We have discussed the conspicuous consumption model which people everywhere have become addicted at every level of society. The individual aspires to buy a house, car, travel and in large part sees the acquisition of material things as a badge of success. The government (reflecting the sovereignty from the people) works hard to maintain popularity with the people and therefore pursues policies to satisfy as insatiable thirst of the conspicuous consumption model.

In order to disrupt the downhill rollercoaster ride to nowhere enlightened citizens will have to shout enough is enough. There will have to be a revolution in thought, word and deed. Listening to the debates and various exchanges in social media and elsewhere it is evident the majority of our people are locked in an unproductive mindset. The reality is the cliche it is not business as usual is apt now more than ever.

The blogmaster watched the following presentation A healthy economy should be designed to thrive, not grow by Economist Kate Raworth and was intrigued by her postulation. Take the time to view the 15 minute presentation to feed your mind a different perspective IF you dare!

Oxford Economist Kate Raworth – TED Talk

288 responses to “Our Economy Should be Designed to Thrive NOT Grow”

1. PLT

If you had only walked in my group I would have shown you all these things and you would not be making such a poppet of yourself!!

2. On the level of poverty not much has changed
    Elsa all but has exposed the cracks and band aid coverings that lies beneath present poverty
    But that is not a concern by which citizen should fix solely
    social constructs is the job for govt to resolve those which gives necessary helping hands to lift the level of social programs as an educational tool for it’s citizens to be creative learn and achieved serving a purpose to bring them out of poverty
    As a matter of fact I saw a Barbados in the sixties that were self reliant against all odds having a determination to build with what little they have rather than rely on govt hand outs
    Can’t forget the mason the carpenter the baker the needleworker the shoe maker the dentist the nurse the doctor all names which help to build Barbados taking Barbados on a path of being self empowered absent of looking like beggars on international financial doorsteps

3. … might have had difficulty keeping up though!!

Not that I was a particularly fast walker.

4. The reason Bajans of the 60’s were self reliant beyond all odds is because they lived at a time when there was an economic boom and they had hope and confidence it would get them out of poverty.

People with hope cannot be kept down.

Today, many Bajans are hopeless because they know the economy is in free fall and there is no politician capable of stopping it.

… but, they have many of the material trappings those of the 60’s did not have.

Hope is in short supply.

5. DavidJuly 9, 2021 5:57 PM

How could that period be better given the level of poverty, level of education, level of healthcare, level of enfranchisement, standard of house. Do you take us for idiots?

… hopeless, brainwashed idiots!!

6. It was a better period with the number of pit toilets and catching water in a barrel. Brainwashed indeed!

#nowaterbornefacilities

7. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

You are back to your old reliable racist self trying to scam people into believing that things were of course much better in Barbados when White folks were in charge.

You are pathetic because you are quite aware that scamming poor dolts like ac is easy because she cannot tell the difference between the sheer number of tiny Black businesses or smallholdings and the cabal of White planter and merchant families who ran 90% of the economy while hundreds and hundreds of Black entrepreneurs fought tooth and nail for the remaining 10%. The ruling White families never amounted to more than 2% of Bajans, but they controlled the economy of Barbados completely.

Of course there were a large number of Black owned businesses. The only ones of any scale were Mrs Rock and the Tudor family I believe… and those were utterly minuscule in comparison to the White owned conglomerates that dominated the economy. Many of the Black owned businesses were in the retail sector and were usually in debt to the importers. There were no Black exporters, no Black manufacturing that I know of (Husbands came along later), and no Black financial institutions of any importance.

Am I wrong? I thought that Rayside came along later. Who am I forgetting? There were a couple of plantations owned by Black people… Morgan Lewis, that one in St George that Charles Herbert bought, and a few others… but they were dwarfed by the plantocracy controlled acreage. You know all this perfectly well, of course, but you pretend to be this stupid just so you can lead others away from the truth. It’s quite sad.

8. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@angela cox July 9, 2021 6:36 PM
    “On the level of poverty not much has changed…”
    You are utterly, completely, catastrophically wrong! The poverty levels now, even in the midst of this terrible economic depression, are nowhere close to the suffering and deprivation of the poverty I remember in the early 60s. I know this for a fact because as a well to do surgeon my father and mother supported many families who would not have survived without that help. They often took me along when they went “visiting” and I got to see how the other half lived first hand (“visiting” was their euphemism for spending an hour talking to people and leaving behind enough groceries for a month or three).

The Barrow administration achieved enormous progress in reducing poverty to the point that when I left Barbados to go to university in 1975 the difference in life outcomes for poor Black Bajans was dramatically positive. Give your hero EWB credit where credit is due. I believe that Tom Adams also made further strides in that direction.

9. “Elsa all but has exposed the cracks and band aid coverings that lies beneath present poverty”

Concepts plucked out of your bum are just pure fantasy or shit.

Poverty is like the truth all around an everyday reality life story.

10. I speak on what I saw in local villages from baxters Roads through Nelson street and the various small villages across Barbados
    It cannot be denied that the numerous small businesses back have pale in comparison to what we see today
    Furthermore those who have made headway today are met with grave economic opposition by the big names like Cheffte and big name restaurants and savvy supermarkets which mostly lining the south and west coast
    The question which needs for the answering is why in 2021 when black businesses were first in pursue a path of self reliance with little or no govt help
    How come is it that foreign interest has become the dominant economic force that lined Barbados economic space
    I have laid out to u a sixties Barbados where the small business person was seen plying his or her trade supported by mostly black customers
    Presently what is seen is a shell of Black business that once were having one or two placed between expanded white business establishment

11. PLT

The only ones of any scale were Mrs Rock and the Tudor family I believe… and those were utterly minuscule in comparison to the White owned conglomerates that dominated the economy. Many of the Black owned businesses were in the retail sector and were usually in debt to the importers. There were no Black exporters, no Black manufacturing that I know of (Husbands came along later), and no Black financial institutions of any importance.

Total utter rubbish.

What you mean is the only ones you were ever told about were Ms. Rock and the Tudor family and even these you seem to be a bit diffident about like you really ent know.

You won’t go and test what you were told and yet you insist on coming on here making a poppet of yourself.

Until you do your due diligence, you will remain out of your league.

I have done my due diligence, tested all the crap I was told and realised it is nothing but crap.

Dunscombe Plantation was in “black” hands from the time of emancipation as was Vaucluse plantation, Ellis family!!

Burkes Plantation (310 acres) was owned by the sons and daughters of a former slave from 1839 to 1873, my ancestors, Ashby Family. There was the Ashby Medford Building in Roebuck Street which may have had a connection as well.

Stuart and Sampson was another Roebuck Street merchant house.

I’ve always wondered is Freundel was a descendant.

Ditto Brittons Hill Plantation, also owned by the same sons and daughters of a slave from 1839 but only till the 1840’s..

In the 1950’s, fast forwarding there were the Paynes at Harrow in St. Philip, Robinsons at Constant in St. George, Deanes at Kingsland (my family, 1133 acres) and many many others who were non white families.

You are simply out of your league.

Go and do some studying.

12. The economy may have been smaller in the 40’s and thus easier to grow.

But pound for pound, numbers do not lie.

The highest GDP growth ever experienced in Barbados was during the post WWII era.

It is amazing anyone with any sense would seek to dispute what is generally accepted to be reality.

If I told anyone that the American economy grew astronomically in the post WWII era I would not be contradicted.

The same principles were at work in Barbados.

That growth took many out of poverty and gave Bajans hope and confidence which they have lost today.

13. JohnJanuary 22, 2019 7:24 PM

Do you believe everything thing you read on Google or what people post to incriminate others on social media sites?

Course not!!!

But there are historical gems that come to light like these two links to legal documents will give you the flavor of the familial links to the Penny Bank. formed in the early 1940’s.

http://creolelinks.com/barbados-penny-bank/barbados-progressive-co-operative-bank.html

http://creolelinks.com/barbados-penny-bank/23.html

14. PLT

… no Black financial institutions of any importance.

I beg to differ.

The Penny Bank was extremely important.

