Although Hurricane Beryl skirted the south of Barbados yesterday, early damage assessment includes major damage incurred by the fisherfolk and related facilities.

Barbadians are inclined to be ‘mealy mouthed’ addressing the issues which contrast with the forthright comment from the blogmaster. It is well known a majority of the fishing boat fleet – many reported to have been destroyed or damaged yesterday were NOT insured.

One does not have to think too hard who will suffer the financial burden were government to bailout the fisherfolk who have delivered strident feedback to the Prime Minister when she toured yesterday. The blogmaster understands from a reliable source the principals at Port St Charles and Port Ferdinand offered safe harbour to the fisherfolk once they had insurance, however, only a handful were able to produce proof of insurance. 

On her first stop, Mottley met boat owners and other concerned fisherfolk who came to the complex on the Princess Alice Highway, The City, to salvage what they could from the vessels.
“The greatest damage is in coastal assets and coastal infrastructure. I am told by many of you [fisherfolk] that you have never seen these kinds of waves, this kind of force, come across this part of the island.
“But the most important thing is, we do not panic from here on in. You have life, that is the one thing I can’t give back to anybody,” Mottley said around 3:50 p.m., close to two hours after Barbados was given the all-clear.
Several senior Government officials, such as Minister of Home Affairs Wilfred Abrahams; Minister of the Environment and the Blue Economy Adrian Forde; Kerry Hinds, director of the Department of Emergency Management; Chief Fisheries Officer Shelly-Ann Cox, were gathered.
There was a persistent strong smell of diesel as the fisherfolk assessed the damage and attempted to remove fish stored on the boats. High sea swells continued to crash into the wave barrier, the ripple effect of which was boats hitting the dock.

Nation Newspaper – 2 July 2024

There is therefore merit to the following observation:

Should the Barbados taxpayer have to pay for any bailout for fisherfolk if one is being planned?

Why doesn’t the Fisheries Unit insist on insurance as a prerequisite for annual registration? Is this a case of the state failing to safeguard taxpayers?

Although it is fair to accept some fisherfolk may be suffering from money issues, many of them own two and three boats which were damaged or destroyed yesterday. The level of financial illiteracy and carelessness continually exercised by actors in civil society is unacceptable. The government as ‘guardian’ of the state has a responsibility to protect citizens and business players from themselves AND taxpayers.

379 responses to “Fisherfolk, insure your boats!”

1. Donks, Gripe,and Josh Avatar
    Donks, Gripe,and Josh

July 3, 2024 at 2:32 pm

In the middle of a hurricane Bajans continued the killing.

Indeed, over the last 3 or 4 days another 5 lives have been violently ended.

Moving from 18 to 23 was a real leap.]]

A frightening development which has gone under the radar. The Police Commissioner, the ministers of crime prevention, attorney general, truce makers are asleep at the wheel. Nightly gunmen stalk their targets. The morning news blares out there was yet another murder last night.

Nothing is heard from the police, attorney general, Layne, P.M. no one. Not a single killer has been caught from the recent murders which increased sharply in May/June. The Commissioner announced before the latest wave of deadly shootings there would be robust policing to catch killers and get guns off the streets. Far from robust policing there is a reduction of police presence on the streets. The commissioner is silent.

When is the frightened public going to see ‘robust’ forms of policing to halt the carnage in our communities. The public is afraid in search of protection and of reassurance. The routine of a murder a night has become the norm. The law enforcement agencies are asleep or hiding as the gunmen wreck a once peaceful society.

2. Obviously, it is gang warfare. The retaliation is totally predictable. In fact, I expected it to happen during the World Cup for some reason I cannot fathom. I don’t believe in pychic powers and had no special knowledge, so it must have been a mindset based on Murphy’s Law.

3. I know of several people who say they cannot afford home insurance, but can afford other things that make them look good in the eyes of the public. No doubt this applies to boat owners too. Me? I cannot sleep unless my home insurance is paid up…..PROMPTLY! Never took my car out of the garage without paid up insurance. I have the Murphy’s Law mindset. I do not play the odds. I pay for peace of mind, which is more valuable to me than posting photographs on Instagram to keep up appearances.

