One of our failures of under successive governments has been to curb the bad behaviour seen in the PSV sector for over 40 years. There is a sub culture that has contributed to rising lawlessness in the society.

• Do we care about our children who travel on private transportation vehicles?
  • Are we blind to how this unruly sector has added to deviant behaviour in the country?
  • Do we care about our children?
  • Do we have the capacity to hold officials responsible for managing the PSV sector accountable?

The inability of the duopoly to solve this problem is an ugly reflection in the mirror image. It is problem that could have been solved by actors operating with integrity BUT it is generally known there is a web of collusion and corruption attached to the sector. These private buses are owned by prominent players in society and are therefore ‘protected’ by various oversight players.

As long as the sector is allowed to operate with lawless abandon this blogmaster will disregard the daily rhetoric we have to listen to from political and NGO talking heads – including the prime minister – about Barbados achieving some grandiose goal.

If we cannot solve solvable problems, if we cannot sit at a table over a bowl of soup to resolve internal conflicts – how will we be able to solve national problems?

The following video is another example of what is known. How long is too long when it is bad?

A video of a ZR adding to the bad reputation of the transportation sector.

145 responses to “Out of control”

1. @ David

I’m amazed that in Bridgetown, where there is large presence of Police Officers, either on foot or mobile patrol, drivers of ZRs plying route 10 – Silver Hill, 11 – Silver Sands and 3D – Fairy Valley, can be seen parked and soliciting passengers at the junction of John Beckles Drive and River Road……

…… or at the entrance to the Fairchild Street bus terminal, sometimes impeding Transport Board buses exiting the terminal.

Drivers of minibuses and ZRs leaving the CRT enroute to Silver Hill, as well as ZRs to Fairy Valley and Silver Sands, more often than not, IGNORE the ‘No Right Turn’ sign to turn through John Beckles Drive.

Route 6 – Bush Hall ZRs drivers do not go into the Constitution River Terminal (CRT) as stipulated by law, choosing instead to ‘drop off and pick up’ passengers on Constitution Road, next to Queen’s Park gate.

Travelling on Highway 1 from Eagle to Speightstown between the hours of 10 am and 2pm, on any given weekday, is extremely frustrating, as drivers of minibuses plying the Speightstown route, ‘impede the free flow of traffic,’ by engaging in a selfish activity they call ‘dragging.’
    In other words, they drive at ‘5 miles per hour,’ stopping unnecessarily, slowing down to look through every gap, while pulling in the road to prevent other motorists from overtaking.

We all know Warrens is usually a very busy area as a result of several businesses and restaurants that are located in its environs.
    Drivers of ZRs plying the 3Y – Jackson route, on their way to Bridgetown, would ‘drag’ from Warrens to Codrington Hill, especially during peak hours, thereby impeding the ‘free flow of traffic.’

We often talk about the ‘minibus or ZR culture.’

You may not agree with me, but I believe when Indians entered the PSV market, was one of the reasons that led to the creation of this so called ‘culture.’

I remember as a youngster, there wern’t any major issues when, for example, Speightstown minibuses were owned by Black Barbadians, such Eddies of Eddies Supermarket in Speightstown, John in Fitts Village, Carson Alleyne of St. Peter, Lenny in Sion Hill, Debra in Mile & A Quarter and owners residing in St. Lucy, St. Peter and St. James.

However, as soon as the Indians ‘entered the scene’ and introduced a ‘lease system’ whereby the driver is required to give them $400 or $500 per day and ‘the rest is theirs’ to share with the conductor, we saw raw dub music being played, buses decorated to attract the younger passengers, speeding and overloading, fierce competition between drivers and conductors that sometimes leads to verbal or physical altercations, driving dangerously and ‘off route’ to ‘cut out’ competitors etc.

Another reason is, TOO MANY vans on certain routes, especially Wansted Drive, Deacons Road, Speightstown, Silver Hill, Silver Sands and Fairy Valley.

And ‘here goes the minibus hustle,’ which Winston Farrell eloquently sang about in his rhythm poetry, ‘Minibus hustle what a bustle.’

2. @Artax

It is horrendous the escalating level of indiscipline being demonstrated by that sector. To make matters worse it has penetrated the private space. This problem has become national. So far we have demonstrated zero appetite to frontally address issues at the core of the problem.