There were many lessons to be learnt from it and its familial links.

Unfortunately, as a forerunner of CLICO it is clear Bajans didn’t learn nuffin!!

15. From the beginning, most Barbadian plantations were small, simple fact.

You will probably find that perhaps 1 in 7 was over 100 acres.

Most of the larger ones are comprised of several smaller units.

I can identify at least 3 plantations in Kendal, one of the largest in Barbados.

That is because in the early days they were not intended to manufacture sugar and depended instead on their small scale to be economically diverse and support another economic activity which was extremely financial!!!

Radical thought but I can back it up because I have done my due diligence.

If you look at the output of sugar in the time of slavery you will immediately realise there had to be another economic activity which I estimate to have been 9 times as big as sugar.

It was financially very profitable and subsidised agriculture!!

It depended on risk taking and worked on the principle that the higher the risk, the higher the reward … or “Who dares wins”!!

Check the output in red in the graph and you will see what I mean about how tiny and constant sugar output was in the era of slavery.

Sugar was only king for a short period after WWII.

https://imgur.com/8lwFXuy

16. “Check the output in red in the graph and you will see what I mean about how tiny and constant sugar output was in the era of slavery.”.

You haven’t changed
    Very dishonest.
    I doubt the red portion of your graph
    “Slavery’s was abolished prior to 1890

17. Haven’t really commented before. I think the heading of the post is nonsense…

Surprise at how the big brains delighted in it.

18. Given enough time, a hypothetical chimpanzee typing at random would, as part of its output, almost surely produce one of Shakespeare’s plays (or any other text).

The first time I heard that was in a course on probability theory.

19. Theo I read where u wanted some Input from GP2
    This is what I found on another social media platform as a response to him having no electricity

Five days without BL&P service forced me to be creative. I bought a new car battery and put it in my car. Then I connected the old one to an inverter to get some power. The battery was charged during the day with a PV panel.

There were also other comments made by him but this one I found of interest to be a learning tool when having no electricty

20. John Knox
    Why do you bother, Sir? Why?
    If you come here as a Biochemist, or Microbiologist or a Theologian or a Physician, there are ALWAYS some that THINK that they know more than you, concerning that which you know, or studied, or are well read about etc
    They are those who have strong incorrect opinions that will seek to shut you down or shut you up.
    Of these the Bible says that “they are ever learning but never coming to the knowledge of the truth.”
    Why do you bother, Sir? Why?
    The 15 busses ran on time
    M365 and M404 or 4012 ran on time to Gall Hill ran on time.
    Many small farmers grew canes for cash which they got a year end, but they were able to feed their families by intercropping with yams and potatoes etc.
    When I acted as PMO between 84 and 99 there was a lot of poverty to be seen in many middle class homes, quite like what was seen in the 5o’s.
    In the very early days of the FTC, I volunteered a lot at Edgehill, and learned a lot about sugar and the plantocracy, from Colin on the Stop and Stare walks, and from certain records that eventually went to the compost heaps. Much of what you have said here is 100% true, according to what I read, and or was told.
    Whereas AC is often the cause of much proctalgia fugax on BU, since 2008, SHE OFTEN SAYS MANY THINGS THAT ARE VERY TRUE.ALSO.

21. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@de pedantic Dribbler July 8, 2021 10:07 PM “@Simple S, wait a minute … u were at secondary school in the early ”60s and not yet 70 in 2021”

I started secondary school at 10 years, and 3 months old. I am not yet 70. The truth, the whole truth and nothing but the truth.

My family stopped growing sugar cane when the money which came out of growing cane was less than the money put into growing cane. If I recall correctly that was about the early to mid-90’s. And it was always more than 2 acres. Some was family owned and some was rented from other small farmers. We did what we had to do to survive. Mostly grew our own food, worked hard. All of the many children born to my parents survived to past the age of 60. But it was never ever easy. Still ain’t easy.

I expect that with a good enough education the grandchildren can/will earn their living anywhere in the world. They are not barnacles stuck upon a rock in the Atlantic. However they do know how to grow their own food. They were in the field with me last week when the schools were closed post-Elsa, getting a practical lesson in “where the food comes from.”

