Although Hurricane Beryl skirted the south of Barbados yesterday, early damage assessment includes major damage incurred by the fisherfolk and related facilities.

Barbadians are inclined to be ‘mealy mouthed’ addressing the issues which contrast with the forthright comment from the blogmaster. It is well known a majority of the fishing boat fleet – many reported to have been destroyed or damaged yesterday were NOT insured.

One does not have to think too hard who will suffer the financial burden were government to bailout the fisherfolk who have delivered strident feedback to the Prime Minister when she toured yesterday. The blogmaster understands from a reliable source the principals at Port St Charles and Port Ferdinand offered safe harbour to the fisherfolk once they had insurance, however, only a handful were able to produce proof of insurance. 

On her first stop, Mottley met boat owners and other concerned fisherfolk who came to the complex on the Princess Alice Highway, The City, to salvage what they could from the vessels.
“The greatest damage is in coastal assets and coastal infrastructure. I am told by many of you [fisherfolk] that you have never seen these kinds of waves, this kind of force, come across this part of the island.
“But the most important thing is, we do not panic from here on in. You have life, that is the one thing I can’t give back to anybody,” Mottley said around 3:50 p.m., close to two hours after Barbados was given the all-clear.
Several senior Government officials, such as Minister of Home Affairs Wilfred Abrahams; Minister of the Environment and the Blue Economy Adrian Forde; Kerry Hinds, director of the Department of Emergency Management; Chief Fisheries Officer Shelly-Ann Cox, were gathered.
There was a persistent strong smell of diesel as the fisherfolk assessed the damage and attempted to remove fish stored on the boats. High sea swells continued to crash into the wave barrier, the ripple effect of which was boats hitting the dock.

Nation Newspaper – 2 July 2024

There is therefore merit to the following observation:

Should the Barbados taxpayer have to pay for any bailout for fisherfolk if one is being planned?

Why doesn’t the Fisheries Unit insist on insurance as a prerequisite for annual registration? Is this a case of the state failing to safeguard taxpayers?

Although it is fair to accept some fisherfolk may be suffering from money issues, many of them own two and three boats which were damaged or destroyed yesterday. The level of financial illiteracy and carelessness continually exercised by actors in civil society is unacceptable. The government as ‘guardian’ of the state has a responsibility to protect citizens and business players from themselves AND taxpayers.

379 responses to “Fisherfolk, insure your boats!”

1. There was a time when ICB would insure these vessels as a condition for loans from the Barbados Development Bank.

That was in the heyday we presume when large catches were aplenty. When arguments about territorial economic zones and climate change were less present.

Of course, ICB is not what it was then either.

But even then it was a struggle to pay the premiums.

We get the impression that the fisherfolk have gone into a more and more precarious position.

Maybe this generational trajectory is replicated in other sectors, sub-sectors.

How much longer must it take to approach the obvious conclusion?

For the expectation that the money goddess must, on the one hand find handouts for people preferring to work, and on the other continue a political culture of begging, to then redistribute those acts of mercy received, supports a degenerative system.

2. @Bush master
    Excellent!
    -xxxx-
    Three small points on the messaging
    1. Barbados is a very small island. Trying to predict which part oft the island will be hit or missed is an exercise we should avoid. I doubt the modeling is so sophisticated that this could be done and if so, it is still a prediction.

I would prefer that we adopt the idea that, because of our small size, if the island is hit by a hurricane then all of the island will be hit.

2. The hurricane season is a part of our year. In watching many of the videos, I got the impression that some are not taking the necessary precautions. Perhaps before and during the season a small card with three sections should be distributed.
    Before the hurricane
    During the hurricane
    After the hurricane
    Regular Public service announcement, emphasizing the need for caution should be made at regular intervals throughout the season. The aim here is one education and safety.

3. This is not intended to be political. But we have to careful that we do not create a system where citizens only react when they see senior ministers/the PM on TV. I can add that (to me) the messaging seem unfocused and unclear until Mia got on TV.

