Where in the world is Mary Anne Redman?

Submitted by Observing
Mary Redman, President, BSTU

I am not one to pinpoint any individual BUT, a few callers on Brass Tacks this week jogged the brain about what is obvious to many.

The questions begs: Where in the world is Mary Anne Redman?

During the period 2010 until 2018 and before, the most strident voice for teachers, rights, safe working environments, safeguarding of terms and conditions, violence in schools, communication and a mountain of other “issues” etc etc etc was the Barbados Secondary Teachers’ Union led loudly, lovingly and lustily by Ms. Mary-Anne Redman

In Bajan terms she gave Ronald Jones and the DLP hell oh hell (maybe deservedly so). But in recent times we have been hearing issue on top of issue on top of problem on top of problem at many many many schools including BOTH primary and secondary.

Yet, we are only hearing one union. Why???

Regarding BSTU think about it….

• The IADB survey? Not a word.
  • The Springer fiasco? Not a protest.
  • Environmental concerns at many secondary schools and nuff nuff primary schools?? Not a peep.
  • Smoke and Cow itch? Silence.
  • The glaring deficiencies and potholes in the botched education reform proposal? Not a contribution.
  • Sudden transfer of principals and teachers willy nilly? Nothing to see here.
  • Schools not ready to be reopened? Not a problem!
  • Issues with CXC? Quiet.
  • Repeated videos of fights and reports of violence? Nothing, nada not a sound.
  • Unresponsiveness or piss poor responses of the Ministry to many many many things? No need to bother.
  • Absence of the Minister on important matters? Kay who?

And the list can go on and on and on.

Now this is where the politics intersects. The average man on the street believes that Unions only keep noise when THEIR party is NOT in power or if it serves THEIR interest. Look at the days of Walter Maloney, Dennis Clarke, Akanni McDonad, Pedro Shepherd, Toni Moore, Edwin O’Neal, Cedric Murrell just to point out a few names with CLEAR political connections over the years and whose behaviours raised many an eyebrow.

We should be also now be carefully listening to the ongoing BWU-BHTA battle as well while legislation crawls through parliament. All part of the “game”.

The point is, while we here and in the shops point out all the challenges facing the country, it seems those “elected” to lead and be the voice of the many are convenient with when they open their mouths and silent when the whip gets cracked. Classic sang years ago about them being “In bed together.”

Now, the key thing about this isn’t just one person or one union, it is the general feeling that workers and the average joe keep getting shafted for political expediency or personal relationships rather than principles. The optics become more important than the objectives.

So,
Will anyone be wiling to turn over the bed and throw away the mattress for the good of the masses?

Will real leaders focused primarily on collective progress for everyone ever emerge?

Will we always be “led” by those who were put there to “serve”?

Food for thought.

56 responses to “In bed together”

1. John Brathwaite Avatar

Disgusting attempt at a smear job. Absolute filth. Mary Redman is often the only person stands in the breach for her members. Because she is not a blowhard and does not crave media attention, does not diminish her hard work. Some of you all need to find something better to do with your time. But no, you hide behind silly pseudonyms and believe that you can denigrate an upstanding woman like Ms. Redman. Do better!

2. Dear John
    Instead of issuing a blanketing statement, could you point out which of the many assertion is incorrect?

Thank you

3. @John Brathwaite

“This isn’t about one person or one union, it is the general feeling that workers and the average joe keep getting shafted for political expediency or personal relationships rather than principles. The optics become more important than the objectives.”

I assume you didn’t read the entire post so no need for a response.

Also, you said that

“Because she is not a blowhard and does not crave media attention,”

I will await any other posters that agree with you on this point.

Just observing

4. Article: She is a B supporter.
    NTSH
    Standard.

5. IM Ian Marshall Avatar

Are you living under a rock John Brathwaite or you now woke up from sleeping?

6. It would be funny if the lady had after a long career simply retired.

People have been known to do this sometimes.

7. That interview was in 2022.

Still sounds good, and alot wiser.

8. A pity the author did not take the time to listen to the interview.

Sounds like she retired at the end of 2022 after 43 years in the teaching profession.

Pretty sure Patrick Frost was identified with the BSTU many years after retirement so no doubt, she will be too!!

9. Grasshopper

Was this a hatchet job on the author of the blog or just an education?

10. The author probably was never introduced to the concept of homework while at school!!

11. … always do your homework before you go on attack!!

