Three months after the second defeat in a general election Democratic Labour Party (DLP) members voted for Dr. Ronnie Yearwood to replace Verla Depeiza who resigned in the aftermath of what transpired. He won by a reported vote of 273 to 205.

It is surprising more of the 800+ DLP members eligible to vote were not motivated to participate yesterday. It would have sent a strong signal to the public that there is a burning desire by the party to get back on track given the herculean rebuild effort. The last contest between Guy Hewitt and Verla Depeiza attracted a 507 to 295 vote, President Yearwood has a gargantuan task ahead. David Estwick who could not command significant support from the parliamentary group after David Thompson died in office and was a bane to the party during Stuart’s tenure attracted 205 votes from DLP party members. There is a lot political pundits can unpack from the result.

The next three years will be a critical in the rebuild period of the party. The next 18 months will be crucial for Dr. Yearwood to measure his success as a politician. By taking on the DLP presidency at this juncture in its history one suspects if he is perceived to be unable to breath life into a political party currently in a comatose state -it may doom him to be a stillborn DLP politician like his predecessor. Similar to when Owen Arthur became leader of the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) in 1993, Yearwood does not command a significant power-base in the party. Neither is he a member of parliament. Arthur was able to successfully navigate that early period because he received strong support from elders of the party. Hopefully the DLP will be able to learn from the BLP experience and avoid making unforced mistakes.

It is understandable a significant number of DLP members continue to be disillusioned, who would not be after losing at last count 61 times at the polling booth. The Freundel Stuart era is one the party will have to work hard to overcome. It will be crucial for Yearwood to display the leadership required to co-opt early support from losing candidates David Estwick and Guy Hewitt in order to present a united front to current membership and the wider public. The adage united we stand, divided we fall seems an apt reminder to all concerned. This will be crucial for the party to be perceived as making progress to members of the public.

An emerging Barbadian voter is ready for a new kind of politics. The naked partisan behaviour and empty rhetoric seen and heard from today’s politicians and old guard is on the way out. It will be hard- in many cases impossible- for dye in the wool DEMs to shift positions. Hopefully under Yearwood’s leadership enough are persuaded to shift perspectives and he is also able to attract enough NEW members to make a difference.

Until the DLP is able to make a ‘course correction’ and elusive alternative third party political options emerge the saying that in the land of the blind one eye man is king will continue to ring true. In the system of government practiced by Barbados the best results occur with a strident opposition voice IN parliament.

On behalf of the BU household the blogmaster congratulates Dr. Ronnie Yearwood for showing the courage to undertake a job that must rank high on the unwanted job scale at this time.

299 responses to “DLP Going with Yearwood”

1. 13 April 2022 — Solid Waste Management Corporation (SMWC) has confirmed its engagement of Export Development Business Services Inc (EDBS) of St. Lucia as the firm responsible for conceptualizing, project structuring, and arranging financing for an innovative, technology-driven, waste-to-energy gasification power generation plant on their behalf.
    Gasification is a process that involves the conversion of biomass and solid and liquid waste material into a gas. Power can then be derived from the combustion of this gas which is a source of renewable energy. This project will significantly advance and improve the way waste is handled at the island’s landfill. The waste to energy gasification power generation plant is expected to help stabilise the cost of electricity for residents and eliminate further environmental damage at the landfill. The project also will create more jobs and special opportunities for the citizens of the country.
    On Wednesday, 23rd March 2022, the Chairman of SWMC, Mr. Ivan Hanley, and Anthony Da Silva, Director at EDBS, signed the engagement documents to officially appoint EDBS on this legacy project. Hanley said, “the SWMC is continuing the work that aligns with meeting the challenges of a growing waste management problem in St. Kitts and Nevis.” We are in the problem solving, and solutions business, and more than ever, we must face these challenges head-on; a project such as this is a cornerstone of innovation right here on our shores,” he added.
    Da Silva mentioned that the team at EDBS was looking forward to working across an “extensive global network to find the best structuring and funding model for this project.” Over the last three decades, I have worked throughout the Caribbean region committed to conceptualizing, structuring, and attracting investment for multi-million-dollar public-private sector projects, including the provision of advisory and consultancy services to projects in several islands including Barbados and Saint Kitts & Nevis. EDBS will advance the project over the coming weeks and months via a network of specialists through expert consultation and strategic assessments to find the best partners for this revenue project.
    About Solid Waste Management Corporation
    The federally mandated Solid Waste Management Corporation (SWMC) established in 1996 with general responsibilities for overseeing the management of solid waste collection and disposal systems. They collect, transport, transfer, process, separate, store, reuse, recycle, treat, and dispose of waste. Governed by a Board of Directors, the SWMC is managed by a dedicated team of individuals and staffed with superheroes

2. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

political pimp/fowl, looka muh payslip heah…lol

ah waiting for the loooonnnngggg laundry list of names to put on my websites…hope to see ya name on it..

““His name is DARIO ANTONIO USUGA DAVID, although most Colombians refer to him as OTONIEL. As the head of the Gulf Clan, its Kingpin, he was responsible for the delivery of more than 73 metric tonnes to the United States, over an eleven-year period. This was thirty per cent (30%) of the total amount that entered the country. Usaga was extradited to New York from Colombia, where he will face American justice in United States District Court in Brooklyn.

Why is this is of interest to the Caribbean ? It seems that Usuga was cooperating extensively with Colombian law enforcement, as assisting in the prosecution of other drug traffickers, and a paramilitary group designated terrorist organisation by the United States. He received safe passage through a number of Caribbean countries, granted by certain national leaders who reportedly received large bribes and other illicit gratuities for protecting Gulf Clan shipments enroute to America. The services provided included safe storage and protection of cocaine shipments whilst within those Caribbean countries.

Given the defendant’s recent history of cooperation, most court observers believe that, to receive a sentence that will allow him to be released during his lifetime, and be incarcerated under less restrictive conditions,”

3. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

better than any money/salary…the results of waiting YEARS for the BLOWBACK from all that corruption, selling out, tiefing, violating Black rights, robbing GENERATIONS of Black people ….lawd….i feel like a MILLIONAIRE TODAY……BIG PAYDAY…

4. President of dlp Dr. Ronnie Yearwood in his inaugural speech brought forth passion and much needed energy to the party
    The passion and energy within his words were reminders of speeches heard by past leaders like Obama and Barrow

5. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

unna got talk fuh me…just wait and see…

all yall and ya dirty racist, THIEVING criminal minorities are GOING DOWN…the corruption party IS OVER….after DECADES…yall and ya second dangerous drugs and guns economy WILL BE STARVED….just as i said years ago..

no more MISINFORMATION, MISLEADING…….trying to turn sensible, intelligent people into mindless ignorant political PIMPS/fowls and house negros, complicit in their OWN destruction… is AT AN END…

the loser brigade still don’t know when they have lost…the snakes’ heads have been cut off…maybe ya need to see it in real time..

6. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Dear Political Pimps/Fowls:

REAL BILLIONAIRES don’t impress me, an errand boy for other people’s billion dollar projects HARDLY WOULD…lol

7. Salemite
    And you’re still a serial liar, aided and abetted by the virtuous on BU. Go get help.

8. As a former classmate of mine said as she emerged from an engrossing daydream during class, “That would be nice!”

9. I mean the beheading of the snake would be nice.

10. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Political PIMPS are dangerous fowls….everything is falling down around them, there is a price to pay for what yall spent over a decade doing on this blog, determined to DRIVE BLACK PEOPLE into generational slavery, bondage, and poverty with the corrupt governments and dirty minorities as the leading slave masters, racists and thieves, yall have no credibility…

btw…i said …guess where….because i knew you would pull something like this…..and end up painting yourself A LIAR…as usual. just had to let ya run with it a few time….public nuisance…

11. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

dah iz wuh happen wen billion dollar bullshit gone to yuh head…lol

12. ” “Where he has come from in the political arena is of no relevance,” she said, an apparent reference to his recent history as a member of the Barbados Labour Party.

“Where he is now and where he plans to take us is what is of the utmost importance.”

Once a BLP always a DLP.

Buh doan mine me. I in a sport zone multi tasking. IPL this morning, now Formula 1, Woodbine racing and Kentucky Derby Prep races.

13. “Once a BLP always a DLP.”

