The following was posted by commenter Wargeneral on another blog to list the achievements of the Mia Mottley led government since taking office in 2018 – David, Blogmaster

Call me an apologist or whatever but to say that this administration has “nothing tangible to show” would require you to demonstrate what you mean by that.”

TheOGazerts

The record of this administration includes:

The reduction of the debt to GDP ratio from 175% to 114% at the end of 2023 through a mixture of debt restructuring, primary surpluses (primary surplus for 2023 was 2.5 % of GDP for march 2024 the primary surplus target is 3.4 percent of GDP).

The relatively brisk economic recover from the economic shock brought about by covid-19. During Covid the economy contracted by 14 percent but it grew by 10 percent in 2022 and 4.5 percent in 2023.

This was driven by a fairly strong tourism recovery and a ramping up of airlift,

An increase in goods exports seen here:

https://nationnews.com/2023/01/25/exports-barbados-20/ .

Food Science Centre:
https://www.washingtoninformer.com/barbados-international-food-science-centre-a-boon-for-exporters/

This government changed BIDC to Export Barbados and the agency already built an International food Science entre which is a shared use facility which helps small food and beverage manufacturers to reach export quality and scale. If you pass by newton now you will see another constriction site where they are about to build a life Sciences Park.

And an Increase in foreign Investment and construction to levels not seen since 2006. This is according to developers and Real Estate companies. Construction wages are also increasing. https://barbadostoday.bb/2024/01/11/super-rich-middle-income-have-big-appetite-for-piece-of-the-rock/

Non-Sugar crop production increased in 2023 by 24 percent despite drought in the first half of the year and excessive rain in the last three months. This was helped by government’s FEDD programmer to bring more young people into agriculture and this government spent millions building catchments to get water to farmers like this one in St. Phillip:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AV6PDPdx8VM
sugar production also increased in 2023 by 22 percent and under this government farmers were paid on time for the first time in years.

Note that Barbados NEVER recovered from the recession of 2008-2014. During the period 2008-2013 Real GDP contracted by 9 percent from where it was in 2007 and by 2018 the economy was still 4% smaller than it was in 2007 in real terms. So now that the economy has recovered from Covid in 2 years lets hope that 2024 is the year in which Barbados finally recovers from the 2008-2014 recession.

Building a new Geriatric Hospital, expanding the existing A&E at the Hospital.

Repaired more roads in five years than the pervious government did in 10 years examples being Wildey to Collymore Rock, Lears, East Coast Road, Shorey Village, Rock Dundo, Highway 1, Yorkshire and many others.

The government currently has 3 separate road works project current ly goin on in the Chinese Scotland district Project, CAF road project, a small roads programme which is currently paving smaller roads in St Joseph and St. James like these:
https://www.facebook.com/photo?fbid=842033944593623&set=a.498311468965874

The government just started a $30 million accelerated road paving programme which begins today.
https://www.facebook.com/photo/?fbid=866592985471052&set=a.498311468965874

Reinstituted tuition-free accesses to Barbadian students at UWI provided that they give back a number of hours to various state and private programmes.

Gave poor people $600 a month in support to help them get through the Covid-19 pandemic.

Started a One-Family initiative to encompass a Family-based approach to the delivery of social services to the poor.

Increase the Reverse tax credit from $650 back to $1300 (which people got last month) and actually started back paying it after a previous administration stopped.

Started a six-month construction gateway programme to train as many young people as possible to take jobs in the construction boom which is currently ramping up.

Currently undertaking national discussions on education reform, constitutional reform and parliamentary reform.

Repaired this country’s relationship with Guyana.

The one that put a smile on my face was they at last started the reform of State Owned Enterprises by privatizing BAMC, which will now be run by a co-operative lead by fellow blogger Colonel Trevor Browne. As seen here
https://barbadostoday.bb/2024/01/12/new-sugar-firms-to-begin-operations-on-monday-under-different-environment/

I hope that this is used as the model for any future divestment of SOEs. Now! onto dealing with CBC.

70 responses to “BLP Achievements!”

1. … all the while subjecting Barbadians to two “terms” with an unconstitutional parliament.

Con artists par excellence!!

2. @Wargeneral
    I was a bit occupied with recent happenings and decided to take a break. However, I felt it necessary to do some light lifting

I have read the list of accomplishments and must state that I am not impressed.

