Lawyers continue to undermine our freedoms

An interesting news item this week centred around Prime Minister Mia Mottley who continues to loom large on the local, regional and dare twe suggest the international stage? Mottley has attracted the ire of some in the legal community for suggestions made at the recent Regional Symposium: Violence As a Public Health Issue organized by CARICOM. 

We need to start rotating judges and magistrates in the region to ensure that there is not the familiarity with counsel and other circumstances and things that people take for granted.

Mia Mottley

Who better than Mottley to understand some of the challenges our legal system continues to pose. She has been immersed in the moribund system for all of her life and if caught in an informal conversation after a stiff drink and a ‘smoke’ may admit she has been a contributor to the flawed system over the years.

Some will hear Mottley and be distracted by the red, others will pars the statement for what it is, a truism. We cannot continue to do the same thing and expect significant or transformative change. An efficient INDEPENDENT court system is essential to signal to citizens and civil society that upholding the rule of law is non negotiable. For too long John and Jane Citizen have retreated to being apathetic and cynical about how justice is dispensed in our region. Sadly the maxim that we are a country of laws has become nothing more than a cliché. 

The blogmaster like many have become turned off by these lawyers who seize every opportunity to defend the status quo by shielding themselves under the cloak of legalese and ambiguous laws crafted by them- all the while basking in growing personal reputations of being defenders of law and order. The irony is that our once pristine societies are crumbling as these silly games are being engaged.

A gullible citizenry continues to be manipulated by our so called political and educated class. We cannot critique a public service that is inefficient, the unions will defend to protect its profit and loss. The same unions are unable to attract 10% of its membership to annual elections to vote for members to serve on the executive council. We cannot attack the banks for charging high fees because protection comes in the form back room agreements to invest in gilt edged securities. We cannot attack the teachers when it is known the system has morphed to one where the standard of a school is as good as its last principal – then again the same can be opined about the BLP and DLP, the two political parties have become as good as its political leader.

Woe betide the few who dare to speak even from the underground.

80 thoughts on “Lawyers continue to undermine our freedoms

1. How many Barbadians lawyers and judges have served as Judges in the Cayman Islands, Turks and Caicos, Bermuda, British Virgin Islands etc.?

What is the record of these countries where money laundering and corruption is concerned?

Pretty sure if you look you will see some really big maguffy Barbadian lawyers have practiced there!!

• Sir Elliot Mottley served as a Court of Appeal Judge in the Turks & Caicos and later President of the Court of Appeal. He also sat as a Justice of Appeal in the Cayman Islands and he served as Attorney General in Bermuda.

• “We need leaders not in love with money but in love with justice. Not in love with publicity but in love with humanity. Leaders who can subject their particular egos to the pressing urgencies of the great cause of freedom…..a time like this demands great leaders.”
      Dr. Martin Luther King

2. Speaking of love of…other people’s money…

I thought that any payment of reparations should go DIRECTLY into the hands of the DESCENTS OF THE AFRIKAN ENSLAVED in Barbados…not to run another alleged SCAM…so what is THIS?

“Financial plan?
    Profit forecasts?

Net total cost for the other facilities are budgeted at US $820 Million United States dollars..

Total to include all contingencies and budget extras st 20% US $1.36 Billion (One Billion Three Hundred and Sixty Million United States Dollars) over 5 years.”

Do the taxpayers know anything about this seeing as it’s allegedly nearly a decade old.

3. Don’t worry, i got lots more, it’s only one thing can stop these exposures, they already know what it is….this can go on for a veddy, veddy long time….unless.

4. Author seems to forget when Barbados Judiciary ultimately reported to the British Privy Council. Know it all government officials knew better, we need a Caribbean Court of Justice, well how well has this worked out, invent another poorly thought out and implimented system that is being totally disfunctional.

Food for thought.

5. Just a comment..
    If you drop a few words in a post and there is not a reference or a link, then a newcomer would have no idea what you are talking about.

Yor lots more will basically be reduced to be just random words..

6. If your car was giving you serious problem and your local mechanic told you “Just rotate the tires”, then I know you would seek a second opinion.

And let’s assume that there is some remedy in rotating the tires, then if one of the tires is bad you may only be increasing your problems by moving the bad wheel around.

In the real world, it could be even worse.

Instead of Barbadians getting cheated by other Bajans, now we would have guys from other islands having access to our vulnerable population. If a Bajan cannot get justice against another crooked Bajan in Barbados, then how on earth would he get justice against a crooked Martian who has already left the island.

Sometimes, I wonder how M̶i̶a̶ our government official come up with these beautiful schemes. The would pick your pocket and have you believe they are helping you.

Sacm spotted.

7. “Some will hear Mottley and be distracted by the red, others will pars the statement for what it is, a truism.”

As you can see the statement is incomplete. Here is how it should have been written

“Some will hear and be distracted by the red, others will parse the statement for what it is, a truism and the scam fighter will find the scam.”

8. You will be shocked how many people know about this, just do the financial calculations and a whole story will emerge…

…. for years there have been cries of foul whenever people’s lands were taken up allegedly for government projects, under the guise of eminent domain….but ended up in private hands….many times allegedly without the owner’s knowledge or permission and those who actually know about the sales allegedly, never got/get paid for their estates….false pretenses?

So in this billion dollar project that taxpayers know nothing about….here is a promise to purchase, but will they actuslly pass the money or will it be an Arawak pon the replay….

“Once total budget financing has been completed the funds will be used as follows:

Land Purchase 312 acres ….US 40 million.

Break water, jetties and landfill…US 180 million.”

Another landfill, did they not screw up the last one?

Have to share in bits so it can be thoroughly digested.

9. Warning: I did not read the article and so my comments may be off of the mark.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2023/04/22/name-change-for-council/

Do you know if a Bajan was captain of the Titanic then the Titanic would not have sunk?
    On seeing the boat about to hit the iceberg the captain would have said.. “you there, stop rearranging the deck chairs and go change the name of this ship to Unsinkable”

You were warned. Go read.

10. “We need to start rotating judges and magistrates in the region to ensure that there is not the familiarity with counsel and other circumstances and things that people take for granted.”

I empathise with the above views as expressed by our supreme leader.

Whilst she is in this reflective move. I ask her to reconsider her appointment of her special envoy: Avinash Persaud. Mr Persaud is an unelected member of the BLP. He appears to be Mia’s shadow and maybe the second most powerful “politician” in Barbados. This is unethical.

I remain puzzled as to why a non-politician or someone who is not involved in our local political scene could become an ambassador to the UAE. Mia, alone, appointed the son of a shopkeeper of Arab/ Muslim descent, to do the bidding for a majority black country. This cannot make sense. Whose interest do you think this young man will serve?

