Specimen of New ID

Last week the blogmaster received an email from a lawyer which had the Barbados Identity Management Act attached. The comment by the lawyer sharing the Act, not Bill, was that the legislation raises concerns that should trouble Barbadians. The fact that it sailed through parliament without the public being aware should expose the shortcomings of our governance model as well as the media and other actors in civil society (including the blogmaster). Regrettably the average Barbadian these days is concerned with other matters and lawmakers take advantage. The few independents in the Upper House can do so much. A pity we never observe the same appetite from lawmakers when integrity laws are being debated.

In a related matter, the issue of the day is the decision by the government to replace the national ID card (NID) with a digital version. All agree the old NID needs to be replaced, the Stuart government tried and unsurprisingly failed to execute after frittering hundreds of thousands of tax dollars. 

See Barbados Identity Management Act.

The blogmaster has been keenly following public commentary on the new ID matter, on one hand government must be complimented for wanting to integrate the best technology to unlock maximum benefits for all stakeholders. The flip side is government has not earned the support from some members of the public how the project is being rolled out. High among concerns is the vulnerability of government’s IT system AND the type of information/services the new ID card will access. The chip on the card offers a secure way to protect information but what about at the backend? It is no secret government agencies are routinely impacted by cyber security breaches. Some will argue this is the reality of this modern world and we have to get on with it.

In 2018 when a representative from Estonia met with the then minister of foreign affairs Maxine Mcclean there was optimism from the blogmaster Barbados had access to a good resource. Estonia is regarded as a best in class model for the e-government platform introduced since 2005. The success of Estonia’s e-government program demonstrates what can be achieved but it must be done well. 

As usual Barbados has found itself bogged down in the politics of the matter which now threatens the benefits to the country of rolling out a digital ID. We will always have naysayers, doomsday analysts and the cynical- the reality is that there is nothing inherently wrong with rolling out a digital ID, other countries are converting manual based systems to digital, however, given the threats lurking in the cyber world and the balance we have to maintain to respect and protect personal identifiable information, the government and key stakeholders must ensure we efficiently implement, something we have struggled to do with uncomplicated projects.

See relevant article – Digital ID: The opportunities and the risks

148 responses to “Mistaken Identity”

1. Identity Document Cards Avatar
    Identity Document Cards

It’s a New World Order which is the same Odour as the Old World Order
    where Black South Africans refused to carry and burned their Identity Document Cards to protest the Apartheid Shitstem

2. The fact that it sailed through <>parliament without the public being aware should expose the shortcomings of our governance model as well as the media and other actors in civil society (including the blogmaster).
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

The word missing is unconstitutional!!

No leader of the opposition exists.

The act of an unconstitutional parliament is null, void and of no effect.

3. “The act of an unconstitutional parliament is null, void and of no effect.” said “the man” who couldn’t find a couple of sponsors to run and blamed corruption

4. “We will always have naysayers, doomsday analysts and the cynical- the reality is that there is nothing inherently wrong with rolling out a digital ID”

I begin where you ended.
    The reality is that there is nothing inherently wrong with rolling out a digital ID, but this should not be left to incompetents. Data must be safeguarded for once it is stolen it could be gone forever.

The numerous hacks would lead one to believe that our IT experts are not up to the job. Perhaps, I could pay for antivirus software, a cookie cleaner and offer IT services to Bajan companies. It may be just that easy.

5. @ David
    Is this Digital ID nonsense not CLEARLY a scheme IMPOSED on the government of Barbados by certain international forces who wish to do the same at the GLOBAL level, but who need to have a PILOT PROJECT done in a small controllable jurisdiction first, so that they can test the waters..?

Barbados is an IDEAL choice. Brass bowls will accept ANY shiite.
    Did the Jamaica Court not rule this whole approach to be ILLEGAL?

How does FORCING every Bajan to submit to this digitization of their personal information – ALL in one place, get to be a national priority at this time?

Even if it starts with basic INNOCUOUS information, what is to prevent authorities from ADDING unlimited additional DATA – once the scheme starts…?
    …Data like which political party you voted for..
    …like your tax details, bank details, loans, and where you have been..?
    …What stops ‘leaders’ from using this wealth of knowledge to destroy political opponents – or even ordinary citizens who disagree with their antics?

Do YOU really think that it was a coincidence that none of these issues were up for discussion PRIOR to the bill being surreptitiously passed in the dark of night..?

The DARK forces of this world, having tested the waters with Covid-19 are now about to make the BIG play to FULLY control all brass bowls…
    It is no surprise that Barbados would be a natural pilot project.

