He romanticizes the idea of a Bajan owning a piece of the rock BUT is it the truism he makes it out to be?

Harry Russell – Retired banker

THERE IS NO GREATER sense of achievement than moving into your own house, whether or not you have acquired it by a mortgage, you have paid cash for it, or it was bequeathed to you. You could even have been involved with the building of the house using sweat and fears.

Nation newspaper – Wild Coot

Yesterday’s’s Wild Coot article (Harry Russell) published in the Nation newspaper provides food for thought for different reasons than he offered- the full article is included under the blogmaster’s comment. A country like Barbados with a large social services bill must collect taxes from many sources. The government in seat constantly promotes the mantra that the financial burden should be spread to many as a way to ease the burden especially on citizens in the lower income bracket. It is a philosophical if not pragmatic approach that governments take to extract adequate tax revenue from its citizens. It doesn’t matter which government is in office, it will not change the adage that two things are certain, dying and paying taxes.

Wild Coot’s article is interesting to the blogmaster for another reason. He romanticizes the idea of a Bajan owning a piece of the rock BUT is it the truism he makes it out to be? Anecdotally millennials and Gen Z’s seem comfortable with renting and leasing to satisfy lodging arrangements. No doubt there is a percentage of that demographic forced out of the market because of escalating cost to ‘own a piece of the rock’. There is another percentage that bears negligible loyalty to Rock and will seek fame and fortune in lands across the seas because labour- in increasing numbers- flocking to where opportunities are greatest.

The drive to own a piece of the rock

THERE IS NO GREATER sense of achievement than moving into your own house, whether or not you have acquired it by a mortgage, you have paid cash for it, or it was bequeathed to you. You could even have been involved with the building of the house using sweat and fears.

It could be a little two-bedroom structure propped up on stones, a town house shared with malicious neighbours, it could be a mansion in Sheraton or it could be a shack with a piece of land attached.

Most people would like to own their own piece of the rock. First of all I would like to define the term “own”. If you own a home, it is yours completely not yours and the Government of the day. (If you are married yours and your wife or husband). You may wish to get water electricity, etc. connected to the house and you would have to pay for those services. If those services were disconnected, you would still own the house completely. Storms may come and time may work its magic and you may be forced to repair your house or even enlarge it, but you will still own the house. You may be sick and helpless, but you would still own the house. Even if you do not live in the house, you will still own it.

I say own, but is that true? How come if you hold the papers certifying that the land or land and house have been transferred to you, you cannot just leave the island and the piece of the rock remains undisturbed? How come it has to owe money to the Government either by Government’s forbearance or by obligation? You see there is something called “land tax”. You may also call it ownership tax because it seems to be more applicable to the person than anything else. It is usually applied when Government is short of money or when you are short of spendable funds.

There seems to be a curious link between voting patterns and land property tax. While it seems good policy to encourage those who are poor and struggle to own a house or a small piece of land, pay a vastly reduced payment or no payment at all, should you pay a price that may be called “rich people tax”? Coincidentally does forbearance manifest its absence of tax where there is a predominance of votes?

Owning a home

Tremendous sacrifices in your younger years; done without many things that would have given you pleasure but decided that owning a home was a priority. You may have even decided that it was preferable to own the home than getting married, or it might have been an aspiration of being married. You may have decided to be cautious and ran the gauntlet of seeking insurance for the house.

Then comes the Government. If you are not one whose property has been assessed at a low value, “cat n’am yuh suppa”.

“Sir or Madam we assess this property to be worth $20 000. You have to pay us each year a sum of $500 within two months with non-payment incurring a fine.”

“For what?” you say in astonishment. “The paper that the vendor gave me when I bought this property did not say anything about a tax. That was not a condition of ownership.”

“But we the government provide services to your property….” And the argument goes on!

“But I pay taxes on those services. Such as they are.”

It is just a naked grab for taxes and denies the claim of ownership.

In acquiring this property you may have had to make tremendous sacrifices, but that does not matter. If you do not pay, what you thought was yours could be sold under your nose.

The purpose of this article is to disabuse people of the feeling of security in “owning a piece of the rock”’. There is a sense of pride in the term ownership, but there is then a word of caution. You only own provisionally.

Some countries do not impose land tax, although an alternate form of taxation may be imposed that fills the breach. In the Caribbean there is mixed policy in this regard; probably it depends on the financial need of the country.

But I dispute the term “owning a piece of the rock”. Those who do not pay land tax do so at the behest of the Government.

Happy New Year!

Harry Russell is a banker. Email quijote70@gmail.com

nation newspaper

97 responses to “Who wants piece of the rock ‘thesedays’?”

1. So JohnA

The question to be asked regarding Manning is what was the level of political involvement?!!

