Of interest to many coming out of Prime Minister Mia Mottley’s press conference yesterday was government’s planned response to the number of murders which have surpassed 2023. See BU’s Homicide Tracker on the sidebar.

The crime situation has been a worry for many years and although full blame for the decline in law in order in Barbados cannot in fairness be ascribed to government, it is a major stakeholder in the process of maintaining law and order.

For example, the amendment to the Bail Act should have been completed by now even if the drafting had to be outsourced or prioritised over several other pieces of legislation enacted. The increase in violent crime – specifically the number of murders – is symptomatic of serious social dysfunction in the country. It is obvious to many of us it there is no quick solution to arrest the problem, the fact there is no coherent comprehensive plan to tackle the problem is not comforting.

There are a few issues commonsense indicates should not be politicised with crime being one. Given the current state and the inability of successive governments to fight crime this blogmaster is suggesting the Barbados government declares a state of emergency for an initial period of 3 months. During this period the courts will work 24 hours, police leave will be cancelled, ports of entry will be manned or supervised by an elite group selected from the Barbados Police Service and Barbados Defense Force, check points established to frisk and search, curfews to be used strategically, assets seized from criminal activity to fund victims and significant rewards for information to locate crime bosses, expand a covert program to co-opt former gang leaders to assist in the fight. The blogmaster is not 100% comfortable with the last suggestion but difficult situations require hard decisions.

The point: government and support entities in Barbados must take draconian positions to arrest crime if we are serious. On the flip side we must create programs to assist households and families struggling with managing at risk behaviour. The job of the social practitioners must be elevated above doctor, lawyer and engineer using the mantra many hands make light work.

It does not matter the grandiose economic plans of government, we must return Barbados to a state where a single murder is big news. If we are unable to send a strong message that a criminal or lawless act will be dealt with harshly, we will continue spinning tot in mud.

At the root of our problem is that we are a people who lack discipline. Unfortunately it is a characteristic of Western culture and the liberal democracies we subscribe. Recently the blogmaster read how Japan was able to maintain ‘spotless’ streets without having garbage cans. In a word, it requires relevant laws that are enforced without favour to fashion the right behaviour in citizens, to develop the right culture – see article Why Japan’s streets are spotless.

The blogmaster is known to be an optimist BUT is feeling pessimistic regarding proposals made public by the prime minister yesterday. We need to get active as a country, the proposals signal more of the same which translates to the crime situation worsening.

Comprehensive report of PM Mottley’s press conference. Source: Starcom

115 responses to “Government losing crime fight”

1. We knew we had a problem for decades.

2. “This is a wonderful example of why I have long argued that BU should not allow anonymous accounts.

Signal is drowned out by noise.

Cowards are able to post.”

I am doubtful if what you post would past as signal and it is not even sensible noise. Here you attacked the one person who uses his name. Ignorance passing as signal.

3. @Dee Word

All of us are making suggestions, even extreme ones, to signal to authorities meaningful change is required not the usual bandaid stuff..

4. Do we have an agency in Barbados responsible for following money deposited into the financial system in order to connect dots?

Xxxxxxxxx

YOU AND MANY OTHERS OBVIOUSLY DON’T HAVE A CLUE.

I HAVE BEEN IN HOUSES OWNED AND IN SOME CASES RENTED ON THE 2X3 ISLAND BY SOME OF THE LOCAL MINORITY WHITES FORMERLY BUSINESS ASSOCIATES WHERE THEY HAVE SAFES AND IN MANY CASES MILLIONS OF BD$ HIDDEN AWAY.

5. Great, these millions in cash can be use to purchase high value commodities.The blogmaster is surprised you have not had a tour of heaven.

6. Thumbs up for decision on Bail Act

Opposition Leader Ralph Thorne is commending Government on its decision to revisit the Bail Act, particularly focusing on measures to make bail more challenging for those charged with murder.

“The Prime Minister [Mia Amor Mottley] and I would share similar thoughts as to the idea to make bail difficult for persons charged with murder. It is regrettable, however, that the Government had not pursued this partial solution earlier,” he told the Sunday Sun yesterday.

The King’s Counsel said he had previously advocated for a more nuanced approach to handling murder charges.

“In a parliamentary debate, I had also earlier recommended a system of degrees of murder which would accommodate a more rational system of bail for lesser degrees of homicide,” he stated.