It is a mindset that Bajans have. I see people taking pleasure trips out of the seaport and airport who would say they cannot afford to pay insurance. I don’t find it to be that expensive.

The problem with many Bajans is that they see insurance as paying out money that they often don’t receive anything tangible for at the time of payment. They feel as though somebody else is getting the benefit of their money……until it is their turn.

Our problems begin in our minds. Knowing this, government should put mechanisms in place to ensure insurance is paid on property that is necessary and in an insurable condition.

I am not against helping those in genuine need but some of these people can do better, and prefer to depend on the government.

4. @Donna

Notwithstanding what you have stated with merit the industry has been neglected by successive governments and is in dire need of regulating. Barbados generally has a weak enforcement culture which we observe in others areas of society.

5. “We are survivors; eventually we have to find something else to do because most of us we live from pay cheque to pay cheque.”

https://nationnews.com/2024/07/03/prospects-grim-for-vendors-boat-owners/

6. I have seen just two persons comment on the number of deaths. Indeed the silence after this sudden jump is deafening. Keeping quiet and hoping problems go away, spin and PR campaigns or railing against those that speak up will not solve this problem.

Even to the most ardent supporters it must be obvious that the solutions to some problems are beyond us.

7. Pissing all over the fisher folk is not productive going forward to the damage which the Barbados economy would find itself from the loss of revenue derived from the fishing industty which has served the economy throughout the years
    Fact being that the fishing industry has not been well served by govts
    Now that the might and the power of lady Beryl has shown up the govt must do what is in the best interest of the industry to save livelihoods along with jobs and prevent further loss of revenue which has been fuel for the Barbados
    All the bashing and condemnation of fisherfolks destructs rather than constructs a way forward to protect the industry from future damages

8. Spare a thought for those who have lost almost everything.

9. I am watching some struggle with the problem of how to protect boats when a dangerous storm is approaching.

So far I have seen two different ways of thinking. One is a cut and dry discussion about the intricacies of insurance/insurance companies and replacing boats after they are lost; the other path is a discussion of what strategies/structure are needed to prevent the loss of boats.

Insurance versus prevention and insurance. Do you realize that the second case, minimizing the risk of boat loss, should lead to a reduction of insurance costs and make it more affordable?

10. Can you tell me what is new? Beryl made it clear how many boats are uninsured?

It was well known that a number of boats were uninsured. It is well known that some houses are uninsured and that we have uninsured vehicles traveling on our streets.

Why must we wait until there is a major calamity and then PRETEND that we have a major revelation. Let me tell you what will happen from today. We will have our brainy discussions and limp through the 2024 storm season hoping nothing else happens and again act surprise in 2025.

11. Constructive criticism is not the equivalent of pissing on or bashing!

A smart person takes constructive criticism self-evaluates and makes the necessary adjustments to self.

I have found that though most of my issues in life did not start with me, I could have done much better at dealing with them.

So, I criticised myself and found those better ways! Still, there is work to be done. Not perfect yet!

12. William Skinner Avatar

We are like most Barbadians are extremely relieved that we can return to a state of normalcy. Unfortunately, according to the experts, we are in for a very trying hurricane season.
    We therefore expect that there will be plenty of opportunities to blame Peter, Paul and Mary, but at the end of the day, once more the lines of political/party bias will no doubt be clearly drawn.
    The simple truth is that we have some very basic work to do and as tempting as it is to pelt licks in our political elite, when it comes to matters such as natural disasters , we prefer to look beyond the political picture.
    Nationally , there are some professions and or jobs that have never been seen as really important in our socio-economic set up. We collectively pay a bit of lip service to them but that is merely cosmetic : Beach vendors just sell things to tourists, fishermen get us fish , entertainers just entertain , nail technicians just do nails , snow cone vendors only sell sno cones etc.
    However , it’s a very closely guarded secret that beach vendors make more money than many public servants, police and nurses and a well established snow cone vendors can easily make more money than a gas station worker. We have simply not
    developed the business skills of some self employed workers and they have sometimes used this failure to escape paying taxes and such important things as national insurance.
    Those who encourage this stupidity are not doing the “poor Black man ” any favors. We cannot encourage people to believe that they only make “pudding and souse or they are smalll farmers who are so poor that they have no responsibility in contributing to the upkeep of the country.
    The time to take our people to a higher level and encourage them to understand whatever money they make legally can be managed in a way to make them not only “better off” but they must be brought into the mainstream of economic activity. We have allowed a lot of mis-education and inferior political guile to drive serious economic activity. That guile is getting weaker by the minute.
    The truth is that poor people never beat the system. They run a good chance of ending up penniless and dependent on the state. We are fighting a culture that needs to be explained and we must learn that some of that culture can no longer serve the common good.
    During COVID, we encountered a number of self employed workers, who religiously paid their national insurance. When the assistance was being given , they each received the full amount. They fortunately were told the truth it was like this: wunnuh mekking between $500 and $800 per week, if wunnuh don’t pay national insurance why should those working , in some cases , for far less than you , cover you when things go south. They got the message.
    We believe that in order to rescue the fishing industry a collective model will have to be designed because the losses are too big to have any hop scotch approach. We note that the insurance industry seems on board and that’s a start. We can bite the bullet now and use this period of despondency to demonstrate our national creativity and economic common sense or we could do the usual and try to turn a very serious national economic set back into political crap.

