To the disappointment of Caribbean cricket fans the West Indies cricket team was booted from the ICC T20 World Cup tournament. The demise of the men in maroon provides the opportunity to make an observation without appearing unsupportive of the regional cricket team to win the tournament.

The practice of the anthem being sung or played before the start of a game or in the case of the West Indies the playing of the song ‘Rally round the West Indies’ makes for an interesting colloquy in 2024. Quick research explains the rendering of a country’s national anthem is meant to “instill a sense of pride, patriotism and passion, whether it be on the sporting pitch or at a historically significant event“.

On the singing or playing of David Rudder’s ‘Rally round the West Indies’ the blogmaster had no issue at the time the song was adopted in 1999. The lyrics however have become somewhat redundant. The song opens with a truism – ‘For ten long years, We ruled the cricket world…’ in the chorus there is what can be described as a fair promise, ‘Pretty soon the runs are going to flow like water. Bringing so much joy to every son and daughter’.

West Indies vs USA T20 World Cup

The blogmaster understands West Indies cricket management is locked into the arrangement with the adopted Rudder anthem. We are a scattered group of sovereign countries which makes the adoption of a single national anthem unrealistic the subject of a future blog.

A critique of David Rudder’s weak delivery of the song at the start of games featuring the West Indies since being diagnosed with Parkinson’s disease has merit. His delivery although provoking feelings of nostalgia, sentimentality and causing many to shed a tear, did not mask Rudder’s inability to deliver the song with passion and close to its original version because of his medical condition. His rendition of the ‘anthem’ was as weak as the surfaces commentators have been complaining.

The observation is not meant to be disrespectful of the maestro but one must be true to self. The blogmaster anticipates many will disagree with the opinion expressed. Although members of the BU household are not diehard cricket fans – growing up in Commonwealth countries, studying Caribbean history, reading C.L.R James: Beyond the Boundary – one could not help but develop an interest in the adopted game we used to embarrass the former colonial masters and at the same time give vent to unbridled happiness to Caribbean people living mainly in Great Britain in the 60s, 70 and 80s.

Is it fair to opine many of our strong regional institutions that have served us well are in decline?

55 responses to “David Rudder’s World Cup ‘rally’ was flat”

1. Good T20, but still need to talk

As the curtains come down today on the International Cricket Council Men’s T20 World Cup, which would see the iconic Kensington Oval hosting its third final, Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley says Barbados has justified its decision to part-host the global tournament.

However, she noted that there were a few issues which must be addressed as Barbados seeks to establish itself as a venue of choice for events of this magnitude.

Mottley made the comment during a joint presentation to her by Mount Gay Distilleries and Stade’s West Indies Rum Distilleries of two commemorative rum editions honouring the achievements of the Caribbean Community (CARICOM) on the institution’s 50th anniversary.

Speaking to the media following the presentation at Ilaro Court yesterday, Mottley said that there was much to discuss after the tournament has concluded.

Some issues

“I think generally we have had a good tournament and there are some issues for us to reflect upon when the tournament is finished, which I won’t speak about on the eve of the final.

“I think we have acquitted ourselves well. I want to thank Barbadians and I want to thank those who were on the front line of allowing us to be a good host. I want to thank those who advocated across the region the importance of hosting this event,” Mottley said “We had a variation this time with the United States of America and that portends other things that we would have to discuss as well. I think we have done well, and I hope to meet with wider cricket officials later today and to discuss possibilities for the future. The Government of Barbados is committed to nurturing that ecosystem that goes not just from batsman and bowler as well as cricketers on the field, but beyond the boundary,” she added.

The Prime Minister expressed disappointment at the exit of West Indies at the Super 8 stage, noting that while she commended the team for its efforts, a regional conversation must be had on how to return West Indies cricket to its glory days “We are in a position to enable people to earn a living substantively. I would have liked to have been representing maroon tomorrow, but these things happen, and I hope that we use it as a learning lesson. Life is about ups and downs, but we can chart our future if we put all the essential ingredients in there… “I have every confidence that our people can rise to the top in cricket again, but it will require in number of things coming together and I hope that when the Prime Ministerial subcommittee on cricket meets with the West Indies cricket board, we can truly act in a singular way,” Mottley said.

