be all & end all to life’s journey & that having more & more “USELESS STUFF” cluttering our lives is somehow an “ANTIDOTE” to the “MADNESS” in the playground between our 2 ears, have vastly comprised their own structural integrity – not knowing that a house built on sand will get blown down & washed away by the next hurricane!!!

If “POLIETICIANS” wanted a “PROPER YARDSTICK” to measure “HUMAN DEVELOPMENT INDEX” (HDI) or for that matter, “GENUINE PROGRESS INDICATOR” (GPI) – they would not be looking at a “GOOD DOGGIE PADDLE” (GDP) in determining whether it gives a good measure of standard of living for “CITIZENS”!!!

The “HAPPINESS INDEX” is the only true measure as it accounts for subjective well-being of the “MASSES” – while “GDP” only measures economic activity, “NOT PEOPLE’S HAPPINESS”, “LIFE SATISFACTION”, and in these “FRAZZLED, NERVOUS DEBILITATING TIMES” – something we now call: “PEOPLE’S MENTAL HEALTH” & its effects on both young & old alike!!!

GDP increases when an earthquake & other “SUPPOSED ACTS OF GOD” hits, requiring rebuilding, as it counts the “DESTRUCTION” as economic activity. This is why “WAR & BLOODSHED” are harbingers of “EconOMIC GROWTH” as “DEATH” means less “USED RESOURCES” & dilapidation initiates “REBUILDING”. This means GDP can rise even if people’s well-being decreases as it counts “BADS” as well as “GOODS”!!!

GDP only accounts 4 “GOODS & SERVICES” that pass through official, organized markets, ignoring “HOME PRODUCTION” (i.e. “COTTAGE INDUSTRIES ET AL) & “BLACK MARKET” activity (SOMETHING THAT BARBADOS HAS THRIVED ON 4 YEARS)!!!

GDP also fails 2 capture the “VALUE OF GOODS” & “SERVICES” with no attached market price, such as “HOUSEHOLD WORK” by the greatest fiscal & financial consultants anywhere on the planet (“MOTHERS”) – who have 2 “JUGGLE” budgets & spreadsheets, while maintaining balanced cost analysis in support of children & family, (YET TRYING 2 SAVE A PENNY OUT OF A CENT)!!! Then there are the “VOLUNTEERS” who give of their time “SELFLESSLY” & those who impact the “ENVIRONMENT” for better, making life that much cleaner & rosier for all of us…

Finally, GDP fails spectacularly to “CAPTURE” the growing trend of “INCOME INEQUALITY” between men & women, as well as, “ECONOMIC MIGRANTS” who are looking for a better life. For GDP per capita can “MASK” significant “INCOME DISPARITIES” within population groups, as “HIGH AVERAGE INCOMES” can be skewed by a small number of wealthy individuals & “FATCATS” who live off the “BLOOD”, “SWEAT” & “TEARS” of the “MASSES”!!!

#GDP_Debunked

5. The numbers are looking good. We should have a parallel matrix that measures transfrmation of the economy.

Debt stable, sustainable, says Central Bank boss

GOVERNMENT’S DEBT TO GDP ratio has fallen to its lowest level since 2018 and Central Bank Governor Dr Kevin Greenidge says this is a clear indication that the country’s debt is stable and sustainable.

This is despite interest and regular debt payments increasing in the first three months of Government’s financial year.

He pointed out that while the stock of public debt was $14.8 billion when the 2023/2024 financial year ended on March 31, it fell to $14.6 billion at the end of June.

In its half-year economic review released yesterday, the Central Bank said that “the public sector debt to GDP ratio continued its downward trajectory.

Economic activity

“The debt to GDP ratio fell to 105.3 per cent, approximately 3.4 percentage points lower than at the end of fiscal year 2023/24. A slowdown in the accumulation of debt over the period led to a $205.3 million decline in the outstanding [debt] stock. Expanding economic activity also improved the debt ratio,” the monetary authority reported.

Greenidge reinforced this information during his half-year press conference at the Courtney Blackman Grande Salle.

He said: “Debt to GDP was 105.3 per cent and by the way I will tell you the US debt to GDP is 123 per cent, Europe [is] higher than Barbados and it is the ratio that matters. The [debt] stock actually came down because repayments outstripped borrowing by about $200 million.”

Greenidge said the latest debt to GDP figure not only “puts us way above many countries in terms of where we are”, but it “solidifies the fact that the debt is stable and sustainable”.

His hope is that “if the economy continues to grow as we expect it to grow, [the debt to GDP ratio] will probably be 100 per cent by the end of the year, nobody knows”.

Buffers

“If there is a natural disaster and you have got to pay for clean-up it could go back up. That is why you grow the economy and build buffers so that when the time comes and you have [funds] to spend,” he said.

Saying he was not concerned about Government’s debt stock or borrowing, the Governor added: “Every country in the world borrows, you have to borrow to develop.”

Government’s target under the Barbados Economic Recovery and Transformation programme is for the debt to GDP ratio to fall to 60 per cent by fiscal year 2035/2036.

Greenidge said the current 105.3 per cent debt to GDP ratio “is actually below what we would have targeted to head in that direction which means we are in a good position”.

The Central Bank’s January to June economic press release said Government’s debt payments rose by $20.1 million in the first three months of the fiscal year which started on April 1.

Domestic and foreign payments expanded by $17 million and $3.1 million, respectively.

(SC)

6. The Barbados private sector has never been inclined to be proactive. It waits until government rolls the wicket. What makes anyone believe it will change?

