Submitted by Observing
Adrian Forde
Adrian Ford, Minister of the Environment

Recent news has become littered with examples of employees walking out, striking or complaining bitterly about the environmental conditions of their workplaces. Whether it be the Barack building, Air Traffic Control, the former NIS building, School Meals Service, KFC or more recently many many schools, it has become evident that “sick building syndrome” is slowly becoming an epidemic of sorts.

What has been interesting, is the fact that the issue has predominantly affected public buildings, where government workers it seems, have put up with much before watching the preverbal straws break many camels’ back.

When the Health and Safety at Work Act was proclaimed, it was often said that the biggest transgressor of it would be the government it self. Many a minister or a Chief of a PS have said “We are trying our best with what we have. Give us some time.” But, nowadays, many a worker is saying enough is enough! As always there are more questions than answers.

If this is happening so often, what really is the root problem?
Are trade unions or shop stewards waiting too long to stand up for their workers?
Is there poor construction, maintenance and/or preventative management across the board?
Do we have too many middle managers and “bosses” who force workers to “do what you have to do or go home”
Should or CAN government be reasonably be held to the same standards as the private sector when it comes to building maintenance and environmental mitigation?
Is it time for a national policy (of some sort) that actually addresses this issue?

At one time I was an engineer, inspector and doctor (yea right, in my dreams!!!). But when I woke up, I realised that for every sickout, every day lost is a day that something productive could be done. For every worker who takes 2 weeks here and 2 weeks there on sick leave, are periods that my business can’t get processed. And since schools seem to be the biggest problem recently, it makes one wonder if real public sector, education or any other developmental reform for that matter can truly be effective without making that sure all rooms are healthy and safe enough for the elephants be in.

Food for thought. Questions for the professional laypeople.

62 responses to “Buildings getting ‘sick’”

1. Asking for a friend Avatar
    Asking for a friend

I here wondering who gives two £ù¢k$ bout a nasty mout Pachamama. You really feel somebody care or if they gine lose sleep, food, money or job if you don’t read what they post?

2. Fix hospitals, clinics!

Nurses want health, safety issues addressed with haste

THE BARBADOS NURSES’ ASSOCIATION (BNA) is warning health authorities to fix the environmental and safety issues at polyclinics, geriatric and psychiatric hospitals, and the Queen Elizabeth Hospital.

In a release yesterday, president Dr Fay Parris said nurses, as well as patients, were being subjected to unsatisfactory environments and working conditions “that now call for incredibly urgent action”.

“Nurses are becoming ill and are extremely frustrated with this inertia. These problems compound all efforts to stem the tide of migration. The BNA has reported these concerns many times over the years, with the professional nurses’ association having discussions with the ministers of health about the environmental issues affecting several health care buildings,” she said.

“This situation will not be taken lightly . . . . The association is reaching out to all its members, nurses and the public we serve to support the efforts to resolve these issues,” Parris added. On Friday, nurses at the Sir Winston Scott Polyclinic in Jemmotts Lane, St Michael, downed tools in protest over environmental conditions that included an infestation of mould and termites. Some said they were planning to stay away until there is a fix.

Representatives from the Ministry of Health, the National Union of Public Workers (NUPW) and Unity Workers’ Union met to trashed out the issues after a walk-through of the facility.

A worker at the polyclinic said several complaints had been made to the environmental department on the same compound.

Mould comes back

“You can smell the mould and even though they clean it off, it comes back. The place is full of termites; you are working at a desk and termite droppings are all over it . . . . A number of staff members are home sick with respiratory illness as we speak, yet we have an environmental department upstairs,” the worker lamented.

NUPW general secretary Richard Green said the issues had been mounting for some time and Friday’s walkout was the breaking point.

It was subsequently announced that the polyclinic will remain closed until Wednesday.

Very strong message

In recent months, concerns have been raised publicly over environmental conditions at the Eunice Gibson Polyclinic in Warrens, St Michael; Maurice Byer Polyclinic in St Peter and the St Philip Polyclinic.

Parris said it is time for action by the authorities.

“The professional nurses’ association is sending a very strong message to the Ministry of Health and Wellness to address the situation where nurses, the largest portion of health care workers, are working in unhealthy environments, which is untenable and must be corrected.