She made it clear that the regional governments had no intention of replacing the current cricket administration, rather the hope was to work in a supportive role towards the development of the sport.

“Governments are not crowding out the administrators of cricket but being supportive on the developmental level. I think the guys tried hard, I think there are some things we could have done differently, but we now must put our heads together and inspire the region to excellence as a generation of cricketers did before,” Mottley said. ( CLM)

2. There is not a single sovereign mini state anywhere within the cricket playing Caribbean.

Not one!

Maybe there should be a definition for sovereignty as the point of departure.

Surely such cannot be limited to the poetry of a dated David Rudder song which could be as denuded of meaning as the national anthems of any country but which still are to represent a sense of bourgoise sovereignty amongst the misguided congregations of the masses.

Is it not long past time when weeee reconsider accepted or percieved truths?

Nearly 60 years on, has Barbados been able to repatriate its constitution as Barrow ruefully demanded?

And has the trajectory not made such more and more unlikely?

Is there not something wrong with a people totally reliant on a colonial game to supply both pride and industry?

These notions of petty sovereignty will never be able to fill the void of a lack of genuine sovereignty which has always existed beyond the boundary.

3. Sounds like Rudder’s performance may mirror that of Biden?
    Surely Rudder could lip- sync to a former recorded version.

4. William Skinner Avatar

We cannot pretend surprise at some of what is written here. We are certainly a strange people indeed.
    We would like to know how @ David arrived at the conclusion that members of the BU household are not die-hard cricket fans. Last we check the identities of the majority of the BU household are unknown.
    We also want to ask @ Pacha why the need for such a heavy dose of what is and what isn’t sovereignty.
    Sometimes we just can’t disguise our penchant for still validating ourselves via the words and thoughts of the Massa, we so vehemently claim that we want to rid ourselves of.
    At this time David Rudder is stricken with Parkinsons. His presence there was not to be a show peace ; it was to inspire the Caribbean nation. And perhaps , one of those young children present would remember to tell their grandchildren that they once saw a great Calypsonian , although under the weather physically perform.
    But we are a strange people : we and our children have been made to wave at a white glove in an old white Bentley to aged royalty, while we , as young as five years old, waited and baked in the hot sun along the streets.
    We just gave the king we were getting away from one of our highest national awards without a word from those well versed in attacking the region.
    A very Brief Note on David Rudder’s accomplishments :
    1986 : The Hammer, and Bahia Girl saw Rudder win , Young King , and Calypso Road March. He also wrote the winning tune for Panorama that same year. He is therefore guaranteed a perpetual place in the history of calypso and the Caribbean Nation.
    BTW the history of Calypso and Steel Pan is way more genuinely Caribbean than cricket from a purely genuine Caribbean cultural perspective.
    These days the elders saying that education is not common sense is truer it ever was.

5. How difficult is it to read such CLEAR writing on the wall?

-Storm warnings overtake much vaunted cricket finals
    -Daily assassinations now the norm in Brassbados
    -Hospital overwhelmed
    -Homelessness skyrockets
    -Housing a total mess – unless your name is MalMoney
    -Severe weather expectations are dire

At the Global level, it is even WORSE…
    …biggest joke of which, is the the two most notorious CLOWNS on earth are contending to be Commander-in-Chief of the most extensive weapons of Mass Destruction that has EVER been assembled…

…and everything else is on a negative slippery slope….

SO EXACTLY WHEN DOES IT BECOME CLEAR THAT WE ARE UP TO OUR NECKS IN SHAVING CREAM… AND SINKING?