Private sector urged to do more

BARBADOS’ FUTURE ECONOMIC growth is reliant on increased investment and Central Bank Governor Dr Kevin Greenidge is urging the private sector to do more of it.

Greenidge sees evidence that confidence has returned to the economy, and while he believes some members of the business community are investing, there is a need for more.

This is against the backdrop of Central Bank data showing that while borrowing by the business community grew by 1.2 per cent in the first half of the year, there was a simultaneous 2.5 per cent increase in deposits at financial institutions mainly from the private sector.

“I think the Government investment is spot on in terms of the direction it is heading and you can see many of the things happening. On the private sector [side] in my view and the bank’s view, more can be done,” Greenidge said during his half-year press conference at the Courtney Blackman Grande Salle.

“I think confidence in the economy is . . . back now no one doubts where we are with respect to the economy. This is our 13th quarter of growth and you don’t hit 13 just by a fluke. So I think investors are confident in the economy. We are yet to see some of that confidence translate into investment in key areas but I am confident it will happen.”

The Governor said that since taking up his post in March last year he had repeatedly stressed the need for more investment because in economics “investment equals growth, you don’t get growth without investment and so that’s why we call and call for investment”.

He pointed to the approximately $13 billion in liquidity in the financial system and called for it to be put “to productive use”.

“So the capacity is there. We just need the private sector and persons to continue [to invest]. There is some movement in that direction. We have seen it in terms of the numbers but more can be done,” he stressed.

“Perhaps some persons are still cautious but with 13 quarters of growth now is not the time to be cautious, now is the time to plant that mustard seed, now is the time to invest and take a chance on yourself and build this economy together.”

On the public side, Government did more investing in infrastructure in the first half of this year, focusing its funding largely on land acquisition and road infrastructure projects.

Capital spending

The Central Bank economic review pointed out that “capital spending, which is typically slow during the first quarter, totalled $46.4 million during the first quarter of fiscal year 2024/25, representing an increase of $19.1 million”.

Private sector borrowing remains constrained. The Central Bank said that credit growth increased moderately – 1.2 per cent – when compared with the end of last year. Credit for the purchase of property, plant and equipment represented the majority of new lending to businesses.

On the other hand, “total deposits growth during the first half of 2024 surpassed that of 2023”. Domestic currency deposits “stemmed from greater deposits from real estate and

7. Terence M Blackett Avatar
    Terence M Blackett

THE NEO-COLONIAL PROJECT MUST BE CRUSHED BY A NEW GENERATION OF BLACK MEN & WOMEN WHO WOULD RATHER DIE THAN TO REMAIN WAGE-SLAVES & LACKEYS TO A MONOLITHIC INSTITUTION CALLED PREDATORY WESTERN CAPITALISM UNDERSCORED BY GLOBAL PLAYERS WHOSE SOLE INTERESTS IS MONEY & GLOBAL CONTROL OF BLACK AFRIKAN RESOURCES

#AfricaMustUNITE*!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Otherwise, “WE ARE MERELY PISSING IN THE WIND”!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

“BLACK TRAITORS” must face the “FIRING SQUAD”!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

#HardWORDS* – well, we live or “DIE” by our leaders who “PROSTITUTE” our wealth, well-being & wholeness!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Black folks will continue 2 “PERISH” when they “SELECT” leaders who have less “VISION” than my neighbours cat who keeps “SHITTING” in my organic “VEG” patch!!!

I’ll leave my thought there & allow the goodly “AFRIKAN PROFESSOR LUMUMBA” 26 min #BoldSpeech on “BLACK ECONOMIC SOVEREIGNTY” & “EMPOWERMENT”!!!

IN THE WORDS OF THE GOODLY PROF: “When you “DINE” with the “DEVIL” – you do so with a very long spoon”!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

#WhatAGUY*
    #WhatDepthOfCharacter
    #WhatAVisionary

8. Terence M Blackett Avatar
    Terence M Blackett

A 2017 piece in “MEDIUM” entitled: “BARBADOS AND THE INDECENT INCONSISTENCY OF CURRENCY DEVALUATION” cited some oft neglected aspects of the Barbados eCONomy & many are “FOOLED” as I said before by “SLEIGHT-OF-HAND” polyTRICKS* where men with so-called PhDs who are NOT* “PATIENT, HUMBLE DISCIPLES” but are rather state “DISINFORMATION” agents who “SPIN YARN” by “COOKING NUMBERS” to produce what is digestibly proficient for the “MONEY MASTERS OF THE UNIVERSE” (THE WALL ST & MAIN ST CAPITALIST CLASS)!!!

SEE WHAT I MEAN HERE: https://medium.com/@RJGriffith/barbados-and-the-indecent-inconsistency-of-currency-devaluation-989c4ffa4a07

It is not pleasant reading but “EVERY COIN HAS 2 SIDES” be it #CaesarsSuperscription or the #OneDollarCoin in your pocket!!!

David, YOUR CENTRAL BANK CANNOT TELL YOU THE TRUTH FOR THERE WOULD BE BANK-RUNS ACROSS EVERY BANK ACROSS BARBADOS!!!

The “FINANCIAL SYSTEM” is awash with “TOXIC DEBT” due to “TOO MUCH MONEY PRINTING” & no amount of “BORROWING” against state assets to offset what is “DECLINE” cannot be flipped on its head & be called “GROWTH” that will create “CONFIDENCE” in any country for the long-term – as it is only a “MATTER OF TIME” before everything goes to “HELL” in a pan cart!!!

