We continue our focus on elder abuse in Barbados – Blogmaster
Submitted by Cheurfleur

Pensions are paid to old people from the NIS Fund which is financed by contributions from the employed. That group of able persons ages 18 to 60, originally, i.e 42 years by 52 weeks plus  plus 7 years by 52 weeks, i.e 67 years now.  

With a population of 1000 able bodied persons paying $100 for 42 years or 49, using annuities calculation the pot makes X to support Y in 1900s but Z currently.

I shall leave the actual calculations to Mr Annuity.  I am only concerned with elder abuse.

https://www.ssa.gov/history/pre1935.html

At its inception there weren’t that many people living far beyond 60 years of age. What we had was more contributors and less gobblers.  By the turn of the 19th century with better health services, vaccinations and greater production and higher income people began living longer.  No problem.

Then came the 20th century with women’s lib and all the other ‘liberations’ and fewer children were born ) per woman/family) thus fewer worker/contributors 20 years later vis  a vis elders migrating out of the system plus more more men on the ‘block’. (It’s worse in Japan).

There is a dilemma now.  How to balance this imbalance?  Have governments done anything constructive to balance it? 

They have raised contributions and extended the age of retirement by 7 years.  

But contributors are actually living until retirement (originally 60s) and surviving way beyond 80s (not the prayer request) at time of conceptualizing the ‘scheme’.  With the ‘rich man diseases’ prevalent, the plight of the fund managers is grave and great.  This was not how it was supposed to be.  You aren’t supposed to be there to get back 40 years of contributions.  Never mind the presumption of interest gained from your investments.  Ask Rockefeller or Rothschild.

Mr Annuity can tell you that there isn’t enough money to do business for these long-life, now  ‘good-for-nothing’, ‘resource sucking’ retirees.  Albeit some have worked and put aside extras in private pensions and endowments to make a better nest but they still have to give back what they took earlier.  Mathematicians nor Actuaries can fix this.

Every man for himself and God for us all.  Stay clear of hospitals

Forget your children and relatives who will prey pon yuh fuh yuh li’le pension and other valuables.  The real abusers are the vultures who first took the contributions and are taking again.  Notice how many of the aged population died during 2019 to 2020 and are still the most vulnerable.

What goes?

I have to ask questions from here on.

• What profit it is to anyone faced with this quandary to put policies in place to protect you – old work horses?
  • Why fight to save a life that is costing you on the down side when there is no income from the up side to make it feasible?
  • Why expend resources on a population that is not giving any returns (at point) when the resource can be invested on a population to bring up resources?

If it would save some lives, won’t someone just propose that those who can fend for themselves, economically, do so and relieve the burden so that no one would want to move them out of the way, earlier?

It is not only family and the nearby public that are abusing the elderly.  

174 responses to “The Ageing and Elder Abuse…relationship between social security – Pensions”

