Specimen of New ID

Last week the blogmaster received an email from a lawyer which had the Barbados Identity Management Act attached. The comment by the lawyer sharing the Act, not Bill, was that the legislation raises concerns that should trouble Barbadians. The fact that it sailed through parliament without the public being aware should expose the shortcomings of our governance model as well as the media and other actors in civil society (including the blogmaster). Regrettably the average Barbadian these days is concerned with other matters and lawmakers take advantage. The few independents in the Upper House can do so much. A pity we never observe the same appetite from lawmakers when integrity laws are being debated.

In a related matter, the issue of the day is the decision by the government to replace the national ID card (NID) with a digital version. All agree the old NID needs to be replaced, the Stuart government tried and unsurprisingly failed to execute after frittering hundreds of thousands of tax dollars. 

See Barbados Identity Management Act.

The blogmaster has been keenly following public commentary on the new ID matter, on one hand government must be complimented for wanting to integrate the best technology to unlock maximum benefits for all stakeholders. The flip side is government has not earned the support from some members of the public how the project is being rolled out. High among concerns is the vulnerability of government’s IT system AND the type of information/services the new ID card will access. The chip on the card offers a secure way to protect information but what about at the backend? It is no secret government agencies are routinely impacted by cyber security breaches. Some will argue this is the reality of this modern world and we have to get on with it.

In 2018 when a representative from Estonia met with the then minister of foreign affairs Maxine Mcclean there was optimism from the blogmaster Barbados had access to a good resource. Estonia is regarded as a best in class model for the e-government platform introduced since 2005. The success of Estonia’s e-government program demonstrates what can be achieved but it must be done well. 

As usual Barbados has found itself bogged down in the politics of the matter which now threatens the benefits to the country of rolling out a digital ID. We will always have naysayers, doomsday analysts and the cynical- the reality is that there is nothing inherently wrong with rolling out a digital ID, other countries are converting manual based systems to digital, however, given the threats lurking in the cyber world and the balance we have to maintain to respect and protect personal identifiable information, the government and key stakeholders must ensure we efficiently implement, something we have struggled to do with uncomplicated projects.

See relevant article – Digital ID: The opportunities and the risks

148 responses to “Mistaken Identity”

1. Waru
    “These days are funny nights”.

We were watching the news to see if Mottley, after the Celac conference in Argentina, would have had a Caricom position on the multipolar world machinations currently engaging all within the Global South.

But nothing.

Instead, Caricom leaders left Argentina after hearing the Brazil-Argentine announcement to ditch the greenback, as part of radical shifts in global architecture, not a word about this. Instead, a delegation was sent to Haití, headed by Holness, to do empire’s bidding. Our Haitian friends tell us that Mottley is America’s mover and shaker behind the scenes.

With Comissiong as ambassador, a man who knows well that Caribbean states have not always had an unmistaken identity when it comes to Haití. But Comissiong himself, acting as a psuedo radical, was one of the very people then agitating for the Haití people ‘ decades ago!

But now as ambassador for Caricom none of that matters. Comissiong is prepared to move heaven and earth to please his cousin Mia. Whether it is begging the very people for whom he once held a trenchant critique – the capitalists. Or acting as an agent for US policy in relationship to Haití.

If this dictatorial regime had any courage left it could have set up a DLP opposition leader by engineering the resignation of one of the 30 idiots on their side, on the condition that the multipolarity discourse be constantly given voice by him – the man who says he’s the Dems leader.

Personally, his face tells that little is to be expected of him but at least the country would have strategic options and Mottley might even be able to use such a political contrivance to bolster her position with her curators in Washington.

This Mottley regime seems not so motivated. Instead, we should expect more and more begging. More and more we’ll see Barbados act as a prostitute for empire’s interests in the region with Mottley and Comissiong as agents of empire.

2. Yolsnde Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. Avatar
    Yolsnde Grant – African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved.

“We were watching the news to see if Mottley, after the Celac conference in Argentina, would have had a Caricom position on the multipolar world machinations currently engaging all within the Global South.

But nothing.”