Our donkeys BELONG to these evil forces, Bought and paid for, by the massive debts that our ‘enlightened’ leaders have been proudly accumulating….

BTW
    Like the now dead IADB school survey, this too will NOT go away – because the matter is above the pay grade of ANY of the jokers in our parliament.

6. @Bush Tea

We are if this work, all 166 square miles with our broke selves.

7. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. Avatar
    Yolande Grant – African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved.

“I could pay for antivirus software, a cookie cleaner and offer IT services to Bajan companies. It may be just that easy.”

Not cheap, but not overly expensive either…dont cost BILLIONS of dollars…they have many talented IT specialists out there, including in Barbados…got 3 in my family…but they will never work with such incompetents…

Kiki…they do not listen to experts…the know it alls…who know nothing at all.

8. Steuspe

9. What do you want to be when you grow up?

I made the wrong choices when I was young. I should have become an IT experts as I would now be busy charging some high fees. It appears no fixing is required.

Perhaps my thinking is wrong. What about a PSV operator? Can you imagine picking up a man headed for ST Lucy and telling him “You’ve arrived after turning two corners”. It appears that PSV operators and passengers reach the final destination well before the vehicle.d

Or I should have just stayed at home and be a thief. All you need is a legal gimmick and yan steal more than you can carry.

10. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. Avatar
    Yolande Grant – African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved.

Reflections…lol

“Or I should have just stayed at home and be a thief. All you need is a legal gimmick and yan steal more than you can carry..”

Ya will never tell us when ya lips remain in the permanent “steuppps” position..

11. It continues to challenge the mind how sone of you are able to distill any topic into nothingness.

12. Conspiracy theory
    I think BU is editing my text and making me look three times as stupid as I am actually.
    Two times I can accept, but three times? Man, have a heart.

13. “I should have become an IT experts ”

I am an IT experts worth 10 English 50 White South African and 100 American so called “IT experts” pah!

I can testify that all systems are shit

“Kiki…they do not listen to experts…the know it alls…who know nothing at all.”

my replies to you keep getting censored by the powers that be
    (the system is rigged)

14. I now understand why Mia is making a call for Barbadians to learn to speak Chinese!

https://www.aljazeera.com/economy/2023/3/3/china-beating-west-in-race-for-critical-technologies-report-says

15. Well Boss…
    You know what they say about being ‘broke’…
    A fool and his money are soon parted…

The other popular characteristic of a fool is not particularly flattering either…

Also… 166 square miles is a MAGICAL size.
    Small and NIMBLE, easy to educate, easy to communicate, PERFECT climate and environment, no natural dangers, 100% accessibility, paradise beaches…
    ..and the brass bowls here cannot even complain of being mistreated as minorities… They are 95% of the population.

CuhShiite Boss, tell Bushie how the Garden of Eden could have been any better?

Oh Wait!!!
    That was until Eve came along with her female self and led Adam by the bird into transforming Eden to ‘Hell’ didn’t she..??

Wasn’t it ALL because she wanted to taste the forbidden fruit at the ‘center of the garden’…? (…would that be like the ‘UN’…?)

These women with three lettered names….!!!!

16. @Bush Tea

We are small but seem to be as polarized as the big countries. What about the investment in education? Where is the ROEI?

17. Critical Analyzer Avatar

The huge problem with the new id cards is shown Schedule 5, Part II/III,points 10 – 15. These digital chips which I assume to RFID chips can be read from your pocket, wallet or handbag using special readers from near or far, decrypted and used for identity theft if the encryption is not done properly or encryption keys get stolen.

10) Electronic signature.
    11) Password.
    12) Certificate for electronic identification.
    13) Certificate for electronic signature.

What is the purpose of this signature info on the card?

14) Other representations or unique identifiers that may be stored electronically.

This must be specifically listed to be transparent and prevent gathering of unique identifiers that should not be gathered.

15) Other personal data required pursuant to
    (a) a relevant enactment; or
    (b) an international convention to which Barbados is a party

This needs to go.
    Why does an international convention dictate what we store on an ID card for use in Barbados?
    Why can the personal data required be changed by another enactment instead of adding it to this section in this law?

18. Dey can launch as many preemptive attacks as deemed necessary.

This writer is far more concerned about artificial intelligence (AI) systems which will eventually capture all of these databases.

Mention is made of Estonia but in Moldova the government has a new partner. Recognized as a new partner in governance.

That partner is an AI system on which the government has outsourced critical services and benefits determinations.

