It is the start of the hurricane and there has been the usual awareness talk to remind Barbadians to install roof straps, ensure adequate insurance coverage, know where hurricane shelters are located etc.
It was last year a freak storm with the name Elsa wreak havoc on the housing stock in Barbados. The destructions caused the then Minister of Housing William Duguid to order hundreds of steel framed houses from China at a declared cost of 28 million dollars. It is not surprising that one year later only a handful of the houses have been assembled. A national disgrace with nobody held to account by Prime Minister Mottley. We remain ignorant about the role of EWBSB in the procurement of the steel houses. No wonder successive governments have made it a priority to hoodwink the electorate on the enactment of transparency legislation in the form of integrity and freedom of information laws.
For political expediency we continue to move full pelt ‘planting’ houses here there and everywhere on a tiny island with little overall development planning. The current minister of housing has promised to build 10, 000 houses in ten years. One does not have to imagine what our pristine fields and hills will be transformed to when these opportunistic current day politicians foist a vacuous brand of policymaking on the country.
Instead of planting houses, why not plant a food forest?
Traditionally, young Barbadians would ‘live home’ at their parents, until they could ‘move out on their own.
Nowadays, the younger generation is ‘moving out’ soon after gaining employment.
I believe ‘government’ is obligated to provide affordable housings solutions, especially for people who do not meet the financial requirements that qualify them for mortgages or loans.
Those steel houses were part of an organized plan to ‘put some money in somebody’s pocket.’
I noticed some new government units were recently built in White Park Road.
The private developers, such as Ideal Homes and Signature Properties, have ongoing projects at Montrose, Christ Church and Lower Estate respectively.
There is another project at Atlantic Breeze, Chancery Lane, which I understand is a private/government venture.
Mottley is no better than the rest.
When one looks into the viscera of the two here captioned, captured!
And the images of a pair of smart men, three-card men, con-men, legal criminals are not conjured, and so direct, represent victories of the intellect over intuition.
That the country could have descended into this morass of lillipochians and as Barrow said ‘unfinished products” from top to bottom is only properly paired by an ignorant population untethered from reality and unwilling or lacking the courage to sweep this inferior breed asunder.
From top to bottom!
When ya are only GIVEN, by ya main employers, talking power, but possess no ANCESTRAL POWER…ya cant do shite…..
..they said it themselves in their worldstage video…they have to take what they are given and assigned.
Bantu Empires
mean like brass bowls…?
@Bush Tea
Have we not exhaust the conversation as it pertains to the quality of leadership that has emerge across all strata of society? The politicians come from among us, your school mates. We elect them. Why are quality citizens like you afraid to join public service re politics? After the palaver is washed away there are the systemic issues to solve.
A visit to Duguid’s Facebook page may explain his focus. It is called Sam Lord’s Castle project.
https://www.facebook.com/wduguid1
The politicians come from among us, your school mates. We elect them. Why are quality citizens like you afraid to join public service re politics?
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Do you understand the Bajan term ‘gallows bait’?
How many times must Bushie repeat that a people ALWAYS get exactly what they deserve?
You seem to have this idea that a pack of wutless, lazy, mendicant, brass bowls somehow deserve to be saved from their inevitable fate – by some ‘lone ranger’ who comes riding in at the last moment…
…not stinking Bushie hear??!!
That is only in Western movies and comics skippa…
In REAL LIFE, their ass is grass….
Bushie, like Luciano, is just a messenger – so that the BBs CANNOT say that they were ‘never warned’, or never given the chance to SEEK CHANGE – starting with themselves.
LOL…
“…join public service re politics???!!!”
Boss – oil and water do not mix….never will..
@Bush Tea
Understand, you walk among us but you are not of this world.
There are some people, for whom those steel houses were intended, ‘living free, meals and all,’ at the expense of taxpayers, in the ‘Jorris Dunner Senior Citizens Home,’ (formerly ‘Golden Rock’), in the Pine.
That $28M could have been allocated to the Urban and Rural Development Commissions, to construct houses for those persons whose houses were destroyed by ‘Elsa.’
@Artax
The official reason given by Duguid was the speed the houses were required to be setup for those in need. It is a national scandal this matter has died with no curiosity shown by the fourth estate, political opposition, professional bodies and others. A key tenet of the democracy we practice is the presence of a strident and persistent dissenting voice. While all this is going the Chinese could possibly help us more with the adoption of creative agricultural methods to help with food security. We should not allow the covid pandemic disaster to go to waste.
The Barbados sugar industry – a loss-making exercise
By Peter Webster
“You can’t have your cake and eat it” – Proverb “You can come up with good solutions to a problem, but when it comes down to getting it done, it’s not that easy” – ask the mice trying to “bell” the cat.
The Barbados “Sugar” Industry has NO future without continuing financial support in the form of subsidies from the Government. In its current form the Barbados “Sugar” Industry lacks any economies of scale and is saddled with poor management by the state-owned enterprise – the Barbados Agricultural Management Company (BAMC). BAMC is currently selling the sugar that costs BD$7 000 per ton to produce, at about BD$2 000 per ton.
It is crazy to invest in such a loss-making enterprise, so we cannot expect the “private sector” – including our credit unions – will take control of this sugar industry without significant changes. Credit union members, like myself, sincerely hope that the Government resists entrapping our management in wasting members’ hard-earned savings on such a loss-making enterprise in order to get the Government out of a bind, even if we, and by extension our management, have billions on our hands. That money is ours, not theirs or the Government’s, and we will not likely forgive those who waste it.
In 2007, the International Society of Sugar Cane Technologists (ISSCT) at its convention in Durban, South Africa, identified the smallest financially-viable sugar industry in the world as being 12,000 hectares (30,000 acres) because this was the minimum size to adequately provide the economies of scale needed to cover the “fixed” management and capital costs of the industry. Barbados has long since lost its ability to grow more than 15 000 acres of sugarcane. Barbados needs to face this reality and “bell that cat”!
The Barbados Government must therefore rid itself of this costly activity because it has too many other important activities requiring taxpayers’ money than to dump it into the bottomless pit that the “sugar” industry has become. It is an industry that has consumed more than BD$1 billion in taxpayer subsidies since 1994, when the Government, headed by Prime Minister Owen Arthur, created BAMC and formally took control. This occurred after the sugar industry had been destroyed financially (bankrupted) by too much Government-imposed taxes and by labour unions, supported by the Government, demanding more
than the Industry could afford. The unions must also accept the blame for their contribution to this loss.
This does not necessarily mean that we cannot still have a sugarcane industry as there is a potentially viable alternative to “sugar”. Such a viable alternative is one based on fancy molasses or syrup which would be the feedstock for our growing “rum” industry while promoting its “provenance” i.e. rum produced from Barbados molasses. The Barbados rum industry will have no provenance without a sugarcane Industry in Barbados.
The rum industry is currently utilizing 40 000 tons of “black strap” molasses annually most of which is imported.
This can be replaced by fancy molasses or syrup produced from our sugarcane. A ton of such syrup should yield more alcohol through fermentation than a ton of the “black strap” molasses, because the fancy molasses will have more sugar (less carmelised through additional boiling) for the yeast to ferment.
The required quantity of fancy molasses can be produced on the 10 000 acres which Barbados currently has under cane.
The production of fancy molasses needs a much smaller “factory” with lower capital, management and operating costs to produce and utilize much less energy as it will only need one boiling.
For this to become a reality the Barbados Government needs to: Close BAMC and hand over the lone “sugar” factory at Portvale to the private sector entity prepared to continue operating it in the production of fancy molasses, until such time as the Barbados private sector is able to build more financiallyviable syrup plants to replace Portvale. This would decentralize the cane transport needs and reduce the current transport cost.
This will also likely entail some ongoing financial support from the Government for a limited period that would encourage the private sector to do such a thing. Such financial support would be expected to be significantly less than the current annual subsidies paid to BAMC; Immediately reduce the excise tax on Barbados rum while imposing a tax on all imported black strap or fancy molasses in order to “encourage” the Barbados rum distilleries to pay a premium price for the locally-produced fancy molasses and the provenance it entails. For years, the Barbados sugar industry has been forced by the Government to sell its black strap molasses to the local rum distilleries at a “free on board” or f.o.b. price rather than the cost, insurance and freight (C.i.f.) price which the distilleries pay for the imported product. If this reduction in excise tax on rum and tax on imported molasses are too miserly, the win:win goal for both the distilleries and cane growers of creating a financially-viable sugarcane industry will not be achieved.
The actions would be beneficial in promoting the financial viability of the sugarcane Industry and the investors in it thereby promoting its continued existence in Barbados; maintaining employment for the majority of workers currently in the sugar industry and providing “provenance” of our growing rum Industry by encouraging its production from locally-produced molasses. In addition, the actions would ; maintain attractive vistas of our countryside and reduce the growing “bush” and “cow itch” currently plaguing us and afford many Barbados farmers, who do not currently have adequate irrigation resources to irrigate all of the agricultural land they manage, to include non-irrigated sugar cane in their crop rotation. The latter would afford them an increased income and more opportunity to better manage their soils by rotating their food crops with sugarcane which will reduce erosion; increase the organic matter content of the soil; reduce weeds; increase yields and contribute to our food security.