2. It is all so unfortunate especially when you look at the years lost and the opportunities that passed due to inaction.

Several people I am sure have experienced such issues, maybe not to the magnitude you have outlined but its all relative to one’s economic base. Buying and selling land here remains a complex legal matter, unlike the USA where such is done in 24 to 48hrs.

3. NorthernObserver Avatar

Lol ..it takes a little longer than 48hrs!!

At least the Americans know their lawyers are crooks and use ‘escrow’. Though it seemed to fail Maloney and Radical in the vaccine matter.

4. NorthernObserver Avatar

Peripherally John, it appears Kingsland was missing the shot-gun clause?
    Otherwise from the time of deal #1 gone bad, it could have been used.
    I never get involved with others without that clause. Sometimes it’s the only power a minority shareholder has.

5. John A on January 3, 2024 at 4:01 PM said:

It is all so unfortunate especially when you look at the years lost and the opportunities that passed due to inaction.

I have had a ball!!

I’ve learnt things you would not believe.

It was important to go through the exercise and expose it. Maybe things will improve in the future.

The beauty of the system is that it created an unmistakable record which no one can dispute if they take the time to follow it.

Anything I say or write I can bring the documentary evidence to back it up.

Nine Judges wrote 103 pages worth of decisions.

Mr. Armstrong who setup Kingsland in 1958 put it as simply as this.

“All must sell or none can sell”.

One question remains.

Why would dignified and potent lawyers go to such inordinate lengths and risk their reputation?

I’ll answer it in time.

6. NorthernObserver Avatar

John
    While amusing and thought provoking, that clause settles nothing?
    It merely allows one shareholder to block a sale.
    What if the dissenting shareholder, or the others, could then force a sale?
    I’ll buy you out at price A, or you can buy me out if you choose not to accept my offer.
    Simple and done.

7. The releases have nothing to do with shareholders!!

They arise from a contract between the company and 9 tenants in common before they became shareholders.

Contract law.

8. The shareholder issue was settled by the Privy Council based on the assumption that Mr. Armstrong made a mistake.

9. You can find numerous companies formed in the 40’s, 50’s and 60’s by families with conveyances of land into the company.

Edgecumbe, The Skeetes

Portland/Alleynedale. The Chandlers

Todds/Lemon Arbour, The Chandlers

Yorkshire, The Arthurs

Constant, The Robinsons

Harrow, The Paynes

Lower Estate/DETCO, The Dowdings

Wotton, The Evelyns

Bannatyne, The Marshes

Newton, The Wards

Guinea, The Simpsons

Fairfield, Wards

etc, etc etc.

The model for the foundation documents is from the existing Encyclopedia of Forms and Precedents in use at the time.

You will find both Eustace Shilstone and “Joey” Armstrong at Cottle Catford, Boyce at Yearwood and Boyce and the principal of Carrington and Sealy all using the same method in the examples above.

The reasons why so many families formed Limited Liability Companies in this period during and after WWII were twofold … at least.

Tax …. all of a sudden their revenues rose 20 fold as discussed.

Limited Liability … they all borrowed to purchase equipment to increase their output and meet an insatiable demand for sugar and used the vehicle of Limited Liability ownership for protection in case.

In all cases the tenants in common contracted with the company to exchange their ownership of the land as tenants in common for two entirely different considerations.

Shares

… and an undertaking by the company to pay satisfy discharge and fulfil all the debts liabilities contracts and engagements of the vendors (tenants in common) IN RELATION TO THE LAND and an indemnification against all proceedings claims and demands in respect thereof.

The two are completely separate.

One has been dealt with in the court, (shares), and the other one hasn’t!!

10. The undertaking only arises if the former tenant in common incurs a debt liability contract or engagement IN RELATION TO THE LAND which all did in the proceedings.

So, Kingsland has to pay all of its shareholders liabilities and debts in relation to the proceedings plus its own!!!

Crazy!!

Why would dignified and potent officers of the court let this happen?

Obviously there has to be a good reason.

Kingsland has even indemnified the estate of Iain Deane as has Classic.

The $269 USD judgment in Florida is against the estate of Iain Deane and its indemnitors, heirs and assigns.

Iain Deane is another kettle of fish, stink as shite.

… even more complicated and yet very simple to unravel!!

Will tell you his story later.

Readers may know him as Black Woman Who Reads and various other monikers!!

11. I have not researched Westmoreland but would expect G. Manning, the father, to have formed a Limited Liability Company.

G is Geoffrey, always heard my uncles referring to Geoffrey Manning.

The Mahons in St. Thomas would no doubt have had a similar corporate arrangement.

12. Grantley Dobayan Avatar
    Grantley Dobayan

Didn’t Iain die. He seems to live rent free within you.