22. @John “The growth of the economy as a result of WWII created employment.”

Well not exactly. My father couldn’t wait around for the Barbados economy to grow or thrive. Things were very, very, very bad in Barbados in the 30’s and 40’s for poor black country people, even for people like my father who was a skilled tradesman. One of my siblings I am told nearly died from hunger. The “child” is past 80 now. So my father left his wife and young children in Barbados, and went to Trinidad and worked for the Americans at the “base” He often recalled that the food was horrible, rice white enough to blind, and the Americans were racist, but paid better dollar than was paid Barbados. He returned to Barbados in late 1944. His 2 brothers who were not married at the time all 3 of them left Barbados, remained in Trinidad for the rest of their lives. My grandmother sadly never saw these 2 sons again.

23. I can’t imagine what it must feel like never to see your sons again. And up to the time of her death in the “spring” of 1969 she had no telephone. Neither did we.

24. GP

I enjoy myself when considering our historical past.

My ideas are pretty radical so I like to test them against people I know are stuck in the mud clinging to what they have been told like barnacles.

If my ideas can stand up against their railings which is kind of easy, then when the time comes to discuss them with people who can dispassionately discuss them and who are open to new ideas it should be a cinch.

Looking forward to directing Grasshopper to the relevant passages in various historical texts and original documents.

25. Cuhdear BajanJuly 10, 2021 12:12 AM

I can’t imagine what it must feel like never to see your sons again. And up to the time of her death in the “spring” of 1969 she had no telephone. Neither did we.

Every family has its own stories to tell as things were tough and there was no work.

My Great Grandfather took his two eldest sons to New York in 1905 and left them.

A relative of his I can find going through Ellis Island earlier so maybe they hooked up.

My generation grew up knowing absolutely nothing about them.

The second son was a conductor on a New York tram and died in 1917 of consumption, very common at the time.

Only found this out by chance when his granddaughter called his name on the internet on a genealogical site seeking assistance locating relatives in Barbados.

The older one just disappeared.

I did find references to him in the 1910 US census and 1911 UK census and in a 1937 passenger list but no idea what became of him or if he has descendants.

Many men left Barbados at the time for various countries, mostly Panama and the US.

That’s probably why so many women worked and still work in agriculture..

26. TheOGazertsJuly 9, 2021 9:33 PM

“Check the output in red in the graph and you will see what I mean about how tiny and constant sugar output was in the era of slavery.”.

You haven’t changed
    Very dishonest.
    I doubt the red portion of your graph
    “Slavery’s was abolished prior to 1890

Numbers from Dunn, Sugar and Slaves …. sugar output in the 16th century.

Also Schomburgk, History of Barbados, sugar output in the 1840’s.

I’ll add another deterministic twist to titillate your probabilistic mind and leave you in a state of cogitation..

The 1680 census places the slave population on Barbados at about 40K.

The 1817 slave returns puts it at about 80K.

So it is a historical fact that a doubling of the slave population in the period 1680 to 1817 had no impact on the sugar output of Barbados, an inconvenient truth!!

Were the slaves lazy or was it that there was another plank to the economy?

The latter is the case.

The rapid increase in the slave population meant that after emancipation Barbados was left with a labour supply that far outstripped its job market.

Low wages and emigration ensued.

Panama took 20,000 or so and made a dent, the US another numerous thousands, Brazil and its railroad more (including Millie) and so on.

27. Numbers from Dunn, Sugar and Slaves …. sugar output in the 16th century.

Oops

17th century!!

28. Another way of understanding why sugar output during slavery did not change regardless of slave population is to realise that a windmill had about the same horse power of a lawn mower … Colin Hudson … about 4 HP.

Put in a nutshell, milling capacity capped sugar output.

… until the late 1800’s when steam became established.

About 500 windmills produced 10,000 tons of sugar.

Today one single factory produces that and only because its capacity has been severely reduced.

In the 1950.s there were about 30 factories producing 200,000 tons of sugar.

Do the numbers and you will realise that 20X500 windmills would have been necessary!!