The foregoing is achievable, but I have little confidence that this will happen.
Round and round we go….
Peter Webster is a retired Portfolio Manager of the Caribbean Development Bank and a former Senior Agricultural Officer in the Ministry of Agriculture.
This sounds like someone who is worried that their long-time game of fleecing the taxpayers with millions in subsidies, will finally be exposed when competent public-minded citizens get to demonstrate exactly how profitable this industry can be – if properly managed, and if funds are not diverted for personal aggrandizement.
Bushie thinks that the author doth protest a bit too much….
Writer says it is a ‘loss making exercise’, ..and then goes on to call on government to ‘hand it over’ to the SAME suspects who have been hooked up to the nipples of the public purse for decades claiming ‘losses’….
Excellent article. This should have been done years ago. We gone from producing 200.000 tones sugar in early70’s down to a measly 5000 tones this year. How on earth can government justify subsidizing a loss making entity. Fortunately now that we are in the IMF and IADB grip we can no longer use their money as we feel like. Sugar is dead sadly.
It’s amazing how these “sophisticated” arguments have been made to protect Whiteness.
This has never been about sugar, per se. It has always been about the preservation of the plantocracy. Even when it has been unviable so to do. All the elements are here.
And after billions in taxpayers money being so sunk, someone could suggest the surrender of the state with no consideration for those billions, blame the state for the failure to save the plantocracy. Only White devils and their satraps could muster such a twisted logic.
The trick of capitalism one might say. Socialize the debts, privatize the profits.
Where, in this article, are the measurements of historic ownership failures?
Staggering!
William Duguid as a senior minister should be fired for promoting the crap steel frames houses that will be contort and dance in hurricanes
Sadly most of the persons in parliament are some of the dumbest we ever had as politicians. According to Owen them poor rakey
Artax on June 3, 2023 at 6:47 AM said:
Traditionally, young Barbadians would ‘live home’ at their parents, until they could ‘move out on their own.
Nowadays, the younger generation is ‘moving out’ soon after gaining employment.
I believe ‘government’ is obligated to provide affordable housings solutions, especially for people who do not meet the financial requirements that qualify them for mortgages or loans.
First of all, the birth rate is falling below the replacement rate, the population is dwindling. Who do we need these housing solutions for?
In addition, jobs are a problem.
Here is what happens when mortgages or land tax are not paid. Properties are put on the auction block.
https://bra.gov.bb/News/Announcements/BRA-to-Auction-Properties-in-Early.aspx
My bet is very few if any of the young people will pick these up because the speculators will descend on them like vultures.
Not only is the issue of affordable housing related to birth rate and jobs, but also the easily available water resource has been allocated since the mid 1990’s.
In order to supply these excess houses with water we need another source of water, recycling treated sewage and or desalination.
Neither the Government nor private enterprise can afford the cost of these options otherwise they would have been used long time ago.
There are no affordable housing solutions unless people are prepared to have less and less water available.
RE: “Here is what happens when mortgages or land tax are not paid. Properties are put on the auction block.”
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Firstly, you are essentially contradicting yourself.
I specifically ‘said,’ “I believe ‘government’ is obligated to provide AFFORDABLE housings solutions, especially for people who DO NOT MEET the financial requirements that QUALIFY them for MORTGAGES or LOANS.”
Secondly, were the properties auctioned by the BRA, included properties in government estates, such as the Grotto or Lancaster?
Thirdly, as it relates to the auctioned properties, I agree “the speculators will descend upon them like vultures,”….. to rent them as a complete unit or in rooms.
I don’t blame you.
Perhaps you want us to return to the days planting and harvesting sugar cane; rotating crops; living in small houses on plantation land, and going to the ‘stand pipe’ for water since, according to you, that commodity is scarce.
It was last year a freak storm with the name Elsa wreak havoc on the housing stock in Barbados. The destructions caused the then Minister of Housing William Duguid to order hundreds of steel framed houses from China at a declared cost of 28 million dollars. It is not surprising that one year later only a handful of the houses have been assembled. A national disgrace with nobody held to account by Prime Minister Mottley. We remain ignorant about the role of EWBSB in the procurement of the steel houses. No wonder successive governments have made it a priority to hoodwink the electorate on the enactment of transparency legislation in the form of integrity and freedom of information laws.
No it wasn’t only last year!!
Elsa was in 2021, two years ago!!
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hurricane_Elsa
Construction is a dead end activity which we cannot afford.
We don’t need more houses.
The SUGAR CANE industry is what we need where centuries of experience shows us it works.
The plant is not only hurricane resistant, but also drought resistant.
Food crops can be rotated in the fallow resting lands as required.
Elsa caused no damage to any SUGAR CANE field in 2021, two years ago!!
Vegetable farmers are routinely harmed by drought or excess rain.
YOU posted the article.
“selling the sugar that costs BD$7 000 per ton to produce, at about BD$2 000 per ton.”
It is NOT about the plants suitability to climate. Or it’s hardiness, available experience, rotation possibilities, lack of larceny etc etc
Sugar is NOT economical.
Find a way to get the cost down, or the price up.
Instead we now subsidize others, like CBL, the same housing fiasco here, the Caves for years, the NIS etc etc
Exactly how many houses were demolished by Elsa?
John on June 3, 2023 at 7:30 AM said: “First of all, the birth rate is falling below the replacement rate, the population is dwindling. Who do we need these housing solutions for?”
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Sometimes your opinions can be very simplistic.
Firstly, a decline in the birth rate does not necessarily mean Barbadians are not having children.
Secondly, WHY are people SQUATTING or RENTING rooms at rates between $150 and $250 per week?
Based on my experience preparing and filing taxes for landlords, they do not experience any significant difficulties finding tenants. Why?
Are you suggesting that, for example, three siblings living in their parent’s house will say, ‘look de population dwindling, so instead uh looking fuh we own house, fuh we own privacy, we gine live home till we dead.”
Thirdly, do you believe if people could acquire ‘house and land’ at affordable prices, through housing policies established by ‘government,’ as was done previously by NHC, they would resort to squatting, renting rooms or applying for ‘free’ houses from UDC and RDC?
KNOX
WHY DO YOU BOTHER WITH THE BU KNOW ALLS?
SURELY IT IS COMMON SENSE TO PLANT FOOD
MY MOTHER DID IT IN OUR BACK YARD FROM AS LONG AS I COULD REMEMBER
AND DID EVEN MORE WHEN WE MOVED AND HAD A MUCH LARGER LOT AND CONTINUED UNTIL SHE WAS UNABLE
MY EX AND I TURNED OUR HALF ACRE BACK YARD INTO A MONEY EARNING AND FOOD PRODUCTION ENTERPRISE AND I ALSO PLANTED A FEW HOUSES
THERE ARE LOTS OF BENEFITS IN GROWING CANE
SURELY AT LEAST WE COULD SUPPLY OUR NEEDS INSTEAD OF IMPORTING FROM ELSEWHERE
AND PERHAPS WE CAN START EXTRACTING XYLOSE FROM THE BAGASSE AS WELL AS RETURN TO THE USE OF BAGASSE FOR THE MAKING OF PARTICLE BOARD FOR DOMESTIC USE AND EXPORT
LAST WEEK ONE OF THE BU IDIOTS OPINED THAT WE SHOULD HAVE NO DIET IN OUR DIET
I WONDERED THEN HOW WE WOULD MAKE RIBOSE AND DEOXYRIBOSE FOR OUR NUCLEIC ACID NEEDS
MY POST WAS TAKEN DOWN AS USUAL
THE PRIME IDIOT SAID TAKE NOT TAKE IN KETONES
THEN WE SHOULD USE BY FRUIT OF ANY KIND SINCEFRUIT CONTAIN FRUCTOSE AS ITS SUGAR AND FRUCTOSE IS A KETONE!
ANOTHER IDIOT SAID DONT USE DARK CHOCOLATE WHEN THIS IS THOUGHT BY MANY EXPERTS AS BEING GOOD FOR THE HEART
AND WE WERE RAISED UP ON VARIOUS FORMS OF COCOA—THE BASIS OF CHOCOLATE
SOME WONDER WHY I COME HERE TO ENGAGE IN LIGHT HEARTED MOCKERY
LETS HAVE THE USUAL VITRIOLIC ATTACKS AND HAVE SOME IRRELEVANT MUSIC VIDEOS
THAT IS IF THIS POST IS NOT ALSO TAKEN DOWN….AS IF I WILL LOSE ANYTHING WHEN THAT IS DONE
“LETS HAVE THE USUAL VITRIOLIC ATTACKS AND HAVE SOME IRRELEVANT MUSIC VIDEOS”
Bajans are the biggest bitching bitches in the whole world. I guess that is a reflection of what they are and who they are. Own it.
I represent the London and Jamaica Underground.
Barbados Underground still needs to catch up with the dreads.
Why don’t you preach another irreverent Bible verse like the cut and paste know it all that you are
RE Sometimes your opinions can be very simplistic.