13. Grantley Dobayan
    on January 5, 2024 at 1:40 AM said:

Didn’t Iain die. He seems to live rent free within you.

Iain Deane died in 2016.

He lived with Milton Inniss, the current High Commissioner to Great Britain and has some representative function to Malta.

Sorry to disappoint you!!

https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/10/19/high-commissioner-milton-inniss-presents-credentials-in-malta/

14. …. I suspect rent free too!!

15. Grantley

The 269 million USD judgment is against the Estate of Iain Deane, its successors, assigns and Indemnitors.

Its indemnitors are Kingsland and Classic, financed first by First Caribbean etc etc.

The undertaking and associated indemnification from 1958 is plainly spelt out in the Indenture conveying 1,133 acres to Kingsland and in the absence of those 9 releases, attaches to any land purportedly sold.

Kooyman could be changing hands!!

Who cares about Iain Deane??

16. Rabbit 🐇/🐰
    Some great posts on matters of Barbados.

Have you looked at your crystal ball to see where we will be 5-10 years from now.
    I keep coming to the conclusion that nothing will change for the better. All the initiatives/ legislation are just window dressing … a pappyshow.

Care to comment?

17. … and then there are the 100’s of mortgages given by ordinary Bajans to FCIB. Republic Bank, BNS etc etc on lands which have an undeclared encumbrance.

A good reason to allege fraud!

“Fraud unravels all”.

“No judgment of a court, no order of a Minister, can be allowed to stand if it has been obtained by fraud. Fraud unravels everything. The court is careful not to find fraud unless it is distinctly pleaded and proved; but once it is proved, it vitiates judgments, contracts and all transactions whatsoever …” ([80]).”

https://www.mondaq.com/white-collar-crime-anti-corruption–fraud/1347174/fraud-unravels-all#:~:text=No%20judgment%20of%20a%20court,..%22%20(%5B80%5D).

‘This decision confirms that fraud does unravel all,’ she said. ‘Insurance companies will be free to revisit settlements made before hard evidence of fraud comes to light and will be able to pursue those who thought they had got away with it.’

https://www.lawgazette.co.uk/law/fraud-unravels-all-landmark-supreme-court-ruling/5056853.article

18. Grasshopper

‘Oh what a tangled web we weave/When first we practice to deceive,’ is a very ‘Shakespearean’ phrase, however, it is not from Shakespeare. It comes from an early nineteenth century Scottish author, Sir Walter Scott, best selling writer of novels, plays, and poems.

Like so very many of Shakespeare’s lasting observations it’s a beautifully expressed aphorism that uses just a few words to describe one life experience so perfectly, and is so true, that it enters into the English language and becomes one of its most powerful idioms – one that will last forever.

‘Oh what a tangled web we weave/When first we practice to deceive’ means that when you lie or act dishonestly you are initiating problems and a domino structure of complications which eventually run out of control.

The tangled web quote from this poem has made it into the realms of immortality, but while doing so, has left most of Scott’s very accomplished writing behind. To put it delicately, no-one reads Scott anymore. Some of his lines should have made it into the everyday language but haven’t: such lines as ‘look back and smile on perils past,’ ‘the will to do, the soul to dare,’ and ‘and come he slow, or come he fast, it is but death who comes at last,’ should have made it, but haven’t.

https://nosweatshakespeare.com/quotes/famous/oh-what-a-tangled-web-we-weave/

Barbados I suspect is out of control!!

No crystal ball needed!!

All been done and chronicled before!!

My uncle knew Walter Scott backward, so well in fact that when he talked in his sleep he recited whole sections.

As young children put to rest with the household in the afternoon, we listened to his recitations in his sleep and remembered them.

“Down from his horse did Marmion spring, Soon as he saw the Lion-King;” was our favorite.

I never read poetry but even better had it “read” to me by a sleeping man!!

https://www.gutenberg.org/files/4010/4010-h/4010-h.htm

19. I love Mia.
    I might forget/doubt what she says but I love that women.

Here trying to figure out what she said about the check and passport. Did I get it right?

If you don’t get caught cashing a check for a bribe then all is well?

If you get caught smuggling with a diplomatic passport then we have to investigate who is getting these passports.

It is only a crime, if you get caught? I love this woman.

Any lawyers out there, please help. Did I misunderstand /misinterpret? Help.

20. Based on my instincts for survival and self preservation, I would have succeeded as a Bajan lawyer.

I am begging my son to study law and then we are heading to Barbados? He does the law, I do the accounting/finances.

Hopefully, we can convince someone to give my wife a diplomatic passport.

If you think you have seen grifters, con men, lawyers and diplomats wait until the ‘unholy’ three in one get there.