“If we create a system of degrees of murder, the police would, at the stage of charging, be able to assess the severity of the offence and decide into which degree the accused would fall. The statute would restrict the grant of bail only to the lesser degrees of murder.”

Community policing

Mottley announced on Friday that her administration planned to go back to amend the Bail Act so people charged with murder and serious firearm offences would not receive bail within a certain time. In addition, an Organised Crime Unit would be set up in the Barbados Police Service and there would be an expansion of community policing.

The State has appealed the 2021 ruling by Justice Shona Griffith, in the case of Lamar Antonio Jones vs The Attorney General, which declared as unconstitutional

Section 5(a) of the Bail (Amendment) Act 2019 which had forced the courts to remand people charged with murder or serious firearm offences for 24 months before they could qualify for bail.

Mottley said that in light of the recent spate of killings, Government was not prepared to wait on the Court of Appeal’s decision, but would instead pre-emptively make adjustments to the legislation or, if necessary, draft a new one.

Thorne said the current system where bail was available to all charged with murder, was fundamentally flawed.

“The original intention may have been to benefit persons charged with murder where there were mitigating circumstances. However, persons charged with the most heinous offences of murder took advantage of a system that may not have been designed for them,” he said.

He pointed to slow trials that often forced courts to grant bail to guarantee the constitutional right to a timely trial.

However, the veteran attorney acknowledged efforts by the judiciary to address the issue by dedicating specific courts to murder trials but urged Parliament to take legislative action.

On Government’s proposal to establish a task force on organised crime, Thorne expressed support but noted that his party had already taken proactive steps.

“We wish them well. On Thursday I announced the establishment of our Commission on Crime. Yesterday, we held discussions with our chairman Verla De Peiza and set a calendar of our public hearings by our commission of 12 persons. We are not waiting on the Government,” he said. (CLM)

7. Youth: Call national meeting on crime

Government is being called on to have a more inclusive and comprehensive approach to fighting the surge in violent crime in Barbados.

President of the Barbados Youth Development Council, Caleb Brathwaite, says while they support Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley’s plans announced on Friday, there needed to be a national meeting involving various stakeholders from civil society to collaboratively “wrestle crime to the ground”.

He made the plea during a press conference at the Ministry of Youth, Haggatt Hall, St Michael, yesterday.

“We did agree with the measures proposed, but we believe that the Prime Minister should still convene a national meeting of stakeholders, encompassing civil society which includes organisations such as ours,” he said. “This is so that collectively, as a nation, we can deal with the mission at hand and wrestle crime to the ground.”

He said while Government’s plans were commendable, a collective approach could yield even more effective solutions.

“So even though Government may have ideas, we may come into a room and create other solutions. We would have proposed various developmental programmes such as opening resource centres for longer times. However, when we come together, we can develop even more ideas. “We must recognise that an all-society approach is what is needed to wrestle crime to the ground,” he said. Highlighting the rising crime among youth, with five homicides in seven days up to Thursday, Brathwaite attributed the situation to a “systemic failure” from the past. “Based on what we are seeing in recent times, we understand that crime is prevalent among young people. A lot of young people are dying as a result of gun violence. When we address the root cause of this, we discover that it is that of systemic failure years ago which is now trickling down and having that effect,” the council president said.

He also said the problem of gangs in Barbados had to be dealt with.

“When the Prime Minister spoke about organised crime, we must understand that what we are seeing now is that these crimes are not random. We have to be real that there are gangs in Barbados. These gangs form when there is a lack of community programmes, which would have ensured that these groups of young people are not left to idleness.”

Brathwaite called for longer opening hours for community and resource centres.

“[They] close at 4 p.m. when the children are getting home around that time. This has to stop and there has to be a better mechanism. Consideration may have to be given to bringing in night staff,” he said, while noting that organisations such as his were in need of funding to do more community outreach.

“We do recognise that it is not an overnight fix and some of these measures may take a couple of months to implement, but we must implement the short-term fix alongside the long-term ones.” (CLM)

8. Serious crime has become ‘cancerous’ in Barbados and just like with the human body when it occurs drastic intervention/treatment is requires, it is no different here.

To all those spouting BS about encroaching on personal freedoms etc, one does not have to look no further than the USA where the police has had to weaponise to look like a military outfit and it has not prevented increase in serious crime.

