The blogmaster read the Barbados Today Editorial (4 July 2024) with interest. It raised concerns about matters the Barbados Underground family has been debating over the years.

Actuary and talk show host Walter Blackman has repeated many times the best approach to “achieving retirement security consists of a pension, Social Security, and individual savings. Your pension helps you to maintain your standard of living in retirement, and savings provides important supplemental income for unforeseen expenses” – see The Importance of Your Pension.

The news originating from Financial Stability Report 2023 should be of concern to government and citizens.

Pension coverage continued to decline as wind-ups outpaced new registrants over the past five years.

The sector is comprised 245 occupational pension plans, of which 58 percent are defined-contribution (DC), 32 percent are defined-benefit (DB), and 10 percent are hybrid (DB+DC combined) pension plans. Since 2019, 39 pension plans within the sector have wound-up, primarily originating from within the financial, services, tourism, and sales/distributions sectors. While the sector has experienced eight wind-ups over the past year, the global slowdown will likely impact these economic sectors and threaten the viability of occupational pension plans. The sector’s size relative to the economy stood at 22.1 percent at year-end compared to 24.1 percent in the prior year.

The news that 39 occupational pension plans were wound up because of financial challenges by employers is a concern not just because Barbados is labelled an ageing population. A reminder: good planning for retirement, especially for middleclass citizens, depends on public and private pension income supplemented with personal savings to bridge the fall off in salary income at retirement. This is important in a Barbados context which is a high cost of living country and elderly care support is virtually non existent.

It gets worse.

Barbadians were encouraged in the 80s and 90s to plan for retirement, many did by investing in Registered Retirement Savings Plans (RRSPs), Savings Bonds, Debentures and domestic government securities. After the country started to experience economic difficulty, incentives to encourage savings in RRSPs were removed. To add to the challenge of planning for retirement in Barbados- especially for the decimated middleclass – having taxed income via PAYE contributions to pension plans are also taxed as well as pension income exceeding $45,000 per annum and.

What about the our National Insurance Social Security Scheme (NISSS). Despite government’s best public relations it should be obvious to citizens the Scheme is proving to be a challenge for government. While it has cashflow to pay pensions owed in the short term, the future of the Scheme is bleak. Barbados has one of the highest social security contribution rates as well as age eligibility. To claim a full NIS pension one has to be 67 years old, soon to be increased to 67.5 in 2028 and 68 years old in 2034.

For umpteen years no NIS Reports. Then the same (NIS) Board which cannot produce a single annual Report, can miraculously produce a 23 page Report in ’22 on the Revitalization of the Fund. In ’23 the NIS is transitioned to the NISSS, still without a single annual Report from at least the prior 13 years. In Aug ’23, the PM tells us “they have Reports to 2016”. In the IMF Report we learn this is 2010-16 (where are the missing from before ’10?) and they have been sent to the Auditor General. The “Law” requires the Aud Gen has a month to review the Report, before forwarding it to the Minister who MUST present it (them) to both Houses of Parliament. Given the Aud Gen received 6 to 7 Reports at one time, said office should be granted 6-7 months to review? Given they were complete in Aug ’23, the Aud Gen had until the end of March ’24? Here we are 3+ months longer and still nothing presented in either House? More delay.

Society tolerates endless delay. In fact, it revels in it.

NO, BU Family member

It is worth highlighting members of parliament are eligible for pension at the age of 50 or get two-thirds of their salary in pension after two terms in office.

25 responses to “Pension headache”

1. When will the herd get the message?

Go to the fundamental truism?

A truism which has been long decided and so imposed on countries influenced by a criminal elite which runs the West.

That determination was that defined benefit pensions will be done away with, period?

This has been a project mounted by them after the so-called New Deal, when under pressure by American Communists and other radical workers temporarily lost this battle in the face of the pitchforks of these American radical forces. FDR himself then saving the elites from the angry workers with a wide range of social welfare concessions to workers.

It took them 50 years but by 1980 and the rise of neoliberalism the inheritors of this same agenda were ready to, in their minds, right an historical wrong.

Get use to it! Do you presume that money purchase plans, as mentioned, making up nearly 100 percent of all pensions occurred by accident.

In these pension plans they are no cost of living adjustment, no increases with workers negotiations, nothing. You are on your own!

Or would you presume that NIS has been gutted by happenstance? These are facets of the globalist construction. Even the workers’ unions are captives of this system as people everywhere are driven down.

This has been a determined policy. And there is nothing anybody in Barbados could have done, can do, to avoid this brave new world of Huxley.

The kind of thinking here refuses to be informed by all the historical forces which, for a short historical moment, gave the much vaunted hope to ordinary people with a socialist welfare architecture.

When one’s ass is so deeply entrenched within capitalism, and the like, while refusing to accept the totality of the broader histories, higher levels of understanding will never be reached.

An understanding which must of necessity accept the reality that, unless another radical intervention, like happened before, occurs the ethos of defined benefit pensions is dead forever. That money purchase plans are the same as we’ve had before that radical action of the Americans, before and immediately after, the two world wars.