“The BNA is concerned for the health and safety of all its members working in health care institutions in Barbados in keeping with the International Council of Nurses’ recommendation ‘that every nurse has the right to work in a healthy and safe environment without risk of injury or illness resulting from that work’,” she added. ( AC/PR)

3. Today’s editorial in the Nation.

Act on sick buildings

THERE IS A GREAT DEAL of talk about educational reform in Barbados, but this objective must be undertaken in tandem with the physical upgrade of all the schools.

The country has a huge environmental problem affecting both primary and secondary schools. Neither teachers nor parents are sitting back and accepting promises of solutions from either the political directorate or the bureaucrats. In some instances, they are not waiting for word from their union on the timing and type of industrial action. The poor working conditions are nearing crisis level.

The increasing frequency in complaints suggests the need for widespread testing, treatment and prevention measures. Failure to effectively deal with the issue will make a mockery of Barbados championing environmental issues on the international stage while there is an escalating problem at home.

The state, over many years, has been notorious in not undertaking effective maintenance of both its old and new buildings. The period during the COVID-19 pandemic between 2020 and 2021 may have made things worse.

Public servants, whether health workers, teachers, lawmen or general workers, have protested working in sick buildings. The deleterious impact on the former Louis Lynch Secondary School still lingers on many minds to this day.

People are understandably fearful of working in affected buildings while parents are apprehensive about sending their children to school in perilous conditions.

To their credit, the trade unions and staff associations have addressed this issue while Senior Minister with responsibility for planning and infrastructure Dr William Duguid has promised that it will be addressed. But talking is not enough.

Government needs to be a model employer and give immediate attention to this matter with clear timelines on remediation initiatives. The private sector needs to get on board since it is also impacted by sick buildings, even if not to the same degree.

Occupational health and safety regulations must be applied proactively and in a systematic manner at all Government buildings. It will be a tedious and costly exercise, but there can be no dollar value to people and their health. There needs to be a task force to solve the problem.

Natural airflow

The owners of both commercial and residential buildings need to undertake simple measures to help in the fight against mould and other factors contributing to the sick building epidemic we are facing. The addition of the right types of indoor plants in offices, schools and homes should be considered since they are known to offer significant health benefits.

We need to relook the design of both commercial and residential buildings of certain heights to reduce dependence on air-conditioning and make better use of natural airflow. Regrettably, we have rising levels of toxic fumes going into buildings from the high number of petrol and diesel vehicles on our roads.

The remediation work, under proper direction should begin as early as the Christmas vacation. Barbados cannot afford any increase in poor morale, depression, anxiety and stress in the workplace. Performance, not promises, matter in this instance.

Government needs to be a model employer and give immediate attention to this matter with clear timelines on remediation initiatives.

4. Proof please!

Ann Hill teachers want to see test results before going into classrooms

by ANESTA HENRY TEACHERS AT ANN HILL SCHOOL will not go back into the classrooms until the Ministry of Education provides them with the results of the environmental tests at the school.

The DAILY NATION understands that even though the Ministry of Education advised that students of the Pine Plantation Road, St Michael school can “safely” return to the classroom, teachers remain adamant that they would not until they see the results of the assessment.

The Barbados Union of Teachers’ (BUT) president Rudy Lovell said the union was yet to receive that report and fully supported the teachers’ decision until they are shown the evidence that it is safe for them to go back into the building.

On Sunday, the Ministry of Education announced that work was completed at the school plant, with repairs being done on the roof and areas which had leaks and water stains.

The ministry said painting would be postponed until after the upcoming Christmas holidays.

However, a teacher who requested anonymity, was concerned and confused regarding the recent directive from the ministry for teachers and students to return to the classrooms.

Health risks

“My confusion stems from the fact that we are yet to receive the results of the mould tests that were conducted in our school building. As you are aware, the health and safety of our students and staff are of utmost importance. The presence of mould can pose serious health risks, particularly to those with allergies and respiratory issues. Let us not forget that some teachers have [allegedly] fallen ill due to the presence of mould. It is crucial that we ensure our school environment is safe and conducive to learning. I am concerned that doing so without the necessary health assurances could potentially put our school community at risk,” the teacher said.