Why?
    When dealing with changes, it is good to know the baseline. If the DLP was as bad as is often stated here, then there was only one way for the BLP to go and that was up. I saw that you was aware of baseline comparisons when you were speaking of roAD repair and other items

Secondly if an economy shrank by 20% and then increased by 10% one year and then by 10% a second year, it is not back to a 100%. Compared to the baseline, the economy is back at 96.8%. I am too lazy to do the calculations, but I suspect that your 10% and 4.5% did not bring you back to the 100%. So I will move that item out of the win column.

The $600 is a pittance compared to the financial haircut that many Bajans got. Please remove that from your win column.

Many of the other items are nebulous at best. I was planning an itemized response, but a little research indicate that most of what you stated is ‘pie in the sky’, ongoing, planned, just spin, a PR stunt or ‘wet dreams’.

Why didn’t you put the brand new Integrity Legislation in your win column.

It always amuses that a small island would sell itself off to foreign investors. To me, it is sheer folly that a billionaire from Mars can have relatively the same access to buying property as a scrunting Bajan. It amuses me that you trumpet such folly as a victory.

It appears that we see thing differently, I cited concrete items (meat and potatoes)
    BWA,
    Electricity
    Joes River
    White Hoax
    Savvy
    Etc
    and you gave me wafers.

Sorry, I was prepared to do some heavy lifting but only light lifting is needed.

3. I must admit that my knowledge is not as detailed as that of some here.

The reasons are simple:
    I am unable to digest and the regurgitate what I see as lies, scams and con men at work.

Throwing stuff on the wall does not get my attention.

The bogus numbers, gimmickry, new initiatives, fixes that don’t work, new legislations, new positions and statements of political gurus … are of no interest to me.

I cannot enter the artificial/false/parallel world that they create

As an example, take the integrity legislation … Stuff thrown against the wall but ensuring that NOTHING sticks. Silly mind games being played with the Bajan public.

Sportsvale: The most recent revelation shows how money was transferred out of the public coffers to the picked of a select few.

The vaccine scam of which the Minister of health was unaware.

As a light lifter, I discard the useless bits of information that are fed to the public.

4. Isn’t savy and joes river ‘ ongoing’ ?

What is u beef about the BWA and electricity?
    What u call meat is just bones and potato skins

5. One area Mottley’s government has improved compared to the prior administration is the rebuild of our global brand. After two years it is clear there comes a time when locals (electorate) will appraise government’s performance based on what is happening at the household level i.e. supermarket, light bill, transportation, homeownership, efficiency of the utilities and telcos etc. That time has come.

6. This decision by Senior Minister William Duguid to import steel framed housed from China had the potential to be significant but as usual failed in execution.

STEEL-HOUSES FOR SALE

Govt to put majority of Chinese units on the markets

By Maria Bradshaw mariabradshaw@nationnews.com

Barbadians who need housing will be able to purchase the majority of the 89 remaining steelframed houses which Government imported from China last year.

Minister of Housing Dwight Sutherland told the Sunday Sun a decision was made to erect the houses at certain areas which have already been identified, and sell them to the public. The situation concerning the steel houses recently became the subject of much criticism as Barbadians began posting photos of the storage site at Six Roads, St Philip, showing hundreds of metal parts in piles on the ground and overrun with bush. Pressed by this newspaper for an update on the steel houses, Sutherland stated: “It has been previously indicated to the media, that as a result of rising costs, primarily from having to train and utilise local labour for the installation of the housing units, a decision was taken to sell some of the housing units rather than use all 150 solely for Hurricane Elsa relief. “Consequently, new sites had to be developed for the placement of these units and these are at Coconut Hall, Sargeants Village, Christ Church; Bullens, Holders Hill, St James; River Crescent and Concordia Gardens, St Philip. Now that the roads have been constructed and the utility services installed or being installed at the sites, work can commence on the houses,” he revealed, adding: “All the units at Coconut Hall will be completed by the end of the current financial year and barring unforeseen circumstances, the ministry is working with a projected completion schedule of June 2024,

of the financial year.

•Two individual houses have also been built at Coconut Hall, St Lucy. One has been completed and the second one is scheduled for completion in two weeks’ time once the electrical works are completed.

•Twelve quad units have been completed at Haggatt Hall. Some minor remedial works are being undertaken to the floors. The National Housing Corporation (NHC) is currently working on the driveway and parking aprons of these units which have been allocated and will be handed over by the end of next month.

• Sixteen quad units have been constructed at Solaris Court, Whitepark Road. Barbados Water Authority is currently working on connecting the site to the Bridgetown Sewage System. When that is completed, the NHC will complete the other hard surfaces for the site, driveway and parking bays.