That also explains why plantations were small and also why most were not intended to produce sugar in the early days.

Historians (and lawyers) are useless at simple arithmetic.

It has been my observation from my quarter century in court that a lawyer or judge does not understand that multiplying by zero always gives zero!!

So Grasshopper as a professing mathematician, convert History to math, if you really can, and you will see what I am saying is 100% accurate.

It helps if you also know a little physics and understand the concept of HP, horse power for those who don’t have a clue.

29. Once upon a time in a galaxy far away, PLT could also do Math … and Physics!!

30. What economic activity was so financially advantageous during the days of slavery that it could subsidize agriculture and support twice as many slaves as were needed in agriculture?

Must have been extremely profitable.

Which means it must have been very risky.

I’ll give you a clue Grasshopper.

It did not happen in Barbados, but it needed Barbados.

How did Singapore get so rich?

31. Your graph started at 1890 AD
    You added a red line that goes to 256 BC.
    You are all over the place.

32. PM gives strong hint of missed all-green energy goal

Randy Bennett
    Article by
    Randy Bennett
    Published on
    July 9, 2021

The Prime Minister on Thursday gave Government’s first hint that it is likely to miss its target of becoming a totally fossil-fuel-free economy by 2030, suggesting the financial fallout of the coronavirus pandemic is to blame.

In the presence of visiting President Delegate of the United Nations Climate Change Conference (COP 26) Alok Sharma, she told journalists that Government may have to review its goal.

Mottley said: “We have set of course the aspirational target of a fossil-free economy by 2030. We recognize that we can get there with a reduction of 70 per cent of what we want. We recognize that we are going to have to work further and in 2025 see whether we can hold to that 2030 target of 100 per cent fossil fuel-free or whether we will have to adjust it thereafter again.

“But at the very least we believe that we need to reduce the emissions from 7.7 tonnes per year per person to 2.3 tonnes as a recognition of our contribution from this small rock in this global community. We believe that we can have an unconditional commitment to a fossil-fuel-free electricity sector by 2030. We also believe we can do the same with respect to transport. We believe we will have to go back and review with respect to other aspects related to industrial development and agriculture but I am confident that within the next three years, both technical assistance as well as our own reengineering of some of the ways in which we do things that we will therefore be able to expand that ambition the next time we look at it in 2025.”

The Prime Minister said much of the work to be done to facilitate a green energy economy by 2030 had to be abandoned because of COVID-19.

She said: “There is certainly no doubt that all of the various exogenous shocks have left us more beleaguered economically and financially than we would have liked, but that does not mean that we are going to allow them to keep us down. The reality is that we are making a case for blended resources, more grant resources, and more concessional resources, recognizing that vulnerability ought to be one of the serious criteria used if not a multi-dimensional vulnerability index to help us access the money that we need to build the defenses to be resilient against these increased storms, increased droughts, increased bleaching, all of these things come and cost money,” Mottley maintained.

“And therefore if we have less money to spend because we are spending it on rebuilding houses or we are spending it as we are doing this year on a significant expansion of access to water resources, or cleaning up sargassum or cleaning up ash, then, of course, we have less money to put forward to do the restoring or reengineering of our housing stock to ensure that the next time an Elsa comes or a Janet comes that we will be able to withstand those types of hurricanes or the next time we have a serious drought we have strategic water resources that are affordable and accessible to every household and to every business.”

Sharma, who is briefly visiting Barbados ahead of the conference which will be held in Scotland’s second city Glasgow in October, said he was satisfied with the ambition shown by Government in tackling climate change.

He said Barbados’ all-renewable energy goal was “absolutely vital”.

“Not only in terms of reducing the emissions, but quite frankly in terms of the leadership it displays and it challenges other countries, particularly the biggest, to raise their own ambitions and to help keep the goals of the Paris Agreement within reach and keep alive the goal of limiting the average rise in global temperatures to 1.5 degrees,” Sharma said.

