Independence Time – A Time to Reflect on the Role of Prime Minister

The recent Cabinet shuffle by Prime Minister Mia Mottley has caused tongues of political pundits to wag. The Cabinet changes came a few months into a second term after an early general election called in January 2021.

Prime Minister Mottley under our system of government practiced has the authority to appoint and disappoint regarding the composition of Cabinet and there must be good reasons in her mind for the changes. She has loudly signalled to the public her confidence in beleaguered Minister of Education Kay McConney and to a lesser extent Minister of Tourism Senator Lisa Cummins who was transferred to Energy and Business Development, International Business and Trade. Of interest is the fact Cummins has not had to face the electorate. We have also seen the elevation of Corey Layne to Minister of State in the Attorney General’s office for responsibility for crime prevention.

Traditionally a Prime Minister is thought to ‘bring’ outsiders into the Cabinet to enhance the skill level, although it seems with McConney and Cummins to be nakedly political given the quick rotation from original appointments. The current Cabinet is labelled the largest per capita in the world. There is a parallel discussion – less we forget – about the number of consultants the Mottley government continues to appoint in the rich tradition of her predecessors. The more things change…

Mottley into an early second term after an abbreviated first term continues to defend the large Cabinet and appointment of consultants- positions offered the the ‘boys’. Truth be told given the overwhelming mandate given by the electorate in 2018 and 2021 that resulted in no elected Opposition it is enough to make Mottley believe she has carte blanche to manage the affairs of country.

With the Constitutional Review Commission (CRC) – see CRC website currently doing its work with a goal to submit recommendations in 18 months for a new Constitution – the arbitrary way Barbados prime ministers have ignored concerns from the public must be addressed. A mechanism must be included in a New Constitution which receives and processes concerns from the public in a structured way to avoid destabilising governments work.

83 thoughts on “Independence Time – A Time to Reflect on the Role of Prime Minister

1. 🌍 Magnificent a.k.a Magno – Yu Heard Formula: C₂₁H₃₀O₂ IUPAC ID: (−)-(6aR,10aR)-6,6,9-trimethyl- 3-pentyl-6a,7,8,10a-tetrahydro- 6H-benzo[c]chromen-1-ol [[[ONE LOVE ONE WORLD ♡ ♥ 💕 ❤ 😘 🌍]]] on said:

Mob Mentality

For the sake of argument let us assume the children’s test were a source of wicked corruption that were initiated by wicked people,
    (regardless of whether you believe that or not).

Can anyone truly say Minister of Education Kay McConney is the source of wickedness and should be lynched for the tests.

These wicked tests came from the money lenders IDB.
    The best remedy would be to stop them being used again.

That’s How Strong My Love Is

2. 🌍 Magnificent a.k.a Magno – Yu Heard Formula: C₂₁H₃₀O₂ IUPAC ID: (−)-(6aR,10aR)-6,6,9-trimethyl- 3-pentyl-6a,7,8,10a-tetrahydro- 6H-benzo[c]chromen-1-ol [[[ONE LOVE ONE WORLD ♡ ♥ 💕 ❤ 😘 🌍]]] on said:

Lyrics from
    Son of God
    ONE LOVE ONE WORLD ♡ ♥ 💕 ❤ 😘 🌍

That’s How Strong My Love Is · The Gaylettes
    (Judy Mowatt on lead vocals)

That’s How Strong My Love Is / Otis Redding
    If I was the sun way up there
    I’d go with love most everywhere
    I’ll be the moon when the sun goes down
    Just to let you know that I’m still around

That’s how strong my love is, whoa
    That’s how strong my love is
    That’s how strong my love is, baby, baby

I’ll be the weeping willow drowning in my tears
    And you can go swimming when you’re here
    And I’ll be the rainbow after the tears are gone
    Wrap you in my colors and keep you warm

That’s how strong my love is, darling
    That’s how strong my love is, baby
    That’s how strong my love is, whoa

I’ll be the ocean so deep and wide
    And catch the tears whenever you cry
    I’ll be the breeze after the storm is gone
    To dry your eyes and love you warm

That’s how strong my love is, baby
    That’s how strong my love is, darling
    That’s how strong my love is, again now

That’s how strong my love is, so deep in
    Well, that’s how strong my love is
    So much love, yes so much love, whoa
    Yes so much love, yes so much love
    Anything that I can do, I’ll be good for you
    Any kind of love you want, I’ll be with you

3. “Can anyone truly say Minister of Education Kay McConney is the source of wickedness and should be lynched for the tests.”

I am fully convinced that you use words without knowing their meaning. In my opinion, to use the word ‘lynched’ in this conversation is ridiculous and only demonstrates a lack of/superficial knowledge of the word.

Apologies for bursting your bubble first thing in the morning.

4. 🌍 Magnificent a.k.a Magno – Yu Heard Formula: C₂₁H₃₀O₂ IUPAC ID: (−)-(6aR,10aR)-6,6,9-trimethyl- 3-pentyl-6a,7,8,10a-tetrahydro- 6H-benzo[c]chromen-1-ol [[[ONE LOVE ONE WORLD ♡ ♥ 💕 ❤ 😘 🌍]]] on said:

Entebbe Rasta Chanters, London Sound System Roll Call
    We have patiently been waiting for Chronix Area
    The way God and Mother Nature planned it
    Herb is the Healing of the Nation
    Alcohol is it’s Destruction

Rasta Fari One Blessed Love
    It’s all about the Spirit Jah Know

Give Thanks to the brethren
    and come in
    with a Truth and Rights Selection

Iniversity from the most high scientifically
    Said the woman ride right on the 7 8 Dragon
    The 7 8 Dragon
    The Red Red Dragon
    Ride up on the 7 8 Red Dragon
    Total Control upon this Land
    Total Control on each Area
    Total Control on Chronix Area
    Chronix Herb Tronics
    Chronix Herb Pronics
    Here come the Woman and the Dragon them mash it
    Mother Nature Hydroponics and the Woman dem mash it
    Mash it on the path of the 7 8 Dragon
    Mash it on the path of the Red Red Dragon
    Red Red Dragon in the Year of the Dragon
    Mash Mother Nature Nature Plan
    Mash it on the chance to make Destruction
    We have to bring it in the Construction
    Yet they can’t beat Mother Nature Man
    Can’t beat Mother Nature
    Fight and Fight until the End of Days Sir
    Mother Nature will always conquer

5. Of interest is the fact McConney and Cummins have not had to face the electorate.
    ++++++
    Did I miss something? Didn’t McConney run and win in St. Philip?