3. It would appear that not having insurance is a calculated risk that many are prepared to take. In one video, a gentleman when making an insurance claim was told that the event was an “act of God”.

I am not and insurer or a fisherman, but having your boat damaged by freak weather must rank high among the many misfortunes a seaman can experience. Having these “acts of God” taken off the table and still have an extremely high cost of insurance may be a part of the reason why many folks are uninsured.

With this high cost, some may even feel they are coming out ahead if the cost of repairs or of some accidents is less than those of the premiums.

These matters are complicated. Like the insurance companies. fisher folks are also performing calculations and common sense may tell them that the premiums are too high for what is actually covered.

4. Kammie M Holder Avatar
    Kammie M Holder

#HurricaneBeryl was a #livefiringexercise for Barbados, thus I hope the postmortem is held soonest.

5. Kammie M Holder Avatar
    Kammie M Holder

@David, I could not help but also notice the absence of tire fenders on the boats. Was the Bridgetown Complex built to reduce or mitigate the wave energy of a Cat5 hurricane and was the breakwater designed to deflect waves from coming ashore. We seem not to build for the worst-case scenario due to the cost only to pay the true cost of ignorance. #CriticalThinkers are a scarce commodity in Barbados

6. @ The Og

So here is the thing. What percentage of your asset should be a fair insurance premium? What percentage of your earnings yearly is a fair insurance premium?

The talk about not insuring for acts of God is nonesence. The form offers a list of options and you can take what you wished covered. Obviously if you picked everything like earthquake etc, the premium would be higher. So answer me this is $6000 a year too much to pay on a $700K boat that earns you $140,000 a year?

Those who pay tax may pay 25% of earnings, but it is too much to pay 4% to insure your money earner?

So if any of these owners paid NIS as a self employed person they would be paying nearly 20% of insured earnings in NIS. is that too much to pay to ensure a pension? It’s all about priorities and freeness here. 2 private marinas were open free to all with room to spare in them. All that was needed was proof of insurance. A couple insured fishing boats were in there but wunna preferred not to insure them and watch dem brek up in fisheries complex!

I suggested earlier the solution to all this you want to bet nothing is done and we don’t just move on as usual?

7. @Kammie

A post mortem is required for sure if we want to be honest about improving how we do things.

8. raw.

9. Failed to Plan would be costly for the Barbados economy when all is said and done
    Beryl gave all and sundry time to prepare
    Seems all warnings fell.on deaf ears by the powers in charge of the fishing industry
    Seeing the PM showing concern after the damage is done is laughable
    Knowing that most of govt energy was hell bent in protecting the Hotel industry with its gladiator performance by way of the world cup.

10. @John A

The other consideration is to factor the insurance cost in the final price to the consumer. This is how business is supposed to be done.

The other consideration as pointed out in above comments, how many of the boats are insurable?

11. “Knowing that most of govt energy was hell bent in protecting the Hotel industry with its gladiator performance by way of the world cup.”

weren’t you saying it was too hot for the cricket

local think tank – post mortem – lessons learned type of discussion inquiry is par for the course for Gov.BB

but vexatious complaints by hypocrites will be called out for hippos and any critical critiques will be criticised for obvious political opposition haymaking without compunction as deemed fit

12. Interesting thread and comments.

But let’s also address the elephant in the room. Most of “us” were more concerned about cricket than we were about preparing for a storm/hurricane.

I said what I said.

As Bushie stated, this isn’t our first rodeo. And we were fortunate to only get intermittent storm winds from outer bands. Let’s hope the lesson has been learnt and we do better next time for all sectors considered vital.

Just observing

13. Steel houses. Elsa

Fishing boats. Beryl

14. @ David

The truth is once they are worthy they are licensed. So I would say practically all are insurable. As you found out for yourself when you checked all of the major insurance companies offer this type of insurance.

What could be done though is the fisheries along with the association could easily prepare an offer document and forward it to the major insurers. They could then negotiate as a body of members and not on a one to one basis. ALL the fishing boats that sought safe harbour in the private marinas were insured or they could not have entered the marinas.