3. In the news today we are hearing head of the private sector calling for a ‘war room’ for all sectors of civil society aka social partnership to come together to hammer out a plan. Same message from Kirk Humphrey to deal with a growing impersonal society. We don’t care for our old and young like in days of yore.

4. @ David
    Boss, you don’t miss much…

So did you happen to see the article in todays Nation that reviewed the progress in a number of police investigations of matters such as death in custody, the female officer who went viral cussing and assaulting a suspect, etc?
    Think it was by MB.
    …before it disappeared that is…?

The responses from the commissioner were revealing.

If you had seen the article then you would have 40% of the answer to your blog.

The other 60% relates to those to whom the commissioner reports….

What a place.
    What a dangerous curse

5. “Bus owners chief wants govt crackdown on indiscipline.”

Written by Emmanuel Joseph
    Updated by Barbados Today 25/07/2024

The chief spokesman for the nation’s public transport owners has urged the Mia Mottley administration to take decisive action against indiscipline in his industry, declaring that “government needs to stop talking and let us see some sort of action related to some of these indisciplined, unruly persons that continue to create issues for the public sector.”

But Roy Raphael, the chairman of the Alliance Owners of Public Transport (AOPT), also appealed for the establishment of an independent disciplinary committee to investigate and punish infractions. He suggested this committee be independent of the Transport Authority, the government regulator of route taxis and minibuses.

He was responding to a recent incident where two route taxi (ZR) vans were filmed driving on the wrong side of the road, cutting across oncoming traffic. This video, which went viral on social media, has heightened concerns about lawlessness in privately owned public transport. “We are seeing an increase in areas related to indiscipline within the sector that really concerns us as an association,” Raphael told Barbados TODAY.

The AOPT chairman proposed that a disciplinary committee should be “outside of the Transport Authority” and “chaired by a retired judicial officer or a senior attorney-at-law.”

He elaborated on its potential scope: “[It should be] similar to the Fair Trading Commission or the Public Counsel. When you have a body that deals with complaints pertaining to public transport, not only ZRs and minibuses, that body should be able to make a decision. If they revoke or suspend your permit, you still have the courts that you can basically go to.”

Raphael highlighted the challenges facing the sector, noting an influx of young workers attracted by a ready paycheque.

“We are seeing more youngsters having to join the service”, he said. “We are also seeing a lot of indisciplined youngsters coming into the service because public transport is a place where you can get a salary or breaks every day. National Insurance is not taken out. If you work for $12, you get $12. And within that sector, you can also benefit from having lunch and all those other things that come with it.”

The AOPT head was quick to point out the limitations of his organisation’s authority: “We don’t have the authority to discipline nobody, other than our members”. This, he argued, underscores the need for government intervention.

Looking to the future, Raphael discussed plans for a cashless payment system, which he believes could help curb indiscipline.
    “We have been speaking to a number of providers, and we have not yet come to any final decision”, he revealed. “We have had a meeting with the minister and the minister of transport has supported the association along with the Transport Board in having a cashless system onboard.”

Raphael expressed optimism about the potential impact of this system: “When that cashless system comes in place, we should see some level of discipline within the sector.”

He also suggested that broader reforms might be necessary, stating, “We believe that there are some routes you might have to suspend because it isn’t working. I also believe there are some routes you have to create.”

emmanueljoseph@barbadostoday.bb

6. @Bush Tea

Read the article, it was deflating to anyone optimistic we have an action plan.

Credit for the video should be given to Fearplay who helps the blogmaster to stay informed.

7. Excellent thread David and great on point post by Artax. First it was uniform, then location, then stopping by bus stops only, then taking away licenses….all for nought.

As the late D. Thompson once said publicly this sector alone is largely responsible for the spread of much of society’s ills and subsequent sub culture. (not blaming the totally for the ills though, mostly the spread).

And Artax is correct, when a different country or culture takes control of a predominant element of our (Barbadian) culture then any claim to values, societal norms, moral or ethical anchors go through the window unless the leaders of the day hold firm and determine the country’s focus and direction.

Crop Over is now a Carnival thong thing
    Agriculture is now a Guyanese thing
    Vending is now a CSME thing
    The sex trade is now a Jamaican / Southern American thing 🙂
    Construction is now a Chinese and/or cheap labour thing
    Private transport is now an Indian thing
    Tourism/real estate is now a who ever has nuff money from overseas thing
    Hard to find any “Bajan” things left.