#Watch2025To2027

9. Question for govt that needs to be asked
    Does that growth translate to putting money into people’s pocket
    More housing at lower cost for the low income worker
    Better medical care
    Lower taxes
    Providing quality environment in the schools
    Govt rushing with good news must also include how growth would benefit the people and how growth can be sustained

10. @TB

With billions sitting in reserve (although much of it borrowed) there will be no talk about devaluation at this time.

11. @ac

The Governor is doing what all his predecessors have done, issue quarterly economic reviews. Although the Governor is a creature of the MoF it is the PM and her army of finance people supported by public service to speak to how the economic largess is being distributed as a result of the 4.5% growth. Yes, the government has some questions to answer. So far this government has done a good job breathing life into the tired economic model we have been flogging post 70s.

12. Terence M Blackett Avatar
    Terence M Blackett

THE GOLD BACKED “AFRICAN DINAR” WOULD HAVE BEEN THE CATALYST FOR THE UNIFICATION OF THE UNITED STATES OF AFRIKA MAKING THIS ONCE POWERFUL CONTINENT THE GREATEST SUPER-POWER ON EARTH -REDRESSING THE IMBALANCES OF ALBINO-CENTRIC PALESKIN WESTERN BACKED PREDATORY CAPITALISM – RELEGATING IT INTO A SECOND CLASS BROKEN IMPERIALIST INSTITUTIONAL STRUCTURE

Again, the “SPIN MERCHANTS OF SUBTERFUGAL YARN” made “MUMMAR GADAFFI” appear a “TYRANT” when in fact, he was able to bring together several “TRIBES” in his country of Libya into a cohesive whole where for 40 years he held together warring factions, giving them all a better quality of life than any other country on earth!!!

Here’s the “AFRIKAN VIEW” of what I am saying!!!

13. Terence M Blackett Avatar
    Terence M Blackett

“With billions sitting in reserve (although much of it borrowed) there will be no talk about devaluation at this time…”

Sorry Bruh, you “MISSED” the praxis of the argument!!!

These are the words of one of your leaders: “To most of us in the Caribbean, it does not seem rational to impoverish yourself to grow your economy. To us, it is obvious that is what devaluation implies. The point is not so obvious to Americans and Europeans.” — Dr DeLisle Worrell

The “REAL ISSUE” is that vast swathes of the “BAJAN POPULACE” has been “IMPROVERISHED” due to “INFLATIONARY PRESSURES” due to both “INTERNAL” & “EXTERNAL” forces given the “COST OF MONEY” to “BUY & SELL”!!!

Griffith argues: “Under a fixed exchange rate system, the Central Bank fixes the price of the domestic currency against a foreign currency and market participants are mandated to use this price (exchange rate) in transactions…”

“As the standard view goes this raises a fundamental problem. Centrals Banks tend to fix the value of its currency below the equilibrium rate (i.e. the rate at which supply of the currency equals the demand of the currency). To put it differently: the currency tends to be ‘over-valued’ and encourages more imports. This results in an excess demand for foreign currency (in Barbados’ case an excess demand for USD)…”

Further, “The Central Bank of Barbados has to supply USD to the market in order meet the excess demand if they want to maintain the fixed rate. If the Central Bank does not have sufficient foreign currency reserves it has to impose exchange controls to engineer lower demand for foreign currency to match the current level of supply at the low exchange rate (i.e over-valued domestic currency)…”

“Even with the current exchange controls in place the reserves of the CBB run the potential risk of exhaustion. Sidenote: the foreign exchange reserves of the CBB are not just USD notes held in the CBB vault. The reserves also consist of investments in foreign currencies (US Treasury Notes, etc) held in accounts that the CBB has in commercial banks abroad…”

“If the Central Bank of Barbados does not have enough foreign reserves to intervene in the market for USD in Barbados then it would be unable to defend the peg and would be structurally forced to give up the exchange rate that it had put in place…”

THE QUESTION WHICH FINALLY BEGS ITSELF IS THIS:

Will excessive “MONEY PRINTING” increase devaluation risk?

ANSWER: “Barbados is going through an (over-)active period of monetary financing or expansionary monetary policy. This is commonly and erroneously called “printing money”…”

The government has bills to pay on a monthly basis; including the salaries of workers employed in the public sector. The government pays these bills from its account…”

David, there’s a “PSEUDO-SENSE OF COMPLAINCY” amongst “BAJANS” that makes them believe that “FISCAL PRUDENCE” & “ECONOMIC COMPETENCY” are being exercised by this “MOTTLEY-CREW GOV” – when nothing could be further from the truth!!!

#StayTuned

CENTRAL BANKS ARE THERE TO MANAGE FAILURES IN THE MONEY SUPPLY – LET’S SEE HOW THAT WILL WORK OUT FOR US POST 2008/9 GIVEN THE NEXT MAJOR CRASH DUE TO UNCONTROLLABLE DEBT!!!

14. David why even bother to reply to my comment if you can’t provide answers

15. Terence M Blackett Avatar
    Terence M Blackett

GOTTA’ RUN… WIFEY BEGGING FOR THE SUMMER PAINT JOB ON THE HOTTEST DAY OF THE YEAR SO FAR!!!

16. @ac

Your government and the ones before brought us here, this government seems addicted to borrow and spend. The blogmaster supported your comment, you should be able to comprehend?

17. …you should be able to comprehend?
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Since when Boss??
    LOL ha ha ha

Do you think that ac recalls the DEPTH to which her people (like Froon, Kellman and Stinkliar) sunk us with their idiocy?

Truth be told, it was Just as bad as the current idiocy being championed by the BLP… except that Mia has indebted us to the IMF (the successors of our former slave masters) instead of the DLP’s mainly robbing CLICO pensioners and taxpayers.

