Submitted by Ellis Chase
Pat Hoyos and Peter Boos labelled 'Barbados Elites'

Is it the Administration or the People Who Cannot Make Tough Choices?

Since the change in administration in 2008 and the ongoing global economic challenges, the need for restructuring the economy and the failure of the government to make tough choices has been a constant mantra in Bim. This mantra has been constant on this blog, in the media especially by the elite commentators such as Pat Hoyos and Peter Boos, Professional Economists and Members of the Opposition. The debate in Bim has been hijacked by this group which in my opinion is defined by a couple of features:

1. A focus on conspicuous consumption and a high carbon lifestyle, which they want to maintain at any cost;
  2. A disdain for the working class, trades unions and public officers;
  3. A “Tea Party” like ideological opposition to any taxes;
  4. A disdain for agriculture and manufacturing.

Let us look back at the 2008 budget as I develop my argument. If my memory is correct in 2008, the media and our elites framed the budget as the budget of free bus fares for school children, summer camps and tax increases to kill Bajans and destroy the economy. Now if one were to take an objective look at the budget, the proposed revenue raising measures amounted to ($104ml), proposed incentives and grants were ($82ml). Of the revenue measures the cell phone tax ($13,9ml), gambling tax ($4.4ml) and the tax on gambling winnings ($8.7ml), were definitely never implemented.

Our elite commentators such as the upper middle class crew on this blog and Pat Hoyos, Peter Boos etc. in the tired main stream media focused on free bus fares and summer camps because of their disdain for the working class, which tends to include public officers and union membership.

Now if they were serious about reform and say moving to a more energy efficient and green economy, free bus fares for school children could have been seen as the state providing an incentive for all parents in Bim to make greater use of public transport in getting their kids to and from school. This would help with the traffic problems and reduce fuel usage. But the elite, middle class and aspiring middle class children in Bim catch the bus. Hell no! And how dare you increase the cost of licensing and registering our fuel guzzling big rides in the same budget where you give freeness to the lower classes.

Are our elites serious about restructuring the economy, making tough personal choices and changing habits? In terms of their travel habits clearly no, and don’ t tell me this is about the efficiency of the Transport Board. Actually, I think if certain kinds of people start taking the bus, the service will change. The the elite, middle class and aspiring middle class in Bim are firmly wedded to their high carbon lifestyle, and they and their children are not catching bus in Bim, they will do so when in London, NY etc.. This is class warfare my friends!

I now take the liberty of listing the measures in the 2008 budget related to alternative energy. Now I am no expert on alternative energy and whether or not these were the right incentives. But my point is, did these measures even make it on stage in terms of the issues raised by our elite commentators in the after budget debate, if only to critique their inadequacy.

Now if people were serious about reform, passing on fuel costs, increase vehicle costs and the various incentives below could be seen as a carrot and sticks across to build a greener, more fuel efficient economy. The elites are uninterested in the carrots, and opposed to the sticks because they are defined by:

• A focus on conspicuous consumption and a high carbon lifestyle, which they want to maintain at any cost;
  • A “Tea Party” like ideological opposition to any taxes;

Despite their mantra of fiscal sustainability and no handouts, the state must subsidize their fuel consumption.

Are our elites serious about restructuring the economy and making tough choices? In terms of their energy and fuel consumption, clearly no. What the elites want are big, public sector funded projects from which they can reap largesse. Adjust their lifestyles, hell no! The elite, middle class and aspiring middle class in Bim are firmly wedded to their high carbon lifestyle, and they will destroy anyone who seeks to mess with it. They are the ones who are unwilling to make a number of the tough choices needed to restructure the economy. Don’t let them confuse you! In my next post I want to focus on agriculture and the 2008 budget.

Alternative Energy Measures in the 2008 Budget

• The price of petroleum products and LPG will be adjusted monthly by the Ministry of Trade on the advice of the Division of Energy based on the prices paid for these products by the importers and in accordance with the formula that has been approved by the Cabinet.
  • Currently, there exists in the Income Tax Act provision for the cost of energy audits up to $2,000.00 to be deducted as part of the general Income Tax Allowance for Home Improvement of $10,000 in any one year. I propose now to create a separate allowance called the Energy Conservation and Renewable Energy Deduction of a maximum of $5,000.00 per year over each of five (5) years to cover the costs of an energy audit and fifty per cent of the cost of retrofitting a residence or installing a system to produce electricity from a source other than fossil fuels. This applies also to businesses whether incorporated or unincorporated.
  • Cabinet has also approved Government approaching the Inter American Development Bank (IDB) for assistance in preparing the appropriate legislation that would require the Barbados Light and Power Co. Ltd. purchase all electricity produced from renewable energy sources and offered for sale to Barbados Light and Power by independent power producers at rates set by the Fair Trading Commission.
  • Under Part II B item 87 of the Customs Tariff, various items of wind turbines, photovoltaic components and systems, biofuel systems, hydropower systems, solar thermal systems, wave or tidal power systems, fuel cell systems and geothermal heat pump systems are exempted from import duty (20%) and environmental levy, on the basis of ministerial approval. The need for ministerial approval in each and every instance will no longer apply and these items will automatically enjoy the concession from the Customs.

