Submitted Observing

Things are so out of whack recently that I think we have gone haywire. Let me just toss a few random disjointed thoughts out there to get a real real feel for where we are right now.

1. Persons on bail for vicious murders…BUT…end up committing others after
  2. Local parties and fetes are restricted…BUT…visitors can plan 2 months ahead of time and party soon with wild abandon
  3. Large outcry over the Trojan Riddim…BUT…and even larger outcry over the outcry over the Trojan Riddim
  4. MAM says take down the Riddim AND apologise…BUT…so far 166 thousand views, 3000 likes and Sunday School still wukking
  5. NUPW elected to represent workers…BUT….NUPW has to call in the police to save itself
  6. Minister boasts that cruise ships coming…BUT…positive cases still showing up on liners abroad
  7. We say the children under severe pressure…BUT…we force the same children to do Common Entrance
  8. Auditor General report speaks of problems…BUT…not a peep or pang from the GoB or BLP about it
  9. Cruise ships mashup Carlisle Bay coral…BUT…Minister says no problem he will plant it back
  10. Road tax removed to supposedly ease consumers….BUT……gas prices (and said tax) increasing every single month
  11. Hotel workers cannot be forced to take the vaccine…BUT…guests can demand that they do
  12. There is no price gouging they say…BUT…ask any supermarket buyer and you’ll hear different
  13. Four Seasons money written off by government…BUT…the main lawyer and main adviser running the same government coffers currently
  14. Verla’s ready to lead the DLP to next year’s election…BUT…she has to beat a certain Guy first.

See what I tell ya. We Gone Haywire.

759 responses to “GONE HAYWIRE”

1. Govt’s ‘lack of political will’

The whole point about corruption in politics is that it can’t be done, or done properly, without a bipartisan consensus.
    – Christopher Hitchens During its embryonic stages, the Integrity Group Barbados (IGB) met in October 2016 to discuss the urgent need for a watchdog organisation as a response to the stupefying levels of political corruption, deficient accountability measures and the inaccessibility of transparent budgetary and financial information.
    Indeed, these persistent institutional failures are directly interrelated with inefficient mechanisms to detect, control and to punish those administrative and public officers who contravene rules by inflicting political abuse at the expense of the masses.
    The last General Election was situated in an atmosphere of collective disgruntlement that had been a prevailing feature of the Barbadian political climate for some time. In contrast, May 25, 2018, signalled a shift to re-emerging hopefulness, a palpable sense of expectancy, and an overall celebratory mood ushered in by the change of Government.
    Increasing disgruntlement
    However, by utilising the 2020 Auditor General Report as a point of reference, this article will explore the reasons why there has been increasing disgruntlement reminiscent of the pre-Mia Amor Mottley political era by some sections of the population, as observed from comments on various social media platforms.
    The IGB’s and the general public’s hopefulness that governmental compliance to safeguard public interests would be prioritised by the current administration has since descended into disillusionment, which has been exacerbated by the publication of the report of the Auditor General. For this reason, the IGB categorically condemns the Government’s lack of political will in addressing the malpractices and abuse of public funds as is the constitutional obligation of all governments to adhere to good governance and transparency.
    Undermining of the political system through acts of corruption Moreover, in a context where socioeconomic issues are compounded by the negative economic consequences of the COVID-19 pandemic, the Auditor General’s report has once again disclosed the alarming extent to which public funds and financial documentation are mishandled, pointing to the defectiveness of the entire democratic system.
    For example, a cursory perusal of the report of the Auditor General shows that there was a recording of BDS$209.4 million under what can only be described as a dubious category of Other Equity Investments in the financial statements.
    Further, the value of the investment into the Four Seasons Hotel Project has been recorded as remaining unchanged for several years in of spite of continuous deterioration of the plant’s infrastructure. We are further alarmed by the debt write-off for the Four Seasons Hotel. This, therefore, points to the irreconcilability of the expenditure records and the true nature of the Four Seasons operation. Similarly, a “Special Project Account” balance in a general ledger indicating a glaring difference of BDS$51 million from the confirmed balance leads to more questions than answers.
    More astonishing is the report of the Auditor General that the Poverty Eradication Fund, which was established in Barbados in 1997 to assist impoverished people who would fall far outside of the scope of privilege and who otherwise are denied access to financial resources, has been abused by its principals.
    The Auditor General’s report is clear that information about this fund is not widely circulated, and thus potential beneficiaries are unaware about this avenue of assistance. Evidently, this fund has been inappropriately designated as a “poverty eradication fund” since its disbursements included payments towards mortgage arrears, a marriage seminar, and the sponsorship of shows. The need for firmer accountability mechanisms By all accounts, the Auditor General’s report was replete with examples of misclassifications, arbitrary undercharges and overcharges, non-submission of critical documents for audit, noncorresponding bank statements, coupled with failure to explain ambiguous expenditure trends and the non-adherence to the Public Finance Management Act. Although these inconsistencies validate charges of the persistence of negligence, administrative weaknesses, and corruption, they also reveal a more disconcerting reality.
    Cannot be overlooked
    Without an adequate instituted accountability apparatus, we are left unaware of the real cost of corruption. This ineffective state control and monitoring of governmental revenue cannot be overlooked. Such acts demands radical and equally deliberate political action.
    We therefore reiterate our support for the Office of the Auditor General,
    which has produced a relatively comprehensive report, notwithstanding the severe organisational limitations under which it operates.
    Over the next few weeks, the IGB will continue to revisit the report. We are also anticipating the Government’s official response in implementing the recommendations outlined in the report by the rectification of inoperative inherited systems as recommended by the report, and the holding of people accountable for the recorded accounting failures.