12. Take note of the date of the article re: Mary Redman

http://barbados.loopnews.com/content/bstu-678715

13. On a happier note, WI like they might beat Australia.

Australia needs 45 runs with 3 wickets standing.

Joseph got 5.

Think I will follow it through.

England going well too.

14. Oh Rambam. You mean Eugene didn’t do his research thoroughly.
    Maybe she came out of retirement 😭😭😭
    Or maybe. Or maybe.
    Steupse, just change the topic.

15. 5.25pm One of the greatest Test victories of all-time! An undermanned, underrated young West Indies team have knocked over the World Test Champions at the Gabba. Shamar Joseph, possibly with a broken toe, bowls 11.5 overs straight and takes 7 for 68. Castling four of them. Steve Smith is left 91 not out. Shamar Joseph gets a standing ovation from the small crowd. The Australians all congratulate him. Remember the name … Shamar Joseph!

W
    Shamar Joseph to Hazlewood, OUT
    West Indies win! Shamar Joseph flattens off stump! They charge off in celebration. Shamar Joseph takes seven! The West Indies huddle together. Brian Lara is nearly in tears in the commentary box! Perfect length, angled into middle and off, it straightens past the edge and flattens off! That is so good.

Josh Hazlewood b S Joseph 0 (6b 0x4 0x6 16m) SR: 0

16. Geoff Gittens
    on January 28, 2024 at 3:04 AM said:

Oh Rambam. You mean Eugene didn’t do his research thoroughly.
    Maybe she came out of retirement 😭😭😭
    Or maybe. Or maybe.
    Steupse, just change the topic.

Do your homework and read!!

She retired from teaching after 43 years!!!!

Had you done your homework you would have heard her say in the 2022 interview that she was going on leave in September and retiring in December.

As I pointed out, she mentioned Patrick Frost and the possibility she would follow his lead.

17. She is a member of the Constitutional Reform Commission since 2022. One must imagine it takes a significant bite out of her time.

http://barbados.loopnews.com/content/constitutional-reform-commission-members-sworn

18. How come in this discussion no one has mentioned Caswell Frankly? Is he not a person that up to now appears to have allegiance to one entity and one entity only – his union and those workers whom he represents!

19. @Fear Play
    He seems to be the only one.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/12/16/no-support-from-unions-doctors-nurses-private-sector/

This along with the NSRL march were sad days in trade unionism.

If you keep harping on Mary you will miss the larger picture. Happy to see your strong strident solid defense of a comrade though.

It seems that recently alot of people who would normally be speaking up on issues have had bites taken out of their time. lol.

Just observing

20. @FearPlay

You would think his commitment to worker’s rights would be a catalyst for too many workers to sign up for Unity.

21. Observing on January 28, 2024 at 8:23 AM said:

If you keep harping on Mary you will miss the larger picture. Happy to see your strong strident solid defense of a comrade though.

Never met the lady in my life!!

Just remember admiring her response when attacked, can’t even remember over what, can’t even remember when!!

Probably saw it on BU years ago.

So, your whole blog did not ring true with what I remember.

It just took a few seconds to turn up the 2022 interview.

It was longer than I would have liked but listened through it to the end and realized that apart from events occurring after the interview she dealt with all items on your list!!

You just never took the time to look and listen.

Next time when you attack someone for whatever unstated reason you may have and who is clearly a giant in her profession, take the time do your homework.

… or somebody will greet you with a hatchet and you will end up looking like a fool.

22. If there is a larger picture, paint it honestly …. if you can.

Don’t rely on innuendo.

23. @John
    Bigger picture

“This isn’t about one person or one union, it is the general feeling that workers and the average joe keep getting shafted for political expediency or personal relationships rather than principles. The optics become more important than the objectives.””

Was never meant to attack any ONE person. Just so happens that this person represents a glaring example of a bigger issue worthy of discussion.

Re: The interview:
    It’s good to know that a staged prepared interview done entirely by the government in power is enough to convince you that all is well and your/our/the public’s interests are being served.

Walk good!

Just observing

24. Don’t want to be involved in the argument but the Loop article from Oct.12-2023 describe Ms. Redman as President of the BSTU and in the article she is quoted as saying the following:

“On Tuesday, one of my members called from a secondary school in St Philip where she too was assaulted by a parent”.

Doesn’t sound like one who has retired……

25. Sarge she is a retired teacher of 43 years!!

Until a teacher, retired or not, attracts the votes of the BSTU members in sufficient quantity to replace her she is stuck with the post until she chooses to resign.

There is no retiring from the post she holds, there is only resigning or replacement by another candidate at an AGM.