We are a small country and if we have to take drastic action in the short term to disrupt current trend, so be it! What this blogmaster knows is that the feel good, tepid, band aid offering from PM Mottley will not work. We live here, we walk among the people, we are in tune with the culture, we see the lawlessness – wontan littering, breaking stop lights, using mobile phones while driving, open use of contraband, PSVs parking and driving as they like, pent up rage being vented here there and every where, poor people using their last dollar to get on a plane or cruise ship, knotty head children going to school etc etc etc.

Lack of discipline is a problem. A model society must have good discipline undergirding it.

9. NO,

I repeat – these little, foolish, black boys are not at the top.

You can talk US if you like. I am talking about Barbados. These bout heh does get more death than dollars.

10. David
    July 7, 2024 at 4:31 am

Thumbs up for decision on Bail Act

Opposition Leader Ralph Thorne is commending Government on its decision to revisit the Bail Act, particularly focusing on measures to make bail more challenging for those charged with murder.

Ralph Thorne is no more Leader of the Opposition than you are or I am or Reverent Joe was..

Ninja Man possibly has a better claim given his close relationship with the Parliament Buildings!!

He is there to create the illusion that the fake PM, Ms. Mockley, consulted with a fake Leader of the Opposition and recommended names of judges to be appointed to the Supreme Court to the fake president, a post that does not exist in the constitution of Barbados.

One of those names is Jacqueline Cornelius-Thorne, wife of Ralph Thorne!!!

https://barbados.loopnews.com/content/two-justices-appeal-sworn

This is no more than a political favour and a violation of the principle of Separation of Powers.

It is a level of lawlessness and criminal behavious that exceeds anything we have seen before.

https://barbadosunderground.net/2016/03/29/a-conflicted-madam-justice-jacqueline-cornelius/

11. Under present govt watch 2018 to present 260 murders have been committed
    Those numbers going continued to increase until govt makes a concerted effort on dealing with the source and placing a ban on guns

12. [Insert Government / Slave Name Here] Avatar
    [Insert Government / Slave Name Here]

In the Anglo-American world of crime youths are used as mules by drug syndicates as they are treated as juveniles in the justice system and will do less time for their crime and are rewarded for doing bird. Old aged pensioners are ‘forced’ to store the product.

No Name Lyrics
    Did you say my name
    You don’t even know my name

13. “Here you attacked the one person who uses his name. Ignorance passing as signal.”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

We’ve heard the criticisms from both past and current BU ‘real name’ contributors, of people posting comments under the ‘cloak of anonymity.’

The hypocrisy lies in the fact that, ‘real name’ contributors DO NOT criticise those anonymous contributors whose ‘ideological philosophies’ are similar theirs.

We’ve been told a guy who uses a pseudonym, ‘is always right.’

However, whenever an anonymous contributor disagrees with their arguments or opinions, using a pseudonym suddenly becomes a problem.

Some of us may be familiar with Antoine-Laurent De Lavoisier’s ‘law of indestructability of matter’ (or the rule of conservation of mass), whereby mass is not created or destroyed during the course of a chemical reaction.

My question is, does the ACCURACY of that law varies according to WHO quotes it?

In other words, does the law ONLY becomes TRUE if it presented to BU by Chris Halsall, Angela Cox or Kammie Holder, but FALSE if by The O Guy or De Pedantic Dribbler?

Over the years I’ve read some shiite posted to BU by ‘real name’ contributors. I remember a guy made a statement about an economic issue, which he justified by saying economics was one of his university courses. Another ‘real name’ guy criticised him saying a course read for a SEMESTER does not qualify him to make the comment.

A few hours after that same guy offered ‘professional’ advice about another matter. When challenged, he arrogantly replied his ONE DAY SEMINAR qualified him to do so.

‘Live and let live.’

14. angela cox
    July 7, 2024 at 7:04 am

Under present govt watch 2018 to present 260 murders have been committed
    Those numbers going continued to increase until govt makes a concerted effort on dealing with the source and placing a ban on guns

We need a Government which itself obeys the law and is accountable.

15. “The blogmaster is surprised you have not had a tour of heaven.”

🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣👍👍

16. Separation of Powers is “[t]he constitutional principle by which core powers and responsibilities of the State are divided between three Branches (Organs) of the State”. This Court has described it as “a foundational feature of the Constitution” and any action that violates the principle may be declared void.”

