He romanticizes the idea of a Bajan owning a piece of the rock BUT is it the truism he makes it out to be?

Harry Russell – Retired banker

THERE IS NO GREATER sense of achievement than moving into your own house, whether or not you have acquired it by a mortgage, you have paid cash for it, or it was bequeathed to you. You could even have been involved with the building of the house using sweat and fears.

Nation newspaper – Wild Coot

Yesterday’s’s Wild Coot article (Harry Russell) published in the Nation newspaper provides food for thought for different reasons than he offered- the full article is included under the blogmaster’s comment. A country like Barbados with a large social services bill must collect taxes from many sources. The government in seat constantly promotes the mantra that the financial burden should be spread to many as a way to ease the burden especially on citizens in the lower income bracket. It is a philosophical if not pragmatic approach that governments take to extract adequate tax revenue from its citizens. It doesn’t matter which government is in office, it will not change the adage that two things are certain, dying and paying taxes.

Wild Coot’s article is interesting to the blogmaster for another reason. He romanticizes the idea of a Bajan owning a piece of the rock BUT is it the truism he makes it out to be? Anecdotally millennials and Gen Z’s seem comfortable with renting and leasing to satisfy lodging arrangements. No doubt there is a percentage of that demographic forced out of the market because of escalating cost to ‘own a piece of the rock’. There is another percentage that bears negligible loyalty to Rock and will seek fame and fortune in lands across the seas because labour- in increasing numbers- flocking to where opportunities are greatest.

The drive to own a piece of the rock

THERE IS NO GREATER sense of achievement than moving into your own house, whether or not you have acquired it by a mortgage, you have paid cash for it, or it was bequeathed to you. You could even have been involved with the building of the house using sweat and fears.

It could be a little two-bedroom structure propped up on stones, a town house shared with malicious neighbours, it could be a mansion in Sheraton or it could be a shack with a piece of land attached.

Most people would like to own their own piece of the rock. First of all I would like to define the term “own”. If you own a home, it is yours completely not yours and the Government of the day. (If you are married yours and your wife or husband). You may wish to get water electricity, etc. connected to the house and you would have to pay for those services. If those services were disconnected, you would still own the house completely. Storms may come and time may work its magic and you may be forced to repair your house or even enlarge it, but you will still own the house. You may be sick and helpless, but you would still own the house. Even if you do not live in the house, you will still own it.

I say own, but is that true? How come if you hold the papers certifying that the land or land and house have been transferred to you, you cannot just leave the island and the piece of the rock remains undisturbed? How come it has to owe money to the Government either by Government’s forbearance or by obligation? You see there is something called “land tax”. You may also call it ownership tax because it seems to be more applicable to the person than anything else. It is usually applied when Government is short of money or when you are short of spendable funds.

There seems to be a curious link between voting patterns and land property tax. While it seems good policy to encourage those who are poor and struggle to own a house or a small piece of land, pay a vastly reduced payment or no payment at all, should you pay a price that may be called “rich people tax”? Coincidentally does forbearance manifest its absence of tax where there is a predominance of votes?

Owning a home

Tremendous sacrifices in your younger years; done without many things that would have given you pleasure but decided that owning a home was a priority. You may have even decided that it was preferable to own the home than getting married, or it might have been an aspiration of being married. You may have decided to be cautious and ran the gauntlet of seeking insurance for the house.

Then comes the Government. If you are not one whose property has been assessed at a low value, “cat n’am yuh suppa”.

“Sir or Madam we assess this property to be worth $20 000. You have to pay us each year a sum of $500 within two months with non-payment incurring a fine.”

“For what?” you say in astonishment. “The paper that the vendor gave me when I bought this property did not say anything about a tax. That was not a condition of ownership.”

“But we the government provide services to your property….” And the argument goes on!

“But I pay taxes on those services. Such as they are.”

It is just a naked grab for taxes and denies the claim of ownership.

In acquiring this property you may have had to make tremendous sacrifices, but that does not matter. If you do not pay, what you thought was yours could be sold under your nose.