We are like sheep …with rabid wolves taking turns as our ‘shepherds’….

What a place!!

18. Bushie

Yours is the magisterial explanation or ours.

Issues like billions in the bank as raised by another is essentially a matter of finance or financial manipulation, to keep the international payments system going so as to protect the corporate masters in Barbados.

The issue of calling on these same players to do more, again represents a misunderstanding of capitalism at base. For capitalism requres government intervention and continual protection to navigate what they call free and open markets. When markets were never free, never fair, never opened except to the misguided.

Did Sagicor by leaving Barbados, the head office, not show this beyond doubt.

So yes Bushie, yuh right as shiiiiite!

19. Blah, blah, blah! Who listens to these people and their economic reports? Not me!

20. @Bush Tea

You are aware at the root of our problem is, we are unable to generate adequate earnings from home based products and services? Our economy has been and will be externally driven now and in the foreseeable future. Especially if we want to maintain our high per capital income however that is defined.

Let us continue to tweak at the fringe and may the best of us survive.

21. We are idiots to believe that a man who, at core is an American agent, to represents any other interests but theirs ……

And yes! We’ve always had the pretenders. But is there any doubt about the man currently in charge of the CBoB.

This pretense that American interests are ours. That our economy is best guided by those whose disposition is diametrically opposed to ours and has always been, is insane.

22. Sometimes you carry a joke a bit too far Boss.

The ROOT of our problem is that we have placed our ‘ability to be productive’ into the hands of materialistic FOREIGNERS.
    You playing dat you don’t know…

How the Hell can we compete with the world?
    When EMERA is extracting 24% on top of ALL electricity costs?
    When LIME takes 30% on all telecoms and entertainment charges?
    When Massy milks the (most basic of business enterprises) buying and selling market by 40%?

What damn fringe what!!??
    Add…
    Insurance, Banking, and even education – and we are left to wonder if there IS A BRASSBADOS at all….

As to ‘survival’ – Big Youth explains that , as a result,
    “Only the FITTEST OF THE FITTEST …shall stand…”

Ask Kiki if you doubt Bushie…

23. @Bush Tea

The powers that be selling our national assets because?

Our government is a mirror of society. We have bought in hook line and sinker to capitalize ways.

Isn’t it one of your favourite singers who has the lyrics “every man must be fed”? Our demand for things must be fed or the people will revolt. Then again they will probably revolt anyway!

24. William Skinner Avatar

We are extremely happy that the Barbados economy is growing faster and better than any other economy worldwide. This should be a cause for celebration.
    It is significant that this achievement comes as we conclude the Emancipation celebrations and our grand cultural extravaganza Crop Over.
    All is well in Bim. Thank you , Dr.Greenidge you should be soon given ,your deserved recognition as our next National Hero. It has taken you less than forty eight months to do what none of your predecessors were able to achieve in over sixty years of Independence and Republic governance.

25. Boss…
    Do you understand the concept of selling one’s birthright and inheritance for a bowl of soup…?

Who said that every man must be fed…?
    lotta shiite!!

Every man must eat “BY THE SWEAT OF HIS BROW” – THAT is what has been ordained.

It is by seeking to feed every lazy brass bowl that we ALWAYS end up in slavery – with albino-centrics then FORCING us to work and to sweat like ANIMALS – with just enough to eat to keep our asses at work.

We IGNORE Gods RULES to our peril… no matter how nice it sounds to do so…

“There is a way that SEEMS right to brass bowls, but the end thereof is the way of DEATH”.

26. @Bush Tea

Your view conflicts with the popular belief that if it is cheaper to borrow and purchase, there is absolutely no need to produce it locally. Feel free to swim against the current.

27. I have pinpointed an area where govt must be transparent
    An area which connects growth and revenue to that of being beneficial to the people
    So far from my window of understanding govt has collected millions in tax revenue
    Which now begs the question can the millions collected help the citizens in ways where money can be better placed in the people’s pocket which can transfer in the easing of taxes
    It is all well and good for govt to have an account that spells growth
    However growth that cannot reach the lower ends of a dying economy amongst those living off minimum income at it roots means nothing to those who are struggling to make ends meet
    The growth which the gov.speaks of over and over again reaches mostly the top bracket in the tourism industry
    While the eyes of reality strains hard to see where growth really matters

28. Feel free to swim against the current.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Skippa, Bushie is not even swimming in the same ocean….

Read ac’s above and see why.

It takes a very SPECIAL level of brassbowlery (generally requiring a spiritual curse) to seriously think that the objective is to ‘get growth to the lower ends of a dying economy’.
    One DOES NOT make diamonds by easing the heat and pressure on the raw materials, but by brass bowls RISING to the challenge. (by the sweat of their brows).

That mendicant approach works for albino-centrics, for as long as they are able to convince brass bowls to adopt their mendicant, materialistic ways – while LACKING their hateful and aggressive mentality.
    As a result, for CENTURIES now, brass bowls have followed this ‘belief’ – and ended up on plantations, tenantries and housing schemes enriching albino centrics.

Feel free to keep on with the same ‘belief’ …and expect different results….

What a curse!!
    What a place!!

29. Skinner

You must be speaking in jest!

For how can a man who spent his whole life resisting the the maladies of the IMF could now lawd a creature of the IMF for delivering a contrived growth, based on a loans program you strenuously were against prior to the strategic default.

Of course, we differed then. This writer knew then that the country had no choice, and supported it.

You of course, harkened unto your well stated position.