IS THAT NOT BETTER THAN PRESENTING COMPLEX IDEAS THAT MOST CAN NOT UNDERSTAND
RE Secondly, WHY are people SQUATTING or RENTING rooms at rates between $150 and $250 per week?
ONE REASON IS BECAUSE THEY ARE DOWN RIGHT STUPID
RENTING ANYTHING IS OFTEN A POINTLESS AND UNPRODUCTIVE NECESSITY, THAT OUGHT TO ABANDONED ASAP
ONE OF MY BROTHERS HAS REMIAINED AT HOME, HAS DEVELOPED THE BOTTOM SECTION OF THE HOUSE. HE HAS DEVELOPED THE GROUNDS AS A BEAUTIFUL AMBIENCE TO HOST WEDDINGS AND PARTIES
ONE OF MY SONS HAS LIVED AT HOME FOR HIS ENTIRE LIFE
HE HAS BUILT TWO RECORDING STUDIOS DOWNSTAIRS
BOTH OF THESE BOYS ARE SIMPLISTIC BUT DEFINITELY STUPID
SURELY THERE ARE SEVERAL OTHER UNIQUE ARRANGEMENTS THAT CAN BE WORKED OUT ACCORDING TO THE PREVAILING CIRCUMSTANCES
SURELY GOVERNMENT SHOULD SIEZE ABANDONED HOMES AND PUT THEM UP FOR SALE AT TOKEN PRICES WITH THE PROBISIO THAT THE VENDORS REHABILITATE THEM AS IS DONE IN SOME CITIES ABROAD.
IF WE ARE GOING TO COPY IDEAS FROM OVERSEAS , WHY NOT COPY SENSIBLE AND VIABLE ONES?
RE Thirdly, do you believe if people could acquire ‘house and land’ at affordable prices, through housing policies established by ‘government,’ as was done previously by NHC, they would resort to squatting, renting rooms or applying for ‘free’ houses from UDC and RDC?
MOST SURELY
ESPECIALLY IF THEY DO NOT OFFER THEM MATCH BOXES AS THOSE THAT WERE EMPTY FOR AGES IN CH CH THAT THEY FORCED ROSS STUDENTS TO OCCUPY
RE: “IS THAT NOT BETTER THAN PRESENTING COMPLEX IDEAS THAT MOST CAN NOT UNDERSTAND?”
I agree.
However, your friend has a tendency to treat issues with false simplicity by omitting or ignoring complicating factors or details, thereby distorting the discussion and ultimately misleading the forum.
“SURELY IT IS COMMON SENSE TO PLANT FOOD.”
Dr. GP
Agree with you 💯%.
And, based on discussions on previous threads, especially with Donna and Cuhdear, I believe contributors share a similar sentiment.
However, you cannot deny that, over the years, Barbadians became less interested in working on plantations to plant and harvest cane or rotate crops.
Why????
Following the conversations and forming my own opinion. However, I prefer to howl when I am in the safety of my own yard.
artax
However, you cannot deny that, over the years, Barbadians became less interested in working on plantations to plant and harvest cane or rotate crops.
I WONT DENY THIS AND SIR
Why????
BECAUSE MAINLY MANY WOULD NOT BE WORKING ON THEIR OWN LANDS AND NOTE THAT I SAID MANY……….FOR MOST TOO LAZY TO WORK IN AGRICULTURE FOR THEMSELVES EVEN IF THEY HAVE EVEN A QUARTER ACRE OF THEIR OWN
BUT A MAN LIKE KNOX, (OR EVEN ME WHO HAD ACCESS TO SIGNIFICANTLY LESS LAND) THINK DIFFERENTLY SINCE GARDENING OR AGRICULTURE FOR US WAS A LIFESTYLE
ALSO WE WERE EDUCATED IN THE NATION FROM ABOUT 1962 TO BE POETAE RATHER THAT AGRICOLAE
FEW OF US THOUGHT THAT WE COULD COMBINE THE TWO
The future of fish farming is on land
https://www.economist.com/science-and-technology/2023/05/31/the-future-of-fish-farming-is-on-land
“Bushie, like Luciano, is just a messenger”
You are deluded
It’s not the place where you are living
It is just how you are living
How you are feeling
When you are living in the ghetto
Just watch your own business
Mind your own business
Take no care of other people’s business
See and blind
Hear and deaf
Don’t trouble trouble and trouble will never trouble you
You know what I mean
Reality that
Take that
Legalise it and Jah Messenjah will advertise it
Legalise it please don’t criticise it
Legalise it and Rastaman will advertise it
Planting food was never a development option.
And it continues never to be.
We could imagine that up to 100 years ago the country might have been partially food secure. Even with the mono-crop that was sugar, given rotation, etc
Yes, and weee readily admit much better could be done with a firm determination.
However, those who strenuously so contend must stop assuming that the food desert, which is Barbados, was caused by laziness or other naturally occurring internal factors controlled by Black Bajans.
Food desertification in Barbados has long been a function of American foreign policy. As it sought to establish markets within the whole hemisphere for American farmers. Period!
Haiti, for example, was a net exporter of rice and had inherited a complete ecosystem supportive of many thousands of farmers in so doing.
Until Tricky Dick Bill Clinton, as president of the USA, from the stinking White people wunna love soooo much, decided that Haitian agriculture had to destroyed as a subplot within the larger American foreign policy and deliver Haiti as a market for rice farmers in his home state of Arkansas.
Since then the Clintons have lived off the blood of the Haitian people.
The case of Barbados is not dissimilar. Why would our international banker, the USA, for decades encourage an unprofitable mono crop? Think people. Think! Why have we, for example, not gone to ethanol production. High quality ethanol for application in medicine, for example, fetches unbelievable value added.
Do we presume that the IMF, USAID, the WB, do not know that the people in Barbados must eat? They never minded us eating, as long that it’s bought from American farmers.
Our larger point is that food desertification in Barbados is not caused by the presumed laziness of Black people, as some here will want to presume, but instead by the function of supermarkets as instruments of American foreign policy.
If you disagree, then show us a single instance where the IMF has told us to stop importing American junk food to control spending, balance of payments, etc. and plant food instead.
We’ve cited two cases. The irony is that everywhere else within this hemisphere faces the same conundrum. Places with rich, deep, arable soils and not water scare, like Barbados, are generally in the same predicament as Barbados on issues of food sovereignty.
Deal with these overlapping contradictions. Open thine eyes and stop this wilful blindness about assuming that there is anything called sovereignty, of any kind.
Weeee dont think they care, look how they run evating into the ground, no intellectual vision to make anything work at a level that manifests centuries long success or excellence. Or things would have evolved upward decades ago..
What is being watched now….since the LONG CON has failed so spectacularly and miserably….the Afrikan Kingdoms and governments have been WARNED……they are targets and told what their people have experienced at the hands of evil pretenders and impostors…….so now what.
Pacha…ya done know it’s more of the same…they love shortcuts and dont have the skillsets to issue in major life changing improvements for the majority population….ah guess it’s right back to…”where is the next scam”….and “where is my cut”….
But one day coming soon…they will perpetrate their last corrupt scam..
Waru
When you miss development steps.
When you deny land reparations for slavery.
When you embrace the mercantile ethos.
When you buy into the notion that food and edible substances are the same.
When you blinker people with lies about the centrality of land ownership, not house spots, real land.
When you continue to rob Black people of their land rights.
Then, without such a deeply rooted culture, there shall be no agri either. Certainly not in any dynamic fashion.
“…a tiny island with little overall development planning. The current minister of housing has promised to build 10, 000 houses in ten years. One does not have to imagine what our pristine fields and hills will be transformed to when these opportunistic current day politicians foist a vacuous brand of policymaking on the country.”
Pure vetbal belly!!
@enuff
Hitting close to home?
No wonder we have all these exotic businesses on Bay Street and elsewhere engaged in a roaring trade absent TP approvals.
By the way, what is the government’s plan to remediate the south coast sewerage problem? There is also the hole left by the failed plan of the gasification plant to attack waste disposal. What is the rh plan.
Yes we made it through the rough times
That’s how we are living in the good times
Jah will make it happen
Absent TP permission means what under the law and what rights are available to the developer and the TP office in such circumstances? But weren’t you here a few weeks ago batting for one of the same Bay Street businesses? More verbal belly.
@enuff
Yes batting that a matter that should have necessitated TO intervention years ago remains outstanding.
Zap Pow
Have you ever lost a loved one by the hand a gunman
there’s a reason for their demise being justified
do the laws of man give the right to take another’s life
do you send any ends to this carnage in sight
when the reign of terrors pour down the corner
and the ones who start the war protect us all
I don’t think so
What is the reason for this ongoing fighting
Do you need the real cost for the price of war
What is the true cost of wars on planet earth
Is it just to sell arms with disregard for human life
Will mankind ever stop destroy what they can’t create
While the leaders of the world sit and pretend they care
Excellent thread.
Those who bring in steel house should not throw stones. Call them to account!!!
by the way, what happened to our Public Accounts Committee??? Just asking for a friend.
Just Observing
@Observing
How is it possible for the PAC to function under the current arrangement?