If we accept that these machines have no ability for humane moral judgement, beyond ones and zeroes.

Then maybe Elon Musk is right when he asserts that AI means “summoning the devil”.

It it possible, for example, that a self driven vehicle carrying a passenger for urgent medical attention and strikes a pedestrian to determine whether to stop or not.

We need look beyond digital ID to see what will follow. We are going tooooo far.

19. @555
    You need to learn how. To hit once and leave things be. No need for a protracted exchange.
    Two notes
    Try to be funny
    Post no scratchings

20. AI is not the solution to all of our problems. We are already aware that facial recognition programs have difficulty identifying some ethnic group. One of the reasons is that too few were included in the training samples … A lack of diversity.

Quite a few scientific algorithms including those in medical areas are known to have ‘in-built’ biases.

21. David
    on March 3, 2023 at 8:38 AM said:

It continues to challenge the mind how sone of you are able to distill any topic into nothingness.

Isn’t null, void and of no effect after all, nothingness!!

It is just like having an aging population and expecting it somehow to grow by 185,000 by 2035 as it gets older and yet still insist Barbados is for Bajans.

This is nothingness.

The obvious solution is to import 10K to 20K young fertile women so as not to dilute the Bajan population and leave the Bajan men to repopulate the island.

22. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. Avatar

“This writer is far more concerned about artificial intelligence (AI) systems which will eventually capture all of these databases.”

Saw a conversation one held with a human recently…great cause for concern….totally justified..

..they too love to jump on every bandwagon they did not create and know absolutely nothing about.

John…i see what you see as a threat…lol

23. David, we cannot be serious all the time. We have a large number of important issues that seem unable to solve.

We rotate them instead of finding answers. NIS will soon be on the table again; the 185,000 will probably be cut and trotted out again; the questionnaire, the vaccine acquisition, integrity legislation or lack of it, the constitution or lack of it, 3000 new government initiatives, and so on.

24. Satnam: Reaching Your True Identity Avatar
    Satnam: Reaching Your True Identity

Why are you on this earth?
    What are you here for to do?
    All these question will be answered in stillness
    so if you really want to dive deep and find out about these things
    the true nature of things
    the universe
    how it all works
    you need to extend your meditation practice
    and sit longer
    consistency is key
    doing the practice everyday
    it will guide you through all that knowledge and insights
    with that awareness you develop through your meditation practice
    you will live a healthier and happier life
    with the happiness coming from within
    and if not tired or depending on anything extra
    this is the true happiness

25. I understand that Bill Gates has been pushing this idea for a long time.

26. Two countries with median ages half ours are Ghana and Ethiopia.

We already have contacts with Ghana although I doubt the chiefs there will consider a few old bones as adequate payment for 10K to 20K young fertile women, no doubt the apples of their eyes.

Ethiopia may have more attractions.

https://imgur.com/ijFDmmF

27. Nigeria could work too but not Russia nor Ukraine.

They are in the same boat as we are.

https://imgur.com/VKwA1a4

28. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing. Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. Avatar
    Yolande Grant – African Online Publishing. Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved.

“Ethiopia may have more attractions.”

Among other things, good choice…so is Nigeria…ya need mental strength in ya choices.

29. It is not always our role as commentators to find solutions because we are not always seized with all the facts. We can however offer perspectives opinions based on what is before us?

30. @Critical Analyzer

A fair comment, one our IT experts should have participated in a process with the outcome being an acceptable position to share with the public. Instead we are constantly embroiled arguments.

31. @555
    You need to learn how. To hit once and leave things be. No need for a protracted exchange.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Either THAT!
    …or the blogmaster need to put a BAN on his burro….

..and while he is at it, let us find ac – (which ever DLP rock she is hiding under,) and get her back to misleading the blog in her
    characteristic infantile style….

Do you want to give Bushie Administrator rights for a few weeks..?
    ha ha
    (it would be ) Murduh!!!

32. I can do this with nobody else
    I can ruin this night by myself
    I can peel off these soldiers alone
    I can write down my miserable poem
    I can drink to my own bloody health
    I can ruin this night by myself

33. John Knox
    Yuh want slavery again, neh. This force fertlization idea is reminisant.

There is another option. Let the country have a well earned cultural death.

Greater peoples than Bajans have chosen to go this way.