•Eight duplex units have been constructed at Coconut Hall, St Lucy. Six units require only minor electrical works, and the installation of the domestic sewage works to be completed. The internal finishing along with the electrical and domestic sewage is needed to complete the other two units and this work is also scheduled for completion by the end of the financial year.

As to the 89 units which will be offered for sale to the public, he pointed out that 28 single units will be constructed at Bullens, Holders Hill, where construction of the foundations have already commenced.

Twenty units will be constructed at River Crescent, comprising of 14 singles units and six duplex units.

Seven single units will be constructed at Concordia Gardens, St Philip, where road works for the first stage of this development were recently completed and 18 duplex units will be constructed at Sargeants Village.

In addition, 16 units comprising of eight quad units and eight duplex units will be utilised by the Barbados Defence Force to replace some of the ageing blocks at the Paragon Base.

In relation to the Six Roads Containers Park where the houses are being stored in containers while some are also on the ground, Sutherland noted that the areas at Six Roads was created for multiple purposes but when the houses are removed, it would be utilised to store Government material.

He stated: “The area at Six Roads was created for multiple purposes. In the first instance, as a storage and assembly area for the 150 units but ultimately, the area with the 126 containers which were purchased as part of the project, will be used as a long-term Government storage facility for some of the old files and other materials which are contributing to our sick building syndrome but yet need to be retained.

“In preparation for the construction of the remaining 89 units and to make way for the construction of the school meals facility, materials in the storage area are being bundled by house type according to the type of unit that will be placed at each site. They will be transported to the various locations when the bundling is completed. At the moment there is more activity at Six Roads than normal, however, this is expected to be reduced significantly over the next four to six weeks as the materials for the 55 houses planned for Bullens, River Crescent and Concordia North (Dodds) will be relocated to these sites.

The majoirty of steel house parts are being stored in these containers at Six Roads, St Philip.

Foundations are already being prepared for the erection of steel houses at Bullens, Holders Hill, St James.

(MVB)

Parts of the steel houses which were imported by Government from China last year lying around the ground at the Industrial Park at Six Roads, St Philip. (Pictures by Jameel Springer.)

More steel house parts lying on the sidewalk at the Industrial Industrial site at Six Roads, St Philp.

Parts of the steel houses are covered in bush. However, they will soon be relocated to other spots where they will be erected and sold.

7. Barbados expects to benefit from global minimum tax

By Tony Best

With the global minimum corporate tax being implemented around the world, Barbados is in a “good” position to reap benefits from the strategic tax move.

However, by how much and when the benefits may flow to the republic are questions tax analysts decline to pinpoint.

What seems clear, though, is that Barbados, whose financial services sector is second in economic importance to its tourism industry, is unlikely to suffer sharp decline in fortunes once the tax of 15 per cent becomes a fact of life.

“It is too early to tell what the exact impact is going to be on Barbados,” Bruce Zagaris, a widely respected tax law expert in Washington told the Sunday Sun.

“Soon, multinational enterprises are going to have to pay the 15 per cent minimum tax somewhere. So, when it comes into play what are some of the other benefits that they (corporations) are obtaining from being in Barbados vis-à-vis some other places, especially considering that some of them would have already invested in Barbados – offices, employees, and tangible assets. Many multi-nationals are still strategising about how to respond to the global tax.

“Part of the answer is going to depend on what Barbados provides as alternatives to tax incentives, like subsidies for research and development and other types of incentives the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) allows. It will depend on factors like how easy it is going to be to do business in Barbados, how easy it is to move money around from Barbados to other countries,” said Zagaris. “There are many non-tax issues that will determine what multi-nationals eventually do.”

Zagaris, who has taught tax law at universities in the US and the Caribbean, Barbados included, said one thing seemed sure: Canadian multi-nationals were likely to remain in Barbados after the full implementation of the global tax.

“Canadians tended to have investments in Barbados in the financial services area and that’s partly because there is a long-standing affinity between Canada and Barbados,” added the legal expert. “Canadians know Barbados’ system and they have had advantageous income tax treaties between their country and Barbados. Canadians like to spend time in Barbados.

“They are used to putting companies there and enjoy going to Barbados in the winter to hold meetings,” he added. “Some Canadians have friends and relatives in Barbados. So, while it is too early to know precisely the impact on Barbados, the country was smart to have acted in the way it did recently. The Government responded in a very good way to the global tax and there is a good chance that Barbados will come out doing well.”