Senior Minister William Duguid in charge of projects is in the news again. How is there a massive project to be implemented in Barbados using these throwaway wind turbines and Duguid is unaware?
We have to help ourselves. Isn’t this why we spend so much on education?
For those not aware…Afrika is now asking for SPECIFIC test results to determine with accuracy bloodline connections to the continent. ..so if you know you are presenting evidence, make sure ya are not set up by the obsessed, greedy and ignorant to get jailed for fraud….pretending royalty.
Pacha…dont know how these were planning TO FAKE and present FRAUDULENT royal bloodlines….to cash in on a long CON……..to people who actually know what royal bloodlines are…saw them try already 2 years or so ago but realized they werent going to get away with it and cancelled on Pan African Daily TV….they can try again…since they too have been informed and they are based in Germany…and will spread the scammer’s names.. all across Europe and the continent…
Just issuing a warning cause ya know the Fool Fowls would do and say any mindless Slave thing to make duhself look dumb for politicians….
…and me thinks the island has more than enuff embarrassments and SCANDALS than it can handle…..although it now looks like many more are on the horizon, but that will be one less.
But dont mind me, i have no such problem…the genuine article…
“When you blinker people with lies about the centrality of land ownership, not house spots, real land.
When you continue to rob Black people of their land rights.
Then, without such a deeply rooted culture, there shall be no agri either. Certainly not in any dynamic fashion.”
Say it again, maybe one day it will resonate and make sense in polluted minds .
They are determined that Afrikan descents must have no generational wealth …or the ability to generate same…and many seem fine with that from a gang of con artists…
Same criminals who believe they can slither across and rob our birthright on the continent…but ah got something fuh dem..
So @John posted a link earlier to distress sales
https://bra.gov.bb/News/Announcements/BRA-to-Auction-Properties-in-Early.aspx
I found some of the addresses noteworthy and thought I recognized two of the owners.
So I sent to both and asked if they knew about the sale?
They both replied the land/property described had been owned by them but sold 5 & 6 years prior.
So no wonder the BRA isn’t collecting taxes if their records are out of date!!!
https://youtu.be/uveKChK7nHg
We want to know whether this land undergoing seismic eruptions is planted with food or houses?
Want to see Scambados going ahead with their long con to tief any of our birthrights on the continent now the Kingdoms, there are over 100 of them, the Presidents and the likes of Julius Malema etc know all about it and them……of course the Bantu nation will hear all about the low crawling subterranean scammers who have no respect for our continent or the Afrikan descents they keep trapped on the island.
They are so desperate, dizzily ran around and set up all kinda of consulates and missions, but none for the population to have access to WHAT IS RIGHTFULLY THEIRS…weee will make you very famous..
All we had to do was wait you out and you did all the rest.
Pacha…the people were right to put the traitor government on blast….make them roll back every single policy they signed off on and gave permission ….they must be watched very carefully going forward and given NO WIGGLE ROOM period….NEVER AGAIN …let’s see if they can handle things taken to the next level.
Bantu
https://youtu.be/HpQ-rY7lnZY
“SJPI students building storm resistant structure…”
It is telling that Students not Teachers or Lecturers are doing the building
I AM
the Dean of my University
I AM
like Ini Kamoze aka The Reggae Gemeral
Bunny Peter and Bob aka The Wailers
James Chambers aka Jimmy Cliff
Out of Jamaica first one out of Africa
Marley give ya culture
When we come yes we come correct
We come from Jamaica
Chanting from the heart ya
Jimmy Cliff come harder
When we come yes we live and direct
Hey, do you love me anymore now
Would you let me in your house
Do you overstand me more now
Would you trust me with your spouse yeah
No problem no problem
A no anything to solve them
No problem no problem
Sort anything out steppin
Out of Jamaica first one out of Africa
Marley givin ya culture
When we come yes we come correct hey
We come from Jamaica
The lyrical gangsta
Jimmy Cliff come harder
We will give it to you live and direct
Hey anything and anything and anything and anything
We will make it work
Give thanks and praise to the King not any king
A no any king high royalty from birth yeah
They wonder is how come
What is gonna be the outcome
I always survive them
Yeah we always overcome
No matter the issue, those in charge are always ‘unaware’. Everyone is asleep at the wheel.
Many hands, but not one brain. We have a Frankenstein monster at the wheel.
Initiatives that go nowhere
Unaware of activity in their kingdom…
Every frigging day I want to cry. It hurts bad l.
For those that claim it sweet
Aspartame, Sucralose, Acesulfame K, Saccharin, Xylitol …
Wean your body off those artificial shit. Wake up. Stop taking Ambien.
Theo
You are right. Even on a keto regimen some real practitioners, real scientists in the field, suggest a few of these sweeteners. One or two more have long been associated cancer and other diseases.
Stevia is the ONLY sweetener which carries none of the downsides associated with the others and with about one gram per serving.
Saccharin AND , Xylitol …ARE ACTUALLY BOTH SAFE NATURAL PRODUCTS SIR!
STICK TO WHAT YOU KNOW
XYLITOL IS THE ALCOHOL OF THE FIVE CARBON SUGAR XYLOSE
XYLOSE CAN ACTUALLY BE EXTRACTED FROM BAGASSE
FOR 300 YEARS WE HAVE BEEN THROWING AWAY THIS COMMODITY NEEDLESSLY INSTEAD OF PROFITTING THEREFROM
Yuh fucking liar!
You are indeed sticking to what you know
Nothing about nutrition.
Saccharine has been for 50 years, after introduced by coca cola, we seem to recall, was never “safe”. Only as promoted by industry with the help of quacks, like you.
Illiterate!
Those on xylitol are excused and urged to continue drinking.
What’s the difference between what has happened to BLM and what is happening in the various governments of the Caribbean?
None, same con artists at work all supposedly working in the interests of Black People!!
https://youtu.be/AOnTOEvSCFg
https://youtu.be/ceSDmcOwW14
rtax on June 3, 2023 at 10:31 AM said:
2 Votes
John on June 3, 2023 at 7:30 AM said: “First of all, the birth rate is falling below the replacement rate, the population is dwindling. Who do we need these housing solutions for?”
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Sometimes your opinions can be very simplistic.
Firstly, a decline in the birth rate does not necessarily mean Barbadians are not having children.
It is simple.
If a couple (as in 2 persons) has 1 child when they die as they will eventually, the population will fall.
Once there were three (as in 3) now their demise, there is one (as in 1).
The population thus dwindles, in the case of this family, 66.67%.
“If a couple (as in 2 persons) has 1 child when they die as they will eventually, the population will fall.”
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Another ‘simplistic, hypothetical assumption.’
I could likewise assume that the same couple had one child each from previous relationships.
So, “once there were five (as in 5) now their demise, there are three (as in 3).”
Or, I could also assume one member of that couple died when the child was ten (as in 10) years old, and the surviving individual remarried and had two (as in 2) more children.
A decline in the population does not necessarily mean people are not having children.
A declining birth rate may not result in an immediate decline in population size, I think.
Donna
Yes, I agree.
A decline in the birthrate simply means people nowadays, are not having as many children as they did in the past.
I am not aware of any rule that mandates people to have children to replace people who died.
Wonder wuh India Weird & Weary tink since he still int get my formula…AND now NEVER WILL…
Bantu
Dear, dear! Are we still here?
Donna dun fretting. She only passing through due to a bad habit.
Unless we stop tinkering and resolve to build a new engine, we are spinning top in mud. Regardless of international restrictions, we can do better. It starts with a vision. Very few can see further than the end of their nose.
So….
Donna is busy exposing her mind to new thoughts and some old ones of a different hue.
Many others are celebrating 5000 tonnes of cropover, hoping to reap a 50, 000, 000 crop of tourist dollars.
Murdah! Good luck wid dat!
Theo
https://youtu.be/kcnGmKi3xms
Please find a list of 20 sweeteners and recommendations by a person who is not an idiot. Who is health conscious.
Good to get a big laugh that the wannabes are now getting a FULL lesson in POWERFUL BLOODLINES…
.now they will see what REAL POWER looks like and that colonial cadavers…aka politicians…INT GOT NONE…
Bantu
RE Nothing about nutrition.
ACTUALLY I TEACH AND DO RESEARCH IN NUTRITION
BIOCHEMISTRY IS THE FOUNDATIN OF NUTRITION
Aspartame, Sucralose, Acesulfame K ARE ALL SYNTHESISED AND HAVE ADVERSE EFFECTS THAT ARE WELL DOCUMENTED IN THE LIVER
GO CHECK THE COMPONENTS OF THESE PRODUCTS
CHECK THE CHEMISTRY OF THEIR METABOLISM AND THE PRODUCTS THAT ARE THE END PRODUCTS OF THEIR METABOLISM
rE Saccharine has been for 50 years, after introduced by coca cola, we seem to recall, was never “safe”.
THAT BULLSHIT WAS AROUND SINCE THE 80’S
TELL US WHAT THE SIDE EFFECTS OF THIS NATURAL PRODUCT ARE?