If that’s the case, then, similarly to the ‘prodigal son,’ you should have killed the ‘fatted calf’ in celebration of Ronnie’s ‘return to home.’

But, it seems as though you forgot the following was also said:

“But Verla had two strikes against her, she was not a part of the so-called winning circle of the party … and like me she is a woman, which is still something that is difficult in the political environment, which is intensely patriarchal….”

Is she suggesting deeply ingrained misogynistic attitudes prevails George Street?

14. President of the dlp Mother’s Day Message

A MOTHER’S DAY MESSAGE FROM THE PRESIDENT

As Barbadians from across this country celebrate the women in their lives who have been mothers to them, we at the Democratic Labour Party honour all of you today. You are the nurturers we need, the disciplinarians we need and the encouragers we always want to have. We salute you today Mother’s Day for how much you give, how much you sacrifice and how much you care.

Happy Mother’s Day to you all!

15. Against the background of Irene’s observation that the deeply ingrained misogynistic attitudes prevailing George Street was perhaps responsible for the lack of support given to Verla, I’m happy Dr. Ronnie made a special effort to extend ‘Mother’s Day’ greetings.

That most certainly is a move in the right direction.

16. Today I am.proud to say that the 2nd coming of Obama has officially arrived on Barbados shores in the person of Dr. Ronnie Yearwood an image so powerful full of intelligence and knowledge and a person whose word would become his bond
    Congratulations

ArtaxMay 8, 2022 12:04 PM

That most certainly is a move in the right direction.

17. angela cox May 8, 2022 2:00 PM

I’ll keep on ‘SAYING’ it….. and, you CONTINUE to PROVE it.

You DON’T THINK before you ‘write.’

Please explain how making an unsubstantiated comparison of Dr. Ronnie with Obama, be seriously considered “most certainly a MOVE in the right direction?”

18. ArtaxMay 8, 2022 2:39 PM

angela cox May 8, 2022 2:00 PM

I’ll keep on ‘SAYING’ it….. and, you CONTINUE to PROVE it.

You DON’T THINK before you ‘write.’

Please explain how making an unsubstantiated comparison of Dr. Ronnie with Obama, be seriously considered “most certainly a MOVE in the right direction?”

Xxxxx
    Serious as a judge

19. Ronnie already talking shite just like AC

The government with ministers that are in training???????
    If DEM win the next government how many of the minister will have any experience unless he reach back to the lost decade ?

NO Balllll!!

He better look and building the party and left the attacks to someone else

20. John2May 8, 2022 4:44

The government with ministers that are in training???????
    Xxxxxxx
    Wuhlos yuh bawling

21. @J2
    Do you know?

I cannot remember the actual numbers… was it 10,000 houses in five years?

That’s an average of 2,000/year or 83/month…

Do you know how many were built since the promise was made?

Are these pre-fabricated houses?

How does a person get one of these homes?

22. 10,000 houses in five years head not brains what a belly laugh ha ha ha
    cant finish five pre constructed houses in five months

23. So David yuh not gonna let Dr.Ronnie Yearwood speech at the Dlp inaguration be posted
    Well We’ll Well
    The man made a dynamic speech and yuh don’t want the BU gang to hear it
    Wuh yuh fraid off
    I told yuh Ronnie is the Obama of Barbados is that why wunna fraid
    Bunch of frauds
    The speech took top billing across social media
    Yuh can’t run and hide forever
    Obama in town

24. Angels
    Obama married a Black woman. Ronnie wife is white. How he could be anything like Barack.
    Shame on you

25. FrankMay 8, 2022 11:33 PM

How he could be anything like Barack.
    Shame on you

Xxcccc
    Listen to his many speeches

26. If that is how you measure his difference from Obama then you could have thrown in height, weight, DoB..etc.

A better defense would have been to ask ac to provide more detailsvof the similarity of the two men

27. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

problem for people they love too much empty talk….that is why the island has degraded to the lowest of levels…..everyone socialized to live talk only AND NO ACTION…

from a politician open their mouth a lie jumps out….hand in hand with FALSE PROMISES and pie in the sky wet dreams and fantasies…

28. Where was Mia Mother’s Day Speech
    I looked and look but nowhere across any social media platforms were they any words of comfort or appreciation coming from here
    Even in the face of the ongoing issue where protest against human rights abuse at GIs was a peeking words of praise compassion and appreciation to Mother’s on Mother’s Day coming our of the mouth of Mia
    #####miacares

29. TheOGazertsMay 9, 2022 7:01 AM
    A better defense would have been to ask ac to provide more detailsvof the similarity of the two men

Xcxxx

I tried yesterday in my attempt for all to hear his many accomplishments and accreditations coming live and in person
    But BU David stood vanguard
    I will try again

30. It bothers me that talk of ‘10,000 houses in 5 years’ could be treated as credible by some. But if we wish to import 70,000 people we would need even more than 5000 new houses.