It is unethical for a Prime Minister of any country to twin the role of both Prime Minister and the Minister of Finances. What we would call in the UK the Chancellor of the Exchequer. May I suggest that Mia steps down from one of these roles?

On a final note, which some may say is trivial. I have noted since Mia become our Prime Minister she has modelled an enormous number of scarves. Has she purchased these scarves or has she been given them as gifts. If it is the latter then under parliamentary law she has to declare them as gifts.

Some of us have never forgotten how Mia bestowed a knighthood for her papa.

The list is endless.

https://www.economist.com/by-invitation/2022/12/07/avinash-persaud-on-how-to-boost-investment-in-climate-protection

11. Mia said,
    “We need to start rotating judges and magistrates in the region to ensure that there is not the familiarity with counsel and other circumstances and things that people take for granted.”

Here’s the reality as witnessed in the infamous: the Integrity in Public Life Bill.

“However, the bill came in for criticism. One controversial clause stated that no investigations into alleged acts of corruption could take place if an official had left public service for more than two years.”

https://insightcrime.org/news/barbados-at-crossroads-with-rising-homicide-rate/

• The Planning permission cannot be stopped – else Barbados will be sued for millions.

Who gave the ‘planning permission’ Bushie wonders? ….NOT THE MINISTER?

Perhaps this is a deeper issue than meets the eye…

The AG needs to be more expansive…

• @BushGriot, do you know something others don’t!!!

As you would say: ‘wha expansive, what’!

Of course by title the Minister would approve such applications and just as surely all the players in such a potential high-wire political act will very carefully attach all the legal safety harnesses to assure success.

They have years of doing these acts and unlike that lady recently who fell to her death while performing another high-wire act they are not going to be careless and fly without safety precautions: in their matter, get all LEGAL (even if unscrupulously received) approvals.

So back to the first square: do you know something of missing dotted ‘i’ or crossed ‘t’ that would prevent the govt from getting their backside sued if they stopped the project!

12. Video clip going around stating they trapped themselves in their own slickness and gotta see it through to the end…

.Karma and Retribution…Ra!!!

13. Sorry, it is an audio clip not video clip.

More tomorrow on the secret project taxpayer’s know nothing about but will cost them their inheritance and if anyone is dumb enuff to pay reparations it will disappear just like the loans, the vat, the pension fund and billions in the treasury…..anyone heard the Auditor General lately…

Pacha…am seeing where it is said that states are looking into their own currencies…that should cause some consternation in certain circles.

14. Don’t forget the subject matter:.

“Financial plan?
    Profit forecasts?

Net total cost for the other facilities are budgeted at US $820 Million United States dollars..

Total to include all contingencies and budget extras at 20% US $1.36 Billion (One Billion Three Hundred and Sixty Million United States Dollars) over 5 years.

Access roads and services …US$30 million

Shipping bunker and general facilities ….US $20 million.

Cruise supply warehouse facilities….US $15 million

Duty free and entertainment complexes……US $25 million

Net total cost for the port facility is budgeted at US $310 Million ”

Big plans enuff, but int telling the TAXPAYERS/descendants of the enslaved a word…

15. @Hants,
    Your post surprised me, but I found it on page 49/49 of the epaper.

The AG’s stance does not surprise me. His initial position was not a hard defense of the people but it was to issue some vague and general statements as words of comfort to the people. One would have thought that his hard-on could not get any softer, but this new position position tells us what the outcome will be. Note that his now limp stance on one the side of the people side of the issue has will end on an erection for the other side.

From BT
    “There is going to be a development on that location. The individual already has Town Planning permission and this Government, we don’t have any capacity in law to stop him. If we tried, there is no doubt that we will be facing a multi million dollar lawsuit.

For better or worse, whatever you may feel about it as an individual, when an entity [or] a person has been given planning permission the Government has to honour it. If you got planning permission to build a shed, we couldn’t come and say stop. Whoever comes to Barbados to do business . . . they have to respect our traditional rights and those traditional rights are determined largely by law . . .,” said Marshall.

*** When these matters come to the public attention, the final outcome has already been decided. Expected outrage and protests are massaged to nothingness.

Conclusion:
    The fact that the judge did not order the structure destroyed was a firm indication this matter was already settled. It should not be surprising if citizens will eventually have to squeeze their bodies through some small opening, dodge patches of cow-itch and slip and slide their way to the beach.

This harsh defeat which will be packaged and sold as a victory; and idiots will think they won.

• Attorney Pile practising again

Pile was jailed for three years minus the 94 days she had spent on remand. ( HLE) Here, Attorney Vonda Pile (right) leaving court with her client David Dupre yesterday.

A familiar face was back at the Bar table yesterday – attorney Vonda Pile who was released from prison in January this year after serving time for theft of a client’s money.

She was in the District “A” Traffic Court representing accused David Eric Dupre of Laynes Road, Brittons Hill, St Michael. Dupre is charged with causing serious bodily harm to Keith Barrow with intent on December 11, 2015.

After representing Dupre, Pile later declined to speak to the Weekend Nation, saying she had clients waiting and that she was never known to speak to the media.

Inside the courtroom the attorney had been her usual fiery self.

“I heard the officer (Prosecutor Sergeant Verdon Forde) saying at this late stage some eight years down the line he wants to serve disclosure. My ears still working very sharp. The time is coming when I will be making a certain application before you,” Pile told the court.

Acting Magistrate Alison

Burke stood down the matter and when it was recalled Sergeant Forde revealed disclosure had been served, but Dupre said he had not received it.

Magistrate Burke then adjourned the matter until May 11 for disclosure to be served.

In 2019, Pile, of Madison Terrace, Deacons Farm, St Michael, and a 30-year veteran of the legal fraternity, was convicted, by majority verdict, for stealing US$96 008, between April 29, 2009, and October 26, 2010, from Bajan/New Yorker businessman Anstey King.

(HLE)

16. It is refreshing that at least Theo ‘gets it’ ….

This reinforces the maxim that ..
    You can’t fool ALL of the Brass bowls …. NOT ALL of the time….

On the other hand..
    The lukewarm among us don’t even NEED to be made fools of, …this attribute is self-inflicted where there is neither hot nor cold….

• Smile😎😊 … @BushGriot, I am sure that the blogger ‘gets it’ too and that’s an important first step for all of us as we attempt to resolve any issues!

Yet, those who have created the issues also ‘get it’, bigly. So they are already layering their next stage of subterfuge to further bamboozle and strip away our rights.

Without getting to overstated even for us in Bim and this issue up in St. Jospeh, the brazen method of stripping of rights (specifically in US but in Russia and others too) is an important lesson on new layering threats.