It took many years, but we are here .

Nothing wrong with integration others, but, if we as a country don’t know or choose to ignore who we are to begin with and where we came from, then we will end up where ever the wind blows. And so, here we are.

Just observing

8. @Artax

The article posted defines mouthings from the usual suspects.

9. @Observing

We have allowed cultural penetration to take root to such a degree there will be no coming back. There isn’t a baseline acceptance as to what is the bajan identity.

10. @Artax

Should the government impose a Diviant Tax on owners of the buses? The criteria can be how many reports/tickets are accumulated in a predetermined period.

11. Bushie happens to regularly encounter these ZR behaviors.

EVERYONE in Barbados knows that they ROUTINELY block the road at Nursery drive, Sheridan Mall, Bottom of Rendezvous Hill etc.
    Everyone that is EXCEPT any police.

EVERYONE knows that after 9 a.m. these unkempt, aggressive, unmannerly drivers drive at 5 mph, while stopping at EVERY gap, as the conductor walks the gap to see if anyone in planning to travel. Meanwhile there are long lines of traffic (often including police vehicles) that are prevented from overtaking.
    This causes backups, congestion at traffic lights, frustration etc.

So If Bushie knows that this is shiite
    …and John Public knows that it is shiite
    How come the BPS don’t know?
    How come the AG don’t know?
    How come the PM don’t know?

Gotta by de curse!
    What a place.

12. @Bush Tea

You forgot to mention the most important thing.

Everyone knows licenses are dished out to the highly favoured by elected and appointed officials.

By the way, what is the standing of the Transport Authority in this mess?

13. Dished out at a price to black people though. Last price I heard – $10,000.

14. William Skinner Avatar

We still believe it’s possible to plant calabash and reap pumpkin .
    The breakdown was there and encouraged by the collective powers that be.
    When we connect the dots we see the truth: Black manufacturers abandoned; the early Black transport owners marginalized and driven out of business.
    Now minorities controlling and setting the conditions. Black contractors abandoned and housing development handed over to people who never built a dog kennel.
    Black car part retailers basically gone; Black car rentals gone or going.
    And we can go on and on.
    The masses are left to hustle for a dollar and that breeds the crime and societal deviancy.
    From 1961-present only one Black politician has ever seriously addressed Black economic enfranchisement in any serious fashion. He eventually had to flee the country and only returned to be eulogized.
    His name was Don Blackman.

15. @William

You forgot to mention all facilitated by successive black governments?

16. David,

Either brainwashed or greedy.

17. Drivers and conductors who have a quota to make then everything after that is theirs are likely the ones displaying the worst behaviour.
    Solution is simple, get rid of conductors, move to a cashless system and government will train and supply the drivers and fix driver pay.

18. “Everyone knows licenses are dished out to the highly favoured by elected and appointed officials.”

You may be correct.

But, the important questions are:

(1). Who are the ‘highly favoured to whom permits are dished out’ you’re referring?

Are they other politicians, their financiers or friends?

(2). If any of the above, are they enough to influence the behaviours we’re currently seeing in the PSV sector?

If the Indians are included in the ‘highly favoured,’ Observing is correct that they are involved in private transportation.

As I mentioned in previous threads, the younger Indians seem to be moving away from the ‘itinerant salesman trade’ and exploring different areas, such as construction, real estate, wholesalers supplying market stalls and village shops with goods on credit…… and more so, vehicle rentals, used vehicles & car parts sales, leasing taxis, route taxis and minibuses.

We’re dealing with a sector that’s not properly regulated and people are allowed to ‘run wild, willy nilly.’

I recall when then PM ‘Tom’ Adams increased the sector’s taxes as punishment. Followed by PM Arthur who said some of the proceeds from increased taxes would be used to employ Special Police Constables to police the ‘van stands’ and ensure the adherence to law and order.

So, they essentially increased taxes on a sector where operators were already hustling to make money, which would obviously require them to hustle more to earn more money to pay their statutory obligations, and then expect them to conform to the road traffic regulations?

Politicians contribute to the lawlessness in the society all in the name of soliciting votes.

They ‘turn a blind eye’ to PSVs flouting the laws; vendors setting up shanties in front of markets or sell on sidewalks or in alleys, blocking entry to emergency vehicles; the dangerous practice of coconut and fruit vendors on the highways and at roundabouts.