When exactly do the jokers who steered the ‘Titanic’ onto the iceberg at high speed, fall on their swords – and at LEAST let someone with a little wisdom manage the lifeboats…?

…most critically, when do the BBs AWAKE – and recognize their inevitable fate….?

What a thing spiritual blindness is…

Marcus Garvey predicted that..
    “Black people will never know themselves until their Back is Against the Wall”.

Not much point in knowing your GREATNESS moments before your senseless execution.

6. Well, sovereignty was seemingly one of the concepts mentioned.

As a writer, poetic license permits us to think about anything in anyway felt like and not as you might wish.

We discern, and be Jesus christ you did not say this word for word or at all, that our comments mashed your One Caribbean pipedream. This is what happens when s fictional Caribbean Civilization is built on the quicksand of cricket and calypso.

Has cricket not been the only or ultimate cultural expression of sovereignty within your One Caribbean?

What you called validation now has been otherwise described at other times.

The validation of which you speak has never been here sought and will never be by this writer. Pacha knows hundreds of thousands of years of history. That is self validating already! You are well advised to direct that intent towards your more commercial tendencies.

Are we not using massa’s language? And if we are, why would it be strange to appear to sound like him?

What is your problem with the mention of the clear lack of sovereignty and these facile attempts to double down on socalled cultural Industries and sport as covers to hide this national, regional, nakedness clearly seen.

If you or anybody else expect Pacha to consider any of the things you deeply care about as if sacred cows ….. that shall never happen.

7. William Skinner Avatar

@Pacha

You obviously lack a comprehensive knowledge of both the emerging Caribbean civilization and the broad depth and width of our culture.

8. @David
    His delivery although provoking feelings of nostalgia, sentimentality and causing many to shed a tear, did not mask Rudder’s inability to deliver the song with passion and close to its original version because of his medical condition.
    +++++++
    As is said in the real world “Father time is undefeated”

9. Is that right?
    What do you mean by ‘our culture’?
    And how has that culture made any significant advances over time?
    And if “our culture” is not moving forward in real terms of the lives of the peoples, it must be dying, no?

10. We have no ‘culture’ William.
    We are condemned to following IMF /WHO/ IDB dictates – albeit in doing so, we are allowed to ‘talk big’ and to claim to ‘punch above our weight’.

Barrow articulated a path to a national culture, but lacked the vision to execute.
    Tom had the vision and ability to execute, but lacked the moral grounding…
    Since then, we have been saddled with albino-centric wannabes.

To have a Culture, one must START with some level of OWNERSHIP of assets, and thus the ability to DICTATE your own way forward.

As it is now, Brassbados cannot even ‘botch a peg’ without prior IMF approval – or at least lying to them about it.
    The WHO runs our MoH, and the IDB our MoE.

This is why we are NOT allowed into manufacturing, food production or now, even financial services in any serious way.
    Our assigned mandate is to be cheap labour of raw materials, consumers of expensive, second rate food and other finished products for those with the albino-centric culture, …and to be dependent on them in order to eat.

We are however, allowed to wuk-up bad, look the part of savages( as promoted by John2,) and look to cricket as some expression of ‘culture’…

What ‘culture’ what??!!

11. Indeed the whole world seems to be off its rocker! Look how the final will manage to slip in only just under the radar!

Didn’t anyone at the ICC look into our recent weather history? As soon as I heard the dates, I told my son that they were cutting it really close.

Predictable flooding in Florida nearly put paid to the travel plans of teams and there were issues with drop-in pitches in New York, pitches that were dropped in only a few weeks before the games, apparently, leaving no time for them to settle. At one point, India was threatening not to take the field.

It seems that nobody cares about the product anymore. “Music” is churned out on an impersonal production line, as devoid of the human touch as possible. Movies the same. It’s all recycled crap. The executives run and ruin EVERYTHING in search of the last dollar. And only a few people are sharing in the bounty. Imagine that they want to steal stuff to programme AI and feed it to us like the gruel that Ebenezer Scrooge ate!