1. Ways to minimise risks for elderly
    Simple activities such as walking, swimming in a pool or the sea, dancing, and tai chi could be done by the elderly to make their legs stronger and improve balance.
    That along with proper nutritional meals and making sure grandparents are not left alone could minimize risks and prevent falls among the elderly said director of the Institute of Orthopedics and Rheumatology at the FCV Medical Complex in Colombian, Dr Gustavo Gomez.
    He was speaking recently during an online discussion hosted by Colombian institution in collaboration with the Barbados Association of Retired Persons (BARP), titled: The Impact Of falls: Prevention And After Care. Dr Maria Paula Barrera from the same complex also spoke, along with BARP President Marilyn Rice-Bowen and chief executive officer Dr Glenda Gilkes.
    Gomez, who said that a combination of risk factors such as social, age, and health contributed to the elderly falling, told attendees that in his practice he saw more women than men for falls.
    “Women have more risks because [they] are always doing an activity . . . The grandma always wakes up early to make the breakfast for the grandsons. The grandma is always making some stuff in the kitchen or making some stuff in the living room; the grandpa doesn’t. The grandpa can be asleep every day . . . [he] can sit on the porch of the house and doesn’t have to do anything.
    “The grandma is always doing an activity and is looking [to see] what’s going on with the family. It happens here and that is why we have may more risks here and osteoporosis is more common in women. It doesn’t mean [men] don’t have osteoporosis . . . but the women are [at] the most risk population for fractures. I think
    that’s why we have more consults for women than men,” he said.
    Gomez said as individuals aged the risk factors for falls increased and there was difficulty with walking and balance.
    “It’s because when you’re older than 50 years old, you lose the proper capacity,” he said.
    Chronic health conditions such as diabetes, stroke, and low blood pressure could also present some difficulties as well as vision problems, and the use of medicines (tranquilizers, sedatives) could contribute to falls as “you lose the balance at walk”. For people diagnosed with Alzheimer’s, falls can be an everyday occurrence, Gomez added.
    He urged relatives to buy proper shoes and not the “expensive sneakers” they buy for themselves.
    “You have to give the old people shoes related with the capacity of [keeping] with them. People don’t know this, but shoes have some use capacity,” said the doctor.
    He also said attention must be paid to “environmental hazards” inside the homes such as broken steps, lack of or broken railings, poor lighting and no grab bars in showers, which he recommended for people over 65 years.
    In terms of fall prevention, he suggested a range of things among which were yearly eye exams; avoiding alcohol; making homes safer; and having conversations with doctors and pharmacists to review medicines particularly if there were any causing dizziness or sleepiness when taken separately or combined with others, as well as about adding vitamin D, calcium and collagen.
    (GBM)

2. The fact of the matter is, to minimize Elderly abuse which generally consist of physical, financial and neglect, government and the private sector have to do more in the way of ameliorating the facilities for the Elderly, when they’re at a point where they cannot take care of their personal needs. Also tougher laws need to be implement to deter persons who are contemplating taking advantage of the vulnerable population.

3. There is obviously a serious problem in Barbados when families aren’t getting the kind of assistance they need or are burdened with the reponsibility of providing care for their Elderly family members that they are forced to abandoned them at the QEH.

4. Not even a jubilee which removes all debts owed from the system will fix this one.

Certainly not a reliance on old people homes amongst other foreign systems to warehouse the elderly will save us, pun intended.

Maybe a rediscovery of the Ancient Afrikan family values system could be a social ‘antidote’ but that is neigh impossible for most elders are not who they should be and the young are as misguided.

Let us accept that all these pension systems throughout the world are going broke. That money purchase plans, which are now the main, cannot replace defined benefit plans.

That none of these phenomena are happening accidentally.

All of the forced contributions this writer has made are considered taxes which the authorities can keep as the proceeds of thief.

Let us accept and embrace working until the day of death for retirement or rotting while alive or warehoused is far less desirable.

Coming from someone who ain’t there yet.

5. None is

6. I seldom say a prayer. But there are times when I turn to Jesus …

Father in heaven, what have I done to be punished so harshly this Sunday. Please take this cup away from me. Didn’t you promise no more than I can bear?
    And 555 😃has not even arrived…

7. Have a great day Barbados.

8. Chefluer got of to a rocky start. The point she was trying to make was obvious, but the mathematical snacks she provided were more confusing than clarfying. After the preamble, she develops a strong stride and made her point.

She asked a number of questions, but I do not like where she was going. Looks as if she wishes to use a guillotine once you have reached a certain age.

9. Has it become norm in societies to read day after day the numbers of COVID deaths associated to the elderly and the question of why so many is not being heard asked or mentioned
    Have society become so desentized that the elderly becomes collateral damage and there is no reason for causes of concerned to be heard
    So frigging sad 😔

10. “Let us accept and embrace working until the day of death for retirement or rotting while alive or warehoused is far less desirable.”.

Have we already reached this point? My son sees it this way for his generation, but he is in his early twenties.