126 responses to “Are The Elites In Barbados Serious About Restructuring The Economy?”

1. I have my favourites in politics like most people. But my life has taught me that b, d or n in power I have to work real hard to live in this place called bim, so I don’t get too tied up with politics.

the ‘elites” as I think of them frame the public debate and set the policy agenda. thats why i am focusing on them, they are the ones people listen to.

I think I understand Bim. Certain people have to get behind and into things before the public at large gets on board.

As a youngster I saw that even with bars and nightclubs. These things only really took off when certain people started going there.

The corporate sector and professional elite in Bim have never been put under the microscope.

Yu ever do business with a lawyer in bim?

2. yu ever go to a doctor’s office in bim?

local accountants signed off on clico every year. no questions asked of them yet.

check it out, what annoys me is that the ‘elite” argues that government must only set the policy framework. but even where its set they never seem to respond to anything that needs some skill, effort and energy.

3. I pon the road and listening to bloomberg radio. such are the wonders of modern technology. The evidence is that persons coming out from community colleges and technical colleges have much better job prospects that traditional college grads.

Our “elites” who shape public opinion have not even been willing to have a debate on higher education. for them its uwi at all costs even at the expense of the bcc and polytechnic.

There is a uwi elite in bim who have sought to shape the debate to ensure their largesse continues.

4. Random Thoughts Avatar

Quoting businesman “yu ever go to a doctor’s office in bim?”

Yes and if he doesn’t treat me well I fire him, and I have done so, and will do s again as necessary. Lawyers the same.

Because fortunately in Barbados both doctors and lawyers are a dime a dozen.

I treat my landscaper with the gretest respect though, because it is harder to find a good reliable landscaper.

Hee!!, hee!!, hee!!

5. good for you random.

6. Businessman. I think I can see and appreciate your main thrust. However, I don’t think that the problem is that regular commentators like Sanka Price and Hoyos and irregular ones like Boos do not appear to comment on matters directly related to the restructuring of the economy (as much as they should do) but that somehow the people with the wherewithal to contribute significantly to such restructuring have to be somehow impelled to do so, either from a sense of contributing to Barbados getting out of the morass it is now in or from its being ultimately being profitable for them to do so.

If Peter Boos and Hoyos (and Sanka Price seemingly thrown into the ling as an “equal opportunity” example) choose not to champion the cause of the restructuring of the economy, it is their right, if that is indeed true. What is really necessary is to get other media personnel who are capable of seeing the light at the end of the restructuring tunnel, involved in the effort to sell the need for restructuring and educating us on the path there and indeed the pitfalls along the way.

Entrenched antidemocratic interests will always try to put hurdles in the way of development (Ask Obama) especially if such policies have the potential of reducing their gains from the system, but the policy makers should work out strategies to negate their efforts and get their policies implemented.

Perhaps this thread is a strategic move by the powers that be to cast the Peter Boos and Hoyoses and Sanka Prices of Barbados in a negative light and in the process includes a built in system for labelling anyone who would support them as being “elitist” and so have a smoother sailing for their developmental policies. David (not BU) saw that clearly from the get go. Many others have not yet seen it.

7. I think some of us are missing what businessman is saying, it is the moneyed class who dont want nothing to change and we need to focus on them. They are the one who influence what is in the budget because they argue that their businesses emply people. Look at the gentleman from the hotel sector, i think he name cloin jordan always want more and more for the hotel sub-sector and sometimes some of the incentives are used to develop private homes for the owners or some of the furnishing end up in their properties.

It is time we look at race and class two features of this society that continue to shape the agenda. Look at the Nation, the corporate elite there decide how things should be spinned. If they dont do what the advertisers want they will have reduced revenue form advertising.

These elites want all the concessions to continue their social liftstyle. It is a discsuuion that must take plac like what is happening in the usa. If there is no transformation of the society, it will eventually collaspe like what is happening in Europe. As was said, did the Auditors of CLICO pick up any challenges while auting the report year after year, did they raise any concerns? Rather than focus on the auditors who have a fiduciry relationship to the shareholers, we want to balme govt for cilico’s confusion.