Where will we get a daily supply of clean drinking water for 70,000 new folks? We already have trouble supplying water to 276K and increasing our population by 25% would increase pressure on an already overburdened system.

Does this mean significantly more cars on an already overcrowded patchwork of roads?
    Increased strain on the electrical supply?
    More and higher food importation?
    Stress on QEH?
    Stress on services?

Have we thought these things through?

31. PM

@J2
    Do you know?

I cannot remember the actual numbers… was it 10,000 houses in five years?

That’s an average of 2,000/year or 83/month…

Do you know how many were built since the promise was made?

Are these pre-fabricated houses?

How does a person get one of these homes?

Xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

TheO

Do you know when the promise was made?
    I think it was January 2022 that the promise was made. If u expect any houses to be completed already then ………….
    I don’t expect 10 000 houses to be complete in ten years – everything is never done on time. – but it’s a number to aim at

32. U still on the foolishness about 70k people.
    Stupessssss

33. AC

Hear hear to Ronnie Mother’s Day speech
    What the people really want to hear from him is his shadow cabinet

One week gone. Government in waiting !
    Let us see how much control/ uniting he got on the party
    Let us see how many ministers he will have in training
    Let us see how many women in his shadow cabinet

He want to compete with Mia? She does hit the ground running..

34. Such utterances of ten thousand houses in five years only would come out of the month of a Mas man
    The PM repeated said words certainly all which were political fodder for fools and blp yardfowls
    Meanwhile Dr. Ronnie Yearwood has the ability to refute all the political rubbish that was handed to an unsuspecting people
    Recently across social media a barrage of trucks which might have cost the govt millions were high lighted
    The transparency and accountability on the purchase is not known and for what purpose

35. John2May 9, 2022 8:24 AM

One week gone. Government in waiting !
    Let us see how much control/ uniting he got on the party
    Let us see how many ministers he will have in training
    Let us see how many women in his shadow cabinet

He want to compete with Mia? She does hit the ground running..

Xxxcccc
    No need for Ronnie to compete against Mia

36. Dr. Ronnie Yearwood elected President of the Dlp credentials and qualifications

Qualifications
    PhD, (International economic law), (passed without corrections, which is the highest accolade as a Doctorate is not awarded a specific grade), Newcastle Law School, University of Newcastle upon Tyne, 2008

LLM, (Distinction) (International trade law), (graduated first in the class), Newcastle Law School, University of Newcastle upon Tyne, 2004

BSc., Sociology & Political Science (Honours), University of the West Indies, Cave Hill, 2001

Study Abroad Programme, (Political Economy & Law), University of California, Berkeley, 2001

Professional Qualifications

Legal Practice Course College of Law, London, 2011

LL.B, (Honours), Graduate Diploma in Law, BPP Law School, London, 2010, 2017

Research Areas
    Interests: International Law, International Trade Law, Financial Law, Legal Systems, Legal Education, Governance and Constitutions, Politics and Law, Legal Theory

Teaching Areas
    Law and Legal Systems
    Law of Trusts
    Offshore Law
    International Trade Law Clinic (TradeLab) [in collaboration with the Shridath Ramphal Centre (SRC)]

Select Publications
    The Relationship between World Trade Organisation (WTO) Law and External Law: The Constrained Openness of WTO Law (Routledge, Cambridge, UK), 2012. (See review: Cooreman B, Leiden Journal of International Law, Vol. 26, Issue 2, June 2013, pp 492-497.)

(with R Davis) “How World Trade organisation Law makes itself possible” in Socio-Legal Approaches to International Economic Law (Edited by Amanda Perry-Kessaris) (Routledge, Cambridge, UK) 2013.