The purpose of this article is to disabuse people of the feeling of security in “owning a piece of the rock”’. There is a sense of pride in the term ownership, but there is then a word of caution. You only own provisionally.

Some countries do not impose land tax, although an alternate form of taxation may be imposed that fills the breach. In the Caribbean there is mixed policy in this regard; probably it depends on the financial need of the country.

But I dispute the term “owning a piece of the rock”. Those who do not pay land tax do so at the behest of the Government.

Happy New Year!

Harry Russell is a banker. Email quijote70@gmail.com

nation newspaper

97 responses to “Who wants piece of the rock ‘thesedays’?”

1. Terence M Blackett Avatar
    Terence M Blackett

@DAVID

Good Morning, Big Brotha’ and a “BLESSED” 2024 to you, your FAM* & the entire #BU_Family!!!

By the way, #NicePiece to begin 2024 given the seismology in “JAPAN” yesterday and the repeated aftershocks that has “HOME OWNERS” seeing a constellation of ominous mirages – with houses falling into the abyss and structures thought “EARTHQUAKE-PROOF” flaking-out like planks of wafer in the jaws of an unseen force…

The reality is that the “ONLY ONE” that is permanent is “THE CREATOR GOD” – all else, – #ReLIEgion; #PoLIEtics; #eCONomics & every other “MAN-MADE” subterfugal concoction “ENDS” in abysmal failure & forfeiture!!!

John chapter 14 verse 1-3 salubriously states: “Let not your heart be troubled: you believe in God, believe also in Me. In My Father’s house are many mansions: if it were not so, I would have told you. I go to prepare a place for you. And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come again, and receive you to Myself; that where I am, there you may be also…”

Some good folks in the life may “NEVER” own nothing but there is a “PROMISE” of #RemedialRestoration for those who are faithful to the very end (WHETHER YOU CHOOSE TO BELIEVE IT OR not*)…

Barbados, like most #BlackNations (given the “ETHNO-PRIMATOLOGY), were historically occupied by “PIRATES” at the end of a musket & a tipple of “RUM” – granted sovereignty by their benighted rulers to take what was not their own – citing the “PAPAL BULL” of “THE DOCTRINE OF DISCOVERY”!!!

When Columbus came, he discovered “NOTHING”! The land was already occupied by families, cultures, trade & God knows what else. Yet the “SNAKE VENOM” in the history books has paralyzed even 21st century consciousness, where the said “BULLCRAP” is taught in our so-called institutions of learning!!!

So-called enlightenment theories of “PROPERTY OWNERSHIP” as espoused by creatures such as “JOHN LOCKE, JOHN STUART MILL, HUME ET AL” on the back of contentious, eclectic, philosophical political theories, oblige “ALL” of us to be certain that we are not being “MISLED” by this causative notion of property ownership…

It is easy to lay claims that in ordinary language ‘PROPERTY’ & ‘OWNERSHIP’ are interchangeably, terminological variants. Many social theorists are indifferent as to this idea of whether the concept that is often elucidated – aptly labelled by one or the other name even applies to the way in which the terms are used today, (BASED ON THE VAGARIES OF MODERN THEORETICAL CONSTRUCTION), and even if this is true should it not lead us to presuppose that ownership and property have always been used as interchangeable concepts???

Again, it is easy to put hedgerows & fences around the political theory of property, however, this poses difficult questions, given that property as a
    social institution is a legal, economic & political neo-classical phenomenon and because political theory by its very nature is divergently eclectic – to limit oneself to explicitly normative issues would be to exclude a large amount of
    discussion of the nagging, niggling issues of characteristic concerns…

For one, the “MERCANTILE CLASS” have always been the landowners. We understand the sociology behind this rapacious concept! Britain, once owned vast swathes of planetary geography based on this insidious idea of (“EMPIRE”)! Today, centuries on, she still own 69% of British land – not to mention, her devilish hold on her foreign “TERRITORIES” (including, “LAND”)…