SUGAR FROM BEETS WAS SAID TO BE UNSAFE TOO WHEN IT BECAME A COMPETITOR TO SUGAR FROM CANE
BUT SUCROSE IS SUCROSE WHETHER IT COMES FROM BEETS OR CANE
AND A BU MEDICAL ILLITERATE IS A BU MEDICAL ILLITERATE REGARDLESS TO HOW MUCH HE CUSSES AND HOW LONG HE SHOUTS
RE Only as promoted by industry with the help of quacks, REALLY DUMMY?
WHAT ARE YOUR QUALIFICATIONS IN ORGANIC CHEMISTRY BUOCHEMISTRY OR NUTRITON
Illiterate! ONLY AMONG THE ILLITERATI ON BU.
ARE YOU NOT THE ONE TO TELL US NOT TO USE FRUCTOSE BUT USE KETONES?
DONT YOU KNOW THAT FRUCTOSE IS A KETONE AND THAT IT IS MADE IN AT LEAST THREE METABOLIC PATHWAYS IN THE BODY
THIS IS BASIC BIOCHEMISTRY
THERE WAS A TIME WHEN I WOULD SUBMIT A POWERPOINT BUT THE OTHER IDIOT CAUSED ME TO STOP SHARING KNOWLEDGE ON BU
IS IT NOT TRUE ALSO THAT MANY ARTICLES ARE ALL OVER CONTRADICTING THE USE OF KETO DIETS
COME AND ENTERTAIN ME WITH YOUR RUBBISH
YOU MUST CONTRIBUTE TO THE COMIC SECTION TODAY
LEARN TO PLAY THE BALL RATHER THAN THE MAN
RE Please find a list of 20 sweeteners and recommendations by a person who is not an idiot. Who is health conscious.
i dont read shite dummy
THERE ARE JOURNALS OF BIOCHEMISTRY AND NUTRITION THAT REAL SCHOLARS READ
REAL SCHOLARS CHECK THE STRUCTURE OF CHEMICALS PRESENTED TO THEM FOR A START
THEN THEY STUDY THIER METABOLISM
THEY CHECK THE PHARMACOKINETICS AND PHARMACODYNAMICS
YOU MUST GO GET SOME TRAINING BEFORE BULL SHITTING HERE
Liar, liar, fecking liar
Keto-veganism is about becoming fat adapted. Capable of of utilizing more than one energy source.
You have suggested some sweeteners which have been shown to be dangerous in alternative medical practice, research.
The commercialized medicine you cite has nothing to do with nutrition and health. It’s about mekking money. So please.
Notwithstanding there are many practitioners so involved who have come to know better. Not you though.
https://youtu.be/0wXWEdipBEg
… Well I say let the almighty Father we praise
And yes black people I love you always [instruments continue]
… Farmerman till it some more, till the soil some more
Bare war ah gwan and the ghetto youths poor
Till it some more, rainshower me say pour
Yow, ghetto youths skull ah bore
So farmerman till it some more, till it some more
Politician war ah gwan so put the food ah mi door
Till it some more, till it some more-yow! make the youths set secure, know now
… This is the awakening, rise from the dust
Ghetto youths stop complaining and go manifest yuh wok
As early as the morning, we dey load up the truck
With food from east, west, north, and from south
Me bring the crumb ah Kingston fi full dem gut
Ghetto youths hungry, me ah beg unno no fuss
No bother laugh because the government ah puss, me nah go carry dem stuff
Duff get rooks offer, nuff get brass
… So till it some more, till it some more
Ghetto youths hungry, me say ghetto youths poor
Till it some more, till the soil some more
Babylon ah war and youths hungry and poor
Farmer till it some more, just till the soil little more
Ghetto youths hungry and the black woman dem poor
Till it some more, till it some more, yow! bun Theodore! den
… Dem ah war when the ‘Binghi youth ah hail Selassie I
Like water in ah rock, me come fi ring dem dry
Me come fi have all ah dem problem pacify unless if I satisfy
Ghetto youths me say no cry
Remember to hail Emperor Selassie I
Cease from yuh war, put down yuh gun, ah bare gheto youths ah die
Ah who give yuh authority you little guy?
… Till it some more, till it some more
You see ghetto youths ah fuss and ghetto youths ah live poor
Till it some more, Sizzla till the soil more
Yow! dem ah have the ghetto youths skull ah bore
Me say fi till it some more, give me righteousness more
Bare war ah gwan and ghetto youths skull ah born
Gimme little more, gimme the good herb fi sure-oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, why?
… I look to the east, and ah gather Rastafari children, ah make dem know say
Babylon system is the beast
And the head is John Pope and Elizabeth and the rest ah whole ah dem
Whey ah mix up in ah meat, and dem bloody feast
Have dem trigger dey squeeze and bun poor people dem ah cheat
Mi tell the ghetto youths and dem no fi go beneath ’cause
Babylon havoc dem watching
… Till it some more, ill it some more
Bare war ah gwan and ghetto youths dem poor!
Till it some more, till it some more
Yow, farmer put down all the food ah mi door
Me say till it some-, Babylon no kill nothing more
Or else Rasta ah go judge you fi sure
No kill nothing more, righteousness more
Ghetto youths dey hungry and poor, well den
… Rise up from the awakening, from the dust
repeated Doh complain fi manifest Jah wok
As early as the morning, load the morning truck
From east, from west, from north me full it up-from sun touch the city
Gih dem food fi full up dem gut
Unno no fuss, me nah go carry dem stuff
If two people have one child the population still depends on various factors
A fertile male human ejaculates between 2 and 5 mililiters(ml) of semen (on average about a teaspoon). In each ml there are normally about 100 million sperm. If the concentration falls below 20 million sperm per mililiter there is usually some trouble with fertility.
Plant your seed like Matthew 13 not John Boy
He answered, “The one who sowed the good seed is the Son of Man.
The field is the world, and the good seed stands for the sons of the kingdom. The weeds are the sons of the evil one,
and the enemy who sows them is the devil. The harvest is the end of the age, and the harvesters are angels.
“As the weeds are pulled up and burned in the fire, so it will be at the end of the age.
The Son of Man will send out his angels, and they will weed out of his kingdom everything that causes sin and all who do evil.
They will throw them into the fiery furnace, where there will be weeping and gnashing of teeth.
on June 3, 2023 at 4:09 PM said:
By the way, what is the government’s plan to remediate the south coast sewerage problem? There is also the hole left by the failed plan of the gasification plant to attack waste disposal. What is the rh plan.
https://www.facebook.com/bwa.bb/videos/the-south-coast-water-reclamation-project/598574184681964/
https://www.youtube.com/live/yIn6ci6h0ko?feature=share
From a bygone Era. Even at a time of a one part statism.
Court jesters still taking foolishness. With a silly grin en tow.
Just another lying, deceitful politician, NTSH.
I could just imagine when they saw that land holding on the continent and immediately pissed themselves…now will piss themselves for an even better reason…..came back all hot and bothered with fowls on the attack…spraining their brain about how to TIEF it…..
Now they know, they tried to swallow an elephant bigger than even they knew.. covetous, greedy and conniving and now choking, choking, choking…
Stop coveting and conniving to TIEF WHAT INT YOURS…ya got away with it in Barbados…but NEVER WILL in Afrika….guaranteed.
Bantu
Barbados’ popular long-standing fast food chain Chefette is going global, if only for two days initially.
A team from the restaurants and Export Barbados, left via jet blue today to, as the slogan says, ‘Bring Chefette to America’.
The initiative, which also has the Barbados Tourism Marketing Inc. And Jet Blue onboard, is intended to give members of the diaspora and others in the Big Apple and Boston a taste of the local restaurant chain.
BIRD BRAIN PACYMAMA
WHEN YOU LEARN SOME BIOCHEMISTRY WE CAN TALK
I TEACH NUTRITION AND BIOCHEMISTRY….BUT NOT TO BU ILLITERATES
THE BASIS OF NUTRITION VEGANISM AND ALL THE KETO STUFF YOU THINK THAT YOU KNOW IS BASED ON BIOCHEMISTRY
IAM NOT GOING TO CURSE
I AM JUST GOING TO LAUGH
YOU KNOW NOTHING ABOUT THE ALTERNATIVE MEDICINE TEXTS THAT I HAVE REA D AND STUDIED OR THE PRACTIONERS OF ALTERNATIVE MEDICINE I KNOW
ALL YOU KNOW IS ABOUT IS CURSING ON BU
YOU DONT KNOW BASIC BASIC STUFF SUCH AS WHAT FRUCTOSE OR XYLOSE IS OR WHAT XYLITOL IS USED FOR
THAT STUFF IS NOT LEARNED BY CURSING IS IT?
Pacha…check this out.
Re: Covid-19
” An intetnational team of attorneys
and scientists joined with the indigenous Maori people of New Zealand. They will start legal proceedings to bring those who are responsible to justice.
The justice system of the independent Maori people from New Zealand is ideal to start these lawsuits, because they are beyond the control of the western financial establishment. “
Well, how has all that miseducation saved Barbados from being the amputation capital of the world?
How has it helped the USA and Florida, in particular, from having the most obese, sick, diseased, people in the world per million?