6. 🌍 Magnificent a.k.a Magno – Yu Heard Formula: C₂₁H₃₀O₂ IUPAC ID: (−)-(6aR,10aR)-6,6,9-trimethyl- 3-pentyl-6a,7,8,10a-tetrahydro- 6H-benzo[c]chromen-1-ol [[[ONE LOVE ONE WORLD ♡ ♥ 💕 ❤ 😘 🌍]]] on said:

Barbados Today is the News of Populist Spin like Alt-Right Racists
    and is the Os go to source
    which is why they lose with 0s

7. 🌍 Magnificent a.k.a Magno – Yu Heard Formula: C₂₁H₃₀O₂ IUPAC ID: (−)-(6aR,10aR)-6,6,9-trimethyl- 3-pentyl-6a,7,8,10a-tetrahydro- 6H-benzo[c]chromen-1-ol [[[ONE LOVE ONE WORLD ♡ ♥ 💕 ❤ 😘 🌍]]] on said:

One for the Treble
    Two for the Bass

Have You Seen Davy · Davy D. lyrics
    Have you seen Davy? Haven’t you seen Davy? Have you seen Davy? Haven’t you seen Davy? Have you seen Davy? Haven’t you seen Davy? Have you seen Davy?

8. Saw a story this morning in BT’s epaper
    Bajan dollars or US dollars?

I have previously stated here that published mention of dollars and cents should be in BDS $. As a safeguard, all stories should always explicitly state what type of currency was used. The switch between types of currencies or not even stating the currency give rise to an opportunity to easily double the price.
    Method 1 XXX BDS $
    Method 2 XXX BDS $ (US $ 2xx)
    and never
    xxx $

It is these small things that also need fixing

9. 🌍 Magnificent a.k.a Magno – Yu Heard Formula: C₂₁H₃₀O₂ IUPAC ID: (−)-(6aR,10aR)-6,6,9-trimethyl- 3-pentyl-6a,7,8,10a-tetrahydro- 6H-benzo[c]chromen-1-ol [[[ONE LOVE ONE WORLD ♡ ♥ 💕 ❤ 😘 🌍]]] on said:

Communication Station
    Censorship Ginalship
    This is upsetting
    Some folks will always be petty minded and argue like beaches when they don’t get it

Express Yourself
    when communicating in the company of dismissive negative people have to carefully fully explain all the points they feel inside with a higher consciousness of Non Words thought patterns NVC Non Verbal Communication at Focus Level 23 out of body experiences
    (OBE or sometimes OOBE) is a phenomenon in which a person perceives the world from a location outside their physical body.

Try saying crucified instead if a word like lynchings offends your sensitivities
    Jesus was crucified as he claimed to be the chosen one
    Southerners thought they were doing good community service with lynchings
    Jerry Hitler though genocide of Jews was good for the purity of the master race
    Americans thought Enola Gay dropping Little Boy in the final stages of World War II was truly spectacular

10. @David

The search button doesn’t seem to be working at my end, could you check your end to see if all’s well.

11. 🌍 Magnificent a.k.a Magno – Yu Heard Formula: C₂₁H₃₀O₂ IUPAC ID: (−)-(6aR,10aR)-6,6,9-trimethyl- 3-pentyl-6a,7,8,10a-tetrahydro- 6H-benzo[c]chromen-1-ol [[[ONE LOVE ONE WORLD ♡ ♥ 💕 ❤ 😘 🌍]]] on said:

Fresh!

“The Moving Finger writes; and, having writ,
    Moves on: nor all thy Piety nor Wit
    Shall lure it back to cancel half a Line,
    Nor all thy Tears wash out a Word of it.”

― Omar Khayyám

Public Enemy came under fire from the Jewish community after equating the black experience with the holocaust.
    In “Welcome To The Terrordome,” Chuck D also spoke on the death of Yusef Hawkins. Mr. Hawkins was a 16-year-old African American male who was murdered in the summer of 1989 in the Brooklyn neighborhood of Bensonhurst when he was ambushed and killed by a group of young white men. This event added fuel to the fire that was already burning throughout racial relationships.

Chuck’s frustration can be heard in the following lines:

First, nothings worse than a Mother’s pain
    of a son slain in Bensonhurst
    Can’t wait for the state to decide the fate
    So this jam I dedicate
    Places with the racist faces
    Example of one of many places

He also gives his take on thought versus action:

Whatcha do is get your head ready
    instead of getting physically sweaty
    when I get mad I put it down on a pad
    give you something that you never had

Chuck D was known for offering fearless lyrical insight on controversial subjects, putting him at the top of the most influential emcees list in the genre of hip-hop.

The lyrics, which constitute three of “Welcome to the Terrordome’s” 56 lines, are “Crucifixion ain’t no fiction: so-called chosen, frozen/Apology made to whoever pleases. Still they got me like Jesus” and “Backstab, grab the flag from the back of the lab, told the rab {rabbi}: ‘Get off the rag!’ ”

Samples from “Terrordome” include:
    “Psychedelic Shack” by The Temptations
    “Train Sequence” by Geoffrey Sumner
    “Bon Bon Vie (Gimmie the good life)” by T.S. Monk
    “Cold Sweat” by James Brown
    “Cloud Nine” (live version) by THE Temptations
    Davy DMX
    One For The Treble

12. 🌍 Magnificent a.k.a Magno – Yu Heard Formula: C₂₁H₃₀O₂ IUPAC ID: (−)-(6aR,10aR)-6,6,9-trimethyl- 3-pentyl-6a,7,8,10a-tetrahydro- 6H-benzo[c]chromen-1-ol [[[ONE LOVE ONE WORLD ♡ ♥ 💕 ❤ 😘 🌍]]] on said:

Court is in Session
    Who will win in the spiritual battle of good over evil
    Barbados Underground Vs Barbados Government

In London
    If we don’t like them
    We Gun them
    Shut Em Down (Pe-te Rock Mixx)
    Shut Em Down / Public Enemy
    Open there!
    Oh, yeah
    Come on, come on
    Rock Mix
    Check it out
    Yeah
    Check it out