However, these same politicians react when they’re forced to do so by the business community.

I’m sure BU remembers the police operation some time during the early 1980s, during which Rastafarian vendors were removed from the alley between Cave Shepherd & Co. Ltd. and Norman’s Centre, popularly known at the time as ‘Rocker’s Alley.’

19. I must also add to the list of lawlessness on the roads, those Chefette and KFC delivery drivers.

They are often seen driving recklessly EVERY DAY, causing me to ask if the vehicles are registered as emergency vehicles……

…… or if the owners of those restaurants made some special arrangement with government and police for them to speed.

20. wha gine on hey !

21. BAJAN IN EXILE Avatar

IT is also known as “lobbying” in North America. Black, White, Indian, Chinese, God made us all of one blood.

There is so much hatred and DIVISION on this blog it is sickening.

Instead of blaming who is really responsible for these egregious problems we start fighting against each other and that is what the “elite” the “Globalists” and the “NWO” want.

What about “WE THE PEOPLE” instead We the People fighting against one another.

WE HAVE BEEN ON THIS ROUNDABOUT FOR TOO LONG.

22. “There is so much hatred and DIVISION on this blog it is sickening.”

Please explain?

23. William Skinner Avatar

Yes, you are correct all facilitated by Black politicians.
    We have said repeatedly that there isn’t one single problem that we are now facing that was not around for nearly forty years. We constantly submitted that when we had reached the point of measuring degrees of equally poor governance, we would only continue to retrogress. Its like telling two kids one who got 2/10 and the other 1/10 as one having some superior position. Governance of the BLPDLP has been equally good and equally bad to the same degree, but party loyalists would always find some trivial achievement to herald as a great advantage for one or the other. But from all indications, we are exactly where we want to be and it will take a herculean task to change this mindset.

24. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

Artax quoting Emmanuel Joseph “National Insurance is not taken out. If you work for $12, you get $12.”

And if they become ill, or when they become old who will take carw of them if they and/or their employers refuse to pay NIS.

That said I took a ZR yesterday and the ride was uneventful.

Got my NIS pension today and that is a nice reward for having worked full time for over 40 years. Bills paid. Food in the house.

25. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

Observing July 25, 2024 at 8:22 am “The late D. Thompson once said publicly this sector alone is largely responsible for the spread of much of society’s ills and subsequent sub culture.

And where would you and the late David Thompson put rum manufacturing, rum selling and rum drinking as a cultural negative?

26. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

The real-real problem is not ZR’s. The real-real problem is too many private cars on our roads.

But none of us wish to give up our “chariots” the ultimate status symbol. and advocate for a safe, clean, efficient, well regulated public transportation system, with staff who are decently paid [NIS and taxes too] for the ESSENTIAL work that they do,

27. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

Rent-seeking
    A term used to describe the practice of grabbing a bigger slice of the cake without adding more value. A company might lobby the government to grant it profitable contracts on sweetheart terms, or regulations that stifle competitors.

Crony capitalism
    An economic system in which businesses thrive because of their connections with political leaders rather than prowess in a competitive market.

28. “And if they become ill, or when they become old who will take care of them if they and/or their employers refuse to pay NIS.”

@ Cuhdear Bajan

Those of us who contributed to NIS should support those individuals who did not contribute.

After all, according to the ‘BU intelligentsia,’ the fund was created so we could be ‘our brother’s keeper.’

We’re forced to contribute to a non-contributory pension fund, from which people who worked and refused to pay NIS, people who refused to work or women who remained at home to be a ‘housewives,’ are supported.

29. NorthernObserver Avatar

WE love it so 👍 😃

30. I knew Hants would be on to those “houses”! I was wondering since this morning, “Wuh gine on heh?”

The silent opening and closing of the doors to these boxes conveyed some sort of attitude to me in a true Bajan stylie.

For whom are these boxes intended. Who are the suppliers?

And, most importantly, is our government in any way involved or contemplating being involved in so boxing our citizens?

31. Terence M Blackett Avatar
    Terence M Blackett

TRUST YOUR DOCTORs??? TRUST YOUR MEDICATIONs??? TRUST YOUR POLIETICIANS??? TRUST THE ACQUIRED KNOWLEDGE THAT MEN ESPOUSE – RAMPING THEM UP TO THE HEIGHTS OF THE #gods OF OLYMPUS??? IF SO, WHAT YOU ARE ABOUT TO HEAR WILL BUST WIDE OPEN THE HERMETICALLY SEALED GLOBAL AMOEBA BUBBLE YOU HAVE BEEN ENCASED IN

#Time2ChallengeYourPerceptions

32. @ Artax

Well said sir! I maintain that the non contributory pension want dunning! If the state wants to maintain it then pay it from the consolidated fund!