1% of “ANGLO-SAXONS” #UberBillionaires & the “OLD-MONIED FAMILIES OF EUROPE” still control more than 80% of all the land, wealth & resources of the planet (SKILLFULLY MANAGED BY 3 ASSET MANAGEMENT CORPORATIONS) – #BlackRock; #Vanguard & #StateStreet…

Even BARBADOS* is owned & controlled by these nefarious institutions through their “OFFSHORE ASSET HOLDINGS” orchestrated by their “PROXY” front organizations & “GOVERNMENT LACKEYS”…

Bricks & mortar is THC comfort to those who believe they have arrived when “OWNING A PIECE OF THE ROCK” is the be all & end all – given the fact that the “BANK” owns you & your property and the “MONEY-MASTERS” of the universe has a “DEMONIC PLAN” to make you “POOR” & have “NOTHING” and yet you will be “HAPPY” says #KlausSchwab & #SYNA_GOG_OF_SATAN!!!

2. Terence M Blackett Avatar
    Terence M Blackett

The “POLARIZATION” of the world in 2024 will see the entire planet dishevelled into “2 HOSTILE BLOCS”…

The concept of “OWNERSHIP” will be challenged like never before…

If you think this is merely an ideological penchant of #East_V_West polarization – think again – this is about “WHO CAN OWN WHAT” & how can it be used!!!

This is the last, great “TEST” that will come to every human being on earth…

3. Terence M Blackett Avatar
    Terence M Blackett

#BreakingNews

#Day2: SECOND CALAMITY IN JAPAN!!!

4. Same to you TB.

Government from the medieval have taxed the masses to pay for ‘stuff’. It will not change. What is happening is that materialism and classism feeding avarice (one of the deadly sins) has shifted astronomically.

5. Look at the photo of this project.

An area which once fed many is gone.

… and for what.

People don’t “invest” 100 million dollars just so.

What are its sources?

How was the land cobbled together?

Six Men’s was been in court from the days of Lenny St. Hill and Bishop Brome.

https://bnnbreaking.com/finance-nav/business/multimillion-dollar-hotel-construction-underway-in-barbados/

https://www.travelweekly.com/Travel-News/Hotel-News/Pendry-Hotels-to-operate-Barbados-resort

6. This one looking like the old Westmoreland hustle!!

7. I understand the Mannings owned the land on which Westmoreland resort was built.

8. Sold to Rooney who got permissions to develop as a Golf Course.

Change of use granted by Parliament.

Last unused water catchment given away, Porters Catchment, 2 million gallons of water per day.

It is alleged that some politicians received condos on the West Coast!!

So now the population gets to experience water shortages.

BTW, did I mention Rooney resold in 2000 to Morphet for $100 million.

Everybody got shafted, Mannings included.

Politicians grinning like Cheshire Cats and Rooney and Morphet and their investors laughing all the way to the bank.

9. Why do you think Barbados is referred to as “The Rock”?

Hint!!

It was formerly known as the “Cradle of Truth”!!

10. Apparently, a clause in the land sale agreement stipulated Roger Manning (i.e. Black Bess Quarry Ltd.) was responsible for excavation the land, developing the infrastructure and building the boulder wall surrounding the property.

11. So, he got a tiny piece of the pie!!!

Still got shafted.

… along with all Bajans.

… and we all know what happened at Weston when the gully was blocked.

Pity the fat cat politicians gave way the family silver and ate all the dog chow.

12. All the risk/liability rested with the people who did the physical work.

Politicians ran a protection racket and hardly anyone is any the wiser.

Whatever happened with the Coroner’s inquiry?

Was there one?

https://dev.barbadostoday.bb/features/remembering-carew/?amp

Like Arch Cot, no accountability for granting TCP permissions to build on top of the cave even though in the 60’s that permission had been withheld.

Tom Adams as PM overrode the Chief Town Planner, but deads can’t be held accountable, except before God.

Politicians face no accountability and once the project was off loaded by Rooney, his liability ceased.