I testified
    My mama cried
    Black people died
    When the other men lied

See the TV, listen to me, double trouble
    I overhaul and I’m comin’
    From the lower level
    I’m takin’ tabs

Sho nuff stuff to grab
    Like shirts and it hurts
    With a neck to wreck
    Took a poll ’cause our soul
    Took a toll
    From the education
    Of a TV station

But look around
    Here go the sound of the wreckin’ ball
    Boom and Pound
    When I shut ’em down

I shut ’em down
    (Shut, shut, shut, shut shut ’em down)
    I shut ’em down

13. 🌍 Magnificent a.k.a Magno – Yu Heard Formula: C₂₁H₃₀O₂ IUPAC ID: (−)-(6aR,10aR)-6,6,9-trimethyl- 3-pentyl-6a,7,8,10a-tetrahydro- 6H-benzo[c]chromen-1-ol [[[ONE LOVE ONE WORLD ♡ ♥ 💕 ❤ 😘 🌍]]] on said:

Shut Em Down (Rock Mixx Instrumental)

One, two, three, four, five
    Six, seven, eight, nine
    What I use in the battle for the mind
    I hit it hard
    Like it supposed
    Pullin’ no blows to the nose
    Like uncle L said I’m rippin’ up shows

Then what it is
    Is only five per cent of the biz
    I’m addin’ woes
    That’s the way it goes
    Then you think I rank, never drank, point blank
    I own loans

Suckers got me runnin’ from the bank
    Civil liberty I can’t see to pay a fee
    I never saw a way to pay a sap
    To read the law

Then become a victim of a lawyer
    Don’t know ya, never saw ya
    Tape cued
    Gettin’ me sued
    Playin’ games with my head
    What the judge said put me in the red
    Got me thinkin’ ’bout a trigger to the lead

No no
    My educated mind say
    “Suckers gonna pay anyway”
    There gonna be a day
    ‘Cause the troop they roll in
    To posse y’up
    Whole from the ground

Ready to go
    Throw another round
    Sick of the ride, it’s suicide
    For the other side of town
    When I find a way to shut ’em down

I shut ’em down

(Shut, shut, shut, shut shut ’em down) I shut ’em down

I wreck for respect
    Check one, hit the deck
    With the man of the hour
    Commit to soul power

For once I got to say shut ’em down on the regular
    Causing mass hysteria in your area
    Kicking it for my man Chuck D
    Down with PE
    On the remix
    Hung on the flix

So check it before I step down
    When I’m in your town
    You know I got to shut ’em down

Who count the money
    In the neighborhood
    But we spendin’ money
    To no end, lookin’ for a friend

In a war to the core
    Rippin’ up the poor in the stores
    Until they get a brother
    Kickin’ down doors

Then I figure, I kick it bigger
    Look ’em dead in the eye
    And they wince
    Defense is pressurized
    They don’t really want it to be
    Another racial attack
    In disguise, so give some money back (yeah)

I like Nike but wait a minute
    The neighborhood supports so put some money in it
    Corporations owe
    They gotta give up the dough to my town
    Or else we gonna shut ’em down

I shut ’em down

Yeah
    Oh yeah, one more time, here we go again
    Ah-huh, come on
    Hold it, come on
    Wait a minute now
    Hey, hey, hey, hey
    Yeah
    Hey, yeah, we got soul
    Hold the beat, hold the beat, the whole beat, y’all

14. Re this National Day “issue”. the way I see it, my impression is that it is a naming contraction of Independence & Republic Day. An attempt to give the DATE more significance rather that to remove the significance of Independence Day. In most bajans minds 30 Nov will always be Independence Day. The REAL issue is the loss of significance of these national days within the psyche of Barbadians ( the national days being Errol Barrow day, Heroes Day and Independence Day)

In my opinion Republic Day should be a separate date, preferably within November. My impression that govt didn’t want to add another bank holiday to the calendar. In that case the Republic Day COULD be a date of “national significance” and not a Bank Holiday (a solution I DOUBT would be supported). My solution would be to move Heroes Day from April 28, combine it with Republic Day, celebrate it on Nov 29th and leave Nov 30 as Independence day. My reasoning is to add more significance to November as a National Month celebrated officially at month end with a two day Bank holiday.

15. I don’t see why we need to celebrate becoming a republic at all.

Nothing significant has changed in how the country operated before and after becoming a republic to warrant republicanism being significantly recognized and celebrated after last year’s ceremony.

16. We need to remove the ministerial appointment powers and responsibilities from the Prime Minister and Parliament. MP responsibility should only be on serving their constituency and not running ministerial portfolios.

Elect the President and give him/her the responsibility to select ministers and have each one confirmed by simple MP majority vote.

• That’s interesting … sounds like another excellent concept developed on the ‘Napoleon’ dictum of leadership: “four legs good, two legs bad” will now be “four legs good, two legs better”!

Besides rhetorical flourish what practical and administratively improved methods would be achieved if an ‘elected’ President appoints her ministerial leaders rather than an elected PM????

Then these MPs would get to set up their committees and review (attempt to politically micro manage) what the selected ministers do one assumes … which they supposedly to do now, of course!

Around and around the clammy cherry bush!!!

• @de pedantic Dribbler on November 2, 2022 at 11:41 AM

We never elect a PM. We elect a MP to manage our constituency and they decide amongst themselves who they want to be PM.

Too much power is placed in the PM’s hands. Someone with that much power should be elected. Scrap the PM post, let the electorate elect the president and give the president the powers of the PM has.

The MPs can then have oversight of the President and ministers and investigate where necessary.

Were such a framework in place, our MPs would have investigated the IDB Computer Test fiasco and determine who truly dropped the ball and report to us on the floor of Parliament.