What kind of confusion is so representative.

30. All.and Sundry can recall the economic bind of falling revenue and past govt finding itself between a fight to keep the economy intact and pay bills
    However all.and sundry also recall present govt making boastful promises of putting money in the people pocket
    Today all and sundry see none of that promise happening as food prices escalated
    Land prices explode and every nook and cranny has excised fees attached
    Now with such glowing growth and revenue shouldn’t all and sundry expect better
    Or the same ole economic bitter pill from the past which most have swallowed for years with no let up in sight

31. Laúd

32. Listened with interest to the Governor’s glib explanation for the reduction in output of several agricultural products like milk for example. We continue to hear the government through its talking head Indar Weir speaking to work being done to increase production in agriculture – six years later where the rh are we?

33. six years later where the rh are we?
    ~~~~~~~~
    talk what you like….
    Were it NOT for BU, they would have spun the message that all is well, and we should just tighten our belts, hand over our taxes – and shut up….

Read the other rh news vehicles and see…

Ya gotta admit that the people got the gift of the gab though.

Even DooShiite has been pontificating on the repairs to the shiite pipe on the South Coast – and NOT A BOY dared to ask him about the Steal House or the Hopeless fiasco…
    …or even how come the costly storm-proof design failed in the first place…

What a place…

34. Also don’t forget govt and the Chinese have implanted an experimental plan to grow Upland rice in Barbados
    Question as to how this plan was agreed upon knowing that govt has signed agreements with the Chinese govt needs to asked
    A lack of transparency on this important bodes well for questions to be asked

35. @ Bush Tea who wrote ” Were it NOT for BU ”

some of us ,myself included would have made bad decisions. lol

36. NorthernObserver Avatar

The numbers reported are very fair-good.
    There were some unfavorable areas, like the Global Business sector, but since this is one of the newer metrics, it will be monitored.
    The theme song remains unchanged…lots of liquidity in private citizens and entities, which isn’t being invested.
    Possibly the GoCB, whose remit is monetary policy, needs to consider the barriers to investing lie beyond positive economic growth and those levers within his remit.

37. Debt stable, sustainable, says Central Bank boss

The governor is doing his job according to the requirements of his IMF masters.
    The failure is with our professional organisations.
    The BAPE should issue a yearly report on the status of our infrastructure and what are our immediate needs and future needs and the costs. Debt to GDP looks good when you refuse to maintain your infrastructure!!
    The teachers unions should issue yearly reports on the status of our schools, the ones in need of repair or unfit for use. And the associated costs. Last primary school built was Blackman Gollop. The last secondary school built is Lester Vaughn and they have been in the news with building issues. HC is ready to crumble but they keeping a lid on it.
    BAMP know the money allocated for the QEH is inadequate, where is their report outlining the true cost of healthcare and the futures needs.

The failure of these organisations is why government can spend money on vanity projects.
    3 million a year on a medicinal cannabis authority that has nothing to show for it after 5 years in operation.
    What about all the overseas missions they keep adding. Washington, UK, Canada, Brussels, New York, UN, Toronto, Geneva, Brazil and on and on. They just added Cuba, what is Sharon Marshall going to do over there, she wrote the book already about Bajans in Cuba, what does she plan to do write a sequel?
    Cayman airways was a massive failure, now the want flights from Africa.
    50+ million on world cup for what, no signficant increase in arrivals or spend.

What is clear is we were told going to the IMF would improve the lives of Barbadians but instead the fiscal space has been used to run vanity project after vanity project and boost the career of everyone at the central bank. What is 2 or 3 million when you spending 2 billion right. And once the debt to GDP is “stable” we can keep borrowing. Next up is a mission to Antarctica, school facelifts and electric water taxis for tourists

38. William Skinner Avatar

@ Pacha ,

You unfortunately are now unable to detect satire. You got tuh be joking.

39. @ Angela Cox

Many people wonder how come if the economy is so good dem catching ass as the old people used to say. Well the problem goes way back to the Sandiford wage cut, followed by the 10 year sinkyuh wage freeze, then to top it off the hyper inflation of the Covid era.

So lets just look at the sinkyuh period with the 10 year wage freeze and examine what that did to someone earning say $2000 a month at the beginning of the period. At an average inflation rate of 3 % compounded over the ten year period, your $2000 a month would now have only about $1200 in buying power after the 10 year freeze! So let us then say you got a 10% salary increase at the end of the ten years, you would still be playing a game of catch up that YOU CANT WIN.

Then came Covid with inflation running over 10% a year for 2 years roughly. This crippled us with no company being able to pay a wage increase post or during the covid period for at least 3 years. This meant that the $1300 a month in true money you had post the 10 year wage freeze, now down to about $1000 a month say 16 years later.

This now means there is an extremely small percentage of Bajans who can say ” I am better off today than in 2019.” As a result, all the talk bout GDP means absolutely nothing to the average Bajan who catching tail in 2024.

Truth is no Governor or Politician will ever tell you this but your hip pocket don’t lie. We will never return to the power of our dollar from say 20 years ago and the above explains why sadly.

40. “4.5% growth in Barbados’ economy for January-June 2024 July 29, 2024” is better than a kick in the head or balls, if you have any and they are not shrunken and shriveled up.

Government gets the blame for the falls and stagnation in the economy and credit for it’s growth, but the GDP is dependent on private sector business and not Government / public sector.

The economy and private sector is also a slave to the world economy and it’s fortunes or lack of thereof.

