Tennyson Joseph, UWI lecturer and political scientist shared a personal experience in his recent weekly column. While it is a personal experience, it scrutinises and exposes decision making at the highest level by education planners in the region. We must do better if we are to compete on the world stage, especially being able to cover-off rudimentary decisions.

See article reproduced from Nationnews.com.

Another CXC mis-step 

I WRITE IN MY capacity as a concerned and frustrated parent, in response to an incident which occurred during the conduct of the CSEC English B (English Literature) multiple choice exam on Friday May 27, 2022.

Originally intended to be a two-hour exam (from 1 p.m. to 3 p.m), my daughter exited the exam room at 5:30 p.m., with other students having streamed out a few minutes before, this is on a day when they had already had a morning paper from 9 a.m. to 11:15 a.m. Essentially, therefore, the affected students were kept under examinations conditions for seven hours.

What was the issue? It appears that a decision was taken to conduct all CXC multiple-choice examinations online without ensuring that the necessary IT infrastructure to support such examinations was in place. Given that English B is compulsory for all students at my daughter’s school, the demand overload proved overwhelming, and many students had to sit for hours waiting, without success, for the exam App to open. Some were successful at various periods after the start, while others’ systems crashed mid-exam.

My daughter was one of the unfortunate ones whose apps failed to open, and she reported to me that after two hours of waiting, and going through a range of negative emotions, a decision was taken to allow the examination to be done in the old fashioned, but reliable way.

My aim is not to question the judgement of the onsite invigilators and decision-makers. What is concerning is the poor judgment of CXC decision makers, who, by insisting on online multiplechoice examinations, appear to be operating on the assumption that “man is made for technology rather than technology made for man”.

Two issues are of concern here. The first is that, after the loud public outcry and loss of goodwill experienced by CXC over the conduct of examinations during the 2019 COVID period, that CXC did not consider it prudent to put a pause on all “experimentation” to allow for a period of cooling off period and a return to normalcy.

Secondly, given the importance of assessments as measurements of student quality and as a determinant of life chances, great care should be taken to ensure that there is nothing intrinsic to an examination environment that can negatively affect student performance. CXC ought to have assured itself of near 100 per cent success prior to utilising new technology in examinations.

CXC is too important to allow these constant hints of weakness. It should be airtight and the least problematic of our institutions. My recommendation to CXC is that it should perfect the basic aspects of its mandate, before venturing off into new territory, especially at a time when the stench of recent failures still pollute the atmosphere. For the sake of our children and the educational “ecosystem”, let us get it right.

Tennyson Joseph is a political scientist at The University of the West Indies, Cave Hill Campus, specialising in regional affairs. Email tjoe2008@live.com

131 responses to “CXC- Time to Get it Right!”

1. The question should be “WHY IS BARBADOS STILL USING THIS OUTDATED CXC PROCEDURE.
    This is an OLD COLONIAL system that is well past its BEST BEFORE DATE. Same old same old, if it was good enough for last century why change. Just another example of Barbados Batting Above its Weight.

God help the sheep.

2. As Bushie has said from the ‘get go’, CXC is a REALLY stupid idea, and always was…
    If you start with jobby, it can only get worse and worse …until the smell finally becomes overbearing.

When in comes to the question of being qualified to compete at the GLOBAL LEVEL, there is no damn place for local qualifying standards.
    If you want to participate in the Olympics, yuh HAVE to meet the IOC qualifying standards.
    No damn point in creating any shiite Barbados or CARICOM ‘Olympic Standards Council’
    LOTTA Shiite.
    No wonder our ‘graduates’ CANNOT compete – NOT EVEN AT HOME IN BARBADOS, for the top jobs.

The CORRECT approach of course would have been to attach ourselves to one of the most respected GLOBAL examination Institutions, and then to prepare our students to excel at THAT level….. but no, we want to compete at the brass bowl level.
    Plant jobby, and we reap brass…

Same identical shiite now with this joke Sports Minister,.
    They come up with a ‘Sports Policy’ …..that is mostly about road tennis and cricket…..
    Shiite man…..
    Who else in the world plays road tennis?
    Why not Beach tennis then, cause those fellows on Brown’s beach would be world champs.
    Wuh he could as well just hold a finals game and give out the money to one of the four people who we ALL know will get it…

Also, compared to 30 years ago, no damn people play cricket. Cricket shiite!!
    This is 2022, who the Hell has time to spend a whole week playing a shiite game than mostly ends in a draw anyway? Why does Griffith think there has been a move to sports that are much more intense, and that end in 90 minutes max?
    People gotta LIFE Boss!!