17. 🌍 Magnificent a.k.a Magno – Yu Heard Formula: C₂₁H₃₀O₂ IUPAC ID: (−)-(6aR,10aR)-6,6,9-trimethyl- 3-pentyl-6a,7,8,10a-tetrahydro- 6H-benzo[c]chromen-1-ol [[[ONE LOVE ONE WORLD ♡ ♥ 💕 ❤ 😘 🌍]]] on said:

Plus One
    (+1)

A Sentence
    Brits thought they were doing their World a great Service when they subjugated the stolen men women and children from Alkebulan the ancient name of Africa (Alkebu-lan “mother of mankind” or “garden of Eden”, introducing abhorrent Atlantic Slave Triangle slavery of over 20 generations in their New World Colonies captured lands and set up their Global system of Institutional White Supremacy racism where one man is considered superior and another inferior due to the complexion of their skin colour and contributed to their vast wealth in a system of Global Capitalism taking raw resources from plantation lands and adding value by manufacturing goods and trading them for people which funded the Industrial Revolution which funded Colonialism across the World where they robbed the gold silver diamonds and natural resources and made more money for the Crown of Wicked Babylon (full stop).

Epilogue
    Mia’s legacy is she ditched the Crown

The Paragons
    Backstabbing Haters can say what they wanna say
    I don’t care what they say
    Everyday is a Holiday

18. 🌍 Magnificent a.k.a Magno – Yu Heard Formula: C₂₁H₃₀O₂ IUPAC ID: (−)-(6aR,10aR)-6,6,9-trimethyl- 3-pentyl-6a,7,8,10a-tetrahydro- 6H-benzo[c]chromen-1-ol [[[ONE LOVE ONE WORLD ♡ ♥ 💕 ❤ 😘 🌍]]] on said:

Little Boy and Fat Man
    In essence, the Little Boy design consisted of a gun that fired one mass of uranium 235 at another mass of uranium 235, thus creating a supercritical mass.
    Atomic Archive
    https://www.atomicarchive.com/media/photographs/little-boy_fat-man/index.html

19. @Disgusting Lies & Propaganda TV on November 2, 2022 at 10:45 AM

We should rather celebrate 1 October instead of independence and instead of the republic.

In Europe all roads lead to Rome, in our case all roads lead to the Mother of the Nation, our Supreme Leader.

20. @David, you say boldly that “… given the overwhelming mandate given by the electorate in 2018 and 2021 that resulted in no elected Opposition it is enough to make Mottley believe she has carte blanche to manage the affairs of country.”

But does she have ‘carte blanche’ to do whatever she WANTS to do regardless of reason …

Do the other MPs – also elected as “firm craftsmen of our fate” – not have a responsibility to control these apparent whimsical changes to earlier promises (they all) made!

Clearly the absolute power given has resulted in the absolute ‘corruption’ of that power… and as is written across the pages of history so too will be the absolute downfall !

This is an unfortunate affirmation of ego-governance …when so many good and beneficial actions were possible.

21. Piece o de rock spent countless posts on BU detailing how Mugabe would be expected to operate.
    He was completely ignored by Brass Bowls who voted 60-0 against an even bigger joker called Froon…. TWICE.

The poor Brass Bowls were between a rock and a hard place…and we chose de rock.

Bed dun mek … now we just gotta lay down and tek it…

Next change, We will likely celebrate the birthday of the supreme leader – to be called ‘Mottley day’ – after the royal family….

22. Another distraction?
    The issue remains, why has no body, other than a statement from the IDB, taken responsibility for the “pre test”.
    Apart from all matters of timing questions, given said test was administered at least twice, who did not note the offending questions remained? Who thought that giving all kinds of personal information was necessary for an 10-11-12 yrs old?
    Cutting the IDB a new asshole, is deflecting from the fact, WE are responsible for what occurs in OUR classrooms. Not the IDB.
    If the IBD, or any other entity, slips into the verbage of a loan document, that if we fail to repay in full, they own a GoB asset, then it is up to those signing the document, to have that altered. Not the loan granting entity.

• ” WE are responsible for what occurs in OUR classrooms. Not the IDB.
      If the IBD, or any other entity, slips into the verbage of a loan document, that if we fail to repay in full, they own a GoB asset, then it is up to those signing the document, to have that altered. Not the loan granting entity.”

exactly, don’t why anyone is blaming IDB for, they could not get that far without permission from the desperate beggars and borrowers. They would not have the audacity unless assured that they would get away with it, because some Judas had their backs, and it actually worked, until the 3rd time when it blew up.

people only do what you allow them and for how long they are allowed, in these types of scenarios.

23. Gov’t Proclamation

Hear Ye Hear Ye

From henceforth on the 30th day of the 11th month in the year 2022 the day formerly celebrated as Independence Day will now be known as Barbados National Day. And we strictly forbid all citizens on pain of Imprisonment or exile from making any reference to the former name without express approval of the Cabinet of Barbados.

24. This is why we need an investigation into the matter. WHO, WHO, WHO? Whoever gave deliberate orders OR whoever dropped the administrative ball needs to be held accountable.

A dismissive apology without accountability and silence from the Prime Minister is disrespectful and unacceptable when RIGHTS ARE VIOLATED.

I don’t give a rat’s botsy about Independence Day or Republic Day competitions.

If this right means nothing then pray tell what rights mean something?

How can Government be providing counselling for affected children without first admitting that damage was done?

And if damage was done to our children should accountability not follow?

HOWEVER, if those affected parents have moved on….

Donna was waiting to join the action but she does not even have a grandchild who took the test.

25. 🌍 Magnificent a.k.a Magno – Yu Heard Formula: C₂₁H₃₀O₂ IUPAC ID: (−)-(6aR,10aR)-6,6,9-trimethyl- 3-pentyl-6a,7,8,10a-tetrahydro- 6H-benzo[c]chromen-1-ol [[[ONE LOVE ONE WORLD ♡ ♥ 💕 ❤ 😘 🌍]]] on said:

The white man built slave forts in Africa
    and slave ports in Caribbean
    and paid people who worked in the trade

who to blame

do you blame
    the white man
    or the black man
    for the slavery

due you blame the kings
    who profited from slavery
    or the captains of the slave ships

do you blame Adolf Hitler who gave the orders to kill
    or the Germans who pulled the trigger

26. Hants,

I followed the link in your Dominica post and that led to another article. I noticed that two of the dead guys are posing with an identical hand signal. The other guy was accused by a commenter of bringing in guns. As usual, this seems to be gang warfare, living and dying by the gun.

Fifteen murders in a population of 70,000.

Trinidad is past 500.

And Caribbean leaders have no answers.

27. @Hants

Still time to rework those lyrics to “God Bless Bim on Barbados National Day” in time for November 30th

I can still play the original as I am enjoying “The Pleasures of Exile”

BTW why is Lamming not a National Hero? Why?