17. Massive Attack
    Bent PotUS’ have got immunity against criminal ackshun

Get Out of Jail Free Card
    hence the biggest drug smugglers are CIA
    biggest arms dealers are US Gov
    their illegal funds procured are used to finance mo’ “black” ops
    (and I got proof)

18. @John
    The members of this unconstitutional Parliament are the top feeders
    ++++++++++

But John…………. I thought that you were going to run as an “Independent” in the last election but were unable to do so because of some red tape.

Wuhloss…….

19. Had I won and been the only one in opposition I would have resigned as I would have known it was impossible to constitute a parliament.

20. John, if you believe so strongly that Parliament is unconstitutional, why you don’t take it to Court?

You are not a lawyer, why should we listen to you, when all the top notch lawyers in Barbados have not questioned the illegality of Parliament?

21. @John
    You could have said as the only good apple in the H of A you would have changed the other bad apples.

22. LOL @ Kermit
    “……when all the top notch lawyers in Barbados have not questioned the illegality of Parliament?”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    “People who live in steal houses do not question corrosion….”

With the possible exception of two (now that Jeff Cumberbatch is gone to the special place reserved for Bajan lawyers) ALL of the ‘top notch’ lawyers in Barbados are jokers -with no understanding of ethical requirements.

Their stance on the ONGOING universal misuse and abuse of client funds is now legendary – up there with the likes of Al Capone and the Mafia.

This shiite where they have conspired to now have known murderers released into the society on remand – FACILITATED BY THEIR DELAYS, dishonest tactics and nefarious schemes – which are designed to maximize the extent to which they can extract assets from the families of accused via legal fees, means that MURDERS are actually a GOLDMINE for some of our ‘top notch’ lawyers.

Crime is really a VERY SIMPLE matter – whether we are dealing with the family, the society, an organization, a profession or the whole country.
    If the parents / elders / management / professional body / politicians are seen to be routinely dishonest, crooked, untouchable and unethical…
    THEN you can be assured that their various followers will mimic them.

There is nothing FUNNIER than an obviously ill-disciplined, uncouth, un-mannerly parent promising to deal with unruly children by inflicting ‘discipline’…
    ..or crooked lawyers promising to address a sick legal system…
    ..or politicians who are so tainted that they can’t even explain the radical vaccine scam – (far less the NIS / STEAL Houses / HOPE / Savoy / mismanagement,) promising to address the surge in crime….

Addressing crime MUST start with a MIRROR boss…

23. @ John Boy

I saw on a TV program that you can bribe a Judge for a couple of million which is a bargain if you get your three hundred and forty million ruling / lotto win / money

24. Sargeant
    July 7, 2024 at 4:41 pm

You could have said as the only good apple in the H of A you would have changed the other bad apples.

No Parliament can form so no Government can exist!!

Only option is and was to resign and go back to the polls.

The bad apples had and still have a choice.

25. Weird dreams can sometimes give you clarity of visions
    David looks at little problems details
    Bush looks at bigger problems totality
    Seeing the woods from the trees kind of thing
    Everything is just wrong is the issue

26. Bush Tea, even so, my point is John is NOT a lawyer and CAN’T GIVE a legal opinion on a legal matter.

All the talk you put down, would you hire him to represent you if you got into trouble or ask for legal advice?

27. The legacy of the British and their Constitutions in the New World are the problem and not the solution. The Human Race is not a race.

Law is intuitive
    like Spiritual Law and Tort
    and overrides all it’s clumsy words and anal judges
    The Law is not an Ass bit it’s administrators are

DLP did not win any seats for two elections in a row
    so there are no DLP representatives in Parliament
    Ralph is in Parliament on a BLP ticket
    and should get no pass from the DLP gateman to lead them to another defeat

28. The Lancet is estimating 186,000 Palestinians have been genocided, thus far. Given the lunar landscape of Gaza and the many times an equivalent of nuclear weapons American and Europeans have delivered in ordnances, this is unsurprising.

This crime just under five times the figure from the Palestinian health ministry. Which can only verify deaths in hospitals, as they are.

However, Lancet uses population statistics, like they have long done in conflicts, in reaching these numbers.

Separately, Haaretz, a leading Zionist newspaper, has just reported, yesterday, in a damning report, quoting IDF generals, asserts that the vast majority of deaths caused on October 07 were caused by the IDF using the Hannibal Directive.