Years ago in US as progressives fought publicly on how conservatives were taking away rights on abortion or racial equality and such, the conservatives were quietly and effectively ‘gerrymandering’ local districts/state boundaries to ensure their reps would be elected and they were also doubly working to get conservative voices in key judicial posts.

Voila, … the die was well cast as the damning effects of that became clear to everyone … NOW we discovered that they moved on to layering very real attempts to empower ‘fake electors’ and other ‘legal-illegal’ acts and to use their appointed judicial officers (at Supremes and other) to ‘validate’ these acts and otherwise make unsettling new judgements.

The point is simple brother: there is nothing warmed-over about stating the facts. Issues at Joe’s Rivers are not going to be resolved simply by ‘exposing’ the wrong doing… NO. The culprits have already carefully ‘sealed’ their deeds with all the required ‘legal’ glue and will have other threats ready even as the earlier ones are exposed.

We need to either completely mash-up that glue by similiar effective legal means (do we “GET THAT” and do we have a clear path-rough as it may be – to so do) … or rather, do we plan to just blow things up!

• Attorney to learn fate today
      TODAY IS DECISION DAY for convicted attorney Norman Leroy Lynch.
      He is scheduled to be sentenced by Justice Randall Worrell for theft and money laundering offences by the No. 2 Supreme Court.
      Lynch, 73, of Grassfield Gap, Martindales Road, St Michael, was back in court last Friday, after he was found guilty, at a previous Session of the Continuous Sittings, of engaging in money laundering, in that he directly engaged in transactions totalling $457 634 being the proceeds of crime, between June 22, 2007 and December 21, 2008.
      He was convicted of stealing $50 000, between August 18, 2005 and December 21, 2008, belonging to the estate of Arthur Oneal Thomas, as well as stealing $407 634 in money, between June 22, 2007 and December 21, 2008, the proceeds of a FirstCaribbean Bank cheque which was made payable to Leroy Lynch and which belonged to Thomas’ estate.
      Senior State Counsel Olivia Davis and Senior State Counsel Romario Straker represented the prosecution.
      (HLE)

• Another lawyer jailed
      by HEATHER-LYNN EVANSON heatherlynevanson@nationnews.com

CALLING HIS ACTIONS a breach of trust, a High Court judge yesterday sentenced attorney Norman Leroy Lynch to nine years in jail for stealing almost half-million dollars from the estate of a client 15 years ago.
      However, the 73-year-old will spend just over five years after deductions have been made.
      He becomes the fourth lawyer, in the last four years, to be jailed for stealing a client’s money.
      Lynch, of Grassfield Gap, Martindales Road, St Michael, was back in the No. 2 Supreme Court yesterday, after he was found guilty, at a previous Session of the Continuous Sittings, of engaging in money laundering, in that he directly engaged in transactions totalling $457 634, being the proceeds of crime, between June 22, 2007 and December 21, 2008.
      Convicted of theft
      He was convicted of stealing $50 000, between August 18, 2005 and December 21, 2008, belonging to the estate of Arthur Oneal Thomas, as well as stealing $407 634 in money, between June 22, 2007 and December 21, 2008, the proceeds of a FirstCaribbean Bank cheque which was made payable to Leroy Lynch and which belonged to Thomas’ estate.
      Senior State Counsel Olivia Davis and Senior State Counsel Romario Straker prosecuted the matter.
      Yesterday, Justice Randall Worrell said it was accepted a custodial sentence would be imposed given the serious nature of the charges and the offences.
      “This court is of the opinion that the type of conduct in this matter must be frowned upon and any sentence should also be construed as giving a measure of protection to the public from these type of matters,” he said.
      “In your case it is highly unlikely, based on what has been said, that you will return to your practice or the practice of law, so the protection of the public issue does not arise. But clearly the deterrent effect would arise with respect of this particular matter,” the judge added.
      He then referred to the matters of attorneys Vonda Pile, Cheraine Parris and Ernest Jackman, adding that a custodial sentence was merited in Lynch’s case.
      “In this particular case there was, in effect, a breach of trust in your position as attorney at law for the estate and a sum of $457 000 has been lost to the estate,” Justice Worrell said, as he read the victim impact statement from the children of Arthur Thomas.
      “It is clear that this has had an effect on the beneficiaries of the estate of Mr Thomas. The estate was a client of yours, so the beneficiaries were therefore persons to receive the $457 000 which has been lost to the estate. No prospect of repayment to the beneficiaries looms.”
      He told the convicted attorney the non-repayment of the stolen money was an aggravating factor which played a part in the determination of the starting point of his sentence.
      “This, together with the breach of trust and amount the money involved and the absence of any mitigating features of the offence, results, in the court’s opinion, of a starting point, with respect of counts one and three, of nine years.”
      He said the starting point for count two, the theft of $50 000, would be 24 months.
      The judge noted he had considered Lynch’s age and health issues, his previously good character and that his pre-sentencing report had deemed him as posing a low risk of reoffending.
      No psychiatric Illness
      He also said he had considered that a psychiatrist had found the lawyer did not suffer from any psychiatric illness.
      Justice Worrell then deducted one year for the mitigating features and the 613 days Lynch had spent on remand.
      He also deducted 450 days for the delay in the matter and ordered Lynch to serve the remaining 1 857 days for the counts of money laundering and stealing $407 634 in money. Those sentences start today and will run concurrently.
      He ordered time served for the second count.
      It was in 2019 that attorney Vonda Pile, of Madison Terrace, Deacons Farm, St Michael, was convicted, by majority verdict, of stealing US$96 008, between April 29, 2009, and October 26, 2010, from Bajan/New Yorker businessman Anstey King.
      She was jailed for three years less the 94 days she had spent on remand.
      The following year, attorney Cheraine Nicole Parris, of Lowlands, Christ Church, was sentenced to six years, but was ordered to serve four years after deductions, for stealing $302 000 belonging to Ashleigh Morrison, between April 15 and August 20, 2010, and engaging in money laundering.
      Last year, attorney Ernest Winston Jackman, of Wiltshire Plantation House, St Philip, was convicted of stealing $678 414.75 belonging to HEJ Ltd, between June 23, 2006 and March 5, 2007, as well as engaging in money laundering in that he disposed of sums totalling $678 414.75 being the proceeds of crime.
      He was jailed for seven years but ordered to serve the remaining six years, 151 days after deductions.

17. There is a similar story that I have been following.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2023/01/13/tourism-development-planned-for-oistins/

RT from BT
    “And there has not been and never will there be any plan to relocate these persons along with tourism development that may take place,” the MP assured. “There must continue to be that harmonious relationship, there must continue to be that marriage between big business and small business and the market. These people must stay in their homes. For as long as we have something called government, which is about organising a society, the people who presently toil in these places must continue to be allowed to do so.”