The question these fishermen need to ask themselves is what am I willing to pay to insure and protect my boat and its earnings? The first thing you hear now is ” it too expensive.” Oh too expensive in terms of what? You prefer pull pocket to replace one instead?

This is the same mind set that people use when they don’t insure their house or car. It’s all about priorities. No commercial vessel operating in our territorial waters should be uninsured. From a jet ski to a pleasure yacht all need insurance.

15. Chris Halsall Avatar

@BU.David: “An expensive lesson learned.

Mistakes, and hard lessons, are how we learn how to do better…

One thing I would like to put out there for consideration…

The BB.FTC allows BLPC to “self insure.” This has worked well for BLPC for many, many years.

Why could this not be done for the fishing industry?

If everyone in this community is “vested”, then it would be in everyone’s best interest to do everything possible to ensure everyone is appropriately underwritten.

I also really like the idea of the Barbados Coast Guard being allowed to at least approach boats randomly and receive documention. If such documentation is not immediately provided, boarding might occure.

16. Kammie M Holder Avatar
    Kammie M Holder

@David, the casual indifference of fishermen has regrettably come back to haunt them.

@Chris, the cost of insurance may be high but the cost of not having insurance is much higher as its now an emotional and financial cost.

Value of an asset to its owner must always be weighed against the cost of protecting that asset. I have delivered million-dollar cheques over the last 37 years to those who believe in protecting their assets in the event of loss.

Let me also say the industry lacks innovation in how it treats to risk in making coverage more readily accessible and some insurance factoring mechanism needs to be worked out for the industry with the help of GOB!

17. Hmmmmm……..

And, it takes an EVEN BIGGER BB to argue I ‘said’ owners / government should take comfort in the fact that we ‘did not know “which parishes would’ve been affected,” when I DID NOT.

But, we all know the ‘MISOGYNISTIC SAGE’ is ‘ALL KNOWING,’ after all, he often opines that Barbados’ problems began on Thursday, December 1, 2016, when the 50th Anniversary of Independence National Monument was unveiled at the Garrison Savannah.’
    Unfortunately, members of his fan club wouldn’t dare to call him out on such BB NONSENSE.

However, based on the ‘clock work of hurricanes,’ he and Ralph Thorne would’ve accurately predicted what part of Barbados a category 4 hurricane, which was on a direct trajectory to the island, would’ve spared, even when meteorologists and satellite images could not have done so.

They would’ve probably said, for example, ‘Yuh know something, hurricanes don’t affect St. Thomas, so leh we find a pasture up there so we could carry all the boats.”

If we follow the argument that “Storms and hurricanes are like clockwork, so even an animal will learn from experience,” Thorne has been the parliamentary representative for the constituency of Christ Church South, which includes the ‘fishing village’ of OISTINS, since May 24, 2018…… a period of SIX (6) YEARS.

Remember, until he crossed the floor in February 2024, Thorne was a MEMBER of the current BLP administration for approximately FIVE (5) YEARS and EIGHT (8) MONTHS.

Six years is MORE THEN ENOUGH TIME for him to become AWARE of “the CRITICAL nature of the fishing industry” and the concerns of his constituent fisherfolk in Oistins, who likewise would’ve learnt from experience, and make representation to government on their behalf.

He argued that people were more concerned with cheering at the ICC T20 WC final. Therefore, BU’s ‘anti world cup squad’ would’ve obviously find his ‘comments to be rational.’

Yet, noticeably MISSING from his ‘RATional comments” was the FACT that, ‘based on experience,’ he WAS MORE CONCERNED about how the fishing industry in Oistins would’ve been AFFECTED, could’ve been PROTECTED and what MEASURES HE RECOMMENDED to ‘government’ to facilitate such protection…… and “SENSIBLE regulations (to put) in place for the sustainability of that industry.”

And, if he did, explained why ‘government’ REFUSED to ACCEPT his recommendations.

We all know politicians don’t miss out on any opportunity to engage in political grandstanding or to ‘pat themselves on the back.’