13. I’m trying to remember who attacked those who spoke out on the number of murders? 🤔

I have so far drawn a blank.

14. When William Skinner says something like that, we should listen. He is firmly planted on the side of the regular folk!

15. 1/2
    Tell me when I lie. Prove that I am a liar and I will apologize and try to better what I say.
    But hen pecking is not going to move me.

16. The United Nations has announced that US$4 million will be made available from the Central Emergency Response Fund to kickstart humanitarian operations in Jamaica, Grenada and Saint Vincent and the Grenadines in the wake of #HurricaneBeryl. The UN Secretary-General, in coordination with the affected nations, is also considering launching an appeal to address humanitarian needs arising from the impact of the hurricane.

Read more: https://jamaica-gleaner.com/article/news/20240704/un-unlocks-us4-million-help-jamaica-and-other-caribbean-countries-impacted #GLNRToday #HurricaneBeryl

17. 2/2
    I always had a fantasy of the A’s meeting, sparks flying and happily ever after.
    I see now that one of them was/is thoroughly pissed.

18. Donna

You’re correct that the recent murders were ‘retaliatory hits,’ with the exception of the fatal stabbing of Jermaine Babb on Friday, June 21, 2024, for which Deshawn Shaquille Harper 30 years of 1st Ave, Lower Wavell Avenue, Black Rock, St. Michael was arrested and formally charged for murder.

Sometimes after reading some comments, I often ask myself if the authors actually THINK or research information before posting them.
    They seem to believe murder investigations are conducted as seen on T.V and solved by ‘the end of 45 minute show.’

It’s obvious people witness those murders because, as soon as someone is shot, the person’s body with blood ‘flowing’ from it, is immediately posted on social media.

Last Saturday, for example, a friend of mine showed me a video clip on his mobile phone, someone posted on WhatsApp, of the guy who was shot in Silver Sands, moments after the shooting.
    Coincidentally, while in Oistins on Tuesday, I heard a few youngsters discussing what occurred from the time men in a vehicle arrived on the scene to when, according to them, the guy was shot several times, who they also said was the intended target.

Unfortunately, sometimes those witnesses don’t usually want to assist or co-operate with Police investigations, perhaps out of fear of being targeted, preferring instead to discuss the events among themselves.

In June, the police released the names, photos and last known addresses of 12 individuals wanted for questioning in connection with serious criminal matters.
    So far, one person presented himself to the Hastings/Worthing Police Station accompanied by an attorney-at-law and is currently assisting Police personnel with their investigations.

Another interesting development is that a Jamaican national was among three persons recently charged with murder, which raises several other questions.

Obviously, information that may jeopardize the course of investigations cannot be released publicly.
    But, to say “the law enforcement agencies are asleep or hiding,” is utter politically motived rubbish.

19. I have just one comment. Note the population size. Folks should make an attempt to tell us what is being counted… The 269 and 281 could both be correct, if they are counting different things.