This article was submitted by the Integrity Group of Barbados.

2. The blogmaster is desperately trying to determine how this Haywire travel agency seems to have the green light to promote a weekend of revelry in Barbados without permission. It is time the principals of Haywire fess up!

3. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

At least the corruption has been made public and gone viral, all they can attract is the corrupt like themselves, there has been many instances of corrupt governments EXPOSED EVERYWHERE OVER THE DECADES and if people were paying attention to news of the various administrations with those labels worldwide.. it never ends well..

4. Word on the street for the launching of youth against gun violence on social media platforms is astronomical over one hundred thousand dollars and counting
    Word on the street also indicate the producer of the event name is associated with issues that would raise eye brows
    David you full investigation into this matter is warranted
    Avoid attacking the messenger and take a hint from the message

5. Steuspe.

Everything that goes wrong cannot be tagged to corruption. Sometimes it may be incompetence or errors in judgement. We have to stop with the boring wholesale arguments.

6. @ David,
    LOL! The premium tickets are sold out, however you can purchase a standard ticket at 1550 BDS.

https://haywireweekend.com/tour-item/barbados/

7. DavidJune 13, 2021 5:21 AM

The blogmaster is desperately trying to determine how this Haywire travel agency seems to have the green light to promote a weekend of revelry in Barbados without permission. It is time the principals of Haywire fess up!

Xxcccc
    What is there to determine
    Influence and money counts
    Ask the deacons guy having access to Mia number

8. This is a montage of a Haywire vacation. I am not certain if this type of holiday comes under the “Brand Barbados” category.

https://m.youtube.com/watch?time_continue=11&v=D4H_eyZbOwo&feature=emb_title

9. David,

When the tickets cost so much, it is likely to be corruption.

Money talks louder than anything else.

How could incompetance explain this exactly?

More likely the privileged not recognising that ordinary Bajans have had enough of the double standards.

10. More Brandy and Poonany ?

11. So far we have had Ministers John King and Jeffery Bpstic denying any involvement. We wait to see how it unfolds. The promoters of the event need to make a statement and/or the police to get involved.

12. David,

I bet this thing was supposed to fly under the radar.

How did it get out?

13. It is a shame when we have to sell ourselves as a wild ride for the rich. I know this is nothing new but it makes me feel like taking a bath.

Is this all we are?

14. Some ah de comments on this blog eh.🤣🤣🤣🤣

15. Time will tell. It is hard to envisage Minister Bostic and CMO approving an event as advertised. However stranger things have happened.