The educator further stated that: “The lack of clarity and communication regarding the mould test results is troubling. It places us in a difficult position where we have to choose between adhering to the directives of the ministry and prioritising the health and safety of our students and colleagues. I kindly request that the ministry provide us with the results of the mould tests and at the earliest possible convenience”.

Meanwhile, the BUT president also indicated that the absence of the environmental report was concerning.

Lovell suggested that the ministry’s announcement that the classrooms were safe for students and teachers may be considered a premature move.

“We asked for the environmental report to be done to indicate to the staff that the environment is safe . . . or, if it is not safe, to inform us as to what work needs to be done. But we do not have an environmental report to indicate either of the two, so we are in support of the stance taken by the staff. The union has received no environmental report and I don’t even think the ministry has received a report as yet. So we are a bit concerned as to what was suggested to the Ministry that the environment was safe to return to,” Lovell said.

The Ministry of Education’s communications consultant Gaynelle Marshall confirmed that teachers at Ann Hill conducted classes outside the classrooms yesterday, as they await the findings of the environmental report.

“They want to wait until the report comes back before they venture back inside, but they are still very much on the job,” Marshall said.

The communications consultant said the school would be going on a tour today.

Last week, teachers and the BUT called for Ann Hill School to be relocated, like their counterparts at St John Primary School, until the environmental issues have been resolved.

A teacher who highlighted the grave situation at the institution, said educators were disappointed that despite voicing their concerns to Deputy Chief Education Officer Joy Adamson during a meeting, St John Primary, which faced similar challenges, received prompt action, including relocation of classes.

5. Some of are tired of the flowery talk. Especially when we have to hear about recurring issues.

Adamson: Ready to work with unions

DEPUTY CHIEF EDUCATION OFFICER Joy Adamson has advised teachers’ unions that they do not need to be adversarial or combative when representing their members.

With several educators from at least three schools staging protest action against environmental issues plaguing school plants in recent weeks, Adamson said that teachers unions must work with the Ministry of Education to resolve matters.

“So how do we work together to tackle teacher burnout? How do we work together to ensure that as teachers fight for their rights that the education of our children is not compromised? How do we ensure that our shop stewards understand the industrial process and grievance procedures? As teachers unions, how do you encourage camaraderie among your members, but also facilitate positive relationships between them and their employer,” she said.

Speaking at yesterday’s opening of the two-day Caribbean Union of Teachers (CUT) executive meeting at the Barbados Beach Club, Adamson said the communication channels between the Ministry and unions must be kept open to allow for discussions before action is taken.

She added that alliances must be forged with the necessary agencies to meet the common goal of providing a quality education for all.

“Ladies and gentlemen, by working together, by communicating with all parties, by continuous training and education, by not condoning mediocrity and representing for representing sake, by conducting research to move education forward, and by building trust and not seeing the employer as enemy, we can achieve,” Adamson said.

She added: “My Ministry here in Barbados has heard the cry from the nation to chart a new path and transform the educational system in Barbados. To this end, we have started consultations with all stakeholders as we embarked on reimagining the education system. We have engaged with the unions here in Barbados and have formed several committees including teachers. Yet, we hear that teachers are not involved in the reform. We know that any reform in every territory needs the buy-in from the teachers.”

General indiscipline

Adamson gave the assurance that the Ministry of Education stands ready to work with the teachers unions and the CUT to resolve issues affecting educators and the school environment.

Meanwhile, president of the CUT, Dr Garth Anderson, voiced concerns about the increase in violence in schools across the region, general indiscipline among students, and the exodus of Caribbean teachers to Europe and North America.

Anderson argued that learning institutions cannot carry out their mandate in an environment that is increasingly becoming hostile and unsafe.

He said the management of discipline must be a local construct, and called on school administrations to take charge and work with local stakeholders to determine a framework of a policy to deal with this matter.

“Acceptable grooming must be an important plank in treating discipline in our schools. I fully agree that for religious and health reasons concessions must be made to ensure that students are not discriminated against. However, on the whole, school cannot be a prescription but a guide in the entire process . . . . The disaster we must avoid is not to allow our children to feel they have rights but no responsibilities. That it is okay to have small infractions of rules relating to grooming. The breaking of small rules many times leads to the breaking of large rules. I have no doubt our society may just be reaping the end results of it today,” he said.