Government’s function is public sector spending and provision and also currently debt management which will take a couple of decades plus to resolve.

in other words the subject is a wind up, unless you like carrots

41. Skinner

Well, weeee could not be sure whether you were still in possession of your right mind, based on the scathing attack on this writer on the other thread.

For this is the season where old men forsake their days of youth.

Of course, no fears are here held as you there embarked into waters too deep for the intellectual ‘dingy’ thusly ensconced.

Indeed, weeee tried to rationalize your second diametrically opposed tone above by suggesting it was made in jest. Thankfully, you have now suggested a similar descriptor.

However, there is no word-smithery which could as easily dispense with the irrationality of the above mentioned second thread.

We may want to address the gap highlighted.

42. Terence M Blackett Avatar
    Terence M Blackett

POLY-TICKS aka #POlieTICS – THE LEXICOGRAPHICAL SEMANTIC ROOT FOR #Poly (MANY) & “TICKS” (SUCKERS) – WHICH MEANS YOU HAVE “MULTIPLE BLOOD-SUCKERS” WHETHER ON THE LEFT OR ON THE RIGHT – A SLITHERING MOSS-PIT OF LECHEROUS LEECHES WHOSE SOLE LIFE SOURCE IS THE TAINTED BLOOD SUCKED FROM THE DECAYING WOUNDED SOULS OF THE SUFFERERS

“TICKS” are “EXTERNAL PARASITES” that feed on “BLOOD” of mammals, birds, & reptiles. They belong to the family “IXODIDAE” & are characterized by their flat, oval-shaped bodies & 8 legs. They attach to their “HOSTS” using their specialized “MOUTH-PARTS”, which include – “LEG-LIKE SENSORS”, detecting an approaching host – then with “KNIFE-LIKE STRUCTURES” cut an opening in the host’s skin & with their barbed structure -anchor in the flesh, as it begins to take blood!!!

“TICKS” transmit diseases to both “HUMANS” & animals through their “SALIVA”, which contains “PATHOGENS” such as “BACTERIA”, “VIRUSES”, & “PROTOZOA” – where “TICK-BORNE ENCEPHALITIS VIRUS” (TBEV) that affects the “BRAIN” is (1) example, & “LIME DISEASE”, transmitted through “DIRECT BITE”!!!

#FirstWitness

On the other hand, “LEECHES” have a long bivalent history of being used for medicinal purposes, dating back to ancient civilizations. Records show, the earliest use of leeches dates back to ancient Egypt, where they were used to “REMOVE BLOOD FROM THE BODY”. This practice, known as “HIRUDOTHERAPY”, was believed to cure various ailments, including “FEVERS” & “FARTING” (flatulence)…

In medieval Europe, leeches were a “COMMON TOOL” in doctors’ medical kits, with millions used annually to treat patients. The “ASSOCIATION” between “LEECHES & DOCTORS” was so strong that “PHYSICIANS” were often referred to as “LEECHES”…

“LEECHES” were also used in ancient Rome, where “PLINY THE ELDER” noted their medicinal use for treating “GOUT” (THE RICH MAN’S DISEASE). Patients reportedly became “ADDICTED” to the treatment, suggesting its efficacy & effectiveness!!!

The “UNIQUE SALIVA” of “LEECHES” contains a “PEPTIDE” called “HIRUDIN”, which “PREVENTS BLOOD FROM CLOTTING”, allowing them to “FEED” on blood without “CAUSING HARM TO THE HOSTS”. This property made them valuable in certain surgical applications, such as promoting blood flow to damaged tissue.

While “LEECHES” are primarily “BLOOD SUCKERS”, not all species feed on blood – some actually are “CARNIVOROUS”, preying on insect larvae, molluscs,& other annelid worms…

#2ndWitness

In trying to equate the “LOWEST COMMON DENOMINATOR” to these “PARASITIC VERMIN” who rule over us – I chose “BLOOD SUCKERS” as my epistemological praxis as they represent what “SCRIPTURE” says: “FOR THE LIFE IS IN THE BLOOD…”

#3rdWitness

An early morning scan of the “GLOBAL NEWS PARADIGM” & it boggles the mind to see the “CHAOS”, “LIES”, “FILTH”, “CORRUPTION”, “EVIL”, “WAR”, “BLOODSHED”, “MURDER” & “THE SHEER DIABOLICUS” OF LIFE ON PLANET EARTH” – yet folks will try to “PISS ON YOU” & tell you it’s “CLIMATE CHANGE” & that it’s falling as rain that eventually will wash away your house!!!

ANYONE ELSE NOTICED THAT EVERYTHING IS GOING 2 HELL IN A PAN CART???

Sorry folks, I gotta’ go paint!!!

43. Terence M Blackett Avatar
    Terence M Blackett

WHILE BAJANS ARE NAVEL-GAZING IN A CONTEST TO SEE WHO HAS THE BEST UMBILICAL EXTENSION – WAR IS HAPPENING IN CENTRAL AFRICA THAT COULD HAVE A TOTEMIC EFFECT ON OUR BLACK BROTHAS & SISTAZ – SPILLING OUT INTO A HOT WAR BETWEEN RUSSIA & US

There have been bitter venom spewed across social media regarding the “RUSSIAN/UKRAINE DEBACLE” where “CAUCASIAN-ON-CAUCASIAN BLOODSHED” makes our (BLACK) struggles seem miniscule, but then we are NOT* (yet) in the theatre of “WAR” because “VENEZUELAN ANARCHY” has not hit our streets in Bridgetown, Holetown, Speightown or anywhere else for that matter!!!

Many are now asking: “How did the Russia-Ukraine war crossover into Africa, and got 50 Russians butchered???