13. NorthernObserver Avatar

Artax
    Unfortunately the link goes solely to the male heir with the matching surname.
    That land parcel was well over 700 acres. A few sellers were involved.
    That RM Construction kept the work rights, was SOP of the day. COW did likewise. It guaranteed work.
    Meanwhile another ferner of Italo-Scottish heritage bought the old plantation property, but opted for Clifton Hall. Now with Foursquare he sells rum.

14. Quick question off topic and its this.

Why would a ministers daughter have a diplomatic passport?

15. NorthernObserver Avatar

JohnA
    Ohhhh the lil perks and benefits the ‘ordinary’ Bajan has no clue about. And why to age 24?

16. NorthernObserver Avatar

And for accuracy it is an MPs daughter, not a Minister

17. @ Northern

She is not a diplomat nor does she work for the Barbados government. She has no legal right to one and it should be confiscated immediately. Also the conditions of its issuance should be researched and the facts made public. Who issued it also want firing!!

Of course this is Bim so not one RH will happen.

18. An interesting development. A more pertinent question is will she finger the others involved in the street value quarter mil transaction. Do not pull the grass and leave the nut in the soil.

19. NorthernObserver Avatar

But MP’s children to the age of 24 are allowed to legally have a diplomatic passport.
    Many keep thinking these persons who offer themselves politically are somehow servants of the electorate. Little could be further from the truth.
    We have already learned MPs can solicit funds for “charitable/social” causes without issuing a receipt or declaring said monies if under a threshold amount.
    Do ex-MPs pay income tax on pension earnings?(I don’t know)

20. Did Leroy Parris pay VAT on his 3.3 million?

21. Possibly an above ground but, which like apples and oranges, don’t fall far from the tree?

22. @ David

Oh dear my sincere apologies. I saw the headline saying “piece of the rock” and i thought it was about cocaine or crack all covered up by a diplomatic passport! LOL

wonder if that family got Lasley on retainer!

23. All high brow criminals and those accused have Lashley on speed dial.

24. @ John A, before the story broke on the news, a rumour said 6.5 Kilos of cocaine.

25. @ Heather

Lets see what the outcome will be of this. I still would like somebody to tell me why she had a diplomatic passport. Normally under such circumstances the passport would be revoked. But this is Bim!

26. “…… a tiny piece of the pie?” ‘Look…. shut up. Yuh don’t know what yuh talking bout. Manning received millions of dollars from his share of the land sale, and millions more through his various companies that provided the project with materials and services. So, in Bajan vernacular, ‘Manning get out licking.’ Even more so from building the boulder wall, which done by a D9 Catapillar operator.

27. The only person who brought anything real to the table was Manning.

Of course he is going to be recompensed for that, what’s new.

Everybody else brought hot air and until Manning entered would have received nothing.

Manning was the only real man in the deal, the straw men had to make it worth his while to keep him in.

The straw men benefitted bigtime way in excess of what they put in which was precisely nothing.

But he still got shafted like everybody else but the straw men.

Relative to what he put in he got little.

As a straw man yourself it appears as though Manning got a fortune, but he didn’t.

He got Carew and the certain knowledge that he left no legacy to his children.

Relatively speaking, he is no better off than the peasant farmer who converted his few acres of agricultural land to concrete for a few dollars.

What did a politician bring to the table that might justify a condo or three?

Nothing but hot air.

What he put on the table did not belong to him, it was the trust Bajans placed in him.

What about Rooney?

28. Artax on January 2, 2024 at 10:10 PM said:

Even more so from building the boulder wall, which done by a D9 Catapillar operator.

How much does a D9 cost?

There are used D9’s all over this world.

Kingsland bought a D8 in the 1950’s.

As a boy, I used to walk out to the field after school in the 1960’s to get a ride with the driver, Donald Greaves.

I still see it working to this day!!

https://www.alibaba.com/showroom/d9-dozer-price.html

29. Compared with his contribution, Manning got peanuts.

30. NorthernObserver Avatar

Is is pretty good when one can turn ‘hot air’ into two condos?