Anderson further stated that while the shortage of teachers continues to have a crippling impact on Small Island Developing States (SIDs), the real issue affecting the migration of teachers cannot be swept under the carpet.

He suggested that teachers must be provided with the resources needed to carry out their professional duties and equally, be justly paid for arguably the most difficult job of impacting lives.

“As we speak, the world needs approximately 69 million teachers as teachers are not just migrating but [are also] resigning and leaving the profession, citing stress, overworked, underpaid and being undervalued.

“The above issues raised, require governments to provide adequate funding for public education. We all understand the narrative of governments in the region about GDP spending on education and how this has increased over the years. But we are all aware that a true measure of support to education must be on a per capita basis,” Anderson said, calling for greater investment in teacher development and the overall improvement of the education infrastructure in the region.

President of the Barbados Union of Teachers (BUT), Rudy Lovell, whose union is hosting the executive meeting said the forum would give the 17 participating units and approximately 50 participants the opportunity to discuss several matters affecting the profession and the education sector as a whole. (AH)

6. Why should parents have to clamour to see proof?

Parents want proof

Call for environmental results at Luther Thorne Primary

EVEN THOUGH the Ministry of Education took swift action to fix environmental issues at Luther Thorne Memorial Primary School, some parents want to see the results of the environmental test conducted before their children step back onto the compound.

They are also demanding that the building be assessed by an engineer.

At a virtual meeting with Deputy Chief Education Officer Joy Adamson on Monday evening, parents said they were thankful the remedial work was done to rectify the problems at the Wildey, St Michael school.

However, several said they believed the fixes were “rushed” and voted in favour of their children staying away from the plant.

One parent, speaking on behalf of others, said they were pleased the ministry agreed to have the students not return to the classroom at this time, “but we would still like to hear a report from the environmentalist with regard to the air quality”.

“We have heard that the mould has been treated but we would still like to hear that report because mould is a very serious thing. And we would like to hear from the Ministry of Health if the environment is safe for our children to go back into it.

Grateful

“We would also like to hear from an engineer. Yes, we are grateful that the work has been started, but we want to hear from the relevant Government agencies and professionals,” the parent added.

President of the Parent-Teacher Association Nathaniel Boyce told the MIDWEEK NATION

the ministry should utilise the upcoming

Christmas break to get the school plant ready for next term.

“It is only three days and only Christmas parties and other activities are happening at this time. Why push to get the teachers and children back in the school?” he asked.

“Take the time and deal with the other issues that were not addressed. Have an exterminator come in and deal with those closets where the rodent droppings were signed. There was a type of cleaning being done on Monday evening, but the parents prefer to have proper industrial cleaning.”

Boyce credited Adamson for being “on the move trying to get things happening so that we can return to a safe environment”.

However, he added: “Sometimes being hasty can be a problem. And you have to be fair to the parents, because you are dealing with children [whose] bodies are now developing.

“It is always good to be on the side of caution and I believe that is where the parents are today. I wouldn’t want to know a place is having challenges and you had a test done and you send me back into the place and I don’t know exactly what is happening.”

Online classes

The school was closed last Friday to facilitate remedial work, following parents protesting the environmental conditions.

In a statement yesterday morning, the ministry said parents and guardians were informed that the majority of the work had been completed.

“However, after a meeting with parents of the school last evening, the [ministry] has determined that classes for all students of the school will continue to be online until Thursday, December 14, 2023. Teachers will communicate to parents when they can visit the school to collect students’ books and materials. Any inconvenience caused is regretted,” it added. (AH)

7. Isn’t the parents requiring proof a good thing.
    Public entities have become accustomed to not being questioned. This particular entity, the MoED has had more than a few f-ups in recent times. The push back says ‘we wanna truss yuh, but we are not sure’.
    Imagine if Barbadians applied a similar approach to the NIS.

8. “We would have thought that a rasssoul war 200 miles away was vastly more important than any number of sick buildings.”
    ±++++++++++++++++++++

A war 200 miles away is vastly more important than the HEALTH of Barbadians?

It is these types of jackasses like this ignorant bitch Pachamama that the people on BU does call intelligent and hold in high esteem.

9. Winston Scott nurses to remain off the job

Nurses at the Winston Scott Polyclinic will remain off the job until their trade unions are satisfied that the remedial work there is completed and it is fit for purpose.