28. 🌍 Magnificent a.k.a Magno – Yu Heard Formula: C₂₁H₃₀O₂ IUPAC ID: (−)-(6aR,10aR)-6,6,9-trimethyl- 3-pentyl-6a,7,8,10a-tetrahydro- 6H-benzo[c]chromen-1-ol [[[ONE LOVE ONE WORLD ♡ ♥ 💕 ❤ 😘 🌍]]] on said:

ƪ(˘⌣˘)┐ ƪ(˘⌣˘)ʃ ┌(˘⌣˘)ʃ ƪ(˘⌣˘)┐

Don’t Hate The Playa/Playette Hate The Game … don’t dislike someone for their actions, consider instead the situation that causes it

Still D.R.E. / Dr. Dre
    Dr. Dre is the name
    I’m ahead of my game
    Still puffing my leafs
    Still fuck with the beats, still not loving police
    Still rock my khakis with a cuff and a crease
    Still got love for the streets, reppin’ 213 (For life)
    Still the beats bang, still doing my thang
    Since I left ain’t too much changed, still

I’m representing for them gangstas all across the world
    (Still) Hitting them corners in them low-lows, girl
    Still taking my time to perfect the beat
    And I still got love for the streets, it’s the D-R-E

Snoop Dogg in wwe…

https://www.youtube.com/shorts/YQrM1yWUC5Q

29. @de pedantic Dribbler on November 2, 2022 at 11:41 AM

We never elect a PM. We elect a MP to manage our constituency and they decide amongst themselves who they want to be PM.

Too much power is placed in the PM’s hands. Someone with that much power should be elected. Scrap the PM post, let the electorate elect the president and give the president the powers of the PM has.

The MPs can then have oversight of the President and ministers and investigate where necessary.

Were such a framework in place, our MPs would have investigated the IDB Computer Test fiasco and determine who truly dropped the ball and report to us on the floor of Parliament.

• Two major events combined
      AFTER 56 YEARS OF CELEBRATING November 30 as Independence Day, from this year Barbadians will mark it as Barbados National Day.
      Government has decided to amalgamate the country’s two most historical milestones in its journey to shed colonial ties – the 1966 declaration of Independence and the move to republic status in 2021.
      The announcement was made yesterday by Minister of Home Affairs Wilfred Abrahams, who made it clear there was no intent to obscure the legacy of Errol Barrow, referred to as the “Father of Independence”.
      “The Right Excellent Errol Barrow will always be the father of Barbados’ Independence. We can’t ever take that away from him, we don’t want to take that away from him, but we went a step further and became a republic. So, there was that tossup: Do we call it Independence Day? Do we call it Republic Day?
      “At the end of the day, November 30 was a day of national importance to us, it was a nationally important day to Barbados. In 2021 on November 30 was another day of national importance for Barbados and it is therefore fitting that it just be called the Barbados National Day,” explained Abrahams during a press conference at Ilaro Court.
      Emphasising that the spirit behind the name change was to ensure that the full story of Barbados’ sovereignty was captured, Abrahams urged Barbadians not to focus too much attention on the name and the day but rather the journey.
      “Our journey to Independence started in 1966 but our journey to full national independence, full national identity, full selfgovernance, culminated last year on November 30. So it is not a matter of obscuring one or the other.
      “November 30 will always be Barbados’ Independence Day,
      November 30 will always be the day that we became a republic, but we can’t keep juggling them around and causing confusion. Whether you fall on the side of it being Independence Day or calling it
      Republic Day, the fact is that it is a day of national determination, of national identity and of national significance,” the minister said.
      Last night, Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley said: “I have seen and heard the comments this afternoon on social media. Irrespective of how the Government has felt about this issue last year and the decision we made, there is the reality that there has been confusion as to how the election of the first Barbadian head of state would be celebrated without undermining the significance of November 30, 1966. It is not either one or the other. Both are milestones in our journey. And as a 56-year-old country, we must act with our minds focused on the future.
      National significance
      “ Barbados National Day on November 30 allows us to celebrate both the attainment of Independence and the attainment of becoming a parliamentary republic with a native Barbadian as President. The fact is our Independence from Britain is not being rewritten from our history.
      We can allay the fears of those who are concerned about that.
      But, equally, we have to celebrate the election of our first President.
      We expect that some will continue to refer to both events as the day but for the avoidance of doubt we settle on an overall rubric that encompasses both events. And that is why we have settled on Barbados National Day – to celebrate two significant events in the life and journey of the sovereign state”.
      Abrahams said the spirit of the celebrations will not change and that both momentous occasions, Independence and achieving republic status, will be shown deference in the month-long celebrations.
      “What are we really changing?
      Between November 30, 1966, and November 29, 2021, it was
      Independence Day because that was the only relevant circumstance surrounding the day. We are proud of it and we celebrate it fully. On November 30, 2021, we became a republic, so there are now two things of major significance on that day.
      “If you refer to November 30 as Independence Day, you are not wrong. If you refer to it as the day we became a republic, you are not wrong either. To avoid all of the confusion and to include everyone and all competing ideas and to embrace everything that is Barbadian, we have decided to call it Barbados National Day,” Abrahams said.
      “It is more than just what happened on that day, November 30. For us now it is about celebrating everything that is Barbadian. It is not just about celebrating being independent or being republic, it is about celebrating our people, it is about celebrating our arts, it is about celebrating our military, our kite flyers, it is about celebrating everything that we associate with being Bajan. This is an exciting time for us, especially now that we can properly celebrate after COVID. This is our national day.”
      Abrahams, who is also chairman of the Barbados National Day Committee, said they would be pulling out all of the stops to ensure this year’s celebration is on a grand scale, given that it is the first without COVID-19 restrictions in two years.
      Also present at the briefing was chief executive officer of the National Cultural Foundation, Carol Roberts-Reifer, who said both Independence Square and Golden Square Freedom Park,
      symbols of both Independence and the move to republic, will be a hive of activity in this year’s celebrations.
      (CLM)

• No @Critical, you are offering theoretical platitudes in this real world of life!

There has NEVER been an election in Bim that I can recall when there was any doubt which MP we were electing to possibly be the PM … NOT ONE!