18. Chris Halsall Avatar

@Kammie… Thank you for weighing in from your prespective. IMO, you are exactly correct.

Economic theory tells us that all costs incured by a business will be passed onto the consumers. Otherwise, the business is not sustainable. This is the argument used by BLPC, FLOW, Digicel etc et al before the FTC.

Having businesses (providing food) be playing the lottery is undesirable.

I would argue it is the Goverment’s role to ensure our food supply is sustainable.

19. “…the casual indifference of fishermen has regrettably come back to haunt them.”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Is it not a bit more than indifference?
    Successive governments have adopted an attitude of ‘imposed mendicancy’ – encouraging small business persons to do shiite..
    – like not paying rents
    – like expecting handouts – RATHER than properly managing their businesses
    – like not applying BASIC health rules to wayside vendors
    – Like turning a blind eye to praedial larceny

Why?
    It is MUCH easier to lobby votes from poor, destitute, mendicant BBs than from self-confident successful small business persons.
    This is especially true for incompetent politicians who THEMSELVES would be abject failures without the assurance of a political salary and pension.

All they want from the minority moneyed class (who have few votes) is the sponsorship $$ needed to bamboozle the lotta mendicant BBs with glitzy PR and sweet talk…

The problem for the fishermen (and with businessmen such as Cherry, Bynoe etc) is that they EITHER fall for the promises of handouts and protection….
    …or suffer from victimization if they dare to rebel.

20. Chris Halsall Avatar

@Bush Tea: “Is it not a bit more than indifference?

With all due respect… I find almost all of your posts here at BU at best distractionary. Fear mongering. Trolling…

Some of us are actually trying to find solutions. Do good. Rather than just “cutting down” based on political alignment…

As a Canadian (by birth) and a Bajan (because my father was born here), may I please quote Red Green… “I’m pullin’ For Ya We’re All in This Together…

https://youtu.be/ig1BtJqj81o?si=OBn-lfhO06zY-YrH

21. Did the sun trigger hurricane Beryl? Video explains space weather affects our earth weather and climate more than is generally recognized.

“Four months ago we said to watch for major hurricanes to be triggered by solar storms and this is literally what is happening as we speak. Solar maximum is in full stride, and hurricane season is here. Expect more in the months ahead.”

See links to more Space Weather Lessons in the YT video desription

22. “We pay too much lip service to important issues. Going back to the late Watson who headed the affairs of fisherfolk it has been more talk than substance.”

To quote you, I’m “never afraid to hold an unpopular or minority view.”

Correct me if I’m wrong, but wasn’t it Ralph Thorne who suggested government should’ve ‘identified playing fields and open spaces and use a truck or something to take the boats to St. Thomas, St. George’ etc?

Taking the unpredictable nature of hurricanes into consideration, could you please explain to me how those ‘safe spaces’ could’ve been accurately identified?

Thorne has been the parliamentary representative for Christ Church South for the past 6 years and was a member of the current BLP administration for approximately 5 years & 8 months.

What developmental policies has he proposed, recommended or implemented for the sustainability of the fishing industry and fisherfolk in Oistins, other than he and his daughter being involved in planning the “Oistins Fish Festival?’

Did he meet with his constituent fisherfolk to discuss what he termed a ‘simple solution?’

Bear in mind, some boats in Oistins were damaged.

If he did, he should explain what those proposals or recommendations were and why ‘government’ refused to accept and implement them?

As I mentioned in a previous contribution, politicians love to capitalise on any opportunity to engage in political grandstanding and ‘patting themselves on the back.’

If Thorne had actually done anything for the fishing industry in his constituency, he would’ve been ‘boasting all like now.’

As you ‘said,’ he has essentially ‘paid too much lip service to an important issue.’

23. It is interesting to hear that Jamaican fishermen have hauled their boats out of the water.

24. @Artax

RAT is spinning for political advantage. Let us understand the context. We should not get distracted.

It is good to hear the head of the general insurance association reaching out to stakeholders to come and discuss insurance solutions. Let us get this done!

25. John A July 2, 2024 at 8:33 pm

Agree with your recommendations.