Saying the same thing for decades, absent reality, consigns one to that death well sought!

A death or suicide caused by the 0.01 percent for whom the political-managerial types in Barbados are modern day slaves.

2. https://youtu.be/tXZYDtBt9k0?si=dh3CFcYPfXxRGZiY

On Emannuel Todd! The links.

3. Between Walter Blackman, Northern Observer, and the BU posse generally, we have been warning of the un-sustainability of these schemes under the past and current retarded leadership that we have had…
    One well remembers Denis Kellman pontificating on how these funds would be deployed – a fella who, it turns out, could not even run a rumshop in the town on the moon.

Add the fact that (BREAKING OUR LAWS WITH IMPUNITY,) no financial reports are forthcoming as REQUIRED by law, …and NOT A FELLA IS CHARGED….!!!

BUT…
    What OTHER kind of behavior did you expect from sheep Pacha..?
    Even when they KNOW that their asses are destined to the slaughter house, they continue to revel in their festivals, socials, cricket hosting, and petty gossip.

Only when we can find a way to CONVERT sheep into LIONS, can we expect them to take CONTROL of their destiny away from the wolves that currently farm them….

Do you know how to effect such a conversion boss…?

4. Interesting reform to pensions unraveling in England. We have to wait to see if a new government will pivot:

————————————————————-

Overview of pension reforms from 6 April 2024 | TaxScape | Deloitte | Deloitte

https://taxscape.deloitte.com/article/overview-of-pension-reforms-from-6-april-2024.aspx

5. There really is no surprise we are where we are with the highest contribution rate in the region. When you write off a billion dollars of the funds assets, cut the earnings on the rest of their paper from 7 to 1%, while having no plan in place to refinance the fund, what wunna thought would happen?

Add to that the poor ass performing assets they have in real estate like the Grotto and the buildings they rent to the state at pepper corn rent, all leaves you with an entity that cant even meet their monthly liabilities far less invest for the future.

Don’t worry though we got a plan. We going increase retirement age to 70 and insist you got a minimum of 2500 contributions to qualify for a pension going forward. This with increasing the contribution rate to 30% of insured earnings and we should be ok fuh now!

6. @John A

What is more worrying is that the public is as numb to what is happening with the NISSS fund as they are with the murders.

7. @ David

Cropover coming we ain’t got no time wid dat now.

8. Why do we set aside millions to educate our people if they are unable to focus on issues of national importance? The financial health of our Social Security system should be important to a population that is aging.

In a high cost of living jurisdiction where social security must supplement savings with work pension a bonus it seems based on last financial stability report, what will it take?

The public cannot please ignorance when the crap spills over like the outfalls on the south coast.

9. Weeee should learn to face several scenarios with a robust national strategic plan.

One scenario must be based on the assumption that pensions systems all will collapse and plan thusly. Weeee have known this for 50 years!

There should be nothing held sacred. Whether empire exist or not. Whether a new world order comes in or not. Whether the USD collapses or not.

These and many other variables ………..

These are central planning functions not unlike infrastructural works.

Then again those over committed to capitalism must proffer its outsourcing to some amorphous activist groupings of citizens known not to exist or as the old people would say ‘whose mudder dead and father ain’t born yet’.

10. NorthernObserver Avatar

I came the conclusion long ago, that life is sweet in Bim, people are generally doing well, and while complaining a little is a national pastime there and elsewhere, they are not bothered by financial matters. Even if indirectly it is their money. People got nuff money.
    The frequent response to such matters is ‘Wha yah want muh to do’?
    For 10 marks discuss why the completed NIS reports began in 2010 (I believe ’05-06 was the last) and why they didn’t include ’16-18?

11. “Why do we set aside millions to educate our people if they are unable to focus on issues of national importance?”

I’m assuming you mean schools and unis
    kids don’t care too much about that stuff
    and as they hit their teens acting cool is more important
    perhaps the millions should be spent on adult education
    work qualifications certificates etc for career advancement
    new technologies and methodologies etc

12. @NO

Didn’t Justin Robinson hint there is a dark hole accessing source docs to validate? They probably planning to take a qualified opinion.

13. @ NO
    You need to study ‘sheep’.
    It will be an eye opener for you, – a natural born predator 🙂

Do you know that if you take a flock of sheep to the abattoir for a day, and make them watch the process, that they will go back to their farm and pretend that it has nothing to do with them, and the only thing of import is some regular ‘sheep bubbling’.

Sheep will be sheep.
    In our specific case, brass bowl sheep.

Wolves, butchers, and stray dogs all rush to our happy little island and set up farms – and the sheep actually WELCOME them with open legs… and plenty vaseline.
    We call it Foreign Direct Investment, AKA mutton on sale – cheap.

NO ONE should be surprised at the results that we are seeing…
    Sheep will NEVER be able to live like lions…
    UNLESS there is some kind of TRANSFORMATIONAL conversion from brass bowlery.

That requires fundamental spiritual change….

14. David,

I wouldn’t say they are numb. I’d say that they don’t believe that anything will change no matter what they do.