Are you ready to admit that you have made a living off the imposed pain and suffering of populations with Western medicine which has far worst outcomes than countries spending several times less per mil?
Barbados is in deep trouble.
We’ve spent much of the last few hours monitoring two political meetings.
On the one hand the Mottley regime came across as being on top of their game as far as political noise making goes.
Of course, we have no ability to measure such mouthings which would be necessary given the inclination of the Mottley crew to over-hype.
On the other side, if a one-party state-ism should be avoided anytime within the coming decade, the DLP must deploy a radical reconsideration of the people it elects to lead it.
This has been more than a product of political inbreeding. After all, this is the party which in the last 30 years has given us Erskine Sandiford and then Fruendel Stuart, followed by Verna Depeiza. Now we see the unimpressive Ronnie Yearwood joining that jaded quartet of socalled leaders who represent a dullness impossible to defeat the Mottley crew. And they had Mascol for a while as well.
By our estimation five of the last six DLP leaders should not have been. The only possible exception being David Thompson. On the other hand, the regime currently in power over the same time period seems to have deployed a more effective recruitment and selection strategy. Some may say luck.
We understand that Ronnie Yearwood’s leadership will likely face a challenge soon. Not knowing who these challengers are likely to be, and given that the grandies will be having their say, more of the same cowardice, supine, mis-leadership class-ism, should not be unexpected.
Well, how has all that miseducation saved Barbados from being the amputation capital of the world?
HOW HAS ALL THE SHIT YOU ARE SPEWING HERE HELPED ?
How has it helped the USA and Florida, in particular, from having the most obese, sick, diseased, people in the world per million?
WHAT DOES THAT HAVE TO DO WITH ME
Are you ready to admit that you have made a living off the imposed pain and suffering of populations with Western medicine which has far worst outcomes than countries spending several times less per mil?
NO I STOPPED PRACTICING DECADES AGO AND STARTED TEACHING AND DOING RESEARCH
YOU KNOW NOTHING ABOUT ME
BUT YOU CAN SURE CURSE AND DEMONSTRATE YOUR BIGOTRY AND IGNORANCE
YOU DONT EVER BRING ANY INFORMATION–ANY SCIENCE
NOTHING BUT CURSING AND YOUR SILLY OPINIONS
I FIND YOU MOST AMUSING
YOU CANT BRING ANY FACTS
SO YOU TRY TO BULLY BY CURSING
HILARIOUS.
Denial, dissociation and projection seem to be very popular these days. Three classic symptoms of mental disease.
“Not knowing who these challengers are likely to be, and given that the grandies will be having their say, more of the same cowardice, supine, mis-leadership class-ism, should not be unexpected”
Maybe they should all drop the colonial cadaver act, the pretensive elite, wannabe pedigree, wannabe nobility, slick talking, lies telling and tricks dropping , that only impresses ignorant Slaves….the weakest minds.
Royal bloodlines that they suppressed out of jealousy greed and wickedness…takes precedent over all of that make believe clown show….they will now learn to RESPECT IT…
I was never impressed by any of them, never liked any of them, they could never mislead me anywhere, since i see/saw no leadership skills, never did….they always looked like they were hiding something they had in their possession illegally about us with their slimy, sleazy smirks that always crawled my skin and i was right….judases extraordinaire….
Even less impressed now wee know what they are really capable of, the lengths they would go to steal what is not rightfully theirs…common class thieves, impostors, interlopers trying to spread their poisonous corruption and broad daylight THIEVERY to Afrika…..The magnitude of what they did will now take them down as the information is spread far and wide, as more and more is revealed..
This one will not go away..it’s too big and high profile..they should have thought first before opening their arrogant mouth to create scandal…with their small island, mentality, disrespect and pettiness.
Pacha…it’s now sinking in, takes me a while.
Waru
This level of ignorance, especially demonstrated by the DLP is astonishing.
In the real world political parties, other organizations, conduct proper evaluation methods on their competitors, peers, peer competitors, and devise recruitment or selection procedures, metrics, with the explicit intention to defeating their opponents.
History has shown, clearly, that the DLP is run by a collection of idiots which has consistently chosen fools to lead it. We can’t even say “based on emotion” for none of these empty suits listed above have had any ability to extraordinarily move anybody.
We can’t argue that scientific management systems have been deployed by the BLP either, in the selection of its leaders. We see nothing to so indicate. However, they’ve been in charge for about 20 of the last 30 years therefore being less unsuccessful.
But that a party could presume somebody like Ronnie Yearwood could defeat Mia Mottley beggars belief. Ironically, the general council on George Street shall never be constrained from allowing this grotesque history of incompetence to deter them.
These are matters not to be left to chance, a lottery, if you’re to be considered a serious org.
“History has shown, clearly, that the DLP is run by a collection of idiots which has consistently chosen fools to lead it. We can’t even say “based on emotion” for none of these empty suits listed above have had any ability to extraordinarily move anybody.”
The inbred practice of nepotism by cousins is hard to break…especially, as partners in horrific crimes against the Afrikan population., they have so much negative information on each other, they have lots to worry about…….remember they are also tied and joined at the hip to minorities with the element of corruption as a driving force ….unbreakably so, 2 wings, one bird as i was voicing just recently…to ever break that cycle of go nowhereism….they must both face being disbanded…or it’s just more of the same for another hundred years….with under-developed, 11 plus mindsets.
…the people who are really in charge of and fund the island need to take a CLOSER look,…since they too have been NEGATIVELY impacted by these relationships heavily tied to corruption..
Just want the dangerous treacherous BLP lawyers out of my affairs permanently…i never asked for middle crook lawyers in my family business, need no thieving representation, particularly since, they, not i were privy to MY personal info, ….where they inserted themselves, as though entitled…with their presumptousness…and never given permission or consent.
BUTT OUT and STAY OUT….and stay very far away from my grandchildren…..or you will get legal notice….this is developing into something that i will make absolutely sure…WILL SWALLOW and permanently BURY THEM..
Been saying for a while that the absolute WORSE POSSIBLE THING that ever happened to the Afrikan descent post slavery/post emancipation is uppity negros with imperialist delusions of grandeur, all decked out in colonial titles…and eager to tief their way to that status..
Look at what they have become…look what they have done to the people..all over their insipid greed, tainted bloodlines and undereducated idiocy..
Spain has water woes!!
https://www.msn.com/en-gb/money/other/can-desalination-help-combat-europe-s-water-crisis-drought-struck-barcelona-is-banking-on-it/ar-AA1c8k7J?ocid=msedgdhp&pc=W069&cvid=ccb65b3f590540e4a48f86245b036051&ei=7
I made it very clear to western Empire, and will make it very clear to the Bantu nation…that i have given NO PERMISSIONS or CONSENTS to the Pringle-Muttley Gang or any other thieving lawyers in Barbados to act on my or my familiy’s behalf FOR ANY REASON….at any time, century or millennia .
Any such crooks making an attempt should be immediately arrested for FRAUD…and FALSE REPRESENTATION…
John…the nerve on these slimy SOBs….when weee thought yours and others situation was bad, look at what these criminals are cooking up….for me of all people…
re Denial, dissociation and projection seem to be very popular these days. Three classic symptoms of mental disease.
I AM SO GLAD TO READ THAT YOU HAVE A GOOD PSYCHIATRIST THAT WAS ABLE TO EXPLAIN TO YOU AND GET YOU TO COMPREHEND THESE BASIC FEATURES OF YOUR SAD CONDITION –ONE OF WHICH IS DELUSIONS OF GRANDEUR.
The Barbados sugar industry – a loss-making exercise
By Peter Webster
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Bushie sees that this nonsense article by Webster has reappeared now in the Nation.
There is absolutely NOTHING that infuriates these local albinos more than the thought of ordinary black brass bowls taking control of their historical assets, and gaining access to info on the shiite that they have been doing for ages.
You may recall that Bushie explained long ago, that this albino fear has been the main driving force behind them selling local assets to Canadians, Trinidadians, Indians, British …. ANYONE but the Bajan BLACKS whose labour has been the main inputs in these businesses for centuries…
There are too many examples to mention…
When they could no longer find young albinos to impose into top management – even those that were clearly incompetent, they chose ANY other alternative EXCEPT the locals who were in many cases actually running the organizations.
We have now been stripped to the point where only GOVERNMENT OWNED assets remain in local hands… and up steps Webster, like clockwork, with his nonsense about the ‘hopelessness of the Sugar Industry’ — and how the ‘best option’ is for government to hand it back to the SAME SUSPECTS who managed to run it into the ground for the last 50 years.
One can only wonder now the extent to which these albino shadows are still able to manipulate government’s actions.
What a place….
What a curse…
@Bush Tea
People are entitled to their views one is forced to philosophized. How some people expect Barbados to subsidize an industry to the extent that we must for sugar cane is unfathomable. Isn’t doing so for tourism enough? Then there is the weight of colonial debt that influences the cultural around sugarcane production. One does not have to mention the cost of production compared to Brazil, Cuba and other countries in Central America. Allow people to have their say. The industry is to be privatized, let them invest in it if it is thought to be profitable.