The greatest power the elected have is control over land use. Planning permissions, land zoning, however it works in your part of the world.

31. … and that NO is why the question is asked, “Who wants piece of the rock ‘these days’?

The elected do not understand the land and view it as a commodity to be converted to paper and for them to get a cut.

The problem with that mentality is the land then becomes valueless to locals except to sell and convert to money.

There is no long-term thinking so what is the point of owning and building for a future.

That’s also why the fertility rate has fallen, what’s the point of bringing children into this country where it makes no sense to build a life of hope.

Harry Russell used to work at the BNB and I can give you real stories about how he operated!!

Kingsland did business with the BNB … and with him!!

He is one who should know no sensible body wants a piece of the rock these days because he is part destruction of this country!!

32. NorthernObserver Avatar

But John
    Your family had nuff land, what about those who were born into no land ownership?
    And in the majority, not as per Mr Joey’s clause, your uncles did just as so many others have…they sold the land.
    If you cannot work the land agriculturally, you have to find alternate ways to work the land? Plus having some estate (wills not agriculture) experience people face some difficult options. And the amount of shite I have witnessed transpire between the death of one spouse and the other, is book worthy.
    And the politicians only have so many tools in their bag? And so few years to make hay. The easiest way is to facilitate. And then try to convince the voter that they, the voter, benefitted.

33. Passport seized as part of drug accused’s bail condition

THE DIPLOMATIC PASSPORT of Tonneil Neshan Rashida Rowe, 21, has been seized by the court as part of her bail condition on drug smuggling and money laundering charges.

Tonneil, the daughter of Member of Parliament for St Michael North West Neil Rowe, appeared before Magistrate Carolyn Ward-Sargeant yesterday where she was granted $75 000 bail. She had been in police custody since Saturday while the matters were under investigation by the Narcotic Division of the Barbados Police Service.

The merchandiser of Kew Road, Tudor Bridge, St Michael, is charged under the Drug Abuse (Prevention and Control) Act with possession of 30.45 kilogrammes of cannabis valued at $243 600; trafficking, supplying and unlawfully importing the drug on December 30.

She is also charged with engaging in money laundering under the Money Laundering and Financing of Terrorism (Prevention and Control) Act in relation to BDS$5 144.30; CAN$2 400.60 and US$900 totalling BDS$10 599.22. The offences allegedly took place at the Grantley Adams International Airport, Seawell, Christ Church on December 30.

Rowe appeared in the District “B” Magistrate’s Court at the Eric Holder Municipal Complex where she pleaded not guilty on the drug charges after opting for a summary trial. She was not required to plead on the indictable money laundering charges.

Prosecutor Station Sergeant Vernon Waithe asked that conditions be applied to Rowe’s bail, including the surrendering of her passport and reporting to a police station.

However, Michael Lashley, KC, responded to the application and in the end, the court ruled that while it would hold Rowe’s passport she would not have to check in at the police station. The matter was adjourned for her to return on February 20 and May 7.

During that time her legal team of Lashley, Sade Harris and Amoy Guilding Bourne is expected to make preliminary submissions to the court.

After Rowe’s brief court appearance, attorney Lashley, commenting to members of the media, said the legal team would be applying for pretrial disclosure from the Commissioner of Police before taking further instruction from the client. ( AC)

34. You are the epitome of ‘straw men.’ As I’ve often mentioned, you over estimate your level of intelligence, while under-estimating that of others. You often create ‘straw men arguments’ to BU then proceed to knock them down ‘when trapped in a corner, while spewing insults and derogatory comments in the process. Firstly, I’m 100% sure you’ve not seen Manning’s financial statements to reasonably determine how much money his companies made from the Westmoreland project. And, Google cannot help you in this particular matter beyond Carew. Who purchased a D8 in 1950s is irrelevant. The more important issues are HOW MUCH was charged for building the wall, freighting boulders, equipment and labour hours, from which a reasonable profit could be made from that specific project. You DO NOT KNOW, and your ‘go to source,’ Google CANNOT help you.