Under the new tax which was masterminded by the OECD, multi-national firms are now subject for the first time to a global minimum tax which took effect in many places on January 1, with the goal of raising up to US$220 billion in extra revenue for countries, especially the industrialised states.

It took three years to negotiate the tax which was endorsed by 140 countries, Barbados, Ireland, the US, and Singapore included. Thirty-six countries have already reformed their laws to meet the provisions of the tax agreement which aims to discourage large multi-national firms from booking profits in low tax countries like Switzerland, Ireland, Bermuda, the Cayman Island, Barbados, The Bahamas, the British Virgin Islands and Singapore. Barbados has also reformed its corporate tax rates.

“The first wave of jurisdictions implementing the global minimum tax from January 1 include the EU, UK, Norway, Australia, Japan and Canada,” wrote Emma Agyemang, an analyst for the Irish Times. “The rules apply to multi-national companies with an annual turn-over of more than 750 million euro.

“Several countries long seen by some as havens by multi-nationals will take part, including Ireland, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Switzerland and Barbados, which previously had a corporate rate of 5.5 per cent,” was the way it was put in the major newspaper in Dublin.

Winston Cox, a former Governor of Barbados’ Central Bank, agreed he expected the implementation of minimum tax to have a positive impact on Barbados, especially on revenue collection.

“It can have a positive impact on the share of corporate tax on Government revenues,” he said. “The share of corporate tax on Government revenue was about 14 per cent in 2021. I do not know the breakdown between domestic and foreign corporations. However, the expectation is that the minimum tax will have a positive impact on corporate income taxes and therefore could be a boost in Government revenues. But, it is too early to tell what the full impact will be.”

As Noel Lynch, Barbados’ Ambassador in Washington who is returning home today to oversee the $50 million upgrade of Kensington Oval in time for this year’s T-20 Cricket World Cup whose final is to be played in Barbados in June, said “we don’t foresee any deleterious impact of the tax on Barbados.”

8. @J2
    I forgot to mention the steal houses.
    Big talk
    Sweet words
    Money mek
    Bajans ketching
    You in the US liking everything.

9. @ Theo

Well said, i would like to add though that the fall in debt that is bragged about came as a result of writing off large portions of the assets of Barbadians, added to this was the devistation of the NIS fund to the tune of $1 billion. We as a result are now being asked to work to 67.

As for gains in our growth this too is tra la la. Forget the Covid recovery which we are hoping to return to pre covid levels to by the end of 2024, the bigger and more salient point is we are yet to return to pre 2008/9 levels fifteen years later! Factor into this inflation and our real economic acttivity would actual be probably around 70% of pre 2008 levels today.

So yes the gains are all smoke and mirrors and based on using half the data available and not all.

Basically an economic tap dance done to make wunna feel good!

10. @David
    Whether The Global minimum tax is a net benefit to Barbados would be determined by how many companies stay. According to most analyst in the article, they are betting on the vast majority of Canadians staying. In that scenario government revenues would increase by the end of this financial year on March. Given that government was already on track to hit its fiscal surplus target of 3.5 percent of GDP without the increase in the global minimum tax, the additional revenue just might put government above it’s fiscal target just like it was last year. Last year the government used the additional surplus to give public sector workers a one off $1500 payment and to pay-off some debt. We will have to wait and see what happens in the March budget.

11. Both of u two are a piece of work

From the time the Covid recovery started in 21 and especially the 10% in 22 , Mr doom and gloom away tried to dampen the good news = we ain’t do nothing cause we not Back to pre covid levels . Now we are back there +/- a few ticks it is = forget the covid recovery.
    Can’t win with winnuh !

Don’t worry even with the covid drop we will get back to 2007/8 in lees than 10 yrs

12. On the global tax j have a concern and its this. If my tax is 15% globally say, why would i want the hassle of operating anymore outside my home base for example the US? Why would i move office to an expensive difficult to do.business in location, to then pay the same tax base as home? To do that the offshore location would now have to offer me serious other incentives to now come there. Also remember the kind of incentives needed to balance the scale would have to be yearly and not one off incentives.

I differ on this and believe the global tax rate will hurt us and not benefit us based on the above reasons.

13. @Backooful Jack

What we want to encourage is sustainable revenue sources. An economic model that is ‘resilient’ i.e. built on the back of strong economic pillars. At the moment there is tourism and international business loaded with inherent risks not being mitigated by alternatives with different risk factors.