This is so elementary.

SHE IS RETIRED ….

…… from the only post from which it is possible to retire, collecting a pension as do all other retirees!!

26. @John

I will let @ “Observer” speak for himself as I don’t want to be drawn into any long-term discussion on this issue, but I thought that the criticism directed at Ms. Redman was focused on her advocacy as president of BSTU. If she continued in that role after retiring as a teacher, then the criticism whether merited or not is fair game.

BTW I just read that The Lodge school has been closed for cleaning, in previous times the president of BSTU would be holding the Ministry of Education to task about this situation but the silence is deafening.

Carry on smartly.

27. Listen to the interview and you will hear the president of the BSTU dealing with the environmental issues.

28. …. and I agree, Observing is in trouble and you don’t want to be following him/her down a garden path to a “Rabbit Hole” of his/her own digging.

29. @Sargeant

You are correct with your interpretation, it is why the Loop article was posted. Just carry on as you suggested, sensible people understand.

30. Covid made remote school possible today. This wasn’t possible before . No need to kiss a fuss. The teachers are not in harms way

31. I would even bet that the home scrolling at lodge was with agreement between the ministry and the teachers unions

32. All agree remote school at this level is not ideal even if ‘convenient’.

33. Who messed with my coffee? Avatar
    Who messed with my coffee?

I don’t know which is worse J2 or J1.
    J1 seems to be drunk in his own wisdom and J2 seems to be drunk on Koolaid.

Sorry folks. Thought I had it together, but still in the grumpy zone.
    Will depart and be back when I have it together.

34. From what I read the cleaning was supposed to be completed over the weekend which would have made the remote school only one day
    However the cleaning wasnt completed satisfactory so there extend for this week to get everything completed

Why must Mary make a stink about this at this point in time – when remedial action is being undertaken???
    Just to proof point?

35. The issue of sick buildings/ schools is a big problem in this case forming of mold. This is a long running issue.

36. Do you think this could happen in an unconstitutional parliament?

37. @Sargeant
    “the silence is deafening”
    Corrent. Nothing more needs to be said from my end. If you know you know. If you choose not to know then so be it

But then again, she did say “give them a chance.”

https://barbadostoday.bb/2019/02/13/bstu-urges-educators-to-be-patient/

@John 1,2 or 3
    “Observing is in trouble”

Oh shaving cream. I will respond with a quote from the blogmaster

“sensible people understand.” Carry on smartly

Lastly,
    If there is anyone that believes that remote teaching in Barbados right now works any more than maybe 50-60% engagement (at most at “high end schools”) despite 20+ years of Edutech and 4+ years Covid-19….

I have a pig in a bag to sell you for free. David can be the middle man.

Just observing

38. What were the positions of the various Unions when two teachers decided to run for Parliament?

Crickets on this so far, even from me!!

39. “sensible people understand.”

The better option would be leave the kids at home unschooled for approximately 2 week ?

“sensible people understand.”

40. Sensible understand we have a problem with maintaining schools and public buildings in general, our serious unions should be stridently addressing these kinds of issues. Instead of nitpicking.

41. NorthernObserver Avatar

On schools, most unusually, the GEL CEO when commenting on the slow progress of rebuilding a Block at Parkinson school, which I gather GEL is paying for, at the AGM last week, referenced “the Planning Dept”. It was also referenced in relation to construction delays at two manufacturing facilities, Purity was one.
    This Group operates in many countries, and rarely mentions anything related to Gov’t, other than the obvious, like the situation in Essequibo could affect business in Guyana.

42. Let the see who holds the real power within a union. Some seem to think the power lies with the head / president

43. Google Mary Redman BSTU and each time add one of Obsetving’s accusations. Then you’ll better understand this non-piece. The video the blogmaster posted in an attempt to show she’s still in charge also shows her commenting on Springer.🤣🤣

44. Sensible people know that this whole article is nitpicking because the unions NOW seem to be in bed with the blp.

Go back to the histories of the most well know union leaders and u will see most if not all of them were aligned to the dlp / members of the dlp / mps of the dlp

Shite dlp want dem all the time ????

When the union (members) stand up the leaders have to follow

45. Did you say in bed? Who is Toni in bed with again?

46. Why should Toni be different from any of the others or is it a crime because she came from the bussom of the DLP BWU but is now a bee?

Even the neutral Caswell was a senator for an opposition party and was marching with the deputy leader of the collation ( and may I say I agree with him on both counts )