35. “As a staw man yourself……” I’m not bothered by your insults. It’s the norm for your kind. I seldom engage you because, based on your racists and other comments, I do not like you. You irritate me. I am aware of how wicked the Deane’s treated their employees. Ask the older folk of Vauxhall, Christ Church. Similarly to slaves, they had to call the ‘massas,’ Mr. Errie and Mr. Vere. You were probably called Mr. John. Then you come to this forum with your racist, condescending attitude.

36. diplomatic immunity Avatar
    diplomatic immunity

What does diplomatic immunity entitle you to?
    Diplomatic immunity is a principle of international law by which certain foreign government officials are recognized as having legal immunity from the jurisdiction of another country.
    Those granted diplomatic immunity are normally immune from arrest or detention, but every case must be dealt with on its own merits. It must be remembered that the overriding duty of the police under Common Law is to protect the welfare and safety of the public.

This case is similar to the geezer claiming he has Presidential immunity from charges of Insurrection and is appealing his removal from the ballots.
    Rebellion is a violent uprising against one’s government.
    A rebel is a person who engages in a rebellion.
    An insurrection is an armed rebellion.
    A revolt is a rebellion with an aim to replace a government, authority figure, law, or policy.
    The United States became a nation in an act of rebellion against the British Crown.

37. What the rh are the offspring of MPs doing with diplomats’ passports???????

Where is it written that they should?

38. @ Artax

You forgot to mention when RM Construction declared bankrupsy and said he did not have the money to sever his workers, leaving it to the NIS to pick up the tab. He then reopened another company doing the exact same thing as the one he declared as bankrupt and carried on smartly.

White or black he showed what a man can get away with on this island when he has no conscience!

39. John A, I never forget to mention that issue, because it is irrelevant to the Westmoreland topic. However, a similar situation recently occurred with the Manning group of companies. And, they reopened another company under new name, after selling the Black Bess property and quarry to JADA. The companies act needs to be reviewed.

40. @ Artax

Yes it does but as its written the directors and their assets can be held liable for liabilities not covered by company assets. Why did the NIS not come after his private assets in accordance with the provisions availble?

41. John A, based on information received, Manning and his sons created several different companies, through which they rented trucks and equipment to the ‘front line’ companies, or provide them with services. Let’s look at a construction project. A son, who was the manager, is also an architect. The architectural services would be outsourced to his company, while his construction company would be subcontracted to provide construction services. The main company would rent trucks and equipment from another one of his companies for the project. Yet, he still earns a monthly salary as manager.

42. NorthernObserver on January 3, 2024 at 2:37 AM said:

But John
    Your family had nuff land, what about those who were born into no land ownership?

Most Bajans owned no land, in fact most Bajans still own no land..

Most that do, just think they do and are delusional, it is owned by the mortgagee, outsiders!!

That’s why the question “who wants to buy a piece of the rock” is a valid one.

All that is being done is transferring the “Rock” to non Barbadians.

My family like most families in Barbados was not born into nuff land.

My grandfather bought Adams Castle, his first Plantation, in January 1939 when he was 48. He had 7 children and his family had good credit so he could get a mortgage from his employer a bajan, not an outsider, to make the purchase.

The 1930’s were some of the toughest years economically for the most Barbadians.

If you check the number of farms going out of production that were sold you would be amazed. It’s all in the thesis by Frank Innes I posted before, will see it I can dig it up again.

Westmoreland was bought in 1935 by G. Manning et al at a time when Dacostas, a bajan mortgagee, was foreclosing on Sandy Lane because of the unprofitability of sugar.

The Thorne family for example, owned Sandy Lane Estates which was in excess of 2,000 acres. They owned Sandy Lane, Holders, Molyneux, Lascelles, Norwood and Plumtree. These formed the catchment for supplying Sandy Lane factory but sugar lost money in the 20’s and 30’s.