LET THE DEBATE CONTINUE

8. @Checkit-out

Some good points in the exchanges so far.

If we agree that an alternative energy program is key to calibrate our economy in a new and peak oil era our leading lights i.e elites of Barbados need to speak out now. It is too important an initiative for a key stakeholder (elites) not to be strident in its feedback because of perceived parochial interest.

9. David; First of all I think we have to disabuse ourselves of the notion that the full time or part time media practitioner “elites” are of overweening importance in the Government’s efforts to restructure Barbados’ economy and developmental path. The so called “elite” media practitioners of themselves are not, and attempting to make negative examples of them isn’t going to allow us to achieve the necessary developmental goals. The focus has to be placed elsewhere.

Some people on this thread have highlighted the distributive trade as being a problem in the way it is now constituted. There will always be a distributive trade sector in little Barbados that has so few internal hard resources and will always depend on bringing materials in from outside. How do we go about changing that system to be more in tune with the imperatives that commenters are concerned with? Would greater and more strategic use of the internet help? Would greater and more strategic use of Pay Pal help? Should there be new policies to get new small players into the game? If so what kind of policies? The players currently in that sector are not going to assist in this thrust. So how are we going to get new players in, trained, and equipped with the resources and knowledge to successfully replace the current players without significant disruptions?

Banks have also been identified. What can be done to get this sector more responsive to the needs of a new restructured Barbados. I see another thread is championing the development of Post Office Banks but could these as well as properly structured and controlled Credit Union Banks be another complimentary thrust for such development?

There are quite a few Alternative energy practitioners in Barbados. Let them tell us what is necessary to make the transformation.

Have to run. Will try to complete this later.

10. @ David

“One of the points of the article is that there is a group of people in Barbados labelled ‘elites of Barbados; who have been silent on the need/rollout of alternative energy. why?”

And the blogger’s ‘why?’ makes absolutely no sense whatsoever. None!!
    Isn’t alternative energy of interest to the Barbados Entrepreneurship Foundation formed and led by the elites? Who makes up the membership of B’dos Future Trust? What renewable energy measures did the government promote at Coverley or in the new buildings at Warrens? The article is nothing more than a political contribution posing as a socio-economic comment.

11. Anytime you hear Bizzy Williams or the economic elites comment look closely under the surface of what they are saying and you will find a mother lode of money waiting to be made by them. Its hardly ever anything to do with national improvement for all if that happens its coincidental.

12. Random Thoughts Avatar

Roy Morris of Barbados Today is a Colridge & Parry old boy, as is Jeff Broome, as is Owen Arthur.

13. I really don’t want to flog this too much. We seem hung up on the word elite can we use the word “opinion makers” instead.

I cannot read people’s minds I can only judge by their actions. These opinion makers have been extremely vocal on all manner of economic matters over the last four years and their silence on alternative energy has been deafening. So for me they have sent a clear signal as to what they are interested in.

Ellis Chase’s thesis stands intact based on the arguments presented so far on this blog.

14. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Blogger2012 | January 6, 2012 at 12:37 PM |
    “…. and sometimes some of the incentives are used to develop private homes for the owners or some of the furnishing end up in their properties.”

This is called FRAUD so the Comptroller of Customs (CoC) and the Police should be informed of instances. What do you have to say about that?

“…… did the Auditors of CLICO pick up any challenges while auditing the report year after year, did they raise any concerns? Rather than focus on the auditors who have a fiduciary relationship to the shareholders, we want to blame gov’t for clico’s confusion.”

Well said!
    So the onus is on the current government to pursue this line and not offer protection to the perpetrators with public confirmation of friendship and commendations of business acumen and stellar performance just to cover up

15. millertheanunnaki Avatar

millertheanunnaki | January 7, 2012 at 11:26 AM |

@ Blogger2012 | January 6, 2012 at 12:37 PM |
    Just to complete the scenario the following piece was inadvertently omitted from the previous thread. Omission regretted!

…… sources of campaign financing that can expose the dead but deified “king” of local political propaganda, lies and deceit.

The Government should encourage the BIPA fools to pursue a class action suit against the Auditors in order to mitigate some of the losses suffered by this obvious ponzi debacle.

16. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

The JLP fell into the PNP’s trap

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/columns/The-JLP-fell-into-the-PNP-s-trap_10498362

The DLP will not make the same mistake!!!!

17. Excellent post CCC. Your best ever.

18. @Peter Boos

Know you monitor that you monitor BU.