What does it say when Taylor Swift is the biggest superstar in music, with her insipid, tasteless, totally predictable crap? SHE could definitely be replaced by AI.

I was a diehard cricket fan since the early 70s. But “cricketally” speaking I have already died hard. I do not expect to be resurrected.

Hard to stay interested when Western leaders play political musical chairs on the Titanic as though it matters which one, Republican or Democrat, Tory or Labour sits in the last chair! They have led the world to the iceberg and will hog all the lifeboats.

I believe that climate change, not nuclear war, is going to be the death of us. I imagine those stiffling temperatures in Pakistan and India and think that I’d rather be blown away in a hurricane.

I am beginning to think like that demented clown Trump, caught between a sinking battery-powered boat and a ten foot shark.

This is one of the few times we would make the same choice. Electrocution! Although, I am told that would not be a real choice. Simply wouldn’t happen.

So, the shark it is then!

12. Bushie

Yuh wrong!

All peoples have cultures. Even if antidevelopmental, decadent. But cultures nonetheless.

Culture is simply the habits, morays, beliefs, inactments, etc of a people.

13. @ David

I’ve read the article several times and am yet to understand your reasons behind it.

We’re aware the national anthems of cricket teams are either sung or played before each game commences and, since the WI team is a combination of certain regional territories, WICB/CWI adopted Rudder’s ‘Rally ‘round the West Indies’ as its anthem.

To ‘say’ “the lyrics however have become somewhat redundant,” under circumstances the national anthems of countries remain unchanged over the years, is a bit confusing.

Foreign direct investments occurred under both DLP & BLP administrations, especially in tourism. We’ve seen hotels, apartments, town houses, guest houses, private houses, gated communities and retirement villages being constructed in Barbados by non-nationals, on properties previously owned by Barbadians.

Are you suggesting that, under the above outlined circumstances, the verse, “These fields and hills beyond recall, are NOW OUR VERY OWN,” makes Barbados’ national anthem redundant?

How could you, on one hand, acknowledge Rudder’s medical condition inhibited his delivery of the song, yet, on the other, ‘say’ “His rendition of the ‘anthem’ was as weak as the surfaces commentators have been complaining?”

Do you believe your comments are fair, or were you expecting the performance of a man suffering from Parkinson Disease to be as energetic as that of Lil Rick, for example?

Yes, David. Your observation was indeed disrespectful.

Perhaps this was another ‘scrape the bottom of the barrel’ attempt to find something about the ICC T20 World Cup to criticise?

14. @ Pacha
    All people EXHIBIT cultures…. true…!
    To be specific….

Some people HAVE cultures….which THEY determine – such as the albino-centric demons, and other truly independent outliers.

Brass bowls have a (generally pathetic) ‘culture’ IMPOSED on their donkeys…

Some BASIC COMMON SENSE (and independent thought) would have led to a number of BASIC changes in that whole ICC affair.
    You can bet that the REAL albino-centric cultures will make some good money anyway…
    BUT…
    Guess who will end up holding the bags…..

15. Ready or not….
    Here comes Beryl

When it rains, …it pours.

Given what we have been seeing all around us over the last years, no doubt we are all ready and prepared for our first REAL hurricane(s?) since Janet…

Yea right!!

What a place….

16. @William

There is a difference between BU household, those who manage the blog and BU family.

17. @William

Speak for yourself, his delivery was weak and uninspiring to the blogmaster and many others. Your opinion is however respected.

18. @Sargeant

One of our challenges as Barbadians is that we have an affinity with being passive. The blogmaster is not unaware what was intended by having Rudder deliver his song.

What was intended and whether the objective was achieved are two different discussions not to be conflated by those prepared to have dispassionate debate.

19. @Artax

Clearly stated is that establishment thinking will disagree with that of the blogmaster. Yours is respected.