It was clear from the initial response to the war…they are clueless and will so remain…puppets and minions have one job only. .

Had they listened to us, to proceed with caution in what was infolding, , they would not now be stumbling around in the dark while tightly tethered to the Monroe Doctrine…one yoke wrapped around their necks, they can never escape..

3. Yolande Grant – African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. on March 4, 2023 at 3:33 PM said:

“They speak English and are not Budd[h]ists.c

John is still searching for wives for his dying tribe…Ukranian women are also mail order bribes…

Do you speak tagalog?

Median age is too high in Ukraine, same as ours, won’t get the quantity, 20K to 40K we need.

More likely in the pacific, median age 24.7 and english is spolen.

4. In 2019 the World Economic Forum (WEF) and the UN signed a deal to give the UN and its agencies (like the WHO) a key role in implementing the World Economic Forum’s vision for a proposed “new world order”. The plan is for individual countries to cede their authority in cases of pandemics to follow exactly the dictates of the WHO as to the protocols for the management of any future outbreaks. It is expected also that future travel, as per the WEF proposed guidlines,will be tightly controlled and you will need to have all the mandated jabs up to date in your vaccine passport to be allowed to travel internationally (and perhaps to travel internally as well).

Could this be partly the driving force behind the apparent, ongoing, drive by various countries around the world to implement digital IDs for their citizens over some strong objections by said citizens re. privacy and data security?

See this video: “A Vision for “UNIFIED INFRASTRUCTURE that Spiralled Out of Control, in my Opinion”.at:
    https://youtu.be/k-oLmGp3d0s

If you think this is a good idea, be aware that there is now a published, peer reviewed, scientific paper from Australia that shows the warp speed, novel, mRNA, gene therapy vaccines (which were mandated for travel during the plandmemic) are proving to be neither safe nor effective.

COVID-19 vaccines – An Australian Review was published in the peer-reviewed scientific literature on Sept 21, 2022.

Here’s the two sentences from the paper that everyone should read:

A worldwide Bayesian causal Impact analysis suggests that COVID-19 gene therapy (mRNA vaccine) causes more COVID-19 cases per million and more non-Covid deaths per million than are associated with COVID-19 [43].

An abundance of studies has shown that the mRNA vaccines are neither safe nor effective, but outright dangerous.

More, with hyperlink to the peer reviewed paper at:
    stevekirsch.substack(DOT)com/p/now-published-in-the-peer-reviewed

Also, when weighing the consequences of the unelected WHO having the power to overule any country’s plans for dealing with a heath crisis, consider that a significant portion of the WHO’s funding is provided by the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation. While Bill Gates made his billions as a monopolist businessman with questionable morals and business ethics, now we are lead to believe he has only the milk of human kindness flowing in his veins, no doubt leading to his apparent self-appointment as an unoficial “Vaccinator General for Planet Earth”.

As the Vacinator General for Planet Earth Gates made speaches and public appearances predicting that the COVID-19 plandemic would never end until practically the whole world took a novel, new technology, and undertested vaccine in which he and his foundation had made substantial investments. N.B. Gates only recently sold off a bunch of shares in the mRNA vaccine maker and Pfizer subcontractor BioNTech at a substantial profit, and then he proceeded to diss the same vaccine he had previously promoted as the only sure way to bring an end to the COVID plague, proclaiming that it had underperfomed, was not very satisfactory, and something of a disappointment as it could not stop transmission.

See: Pfizer Vaccine Bonanza slows, but Bill Gates sold early, made huge profits at:
    clarkcountytoday(DOT)com/news/pfizer-vaccine-bonanza-slows-but-bill-gates-sold-early-made-huge-profits/

And

How is the World Health Organization funded, and why does it rely so much on Bill Gates?

“Currently, WHO has full control over only about a quarter of its budget,” said Gostin.

“WHO therefore can’t set the global health agenda and has had to do the bidding of rich donors, not only rich nations in Europe and North America, but also rich philanthropies such as the Gates Foundation”.

Though Gostin “certainly” wants the Foundation to keep funding WHO, he argued the health body should be able to use the funds “at its own discretion on issues the Director General believes are most important in the world”.

The Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation alone is responsible for over 88 per cent of the total amount donated by philanthropic foundations to the WHO. Other contributors include the Bloomberg Family Foundation (3.5 per cent), the Wellcome Trust (1.1 per cent) and the Rockefeller Foundation (0.8 per cent).

While the shape of WHO’s total budget has changed over the years, the Gates Foundation has consistently remained among its top contributors.

More:
    euronews(DOT)com/next/2023/02/03/how-is-the-world-health-organization-funded-and-why-does-it-rely-so-much-on-bill-gates

5. GreenMonkey
    There is no point in painting such clear pictures for those who are blind.
    You will just frustrate them.

When they begin to FEEL the pain, however, they will discover BB Braille rapidly….

6. Janelle Monáe - Say Her Name (Hell You Talmbout) (feat. Various Artists) Avatar
    Janelle Monáe – Say Her Name (Hell You Talmbout) (feat. Various Artists)

IDs do not protect black people in USA from Police

7. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. Avatar
    Yolande Grant – African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved.

Pacha…Bushman..William ..TLSN…….they tripped, slipped and fell in it…

And now everyone from coast to coast and continent to continent will know..

8. Steuspe

9. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. Avatar
    Yolande Grant – African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved.

Cuddear….now they know which god they serving

….btw whatever happened to BUs Cuddear..she has not been around for ages.

10. Is it toooooo much for those who consider this a democracy, who were the primary instigators of mandatory vaccination, who are want to steupse, and those in a regime which on a daily basis was preaching the critical importance of a criminal Covid19 set of protocols to at least show some degree of contrition? As a condition precedent to demanding similar mandates under the same kind of guises. Is is not reasonable for people so grossly misled before now consider everything this regime says as a lie? And should any such people, purporting to be educated not relinquish any perceived right of being if the same schema could be imposed twice within a few years?

11. Yolande Grant - African Onkine Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved, Avatar
    Yolande Grant – African Onkine Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved,

They gotta know.

Dont know when they will learn to stay out of things they know very little to nothing about. They are being set up and all the blowback will cascade down on them….but doan mine me..

.the Salemite..

12. David Ellis and Caswell Franklyn Source: VOB

13. Active citizens needed for democracy
    It will take time, will and effort for our people and Government to mature into and match our republic status. How we handle this digital ID and Identification Act controversy will be telling.
    Digital IDs present possible benefits and also potential threats to democracy.
    Conventional Eurocentric education teaches you that democracy or governance of the people by the people started in ancient Greece.
    Anti-colonial common sense tells you that is unlikely to be true. And, it isn’t.
    Democracy, or rule by the people, took various forms in several ancient civilisations in Africa, Asia and the Americas. Democracy has had to evolve to what it is today. And even today, it cannot be taken for granted that any democracy reaches the ideal of rule by all the people.
    But, we can work towards it. However, we can drift away from the ideal of democracy as well.
    For a democracy to work well it requires active citizens who are willing to take an active interest in government and actively participate in governance by whatever means available. For citizens to be active, they also have to be empowered.
    To be empowered, a citizen must have certain levels of freedom and education. Mental freedom is where freedom and education intersect and is key to democracy.
    Where citizens are fearful that opposition to government or speaking out are too dangerous to risk, or citizens are not educated enough about the issues and systems of governance, democracy will struggle to survive. A form of mental slavery exists.
    While there can definitely be consequences for being openly critical of a sitting government and their policies, or even for openly supporting
    an opposition party, Bajan fears of victimisation are often out of proportion with the reality.
    While the reality of the threat also pales in comparison to many other places, this fear itself and anything governments do to stoke it are a threat to our democracy and developing active citizenship.
    Educational system not fostered
    Our educational system has not traditionally fostered, and arguably disincentivises, critical thinking. It is surrounded by rhetoric about job training to the neglect of civics and citizen development. Even with its limited scope it still leaves around 60 per cent of school leavers without certification of any sort.
    The failings of our educational system are also a threat to developing active citizenship. This threat is magnified in a modern world which the late German sociologist Ulrich Beck calls the “Risk Society”. Beck argues that today humans face more than ever “manufactured risks” or risks which are the product of human action.
    These are risks from things like pollution, nuclear disaster, or flooding due to loss of vegetation. These manufactured risks should be understood well if we are to maximise the benefits of modernisation and minimise the risks. An undereducated citizenry may struggle on both counts.
    Democracy faces a manufactured risk from technology. The power that governments and corporate entities have, through technology, to monitor, restrict and coerce citizens today is unprecedented.
    Progress in rule by the people is at risk from rule by an oligarchy of technocontrollers. Therefore, the need for an unafraid, well educated and active
    citizenry is also unprecedented.
    While we have a need for technological progress, that progress must be matched by the progress in the mental freedom and education of the citizens.
    A government that seems to focus on technological progress while neglecting the progress in active citizenship will stoke fears of anti-democratic leanings.