In this regard one off payments although welcomed are not preferred income streams for employees. Unfortunately this is the current challenge we have to do better to manage.

14. The0

What ur beef about BWA and electric. I think I understand the savvy and joes river

Savvy seem to be a problem created under the dems that the bees are trying to claw back .

Billionaires from Barbados not free to buy land from most free countries?
    billionaires buying properties in Barbados a problem that started post 2018? Or is one that will be solved in our life time. Have u ever heard about property tax ? Especially if it is paid in fx

15. “Don’t worry even with the covid drop we will get back to 2007/8 in lees than 10 yrs”

Ten years from now or 20 years from 2018? Ten years is not even a promise but a throw something on the wall as it at least two elections. A kick of a can down the road.

I know you are not promising 10 years from 2018. Stop pulling numbers out of the air. You cannot build 50 prefab houses in 3 years. How on earth will you build 10,000 in 5 years. Stop it. 🛑 the lies, stop the steal. Start the steel houses.

Will you please stop. Have you no conscience?

16. Jesus! How many billionaires does Barbados have?
    Will you stop the nonsense?
    So you will every square inch to get property tax? Will the 260,000 be living in house boats?

You are causing me pain. I am amazed but not amused? Stop 🛑🛑🛑🛑🛑

17. John A

Why bother? Goal posts shifters and gaslighters.
    And they accuse me of sycophantic behaviour?

18. @ John2 on January 14, 2024 at 9:58 AM said:

The0
    What ur beef about BWA and electric. I think I understand the savvy and joes river
    Savvy seem to be a problem created under the dems that the bees are trying to claw back .

(Unquote).

For heaven’s sake, please stop the tit-for tat political nonsense!

You are sounding just like the last thieving incompetent DLP administration.

Didn’t the DLP say the same thing about the Greenland Landfill to justify the corruption surrounding the Cahill WTE imaginary project?

We shall not mention the Hyatt political game of ping pong out of fear of upsetting your raging red bull pal “Enuff”!

You can take it from the miller, Barbados’s continuing failure to deal adequately with both its human-generated liquid and solid waste will result in the contamination of both its inland aquifers (sources of potable water) its seashore (tourism).

It’s just a matter of time as Barbados continues to put all its economic eggs in one tourism wicker basket slowly degrading into man-made holes.

19. Over recent years the Europeans/Americans changed the ‘rules of the game’ in relationship to the offshore, tax shelter, disparities between foreign and local companies.

They argued then that that system, a system they themselves started, was unfair and encouraged corporate entities through tax sheltering to aviod, not evade, paying taxes within jurisdictions where they had actual business operations.

Seemingly unsatisfied with the marginalization of Barbados and other such countries, as far as revenues generated from the offshore sector are concerned, are now telling us that somehow a global minimum tax is the way to go.

Even as American corporations, with the aide of their fully owned government, continue to rig the system allowing their business to bring back home foreign profits on concessional terms.

This simplicity reasoning ignores the history of taxation as a social device, it presumes that all other economic factors everywhere are the same, that the distribution of natural resources are equal available everywhere, that financialization does not imbue those like the Americans and the Europeans who presently control about 70 percent the currencies in international transactions the ‘comparative advantage’ which influences the cost of factors of production.

This global minimum tax, regrettable, has not been well thought out. Represents a desperate effort by those who controlled the global economy for at least 500 years. Those who gave us neoliberalism and the financialization therefrom. To continue their exploitative practices. In trying to save themselves from their own destructive behaviors.

Some here have spoken repeatedly about ‘fiscal space’. Where now is the revenue space for countries to maneuver in deciding what type of economy they will have. Where is the economic democracy herein? Should this not be seen within either an economic colonial or economic slavery context?

It is again, another fool’s errand. Which no doubt will be taken seriously by Mia Mottley and the government of Barbados in their feckless attempts to prove that regardless of the nature of the irrationalities delivered by Washington there is some way in which Barbados can survive, prosper.

Is it not time to yell ‘uncle’?

20. @ Theo

Dont bother youurself with the lolyalist all they can see is red or yellow. JOHN2 had the gumshun to say Bajans were better off today than in 1970 regardless of inflation. When i brought the numbers and showed him Barbados had an inflation factor between 1970 to 2022 of roughy 4.5, while wages only had a increase factor of 2.6, he disappeared without a word. Lol

Ignore the loyalist on both sides and just stick to Data as it doesent lie. What does happen though, is a party will share one part of data and conveniently forget the rest. For instance do they accept the fact that to get back to 2008 when you are in real terms only at 70% of that economy, you need to have growth in excess of roughly 7% every year for the next ten years! No they will talk of how much growth the economy had in 2023 and 2022. I mean cuddear if you tail get lick in with Covid and you had a massive drop in activity, you bragging about simply climbing 2 feet out a 20 foot well, what you really saying.