That’s REALITY. Your remark that “We never elect a PM. We elect a MP to manage our constituency and they decide amongst themselves who they want to be PM” is true but it’s just text-book regurgitated THEORY!

To offer – what would essentially be the US Cabinet Secretary/Ministerial model – provides no particularly PRACTICAL beneficial upsides in my view !

In our current system there is very ample opportunity for a minister, the PS and her/his team to PROPERLY manage their ministry … suggesting that we now place similar ‘absolute’ power in the hands of a president is as I said above simply ‘Napoleonic’ musings of the ‘Animal Farm’ kind!

In short, let’s get real with executing the powers we have currently in our governance system and leave alone the pretty theories of change which will do little to improve the system.

30. ‘I can still play the original’…the notes for a musical illiterate, as learned in Ms Millington’s class were…b-a-g-g-a-a b-a-g d-e-a-g-f-g

National Day, while not original, would appear a fair compromise between Independence and Republic.

31. @Dub, kiki, Magno et al
    You could do all of us, esp those using mobile or non laptop experience, a huge favour by limiting your identifier to one line. We know its you.
    That elongated identifier eats up a ton of space on every post

32. @ The Observer
    That is Mr. 🌍 Magnificent a.k.a Magno – Yu Heard Formula: C₂₁H₃₀O₂ IUPAC ID: (−)-(6aR,10aR)-6,6,9-trimethyl- 3-pentyl-6a,7,8,10a-tetrahydro- 6H-benzo[c]chromen-1-ol [[[ONE LOVE ONE WORLD ♡ ♥ 💕 ❤ 😘 🌍]]] to you

Train Sequence & Introduction

33. This is a government/ PM that keeps getting in their own way

First there was the hurry up to Republic status without a constitution in place, then there was the establishing of Republic Day on the same date as Independence Day. Then when it dawned on them that the public was not enamoured of referring to November 30 as Republic Day and still favoured Independence Day, the in-house solution is let’s get rid of both names and replace them with Barbados National Day.

The most recent update I read about this change is that it is about celebrating the election of the first President of Barbados

Does anyone know the number of blind mice around the Cabinet table?

34. I propose to change a name from The Barbados Police Service Band to

The Barbados Police Service Orchestra.

I have been listening to the NCF mini concert series and I am impressed.

35. The changing of the name should not have come as a surprise. It was simple and silly of us to believe that Mia would not want her grand action to be memoralized or acknowledged over the years..

Like the cuckoo bird, which lays it eggs in the nest of another bird and allow that bird to raise a nest of young cuckoos, Mia moved in on November 30 and will now seize all the pomp and pageantry of that great day as her own.

In hindsight, I believe the transitions from Independence Day to Mia’s Day was inevitable; but what surprises me she attempted her “huff” and remove Independence Day from the minds and vocabulary of the public in less than a year..

Well played Mia. I can only imagine the size of the pair.

36. I saw Ronnie O today.
    I had to leave as I wanted to vote early, but i was impressed with the man.

It is clear that that he will not allow Mia (the cuckoo) to erase a part of our history.

I am here sitting trying to figure out what other name the USA would call July 4th. Cannot think of any.. to the US that day is sacred.

Ronnie O
    The way to go

37. As explained in this article re T&T’s Independence vs Republic Day.
    T & T has two different celebrations- Independence Day is celebrated on the day that the country received its Independence from Britain and Republic Day is the first day that that the Parliament met under the new Republican constitution.

HELLO …..The Constitution Reform Commission is coming to a school near you

https://tt.loopnews.com/content/tts-independence-vs-republic-status-explained

38. @TheO
    To us ignoramuses to your North it is the Fourth of July. It is a holiday. What does it celebrate? The day 🎇 makers earn the most money?

@Sarge
    Are you proposing another national holiday?
    What about the first day the President actually DOES something, become Presidents Day and we could add another.

39. @de pedantic Dribbler on November 2, 2022 at 6:49 PM

The theoretical structure of government first needs to be more closely aligned to its practical functioning if we are to identify and resolve deficiencies in our current political system.

Transferring the PM powers to the President with the exception of election date selection which should be a fixed date every 5 years gives more power to the people. The country already operates this way with the added expenses of a generally useless ceremonial president.

The true benefit of such a structure change is that we would now be able to have parliamentary oversight of our ministers and president actions similar to a company board has oversight responsibility of a CEO.

Using the IDB Computer Test fiasco as an example, under this structure, no MP would be a minister, so parliament would be unencumbered and able to request an official report from the Minister of Education and if they are unsatisfied, take a no confidence vote against the minister.

40. They are always hungry for something:

world stage prominence and prestige,

shite awards that mean squat,
    shite recognition and titles that no one cares about, not even in the white world..

international board seats that mean destruction for Afrikans and their children..

they want so badly to leave a lasting criminal legacy while pretending otherwise, an extension of the last 100 years of same, and all they will leave is their STENCH of corruption and Judas selloutism…..that’s the only legacy they can ever come up with.

the legacy of the begging borrowers.

41. ALL THIS BULLSHIT ABOUT INDEPENDENCE WHEN THE 2X3 ISLAND IS DEPENDENT ON THE NEW COLONIAL MASTERS THE IMF AND IDB WITH CHILDREN BEING EXPLOITED IN THE PROCESS AS IN THE OLD PLANTATION DAYS.

SOME PEOPLE DON’T LIVE IN REALITY.

42. Pretending they are independent is their comfort zone, while they can’t even get clean water, don’t care how you boil and filter the water, if it’s not distilled it’s still filthy and not worth drinking, but they are “independent” so let them have that…

however, glad the people took a stand on the attempt to rewrite fraud…..they are not changing any narrative with distraction and sleight of hand….for their personal agendas..first lawyers i ever met who don’t know when they are doing evil, unlawful things to their people, but only know when Afrikans are breaking the law and always ready t o prosecute…….after all the parading and “trending on twitter”…they had to eat their wickedness….reverse..

..keep up the pressure….don’t stop

as a matter of fact, my first book with be published in Kush Quarterly, starting in January…PAGE by PAGE…every quarter…let them rewrite that…

43. Before i could finish type that comment, this was posted elsewhere and i quote….cause i just love to share great news, the highlight of my life…

“The Caribbean Region now has an (sic) Criminal Indictment Authority.