Adrian Green is a communications specialist. Email adriangreen14@gmail.com.

14. Estonia a small European country of 1.2 million people has had a full e-government for years, they also have a digital ID, They were actually the world leaders in the digitization of government services. It was not without set backs, the experienced hacks and cybersecurity breaches but they quickly learned and improved. We often speak of the disadvantages of being a small open economy, but I have found the the ability to quicky digitize is actually a strength of small countries like Estonia and Barbados.
    The Barbados Government has already digitized:
    CAIPO in November 2021.
    https://caipo.gov.bb/
    Where you can register a business in Barbados from your bedroom in 48 hours, it used to take weeks.

The digitized the Liquor License office last year you can now get a liquor license in 24 hours
    https://liquorlicence.gov.bb/

The police certificate of Character process was digitized in 2019 you can now get back a certificate in 6 hours.
    https://forms.gov.bb/CertificateOfCharacter

Instead of talking about the Singapore model, Barbados should be more realistically looking at the Estonia Model and their successes despite setbacks. Barbados Still has a long was to go in digitization and ease of doing business.

15. Can Estonia be accused of marching to the beat of the West (globalist system)?

16. @ David
    Estonia is a former Soviet Block country which became an EU member state sometime back in 2004 so it is a western country. I say that to say, Estonia is not marching to the drum, Estonia is beating it.

17. Was agreeing with you ‘tongue cheek’ Wargeneral.

18. @ David
    Got it.

19. Population of Estonia plus that of Barbados < 2 million even if Ms. Mockley imports 185,000 new Bajans.

How many other countries have digital IDs?

India is described as the laboratory for the world!!

https://www.csmonitor.com/World/Asia-South-Central/2022/0425/On-biometric-IDs-India-is-a-laboratory-for-the-rest-of-the-world

Sounds like the vaccines or the mass sterilization programs!!

Did you know that the Indian Government held 6.2 million men and performed forced sterilizations in a single year many of which ended in death?

"During the 1975 Emergency – when civil liberties were suspended – Sanjay Gandhi, son of the former Prime Minister Indira Gandhi, began what was described by many as a "gruesome campaign" to sterilise poor men. There were reports of police cordoning off villages and virtually dragging the men to surgery.

The campaign also made an appearance in Salman Rushdie's novel, Midnight's Children.

An astonishing 6.2 million Indian men were sterilised in just a year, which was "15 times the number of people sterilised by the Nazis", according to science journalist Mara Hvistendahl. Two thousand men died from botched operations."

India chased the money and sterilized 15 times more men than the Nazis' cordoning off villages and dragging men out for the knife.

"The drive to sterilise began in the 1970s when, encouraged by loans amounting to tens of millions of dollars from the World Bank, the Swedish International Development Authority and the UN Population Fund, India embarked on an ambitious population control programme."

https://www.bbc.com/news/world-asia-india-30040790

We should offer the Indian Government homes for 40,000 of their women and let nature take its course here in Barbados.

Leave Bajan men to get back to their natural state as they progress through their lives and can only watch Bajan women as they disqualify themselves one by one from child-bearing by their personal and life choices.

Nothing wrong in having at least half of the population happy in these days of misery.