I certainly agree that things will get worse. Perhaps even worse than described, but this is in the future.

No! No! The future is not here.

11. “We don’t have to warehouse the Elderly”

(1) If the Elderly wish or desire to stay in their houses, then government can implement a program gear toward this by simple training young people to come to the house of the Elderly and provide that basic care.
    However, government must offer financial assistance to the Elderly, so that their family members can apply for this financial assistance to help foot the bill for their care.

12. The stories surrounding the elderly COVID deaths in Barbados is a hushed secret
    Truth unlike milk does not sour there will.be that one case who has the power and influence to.meet wrong head on
    When those stories are told the images attached in the minds of the listener would be worst than what is being said at GIS

13. Have you realized that the thumpers and their opposites both share the same view. The difference on how we will get there. On group believes that some mysterious force will do the cleansing and the other group believes we will wipe ourselves out.

There are other groups. Some who believe we will figure things out and become as Gods.
    My second departure… Have a great day

14. The concept of warehousing the Elderly is antiquated concept; House Care in the new concept, however, when the Elderly reached the point where they will require more intensive care ( such being wheelbounded or bedridden), then they will obviously need to be warehouse.

15. It is ease to run off your mouth when you haven’t the slightest idea what caring for the Elderly involves …. besides the personal hygiene etc … the caregive must administer that care to the Elderly person who may probably be suffering with dementia and other related geriatrics chronic medical conditions.

16. @Dompey

Can you pause for a minute?

The focus is how economically can we support an ageing population in Barbados. To those of you of the view Cherfleur has fallen short here is the opportunity to constructively advance the discussion. It is easier to criticize than be creative to suggest.

17. Simple activities such as walking, swimming in a pool or the sea, dancing, and tai chi could be done by the elderly to make their legs stronger and improve balance.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    The usual simple-minded brass bowl baloney from the usual suspects…
    The way to prepare for old age is to start at as young an age as possible to develop an active lifestyle, sensible eating and hygienic habits and a positive, non-stressful attitude. That way, ‘old age’ becomes a matter solely of chronology.

The expectation that we can spend our lives doing shiite and then somehow develop ‘good habits’ when the chickens come home to roost is fully in keeping with the usual brass bowl philosophy that drives modern society.

So we…
    Eat convenient and addictive ‘fast-foods’ because it is easy… we can always take some pills and eat a salad when diabetes strikes
    Sit all day with a shiite tablet watching utube, ….cause we can take up line dancing after we get the first stroke
    Spend our whole life chasing money and wutless women… then we can always ask forgiveness when we are no longer able (like Dompey)

lotta shiite!!
    Whatever we SOW (from early), our donkeys will reap (at the harvest)
    Given our endemic levels of brassbowlery, Those ‘helpless old folks’ (like Bushie) who are targets for abuse are very unlikely to have been beacons of virtue, who are now DESERVING of royal treatment at their harvest time.

So while it would be to our collective merit to provide comfort in their time of weakness, the real solution is for our CHILDREN and YOUNG citizens to plan SENSIBLY for their OWN damn salvation, …by the seeds that they are planting NOW.

…of course it is much sexier for shiite talkers to offer some pill, vaccine, or exercise to ‘solve’ the problem AFTER the horse has bolted…

18. Dompey May 22, 2022 6:26 AM #: “It is ease to run off your mouth when you haven’t the slightest idea what caring for the Elderly involves…….”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~

Do YOU “have the slightest idea what caring for the Elderly involves?”

19. @Bush Tea

A lot of truth in your assessment but we are here now.

20. Bush Tea May 22, 2022 6:40 AM

I was thinking similarly.

I’ve read where someone suggested government “must” offer families financial assistance for them to take care of their elderly relatives.

Should we encourage people to squander their money during their youth…… live their young lives as though they are retired, because……. ‘I could always depend on the Treasury to support me when I’m actually retired?”

I believe people should plan for their futures.