Endangered pension plans bad news for middle-class
    Barbadians in their 50s and older now represent the biggest age grouping in our estimated population of 281 000, and therefore, social planning around this demographic cannot be avoided.
    Evidence so far suggests that many Barbadians in this age group have made efforts to secure their financial future through personal savings, business investments, and private pension plans.
    This is not to argue that a majority of them have been so attuned to this area of financial planning that they do not or will not have to rely on the state for some form of support when they retire.
    In fact, the latest Financial Stability Report produced by the Financial Services Commission and the Central Bank of Barbados painted a grim picture of the state of occupational pension funds in the island.
    It was revealed that since 2019, some 39 pension plans were wound-up, and the action has affected mainly workers in the financial services, tourism, and sales/distribution sectors.
    It was pointed out that almost 10 of the pension plans were shut down in the last year.
    During a discussion mounted by the Central Bank to highlight some of the outcomes from the Financial Stability Report which reviewed the performance of commercial banks, credit unions, other deposit-taking financial institutions, insurance companies, mutual funds, pension funds and securities, it was revealed that most of the plans were closed because they were too onerous to maintain.
    While average citizens may not have made the connection, this state of affairs has serious implications for the quality of life many people will have in their senior years.
    Why are private pension plans important? They are a valuable source of financial support for seniors, they are a source of capital for investment by insurance companies, and they shift a lot of the reliance from the National Insurance and Social Security Service (NISSS) to the individual.
    Unfortunately, many middle-class Barbadians are feeling the pinch of a high cost of living environment. This island’s middle-class are not wealthy people; they are our teachers, police officers, clerks in government, supervisors in the private sector and others who, by dint of hard work, have sacrificed short-term discomforts for longterm gains.
    It is therefore unsettling that in an environment where secure, reasonably earning forms of investments are limited, private pension plans have become an endangered species.
    Relying only on savings in the bank or credit union to support a post-retirement lifestyle for the average middle or lowincome earner is a non-starter.
    It is disappointing that the government, which is well aware of the constraints facing the NISSS, has still not made the necessary policy and legal changes that would encourage a greater level of participation in private pension funds.
    One of the biggest headaches for those considering a private pension fund is the double taxation that is imposed on participants.
    Government should have no right to impose on pension fund participants what they should do with their own savings.
    Since eliminating the ability of Barbadians to claim contributions to pension plans in their annual tax filings since 2015, why is the government still imposing a 25 per cent tax when a person liquidates their fund or withdraws money from a registered retirement fund before age 65? Much to the chagrin of retirees whose pensions exceed $24 000 annually, they must pay taxes on money they likely paid income taxes on when they were working.
    If there is a recognition that Barbados’ population is growing too old too quickly for there to be sustained and long-term economic growth, then policy changes that encourage early retirement planning and create a space for those offering such financial services to thrive, ought to be pursued.
    To quote Principal and Consulting Actuary with Eckler, Lisa Wade at an Institute of Chartered Accountants (ICAB) forum in 2022: “When the tax incentives were there, most people topped up those even more with voluntary contributions. That helped to ensure that when persons reached retirement, they would have a higher pension . . . to ride out any storm that would take place such as inflation.
    “We have been lobbying the government on this for a number of years within the pensions industry because we do believe that it is extremely important that people now try to save, and one great incentive for saving is that tax incentive.”

20. How did boats/yachts in the North fare.

Any problems in the marinas up north or at Tent Bay?

Six Mens?

Do you know there was fishing fleet that once operated out of Cove Bay?

If it was known the hurricane was going to pass south, why concentrate so many boats in the path literally on top of one another?

When Janet passed south of us, it devastated the southern parishes, St. Philip and Christ Church.

My father and his family stayed in their house at Husbands in St. James and had few problems. He tried to get the rest of the family to come down at him but one member who lived in the same yard went to Christ Church.

They smelt hell in Christ Church.

Sunday morning I estimated the hurricane would pass south of us at 11N around midnight Sunday night and that we might just get off.

That 2 degrees of separation, is 120 nautical miles.

Turns out the Hurricane stopped in the night, weakened, reconstituted its eyewall and then passed us at 11.3 N close to daybreak.

We were damn lucky but my point is that if the coordinates of a hurricane are known reasonable estimates of how close it will come and what effects the winds will have can be made.

The sea however is another issue.

Clearly having the eye 100 nautical miles away is not enough for the sea.