And would also add that, similarly to how owners of PSV’s, taxis, tour buses and hired vehicles require a tax clearance certificate before renewing their permits, which means having to file income tax returns, such should be a mandatory requirement for boat-owners when renewing their annual licenses.

There are several self-employed people in Barbados who do not file income tax returns or pay income taxes.

26. In the middle of a hurricane Bajans continued the killing.

Indeed, over the last 3 or 4 days another 5 lives have been violently ended.

Moving from 18 to 23 was a real leap.

Maybe the murderous culture was competing with Beryl to see who could have been bad enough.

27. Chris Halsall Avatar

@BU.David: “It is interesting to hear that Jamaican fishermen have hauled their boats out of the water.

I am sincerely interested in how this works out. Where are these boats going to be placed? How well will they be tied down to the ground?

There is nothing quite like running empirical experiments…

A postmortem on this experience would be appropriate.

This is only the first of many we will experience this year…

28. @Chris

It is difficult one would think to safeguard boats in CAT 5 conditions is a difficult task. We will have to wait to see.

29. Chris Halsall Avatar

@BU.David: “We will have to wait to see.

Indeed. And prayers to Jamaica!

Please forgive me for being overly analytical, but the question includes just where on land a boat could be lifted out of the water, transported, placed, and tied down.

How many? How quickly?

Are there any other possibilities? Better seperation and tiedown at the docks? More docks? Better breakwaters? Understanding that a certain percentage of the fleet will be lost during extreme events.

This is a non-trivial problem space. Multidisciplinary. Definitely won’t be solved on a Blog…

30. @David, RAT suggestion was really silly. Why would you put boats on a pasture?

31. Give him credit bummy, at least he has offered a recommendation for consideration.

32. Bummy

Don’t forget we were told “Thorne’s was therefore a rational comment coming from an opposition position.”

Rational, from a man whose contribution to his constituent fisherfolk in Oistins is questionable.

33. @ Artax

That is why in my loan conditions I outlined the presentation of their Tamis number. If they never paid a cent in tax or NIS they will start now if they want the loan money. Lol

I am not against helping the guys back on their feet, but it can NOT be a handout out of my tax dollars follwed by business as usual, so a repeat of this can happen all over again. Once we have the Tamis info we can go from there. As you say NIS as a self employed person should also be a condition.

Playing the odds is fine but when the odds turn god help yuh!

34. @Artax

You must have observed Shontell Monroe-Knight was part of the PM’ entourage doing Oistins? We cannot take the politics out of what we do.

35. Artax,

Who would have thunk it! 🤣🤣🤣 It’s you, me and Chris Halsall! What a motley
    crew! (N.B. One “T” only)

Mutiny on the Jolly Dodger!

36. David
    July 3, 2024 at 2:07 pm

It is interesting to hear that Jamaican fishermen have hauled their boats out of the water.

There has been an appeal after the storm for 55 gallon drums to use as boat jacks for boats lifted out of the water.

A bit late now.

The fact is this hurricane was not your ordinary hurricane, it was extremely strong.

Usually, hurricanes that form to the east of us are rare and in the vast majority of cases go north and miss us due to the rotation of the earth and the associated Coriolis force.

The fishermen took a calculated risk and lost.

They take calculated risks every day they are at sea. Insurance costs $$.

I’ve been watching satellite imagery for years.

This year I was struck by the amount of weather that passed us south of the island and went to the Trinidad area. I watch the ONI index that speaks to sea surface temperatures in the Pacific which are good predictors of weather.

You could see the change between last year and the previous couple of years and this year, cold to hot, La Nina to El Nino.

Most predictions suggested La Nina mainly affects the temperate regions and El Nino the Tropical regions. The predictions I saw were that this year would see increased hurricane and cyclonic activity in the Tropics.

I also came across predictions that there would be increased activity on the Sun so I am not surprised at Beryl.

My guess is the insurance rates rose considerably this year and will continue to rise. Just as there are actuaries in life insurance they will be present in other forms of insurance where other risks are ensured.