CARIBBEAN COVID CRIMES – CRIMINAL JUSTICE TRIBUNAL

A word to all Caribbean Politicians, Lawyers, Doctors, Police Officers and all other Civil Servants including Company Employers!

MAKE YOUR WILL!!!”

and from what i do know, this is no idle threat IT’S A PROMISE.

44. “Independence Time – A Time to Reflect on the Role of Prime Minister”

I suspect Davy still has a crush on BLP and the PM
    and is only pretending that she/they suck big ones
    and it is a deal breaker for the relationship

..but in considering
    title above literally
    not sarcastically
    and spliffically
    meditatively

the role of the PM
    and a President
    instead of King or Queen
    needs to be reconsidered
    and redefined in new constitution
    for the Bajan People’s Revolution

45. @ Critical Analyzer said..
    “…..no MP would be a minister, so parliament would be unencumbered and able to request an official report from the Minister of Education and if they are unsatisfied, take a no confidence vote against the minister.”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    If you check out the BU 10-Point Plan (now outdated) you will find such a model proposed years ago – when a difference could have been made…

‘Ministers’ (managers) would have been hired ON MERIT (like any BILLION DOLLAR ENTERPRISE not owned by brass bowls would do.

But that was like throwing pearls to swine…
    Now it is too late to make a difference any damn how…

46. Mos Def
    Mathematics
    Lyrics
    Bucka, bucka, bucka, bucka, bucka, bucka
    Ha ha
    You know the deal
    It’s just me, yo
    Beats by Su-Primo for all of my people, Negros and Latinos
    And even the gringos

Yo, check it one for Charlie Hustle, two for Steady Rock
    Three for the forth-coming live future shock
    It’s five dimensions, six senses
    Seven firmaments of Heaven to Hell, eight million stories to tell
    Nine planets faithfully keep in orbit
    With the probable tenth, the universe expands length
    The body of my text posses extra strength
    Power-lift the powerless up, out of this, towering inferno
    My ink so hot it burn through the journal

The system break man, child and women into figures
    Two columns for who is and who ain’t niggas
    Numbers is hard and real and they never have feelings
    But you push too hard, even numbers got limits
    Why did one straw break the camel’s back? Here’s the secret
    The million other straws underneath it, it’s all mathematics

A Journey Into Stereo Sound (“This is a journey into sound”)

47. Going to try some heavy lifting here. That’s not my thing. Errors may be made.

“While Senior Lecturer in Political Science and former Head of the Department of Government, Sociology, Social Work and Psychology at UWI’s Cave Hill Campus Dr Tennyson Joseph maintained Independence Day cannot remain indefinitely, two other political scientists Dr Kristina Hinds and Professor Cynthia Barrow-Giles reject any attempts to fiddle with the important historical designation.”

**Do you realize that 9/10th of the paragraph was to state the man’s qualifications; 1/20th was for the point he made and the other 1/20th was for the two lecturers.

Their opinion is just as valid as his is. Independence day can remain as long as we want it to. The questions are (1) what does independence mean to us? (2) are we willing to fight for it or is it all symbolism? Independence is the backbone of his imagined republic.
    We cannot allow politicians/lecturers to play us as if we are fiddles.

“Hours before Government on Thursday announced post-Cabinet that the status quo would remain, Dr Joseph argued that in the same way the independence of various Caribbean states replaced the Federation as the supreme form of sovereignty, republicanism must now do the same with independence as an unfolding political development.”

Let me show you the comparison.
    Independence => Federation
    Republicanism => Independence

I am not certain that his point of ‘Federation as the supreme form of sovereignty’ is correct. Secondly, independence and republicanism are not antagonists: they fit together like a backbone and a spine.

I am very reluctant to accept the opinions of our thought leaders.

• The Blogmaster’s perspective is that Independence Day for majority of Bajans is about the comfort when comes from doing traditional activities, conkies, parade, listening, watching and reminiscing things Barbadian. Is this enough when we discuss what independence should mean to a nation? Is it a journey we are continuing given a relatively short 56 years?

Discuss for 19 marks.

48. (In what follows, I mixed-up Dale Marshall with Wilfred Abrahams but as both are screw-ups, it does not matter.

Imagine, if you can, an election that pits Ronnie O against Dale Marshall. Who gets your vote?

I know a few of you will abandon the correct choice, hold your nose and vote for Dale Marshall?

But which DM will you vote for.
    (1) The one that is strong and resolute in the morning?
    (2) The one that confesses to messing things up on his afternoon apology tour, or my favorite
    (3) the one that can always be found on a poster for a fete.

I am going with the party animal… I am willing to bet that he thought BLP meant Barbados largest party (fete).

49. I fear that your description of Independence Day is much too simple.
    It is description of the now, of the party atmosphere and ignored our memory and story. It is devoid of history.

Independence was a major step in our march from being a colony to being our own men and women.

For good men and women, Independence Day is much more than a single day on the calendar; it is a milestone signifying a continuation of our march from being the property of others to being our own masters of our future and our lives. It is a continuation of our writing our name on History’s page.

Becoming a republic should have been a next
    chapter, a next major step for all of us, but being petty, jealous, deceitful, manipulative and destructive has turned it into a putrid affair for just a few.

Put aside the plans and the schemes. Give us back our innocence. Show us things as they really are and not just the shiny side of an ugly coin.

50. Bread and butter for premier league fans outside of the US
    1) Get a vpn
    2). Get peacock
    3)remove sim card, shutdown phone
    4) restart
    5)log on to vpn, choose site in the US
    6)Log on to peacock
    Premier league soccer

If you are not making calls you do not need to use your SIM card

51. I am celebrating Independence month culminating on Independence day November 30th.

Hope the NCF delivers enough fetes to keep me entertained.

52. “Is it a journey we are continuing given a relatively short 56 years?”
    “Discuss for 19 marks.”
    🎓 🧑‍🎓
    I am the Dean of my University
    and speak at random tangents
    with thoughts I prepared earlier
    🇨🇳 Chinese culture goes back 1,000s of years
    🇺🇸 US culture goes back 250 years
    Both have cheap credit, but USA can cut off it’s supply like the GFR of 2018 which caused liquidity issues

53. can’t see the wood for the trees 🌳🌲 🌳🌲
    If someone can’t see the wood for the trees in Barbados Culture British English, or can’t see the forest for the trees in American English, they are very involved in the details of something and so they do not notice what is important about the thing as a whole.