You will find plantations all over going for a song, even in St. Thomas where Welchman Hall plantation was sold out in lots. I reckon Simple Simon’s family was blessed enough to get a piece from Mrs. Rose which fed, housed and clothed them while nuff people around them and all over Barbados were strictly hand to mouth.

In the 30’s when Simple’s family bought their land they had far more land than my grandfather.

There is nothing wrong with being hand to mouth, it builds faith!!

WWII changed everything for my Grandfather at Adams Castle … and G. Manning at Westmoreland!!

The upturn in sugar prices and demand meant my grandfather and G. Manning could invest in equipment, double sugar output and provide employment and wages for the nuff Bajans who were hand to mouth.

G. Manning and my grandfather were some of the only men in Barbados to bring to the table something real, their land. They were not straw men.

The nuff Bajans were real too because they brought their labour to the table and all benefitted.

There was no hot air.

Manning is bankrupt because once the land has been destroyed and owned by outsiders, there is no need for the equipment …. or the nuff people who benefitted from it.

The future was destroyed for a few pieces of silver.

I see the price of sugar has increased by 40% in 2023.

If it gets to 100% (doubles) sugar breaks even.

The price rose by a factor of 10 after WWII and the investments of G. Manning and my grandfather and other non-straw men paid off.

We can’t grow sugar on houses!!

The land and its ability to provide for the future is destroyed …. by straw men!!.

43. Artax
    on January 3, 2024 at 9:32 AM said:

John A, based on information received, Manning and his sons created several different companies, through which they rented trucks and equipment to the ‘front line’ companies, or provide them with services. Let’s look at a construction project. A son, who was the manager, is also an architect. The architectural services would be outsourced to his company, while his construction company would be subcontracted to provide construction services. The main company would rent trucks and equipment from another one of his companies for the project. Yet, he still earns a monthly salary as manager.

So what’s the problem?

Rather quickly we are watching construction become a dead end activity.

No need for trucks … or architects!!

No future!!

44. … and even worser, no water!!

45. But the water constraint was imposed by the straw men when the Porters catchment was alienated …. OSA and his lot of straw people.

46. THERE IS NO GREATER sense of achievement than moving into your own house, whether or not you have acquired it by a mortgage, you have paid cash for it, or it was bequeathed to you. You could even have been involved with the building of the house using sweat and fears.

Most houses are acquired by mortgages and are owned by outsiders.

Only politicians can afford to buy houses for cash and they are owned by outsiders!!

What’s the point of owning a house if there are no jobs …. or water is intermittent!!

47. @ John

The problem is that you cant legally shut a company down without paying both your creditors and state debt like the NIS. To then say as an example of course, going to an auction and buying back equipment seized, so as to start another company doing the same thing, is not only a breach of tax liabilty but unethical. Then again ethics was not handed to everyone it appears.

The point is the reason the NIS is in the position it is in, sadly is because of persons like Manning et al who take advantage of a lack of corporate enforcement and a state that forgives debts without ever making any real attempt to collect on them. That is why he and others can simply walk away laughing from their liabilities here on this island.

48. Although Marijuana is legal in Canada I don’t think that any one can waltz into a store and buy over 60 lbs (as per the charge) since the limit for personal use is 30 grams per individual. However, there is still an active black market where people can participate.

Someone mentioned diplomatic immunity which would help her outside of Barbados but not at home now we see how much it cost Donville when he lost his seat and diplomatic immunity after he travelled to the USA.

As an aside, because of the legality of the product in Canada people fitting a certain demographic (age) flying in from Canada are subject to extra scrutiny as they are likely to be viewed as consumers or importers of the product.

49. Jamaican tobacco Avatar
    Jamaican tobacco

“Although Marijuana is legal in Canada I don’t think that any one can waltz into a store and buy over…”

Businesses buy and grow for the wholesale markets. Jamaican tobacco is popular in Barbados. Extra-legal Government Ops have immunity such as CIA Iran Contra scandal of 80’s.
    Perhaps Mia should clarify if there was any Government Role as this is a known unknown.