** Sit and watch that as this project advances, the representative will execute a pirouette and glide easily in the opposite direction.
    –x–

Your head is hard, so I am going to repeat it. Words of these politicians ( (B & D) are just words; they mean nothing. The world is catching up to us with the use of chatbots; we have had chatbots as politicians mouthing sweet nothings to us for quite some time.

Keep this phrase in mind as you hear the various schemes and plan.
    If it isn’t a sham, it is a scam.

18. Lawyers are low life scum who bullshit and charge large
    Nowadays you can access forms and templates and do it yourself

19. They are selling out both sides of the island…and waiting, hoping and prayyng that some fool…when there are NONE in the metrpolis that i know of ..will give them BILLIONS of dollars in reparationsc to build their SCAM .

.so they and their criminal partners can SKIM from the top…TIEF 3/4 of it in an even bigger SCAM …to offshore everywhere ..all off the backs of our enslaved ancestors and the horrors they experienced….while descents get NOTHING, but $4US an hour jobs, if they are lucky, and the criminal syndicate get to laugh all the way to the bank..

20. He obviously hasnt had experience with other governments…Caribbean governments are well known thieves…that is their primary occupation..

.taking care of the people’s business as paid civil servants comes in a distant 4th…so many masters to appease along with their criminal syndicates to keep in business…

They wear too many hats and priorities are centred around SELF ONLY .

21. “Other estimated costs for the following:

Water Sewage Waste Treatment Facilities…..US$ 30 million

20 Mw Power Station Solar & Waste …….US$ 60 million”

Don’t that sound like another Cahill SCAM to you…whatever happened to that case where the crazy white woman, dead Cow’s other half….sued RoB for not giving them the money to run the scam…while RoB was looking to them for money to run their own scam..both had the same self enrichment scheme….so lawsuit….lol

Anyhoo….back to business of the scam variety.

“One 500 Room Hotel for passenger overnight stays between cruises…US $160 Million

Cargo ships and airplanes for transporting goods between the islands….US$ 80 Million

22. But wait….it gets so much better….here is the after-thought..

“Refurbishment of Hospital, establishing and building new businesses, such as modern chicken farms, fresh water fish farms, Vegetable and animal farming, telecommunications network, manufacturing, education and training facilities… US$ 450 Million”

I suggest you dont hold ya breath for any of that benefitting Afrikan descended people as a collective ..

But..the plans get even more grandiose…

“Purchase a bank ….US$ 38 Million

Set up Private Bank in Barbados…US$2 Million

Now the last 2 i would have to ask Empire…what the hell do these know about private banking outside of setting up scams….

It is clear the whole intent is to keep the Afrikan population permanently TRAPPED under the evil slave codes and destroyed generationally by racism, apartheid, oppression, suppression, exploitation, disempowerment, as begging borrowing dependants, so they and their crime syndicate can benefit..

23. One person immediately noted, that there was NOTHING in any of it about viable JOB CREATION outside of serving tourists and low paying jobs on farms, plantations etc…

That is who they are, wannabe slave masters…even the continent is taking note…cant clean up that filthy image….neither soap, water or disinfectant can wash it away..

24. Bushman….what do ya think of how ya reparations money ALREADY GOT SPENT…..and not by you, cause ya aint getting a cent…..lol

Ya int benefitting from any of it either…..

They counted every chicken before they hatched…..

25. See Pacha…i kept my word about not putting any damaging information out there after my injury case…cause if ya word does not mean something you should not give it, this is the second year….

But these reveals and events where my family and i are CONTINOUSLY under previously unknown THREATS to our very existence…..changed everything…..so this, as ugly, disrespectful and morals/ethics lacking as it is….is an early indication and warning system of how much UGLIER it can ALL get if i preceive anymore dangers to my and my family’s lives……..unless…..then i will shut shop permanently this time because i see no reason for threats to continue…unless they really want a full blown WAR….one they CANNOT WIN under these circumstances…..they were given MORE THEN enuff rope…let’s see what they do with it…

• @Yolande Grant – African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. on April 24, 2023 at 7:09 AM said:

You raised a very interesting point at 7.09 am, concerning the deficit of real job creation apart from the usual service/tourism model.

“Not a nail is to be made in the colonies!” Was a term used by the Brits that would blunt the progression of their slaves. A term that I have never heard.

Take a look under the heading nine: Technological Transfer in the link below.

Now ask yourself this question, with regard to the above, has anything changed in Barbados during the interim years since we gained our independence?

We all, Bush Tea included, have to accept that the UWI have churned out a remarkably high number of well educated students over many years. The majority of them are unable to capitalise on their education by generating their own businesses. Their gravitate towards the legal professions and so called white collared roles where they remain in perpetuity as employees.

I was hounded by one of your “pal’s” for calling Barbadians third class citizens; and referring to Barbados as a shit hole country. My views remain the same.

Long live the Republic!

https://caricom.org/caricom-ten-point-plan-for-reparatory-justice/

26. “with regard to the above, has anything changed in Barbados during the interim years since we gained our independence?”

Not one thing, African descended are STRUGGLING even more than when our foreparents 3-4 generations removed fought to get from under heavy poverty and criminalizing slave code laws still on statute books but wielded widely under those old demons back then, where businesses Afrikan descents created were destroyed stolen and financial freedom transferred to minority criminals while permanent barriers were set up to prevent any further enfranchisement..within Black communities….a good example….the transportation system was Black owned and well managed in the 60s abd 70s ……an evil ploy was developed … and giddily applied by these new demons….check out the black faces still implementing generational anti-Afrikan crimes against their own…..the only thing they remain competent at…

They indeed reduced Afrikan descents to 3rd and 4th class citizens with their insatiable appetite to keep the bribery train operating at high speed….cause they covet imperialist, elitist and billionaire status. ..covetousness will be the end of themm

Ya see TLSN…these created things have absolutely NO LOVE for their own people…..case in point…they KNOW in the last hundred years…once you give wealthy racists PLANNING PERMISSION to build anything on the island their FIRST intent/instinct is to marginalize Afrikan descents to retard their progress and happiness and treat them like Slaves..

.so what do these dangerous evil traitors do, give permission for that outcome. …then start the bullshit coverup…”not bout hey” (per the IDB survey coverup while sitting on the board and giving permission)..