54. Independence represents the past
    Republic represents the present and future
    Both share the same date and are separate and the same
    Should these shared holidays be bi yearly or bi annual?
    (This question may also cause confusion)
    People are often confused about whether to use biannual or biyearly and for good reason: both can mean “twice per year” or “every other year.” The thing to remember is that one isn’t more “correct” than the other. However, biannual is more commonly used than biyearly.

• Atherley: Why the continued state of emergency?
      By Colville Mounsey
      colvillemounsey@nationnews.com
      With most of the COVID-19 protocols ending earlier this year, former Opposition Leader Bishop Joseph Atherley is questioning why Barbados is still under the Emergency Powers legislation.
      Atherley contends that Government, by its decision to end protocols, has effectively signalled that the COVID-19 threat is over and therefore the need for Barbadians to continue to exist in a state of emergency situation has been negated.
      However, Attorney General Dale Marshall told the Sunday Sun that the maintenance of the state of emergency within the context of the pandemic was largely dependent on the recommendation of the Chief Medical Officer and other key health professionals.
      “We made it clear to the country from the outset, that the declaring of a State of Emergency was based on a public health need to safeguard Barbadian lives. Throughout the period of the state of emergency, the Chief Medical Officer has had the solemn responsibility of advising the Government of the need for the State of Emergency to continue and also of what specific measures in the form of directives are required to be in place.”
      “The former Leader of the Opposition may be many things, but his views are not to be allowed to be substituted for the professional advice of the Chief Medical Officer. We have made it this far safely and I am certain that the issue is under review, but we will act responsibly and with due caution and at all times follow the advice of the health professionals,” Marshall said.
      However, Atherley said that at the very least, Government needed to definitively state, barring a resurgence of cases, that the State of Emergency would not be extended next month. Several Caribbean neighbours have already removed their state of emergencies, some as early as last year.
      “We need to bring an end to that legislation now. I am seriously concerned about this, and I am calling for an end to that legislation. I know that when it was last affected it was until December this year and that is why when I was in Parliament, I was calling on Government to abbreviate the time for this legislation to run for six months instead of months. I maintained then that you could have always come back if necessary but now we have a situation where the rationale for putting the legislation in place no longer exists since all protocols have been removed.
      “However, there remains this consolidation of power which has the potential to threaten the democratic processes that Barbadians are accustomed to,” Atherley argued.
      Echoing this call for clarity was attorneyat-law Michael Lashley KC, who said the rationale for the maintenance of the emergency powers was unclear.
      “There should be a clear definitive statement with respect to those emergency powers. Government has relaxed the majority of the restrictions; they have basically disbanded the Covid Monitoring Unit… It could be argued that we still have some restrictions and therefore Parliament will have to decide when to lift those emergency powers. However, at the moment the need for these powers are unclear,” said Lashley.
      Atherley warned that Barbadians now run the risk of being desensitised to the reality that the emergency powers, which had been in place since 2020, still hang over their heads, leaving the door ajar for potential abuse of power by the ruling administration.
      “We certainly do not need this legislation now. It is true that the virus is still with us but having gone to the lengths to relax the situation as we have, I see no reason for us to continue to have that and they need to seriously consider bringing it to an end now,” the former Leader of the Opposition said.
      He added: “We don’t want to find that we are faced down with a creeping situation where the freedoms of people can easily be abridged. One understands that in the height of a pandemic where you didn’t know what you are dealing with substantially and you had to set these things in order to ensure that they have control, but we have gone past this situation and things are pretty relaxed. We have to be careful that we don’t have a situation where people become desensitised to the fact that there is a state of emergency in existence.”

• TEACH THEM

Educate youth on what it means to be a republic, says Dame Sandra
      President Dame Sandra Mason is suggesting that schoolchildren be educated about what being a republic means “as soon as possible”.
      She made the suggestion during an informal meeting with nine-year-old St Gabriel’s School student Gabriela Babb, who was her special guest at State House yesterday, after Babb confirmed she was aware of Independence but indicated she was unclear about republic status.
      Babb threw the switch to turn on the lights in Bridgetown during the Sagicor Lighting Ceremony on Wednesday, and the President said yesterday she really wanted to meet Babb then but was whisked away from the ceremony before she had the opportunity to do so.
      The elated nine-year-old was accompanied on the State House visit by her mother Katrina Jacobs, and her best friend, tenyear-old Raine Brathwaite. The two students also had the opportunity to tour the historic official residence, following an engaging informal sit-down with the head of state.
      After conversing with the two students, sharing some of her own experiences at their age and hearing them talk about their goals, Dame Sandra advised them to choose their own goals.
      She said afterwards: “It was revealing that when I asked the little ones about Independence they knew what it was; then when I asked about the republic, they did not seem to appreciate republic.
      “Therefore, if more education had been given in this respect and what it means for us as a nation, the little ones would have an appreciation for Republic Day. I think it is imperative that we do that education as soon as possible . . . especially in light of the furore we have had over Independence Day and Republic Day.”
      Last week Government was forced to cancel its decision to combine celebrations for Barbados becoming a republic with those marking the attainment of Independence, with the name change Barbados National Day.
      Word of that decision Tuesday from Minister of Home Affairs Wilfred Abrahams was met with widespread public dissent, prompting an immediate response from Abrahams.
      The following day he said: “The response by Barbadians from all walks of life has both been swift and vocal with the overwhelming majority of Barbadians not being in favour of the change or, in some instances, not being in favour of its timing.” He promised to make representation to Cabinet “that we pause this particular initiative”.
      Following Thursday’s meeting of the Cabinet, Abrahams announced: “Today the Cabinet of Barbados met, reviewed and has decided that November 30 will continue to be referred to as Independence Day. There will also be a national consultation to come up with the most fitting way to celebrate our transition to a parliamentary republic.” (GC)

55. Barbados will never truly be INDEPENDANT , its a part Of England and commonwealth , it depends on Tourists from UK USA and Canada mostly ,Banks are mostly Canadian and British American , so now the Liberal Women are in charge but they still answer to IMF and Pope and New World Order it seems!

The blogmaster dares you to join the discussion.