Apparently, on July 28th, 2024, a coalition of Tuareg separatist militants & Al-Qaeda-linked jihadists ambushed a convoy of Russian Wagner Group mercenaries & Malian soldiers in Tinzaouaten, near the Algerian border. The attack resulted in the deaths of 50 Russian mercenaries, according to an Al-Qaeda affiliate, Jama’a Nusrat ul-Islam wa al-Muslimin (JNIM). Additionally, 10 Malian soldiers were also killed…

The “REBEL GROUPS” were directly “ASSISTED BY UKRAINIAN MERCENARIES” in the operation against the “RUSSIAN WAGNER GROUP” as cited in the below story!!!

https://www.indiatoday.in/world/story/russia-ukraine-war-africa-mali-wagner-group-malian-military-50-mercenaries-died-tuareg-al-qaeda-affiliate-jnim-2573892-2024-07-31

SOME ARE ALSO ASKING – WHO IS RUNNING AMERIkkkA??? For if the “WHITE HOUSE” is the “SANITARIUM” (housing the “DEMENTED” & the “FRAIL”) – then surely, the “CONGRESS” is the “MAD-HOUSE” for the “CRIMINALLY-INSANE” – where an “EPISODE” of “GOTHAM CITY” reveals that the “ARKHAM ASYLUM” is being run by a group of “MAD” (MUTUALLY ASSURED DESTRUCTION) individuals who have a “HARD-ON” for death & bloodshed!!!

IS THERE ANYONE WHO CAN MAKE SENSE OF THE MADNESS???

44. This is what happens when a set of some island people are misguided by the notions that the environments in which they operate are self directed.

Today, Hamas Bureau Chief Ismael Haniyeh was assassinated in Tehran by Israel, where he was a guest of the Iranian state on the occasion of the installation of the new Iranian President whose predecessor was himself also killed in a helicopter crash about a month ago.

We assure you all, if you thought that events within West Asia could have been ignored and pretend that the continuing stream of trivia could have the abnormal normalcy. Well, this is a watershed moment which shall give shade to all you thought was real.

Again yesterday the Zionist regime tried to kill a leading commander of Hezbollah in Beirut. All these forces are members of the Axis of Resistance against the Zionist-Colonialist-regime in Palestine.

Haniyeh was not even a military man. He was a mere politician, a peace negotiator.

Obviously, just back from a trip to Washington, Netanyahu has been given permission for the Zio-fascists to escalate the tensions in the world.

45. Central Bank’s limited leverage

THE MAIN STRUCTURE of a bank, its crossbeam and pillars, is the amount of money that it owes to the people of the country that put their money in the bank. The money that the owners of the bank, the shareholders, have invested pales in this respect.

You may remember The Bank of America. For years it tried to get a foothold in banking in Barbados but was never able to do so as there was no growth in savings and no accumulation in savings or current accounts.

I am talking about the average commercial bank open to the general public, as a bank could be established for a specific purpose. Therefore, to control a bank and of course its profitability and influence, you must deal with its savings.

One of the ways, therefore, to control a commercial bank and its influence or profitability in a country is for a country to establish its own bank or have a controlling influence in an existing bank. With this it can then dictate the charges and interest rates that must prevail in the country, otherwise you would be spinning top in mud. That, we are doing.

The locally owned bank can offer rates that undercut the other banks and threaten their viability unless they follow. Basic rates like savings and mortgages are the pillars of a bank around which profitability can still be built.

Today, banks are building their profitability on commissions while safely securing their savings. However, if their savings are targeted they will have to pay attention to their viability.

That is why I believe that the pronouncements of the Governor of the Central Bank, although well meaning, will make no difference in the runaway charges and profitability of the commercial banks.

Bankers are trained to deal with the changing conditions in which they operate and to “shiff” and respond to these changes while maintaining their profitability.

That is not to say that the Governor must not try, but to say that it will make no difference.

Another factor that we in Barbados must realise is that the action of commercial banks are circumscribed by the outside rules laid down on them by their correspondent banks, and a bank must have correspondent banks; for example, the procedure undertaken to accept a new customer. Herein the records kept of the customer, its connections and its occupation is essential. Moreover, if a customer is an American citizen the bank has an obligation to allow access to American authority.

I commended our Central Bank Governor for his decision to indicate to the public that he is intervening in the runaway profitability of the banks. But he has no active commercial bank.

My take is that his intervention will bear little fruit. Bankers are taught how to respond to every trial from authority. It is when that authority intrudes directly on the profitability that the bank makes a decision to sell and leave.

The authority can intrude on the profitability of the bank by the imposition of taxation. But in this regard it must be careful, otherwise the accusation of being unfair can come into the equation. This balance is necessary and the Governor, who has the ear of the rulers, has to be aware of this.

In my opinion therefore, perhaps there is a hollow ring to what we can do about the behaviour of the banks.

Another aspect of our economy is the widely varying opinions among respected economists of the success or lack of success in the Central Bank Governor’s report on the economy.

My opinion is that while we, for the most part, are still able to import freely, and those who can are able to afford the heavily taxed items, there is a widening gap between those who can survive and those who have to find other ways of survival, some of which are causing a legal headache.

A cogent letter to the editor by Dr Trevor Shepherd speaks volumes. While he has pointed out the things that we may have forgotten, I have to add the financial obligations that our lifestyle targets, and the seeming lack of constraint that depends mainly on a push in collections from tourism in a world of great uncertainty, where we are mainly concerned with political survival.

I still believe in the old concept of “cutting your coat . . .”