21. It may have made more sense to take the boats to sea and travel north east away from Barbados

22. Unsurprisingly, RAT’s recommendation about putting boats on a “safe open space…terra firma” and referencing St. Vincent is loved by many on BU. Anyone knows how many boats that were hauled to “safe open spaces” survived Beryl in Vincy land? What’s the difference between B’dos’ fishing fleet and the Vincentian and Jamaican fleets? Hint: All fishing boats aren’t the same. Even with a national disaster, some still display ego, envy, obsolescence, inferiority complex and deep seated hatred. Nuff ignorance too!

23. Recently I heard a lady lamenting the fact that she had grin and bear on meager wages to secure a private pension plan
    When time came for her to collect the govt collected a big chunck of it
    Bajans hesitant to dive into pension plans cannot be cereminously dismiss as not wanting to save for old age but a lack of trust
    Clico would resonate in the minds of many bajans as a foot note dealing with dishonesty

24. Cluck, cluck, cluck! I repeat I cannot recall who has “railed against” those who speak out about murder in Barbados.

Pray tell, who has done so in the history of BU?

Cluck, cluck, cluck!

25. @Enuff

Do you deny we must do better to support the fisherfolk?

26. David
    There is always room for doing better for every Bajan, including fishermen.. The fishermen also need to do better for themselves. The BUI needs to do better with their comments too. Hopefully, we’ll see a boat building industry emerge or revived, and a more modern fishing fleet.

27. A fair comment Enuff. All of us must strive to do better. Some are in a position to move the needle more than others it must be stated.

28. Well well all must strive to do better including the hotel industry who have been sucking off govt nipples for years with no end in sight
    Who can say that the same has been occurring within the fishing industry
    Outside a fishing festival yearly some of which benefits the hotel industry the small business fisherfolk have to pull back and forth for survival
    The fact being that the govts have failed the fishing industry even to the point of placing the fishing fleet in the hands of Beryl
    Now present govt walks around in gladiator style showing concern

29. Based on my experience, I do not believe it’s only an issue of ‘simply not developing the business skills of some self-employed workers.’

Information is readily and continually available at Corporate Affairs and Intellectual Property Office instructing entrepreneurs how to register their businesses in accordance with the Registration of Business Names Act, which provides for the registration of firms and persons carrying on business under business names and for related matters.
    BRA how to register for a tax identification number (TIN) and file income tax or VAT returns; and NIS to obtain a registration number to be used as an identifier for National Insurance purposes.

It’s just a matter that many of them purposely ignoring such information, simply because they don’t want to pay income taxes, NIS and VAT in some cases.

To register a local fishing vessel the owner must be a citizen of Barbados or have permanent resident status within the meaning of the Immigration Act.
    And submit the following documents to the Fisheries Division: application to register a local fishing vessel, bill of sale, application for registration as a fisheries worker, passport, Barbados ID, TAMIS number and NIS cards, any other document as required by the Chief Fisheries Officer.

Obviously, they will comply with those regulations.

I’m sure when their boats develop engine problems, owners seek the services of a mechanic. When they are unwell or have some legal issue, they don’t hesitate to seek medical or legal advice respectively.

However, they are reluctant to seek advice or services from a simple bookkeeper, to maintain and manage their financial transactions.

30. Agree with you Artax, as Donna reminds us there is a hardcoded mindset that we have to work to unfreeze.

31. “Well well all must strive to do better including the hotel industry who have been sucking off govt nipples for years with no end in sight…..”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The hotel industry has organised itself into the Barbados Hotel & Tourism Association (BHTA), which ‘exists to serve the interests of our diverse membership of over 300 tourism and non-tourism entities, both local and international.’

And can argue it pays millions of dollars taxes to the Treasury…… in the form of corporation taxes, 7.5% VAT, 10% service charge and a room rate levy that was increased by 75% on April 1, 2019.

Perhaps you may want to explain to BU how fisherfolk have organised themselves into an association that can lobby government on their behalf and, if so, why their recommendations have been ignored.

32. It is good to read traditional press highlighting the benefits of fisherfolk accessing insurance. It is also interesting to read insurance companies reaching out to fisherfolk to determine how to assist and at the same time highlighting Barbados market does not have capacity to interest reinsurers.