..now ya hear the head clown talking about the racists already have planning permission and if we do this or that we can get sued…but you liars and sellouts gave planning permission knowing this would happen AS LAWYERS…

….or they would come with…. de beaches are not private or some such excuse…but their bank accounts read upward in the millions…this is an undisputed fact……i dare them to send their Slaves and fowls out to attack and call my bluff…

27. Pacha…dont know if you are watching the UN Security Council meeting live right now, it is quite a thing.

I cant give an opinion on certain things, since being totally against all life and structure destroying wars.

28. Very good the awake population now see and understand who and what they are dealing with.

…the Afrikan population off whose backs and names billions of dollars in reparations are being potentially scammed are not even recognized as existing to benefit from any of it….you do not exist in the eyes of the nastiest Judases who ever haunted our earth. I would watch my back even more than usual..

It’s clear exactly whom these traitors in black face have earmarked to progress and generate immense wealth from what does not belong to any of them…

Bushman…it gets even worse.

29. It will be interesting to see even after this level of exposure they are still so narcissitic and egotistically arrogant, they proceed with this TEMPLATE of THEFT.

But nothing can be put pass them,…even after they realized i was not going to expose anymore of their criminal evil because my injury case, as far as i was concerned, was closed, over. They still proceeded to prompt their wretched little enablers to attack me nonstop…until their decades old crimes got fully exposed recently, prompting me to deal with this once and for all…so the wicked who curse and stain our earth with their vile evil presence, may not even care, remain undeterred and carry out their heist if there is no resistance. The hardest thing is to know.

30. Ironic is it not though, the descents of slavers who recently set up a movement so others can join are also looking to set up charities to distribute according to needs, which i personly dont agree with either cause it’s a debt. OWED and being repaid…NOT charity…, but much better than putting billions of dollars in the hands of parliament thieves…so they and their side kick minority cartel friends can splurge and skim…..as a career goal..

Hopefully neither of them see a dime in their hands and it ALL goes directly to descents…..

They can then look back at their Template of Theft and cry…

31. Couple days ago i listened to a voice note highlighting the actions of the island’s minorities who love to rush to the front to grab and control land, money/tax dollars, all the businesses, control of vaccine purchases and distribution all enabled by the famous crabs like they are entitled and it all belongs to them………well looks like they have RUSHED TO THE FRONT…one too many times in their greedy ambitions to exploit and oppress the Afrikan descended.

According to what the speaker said…they are more likely than not on a named list regarding the vaccine sham and headed to Nuremberg just like their enablers…for their date with destiny for allegedly setting up sham charities, complete with round table and the other shenanigans they acted out during that period…..we were told to stay tuned that long prison sentences, and dont discount a date with a cousin of le guillotin in their futures too…at least they got notice…something to look forward to….

Am yet to meet anyone, including yours truly who would waste time or energy to shed a tear for any of those types…everyone wants to see the end of all of them and their disabling, destructive greed and corruption…

32. @ David,
    Mia claimed that she would not be content unless Barbados built a hotel corridor from the west coast to the south coast.

Is Mia aware that this model has brought nothing but distress to the locals and mass scale corruption.

I was interested in Alvin’s contribution to the Pure Beach – Pure Fantasy post from yesteryear as there are a couple bloggers who have recently added a few comments to the above post.

It’s a sad reminder that Barbados has a long, long history of mal governance, and that corruption is endemic amongst our leaders; particularly those who have a legal background, from as far back as you can go.

Barbados remains a safe haven for the criminal minded. I feel sorry for the masses.

Here is Alvin’s post:

Alvin Cummins on September 27, 2016 at 7:19 PM said:

@David,
    Fraud; like Four Seasons..conceptualized by the Pembertons and sold by the Pembertons until the scam was foisted on to the Government of the last administration; passed on to the present administration. Fraud; like the Harlequin “adventures”, Fraud like the Villa Nova (internal) Hotel, Pembertons again, Another private venture,’ rescued’ by the purchase by CLICO, The Harlequin Development that was to take place at Arrowsmith, in St. Philip. Like the purchase of Sam Lords, by CLICO to save the Grants’ money, until this was ‘rescued’ by The Judicial Manager and foisted on to the Government (present), and on it goes. Will the Hyatt become Another private venture that becomes a millstone around the neck of Government? Pure Resorts began many years ago, (check and find out how long ago.
    When Apes Hill was conceptualized it was projected that over a billion dollars was going to be invested in the project; to include land at Bath intended to contain luxury Beach bungalows. That part of the project was still-born, but Apes Hill Golf course moved on. I remember writing the Editor of the Nation a letter and questioning who was underwriting the project. Of course no answer was forthcoming.
    So, let us continue the questioning.I forgot yo mention the proposed Hotel Development that was to take place at NorthPoint.WhAT ABOUT THAT?

33. TLSN..it was revealed and established that they live double lives….exposed everywhere just last week that they sit on up to 5 boards of Empire, but kept it secret from the people for decades, like they got caught lying re the IDB survey while sitting on the board and pretended they never knew what the survey was about, remember..”not bout hey”…….

..while they run corruption freestyle and when caught, blame Empire for everything, but….they have permission giving powers on every board, they just never wanted the Black population on the island to find out how they sell out…..or about their double role.

They use Empire as the fall guy for their corruption, their well kept secret as employees of Empire is now out there….and are now forced to take responsibility for their wicked actions…

34. Told yall the traitors in black face were political performers, call them what you want, performing ponies, performing monkeys, both fit to perfection..

..saw the EVIL in them….since i was a teenager and always disliked them…..i also picked up at that age that they knew things about us, information they SHOULD NEVER have in their possession…hence the nasty smirks and Judas pretenses i got from a child….

Pacha repeatedly told us over the years that THEY are the ones setting ANTI-African policies against us…wuh if you want to sit in Empire’s chair as an EMPLOYEE and double role performer…that is YOUR JOB….but they hid it from the population they LIE TO CONSTANTLY ..not anymore beetch ya BURNT…

35. “not bout hey”……..while sitting in Empire’s multiple CHAIRS…..

36. Some maybe wondering, but the reason my anger keeps escalating…some on BU were curious after my personal injury case and wanted details…i told them no details outside of generalizations because those players were no threat to me, therefore no exposures…..i actually planned to keep my word then, not realizing that THEY with their evil, covetous personas, totally unknown to me, have ALWAYS been the most dangerous threat to myself and entire family….

Took me 20 years to find the manifestation of pure evil, hiding behind many layers of dumb Slaves…that i long searched for….

37. I sincerely hope they have spoken to their EMPLOYER/Empire on how to end this…if they haven’t, they BETTER..

• @Sargeant

You are too cynical.

Were you that commenter to David Ellis that incisively opined many of our problems have not been addressed or gotten worse straddling both DLP and BLP administrations in the last 30 years or so? We have a few structural problems to solve.