Harry Russell is a banker. Email quijote70@gmail.com

46. ‘Paronomics’ shows holes in Central Bank’s report

LET ME EMPHATICALLY SAY that I welcome economic growth. A few columns ago, I wrote that when growth comes without compromising our debt position, then I am fully in support. However, what I was quite forgetful in mentioning was that this growth ALSO had to be tangible. There must be CLEAR evidence of it to all concerned, regardless of school of thought or lack thereof. All sides need not support it, but a dispute must be easily handled in a way that is simply followed by those who lack deep economic expertise.

Let’s look at some schools of thought: like the Monetarists, who fundamentally believe that it’s the central bank’s role to drive that growth and therefore to control inflation.

Next are the Keynesians who believe it to be the central government’s role to encourage economic activity through its spending. And then there are those like me, who, for all of my sins, are of the Austrian School of Economics. Fundamentally, we believe that there is more value in looking at the economy through the eyes of the individual first. The previous two do not at all times. To our credit, though, our look at the individual allows us to see glaring gaps in economic reports that focus solely on the macroeconomy.

I like to use what I call “Paronomics” given the downsides of being Austrian. To understand Paronomics is truly to ask how a paro would behave given changes to an economy.

Paros

Remember that I previously wrote that I find immense economic value in observing the behaviour of paros.

This can also be applied to the average person who is struggling to make ends meet. They may not be paros in that they may still be quite lucid and sound in thought. But the basis of survival for both groups remains the same: they are struggling to survive and therefore will make decisions not seen as rational as those with the means to do. Life in Barbados produces fewer of those sorts by the day, so it’s easier to see Barbados at ground level through the lens of Paronomics.

The latest economic report by the Central Bank of Barbados was one that has some holes in it by context and relevance. Once more, I am glad for the sense of growth. I believe that there has been growth; however, I tend to mix in some of the bank’s indicators with what I see at the street level with my own two eyes. Being an Austrian as it were. And as one, I can agree that also the rate of inflation has recently slowed. I like to reference certain foodstuffs in the supermarket, but I find a fairly reliable indicator of inflation in Barbados to be the movement in the price of rotis at Chefette; snack boxes as well. I’ve been following this trend since I was 17 years old, and it seems consistent with the change in cost of living felt by the average Barbadian.

I also believe that the banking sector is sound and is lending. Lastly, I entirely believe that the Government is cutting into its debt, and I am grateful that this has continued during the “dead” period from January to June. I’m happy, but it’s only window dressing, especially when you apply Paronomics.

Wage adjustments have continued to lag the economic recovery AND the inflation rate. The average person would not enjoy nor be able to afford much by way of these gains from the past three years. This situation ensured that consumer debt is as high as it has always been. The Central Bank, for whatever reason, chooses not to highlight this troubling statistic, provided that, due to it, any future global instability and its impact on inflation would worsen the livelihoods in this country immensely.

Paronomics also indicates that with the rising cost of acquisition and maintaining property and other assets in Barbados (via taxation), the greater the level of short-term household debt could lead to what seems like untimely seizures in time to come. Paros are known to become very creative in their attempts at survival as uncertainty deepens. The cost of this action is usually on their own mental and physical health. Interestingly, the behaviour of many who continue to struggle in this economy will follow certainly this pattern, leading to greater strain on public health resources and order over time. It will be almost as though true growth and development in the economy going forward could be tracked by public sector healthcare spend or some derivative of that.

Paros will also leave hunger for certainty. I don’t know of anyone who “qualifies” as one and works extensively as part of the formal economy. Paronomics, therefore, dictates that as persons feel as though it is more difficult to survive in Barbados, then they’ll either leave or seek informal work just as a paro might. For whatever reason then, I do not understand why we choose to just report the unemployment rate when the COVID-19 Pandemic all but exposed, around the globe, the downside of formulating policy using this data.

The Central Bank of Barbados also published “The Economic Impact of the 2024 ICC Men’s T20 Cricket World Cup” at the dead end of last month.

With Paronomics and Austrian lenses applied, this report presented some indisputable facts. These included a spike of 34.5 per cent in visitor arrivals during June. Accommodations also benefited as a result and saw improved revenue for available rooms.

There was more airlift coming into the country compared to the similar period from last year. And there has never been a greater year-on-year increase in tourist arrivals for the month of June outside of the pandemic period. Great.

Misleading

However, I cannot quite help but see how misleading this report can be in context. I do recognise that once again, spend was not broadly accounted for a reason I tackled previously. So let’s disregard that for a moment and set about challenging the collection procedures and, therefore, the accuracy of the growth seen by the Central Bank. What percentage of the increase in arrivals were unique?

My belief (and not guess) is that this was definitely not significant since I witnessed firsthand the travel patterns of English, Australian, and Indian supporters (mostly from the United States of America) in real-time given my pilot privileges.

Faces became familiar as the days passed. And so, I believe there could have been double and triple counting of tourists who were based here but left to see matches in other countries and returned. This led me to question whether the seven per cent increase in hotel and shared accommodation occupancy rates compared to June 2023 pointed to the same tourists basing themselves in short stints but holding rooms in Barbados and not to unique arrivals, particularly in the latter half of June.

The private sector had invested with the encouraged belief that there would be arrivals and spend for a greater part of the month. Bear that in mind given the belief that those long stays might have been concentrated into fewer accommodations than you’d imagine. Ironically, you would have to be a paro to see this differently.

Jeremy Stephen is an economist/ financial analyst with extensive experience in private equity and economic consulting in Barbados and the region.

Email: economistfeedback@gmail.com

47. Refreshingly excellent analysis