Some shiite is SERIOUSLY wrong with thinking bout here…
    …and Joseph is only complaining because his daughter suffered personally from the folly…. if things had gone well for her and she got the 100%, as she was no doubt primed to do, he would have been the greatest CXC fan….

3. @Bush Tea

Two things:

CXC is accredited by leading universities around the world not so?

2.The issue Dr. Joseph complains is an admin issue that is visible in many areas across the region which strikes at our ability to strive for excellence?

4. Vincent Codrington Avatar

Could Dear ,Coyote, Barbados Black Belly sheep do not have horns . Why do you expect their butts to be effective? Unless CXC is as blind as a bat.

5. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David Bu at 8:26 AM

CXC will soon lose its credibility if it continues to make these administrative mistakes. Accreditation is based on credibility. If the report is true, can overseas bodies trust the integrity of the exams? Is the process fair to the candidates? How can the students concentrate and give of their best in this confusion. . A test of a good manager is how well he manages in a crisis. CXC is not creating a good public image.

6. @Vincent

Agree with you, this is a basic support function that should have been factored before the exam was taken.

Ridiculous!

7. There is always a way forward somewhere.

https://www.georgebrown.ca/apply/academic-upgrading

8. No wonder our ‘graduates’ CANNOT compete – NOT EVEN AT HOME IN BARBADOS, for the top jobs.

@Bushie
    You mean to tell me that after decades of independence, that Bajans don’t even have the nous to tilt the board? To load the dice? To give themselves home court advantage?

What is the point of a govt spending $Billions on education to then have little use for those on whom the $Billions were spent?

Yuh can’t make this stuff up.

9. NorthernObserver Avatar

The challenge may begin with an A, but that is ACCOUNTABILITY. If there are no consequences for effing up….it will continue.

10. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ NO at 9 :35 AM
    I think it is your emphasis on accountability and consequences of “effing up” that is at the root of the problem. The actors/ agents spend more time and effort at covering their asses that they have little of both left to do their jobs. Think about it.

11. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“It appears that a decision was taken to conduct all CXC multiple-choice examinations online without ensuring that the necessary IT infrastructure to support such examinations was in place. Given that English B is compulsory for all students at my daughter’s school, the demand overload proved overwhelming, and many students had to sit for hours waiting, without success, for the exam App to open. Some were successful at various periods after the start, while others’ systems crashed mid-exam.”

did i not warn CXC about this same very thing, they are the most incompetent source of exams for the region…first everyone had to rush out and buy computers, those who could afford it, they did not even give consideration to stock availability….then when they get their uppity, backward asses lit into, they want to take offense…they are lucky my grand did the English paper last year or they would HEAR FROM ME…

“Two issues are of concern here. The first is that, after the loud public outcry and loss of goodwill experienced by CXC over the conduct of examinations during the 2019 COVID period, that CXC did not consider it prudent to put a pause on all “experimentation” to allow for a period of cooling off period and a return to normalcy.”

what do you expect from the paper degreed IGNORANT with no commonsense….they were warned that their experiment would turn to shit…because the time need to ASSURE SUCCESS was not given….but they just had to see for themselves..

12. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

*because the time needed to ASSURE SUCCESS was not given…

“soon lose” ?….CXC has NO CREDIBILITY…

“No damn point in creating any shiite Barbados or CARICOM ‘Olympic Standards Council’
    LOTTA Shiite.”

they create these useless local shite entities to give themselves pats on the back, massage swollen egos, and get their hands on some free treasury money, but they are ALL FAILURES…given the stench from the arrogant heads…

only reason i did not hear about this, because none of my grands on the island had to take the English paper this year…

13. @ Dullard (not)
    “You mean to tell me that after decades of independence, that Bajans don’t even have the nous to tilt the board? To load the dice? To give themselves home court advantage?”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Bushie don’t have to tell you… Just look around.
    Unlike many others apparently, Bushie KNOWS the importance of getting the BASICS right.
    If you start with a shiite foundation, you can build however ‘pretty’ a house you like….
    yuh ass is grass.

Question?
    What is it we are trying to achieve?
    If NOT world class graduates who are among the VERY best ANYWHERE…. then we just making brass bowl sport.
    …and, If we are looking for the BEST, …then we MUST measure/judge ourselves against the BEST…. else we just fooling we self.

Only a jackass makes up his own ‘measuring tape’ and then go into international business with WORLD CLASS DEMONS.
    Only a clown trains with tape ball in preparation for the World Cup…

Such a JA will ALWAYS be in debt, always be in danger of starvation, and forever begging for loans from the VERY demons….