38. For the record
    Four complainants in a case where a Bajan lawyer stole $624K have all died. Rightly, the case was dismissed.

TheO’s suggestion: If you are elderly, please pay your undertaker before filing a case against a lawyer. Your lawyer will be counting on the angel of death visiting you, so please ensure that you at least prepared (paid) for a decent burial. A word to the wise

• Bar: Be careful who you hire
      By Maria Bradshaw
      mariabradshaw@nationnews.com

The Barbados Bar Association (BBA) says it is “puzzled” about people engaging the services of attorneys who have been convicted of stealing their clients’ money.
      President Kaye Williams told the Sunday Sun that any attorney who has a criminal conviction for stealing from a client is deemed to have committed professional misconduct.
      “The Barbados Bar Association wishes to make it clear to the public that criminal convictions in respect of the theft of client funds are deemed professional misconduct pursuant to the Legal Profession Act. The BBA does not in any way condone, sanction or protect attorneys at law convicted of such offences or found guilty of professional misconduct. What is puzzling to the profession is whether the public is aware and if so, why clients continue to engage persons who have been convicted of offences relating to clients’ funds,” she stated.
      She made it clear the association was dissatisfied with the time it was taking to sanction attorneys who run afoul of the law.
      “The BBA is dissatisfied, indeed very unhappy, with the complex, lengthy process involved under the current Legal Profession Act for sanctioning attorneys for professional misconduct and is calling on the Government to act on the recommendations which the association made as long ago as 2017 in response to a proposal to modernise the Act. The BBA is aware that the Law Reform Commission is making progress on this and a bill will soon be produced for comments.
      This current lengthy process has caused a lot of disquiet within the legal profession,” she added.
      The senior attorney said the BBA could not discipline these lawyers.
      “The power to sanction attorneys found guilty of professional misconduct under the Legal Profession Act lies with the Disciplinary Committee and the Court of Appeal, not with the BBA, but the BBA is actively doing its part.”
      In relation to convicted attorneys Vonda Pile, who was released from prison in February, and Cheraine Parris, who is still serving a fouryear jail sentence for stealing thousands of dollars from a client, Williams disclosed that “once they were convicted, the BBA wrote to the then
      Registrar, asking for the record and conviction order so they could file a complaint with the Disciplinary Committee”.
      She added: “It took what the BBA considers to be an inordinate length of time for that official record to be issued to the BBA. As soon as that was received and once all appeals were exhausted in Ms Pile’s case (Ms Parris opted not to appeal), the BBA last year, even before Ms Pile was released, applied to the Disciplinary Committee for leave to lodge complaints with a view to sanctioning Ms Vonda Pile and Ms Cheraine Parris.”
      Can lodge complaint
      However, she interjected that aggrieved clients, the trial judge and the Registrar could also lodge a complaint as of right, but stressed: “The association cannot lodge a complaint as of right but must apply for leave to do so. Since then, the BBA’s legal team of Barry Gale KC, Andrew Thornhill KC and Laura Harvey Read have been attending hearings before the Disciplinary Committee.”
      In giving an update to the disbarment proceedings, the president confirmed that the legal team has hearings set before the Disciplinary Committee on May 16 for Parris and May 25 for Pile.
      She pointed out that the BBA has applied to have its complaint heard and to have sanctions applied, but added: “We cannot comment on the nature of the application or make any further statement as it is before the Disciplinary Committee and ultimately the Court of Appeal.
      “Once the Disciplinary Committee concludes its hearings and investigations, the Committee has to produce a report to the Court of Appeal within 21 days, recommending what disciplinary measures should be taken. The Court of Appeal fixes a date for a hearing and then applies the sanction they deem fit.”
      In terms of the much-talkedabout automatic disbarment for convicted attorneys, Williams said: “The BBA has submitted detailed recommendations for reform of the Legal Profession Act, which includes automatic or very swift sanctions to be applied by the Court of Appeal to attorneys on conviction. These detailed recommendations were made five years ago. They have been re-sent to the Office of the Attorney General and also to the Law Reform Commission.
      The BBA has been informed
      by the chairman of the Law Reform Commission, Sir David Simmons, that it is actively working on a new Legal Profession Bill for circulation and consultation with the Attorney General and the BBA.”
      When asked about the public concern that an attorney could walk out of prison and walk into a courtroom to practise law, she said: “Based on the communication we have received, the public is incensed, as are members of the legal profession and, rightfully so. The process to sanction an attorney is not done summarily, and must abide by all rules of natural justice. On the other hand, when it becomes a lengthy process, the result creates a perception that the commission of a crime occurred without penalty.”
      In terms of the status of recently convicted attorneys Ernest Jackman and N. Leroy Lynch who are presently serving time for also stealing money belonging to their clients, the BBA stated: “Since last year the BBA requested the conviction orders for Mr Ernest Jackman and Mr N.
      Leroy Lynch, and continues to await those documents which are needed to support the applications for leave to apply. The BBA has already prepared the necessary documents to file complaints to the Disciplinary Committee against Mr Jackman and Mr Lynch. The status of the process for Mr Jackman and Mr Lynch underscores what the association is saying about the need for reform and the inordinate length of time for this process.”

The Barbados Bar Association (BBA) has confirmed that it has no record of payment of Bar fees for attorney Vonda Pile, who was recently released from Dodds Prison after serving a three-year sentence for stealing $191 416.39 from a former client.
      In 2018, attorney Tariq Khan applied for Pile to be denied the right to represent her client in a civil matter, arguing that she did not pay her subscription fee to the BBA and therefore did not possess a valid practising certificate.
      The matter was heard before Justice Pamela Beckles who ruled that an attorney’s mandatory membership of the association was unconstitutional.
      Pile at the time had also argued that the annual subscription was an imposition on her guaranteed right to freedom of association under Section 21 of the Constitution, making void Sections 44 and 45 of the Legal Profession Act,
      which requires an attorney to pay the annual subscription fee and become a member in order to receive a practising certificate.
      However, in 2019, the Court of Appeal struck down that ruling and held that lawyers must be members of the association in order to practise here, under current law.
      It noted that “Section 3(1) of [the Legal Profession Act]
      Cap. 370A mandates the Registrar of the Supreme Court to keep a register of attorneys at law, to be known as ‘the Roll’, on which shall be registered the name of every person entitled to practise law in Barbados.
      Cannot practise
      “And according to Section 10, while every person whose name is entered on the roll shall be known as an attorney at law, he/she cannot practise unless the person holds
      a valid practising certificate and pays the annual registration fee.”
      Last Friday, Pile, who also has another criminal charge for stealing from another client pending against her, turned up at the District “A” Traffic Court to represent a client.
      When asked if Pile had paid her fees, BBA president Kaye Williams stated: “Section 44 of the Legal Profession Act provides that a practising certificate issued by the Registry to an attorney at law is not valid until the annual subscriptions payable to the Bar Association are paid. In other words, an attorney can pay the Registry for their practising certificate, but until they pay Bar fees, the certificate is not valid. At the time of responding, the BBA has no record of payment of subscriptions by Ms Pile for the current year.”
      (MB)

39. @ David and Sargeant,

How does jailing and disbarring lawyers help the clients recover the money that was stolen?