50. John A on January 3, 2024 at 10:25 AM said:

@ John

The problem is that you cant legally shut a company down without paying both your creditors and state debt like the NIS. To then say as an example of course, going to an auction and buying back equipment seized, so as to start another company doing the same thing, is not only a breach of tax liabilty but unethical. Then again ethics was not handed to everyone it appears.

The point is the reason the NIS is in the position it is in, sadly is because of persons like Manning et al who take advantage of a lack of corporate enforcement and a state that forgives debts without ever making any real attempt to collect on them. That is why he and others can simply walk away laughing from their liabilities here on this island.

Here’s how it worked with Kingsland and its over 1000 acres..

It’s complicated and riddled with deception and may I say fraud!!!

Follow me if you can!!

Kingsland ceased operation as a sugar works in June 1993.

But it was not liquidated.

The workers were laid off and NIS them paid severance.

Some I came and found when I arrived on the scene in 1956.

They were some of the nuff people who owned no land and offered their labour in exchange for wages.

Kingsland then had a debt owing to NIS but no security was given.

Normally, you would expect NIS to go to court and get a charge against an asset or assets.

Nothing like that happened.

In 1993, the Deputy PM and his business partner who became the AG and then the CJ were looking to purchase all of the shares of Kingsland.

The agreement was finally signed in February 1993.

It took a year for my mother to sign with constant threats to transfer the lands out of Kingsland, leaving her with no value.

Had the deal gone through, the Deputy PM and his partner who became the CJ would have owned Kingsland and Kingsland would have owed NIS.

But it failed, when exactly no one can say.

Along comes another company, Classic, formed in 1996 and in 1997 offers to purchase all the shares of Kingsland and pay all its debts.

Principals are Richard Cox and David Shorey.

This time, mother as a shareholder is ready and says she can get the finance and will buy out the selling shareholders.

She will see after the payment of all debts.

You would think it should have ended there, but like I say it is complicated.

In 1998, before going to court, she offers the BACT, the major creditor, to purchase the debt Kingsland owed it.

It refuses over the period of a year based on representations from the directors who really should have been seeing after the sale of shares to my mother.

The NIS and directors, unknown to my mother, instead of seeking payment of this debt as well, run to court and get a charging order against two assets.

Looks like Leslie Haynes KC who was also representing Kingsland got the order for his client against his client.

So, the NIS was shorted!!

BACT, the Mortgagee, and the directors of Kingsland and their legal representatives, Leslie Haynes KC, Doria Moore and Sir Harold St. John, prefer to see interest mount and the land lay idle.

The debt due NIS is not paid.

In 2005 the Privy Council decides against my mother granting Classic the right to buy the shares other than those of my mother.

Complications.

Remember I told you there were 9 releases that were never given, without them the lands of Kingsland remain encumbered … to this day.

There is yet another complication.

A quorum at AGM is three shareholders and Kingsland, its directors and their legal representatives, Leslie Haynes. Malcolm Deane, Doria Moore, Clyde Turney … etc, decide that one shareholder, Owen Deane. who was a director of Kingsland at the time will retain his 10 shares out of the 200,000 issued share capital.

No quorum is possible with two shareholders, my mother and Classic!!

So, the land can’t be mortgaged to provide Classic with the funds from FCIB to purchase the shares and pay off NIS.

But even if there was one sole owner, my mother, this would still be the release situation.

As sole shareholder she could change the requirements of the By-Laws or transfer any number of her shares to her three children making a quorum possible.

Not to be out done, the legal representatives change the title schedules of all of the lands to remove any reference to the 1958 indenture of conveyance of the lands and proceed to mortgage the land to FCIB.

They raise $31 million.

FCIB has the responsibility to do a title search but apparently did not, no doubt it wants to see its money move, become a mortgagee and make money.

So, the result is that there are well over 400 deeds concerning the lands of Kingsland floating around in the Land Registry with deficient title.

Not to mention the hours/years of court time dealing with the sophisticated deception, a complete abuse of process.

Like I say, it’s complicated!!