Steupsss..
    But fortunately, the main BENEFIT of being a sheep is the ability to live in blissful ignorance of your fate …right up to the ride to the abattoir….

14. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Then when ya tell these on BU that the formal miseducation system is PURE SHIT and as useless as it can get…….they want to take offense…..only those with ANCIENT ancestral KNOWLEDGE manage to survive it..

.all the others are made to look like degreed or undegreed IDIOTS….with little to no formal education…

15. Why didn’t many of those African leaders use the “ANCIENT ancestral KNOWLEDGE” to UPLIFT the citizens of the countries they lead/led, rather than ABUSE their HUMAN RIGHTS?

16. “…..only those with ANCIENT ancestral KNOWLEDGE manage to survive it..”

“Africa” is not the answer to every question on every subject under the sun

Information and knowledge is accumulative strong foundations are built on

Everybody Needs A Proper Education, Mikey Dread

17. NorthernObserver Avatar

@VC
    While your concept is possible, the best CYA strategy is successful implementation which doesn’t cause shining lights in your direction?
    On that topic, it is interesting how world leaders, and their un-targeted pandemic stimulus is the primary cause of today’s inflation, get ahead of the curve by expressing confidence in their Central Bankers to “solve” the problem.
    How did so many of these monetary economists fall so far behind the inflation curve? Their projections have been off by Sinckleresque amounts. Were they blind or stupid, or was their ‘interference’?

18. A reminder CXC is a regional enterprise. As usual some locate all issues concerning CXC at the foot of the Barbados government.

19. Be careful NO, Vincent is a life member of the profession you have scorned.

20. “Their projections have been off by Sinckleresque amounts. Were they blind or stupid, or was their ‘interference’?”

Bio Warfare
    Price Wars
    Inflation
    Eating up losses
    means stronger survive
    and the weaker die
    Vultures sweep in
    Scavengers eat up

Vultures

Scavenger Dub

21. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“Why didn’t many of those African leaders use the “ANCIENT ancestral KNOWLEDGE” to UPLIFT the citizens of the countries they lead/led, rather than ABUSE their HUMAN RIGHTS?”

we can ask the same of the parliament clowns in Barbados and ACROSS THE REGION…

22. So @Bushie

Are you saying that CXC is yet another anachronism, mostly or wholly unfit for purpose with its best days firmly rooted in the past?

CXC is in good company.

Think of such bastions of innovation, transparency and effectiveness as UWI, BSE, FTC, FSC, NIS, BTMI, DLP, BLP, etc…

Your Brass Bowl Theory is looking more and more like Brass Bowl Law with each passing day!

23. NorthernObserver Avatar

I didn’t ‘scorn’ the profession, rather interested in how their projections for, and management of levers could be so far behind what was occuring.

24. @ Artax
    “Why didn’t many of those African leaders use the “ANCIENT ancestral KNOWLEDGE” to UPLIFT the citizens of the countries they lead/led, rather than ABUSE their HUMAN RIGHTS?
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Master question there Artax…
    The answer is not what you may think.
    Just because you lead a cow to water does not constrain him to drink.

Again, unless you grasp the FUNDAMENTAL raison d’être of life, it is IMPOSSIBLE to make sense of arbitrary interactions.
    If you gave the latest cricket gear to a bunch of Americans, you would be surprised at the variety of interesting, and even enjoyable shiite they would get up to….
    ..stick fighting, baseball, tag – ball, and many more….
    But NOTHING like cricket is likely….(cricket is much too gentlemanly, and there is no fighting..or blood)

So KNOWLEDGE, (and then the WISDOM to recognize it, …and to USE it) is a VITAL requirement for TRUE success at the original rules of the game … or raison d’être.

The Ancients were handed all the ‘gear’ and the instructions and rules to play the game successfully.
    As we all know, they CHOSE to listen to some shiite woman called ‘Eve’ who was impressed with a big snake, and the rest is history… (mostly ‘HIS’ story as concocted by the ‘albino-centrics’ who have since proceeded to concoct their OWN ‘cricket’ rules – which look a lot more like ‘no rules wrestling’…. as is their natural wont )

Brass bowls then, are those of us who have adopted those albino rules, while our true talents are clearly designed for the ORIGINAL cricket.
    It is only obvious how the BBs will fare….

25. @NO

The 2008 financial meltdown exposed a lot about economics, specifically the branch dealing with behavioural indicators.

26. @Bush Tea

Again you hitched your argument to an allegory?

27. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

worth repeating..