Go and check the meaning of what is a local asset. BS&T, Simpson Motors and all the other private sector companies that the owners sold are not local assets, and there ain’t got no laws that could stop the owners from selling them to whoever they want to sell them. You can’t tell nobody who they could sell their company to or who they want to manage it.
Think about it for a while…
We live in a world where people make healthy profits from selling bottled water, potatoes, music…
People make millions in profits from selling alcohol, sweet drinks, brooms…
The determining factor has ALWAYS been the creative ability to add value to products by innovation, by top class management and industrial relations skills, and by marketing the final product successfully.
Success and failure has largely been much more related to competence and skills than to the actual product itself.
When that product happens to be a centuries-old staple like sugar, with an unlimited array of high end by-products ranging from rum, to molasses, to energy, to wood composites, etc …it actually requires a special effort (or complete incompetence) to achieve failure.
In this particular case however, the question of ‘failure’ is moot, since this industry has managed to get taxpayers to pour hundreds of millions of TAX dollars into the hands of the operators on an ongoing basis – something that would incentives ANYONE to continue ‘failing’…
Now that Government is forced to implement changes, we are hearing lame arguments -NOT FOR NEW CREATIVITY AND INNOVATION, but for more of the largesse….?
People ARE entitled to their own views, but when aired, those views are open to critical review.
@Bush Tea
Agree, too many substitutes for natural sugar anyway. The byproducts or value-addeds is where the money is and opportunities can be found.
What a load of shite!
It was very interesting about 25 years ago at the fledgling FTC at Shop Hill to read the minutes of meetings with regard to how the members of the Plantocracy ran the sugar industry, and how those involved helped each .OTHER
THEY CERTAINLY DID NOT RUN IT INTO THE GROUND
THE STATE OF THE SUGAR INDUSTRY IN BARBADOS HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH ALBINOS
IT IS WELL KNOWN WHY SUGAR is no longer king in Barbados and regionally. IT IS THE SAME IN ANTIGUA ST KITTS JAMAICA BBETC
All this albino shite.is rubbish.
I have seen only one instance of persons who are melanotic join together to better their condition like this. It was a group of poor black men who studied together at CAVE HILL in the early 70’s.
No albino in Barbados with whom I interacted in Barbados as demondtrated the degree of hate and disrespect that I have seen on BU
JUST AS WE HATE THE ALBINOS, WE HATE EACH OTHER WITH THE SAME INTENSITY.
THEY CLOSE RANKS AND SURVIVE BY STICKING TOGETHER
WE HATE AND ENVY EVEN OUR OWN AND WE OBSTRUCT OUR OWN AND JUST TALK LOTS OF SHIT WITHOUT HAVING THE SENSE TO TALK UNTO A BIODIGESTER, WHERE AT LEAST THE BOVINE EXCREMENT CAN PRODUCE METHANE GAS FOR SALE AND CONSUMPTION
NOW WATCH THE THREE MORONS COME OUT SPEWING HATE
BUT YOU CAN NOT ADJUDICATE CORRECTLY WITHOUT THE FACTS
AS JESUS POINTED OUT IN JOHN 7:20.
AS POINTED OUT IN JULIUS CAESAR :THE FAULT DEAR BRUTUS LIES NOT IN OUR STARS BUT IN OUR SELVES THAT WE ARE UNDERLINGS.
Anybody who deifies the ancestors of others and sees god as White is the best of slaves.
An eponymy is the need to believe in something which can’t by proven, is not real. A clear sign of madness.
“One can only wonder now the extent to which these albino shadows are still able to manipulate government’s actions.”
Parliament rats are SERVANTS of the population they hate, though to hear them tell it, they are the people’s masters..
Local shadows are their PARTNERS IN CRIME against the people…they have no choice but to be negatively and willingly influenced or all their crimes against the people wikl make international headlines…nuhbody int gine down alone…and as told to me by one of those locals, many of the crimes committed are their own ideas…remember the IDB SURVEY and “not bout hey” while sitting on the board, signing away on policies, with flourish….did they tell you they sat there, nope, ..so they manipulate each other…dont be fooled..
Both the local shadow criminal element and them..believe themselves slave masters with an island full of slaves they own…it’s a hundred year old delusion they convinced and deluded themselves into believing is REAL…..again…they are mere EMPLOYEES of the people they slick talk lie to and trick …vote beggars, the only way they can make it into parliament, to access Empire…..and the billions they all divert.
the blighted cursed plight of wannabes now exposed to the world.
“We live in a world where people make healthy profits from selling bottled water, potatoes, music…”
People and cultures adopt and adapt to improve concepts ideas and practices in various modalities and dance moves
@ Frank
Thank you.
You have clearly explained Bushie’s point, …that these former asset managers NEVER considered themselves to be part of the BARBADIAN experience, and to be holding these assets IN TRUST FOR FUTURE GENERATIONS of Bajans….
These assets were seen as THEIR PERSONAL ASSETS…. to be bequeathed – NOT to the most competent to ensure continued societal success and development, but to whom they choose, and who share their selfish attitude.
In fact, in an UPRIGHT society, the rich and powerful are merely those who, having been blessed with much, OWE ‘much much’ to that general society in the way of looking after the ongoing DEVELOPMENT of that society…particularly the poor and powerless.
As you obviously see, selfishness and greed are attributes that are diametrically opposite to the characteristics of a righteous society….
You now confriming and admitting that those assets are their PERSONAL ASSETS and they could do whatever they like with them. People go into business to make money. Societal development is the government job.
@frank
You now confriming and admitting that those assets are their PERSONAL ASSETS and they could do whatever they like with them
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Of course Bushie admits it…It is what is WRONG with our world.
Just as you must admit that this ATTITUDE that we have adopted as a people, is the root of our obvious demise.
Can you visualize a Barbados where such assets were seen as COMMUNITY ASSETS, under the management of our best talents, but working to the benefit of every last one of us -in proportion to our contributions?
Bushie can….
On the other hand, what did it profit these ‘asset owners’ to have gained the whole country? only to see us ALL now headed for duck’s guts?
…with foreign owners imposing their alien philosophies on our children in preparation for their future fate…
@ Kiki
Fortunately for you, music is not your day job…. else you would be scrunting..
ha ha
Repeating for emphasis..if you know personally any of these locals, they tell you the truth….much of the antiblack policies are set by black faces you voted into the parliament…they NEVER wanted to see African descents with anything and will sellout till their last breath…so buckle up once you continue voting in the takataka…
Both the local shadow criminal element and them..believe themselves slave masters with an island full of slaves they own…it’s a hundred year old delusion and philosophy by Slaves… they convinced and deluded themselves into believing is REAL…..again…they are mere EMPLOYEES of the people they slick talk lie to and trick …vote beggars, the only way they can make it into parliament, to access Empire…..and the billions they all divert.
Certain people must be weary of hearing me say…that is what you get when you hand over the slave system to Slaves to manage who are overly obsessed with delusions of grandeur, generationally, based entirely, not on ancestral intelligence or skillsets, but only on an 11 plus slave test, all ya will ever get is dishonesty, disloyalty and betrayals…hence the reason they are now in a LONG DROP SPIRAL…
Am sure they will avoid such a dangerous error in the future. ..such mistakes should never be repeated in any century.
Im going to sock it to you
Heavy heavy
Great Gu Ga Mu Ga
Im going to bust your mind
The Boss – (Great Gu Ga Mu Ga)
Instrumental chestnuts for Im & David
Final song for 6/6/2023 is a tune from obscure singer Lloyd Williams, whose soul-inflected vocal graces the Wailing Souls’ “Back Out With It” riddim, played by the Sound Dimension with the great Ernest Ranglin on guitar.
What is the word for believing in something without evidence?
Credulous comes from the 16th-century Latin credulus, or “easily believes.” A synonym for credulous is gullible, and both terms describe a person who accepts something willingly without a lot of supporting facts.
Q: Why do you think the GOB is begging for money to help householders with water storage?
A: Because there is not enough water to go around and supply householders 24/7.
Everybody will suffer, some more than others as water is shunted from one reservoir to another.
It is the GOB’s faulty strategic decisions to blow the last available reserves on golf courses and high end tourism that demands irrigation to keep grounds lush and green.
Gov’t approaches IDB to boost access to water tanks
Government is seeking assistance from the private sector arm of the Inter-American Development Bank (IDB) Group to increase the water storage capacity of Barbadian households.
Prime Minister Mia Mottley announced to the national stakeholder consultation on the implementation of the Sustainable Development Goals on Monday evening that she had approached the multilateral investment institution for funding assistance for water storage tanks.
“This morning, we met with IDB Invest and we discussed with them a commitment and said to them ‘either you can or you can’t because this train is moving’, and that is, that the [Barbados] Water Authority needs to have a revolving fund to allow Barbadians to purchase water tanks,” she told those in attendance at the consultation at the Lloyd Erskine Sandiford Centre.
Mottley also encouraged Barbadians to purchase their own water storage and water saving devices.