20. By the way, Based on some global rankings, Estonia is ranked number 1 in Europe in Education and number 5 in the world based on Reading, Mathematics and Sciences.

21. The government needs to do better to get in front of this issue.

22. Wargeneral on March 5, 2023 at 12:56 PM said:

By the way, Based on some global rankings, Estonia is ranked number 1 in Europe in Education and number 5 in the world based on Reading, Mathematics and Sciences.

Estonia has an older population than Barbados and a Birth rate of 1.58.

Median age for Estonia is 42,4!!!

What is the point of having the best education system in the world in a population that like Barbados is fading away?

The older folks will consume everything the younger folks produce and old folks normally do not go to school!!

Better for them to import some young fertile women and leave their men to their own devices!!

I could make a fortune advising countries who seem to have no clue what is happening to their populations.

23. Does make any sense to cut the education budget and put the resources into NIS??

24. @ John
    You Know well that the aging and declining population problem is on that is faced by a number of countries countries in East Asia (South Korea and Japan) and Europe. This existence of this challenge does not mean that you do not strive for the best outcomes in education and efficiency while you find solution to the demographic problem. You have to walk and chew gum.

Estonia’s challenge in attracting people to live there relates to their very cold climate something that is not an issue in Barbados. On the other hand Barbados will have issues attracting people for other reasons.

25. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. Avatar

Pacha…what do you think of the Adrian Greene article..

26. Wargeneral on March 5, 2023 at 2:27 PM said:

@ John
    You Know well that the aging and declining population problem is on that is faced by a number of countries countries in East Asia (South Korea and Japan) and Europe. This existence of this challenge does not mean that you do not strive for the best outcomes in education and efficiency while you find solution to the demographic problem. You have to walk and chew gum.

So there should be a pattern to follow!!

Hey presto!!

This will help you.

27. @ David!!!
    Government get in front and say exactly WHAT?!!
    The TRUTH???!!!

Boss, it THAT was an option, then the bill would have been debated fully in the glare of publicity – and not behind Caswell’s back in a heated rush..

You expect the people to stand up and say that The WHO / IMF cartel making them do it…?

Do you REALLY think that OUR MPs want to have all THEIR business stored on some unknown computer with ‘Lord knows who’ (- besides the CIA ) – having full access?

This was supposed to be a quiet coup that we never REALLY knew about, but which was there to bind our donkeys to become global guinea pigs as per our instructions.

Personally, Bushie feels that someone on the INSIDE (who don’t want to be another ‘Donville’,) is the one who has circulated the Act for malicious people such as Caswell, Bushie and the Blogmaster to raise de alarm….

LOL ha ha
    Honor among thieves is a thing nah…!!

28. @Bush Tea

They were other independent Senators. Also the de facto DLP opposition monitoring.

29. Waru
    Since it was discovered that Adrian Greene is not now the person we’ve known there’s absolutely no interest here in anything he has to say. For us it’s better off dead than to be a party political sellout. A real hypocrite, as one tried to label us. Certainly, Hippocrates bears no etymological relationship, thankfully. It was William Skinner, estimating that this writer had not seen him since a few decades ago, who must be credited for recognizing the error of an earlier interest in his thinking.

30. All that will happen to the Barbados population (or any like population) barring some intervention is that it will fall to a level where the birth rate is 2.1 per woman.

So if we have 140K women at the moment and the birth rate is 1.63, then the population which can be sustained is 1.63/2.1 X 140K X2 ~ 112KX2 =224K.

It will get there by attrition.

31. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. Avatar

“For us it’s better off dead than to be a party political sellout.”

Sad how people reduced themselves to basically nothing within a political system that literally destroyed their ancestors and are comfortable within it, says more about them than the devisers.

Now i will keep eyes peeled for the dummy exploiters who believe situations like mine belong to them to do as they like to see what they can get out of it….i am ready, willing and able to make a prime example…..my only goal for the balance of this year….so let them come..

32. But Waru
    Greene is not alone. There seems to have been a growing cottage industry in the party political sellout. Everywhere you look you’ll see them. Though Greene was a surprise to us in this dead-endedness.

33. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. Avatar

“Greene is not alone.”