But, there will always be ‘exceptions to the rules,’ because some senior citizens who, through ‘no fault of their own,’ would definitely need financial assistance from the state.

NAB provides a Home Care Service, while UDC and RDC provide houses and house repairs.
    The Welfare Department also assist by providing ‘food vouchers,’ paying rent, electricity and water bills.

21. @Artax

What do we do if many of our elderly made bad decisions, leave them to pasture?

22. What do we do if many of our elderly made bad decisions, leave them to pasture?
    ~~~~~~~~~~~
    Luckily you did NOT ask Bushie that question…. 🙂

Boss…
    After Childhood, we are fully responsible for our own donkeys.
    While it behoves a society to bestow whatever kindnesses it can on citizens who suffer unfortunate setbacks, as well as on idiots who made bad decisions, IN THE END, when the survival of the collective society comes into question, the answer to your question is that we ‘let the dead bury their dead’.
    The alternative, in today’s CUT-THROAT world, is that the WHOLE society WILL be buried.

23. Bushie
    Is in fine fettle this morn😩

24. @Bush tea

Oh dear!!!!

25. But Bushie
    Do you have to be so brutally honest? 😂

26. @Pacha

This is no laughing matter!

Bush Tea and anti America seem to have compared notes on this matter.

27. @ David

Never suggested we should “leave them to pasture.”

Yes, I agree people are imperfect and will make mistakes in life. And, I believe they should be given assistance where necessary.

But, is squandering your earnings on alcohol, gambling, hookers, partying, etc, mistakes or ‘bad decisions?’
    Are the examples Bushie gave in his 6:40 AM contribution, mistakes or ‘bad decisions?’

It’s similar to someone who, during their entire ‘working life,’ refused to contribute to the NIS, but at retirement, ‘is angry with the world,’ because he/she cannot receive pension.

28. @Artax

Agreed and at the same time let us not through out the baby with the bath water by overly generalizing.

29. David
    Who is anti America?

30. @ David
    Bush Tea and anti America seem to have compared notes on this matter.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    “Fools seldom differ” LOL
    But….
    Don’t you miss Baffy from BU?
    His Brass Tacks efforts are mostly clear examples of casting pearls to swine.
    The poor moderators who are there for the couple dollars that the Trini owned VOB pays them are completely out of their depths with ‘Anti’. Especially the Frenchman’s spouse who seem to need the Trini pittance most…

@ Pacha
    Gotta be honest boss…
    Every damn day is another day less to yearend…..

31. @ David

Please explain “overly generalizing?”

32. A popular caller to talk shows and a sometime contributor to BU.

33. Yes Bushie
    Yuh know most like to hear lies, half truths, acceptable memes!

34. Critical Analyzer Avatar

The solution is simple.

1) Pay every bajan or permanent resident living in Barbados a non-contributory pension large enough to cover basic rent, food and utilities for one which by my calculation is $300 per week.

2) Remove the pension portion from the NIS contribution and replace it with an optional investment fund employees can choose to contribute a percentage of their earnings into.

People desiring to live on more than the non-contributory pension when they retire would either have to invest in the NIS investment fund or any other private investment they choose.

35. @Atax

We tend to ignore the fact many many elders are vulnerable through no fault of their own, simply an establishment’s inadequacy to defend a safetynet for senior citizens who helped to build the society.

36. Move to canada everything is free if you vote liberal.

37. David, I think I am in the best position here to give a comprehensive understanding of the care of the Elderly, since I’ve been in the Health Care Industry close to four decades, and the way in which to do this from an economic standpoint is for government to allocate the funds to the Elderly, who are independent enough to stay in their homes, but nonetheless, need some assistance with their general care.

38. @Dompey

Have no issue with you sharing your of experiences, asking you not to big the show.