Do you remember when Mr Arrthur said before covid that and i qoute, “Barbados needs to record 6% growth every year going forward to get us back to 2008 levels of economic activity.” For the record that was said BEFORE the set back of covid as well!

Fact vs fiction my friend.

21. Currently undertaking national discussions on education reform, constitutional reform and parliamentary reform.
    +++++++
    Hooray!! Does this mean that there will be a constitution 2 years and counting after the transition to a Republic or will it come in time for the 60th anniversary of Independence 1n 2026?

As for education reform is that why Kay was provided with an associate minister to help her weather the storm?

Under the mission statement “Many hands make light work”, we now have the largest cabinet in Barbados history replete with Senior Ministers; regular ministers; ministers of state etc.; not to mention the many advisors, if you don’t make the cut as a minister in this Gov’t you should rethink your career options.

It is one thing to muck up big changes e.g. IPL but I read where the President of BARP was complaining that the Gov’t failed to implement its licence changes for the over 70’s as her members were refused renewals because they didn’t have the medical certificates which were not required under the proposed change.

22. If as the PM says it takes anywhere from 1 to 2 years to proclaim laws, how long will it take to agree and adopt a NEW Constitution?

23. Theo

Yes I meant in less than ten years from 2018 as compared to the ten that the DLP failed to do it. If u want me to be more specific. No later 26/27 if no more pandemic

Ronnie can’t beat Sandra how u expect him to beat Mia ?

I am by far not close to being a billionaire in neither us or Bajan and I considered buying / investing in land for agricultural purpose in Belize. Say dat to say it not only billionaires that can buy property but so can thousandaires or any other that has the desire and means to.

Billionaires don’t usually buy properties that would push the locals in the sea. They usuall bye high end properties like villas hotels plantations and businesses that help keep the economy turning over / providing jobs etc

U are unable to do heavy lifting because there is no muscle in ur head u don’t read to understand just to criticize. So stop lying about the heavy lifting. U doing only what u are able to do

24. Feminine energy is more softer and sensual than masculine energy

25. NorthernObserver Avatar

C’mon…when others warned the new Republic, without barely a whisper on Constitution, would lead to an extended period of constitutional discussion, the focus was on punting the Monarchy. None of this can be a surprise? There is no blame, it is a process we all signed up for given how the switch to Republic occured.

26. @NO

Enough time has passed.

27. For heaven’s sake. Can u make a submission without the words enuff / Hyatt??

I don’t share ur views on pollution of our sea waters

Just go ask the older divers off the south coast and Carlisle Bay Area or see if u can get a copy of the deep sea inspections from bwa

May I ask again. Where was the sewage going before the sewage treatment plants ? If not the sea or coastal underground waters (shallowest) then where ?

Will reply to A later in the week the latest. Earlier if I find the time

28. What does it matter where the sewage was going before treatment plants. Prime Minister has floated her reputation as a global champion for the environment, it means how we operate should be a model for others to follow.

29. There is a mother of a volcano eruption going on in Iceland right now.

30. NorthernObserver Avatar

If one takes Warmongers thread comments, add in TheO (The Opposition?) list and appreciate several matters are still unmentioned, like the current government or not, they attempt plenty. And still, much is left to be done.
    In a few years, citizens (voters?) will get another accountability day. The only fact vs fiction is what the person placing the X believes? What matters at that point in time. If they show up to vote, that is.

They all teef. They all look after themselves and “friends”. They will all borrow until they cannot find anybody to lend. For all it seems, accountability is election day. So I have to find a differentiating factor.

So whomever can sort out health care and build a new hospital gets my vote.

I already know it will be fraught with corruption, but it is one thing, all should benefit from. And one that is badly needed, as universal health care is under attack. Maybe the ‘old’ GH site can become the new Sobers Health Care Center.

31. Nothing will change unless honourable men put themselves up for public life, however, the political system we have spits out good people wanting to serve. Not sure how ordinary people are able to disrupt it.