21. Ms. Mockley has not actually practiced law for decades so her delivery might be a bit rusty!!

22. Rabbit,
    Have you seen how nice I am to you?
    I want you to be our first
    client..

😀

23. ” In May 2024, Barbados will take over from Ghana the Chairmanship of the V20 countries of the world. Mottley said “This is a global partnership of 68 countries from Africa, Asia, Caribbean, Latin America and the Pacific which are disproportionately affected by the climate crisis. It is proposed that Senator Ambassador Elizabeth Thompson will assume responsibility as my Sherpa for the period of time that Barbados will chair this most critical of groups on a global landscape. This appointment should be seen as supporting the transformative agenda that the Government has framed for our development.”

24. @ David,

Expecting robust discussion about the ” shuffle “

25. Grasshopper

I hope I don’t see another lawyer in my life.

26. Tell your son don’t become a lawyer!!!

They are sick sons/daughters of bitches!!

27. If you do and he does, I will consider all of my investment in you will have been wasted.

28. @ Quaker John,
    I have frequently touched on this subject. It’s significance does not appear to arouse the interests of the locals.

The minority groups are selling of the country’s real estate to foreigners and it does not appear to register with the masses.

Mia on her first day in power mentioned and i’m paraphrasing that Barbados would become a version of Monaco within the Caribbean.

Contrast this with our public buildings that all appear to be suffering from building sickness syndrome or are in a derelict state.

We are all aware of the government’s intention to demolish Oistins’ municipal buildings to make way for more hotel developments.

Bajans are becoming third class. However they have failed to recognise this fact.

What a place!

29. Barbuda’s future
    The Documentary Podcast
    How a resort for millionaires sparked a battle for a Caribbean island paradise.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/p0h3zs8q

30. We don’t have to guess any more about from where the 80,000 Ms. Mockley wants to attract will come!!!

Anybody know anything about what looks to be a massive development begun at Six Mens, just below Alleynedale pumping station?

Part of Port Ferdinand, an attraction perhaps Barbados threw in to facilitate the sale of Port Ferdinand to Pendry?

Kind of like Lancaster and Westmoreland, an attraction to justify the $100 million sale by Rooney to Morphet in 2000!!

https://www.travelweekly.com/Travel-News/Hotel-News/Pendry-Hotels-to-operate-Barbados-resort

31. Wouldn’t we want to attract people to the island traveling with skill sets, preferably new, to add to GDP?

32. Private islands and special enclaves for the rich and famous are all over the Caribbean, there are a few in the Bahamas. Last time I was in Antigua I took a trip on a Catamaran and saw a small island called Long Island and from the vessel you could see the opulence and we learned how much it would cost to live/visit.

Also Calivigny island off Grenada where Grenadians used to picnic, and I understand that they have difficulty visiting.

It would be interesting to know how much local Gov’ts benefit from these “special” places.

33. @ David,
    Mia has planned a subtle form of ethnic cleansing. Her methods are not as outrageous as the chosen people in the Middle East with their methods of mass destruction. However the results will be the same.

Hers is a policy of stealth which will marginalise, disenfranchise and eventually lead to the mass exodus of those descendants of slaves who will find themselves emasculated on their so called piece of the rock.

Why would a once enslaved African people encourage an influx of crackers and foreigners to live amongst them and to buy out the countries real estate.

We must be some of the dumbest negros on mother earth.

Here we are discussing foreign thieving banks. This a drop in the ocean compared to other events going on in our country.

34. @Sargeant

The challenge we have, all don’t agree, is that our population is ageing and tax base reducing. How do we boost to sustain an unsustainable standard of living? In a related matter a story being carried in international media is there is increasing focus on the citizen by investment programs by some islands in the Caribbean. What are we going to do? Where are the growth solutions?

35. @TLSN

What are you talking about?

36. “We must be some of the dumbest negros on mother earth.”

I do not believe that they (we) are dumb. We spend a great deal of time figuring out how to con and scam the common man. At some stage we will bite off more than we can chew. Worse is ahead for the region

37. @TheOGazerts,
    I believe there was a boxing promoter who said Don King would prefer to make one dishonest dollar rather than 100 clean and legitimate dollars. Don King was from the street.

Sadly we have too many Don Kings on our island.

38. @ David,
    This type of development that you appear to be advocating is highly dependent on imports. A better solution to our non existence growth would be to bring manufacturing to the island which could be partially powered by the resources from the sun.

39. @TLSN

Is it that simple? We are talking about a high cost destination couple with not being able to produce at scale. What will we be manufacturing?

40. Watch sugar prices!!

40% increase for 2023.

Just needs to get to 100% for break even and if it even gets close to the 10 X of my grandfather’s day, those who have kept their land as agricultural will make a killing ….

… like my grandfather and his children.