20. When we refer to having a culture it is defined by the positive or edge its gives to a people and nation to sustain itself. Much in the same way we refer to showing leadership for example. You would cite Hitler as a good leader depending on context – in his world many have argued he was a good leader, he communicated a strategy and oversaw a governance structure to efficiently execute.

21. One good thing about old artists is they’re alive.

People should appreciate and respect them and their works while they’re living instead of when they’re dead and gone.

22. @ Bush Tea

The upside is that we have several steal houses we maybe able to allocate should Beryl hit CAT 2 as is the forecast.

23. William Skinner Avatar

@Artax

Your comment is more than correct and well put .

24. I will not ask what is culture or what can pass for culture.

It pains me to see men of great intelligence engage in a Sisyphean task. One determine to roll the stone uphill and the other determined to roll it downhill.

Good news to both of you. There really is no stone. Your struggle is a product of two active imaginations; the result of strong minds searching for order in a world of chaos.

I have even better news. You can throw away your complex models and come over to the side of the ‘light lifters’.

Light lifters are not trapped in the illusion of nationhood, patriotism, culture or any of that ‘fine stuff’ that you delight in placing on the pages of BU. As a light lifter, there is little that you need to know. Make these few words a part of your vocabulary and you will do fine … con, scam, corruption, flim-flam, crooked, 3-card Monte.

Trust me! Abandon those higher ideas and just use those 6 words to sharpen and focus tour contributions. I know you will find it difficult to do so, but I have given you a shortcut to where you will eventually arrive at.

Welcome in advance. I am certain that you can still pen beautiful/brilliant articles in this space,.

🙂

25. Watching this tempest in a teapot.

“The upside is that we have several steal houses we maybe able to allocate should Beryl hit CAT 2 as is the forecast.”. Hey! Leave that for guys like me. You are supposed to stand at attention, get out the national anthem and salute. But it is a positive sign… growth detected.

26. As a light lifter, there is little that you need to know.

Let me expand on that phrase just a teeny, teeny bit.

The society that you described is not as sophisticate or as complicated as you imagine. You are person seeing a shadow and giving it the attributes of the object that produce the shadow.

27. William Skinner Avatar

@ Pacha
    You have clearly answered the question you asked me by telling @Bush Tea what culture is.
    David Rudder survived polio and went on to achieve greatness. All his life he has performed with an impediment and inspired millions. He is a Caribbean Nation State
    cultural icon.
    We hope that as the years roll on , we would all learn to respect our Caribbean Nation State citizens ,who have made outstanding contributions in all areas.

28. Obviously the definition of sovereignty in the context of the blog is defined by those countries given ‘independence’ by England. Nobody can refute we exist in an interdependent world.

29. Skinner

Knowing you, weeee saw your last response coming.

However, our series of questions to you were not just limited to the simple elements internal.

But involved other issues including the culture of sovereignty in your much vaunted One Caribbean.

And we’re never disliked Rudder or calypso etc.

Ours points were

One, that we would not have expected him to be the same performer he was back in the 80s and 90s when he was a much favored performer.

Two, that the culture of entertainment and cricket are being used to pull the wool over ours eyes while those cultures, like political, corporate, industrial, class collaboration and the like are and have been going nowhere forward, even backward.

And more. We’ll stop it there.

30. William Skinner Avatar

@ Bush Tea
    Regardless of the socio economic condition
    all countries have a culture.
    Even those steeped in brassbowlery.

31. Not one!
    Many making up the whole. Culture, sub-cultures. Living organisms.
    The minibus culture is at least one.
    They repel each other, they intersect, etc
    You’ve got to see them as a set or sets of forces.

Even within Bushie’s religion there are many forces. Over 1000 denominations in the Western Hemisphere alone.

32. @William
    ‘Having a culture’ and ‘having YOUR OWN culture’ are two completely different things.

Bushie pleads guilty – for assuming that the semantics defaulted to the latter meaning.