34. Smells Like Teen Spirit Avatar
    Smells Like Teen Spirit

BU
    Smells Like Teen Spirit
    BUT NOT Team Spirit

Lyrics
    Load up on guns, bring your friends
    It’s fun to lose and to pretend
    She’s over-bored and self-assured
    Oh no, I know a dirty word
    Hello, hello, hello, how low
    Hello, hello, hello
    With the lights out, it’s less dangerous
    Here we are now, entertain us
    I feel stupid, and contagious
    Here we are now, entertain us
    A mulatto, an albino
    A mosquito, my libido
    Yeah, hey, yay
    I’m worse at what I do best
    And for this gift, I feel blessed
    Our little group has always been
    And always will until the end
    Hello, hello, hello, how low

35. Detective Colombo Avatar
    Detective Colombo

We are fucked? “ The UAE has the one card. And we have now been able to partner with the UAE and international companies to bring the same technology to Guyana so we can have the one card that will drive all transactions. So, this card will force the banking sector, the insurance sector, the Government, everybody will have to now migrate to the electronic platform that will support conducting business.”
    According to Ali, this one card will not only improve the ease of doing business, but help with transparency and accountability and also help to usher in a modern Guyana. He also made mention of a digital passport.
    “We want to migrate to a digital passport. So that the efficiency of the immigration system, linked to our security system, because our security system will pick up any person who is on the Interpol list, for example. So, we’re thinking in a holistic way in terms of how we’ll use technology,” the President further said.“

36. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. Avatar

You do know they have been indoctrinated to fear death..most prefer live as slaves…than die as contributors in betterment of their tribes…these dont even think at that level.

John just saw badder racists than what currently exists taking over the island, he had a sleepless night, cahn live with that…lol..

But importing Nigerians and Ethiopians known to have powerful minds is nothing like importing Caribbeans…or just allowing the natural course which the people are rightly not interested in to reproduce the same old. …time to break that cycle…….something has to give, cant remain in that condition, it’s unfair to incoming generations…

The social destruction on the island created by dummy politicians have to end, one way or the next..it is not even at the level of basic existence anymore..it has devolved into the insidious….

Check history…see the results of what happens that the degradation became so all consuming, the people could not afford to bury their day…..it’s only during historical wars you found this happening, and even they were afforded burials of respect.

37. Detective Colombo Avatar
    Detective Colombo

“This was revealed by President Dr Irfaan Ali, during a ceremony to mark the launch of Teleperformance’s new location on Middle Street, Georgetown. The President explained that this digital ID card will contain information including banking, social benefits, identification, licensing and taxes.
    “Very soon, we will be launching work that would drive everything on a data-management platform. Some of you who follow world developments will know a lot of these developments came out of the Aadhaar card… the one card in India, electronic card that you”

38. Sue Dem Brit 🇬🇧 Pirates 🏴‍☠️ Avatar
    Sue Dem Brit 🇬🇧 Pirates 🏴‍☠️

Mistaken Identity is the crisis can’t you see

Business
    Oligarch’s lawyers say UK caused serious hardship by freezing assets

Eugene Shvidler wants expedited court hearing to hear his claim that impounding his jets was wrong
    https://www.theguardian.com/business/2023/mar/03/oligarchs-lawyers-uk-caused-serious-hardship-freezing-assets-eugene-shvidler

39. The same people who were as dictatorial as to support the mandatory or compulsory Covid19 vaccinations of socalled anti vaxers. To determine that perceived anti-vaxers had no freedom of speech within this dictatorship.

They are at it again.

Are there no upper limits for such people to say no. Now its the mindless acceptance of RFID, monitoring devices 24/7, maybe injectable chips as well. The programme of Charles “Swabb” and the global elites from Davos.

Will there ever come a time when some will say no to Washington, the globalists? After injecting generalized bulling into world nations, the weaponization of a broad range of pathogens and millennia of crimes against humanity, will the brain dead ever awake and say “no mas”?

Will there ever be general acceptance that on COVID-19 and everything else of substance the Collective West has been criminally wrong. Now, like prostitutes “acceptance” of what the White people command could be accepted, using all kinds of twisted, cowardice, logics.

Apologize!

40. Learn to speak the language of the new Mother Country?

41. All it is, neocolonialism repeated.

42. Population thread on March 3, 2023 at 4:01 PM said:

“It’s telling that John’s very first instinct was to head on over to Afrika for more people…..bright and early….”

Methinks that
    Johnny boy was trying to be witty and condescending as per usual.

A lot of Africans died of AIDS.
    Villages looked after orphaned children collectively, hence the young age

19.4 median age in Africa
    39.3 median age in Barbados

If the median age is 19.4 that means the orphaned children are now adults and escaped AIDS.