“Those who can afford to do so on your own, you will be negligent and you will be doing yourself a disservice by not having the appropriate water-saving devices in your bathrooms and in your kitchens, and not ensuring that you buy the water tanks that are necessary to get you through, and changing the behaviour of the families in order to do so. These things are part and parcel of what the maintenance and pursuit of the SDGs [Sustainable Development Goals] should look like,” she said.
The Prime Minister made the comments moments after highlighting the significant reduction in the rainfall average over the last five months compared to the same period in previous years.
(JB)
that these former asset managers NEVER considered themselves to be part of the BARBADIAN experience, and to be holding these assets IN TRUST FOR FUTURE GENERATIONS of Bajans….
WHO SHOULD DECIDE WHAT TOM DICK OR HARRY — WHETHER WHITE OR BLACK – SHOULD DECIDE WHAT TO DO WITH THE ASSETS THAT THEY HAVE EARNED BY DINT OF HARDWORK?
WHERE DOES IT SAY IN EITHER THE LAW OF THE LAND OR THE LAW OF GOD THAT ASSETS SHOULD BE HELD IN TRUST FOR FUTURE GENERATIONS of Bajans?….
These assets were seen as THEIR PERSONAL ASSETS…. to be bequeathed – NOT to the most competent to ensure continued societal success and development, but to whom they choose, and who share their selfish attitude.
WHO DECIDES TO WHOM WHO ANYONE’S PERSONAL ASSETS…SHOULD BE bequeathed ?
TO WHOM HAVE YOU BEQUEATHED YOUR PERSONALL ASSETS?
A BESSEMER CONVERTER OR A BIODIGSTER.
WERE NOT ASSETS SOLD BY OUR MELANOTIC LEADERSHIP THAT WAS NOT THIERS TO SELL ? SO WHY SHOULD THOSE WHO HAD ASSETS FOR WHICH THEY HAD WORKED BEQUEATHED IT TO THE STATE, JUST BECAUSE SOME BULL SHIITER ON BU DECIDES TO EFFLUX VIA THEIR BETZ CELLS THAT HAVE UNDERGONE METAPLASIA TO COLUMNAR EPITHELIUM ?
In fact, in an UPRIGHT society, the rich and powerful are merely those who, having been blessed with much
WHERE ON EARTH IS THERE SUCH A SOCIETY?
WHEN HAS THERE BE SUCH A SOCIETY EXCEPT IN THE IMMINENT MELENNIAL ADMINISTRATION OFTHE LORD JESUS?
As you obviously see, selfishness and greed are attributes that are diametrically opposite to the characteristics of a righteous society….REALLY?
HOW DO A PEOPLE BECOME RIGHTEOUS?
HOW MANY IN THE SOCIETY ARE SEEKINGTO BE RIGHTEOUS
WHO CONFERS PERSONS TO BE RIGHTEOUS?
THE SONGWRITER PENNED THUS=>
Round the altar priests confess,
if their robes are white as snow,
’twas the Saviour’s righteousness,
and his blood, that made them so.
BU IS A PLACE FOR HILARITY
Politicians will always get more bang for their buck from building houses. Money for the lawyers and contractors (kickbacks and a chance to get invited to a plantation house and schmooze) and houses and jobs for citizens (votes and single mothers in your debt).
As with most things, the market will correct itself.
The Gen Zs and eventually Alpha have little to no interest in owning houses, they are content with turning their bedrooms into their sanctuary. And as John mentioned due to the low birth rate they have at most one sibling to share with. Why expense yourself when all you need to do is wait for parents to die
@ Doctor PG
Mother Earth has used a big word
Perhaps you should google it
“An eponymy is the need to believe in something which can’t by proven, is not real. A clear sign of madness.”
That sounds like an epiphany
Eponym – – Poem Analysis
iGoogle
Food for thought
It appears as if youtube is refusing to show your videos.
There is a God.
“Those who can afford to do so on your own, you will be negligent and you will be doing yourself a disservice by not having the appropriate water-saving devices in your bathrooms and in your kitchens, and not ensuring that you buy the water tanks that are necessary to get you through, and changing the behaviour of the families in order to do so. These things are part and parcel of what the maintenance and pursuit of the SDGs [Sustainable Development Goals] should look like,” she said.
Can you imagine that after the GOB has caused the problems with water through its lack of strategic foresight, it now berates Bajans for not solving those problems for themselves?
What a hell of a thing!!
.. and we know we will be told they are a caring Government.
El Nino and its projected droughts should really highlight just how negligent the GOB has been in its stewardship of our limited water resources.
It should not require El Nino to highlight GOB negligence with water management.
The fact that we have effectively taken Bajans back to the days of our grand parents of stand pipes (now community tanks) and water trucks filling buckets and bottles should have been Enuff…. and all this AFTER wasting hundreds of millions of borrowed dollars on ill-conceived projects – most of which were designed to put money into special pockets – where scraps may have fallen to serve various political ends.
We have also continued to mindlessly build massive water consuming projects as if water is a limitless commodity.
The sewerage management situation is particularly idiotic, where for years now, we are pumping – not only raw sewage, but millions of gallons of water into the sea – with obvious impact on the remaining water table.
To date, no coherent solution to this dilemma appears to be up for discussion.
Where there is no vision, brass bowls will see Hell, and perhaps El Nino may be the door that opens to that vista….
@Bush Tea
Annually we have this debate about water resource management. These are some of the structural problems we need to prioritize.
Annually we have this debate about water resource management.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
…and NEVER do we hear of any sensible solutions.
What doesTHAT tell us…?
Read if you wish.
https://www.pv-magazine.com/2023/06/06/bangladesh-introduces-fiscal-breaks-for-solar-powered-water-desalination/
Bush Tea on June 7, 2023 at 10:01 AM said:
Annually we have this debate about water resource management.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
…and NEVER do we hear of any sensible solutions.
What doesTHAT tell us…?
Sensible solutions come from sensible people!!
Meanwhile the boyz and girlz got to eat!!
https://trinidadexpress.com/news/local/crime-pays/article_db1edaa6-0409-11ee-b439-23f4f0959aff.html
@Enuff
In today’s BT.
Country view
SYMMONDS CALLS FOR MORE FOCUS ON DEVELOPMENT OF RURAL AREAS
By Jenique Belgrave
Senior Minister Kerrie Symmonds believes Barbados is “shooting itself in the foot” in the tourism industry by not focusing more on developing the rural corridor.
Speaking in the House of Assembly on Tuesday, he expressed concern over the state of the roads in rural areas, saying the situation was resulting in tourists missing out on many aspects of the country.
“It is a fact that one of the hardest places to reach in Barbados coming from any angle is Harrison’s Cave; yet, curiously, Harrison’s Cave is that which we want all visitors to this country to experience. It is a fact that they are tour bus companies that have refused to take tours through parts of rural Barbados. That has impacted not only St Thomas, but also the constituency of St John, and particularly in the area of Bath,” Simmons pointed out.
He said the situation was a direct result of the island focusing heavily on maintaining the urban corridor to the detriment of the rural areas, and he called for a serious national discourse on the need to restrategise developmental planning.
Symmonds was speaking during the debate of a resolution to compulsorily acquire land at Harrison Plantation, St Lucy for the construction of a dental school.
He noted that the commercial development base must be widened to include rural Barbados in order to provide a more balanced opportunity to allow the island’s poorer persons to progress.
In addition, the MP for St James Central said services must take place in rural Barbados in an equitable manner.
“It is not a good enough thing in 2023 that if you take sick a night, that you have to find your way all down to Bridgetown in order to find adequate levels of health care. It is essential that the people of St Lucy do not have to take two to three buses in order to get their little children to go to school when the day comes. These are the developmental issues that we must talk about when we are talking about the provision of services in the north,” he added.
Symmonds also expressed concern about locals being crowded out in some areas, especially beaches.
Referring to an occasion in which he intervened in a tense encounter involving a local wanting to rent a beach chair, the provider and a visitor, he said the Barbadian’s concern that the rental of the chairs should not be prioritised for visitors was a “legitimate” one.
“We have not yet gotten to the point where this has become a major humbug in Barbados, but I caution it has become a major humbug in Barcelona, it has become a major humbug all through Italy, it has become a major humbug in many parts of the Mediterranean.
“Barbados has to start thinking in terms of spatial balance. How do we move the large amounts of tourists we attract to this island across this island for equitable opportunities commercially so that our people, wherever they are, wherever their businesses are, can access the tourist dollar; and, equally, how we remove the pressure, ecologically in terms of our marine space, ecologically in terms of our beaches and the space to accommodate them,” he stressed. jeniquebelgrave@barbadostoday.bb
You see what I mean by sensible people?
Barbados is a 2×4 island that has been overdeveloped with nary a thought as to its heritage and the tourist $$ it can attract.
What’s your point?
@Enuff
Even Kerri Symmonds has concerns about planning of our physical space.
Three years later…
“If you look at Haggatt Hall you will see the 12 units or three quads that have been completed and we are now putting in the roadworks”
I thought one of the first thing you did was to put in the roadwork and make certain each house has access to waste disposal, a water supply and electricity.
How were they able to access the site without roadworks? Geniasses, please don’t tell me the meanings of roadworks..