You realise that witholding a client’s money could be a death sentence for a seriously ill person ? #air ambulance from Barbados

• @Hants

It does not under the current arrangement. Are clients funds guaranteed if a lawyer is fingered for fraud over there?

40. @ David,

It does not matter to me what obtains in Canada.

I live on old age pension and have no assets in Canada.

41. Are clients funds guaranteed if a lawyer is fingered for fraud over there?
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Even if clients funds are not guaranteed,
    …shiite Man!!!
    Can we at least be assured that these CLIENT’s FUNDs are audited annually – like EVERYONE ELSE on Earth ..except brass bowl Bajan thieving lawyers?

What level of depravity exists, where a potential client trying to sell a house, is FORCED to hand hundreds of thousands of dollars over to some shiite lawyer – and CANNOT be assured that at LEAST an annual audit has been done on the clients’ money held by that lawyer….?

No wonder we have no local banks…. each damn lawyer is an unregistered, unregulated bank… with a license to thief and launder….

…then to have this lawyer woman expect that some desperate brass bowl should be able to keep track of which lawyer has been convicted by the courts, which cases were dismissed after all witnesses died… and the others not yet caught, who have never yet been audited…

Steupsss
    …you notice that the presidents all seem to be female and cute???
    PR!!

What is the FSC there for again…?
    Steupsss

• Law review
      AG tells of plans for justice reform committee
      AN ENDURING JUSTICE REFORM COMMITTEE looking at getting rid of old laws and amending some others is going to be set up.
      Attorney General Dale Marshall revealed that the committee, which will be chaired “more than likely jointly by the Chief Justice and myself”, with one of its principal responsibilities being following up on “the initiatives that we decide to embark on today, receiving feedback as we go forward”.
      He was speaking to the media at Hilton Barbados yesterday evening where Part 2 of a Symposium On The Criminal Justice System was taking place. He added that he was unable to provide specifics of any major outcomes at the time because deliberations were ongoing.
      “In addition to the committee being set up to oversee the entire process of criminal justice reform, we expect to come away with some decisions on important legislative items that we want to enact. The kind of things that are currently being considered by the committee would be such things as judge-alone trials, amendments to the Evidence Act, amendments to the Juries Act.
      “To be very candid, a lot of our laws, and they’re not all old laws, some of them date back 20, 25 years, some of them a lot older, but a lot of them have simply not kept pace with the developments of the law or the developments
      of technology. So, something that might have been relevant only ten years ago is really not so much relevant now.”
      He reiterated that the system was hamstrung by a major backlog in cases to be tried.
      “We have a very cloggedup system that is typified by backlog. By now we have about 100 homicide trials that are waiting to be heard in the system, so they just have to go before judges. We have just shy of 300 relating to firearms, so we simply must get rid of the backlog. No matter how many judges we throw at the system, unless we change the underlying structures in terms of the legal framework, in terms of the procedural framework, in terms of our staffing or use of technology, we will simply not be able to achieve the kind of results that we want in terms of getting rid of the backlog,” Marshall said.
      In attendance
      The symposium, hosted by the Office of the Attorney General, was attended by members of the judiciary, magistracy, the police high command, prison officers, lawyers and other key stakeholders. It was aimed at coming up with solutions that would be “very impactful on the reform of our system”.
      Stating the committee will be one “for the foreseeable future” as there will always be a need for criminal justice reform, Marshall said there might be a shift in its focus to efficiency or “from the courts to the police at another time”.
      “I don’t see an end to the life of this committee. I think that how the criminal justice system works is always something that always has to be under review. So certainly, for as long as I’m in this office, I expect to see that committee working. I can’t speak for who comes after me,” he said.
      Marshall added any punishment that has to be imposed must be “done quickly, and a system that is slow, a system that is not responsive, will see exactly what is plaguing us now, happening”.
      “What we have been seeing are a number of instances where individuals who are on bail get charged with similar offences, with multiple offences, often with more serious offences, and the only way we can address that is to try to make sure that trials go through quickly.
      “And really that’s one of the principal reasons why we’re here, not just for the sake of reform only, but because that reform, however it looks, is intended to keep Barbadians safe.”
      He said no workable solution was off the table, so areas such as the current paper committal for jury trials, introducing a ticketing system for road traffic offences, expansion of the powers of magistrates, plea bargaining and using alternative dispute resolution in criminal matters were being considered. (GBM)

42. I saw where a senior lawyer not only had kind and complimentary words for Mr. Nicholls but also cast him in the role of a victim.

Yes, victim!

A next lawyer may consider you (his thieving colleague) as a victim after you have made off with over $600k of your client’s fund.

One would have thought that they would have taken the ‘perverted victory’ and remain silent, but No! They now set about to bring this lawyer back in the fold as a honored member.

There is no justice when a thieving friend or colleague cannot be called a thief. This demonstrates our legal folks lack character, ack of honesty and are clan of bold face liars who would attempt to twist reality.

43. It is almost as if we are acting out the script of Animal Farm
    “The creatures outside looked from pig to man, and from man to pig, and from pig to man again; but already it was impossible to say which was which.”

But in our case it is worse… a place where complainants (dead victims) can be presented in a negative light and the ‘criminals’ become the victims. Soon we will not know who are the victims.

44. @ David
    Is Bushie operating at 50% brain function – as 555 suggests…?
    ..or is there a LOT more to this latest thieving lawyer story about Nicholls?

Did we not hear about serious INTERNAL attempts in a certain law firm to pin all kinds of allegations, threats and even punishment against this ‘victim’ – coming out of whistleblowing-type revelations from Nicholls?

Passing strange is it not… that the system can bring a case like this – only to ‘discover’ that every damn body dead…!!
    Would you have thought that BEFORE going to trial, they would have checked on the availability (and existence) of victims and witnesses?