Look who pushes the poison…once you enter that orbit…your mind is gone. We have to protect the younger generation…as much as we can….a good example of the mind destruction was Koochie Koo…i saw that one coming years ago…they really did a number on him…

That parliament and the takataka in it are the problem…

34. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. Avatar

A dude in UK was so angry today he was spluttering on the radio..he cannot believe the fowl/imp/pimp/Slave mentality..in Barbados…i thought he was going to get a heart attack…he was so outraged..

…a hardback fowl like Patrick jumping from one side of the paling to the other when not straddling it…..last week he was exposing the Digital ID cockup…this week he is singing the praises of the corrupt…that is what they ALL devolved into….NOTHING…

I beg them stay far away from me….cause no one wants to feel my wrath…they are all too dangerous.

35. As the French are being expelled from their 14 Afrikan “colonies”

As the Global South is in a state of a generalized revolution.

As all the colonial prowers are in retreat.

As the Arab invaders in Tunisia and Morocco, elsewhere, seek refuge in racism with Islamic characteristics. These too will follow the French.

The backward, ass-licking, ultra-conservators of Whiteness in Caricom harken unto the ways of their masters with even more willingness to be slaves. Bajans are particularly renowned for such an excellence.

36. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. Avatar

“The backward, ass-licking, ultra-conservators of Whiteness in Caricom harken unto the ways of their masters with even more willingness to be slaves. Bajans are particularly renowned for such an excellence.”

Their backwardness put them where they now are…more than half the billions that so dazzled their eyes in the reparations top secret files…through envy and covetousness…..wiped out with just one ban…….let them tell you just how much they lost since they are sharing and spreading information everywhere that dont belong to them, never did, in their frenzy…information they held on tightly to for over 60 years…..just one person shut that down….one ban..

Someone have to pay for what they did and who better than these wicked selfish selfhating clowns who did it.

What the BU crew and others should focus on now is if they did this to my family and I for so long WHAT ARE THEY HIDING FROM YOU….bet ya that would not even enter bird brains…still too ficused on me…

Pacha…funny enuff people were dropping warnings to me for years and years, but in parables too afraid to talk, ya know how they do it here so i had no clue what they were saying or talking about…just filed it away for future reference….

37. John on March 5, 2023 at 5:39 PM said:

All that will happen to the Barbados population (or any like population) barring some intervention is that it will fall to a level where the birth rate is 2.1 per woman.

So if we have 140K women at the moment and the birth rate is 1.63, then the population which can be sustained is 1.63/2.1 X 140K X2 ~ 112KX2 =224K.

It will get there by attrition.

Too simplistic a treatment on second thoughts.

140K women do not produce a birthrate of 1.63.

It is the women in the sector of the population that are of child bearing age.

Let’s try birth rate vs death rate.

“The current birth rate for Barbados in 2023 is 10.558 births per 1000 people, a 0.26% decline from 2022. The birth rate for Barbados in 2022 was 10.585 births per 1000 people, a 0.25% decline from 2021. The birth rate for Barbados in 2021 was 10.612 births per 1000 people, a 0.25% decline from 2020.”

“The death rate in Barbados saw no significant changes in 2020 in comparison to the previous year 2019 and remained at around 8.97 deaths per 1,000 inhabitants. The crude death rate refers to the number of deaths in a given year, expressed per 1,000 population.”

What’s happening with the death rate in Barbados. It’s rising. Life expectancy peaked in the 1990’s.

Once the death rate surpasses the birth rate which can only fall the population size will begin to shrink.

38. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. Avatar

“Once the death rate surpasses the birth rate which can only fall the population size will begin to shrink.”

Already ongoing Johnny, Ma Boy..

39. Watu
    No! We’re looking for signs that they have – It has “resonated”

But all we can find is the doubling down on the familiar.

As such, we see the industrial begging. We see a national laziness which says that we’re a nation of wards unable to do much else but borrow and beg. Is this Barrow’s mirror image? Or is this a mistaken identity?

If there’re any signs of life we’ll be happy to apologize. We’ve watched the Motley crew as implored to …………… and so signs of life or an afterlife when the unavoidably comes.