33. @ John A

We both agreed about NOT HAVING ANY PROBLEM if ‘government’ paid those persons an ‘ex gratia’ payment from the consolidated fund, rather than a non-contributory pension from the National Insurance Scheme.

Why the consolidated fund?

One reason is, collectively, they would’ve purchased ‘hundreds of thousands of dollars’ in goods and services, inclusive of VAT.

Although BOTH you and I SHARED the SAME opinion, unfortunately, I was the main target for verbal abuse hurled by certain members of the ‘BU intelligentsia.’

34. Artax just finish your post with ” cuss me if you want i dont give a rats ass.” LoL

My view on this is that although they dont contribute anything to the fund and hence are owed nothing from it, if government wants to pay these persons then pay them from the state coffers. Thing is even this needs to come with an expiry date.

So for example the state effective January 1 st 2026 say, will take over the payments CURRENTLY being made by the NIS to non contributory persons. However be advised that no new persons effective January 2025 can apply for a non contributory pension. That way those on are not penealised and those that never pay a cent, well wunna been told dont apply cause we done wid dat!

35. Where are the investigators?
    ?????
    All this talk about crime, guns and tired, yet I am hearing a story of a gun wielding magistrate.
    Did anyone else hear?

36. @ John A

I ‘curse proof.’

🤣🤣🤣🤣

However, agree with your suggestion.

Successive BLP and DLP administrations encouraged mendicancy and an over reliance on the state.

I know of a case involving a woman who has been receiving financial assistance from the Welfare Department for the past 20 years, including paying a portion of rent for the apartment she lives in….. from the time her daughter was 11 years old, and she now 31.

And, people who are actually in dire need experience difficulty in accessing such assistance.

Some people waste their earnings and then apply to UDC or RDC for house repairs.

I believe ‘means testing’ should be used as the basis to determine eligibility for state sponsored social services.

It would also either reduce or eliminate benefits for those persons whose income or assets exceed certain thresholds and would help preserve social services as a safety net for those who truly need it.

37. Artax,

I agree.

I am left leaning but not a lunatic.

38. Some of us always point out contradictions here and there.

But when we point at ordinary people the most headmasterly flogging is publicly rendered.

Theirs is not silly like the decades old racist predisposition of the Johnny was recently termed.

Oh no!

By that worldview the ranking White of supremacist thinking and praxis is the kind of silliness to giggle act.

But there is never to be anything other than the corporal punishment of an oldtime headmaster to visit upon regular folks.

For it was a rightness for that man to come to the school and ruff up that headmaster for visiting brutality upon his son.

The same level of physical violence should find modern day old school master types on blogs.

39. Out of control are the international systems.

With the Olympics starting in France today Russian and Belarusian athletes cannot compete under their flags but the Zionist regime could kill hundreds of Palestinian Olympic athletes and according to Lancet over 186,000 Gazans and the Zio-fascist are in France with the blue and white drenched in Palestinian blood.

Out of control?

Yes, and only the big, mushroom-headed, deckie can bring it back from these orders of things.

40. NorthernObserver Avatar

If one returns to the Actuarial Audits from the 90’s, there was little to suggest the NIS couldn’t continue as is.
    But it was used as a political piggy bank. And as soon as the elected didn’t wish the voters to know how their public wealth fund was being managed, they ceased issuing Annual Reports.
    Once they had gotten away with that for several years, it was decided to ramp up the attacks on the NIS Reserves, by forcing them to buy huge amounts of bonds. Not that this alone was the only area being mismanaged.
    So now one has to alter the benefits to fit the reserves.
    Many of those benefits had value. Whether the recipient contributed or not.
    It was a more holistic view of society.
    Some will always try to ‘wuk de system’, but society does need to help those who cannot help themselves, and I don’t mean the lazy.
    Sometimes I don’t think the elected know the difference between the NIS piggy bank and the Consolidated Fund piggy bank. They move between them almost seamlessly.
    Mothers, and Grandmother’s were the backbone of many households whether they worked part time, full time or not at all. And as is said, it takes a whole village to raise a child, were there for many who were not their remit.