They cannot see past the present system enough to fight for a different future. Most are resigned to their fate.

Visionaries are not a dime a dozen. Most are trapped in the present. It does not mean that they are unaware of the situation. It means thar they are unaware of the way out of it.

No matter what some may say, nothing happens without thought leaders and action leaders. Special people who gain the trust of the masses.

Who would that be?

15. @Donna

Fair feedback.

16. We should not forget either that the sense of community we once had is no more. That connectedness we had with one another is gone.

I live in St. Philip, which is far from the worst place as far as community spirit goes, but that oneness died with those of my grandparents’ generation. There used to be persons who were trusted to be for the common good, person villagers would go to for advice, help, to settle disputes etc. No more. Nobody is trusted.

Hard to work together when individualism is the new normal. Hard to form a movement when everybody is seen to be looking out for their own interests only.

17. The problems are known. Most solutions are known, but yet I see my countrymen slowly inching towards the known solution. It is almost as if they wish the problem to quietly go away instead of solving the problem. And guess what happens… they elect a bunch of folks who gives them what they want and jus kick the can down the road.

We roll from one issue to another without solving anything.

We display all of the trappings needed to solve the problem. We have reports, we get timelines for when the problems will be resolved, approximate solutions are broadcasted, we move to the next problem and a few days/months/years down the road we see the same problem confronting us as if it was a new problem

We don’t need visionaries*; we need to open our eyes*, we need to be honest with ourselves, we need to face and fully solve the problems confronting us.

NB: *As this is really a call and response situation, some post may share a common ‘theme’. There fore it is important that we not bully each other. Just tailor your response to what was said. Just put your ideas, nothing more.

18. Why do I see typos, immediately after posting. I suspect that the blogmaster has a make The O look silly machine 🙂
    Joking. Just joking. I know I am responsible for my errors.

One cheap joke allowed… Nobody needs to make you look silly, you do a superb job all by yourself. Be creative ..

19. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Donna
    C’mon, most of this requires no vision.
    The system as it’s called, was designed with what Vincent Codrington called checks and balances.
    Do you know when the term Annual Report is used, that INCLUDES a commentary from the BOARD, those persons elected/appointed to represent OWNERS, in the case of public bodies, the people of BARBADOS, on their ACTIVITY for the past year. It also includes similar from KEY MANAGERS. Those persons employed and getting paid to do a job, which INCLUDES REPORTING.
    Such commentary could include why the financial component of the Report is missing/incomplete.
    But…the public gets nothing? The QEH, TB, BTII, the majority of them.
    Instead they change the Board Chair every couple of years, and the silence continues.
    And every now and then, the Supreme Leader speaks. And like sheep, we devour every word, and that becomes the focus.
    Did you hear any journalist ask about CBL?
    That is $124M plus the money for the property, another +/- $36M missing.
    But we are going to discuss Savvy and the $3M?
    The same place they tek down numerous Coconut trees, and then we are told post Beryl we need more trees to hold the sand together?
    Can you not see the irony?
    Do you realize CBL paid the DEBTS of the project owners, and who was their lawyer(s)? Do you realize there was in excess of $15M to be paid in restarting actions for a project never restarted, but the loan (in fact ALL of them) defaulted. Where was it spent?
    Do you realize the former MoF, without a sole PUBLICLY informed (they were rumours) redirected $400+M in CASH, bound for the NIS back into GoB coffers, for which the NIS now has newly minted Bonds. Vagabonds? Or is that money laundering for the redirection withOUT parliamentary authority was a crime?
    Is it any wonder after CBL that he was “owed one”? All on the taxpayer dime.
    As Bushie says Sheep. As JohnA says a dollar saved is a dollar earned.
    Can’t see solutions? Insist they follow the law and produce Reports. No financials, that is ok.

20. T he fair NO, what is happening with savvy is the same flawed decision making and behaviour by actors in civil society.

21. NorthernObserver Avatar

Go back to Reporting.
    “IF” the BTII/BTI had issued Annual Reports, the public wouldn’t be waiting upon an AG, to produce what happened in the years following the tender?
    And the matter would have existed long before it did. Delay, Delay.

22. NO,

I see that you have totally missed my point. I am speaking about moving past our political system. I’m talking about a total vision for a new way of governing ourselves. I am talking about getting people to believe that a government for the people is possible, and getting them mobilized to fight for it.

You are speaking about a narrow issue. I am speaking about a much broader issue.

And the Royal Wee is speaking even more broadly.

23. @Donna

Believe it or not sometimes the occurrence of natural disasters may force people to think differently, become more resilient therefore think more deeply about their contribution to a goal, but it usually occurs when undisputed leaders emerge with the ability to rally the people.

24. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Donna
    That is way beyond my pay grade.
    My sole observation from the bleachers, is
    we cannot expect a system to function well, when numerous of the component parts don’t function.

25. Aging Populations and Shrinking Workforces Pose New Challenges for the Caribbean!

https://thevoiceslu.com/2024/07/aging-populations-and-shrinking-workforces-pose-new-challenges-for-the-caribbean/