Following yesterday’s tour of the Jemmotts Lane, St Michael polyclinic to assess the work done to address the environmental problems plaguing the institution, both the Unity Workers’ Union (UWU) and the National Union of Public Workers (NUPW) said several fixes were yet to be made.

Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Health and Wellness Wayne Marshall and Chief Medical Officer The Most Honourable Dr Kenneth George were also part of the tour but did not speak to the media.

However, the unions reported that the polyclinic’s “management” agreed it would be best to reopen the facility on Monday to allow for the remedial work to be completed.

The polyclinic has been closed since last Friday to address several grievances, including long-standing environmental issues.

Another tour

In order to ensure staff are satisfied that the conditions were suitable for work, the unions will join ministry officials on another tour Sunday.

UWU general secretary Caswell Franklyn, who authorised his members at the polyclinic to take industrial action on December 8, said more work is to be done.

“Their position is that they can’t continue to work here even now. There must be some measure of fixing, so the [polyclinic] would not be opened tomorrow (today) as far as I understand.

Keep cleaning

“They have to keep on working, keep on cleaning and then we will come back here on Sunday. The facility is not ready yet and they are not ready to work in these conditions yet. I want the clinic open but I don’t want my nurses dead.

“We have had too many instances of nurses getting sick in the workplace from the workplace and nobody acknowledges it,” he said.

NUPW deputy general secretary Wayne Walrond said the union had been reasonable in identifying the issues at the polyclinic which could be dealt with in a short period.

He said they were satisfied with the work completed thus far.

“We have seen some significant progress in terms of what was required, like adjustable beds, a level of cleaning and the AC [airconditioning] in terms of the dressing rooms has also been addressed,” Walrond said.

Through correspondence dated December 12, Marshall invited the two unions to view the work done at the polyclinic with the intention of it being reopened today.

(AH)

10. NUPW: All polyclinics are sick

By Colville Mounsey colvillemounsey@nationnews.com

This country’s largest public sector trade union is warning that the health care system is on a ticking time bomb as “all polyclinics are manifesting environmental challenges”.

General secretary of the National Union of Public Workers (NUPW) Richard Green said they have been receiving complaints about mould infestation from staff of each polyclinics, and their patience has begun to wear thin.

He raised the concern after staff at the Winston Scott Polyclinic walked off the job last Friday complaining of mould, termite infestation and other environmental problems there.

“The NUPW is concerned about the environmental conditions at all the polyclinics. There are some whose issues are more critical than others, but generally there is a consistent state of disrepair. We are of the view that the Ministry of Health ought to pay close attention to this problem.

“We are aware that the Ministry of Health went around to the polyclinics earlier this year to have a look, but we are still awaiting the plan of action to resolve these concerns,” Green told the Weekend Nation.

At risk

He said that apart from the mould, improper storage of medical equipment was putting the health of both staff and patients at risk.

“These concerns have not just been raised by nurses but the other members of staff who share the polyclinic, which includes the nonmedical staff and the environmental health officers. We have noticed a significant increase in the number of complaints about mould.

“Along with the mould, there is the complaint about inadequate storage. Rooms that are not fit for storing medical supplies are being used and that too contributes to the medical challenges,” he said.

The general secretary noted that some of these challenges have been ongoing for some time, commending staff for exercising patience as the polyclinics are a major linchpin of the public healthcare system.

“The workers have been very patient so far, and what has been good is that they have been offering suggestions on how these things can be resolved. However, when people’s patience runs thin and believe that their matters are not addressed in a timely fashion, then it is possible that further action may be taken,” he warned.

Attempts to reach Minister of Health and Wellness The Most Honourable Jerome Walcott were unsuccessful. However, Green said the union stands ready to work with Government to come up with workable solutions.

11. LINK TO VOLCANIC ASH

By Colville Mounsey colvillemounsey@nationnews.com

The recent flare-up of concerns surrounding some “sick” buildings housing Government offices is being partially linked to the residual impact from the ash fall from the eruption of La Soufriere volcano in St Vincent two years ago.

This was disclosed by Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley, who said Government was in receipt of a recent report showing that the fine deposit of ash lodged in the air condition systems and other equipment in the buildings was partly responsible for the number of properties manifesting environmental challenges.

She explained that the fine nature of the particles made it hard to conduct maintenance on these systems.