32. So did Indonesia’s Marapi. The environment is unhappy and acting up.

33. ALIEN SUPERSTAR Avatar

Can’t Truss It
    Authorities have been lying about flying unidentified aerial phenomena (UAPs), the new term for UFOs

34. @ David, Now that we are on the topic of education reform, think that you need to make a separate blog post highlighting the achievements of this brilliant young Barbadian Matthew Clarke. He has just been name among the Forbes 30 under 30 List, making him the second Barbadian to make this list after national Hero Rhianna. At age 29, Clarke already has a Ph.D. in Aeronautics and Astronautics from Stanford University and already worked with NASA and Airbus.
    You can read a summary here:
    https://www.forbes.com/profile/matthew-clarke/?sh=503c07e22e10

I Remember Matthew from his days playing cricket for the Barbados under 13 team. He is an example of someone who was born in Barbados, and went to secondary school in Barbados and has gone on to achieve global excellence. Barbadian youth have the ability to achieve excellence in any field, not just traditional areas.

35. NO
    Attempts plenty and has/will achieve/complete plenty too, even if not as quickly as they and we would like. BU

36. NorthernObserver Avatar

Enuff.
    Where you come from?
    Everytime I raise a topic, like NIS, you run and hide?
    Was NIS to NISSS, without even publishing the opening asset base, or past financials, an achievement?
    Was agreeing to dismiss CBL without any public documented facts another achievement?
    I know a few crooks who would tell me it was a hell of an achievement, but not for reasons I aspire to.
    Yes there has been some positives, and hopefully more. But the list of topics they (nor you) don’t wish to touch, is growing.

37. @Backooful

Clarke’s achievement is commendable and all Barbadians must wish him well. What some of us on BU are advocating is for the system to be tweaked to ensure many falling through the cracks can make it as well. We have become very frustrated the time it is taking to implement education reform. This is under both administrations. We talk about 11+, how to improve vocational and technical skills, continuous assessment methods for teachers, how improve delivery to differently able etc.

38. @ Northern

He nor any of the other faithfuls will touch the NIS issue seeing the damage his party has done to the fund. Writing off $1 billion plus of the funds assets while trimming the return on the rest from roughly 7 to 1%, is something this fund can not return from based on its self financing.

Even adding an S to the funds name will do little to help.

39. It was inevitable that social media would realise the truth about how well our honourable government is running the country.

The truth will set us all free!

Truther Tron

40. NO
    It’s not running, it is called not pretending to be a know-it-all. Or that I don’t have time to waste.

41. Barbados PM says country owed $4.9tn Avatar
    Barbados PM says country owed $4.9tn

“It was inevitable that social media would realise the truth about how well our honourable government is running the country.”

#1 Slave Descendant in Slave Island
    Reparations are due from wicked Babylon for 500+ years at 5 trillion dollar

If Mia was such a bad leader, this would be the perfect opportunity to become a dictator in the area, as there is no constitution and she won everyone’s support twice in a landslide, which became an earthquake heard around the world. She ditched GB with a peaceful rEVOLUTION in the Spirit of George “Big Floyd” and #BLACKLIVESMATTER that made the racist whites scatter

42. Justice for my mummy and daddy Avatar
    Justice for my mummy and daddy

500 000 000 000 / 500 =
    1 000 000 000 per annum

Native Red Indians should chase the Cowboys to outer space..
    “Hey Sipreano you are no good get out of here..
    We are Counting our Chickens before they hatch, Golden Chickens too”

43. NorthernObserver Avatar

Surely you can do better @enuff?
    The NIS is by far, the islands largest public wealth fund. Our PM tells us that Reports to 2015 are complete and yet, NOT ONE is laid before the HOUSE.
    What is there to be a know-it-all or know-nothing about?
    Simply produce the reports for all to view as required BY LAW.
    And now the NISSS begins its corporate existence, and who knows what it begins with? You cannot determine the need to change corporate structure WITHOUT the numbers?
    If we don’t have time for the islands largest publicly administered wealth and social fund, what do we have time for?

44. 5 trillion / 500 =
    ten billion

45. fancified ole time bus.

46. Nay to ‘bloated’ Cabinet

Brathwaite also knocks spending on additional consultants

THE SIZE OF Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley’s Cabinet does not have the approval of former Attorney General, Adriel Brathwaite.

He made that clear on Sunday as he questioned why the Cabinet still has an extensive team of ministers.

“‘Many hands make light work,’ she said. That was the excuse for having a larger Cabinet. So then what happened, one minister resigned and they found two other ministers, so they enhance the Cabinet,” Brathwaite said.