41. My position is that while we exist in this white supremacist system, disciplining ourselves is the only way we shall improve our lot.

We must all learn to contribute what we can rather than mooch off of those who are already struggling.

As for those ZR shenanigans, they can kill us or maim us for life. Don’t see how that helps any of us in the battle against the white man.

We must care about each other, build up and safeguard each other’s life, health and wealth in preparation for tackling the white man.

To win against white supremacy, we must first win against ourselves!

42. @ NorthernObserver – 10:43 pm

What a contribution!!!
    What mature and responsible thinking!
    What direct and honest assessment of the root problems.

what a place you have accurately described.
    what a curse that brass bowls can be so manipulated…

What a world where right can be SO wrong, …and wrong can be universally accepted
    – a world where Trump is not only OUT OF JAIL, but set to have ‘the button’ in hand

It CANNOT be much longer now….
    No wonder the Bible tells us that (so much shiite will be going on), “except those days be shortened, NOTHING will be left alive….”
    …sounds like were are there…

43. “Mothers, and Grandmother’s were the backbone of many households whether they worked part time, full time or not at all. And as is said, it takes a whole village to raise a child, were there for many who were not their remit.”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    This is the essence of community centric thinking Boss…

@ NO – You seem to be a FAILED albino centric specimen.
    LOL ha ha
    BU works!!!

44. William Skinner Avatar

@ Bajan in Exile
    People operate in their own comfort zones. We have been conditioned to brand each other either B or D.
    A serious perusal of BU and other media including Call in programs during the period 2008 to 20018 and then from 2018 to present , would reveal a level of national discourse that is primarily based on destructive partisan hypocrisy.
    There is no unique hatred or anger on BU ; it’s just the reflection of the political culture that we all become involved in from time to time.
    Finally , in spite or despite the shortcomings of our political culture, we maintain that it would be virtually impossible, for the voters of any Caribbean country to go in a voting booth and vote for any inferior white , lying , racist and con artist to lead any country in our region.
    To put it mildly, our Caribbean civilization within less than two hundred years after slavery , has produced leaders that are far superior to the USA.

45. To put it mildly, our Caribbean civilization within less than two hundred years after slavery , has produced leaders that are far superior to the USA.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Have to disagree William.

Practically all of our ‘top leaders’ have been albino centric clones of the western countries.
    Except for a few outliers (who would have been labeled as radicals or terrorists) we have mostly produced such clones.

Jamaica has been a clear exception.

Even in music and culture, we have just copied -to the point where out last ’national hero’ is someone who has been able to outdo the albino centric at their own music and business.
    Compare with Jamaica…

The ACTUAL situation with the USA , Jamaica and Barbados is what Bushie is calling the ‘CURSE”…
    …where we inevitably get the kind of leadership that we DESERVE…and not the best available.

The USA clearly DESERVES Trump …or perhaps even worse – when we review their role as a country over the years.
    …same goes for Brassbados.

However there ARE some PHENOMENAL LEADERS hidden in our world, it is just that brassbowlery is NOT DESERVING of such…..

46. We HAVE NOT suggested those persons SHOULDN’T be given some sort of ‘ex gratia’ payment.

So, to come here talking shiite about “mature thinking” and “the essence of community centric thinking” is utter nonsense!!!!

But, then again, I guess blaming the ills of society on the Independence monument at the Garrison to be “mature thinking” as well.

🤣🤣🤣

Anyhow, all we’re saying is that such payments should be made from the consolidated fund, rather than the NIS.

If EVERYONE in Barbados purchases goods and services, from which VAT is deducted and PAID into the consolidated fund, then, wouldn’t the ENTIRE community be actually contributing to the payment?

47. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Artax
    Your logic is fair.
    Yet when money bound for the NIS is diverted by a former MoF, are the CF monies from the NIS or the taxpayers?
    While to your logical accounting mind they are very separate and distinct entities, our elected have treated them like almost one and the same. They want money and they grab from wherever they can.

48. @ Northern

I agree and that is why I agree with Artax and say pay the non contributory pension from the consolidated fund, seeing that between sinkyun and Mia they have crippled the fund. The least central government can do is take this burden off the fund as a starting point, with a cash injection then followig. Also keep wunna dam hands off my money going forward !