The Hannibal Directive is an order where the Zionist regime elects to kill Israelis rather than to avoid their capture.

Talk about crime!

Are the assholes here still Christians, tictular or not!

29. Sargeant
    July 7, 2024 at 4:41 pm

No Parliament can form so no Government can exist!!

Only option is and was to resign and go back to the polls.

The bad apples had and still have a choice.

Confess their sins and repent.

Resign

30. Population parameters!

31. @Bush master 6:32 p.m. yesterday
    Excellent. Even inspired.
    –xxx–
    I believe Kermit is stuck on the legal qualifications of John. Truth or wrong does not matter. To him it is a legal problem; as John is no lawyer, John, right or wrong should not have an opinion. A fellow with a law degree can becomes an expert on everything.

This false educated/expert stance is what plagues the island. Folks with papers step up to the podium, talk their nonsense, kick the can down the road and the gullible say “case Case closed; the matter is fully resolved”.

32. @ Kermit
    Of course you are correct that John is NOT a lawyer. Apparently, he is an engineer.

So instead of being a self-centered, predatory abuser of client funds, John is a professional scientist and problem solver.

Wuh…
    The bushman would listen to Ninja Man before a typical shiite lawyer… far less to a “Barbados scholar level” engineer…

Shiite Boss, if John had in ‘some more brass’, he would very likely be a modern day Moses bout here….
    LOL …In which case, he CERTAINLY would not be saddled with his ‘Achilles heel’ about local history…..

@ TheO
    Thanks boss…

33. “The Lancet is estimating 186,000 Palestinians have been genocided, thus far. Given the lunar landscape of Gaza and the many times an equivalent of nuclear weapons American and Europeans have delivered in ordnances, this is unsurprising.”

The Have and Have Nots and the Good over Evil Story which never ends in Glory and only leads to another dance story that is called the Poormans story

Starmer wants to challenge ICC on Netanyu’s behalf so he can suck up to Biden.

… Which is why Kamala Harris needs to be the next PotUS in the spiritual battle of Good over Evil where the Evil Haves usually win but sometimes the Good Have Nots prevail against the rule of wickedness to “win” the most basic fundamental human rights that should have automatically been given from day one.

34. The OG

You should call yourself The (bull d)OG, because when ever somebody say something that you think defends the BLP., you come out barking loud and ready to bite.

What is truth? Do you know if what John is saying is true or not?

We dun know what is truth or lies for you.
    If somebody say something positive about Mottley, it is most definitely a lie for you. Something negative, it’s the truth.

Just the other day you say John is wrong more often than he is right. In other words you basically saying that he step up on the podium, as you call it, to talk some shyte.

In this case, I must accept his opinion on a legal matter because he is Barbados island scholar engineering expert with a degree probably in mathematics, and maybe because his opinion aligns with yours, as long as it is against the government.

And you always question his twististics and twistory?

Yuh see the irony here?

The same way I can’t stop John from having an opinion, you can’t stop me from having one either.

35. John
    July 7, 2024 at 9:15 am

Separation of Powers is “[t]he constitutional principle by which core powers and responsibilities of the State are divided between three Branches (Organs) of the State”. This Court has described it as “a foundational feature of the Constitution” and any action that violates the principle may be declared void.”

Got that from submissions made to the CCJ!!

Here’s where the lawyer got it from so you can check!!

Orozco v Attorney General and others [2020] 2 LRC 501 at para 136.

36. You can read the decision here if you want!!

Looks like it has to do with SEX, just to whet the old men’s appetites!!!

https://www.humandignitytrust.org/wp-content/uploads/resources/Judgment-Orozco-v-The-Attorney-General-of-Belize.pdf

37. @Kermit the hermit
    You allowed your imagination to wander. You went where I did not go. You read what I did not write.

Gather yourself, gather your thoughts, you defend Mia Mottley even when she is not being attacked.

Let me hasten to assure you, I will never confuse you with Mia. Chill.

38. Blogmaster,
    We need a breakout of murder by month of the year.
    Did we just had 7 or 8 murder in a 40 day period?
    Are the murders increasing exponentially?
    Do you have a projection of the murder total for this year?

I have not tried to model it, but unless we change course we will end up in the 50s.

Amit…

39. On the brighter side Grasshopper

If they keep killing one another maybe the really bad ones will disappear.