Would appreciate feedback on a blog we carried last year about decisions taken under you chair at Legacy CWC2007.

Here is the link.Was in poppycock?

https://bajan.wordpress.com/2010/10/10/two-questions-for-peter-boos-former-chairman-of-legacy-barbados-inc-freedom-of-information-act-needed-now-more-than-ever/

19. @ Cadogan
    The DLP needed to avoid their own trap and failed.

20. The high oil price is a major foreign exchange drain. The knock on effect on light bills and many other costs is putting pressure on everyone. what is the government to do.

One option is to subsidize the fuel costs and encourage current consumption patterns and impact negatively on the deficit.

the government has chosen another way:

For well over a decade there was a tax deduction for up to $10000 per year for new investments mutual funds. That deduction has in effect been replaced by a deduction of 10,000 per year for alternative energy investments. Not a member of our opionon-making class has championed this or put it in this light.

Its become more expensive to own and operate gas guzzlers, but our reformist, tough decision making, opinion makers can only complain about this.

They seem to want painless change, or pain that does not affect them but is borne by someone else. In 1994 the current Pm said in a speech that there is no easter monday celebration without the pain of good friday.

With like opinion makers like the ones we now have, god help us.

21. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Businessman | January 8, 2012 at 10:56 AM |
    “Its become more expensive to own and operate gas guzzlers, but our reformist, tough decision making, opinion makers can only complain about this.”

Can’t fault you on this position! But would you agree that a hallmark of effective leadership is that of setting examples for others to follow.
    Now you take an inventory of the public sector’s non-commercial vehicles, especially those assigned to staff, and tell us about the gas guzzlers.

The same thing applies to energy conservation and alternative energy infrastructure. Let the Government lead by example, thereby encouraging those who are enlightened with incentives or penalise those who are “kicking against the prick of economic change” with taxes or other sanctions.

22. You have my full support on that.

But you know somehow I expect the private sector to always move faster than the public. The incentives and self interest for a private player have to be greater than for some government.

Yet in Bim of today our privayte sector always seem to need government to do more than set the policy environment.

I don’t want the opinion makers to let the administration off the hook, but I want them to focus more on that other aspect of the story.

Where are the elites, opinion makers, captains of industry on being proactive, making chocies and investments to transform the economy.

23. @Miller

I am sure u are aware that things are imported for hotels and end up in private homes, the customs can only release them in the hotel name when they are imported for them, do u wants customs to go back and count the things in the hotel rooms? That how the priveledge class operates, exploit the loop holes for their continued status quo/

By the way have u heard of the term creative accounting? No wonder why so many businesses, the world over failed.

24. Check it out

who owned the banks in Barbados? I hope u have in mind the estbalsiment of a development bank foremost in your thoughts.

25. @Enuff

is the govt developing the houses at coverly? U r so shortsighted that u continue to write enuff ignorance.

26. Earlier on this thread someone commented that its the elites who lead the greening of economy. That is probably quite true in other parts of the world, but certainly not in Bim at this time. How many professionals in Bim would really buy and drive a Prius? How many would really take the bus or have their kids take the bus?

The educated professional class is the one that usually leads the charge on sustainability, but not bout here, conspicuous consumption is their thing.

I think unfortunately some have lumped “elite” to mean white or high brown. I would bet you that white people in Bim lead some of the greener lifestyles. Richard Hoad has been one of the main advocates for sustainable living, and he has used his column to do such. Sanka price writes a lengthy weekly column have you ever seen an article from him that did not focus on consumption, politics or personalities. Mascoll’s columns do the same.

When you go to things like the national trust, museum and so on you don’t see many of our educated professionals, upper class, middle classand aspiring people. You see more whites than anything. Its not the cool thing in that group. The educated professionals, upper class, middle class and aspiring groups in Bim seem like they will sell the environment and the national heritage for another trip to the mall.

The poster boys for this group are focused on domestic consumption, thats their mantra. According to their spokesmen, Sanka price, hoyos, boos, mascoll and so on we can build a sustainable economy on: tourism, middle and upper class conspicuous consumption of imported goods, selling tax avoidance to the world (called international business) and holiday homes for the rich.

These are the things that can drive the lifestyles they aspire too.

I don’t have their learning but it would seem to me that a sustainable economy would be built on tourism, agriculture, selective high end manufacturing, alternative energy, with international business being the icing on the cake.

So for them alternative energy incentives are not worth discussing, making it more expensive to own and operate a big ride, makes them mad like hell. One said to me, I work hard why should I have to bother with getting my children to turn off lights and that sort of thing.

With leaders and opinion makers like these where are we going?