Thinkers are now putting a date certain when the shiite really hits the fan. And it’s not toooo long now.

40. The vast majority of the population will not accept digital ID willingly.

They have to be forced to do so by making their lives incredibly difficult without it.

41. ” If gunmen want to surrender their weapons to the police, Attorney General Dale Marshall says he would gladly put an arrangement in place for them to do so.”

https://www.nationnews.com/2023/03/05/ag-its-up-to-gunmen/

42. @ Hants
    The ‘explanation’ given on brass tacks today for dropping the Soca monarch has to be the most incoherent, illogical, nonsense delivered so far for the year on national radio.
    The lady’s objective apparently, was to sound like her ‘Auntie’ – and to talk long and smugly, while avoiding the pointed questions that were raised.

It is becoming CLEARER to Bushie – why EVERYTHING ’bout here is turning into jobby…
    …not that this will be a problem for the brass bowls among us, since the need for topsies will no doubt surge.

43. Development and destruction
    “We cannot build [Guyana] in a straight-line way . . . We are too far behind to believe that we can catch up on the straight line. We have to skip the hurdles, get to the best and then work backward in bringing our people to accept the best and that is what we are doing” – Guyanese President, Irfaan Ali, is here speaking about the plans to consolidate all transactions, including banking, social benefits, identification, licensing, and taxes, onto one electronic card.
    President Ali says that the electronic platform will “support conducting business, bringing efficiency, reducing the cost of doing business, improving transparency, accountability, and advancing a modern governance architecture”. This digital ID system will be rolled out in the name of development.
    The Most Honourable Anthony Mighty Gabby Carter, last week joined residents in the parish of St Joseph to protest a structure in development there. The development could block public access to Joe’s River Gully.
    The Mighty Gabby is reported to say that the site must be protected because other areas like Pelican Island and Reef Beach were “destroyed” in the name of development.
    The climate crisis which Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley has been telling the world is unequally and unfairly destructive to small island states like ours is also the result of development.
    Global warming and the effects of certain kinds of development now threaten the existence of this region and all humanity we are told. It can almost seem like, at least in
    contemporary times, development is synonymous with destruction.
    “Bring development to non-white”
    But, destruction in the name of development is not a new thing at all. The poem The White Man’s Burden, written in 1899 by Rudyard Kipling, justifies British and American imperialism on the grounds that it was necessary to bring development to the non-white world.
    All kinds of atrocities and wrongs have occurred and occur in the name of development. Traditionally the burden has been borne by the black, brown and poor of the world. So, it is understandable when some are not so gung ho about promises of development.
    President Ali seems to anticipate that the a one card system will face suspicion and resistance, but is resolved to move ahead regardless. He knows that in his nation’s race to catch up, many nationals will be left behind to catch up with the catching up.
    There is no doubt that technology has the potential to level the playing field for people who have had the burden of preparing the pitch while not receiving fair play on it. But will it really?
    Scholar Michael Kwet suggests that a form of digital colonialism is emerging, as multinational corporations tighten control at the architectural level of the digital ecosystem: software, hardware, and network connectivity.
    Homegrown experts have also warned that Barbados is digitally vulnerable for a number of reasons, one of which is that we do not control our cyberspace architecture. Another suggested reason is that the population is not
    well enough educated in cybersecurity.
    Walter Rodney wrote the book called How Europe Underdeveloped Africa. He could have called it, “How Africa was Underdeveloped In The Name Of Development”.
    Colonial development is aimed at extractive technology, its supporting infrastructure and services and a small group of colonial subjects to manage the process. In a region where around 60 per cent of students leave school without certificates, developing dependence on technological infrastructure without properly developing the population to evenly match reflects an old problem.
    But, according to Kwet, digital colonialists “have persuaded most people that society must proceed according to its own ruling class conceptions of the digital world.” The challenge has always been to create our own conceptions of the world and develop according to them.
    Adrian Green is a communications specialist. Email adriangreen14@gmail.com.

44. The date for the phasing out of the old national ID card has been extended to a date to be advised.