39. What about present govt abuse of the elderly whose live saving all but went up in smoke when govt refinance it’s debt profile
    What about the plan for govt implementing an expansion of age limit by which people would have to work until around 70 to receive pension isn’t that also abuse of the elderly
    Elder abuse all over the place govt policies included

40. “We tend to ignore the fact many many elders are vulnerable through no fault of their own,”

I haven’t ignored anything

Artax May 22, 2022 7:03 AM:
    “But, there will always be ‘exceptions to the rules,’ because some senior citizens who, through ‘NO FAULT OF THEIR OWN,’ would definitely NEED financial assistance from the state.”

41. @Artax

We shouldn’t design a system to respond to exceptions.

42. After working from 18 – 67 years old, ie: paying taxes for near 50 years, the ‘poor’ pensioner is now on a FIXED income which the government STILL continues to TAX both directly & indirectly!!! Why continue to squeeze them with Income Tax???

Their largest potential financial burden, besides food & utilities, is for Health, allowing them to live out their golden years with stress & pain. Why don’t the private medical fraternity ease them a bit??

43. Elder abuse in canada is somebody hides the remote.

44. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David BiU
    I note that commenters are using the nebulous idea that the state should assist the vulnerable with old age finance. The NIS is the state institution that was set up to assist all citizens, including the “vulnerable “, with a retirement income. The citizen and his employer contribute to the scheme. Why is it that you are promoting the idea that other citizens should pay twice?!1 as taxpayers and 2 as contributors to a National Pension Scheme. Is it equitable? Is it fair?. There is no such thing as a state pension that is not paid for by citizens. We are misleading the unthinking.The State is US. All of us wno pay taxes in one form or other. All of us who during our working lives contributed to the Pension Scheme. Why are we encouraging parasitism.?
    The actuaries are the technocrats whose remit it is to design and tweak the pay- as -you-go pension scheme. This is not a task for simple primary school Arithmetic. That is what Actuaries are paid to do .Not to criticize the management of NIS.

45. Critical Analyzer Avatar

@angela cox May 22, 2022 9:10 AM

Your statement shows exactly why many bajans have serious financial difficulty after they retire not related to economic conditions.

You don’t understand pension at all if you think people will have to wait until 70 or 67, the NIS pensionable age before they can retire and receive a pension. Anyone can retire after reaching age 60 and receive a NIS pension.

67 is simply the age at which your employer can force you to retire at. Nothing stopping you from going earlier and receiving a reduced pension or trying to hang on longer. You can even retire and not apply for your NIS pension until later.

All sensible people I know retire as soon as they financially can after age 60 which usually ends up being when they have cleared their mortgage and kids have finished university.

46. Vincent Codrington Avatar

Addition to above : “Nor to attack the G O B of the day”. We must get real. Pride and Industry. That is our National Motto. We were never a “Could Dear Society”. Why do we want to change it?

47. Critical Analyzer Avatar

@ks May 22, 2022 9:54 AM

The problem with Healthcare in Barbados is the private healthcare providers. They make sure to hobble the public offering so people will pay to get procedures sooner from private instead of the public waiting list.

48. That is what Actuaries are paid to do .Not to criticize the management of NIS…..
    Feel like I just awoke from an extended slumber.

49. Critical Analyzer Avatar

@Vincent Codrington

All NIS and Social Security pension schemes the world over are glorified Ponzi schemes with the following two problems always causing their downfall because of their very nature.
    1) The governments usurp the investment funds for their large ventures which start off good but always end up falling prey to the same political mismanagement that results in annual deficits and high debts.
    2) The population must continue to grow to keep the current pension conditions otherwise the scheme will start to collapse when the population decreases requiring increased retirement age, increased contributions or reduced future pensions.

Private pension schemes tend to be more successful as most companies tend to grow the longer they stay in business unless there is mismanagement but that is what the government regulator should be preventing.

50. VincetCodrington is no more than a blp hack.

He now forgets all the negative actuarial reviews, all the money taken from that scheme to fund misbegotten projects

Woe unto thee

Indeed, it is the very mind of a VC why we are here today.