33. @ David

We’ve had a similar discussion on BU, during which I was accused of not ‘wanting to be my brother’s keeper.’

Here we are arguing that beach vendors and well organised sno-cone vendors earn more money that police officers, nurses, other civil servants and gas station attendants, which is true.

However, let’s look at a simple gas station attendant who probably earns a minimum wage of $340 per week.

Since that individual earns less than $25,000 per annum, PAYE is not deducted from his/her wages.

However, 11.10% NIS contributions or $37.74 is deducted.

The requisite number of contributions to the NIS fund makes him/her eligible for NIS pension at pension age or if they opt for early retirement.

Yet, members of the BU intelligentsia are arguing that a coconut vendor, for example, who may earn $1,700 per week and REFUSES to pay income taxes, while enjoying health, educational and social services off the backs of taxpaying Barbadians……

…… or contribute to the Scheme, should be ENTITLED to a NIS pension.

34. Artax
    Makes claim/ evidence that the tourism industry well organized contributes which makes them eligible for govt hand outs
    My comment makes difference in the way the fisherfolk has been treated over the years
    Making such a claim or evidence to what the hotel industry contributes doesn’t exempt the industry from being criticized from always ready and able to approach govt for hand outs
    If the fisherfolks had such an access and fell flat on its responsibilities one can argue that the fisherfolks are not deserving for help from govt
    However Beryl has opened eyes and ears to the disadvantages the fisherfolk has faced while struggling to fit within the laws of this system and is deserving of govt help
    Furthermore their contributation economically to govt revenue cannot be overlooked

35. @Artax

The reason is that we debate many issues based on emotion within a poor black man context.

36. There is hope.

37. Some people refuse to understand what we are saying. If we want to be taken seriously, we must first act as though we are serious. Some do and many don’t.

We know that the system is biased in favour of the rich. How do we then progress? Whining and moaning all day will achieve nothing.

We have to do serious business and demand then to be taken seriously.

I gave my son until the age of twenty-one to get his business in order. The deadline approaches for the registration of his fledgling business, payment of taxes and NIS (because it still has a few years of viability.) Now that steady income is coming in, there is no excuse for being an unbusinesslike businessman.

Either you are serious or yuh playin’!

38. David,

Poor black men will remain poor with a poor black man mentality.

39. They are many poor blacks who rose to the occasion within this economy/ society to get themselves out of poverty on a wing and pray without govt help
    For any one to make a bias statement that blacks mentally
    makes them poor is not living within a system that have shown signs of prejudice against blacks
    Also makes for.the asking how easy is it for blacks living under a system where the economic wealth of a country is driven by the white establishment to get a loan to start a business
    Yes many might not qualified because of the stringent laws and rules put in place to get a loan whereby the poor black would remain poor and not because having any thing to do with his or her mentality
    Just take a look at who the PM often embrace when offering the kind of work that poor barbadians can do

40. Enuff is saying fishermen should do better and he has support.

None of these people understand the economics of fishing.

Decades ago fisherfolk could not build end maintain their vessels. Took loans from the BDB, a too high number were un-performing.

Could not afford to insure them!

And here you have people like Enuff, acting to defend a feckless dictatorship pissing on fisherfolk.

We see a wholly different orientation when it comes to White people and their commercial interests.

Even to have an article demanding that fisherfolk should do something they have long found unaffordable is in itself a political crime.

41. Blah, blah, blah, you’re main point came at the end. As usual, a political jab. Um is only Mia?

42. My family on my mother’s father’s side is a fisher family. My father also owned a boat with a partner.

43. Two senior moments today. Psychic and your, now corrected.

44. William Skinner Avatar

“We have simply not
    developed the business skills of some self employed workers and they have sometimes used this failure to escape paying taxes and such important things as national insurance.
    Those who encourage this stupidity are not doing the “poor Black man ” any favors. We cannot encourage people to believe that they only make “pudding and souse or they are smalll farmers who are so poor that they have no responsibility in contributing to the upkeep of the country.
    The time to take our people to a higher level and encourage them to understand whatever money they make legally can be managed in a way to make them not only “better off” but they must be brought into the mainstream of economic activity. We have allowed a lot of mis-education and inferior political guile to drive serious economic activity. That guile is getting weaker by the minute.
    The truth is that poor people never beat the system. They run a good chance of ending up penniless and dependent on the state. We are fighting a culture that needs to be explained and we must learn that some of that culture can no longer serve the common good.” (William Skinner)