“So KNOWLEDGE, (and then the WISDOM to recognize it, …and to USE it) is a VITAL requirement for TRUE success at the original rules of the game … or raison d’être.

The Ancients were handed all the ‘gear’ and the instructions and rules to play the game successfully.”

28. NorthernObserver Avatar

https://www.cbc.ca/news/politics/morneau-economy-speech-1.6474527
    Not the best article, but is not firewalled.
    You may recall the former Canadian MoF and his PM parted ways over pandemic measures. Not that there hadn’t been some friction before.
    His comments on politics, are as you would note ‘instructive’. He was not a lifetime politician.

29. Again you hitched your argument to an allegory?
    ~~~~~~~~~~
    It that bothers you Boss, feel free to scroll…
    Those with eyes to see will see…

30. Challenges everywhere it seems. In the private sector management is rewarded based on quick wins; short term plans. In government the focus is also on rolling out plans to win popularity because- wait for it- it is what today’s public demands.

31. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David, your mentor @BushTea has this tendency most evident in A type personalities (of which he is a top gun member) of being unnecessary churlish. To lambaste the author Joseph for using his daughter’s experience on exam day to highlight a major systemic problem is quite such!

But more relevant it is always mind boggling with argumentation such as his that a nation such as ours cannot set standards that are world class. That’s obviously ridiculous as in another breath the brother would loudly toute the world class abilities of a man like Sir Gary or former UNESCO and UWI chancellor Alleyne who both developed THEIR standards using Bajan ‘brass bowl’ measuring tapes that were the BEST anywhere.

Making administrative missteps or errors of execution are management failings that must be addressed and sanctioned but to suggest that the vision of restructuring regional exams to test OUR students with more literature or mathematical models germane to the region, was to devolve to a lower world class standard is absurdly fallacious!

Excellence is NOT determined by what Oxford, Cambridge or Harvard says it is fixed on what is the BEST result. Period.

And Sir Gary and Sir George Alleyne showed us long ago that in lil Barbados they (and others) knew what the standard of being the ‘best’ required!

Let’s stop the fallacious folly.

32. Talking about lambasting authors though Dribbler,
    Bushie continues to be impressed with your ability to continuously redefine the very depth of brassbowlery.

How does clearly outstandingly talented outliers such as Sir Gary (and many others) justify our NATIONAL systemic ignorance of the accepted methodology for establishing NATIONAL competitiveness?
    Have you ANY idea of how organizational competitiveness is managed in the dog-eat-dog world in which we are forced to survive?
    Have you reviewed the ACTUAL results of the shiite policies that we have been using – with your lukewarm support?
    If you are incapable of following Bushie’s position, why not suggest YOUR better position; provide examples of how YOUR ideas have worked;…or just ask for assistance with understanding…?

Bushie is not looking for any converts.
    As Luciano says, Bushie is just a messenger, here to expose brassbowlery.
    If you like the status quo and can see no need for complaints, then all hail to you.
    Bushie will NEVER be happy when so many remain so clueless of their TRUE POTENTIAL, many because lackies are always around (like the Nation editorial yesterday) to convince them that they deserve no better…

If the author is offended by Bushie’s assertion that the article about CXC would NOT have been written if his daughter was not impacted, then he should have kept her out of the story…
    David should do a feature on you….
    It would help us to understand where we are…

33. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

lol…well, there is a time to recognize when ya beating dead horses..

34. Not Cricket

Take african children from different tribes to the caribbean and tell them they are stupid and ugly and whip them into subservience and breed them with irish niggers
    Slavery and Economy in Barbados – British History in depth – BBC
    http://www.bbc.co.uk › history › british › empire_seapower › barbados_101
    https://www.bbc.co.uk/history/british/empire_seapower/barbados_01.shtml
    About featured snippets
    It is estimated that between 1627 to 1807, some 387 000 Africans were shipped to the island against their will, in overcrowded, unsanitary ships, which made the Middle Passage a synonym for barbaric horror.

35. @ Bushie who wrote ” Bushie KNOWS the importance of getting the BASICS right.”

Where and from Whom did you learn ” the basics ” ?

36. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

and when ya got a small insular undereducated society where the slave system is primary…..just imagine the battle every day with these damaged black minds…we know who the culprits are still carrying this 40 ton LARGE WANNABE WHITE CHIP ON THEIR SHOULDERS…

the enemy within…

” After numerous conversations with dark-skinned Black women including my wife and close female friends, I understand that colourism began as one of the tools used to create self-hate and infighting among Black people during slavery – but I was shocked to find that the biggest perpetrators of colourism now seem to be Black men, now it seems those messages have trickled down to influence how some Black men feel about Black women.

37. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“but I was shocked to find that the biggest perpetrators of colourism now seem to be Black men, ”

the WEAKEST LINK..

38. The phrase getting down to the nitty gritty means fucking a black woman
    but the dictionary has got it twisted
    If people get down to the nitty-gritty of a matter, situation, or activity, they discuss the most important, basic parts of it or facts about it. Knowing the date, time and place of a party are an example of the nitty-gritty of planning a party.

it’s about inviting ladies with big butts like Lakeisha

39. black woman in relationships with white males use their telephone voice and talk all prim and proper

40. @ Hants,
    Where and from Whom did you learn ” the basics ” ?
    ~~~~~~~~~~~
    From some of the best parents, teachers and mentors EVER to occupy Brassbados…..
    Provided of course by the ultimate ‘adoptee parent’… 🙂

41. @NO
    Yours@12.09 June 2
    Morneau resigned over pandemic measures? I thought it was because he got caught up in the WE scandal. In any event Liberal Finance ministers tend to resign over differences of opinion see John Turner re wages and prices and Paul Martin who fought with Chretien

42. Barbados History is well fucked up as well as misrepresented and white washed
    Mor
    e Than Objects: Understanding F
    emale Sla
    v
    es in Barbados in
    the Early Modern P
    eriod
    the Early Modern P
    erio
    https://academicworks.cuny.edu/cgi/viewcontent.cgi?article=1550&context=gc_etds

43. Title:
    The First Black Slave Society: Britain’s Barbarity Time in Barbados, 1636–1876, by Hilary McD. Beckles
    https://brill.com/view/journals/nwig/92/3-4/article-p300_8.xml?language=en

44. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Sarge
    “WE” may have been the final straw….meaning if he didn’t fall on that the PM was next in line? But they had several pre-leaving spats. The worse part is BMs wife is a McCain heiress, $50K to her is one week’s dividends. Nor is he a pauper himself.
    Is Druggie a lock today? There wasn’t a Lib candidate in my riding and 3 blues lol

45. Waru

We’ve found something that might be consistent with a particular view about that Sahel ‘greening’ mega project.

Difficult for the vast majority to accept and this writer has serious doubts as well.

However it’s a scenarios where that project has connections to notions of large internment camps, repatriation of Caribbean populations and the leading role of a PM ‘dearest’ to us acting under a position at the UN with the cooperation of the many Afrikan leaders coming to visit

Our time is very limited these days. But of the responses received this scenario might have been of interest.

46. ANOTHER DAY
    SAME HILARIOUS BOVINE EXCREMENT IN THE RUM SHOP
    JOSEPH COMPLAINED BUT AS AN EDUCATOR GAVE NO PLAUSIBLE PRACTICAL PLOY AS A SOLUTION

THE ONVIOUS PROCEEDURE TO BE ADOPTED FOR ALL ONLINE EXAMS IS “IN THE IVENT THAT IT IS IN ANYWAY AND AT ANY TIME POSSIBLE THAT AN ONLINE EXAM BE DISRUPTED , THE PRESIDING INVIGILATOR SHOULD RESTART THE EXAM USING PRINTED VERSIONS OF THE EXAM.
    EASY SO. EASY SO.

Q.E.D

47. @NO
    Druggie seems to be a lock and appears to be heading into majority territory, a year ago no one would have predicted a win for him, if the polls are correct it will be curtains for the Liberal leader and the NDP leader will be ushered out the door..
    Whoever wins it will be without my help as I am out of town.

48. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

There you go Pacha…that’s why i did not give too many details because I KNEW YOU WOULD FIND OUT….it’s consistent with information going around for quite a while.. …and that’s the information we were given along with…

“It’s a disguise form of colonization/slavery”…

that’s what i got from the continent from those in a position to know details..

..who don’t want to listen to prepare themselves and make their own future plans… THAT’S ON THEM..

please let WIlliam know so he can protect his family in case he is not seeing this…

Thanks for looking further into it…..

We can only warn them not to go anywhere with ANY CARIBBEAN GOVERNMENT…IF you are forced to leave…GO ON YOUR OWN…

plans change at a whim,

plots are modified,

redefined and made invisible….MAKE YOUR OWN…

that’s the best we can do..

49. The systemic issue Joseph complained about is that the IT infrastructure should have been tested and it’s architecture robust enough in design to handle the online load.

50. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

We can only warn them not to go anywhere with ANY CARIBBEAN GOVERNMENT…IF you are forced to leave…GO ON YOUR OWN…as a FREE AFRIKAN…not as a Barbados Slave..