Bushie MAY be paranoid (and is DEFINITELY a conspiracy advocate) so the bushman’s inclination is that this looks like a ploy to paint this man as an evil crooked person – EVEN WHERE THIS CANNOT BE ESTABLISHED IN COURT.
    It is as if, having failed to lock his donkey up, (or worse) for spilling the internal beans, they have now settled for destroying his reputation so that his story can be dismissed…

This shiite is more binding than marriage…
    Wunna may choose to fall for that shiite play,
    …but not stinking Bushie…

Too many thieving lawyers have been far TOO keen to persecute this particular lawyer, to convince Bushie that he is just another a ‘thieving team player’….

• DISBARMENT CHALLENGE
      POWER TO SANCTION LAWYERS WITH DISCIPLINARY COMMITTEE, COURT OF APPEAL
      By Emmanuel Joseph
      The Barbados Bar Association (BBA) wants a complete revamp of the Legal Profession Act that would require the automatic or “very swift” suspension or disbarment of convicted attorneysat-law.
      The recommendation is contained in a statement issued by the Bar on Tuesday on the heels of last week’s return to practice by convicted lawyer Vonda Pile after she had served a three-year prison sentence for stealing a client’s funds.
      The association, which has taken steps to have Pile sanctioned, is also pushing for similar action against three other convicted attorneys – Ernest Jackman, Norman Leroy Lynch and Cheraine Parris who are serving seven, five and four years in jail respectively for theft of clients’ money and money laundering.
      “The BBA is calling for a complete revamp of the Legal Profession Act which would see convicted attorneys facing either automatic, or very swift sanction by the Disciplinary Committee and the Court of Appeal, whether that sanction is suspension or disbarment, is up to them. We have made detailed recommendations to Government.
      “The Chairman of the Law Reform Commission has assured us they are working on it,” the BBA stated.
      The Bar acknowleged that criminal convictions related to the theft of clients’ funds are deemed professional misconduct, pursuant to the Legal Profession Act. It said that the organisation does not condone, sanction or protect attorneys-at-law convicted of such offences or who are found guilty of professional misconduct. However, the BBA contended that it cannot be held responsible for clients who continue to engage lawyers convicted of offences relating to clients’ funds.
      “The BBA is dissatisfied with the complex process involved under the current Legal Profession Act for sanctioning attorneys for professional misconduct. In 2017, the association called on government to act on recommendations made to modernize the Act. The BBA is aware that the Law Reform Commission is making progress on this, and a Bill will soon be produced for comments,” the association added.
      The association complained that the current lengthy process has caused a lot of “disquiet” within the legal profession. It explained that the power to sanction attorneys found guilty of professional misconduct under the Legal Profession Act lies with the Disciplinary Committee of the Bar and the Court of Appeal, not with the BBA. The Bar, however, gave the assurance that it is actively doing its part.
      “Following the conviction of Ms. Vonda Pile and Ms. Cheraine Parris, the BBA wrote to the then Registrar, asking for the record and conviction Order to file a complaint with the Disciplinary Committee. It took an inordinate length of time for that official record to be issued,” the BBA recalled. “As soon as it was received and once all appeals were exhausted in Ms. Pile’s case (Ms. Parris opted not to appeal), the BBA last year – before Ms. Pile was released – applied to the Disciplinary Committee for leave to lodge complaints with a view to sanctioning Ms. Vonda Pile and Ms Cheraine Parris,” the statement continued.
      “It should be noted that, aggrieved clients, the trial Judge and the Registrar, can lodge a complaint as of right…The association cannot lodge a complaint as of right but must apply for leave to do so,” the representative body stated. It pointed out that since then, the BBA’s legal team of Barry Gale K.C., Andrew Thornhill K.C. and Laura Harvey Read has been attending hearings before the Disciplinary Committee.
      “The BBA can confirm that its legal team has hearings set before the Disciplinary Committee on May 25th for Ms. Pile and May 16th for Ms. Parris. The BBA has applied to have its complaint heard and to have sanctions applied,” the statement outlined.
      “Apart from that we cannot comment on the nature of the application or make any further statement as it is before the Disciplinary Committee and ultimately the Court of Appeal,” the association said.
      The Bar gave the assurance that once the Disciplinary Committee concludes its hearings and investigations, the Committee has to produce a report to the Court of Appeal within 21 days, recommending what disciplinary measures should be taken. The Court of Appeal would then fix a date for a hearing, and apply the sanction it deems fit.
      “The BBA has submitted detailed recommendations for reform of the Legal Profession Act, which includes automatic or very swift sanctions to be applied by the Court of Appeal to Attorneys on conviction.
      These detailed recommendations were made five years ago.
      “They have been re-sent to the Office of the Attorney General and also to the Law Reform Commission. The BBA has been informed by the Chairman of the Law Reform Commission, Sir David Simmons, that it is actively working on a new Legal Profession Bill for circulation and consultation with the Attorney-General and the BBA,” the body announced.
      Addressing the public perception that lawyers can commit crimes and walk back into a court of law, the association questioned whether there should be a suspension period until the disbarment proceedings are concluded.
      “Based on the communication we have received, the public is incensed, as are members of legal profession and rightfully so. The process to sanction an attorney is not done instantly, and must abide by all rules of natural justice.
      On the other hand, when it becomes a lengthy process, the result creates a perception that the commission of a crime occurred without penalty.”
      The BBA explained that since last year it requested the conviction orders for Jackman and Lynch. The orders are still being awaited and are needed to support the applications for leave to apply.
      The statement disclosed that the association has already prepared the necessary documents to file complaints to the Disciplinary Committee against Jackman and Lynch. “The status of the process for Mr Jackman and Mr Lynch underscores what the association is saying about the need for reform and the inordinate length of time for this process.
      emmanueljoseph@barbadostoday.bb

45. Admission: I am beginning to feel like a Barbados lawyer. The only thing I need to confirm my qualifications is for someone to give me a large sum of money and see if i can make it disappear…

Somebody? Anybody? A large sum is needed.

Hants: This is how I know Hants is not a true friend. Please ask me for the account number for the deposit.

46. I just read Part 3 of the Vonda Pile story and I am confused as hell. I am strong on punishing lawyers, but, in some cases, it looks as if we might have to jail both complainants and lawyers.

Not going to hurt my head with foolishness. Everyone is a crook.

47. This is simple TheO
    The lawyer woman is an idiot!!!

You don’t think that SHE should have explained to the court that SHE had subsequently paid the people their money? ..and shown the evidence?

Only a JA would allow the matter to continue until the victims CHOSE to come and say that they EVENTUALLY got their due….

If Bushie was the client, … her donkey would be back up Dodds – cause ..NOT A WORD from the Bushman….!!!

48. Someone explained that story elsewhere.

Update: Jail the complainants, the crooked lawyer and give a life sentence to the journalists who cannot tell a story.

Take these reporters beyond copy, cut and paste and you get mostly gibberish.

The blogmaster dares you to join the discussion.