40. “Starmer wants to challenge ICC on Netanyu’s behalf so he can suck up to Biden.”

I misspoke..
    the Tories had put in a legal challenge against Netanyahu’s arrest warrant
    which Labour are expected to drop / withdraw

Plead I Cause, Battle of the Giants

41. The (bull d)OG.

You live up to that name because you are always in attack mode. 🐕

Ready to BARK and BITE. 🐕

I did not defend Mottley.

Somebody said your comprehension skills are poor.
    It is definitely true.

You involving yourself in too many 🐕 fights.
    Maybe you should stop from posting so much under too many different names and chill out a bit.

Incoherency is showing in your comments.

Have a blessed and wonderful day. 😊

42. 🙂
    My comprehension skills may be poor, but it appears that I am getting my points across; this is demonstrated by the pushback that I get from many.

I hope you realize that it is not my intention to convert anyone or to win an argument. My single mission is to deliver the truth. I know some will find it bitter.

43. You will probably say “Anyone that “is amaze” and as “is surprise” as probably as he is has to be an idiot.

We had more outrage over two botsies (did I spell that right) up in the air than folks being murdered. I suspect that it is because folks are overwhelmed. Too many issues on the front burner, to many issues on the back burner. Systems not working as they should.

Just tuned in to Brasstacks and a lady complaining about a portal (tax) being down for 3 days and when she called in she is told that the system is down. Of course, as she was talking the moderator said that someone called in to say the portal is working fine. Highly amusing, but it would be interesting to know what is the truth.

44. Majority opinion is that the caller is wrong. Moderator suggested using another browser.

45. @ David

There were five (5) murders in St. Lucia over the weekend of Friday, June 7 to Sunday, June 9, 2024. So far, that island has recorded 41 homicides as at July 10, 2024, most of which occurred in Vieux Fort and were gang related or retaliatory as well.

On Friday, June 28, 32 year-old Tanny Cherubin was fatally shot at a bus stop in Durandeau, Millet, while on his way to work.
    Preliminary investigations by the Royal St. Lucia Police Force’s (RSLPF) Major Crimes Unit, led to the identification and arrest of a suspect.
    On Wednesday, July 4, 2024, the MCU formally charged a 26 year-old male, identified as Jesse Charlemagne of Caico, Millet for causing the death of Cherubin.
    Apparently, both men were involved in a verbal altercation on Thursday, and Charlemagne threatened to kill Cherubin.

This murder was not gang related, but occurred as the result of a dispute.

Let it be clear, I’m not suggesting Barbadians should not be concerned because murders are occurring in St. Lucia and elsewhere in the region or comparing our crime situation with that of regional territories.

Similarly, however, many of the homicides in this island seem to be gang related, retaliatory ‘hits’ as well.

We should also be reminded that an ‘underground economy’ exists in Barbados.

The latest murder seems to be a ‘crime of passion.’ How do the authorities go about preventing such crimes?

People respond to things differently, perhaps based on how the event affects them. There isn’t any ‘official manual’ outlining how they should react to any given situation.

I believe Barbadians are generally concerned about the level of crime and gun violence in the island, but probably have adopted the tough attitude that it’s only gangsters or ‘bad boys’ killing each other, so why bother.

46. Had reason to visit the BRA on Monday, July 8, 2024.

It’s true ‘the system was down,’ but technicians were working to have it ‘back online’ that people were able to conduct their business by late morning.

I believe people abuse the call-in-programmes, not only the ‘regular callers,’ but some individuals with frivolous complaints.

Just after the passage of Beryl, people were calling CBC to complain that the water and electricity were off.
    What was a few hours of inconvenience compared with if ‘Beryl’ had hit Barbados directly, and we had to be without water and electricity for days, or weeks (worst case scenario)?

Another example is, the BRA offers tax clinics at various venues across the island, to assist people in filing their income or reverse tax credit returns.
    Some persons would ignore that facility, preferring instead to wait until the deadline date to the visit the BRA, and call ‘Brass Tacks’ to complain ‘the lines were too long.’

47. @Artax

Agree “Barbadians are generally concerned” .

48. @Artax

Again there is agreement BUT part of the problem comes from inefficiencies and bad customer service which Barbadians experience daily. It therefore creates that intolerance when scenarios crop up like post Beryl scenarios you mentioned.