33. @William

You are not getting it, everyone is a lover of Rudder’s journey, his music going back to Charlie’s Roots, his battles with life threatening and rehabilitating illnesses. That is not the point being made.

34. It looks like Barbados successfully hosted the final. Say what you will some credit must go to those concerned including the indefatigably and omnipresent Prime Minister Mottley.

35. Don’t be so celebratory yet.

For Bushie is sending Beryl and another storm to wipe the smile off yuh face.

36. And South Africa choked again! It’s all in the mind, I tell you.

37. There goes the anti albinocentric bushie again.

Do you know who used to call the local Indians SAVAGES????

Emancipate urself you are inadvertently being what you attempted to advocate against because of ur ignorance

38. listen if you want to?

39. ” The government of Barbados has issued a Hurricane Warning for the
    island.”

40. Hurricane Beryl

41. Cultures are mindsets
    You cannot understand a foreign culture with your own cultural mindset
    by making comparisons for the differences
    and must observe the foreign culture by immersion into the foreign mindset

African Vs European minds*
    (*) regarding nakedness
    Do Barbadians have European minds from their behavioural programming

42. Received via email from Tony.

Yes, David Rudder’s weak delivery was definitely not uplifting. It didn’t grasp the attention that was intended. When an anthem is sung with vigor, energy and strong vocals, the ordinance gets emotional. On this occasion, they seemed in shock. I believe my buddy John King would have done a superb job. His voice is euphonious. If for some unknown reason, the Barbados Cricket Board of Control/West Indies board threw David Rudder’s name as a serious consideration. They were not at all serious. I salute David Rudder as a veteran BDS entertainer, not a maestro for our national anthem. Our WI boys needed serious uplifting on that given day, not a dose of Frankie Beverly with a stripped throat.

The way I saw and heard it.

43. The Spin

An old time WI great singing with the crowd about when old time WI cricket was great

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w6x40d5ElCA

Rally ’round the West Indies (original style)

44. Terence M Blackett Avatar
    Terence M Blackett

MORE BREAD & CIRCUS: COME ONE COME ALL – LEAVE YOUR CARES BEHIND & ENJOY THE SHOW

This “JACKASS” phrase “More Bread & Circuses” originated from “ANCIENT ROME”, where it was used to describe the “TACTICS” employed by the “ROMAN EMPIRE” to maintain “CONTROL” & “APPEASE” the “MASSES OF SERFS, SLAVES & SOLDIERS”!!!

The phrase, “PANEM ET CIRCENSES”,” literally means #BreadAndCircuses & refers to the practice of providing the “MASSES” with the “BASIC NECESSITIES”, such as “FOOD” (Bread) & “ENTERTAINMENT” (Circuses), in “EXCHANGE” 4 their “LOYALTY & OBEDIENCE”!!!

This explanation is to satisfy the “CULTURAL APPROPRIATIONISTS” in our midst who like to “ARGUE” that #Culture is some arcanely, obscure phenomenon that is autochthonic to specific groups of people, when in actuality – “MOST CULTURAL ASSETS” ARE EITHER BORROWED OR COPIED FROM ANTIQUITY”!!!

The ancient “ROOTS” of the Roman phrase was used by a satirical poet called “JUVENAL” (THE WORD FROM WHICH ‘JUVENILE’ IS DERIVED) – to criticize the Roman Empire’s reliance on bread & circuses to “PACIFY” the “MASSES”!!!

Juvenal argued that the Roman people had become so “COMPLACENT” & “APATHETIC”, (JUST LIKE THE MAJORITY TODAY), focusing on their “IMMEDIATE NEEDS” & “DESIRES” rather than engaging in “CIVIC DUTIES” (THAT ORCHESTRATES CHANGE WITHIN SOCIETY), while “PARTICIPATING” in the #PoLIEticalProcess “TO CHANGE THINGS FROM WITHIN”!!!