We are saying that many people enter business and they do not have the basic business skills. We need to provide some kind of help for such people to develop such skills. As far as registering their businesses and so on we need to be more determined and realise that again , in our culture, implementation is a problem. Over the years , we have allowed businesses to get away without paying in their employees national insurance contributions and so on.
    Sometimes, we have to lead people and there are some people that literally freeze at filling out any type of form -its really a cultural thing , sometimes it can be a lack of reading skills. While we are not making excuses for them, we are aware that several people who may be good at business , are leaving school with inadequate literacy levels. As stated above some try to game the system. Those agencies may have to refocus how they offer such services. Are those entrusted with offering such services properly trained in dealing with those who have certain challenges. We are not saying that such services do not exist but sometimes we have to be a bit more discerning.
    We stand by our position that poor people never beat the system. We allow them to indulge in all kinds of stupidity sometimes for pure political reasons and vote catching. Example : Rent them a government housing unit and then allow the rent to run into thousands. In the meantime, the houses are not being properly maintained and they eventually end up living in sub-standard conditions; they get old and end up indigent. We need to better administer services to the poor and insist that they keep their end of the bargain. Should they fall on hard times, the state will intervene.
    We are going to realise , sooner or later, that we are fighting a cultural battle as well as a socio-economic one . Its going to be a very skillful act in trying to avoid throwing out the baby with the bath water.
    The first characteristic needed is to tell those we want to advance the truth. However, this truth cannot only be spoken when it comes to the “poor Black man”.
    It must be spoken to those who are neither poor nor Black, who rip off the system.
    We have long been very opposed to : coconut shells at the side of the road; selling food without the appropriate requirements; creating shanty towns and calling them creative enterprises and other habits that we know will eventually lead them to being a penny wise and a pound foolish.
    That being said we will never deny the hard truth that in a Black country like ours, Black business people still encounter racial issues and suffer from other fully systematic and orchestrated obstacles.

45. Never mentioned anything to suggest the tourism industry should not be criticised or, according to you, “fisherfolk are not deserving for help from government.”

I will always hold the opinion that comprehension is not one of you strong points.

Your problem is you cannot discuss issues WITHOUT politicising them. It’s always a ‘BLP versus DLP scenario.’

It cannot be a situation where anyone could get up one morning, ploughed a field, plant some vegetables and call himself a farmer. Then expect taxpayers to bail him out in the event rain fall destroys his crops, simply because we believe ‘he is a poor Black man trying to mek a dollar.’

One of the reasons why some entrepreneurs are not taken seriously is because ‘they don’t take themselves seriously.’

46. I am going to the polling station to cast my vote.

Donna if you guy’s are driven out by the hurricane you will always be able to return to the mother country unlike your beleaguered fishermen. Our summer has yet to start even though we are in July.

47. Chris Halsall Avatar

I do not understand politics. Nor crabs in a barrel. Could we just please get the job done?

Beryl empirically taught us that some of our systems are sub-optimal in unexpected situations.

Let us please just fix the faults observed.

Beryl is only the first storm for this year.

There will be several more…

48. Just a note. Hopefully, it passes scrutiny.

I was recently given a package of flying fishes. They were extremely small and when fried lack the taste that I remembered. Perhaps, the fishes were too young..
    There is also the expression ‘you cannot go back’.

49. There may not be enough sympathy/empathy for the storm victims for somebody anybody to set up a charity fund where Barbadians and foreigners home and abroad can contribute or donate some financial help for those out of pocket or out of business like when there was the tsunami and several charities worldwide were set up to help orphans and those who lost houses etc

The Fisherman may help each other out as there is still a small community of poor who work together

The rich get richer and poor get poorer and the little that the poor mans has will be taken away same as it ever was

Time so hard man
    Time so hard brother
    Time so hard man that’s not funny
    You work so hard man for a little bit of money
    The politicians them are owners of plenty
    The sufferer has to go to bed empty
    It’s not funny
    You go to bed sometimes you feel hungry
    The politicians them drive fast and pass you