He promised that COP 26 “would deliver for the countries most vulnerable to climate change”.
    (randybennett@barbadostoday.bb)

33. Social Stratification
    Classes and Castes. Before 1960, Barbadian society consisted of a small merchant-planter elite largely of European ancestry; a slightly larger class of accountants, lawyers, medical personnel, journalists, and teachers of diverse ancestry; and a huge lower class of field laborers and domestic servants primarily of African ancestry. The elite remains about the same size but has grown much more diverse in heritage. The lower class has all but disappeared. In its place, there is now a huge middle class that encompasses everything from skilled blue-collar workers employed in manufacturing firms and hotels to a wide range of white-collar, professional, and managerial occupational groups employed directly or indirectly in the manufacturing and tourist sectors.

Read more: https://www.everyculture.com/A-Bo/Barbados.html#ixzz70CWbfl1g

34. Social Welfare and Change Programs
    A national social security system began operations in 1937, providing old age and survivors’ pensions, sickness, disability, and maternity benefits, and (under a January 1971 extension) employment injury benefits. People between the ages of sixteen and

An arch extends over a road in the capital city of Bridgetown. The majority of the population, about 80 percent, live in or near the city.
    sixty-five are covered. Unemployment insurance was introduced in 1982 and is funded by equal contributions from employers and employees. Sickness and maternity benefits are provided for employed persons, and all government hospitals and clinics maintain public wards for medical treatments, with costs scaled to income.

Read more: https://www.everyculture.com/A-Bo/Barbados.html#ixzz70CWtbqsC

35. Medicine and Health Care
    Barbadians rely on two bodies of knowledge to prevent and treat illness: a biomedical system organized on a Western model and an indigenous medical system that involves “bush” teas and home remedies.

When economic development began in the 1950s, the health care needs arose from high rates of acute infectious disease, and the government built an outstanding health care delivery system directed at those problems. The medical school at the UWI is located at a six hundred bed acute care facility, Queen Elizabeth Hospital. Separate geriatric and psychiatric hospitals provide specialized care. Public clinics in nearly every parish and private clinics concentrated in heavily populated parishes, serve primary health care needs.

Barbadians currently face two very different sets of health issues. The growing elderly population suffers from arthritis, hypertension, adult-onset diabetes, cancer, and heart disease. Significant proportions of disabled persons have unmet needs for help in seeing, eating, and walking. Youth face behavioral health problems, including AIDS, substance abuse, domestic and street violence, and mood disorders.

Read more: https://www.everyculture.com/A-Bo/Barbados.html#ixzz70CX0C5CS

36. “If you come here as a Biochemist, or Microbiologist or a Theologian or a Physician, there are ALWAYS some that THINK that they know more than you, concerning that which you know, or studied, or are well read about etc”

Whenever John talks shit GP steps in to validate shit talk claiming his brain is bigger than negroes equal in size to Asian brains

David should ban them again as a bitch is a bitch

JOB 30:2 Yea, whereto might the strength of their hands profit me, in whom old age was perished?

JOB 30:3 For want and famine they were solitary; fleeing into the wilderness in former time desolate and waste.

JOB 30:4 Who cut up mallows by the bushes, and juniper roots for their meat.

JOB 30:5 They were driven forth from among men, (they cried after them as after a thief;)

JOB 30:6 To dwell in the cliffs of the valleys, in caves of the earth, and in the rocks.

37. The Edo Messengers
    Sheyi Olagunju & Papy K
    1 / 5

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y8T5TtTa2mE

38. Did you not say that John starts with a FIRM conclusion and works backwards? He will twist himself and a line on a graph into any pretzel necessary to back up his FIRM CONCLUSION.

Then he and GP will attempt to belittle others who took “classes” other than those which they took.

As far as they are concerned we should all come to BU to sit at their feet.

This from people who are still waiting for a kracken to be released via some Arizona fraudit conducted by some Cyber Ninjas.

Dem sleeping pon My Pillows filled with crack!

When The Orange Peril returns to the White House in August, we will sit at your feet and be schooled.

Until then, we will rely on our own brains which are not filled with looney tunes composed by Rush Limbaugh’s duppy.