A median age of 19.4 means there will be a population explosion with plenty of spare people because that’s what young people do.

The problem for Africa arises if Zeihan’s prediction of famine in Africa occurs as a result of the Ukraine conflict and wheat and fertilizer shortages.

In that case Africa will be looking to shed some of its people.

43. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. Avatar

You should stay up with news out of Africa…they grow their own wheat…learned the hard way not to depend on anyone and working on fixing the famine problem…they have come to realize just how much they got going for them

.just remember there are well over 1 billion people on the continent…researchers said, it’s closer to 2 billion…and they are working to keep them there, they have all the land space they need…but much logistics to work out…still in progress..

44. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright(c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. Avatar
    Yolande Grant – African Online Publishing Copyright(c) 2023. All Rights Reserved.

They will lose the population explosion game…..35 is middle age……Afrika has the youngest growing population on earth..

it’s all the fault of dizzy puppet governments…they never knew how to treat the people well though they too are a product of enslavenent…but given colonial titles after vote begging and the trappings of overseer roles, got them believing otherwise……oppression and exploitation with a steady diet of pauperization is not exactly inspiring women to bring offspring into that…

They wont hear get rid of the social degradation..the aspire too much to being just like massa …that too they doubled down on…puppets are not real leaders…and the population is sick and tired of them…and their screw up after screw up, after screw up….

They will pay for their treachery…

The world took a giant leap and John got left behind is all…..it will take him a minute to figure it out….

45. .. ok, well Belize (24.8), Honduras (25.2) and Haiti (24.3) have median ages under 30.

Come to think of it, instead of flooding into America illegally and facing up to all sorts of abuses from the cartels, we could take 10K to 20K young fertile females.

46. On deeper reflection we should make it attractive for young fertile Belizeans to relocate to Barbados with a view to increasing the Barbadian population.

We don’t want no giddy head female teenagers from Africa or anywhere else.

Have to admit, there is not much chance of that.

It is families we really need.

Here is a what Belize did to attract families.

47. Johnny!
    Belize has a population of 400k. It sits on a landmass of 9,000 miles squared.

Do these stats make sense to you viz a viz Barbados?

48. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. Avatar

John will figure it out, he is already wavering and may just accept Ukranians…

It’s insulting to invite anyone of Afrikan descent to a slave society that minions REFUSE TO STRIP DOWN…..and destroy…

And you dont need teenage girls…the age for effective production should be 20-30 years old..

49. Because 70 years olds and 16 year olds don’t have their Barbados ID cards they have long been forced into the the ‘meat grinder’ in Bakhmut. The Russians with Barbados IDs call it Artyomovsk. Same place!

These people not having Barbados ID cards can last no more than 4 hours on the frontlines as the Russians who have Barbados ID cards are killing about a 1000 Ukrainians everyday. Joy Reid won’t tell her foolish audience that.

We were challenged recently as to when the Russians with Barbados IDs will win the war. Well, a lot has been happening and the Russians with Barbados IDs have been making spectacular gains. Neophytes, unschooled in military science or world history are best left to Wolf Blizter.

But you would not know tat Russians with Barbados IDs were decimating Ukrainians without if you watch Western media, especially the whores without Barbados IDs on MSNBC, CNN and FOX. The BBC is no better. Neither is Aljezeera, the Wall Street Journal, The New York Times, or any of them.

Two things. This writer has not listened or read them in a decade. Second, Bakhmut will fall in the coming days or weeks. 10,000 Ukrainians without Barbados IDs are trapped within a double cauldron by the Russians with Barbados IDs. The old ass 70 year olds and 16 year old boys are being paraded today by Pogorzin, the head of The Wagner Group.

Look for the shift in narrative, as the German Chancellor visits Biden to construct some lie as the lied Western propaganda media, on the fringe, barely start to posit that Bakhmut is of no strategic significance. Mere propaganda.

Indeed, Bakhmut is the linchpin of the entire defenses of the Ukrainians without Barbados IDs. And when it falls this war is over, bar the shouting. As those Ukrainians without Barbados IDs would have been routed from fortifications which where built and enhanced since 2014 when this war began. Even that the Western media won’t tell the fools watching them.

Continue to dream in a land without Barbados IDs

50. Yolande Grant - Afrcan Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. Avatar
    Yolande Grant – Afrcan Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved.

Weee did warn them to stay out of this war between COUSINS…they dont fully understand…

it’s ok to say the death counts on both sides are unacceptable…but never take sides when you have no clue…