THESE TOOLS OF DISTRACTIONS ARE USED LIKE NEVER BEFORE TO KEEP THE MASSES IN A STATE OF PERMANENT STASIS – SIDETRACKED FROM THE GLARING ISSUES THAT “MUST” BE DEALT WITH GIVEN THAT LIFE NOW DEPENDS UPON CLEAR-HEADED, CRITICAL THINKERS

Some argue that “ENTERTAINMENT” & “SPORT” can serve as a “WELCOME DISTRACTION” from the serious issues that plague daily life – however, these distractions are “MIND CONTROL TECHNIQUES” diverting society’s attention away from reality, through a form of “CONTRIVED, CONCOCTED ESCAPISM” that may lessen the bite but does not cauterize the bleeding!!!

“MODERN SPORT” as #MonetizedCommercialization, is seen as #SerotoninLacedEntertainment, that merely perpetuates “BASELESS CONSUMERISM” & “MINDLESS PROPAGANDA” – psychologically-engineered tools of “DISTRACTION” – where the masses do not have to focus on the more important issues or the depths of societal problems!!!

COME ONE – COME ALL IS THE REFRAIN OF THE TOWN CRIER: FROM CRICKET TO FOOTBALL, TO TENNIS TO THE OLYMPICS TO ANYTHING THAT TICKLES YOUR FANCY

In the “END” #RomeBurned while they were all “GYRATING” to the #god call “BACCHANAL” – often referred to as “BACCHUS”, the Roman #god of “WINE”, “FREEDOM”, “INTOXICATION”, & “ECSTASY” (#SexualPromiscuity) – for he was the son of Jupiter, the king of the Roman #gods!!!

45. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Hi David, greetings. As usual a quite provocative post that will get more heat for it’s ‘scandalous nature’ than for the more interesting underlying argument!🙃

I didn’t HEAR any of his renditions but when I saw pictures of David Rudder I was surprised of his apparent ill-health… so now not shocked by your remarks. I didn’t interpret them as a critique of the master calypsonian but as noted you truly could have made your point differently and more effectively without the medical reference.

I get your argument, but that HE opted to perform is likely his crystal clear realization that he may he unable to perform at such a world affair again. Give him that due, brother. He has earned it.

The rendition may have lacked that original Rudder power but it surely touched the hearts and souls as intended.

Hunker down, my brothers and sisters.

46. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

On the games themselves, surely the WIBC/ICC/BCA can pat themselves on the back for an awesome final (preparations, logistics) at the Oval.

The ground looked the part as the MECCA of cricket on the day.

I didn’t get the chance to enjoy directly but based on my earlier visits a few weeks earlier it was simply the best place to be on the day, as a cricket fan.

I was thrilled when SA made that final push towards victory and blown apart when they faltered. Both teams were worthy of course bur I gave the the St Africans my support after they so narrowly took us out.

It’s unfortunate that fate (if one wants to get that nausetaingly philosophical) was not theirs to take.

Simply stated of course it was just brutally good luck, superb gamesmandhip and excellent skillful execution by the Indians.

Initially I was dumb founded by QDK’s dismissal … just shocked. But on reflection I realized that he had hit the first six (just before he got out) far over the rope and backed himself to repeat that shot… so a fielder being placed there was irrelevant in his mind.

But how can one underestimate luck/fate whatever when a fielder makes THAT catch. In 9 of 10 such attempts that Is going to be SIX. On Saturday the fielder pulled off the catch of the century ….

SA did well …India did better!

And we Bajans and Kensingtonians across Bim hosted it all !

Hope all get back to their homes safely before the weather comes in!

47. @Dee Word

The blogmaster is never afraid to hold an unpopular or minority view.

48. @ Mr. Skinner

Thanks.

49. William Skinner Avatar

@ Artax
    URW. One of these days we will learn why the youth behave the way they do. We guess no one stands up and give senior citizens seats on the bus anymore. The harsh , negative and unnecessary comments about David Rudder, indicate where we are heading at even the basic level.