39. Correction- sit at THEIR feet and be schooled

40. TheOGazertsJuly 10, 2021 2:44 AM

Your graph started at 1890 AD
    You added a red line that goes to 256 BC.
    You are all over the place.

Grasshopper

Since the graph is of sugar output I was relying on your innate intelligence to help you realise that it could only begin c. 1650 when sugar production begun.

I guess you did not even know that.

No wonder you have such difficulty understanding such simple concepts.

Master

41. DavidJuly 10, 2021 4:17 AM

PM gives strong hint of missed all-green energy goal
    Randy Bennett
    Article by
    Randy Bennett
    Published on
    July 9, 2021

The Prime Minister on Thursday gave Government’s first hint that it is likely to miss its target of becoming a totally fossil-fuel-free economy by 2030, suggesting the financial fallout of the coronavirus pandemic is to blame.

She must have suddenly realised the sun does not shine at night and the wind does not blow all day.

We aren’t getting anywhere with the thinking ability exhibited.

A lawyer/judge or historian (God knows we have enough of them) who can only think in one dimension and not appreciate a multidisciplinary thought process are a waste of time and will never get us out of the mess we are in.

42. Grasshopper

You have not advanced very far in your understanding.

Master

43. Cannot energy be stored??????

44. RE My family stopped growing sugar cane when the money which came out of growing cane was less than the money put into growing cane. If I recall correctly that was about the early to mid-90’s.
    THIS MAKES SENSE AND SOUNDS TRUE
    IN SOME AREAS THIS STARTED EARLIER. I SAW IT ALL AROUND ME WHERE I LIVED IN ST THOMAS IN THE 80’S,WHEN OUR VERY BRILLIANT GOVERNMENT CLOSED HAGGATS FACTORY THERE WERE NO TRUCKS WHO COULD DRAW A LOAD OF CANE

RE Cannot energy be stored??????
    ALL ENERGY CANNOT BE STORED—-VERY BASIC INFORMATION GLEANED FROM THE CLASSES I TOOK

RE Then he and GP will attempt to belittle others who took “classes” other than those which they took. As far as they are concerned we should all come to BU to sit at their feet.

I HAVE ALWAYS ENJOYED THE INPUT ON BU OF THE MANY who took “classes” other than those which I TOOK. AND QUITE WILLING TO SIT AT THEIR FEET WHEN THEY COME TO BU, BECAUSE I EXPECT TO, AND ACTUALLY LEARN FROM THEM. I DONT SEEK TO CONTRADICT THEM

SIMPLE SIMON STATED A FACT ABOUT HER AGE AND WHEN SHE ENTERED SECONDARY SCHOOL, AND WHAT SHE SAID WAS CHALLENGED BY A MORON WHO THINKS HE KNOWS MORE ABOUT HER LIFE STORY THAN SHE DOES, AND BECAUSE IN HIS IGNORANCE, HE DOES NOT KNOW THAT IT WAS QUITE THE NORM FOR FOLK TO ENTER SECONDARY SCHOOL BEFORE AGE TEN BEFORE THE DAYS OF THE INCEPTION OF THE COMMON ENTRANCE EXAM AND “SCREENING TEST” IN 1962.

ASK THE CHIEF JUSTICE HOW OLD HE WAS WHEN HE ENTERED BOYS FOUNDATION IN 1961

45. A LOAD OF CANE UPHILL SO ALL SMALL CANE GROWERS IN THAT REGION WENT OUT OF GROWING CANE…….SOME VERY STEEP HILLS TO GET OUT OF ST ANDREW

46. DonnaJuly 10, 2021 7:42 AM

Cannot energy be stored??????

47. John and GP are 2 old farts who have lost the Jin energy in their pelvis which means they suffer from incompetence and impotence

48. .. 2 old geezers suffering incontinence ..

49. Blacks should understand the power of division vs multiplication aka hate vs love aka divide to rule
    Economic system was designed to hold you and control you in debt slavery
    One of the White whoremongers biggest fears is a United Caribbean,
    next is a United Africa, (like Gaddafi wanted)
    next is Afro Asian Unity

Anyone who knows what love is (will understand)