Mottley said: “One of the reports that have been coming into us and we took it to the Social Partnership [this week], is that much of the difficulties with a lot of the sick buildings we are having now is as a result of the volcanic ash into a lot of the air condition systems and other equipment. The fine nature of those deposits makes it difficult to be able to clean and then there is the corrosive impact and other impacts chemically have resulted in challenges we have with these buildings.”

Senior Minister with responsibility for infrastructure Dr William Duguid told the Sunday Sun that a Cabinet paper was being prepared on the findings, promising that after this is done, more details would be presented to the country. However, the minister said plans for the development of a national maintenance programme were at an advanced stage.

In recent weeks there has been an ever-growing list of buildings housing Government offices which presented with environmental challenges. Among the common issues was the discovery of mould. Eight school plants have also been impacted by environmental challenges.

Last week the National Union of Public Workers (NUPW) warned that the health care system was sitting on a ticking time bomb as “all polyclinics are manifesting environmental challenges”.

General secretary of the NUPW, Richard Green, said the union received complaints about mould infestation from staff from each of the polyclinics, noting that patience had started to wear thin.

Green raised the concern just days after the staff at the Sir Winston Scott Polyclinic walked off the job complaining of mould, termite and other environmental problems at the health institution.

“The NUPW is concerned about the environmental conditions at all the polyclinics. There are some whose issues are more critical than others, but generally there is a consistent state of disrepair, and we are of the view that the Ministry of Health ought to pay close attention to this problem. We are aware that the Ministry of Health went around to the polyclinics earlier this year to have a look, but we are still awaiting the plan of action to resolve these concerns,” Green said.

12. Several St Bartholomew teachers fall ill; few pupils turn up

SEVERAL TEACHERS at St Bartholomew Primary School reportedly fell ill yesterday and had to seek medical attention.

However, communications consultant at the Ministry of Education Gaynelle Marshall, indicated there was no incineration activity at the Grantley Adams International Airport (GAIA) Inc., which has been identified as the source of the smoke affecting those on the compound.

Additionally, only seven children were at the school, the first day it reopened since last Thursday, resulting in its early closure.

Marshall said the Ministry was made to understand “that an individual at the school was reportedly turning away parents with their children”.

“Ministry officials, along with union officials, visited the school to determine the source of the discomfort being experienced, however, it remains unclear what actually precipitated this morning’s action. The school was determined to be unsuitably equipped to conduct a full day of classes, hence the early closure of the school,” she said.

“The Ministry was made to understand that an individual at the school was reportedly turning away parents with their children, citing air effects from incineration activity at the Grantley Adams International Airport. However, a check with GAIA revealed that there was no incineration activity at the plant today (Tuesday).

As the Ministry awaits a report, it stated classes were scheduled to resume as normal today.

Union, teachers talk

Yesterday, president of the Barbados Union of Teachers Rudy Lovell and other executive members visited the Parish Land, Christ Church school to speak to teachers. They lamented not being given the opportunity to voice their concerns directly to Ministry of Health officials amidst the pressing issue.

“Today teachers got ill and some of them had to seek medical attention. We have asthmatics and persons who have severe respiratory ailments on staff. So obviously, what a person without a respiratory ailment can tolerate, a person with a respiratory ailment cannot tolerate. Once exposed to smoke the possibility of getting ill is a reality. I just came from the school, I was there observing the incinerator,” Lovell said.

Lovell said some people were still feeling the effects of the smoke although the volume was reduced when compared to last week.

“The staff is a bit concerned that the Ministry did not reach out to them after the school was closed last Thursday because of the same issue, to provide any update or to have any discussions with them about their health and safety and their concerns. The staff is worried that this prolonged exposure to these toxins coming from the airport’s incinerator would lead to long term illnesses”.

The MIDWEEK NATION understands there was a meeting held last Saturday which was chaired by Deputy Chief Education Officer Joy Adamson, and attended by Lovell, chief executive officer of GAIA Inc Hadley Bourne, representatives from the Sanitation Service Authority and the Ministry of Health and Wellness, among other officials.

Lovell indicated that at the meeting which lasted approximately an hour and 15 minutes, various parties contributed to the discussions, but no concrete decision was made in terms of finding a resolution to the environmental issue. (AH)