Ideas for a New Politics in Barbados: Governance and Truth, THE KING’S STUDENT LAW REVIEW, Vol. 8, No. 2 (2017) pp. 37-51

(with Sherhram A. Khattak & Jonathan Lawrence) “The European Banking Authority Shadow Banking Guidelines: Unintended Consequences” THE JOURNAL FOR INTERNATIONAL BANKING AND FINANCIAL LAW, Spring 2016.

Additional Info
    Admitted to the Roll as a Solicitor of the Senior Courts of England & Wales (2013)
    Admitted to the Roll as a Solicitor of the Eastern Caribbean Supreme Court, British Virgin Islands (2016)
    Freeman of The City of London Solicitors’ Company (2018)
    Chevening Scholar (2003)
    National Development Scholar (2005)
    Overseas Research Scholar (2006)
    Attorney-at-law, Barbados (2020)

37. No need. Or can not ?

Your big works man from SGN still hitting 6s or done any big works yet ?

38. Ac

He competing with GP2 of solution Barbados ?

39. I gone before some blp footsoldier try to dispute and discredit Dr. Ronnie Yearwoods credentials
    A portfolio which can stand shoulder to shoulder with outstanding leaders across the world
    Reason why he can be considered the Obama of Barbados
    BTW Obama was a .community organizer
    But was easily and readily accepted by the black community and other ethic groups because words coming from his speeches meant something of value to those left behind in the social and economic structure of America

chew and digest

40. “It bothers me that talk of ‘10,000 houses in 5 years’ could be treated as credible by some.”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I agree.

If one considers that, DEPENDING upon its SIZE, availability of building materials and adequate number of artisans, a house can be constructed in approximately 6 months.
    And, they’re looking at building 166 houses per year.

Remember, on Thursday, September 11, 2016, the former DLP administration launched their new housing venture, which they called, ‘Housing Every Last Person Programme’ (HELP).

Yet, housing EVERY LAST PERSON was “treated as credible by some” as well.

Other than the BEES estimating the number of houses they plan to construct in a given period of time, there aren’t any significant differences in the CONCEPTS behind those ‘pie in the sky’ housing promises.

Here we have two political parties that, for over the past 50 years, have been unable to present a progressive housing policy for Barbadians.

41. Sadly, the poor and homeless, most likely will always be with us. Scoring cheap political points by making false promises should be frowned upon by all.

42. 555dubstreet Avatar

Mia is the Lori Lightfoot of Barbados
    Lori Elaine Lightfoot is an American attorney and politician serving since 2019 as the 56th mayor of Chicago. She is a member of the Democratic Party. Before becoming mayor, Lightfoot worked in private legal practice as a partner at Mayer Brown

43. @j2
    Two points
    (1)”U still on the foolishness about 70k people.
    Stupessssss”

When I say it, it is foolishness. But when your guys roll it out, it is the gospel.

“TheO
    Do you know when the promise was made?
    I think it was January 2022 that the promise was made. If u expect any houses to be completed already then ………….
    I don’t expect 10 000 houses to be complete in ten years – everything is never done on time. – but it’s a number to aim at”

U still on the foolishness about 10,000 houses in 5 years. Stupessssss

When will you decide this too was foolishness? 2028?

44. @ TheOGazerts,

It is possible to erect 10,000 factory built houses in 5 years. Steel houses from China and stick frame houses from Canada and the USA.

45. Perhaps, I was too optimistic in hoping for houses to be completed.

@J2, Can you tell me how many of the prefabricated houses are already completed. The next hurricane season is almost here.

Would be funny if those houses are used for victims of the next season and you are here crowing about Mia’s fast response to victims of the 2022 season and ignoring those who are hurting from 2021.

46. @Hants
    If they cannot handle 150 in 6 months, how will they handle 2000 in one year?

Glad you still have faith.

47. @TheoGazerts,

It is not about faith. I stated what is possible.

The Government still have star boy Baloney and co. as a back up. lol

48. @TheOGazerts,

On the way to St.Lucy,

49. AC

Ur boy Obama had those credential when he ran against Sandra TWICE.- once for Bs and another for Ds

Chew on that and digest Keep ur antacid close at hand