37. … and Beryl was not even that bad when compared with the 1780 Hurricane!!

Winds estimated at 200 plus miles per hour, fatalities at 22,000.

The politicians need to disabuse themselves about climate change.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Great_Hurricane_of_1780

38. An estimated 4,500 deaths on Barbados and it probably determined the outcome of the American Revolution.

In those days there was no warning.

39. Joe Biden has it in control!!

Maybe some one should tell him the extreme heat in the US could be sun related and no amount of $$ will help …. just create billionaires out of his friends.

40. How much money is Barbados spending on climate change and how much would it take to get the fishermen back to work with adequate insurance?

41. David

Isn’t it rumored that Shontell Monroe-Knight is the BLP’s candidate for Christ Church South?

If so, then the tour of Oistins presented an opportunity for her to ‘hit the ground running. ‘

It is often sad unfortunate events usually unite people.
    Rather than talking shiite, Thorne should’ve been present with the ‘entourage’ to listen first hand to the concerns of his constituents who were affected by ‘Beryl.’

42. @Artax

That is correct, believe she is the anointed candidate for that constituency.

43. Ditch the climate change rubbish.

44. People only get 1 vote
    but in the days of the internet they want to flip votes like the alleged voting machines

45. “Thorne should’ve been present with the ‘entourage’ to listen first hand to the concerns of his constituents who were affected by ‘Beryl.’”

An “Act of God” sounds like a primitive term with the science of monitoring weather systems..

.. But do you think his constituency is being punished for switching to DLP when Ralph did the dirty deed

46. Donna

My luck on BU is similar to that of a centipede.

According to the old Bajan saying, ‘people can give but can’t take.’

47. @ John July 3, 2024 at 5:14 pm

“Ditch the climate change rubbish.”

Sir John the ‘Diviner’, why are you retreating from your once steadfast position that your Jewish idol ‘named’ Yahweh is responsible for every single event under the Sun taking place on the little orb called ‘Earth’?

What has bestirred you to disavow your English-speaking ‘toy’ god and to seek to ‘blame’ the Sun for all of mankind’s sins against Pachamama?

Since you claim to be the only ‘man-of-science’ on BU, you must know that ‘Matter’ cannot be destroyed or created; only chemically converted into another form or state; whether solid, liquid or gas.

The Bushman is quite able to fill you in on the ‘scientific’ details. He is quite au fait with the Law of ‘conservation of energy’.

So why not tell us, in your global-warming denial syndrome, what has happened to the hundreds of millions of tonnes of carbon which took Mother Nature hundreds of thousands of years to bury in Her belly so that mammalian life can thrive but which took mankind (mainly albino-centric) less than 400 years to return to the Earth’s atmosphere?

What do you think would happen to your body if you lock yourself in a window-less room and burn a kerosine smut lamp ad nauseam?

48. Mia’s ambition to turn Barbados into a Monaco has blown up in her face. All this talk about developing a hotel corridor and making Barbados a destination for high end network individuals will never come into fruition.

The stress test provoked by this hurricane should have knocked some sense into these mock politicians’ heads. My advise to MIa is K.I.S.S. (Keep it simple stupid). She needs to forget about relying on Guyana to produce food for Bajans. Also she needs to make sure that Barbados is in control of its own animal husbandry . We need to make sure that we have our own fishermen.

This hurricane highlights the utter stupidity of making the tourist industry the spear head of our development at the neglect of sound common sense.

As tragic as this hurricane is it has left a calling card for Mia and her party.

49. Chris Halsall Avatar

@Miller: “What do you think would happen to your body if you lock yourself in a window-less room and burn a kerosine smut lamp ad nauseam?

In a closed system (which the Earth is modeled to be) one would likely die given your simplied senario.

Lack of Oxygen. Too much Carbon monoxide. Too much Carbon dioxide. Too much Methane. Too much heat.

The question then becomes, how quickly would death occure?

A followup question… Are humans resposible for this?

One can not prove a negative.

Critical thought, on the other hand, can be *very* useful with the heuristics.