He was speaking on the platform at the Alleyne School during the Democratic Labour Party’s (DLP) St Andrew branch meeting on Sunday night.

Leader of the DLP Dr Ronnie Yearwood also spoke at the meeting.

During an address to the country two Saturdays ago, Mottley announced that Minister of State in the Ministry of Health and Wellness Dr Sonia Browne resigned from her post.

Minister of Industry, Innovation, Science and Technology Marsha Caddle and Minister in the Ministry of Economic Affairs and Investment Senator Chad Blackman were announced as the latest additions to the cabinet.

Brathwaite also queried how much Government continued to spend on overseas ventures and consultants.

“But the bigger point is that they have not only enhanced the Cabinet, but brought in additional consultants and we Barbadians should know how much is spent on a monthly basis,” he said.

“How much of our money are they spending on these trips abroad, creating the impression that this Prime Minister is the best Prime Minister in the history of PMs, not just in Barbados but across the world.”

Financing

Brathwaite also urged Government to keep their promises and ensure there was more transparency in election financing. “We are calling on the Government to keep their word and let us address the whole issue of campaign financing . . . because Ronnie, I am telling you now, the kind of money they allegedly have and have had at their disposal, at the rate we are going we will not be able to compete (with) them when it comes to financing of campaigns.” The former Attorney General, however, urged his party to do more to engage Barbadians before the election bell rings.

“We have to go and talk to the people one-on-one and let them know they must put Barbados first.

“When that time comes, it does not matter who spends the most money, who has the biggest billboards, whose manifestos are the prettiest, what matters is who is best equipped to lead Barbados.

“We have to make sure that when the time comes that there is no doubt that this party is best equipped. We cannot sit back and believe ‘they had two terms, therefore, come next election, they are going to vote against them.’

“Do not believe that. We must take every seat from now. Hit the road, deal with the issues. Deal with these non-performing ministers,” he said. (TG)

47. ONE WELL KNOWN JACKASS ON BU CALLED ME A CUNT AND THAT I HAD TO BE ON POLICE RADAR EVEN THOUGH THEY PLANTED EVIDENCE TWO DIFFERENT TIMES ALONG WITH A US CRIMINAL DEPORTEE WHO TRIED TO BLACKMAIL FOR BD$15,000.

REASON WHY I LEFT THE 2 X 3 ISLAND.

SEEMED THEY HAVEN’T STOPPED THEIR CROOKED WAYS IN 2024.

XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

Lawyer plans to sue cop and refer matter to two police bodies

Just 24 hours after the Barbados Police Service launched an investigation into the alleged unprofessional conduct of a female constable, another allegation of police misconduct has been made involving what appears to be uniformed officers caught on camera.

This time, 32-year-old artisan Daron Kirton of Tangerine Street, St Philip, has complained that his home was broken into, and hidden cameras show two armed police officers walking around inside while he was away at work.

Kirton has secured the services of lawyer Meshach Thornhill, who was on Tuesday in the process of bringing a lawsuit against the Commissioner of Police and Attorney General.

Thornhill also said he intends to refer the matter to the police’s Department of Professional Responsibility and the Police Complaints Authority.

The lawyer accused the police of breaking and entering, property damage and missing tools, and declared he would be using all available legal means at his disposal to seek remedies for his client.

“The law is clear on entering people’s homes,” said Thornhill. “You must have a warrant and it must be shown to the homeowner. But these police officers entered my client’s home in his absence.”

The surveillance footage seen by Barbados TODAY shows two men, one dressed in blue fatigues and a blue cap and brandishing a large gun with a strap, and the other wearing civilian clothing with a vest with POLICE emblazoned at the front and back and carrying a similar weapon. They are seen moving around inside the house and picking up various items before exiting.

Kirton recalled being alerted by a neighbour about the presence of officers near his home: “I received a call from one of my neighbours telling me the police next door to my neighbours, not at me. I was working. So, then when I come home, first thing I realised was tape around my windows. The nets pull and tape ‘round my windows. So, I say to myself, before I do anything, let me go and check the cameras, because I got cameras inside hidden…. So, I come, look on the cameras….

The first thing I see is the police in my place.”

“When it done, I ain’t get no explanation,”he added in an interview with Barbados TODAY. “They never come back to this day to say it was a mistake, nothing so. I never was in anything with the police.”

https://barbadostoday.bb/2024/01/17/lawyer-plans-to-sue-cop-and-refer-matter-to-two-police-bodies/