16. As the old folks say yuh cud hide and buy land but you can’t hid when wuking it
    This event planning started as far back as Feb
    The agency would have been giving assurances that permission would be given
    Now all hell breaks out govt pretends as not knowing about earlier planning details
    Once again all should be reminded that big planv goes through her
    In a Covid environment this is classified as a big plan

Cxcccccc

Investigation

On Instagram, on February 4, Haywire Weekend dropped a photo of Nikki Beach Barbados’ pool with a caption about guessing where to next in July. It should be noted that despite Nikki Beach’s activity on social media, on the website the advisory, ‘Nikki Beach Barbados has temporarily paused operations until further notice’ remains. But they also posted five weeks ago, on April 29, ‘Resting up for our reunion.’

Barbados bookings for Haywire Weekend opened first to the newly launched VIP members on February 26 and to all interested persons officially on March 4. In mid-March, the team behind the travel company shared that as they prepared for Jamaica to be their first 2021 destination, they “carefully handpicked every destination” with “vibes and safety in mind”. They also said that they have been given the assurance of the Jamaica Tourist Board that “the country had adequate testing capacity for all visitors.”

Barbadians were last night responding with shock, surprise and dismay at the flyers and information that has surfaced on social media. So far only the Haywire Weekend website and Instagram speak of the upcoming Barbados escape, while on their Facebook and Twitter the next trip being promoted is destination St Maarten.

And with Barbadians on Twitter calling for an immediate response from government on this weekend of beach brunches, champagne showers, wata wars and more, some are taking issue with not only the lack of communication about this but the fact that in one of the Barbados updates on Instagram, Haywire Weekend said it had been in constant contact with the local Board of Tourism. With visitbarbados.org printed below, they shared the protocols for fully vaccinated and not vaccinated visitors or those seeking to attend who have received their second shots less than 14 days before the trip to Barbados in the case of two-dose vaccines.

As of yesterday, June 8, Barbados commenced a new Emergency Management COVID-19 (Curfew) Directive 11 which extended the curfew that has been in effect for weeks. The island remains under a weekend curfew from 12:01am to 5am on Fridays, Saturdays, Sundays and Mondays.

And with this in place, one person commented asking Haywire Weekend about it from as early as five weeks ago. One American media worker wrote on Instagram: ‘The island starting this month has a midnight curfew, will that affect the events?’

Bajans have tweeted their need for full transparency on Haywire Weekend.

“Wait you telling me over 2 months ago the government of Barbados was talking to these tourists about planning an event and we the r*l bajans can’t even get offa curfew. Well muddac…..”

“Write the article tomorrow and let the government know we waiting for an explanation.”

“Nah for real @johnkingbb …call the press conference let the ppl hear wha going on here cause it looking to me like yall lost the plot and I’m quite over it. We want answers”

“Just scrolled the page and this is branded as “5 days and 4 nights” of luxury, from July 2nd – 6th. On their page, they also mention being in contact with Barbados’ tourism board. Bajans being told we’ll find out “soon” what’s happening for months.. but yet..”

“I’ve personally been watching the Haywire Weekend IG for months with this face… because HOW you having events and the island to our knowledge on curfew, with no parties in sight for the foreseeable future???”

“Scheduled for less than a month away and we locals still under lock and key?? Waw”

One thread likened this Haywire Weekend to the recently held and subsequently shutdown Mocha Fest in Jamaica.

“So y’all remember Mocha Fest in Jamaica? It looks like Barbados has its own upcoming version called Haywire Weekend. Check it out on IG @/haywireweekend. I don’t mind the tourists coming in to enjoy themselves. What I have a problem with is that they’re being allowed events.

“Why do they get to have events and we can’t at all. It’s not even a thought now. It’s unfair af. It stinks of Two Barbadoses all over again. To make it worse it seems this event is sanctioned by the BTMI. I think the govt needs to explain this one cause it not adding up. If the tourists get to hold them events I wanna know the timeline for when we gonna be outside. I wanna know what events gonna be happening for Crop Over. I wanna know all I ain’t fighting nobody weekend. I just want what’s fair to me as a Bajan living on this island.”

Bajans are calling for a press conference expeditiously and answers on this matter.

Meanwhile, some others are asking what does this mean for banned events such as party cruises and bus crawls which have been shelved since December 30, 2020, as well as for Crop Over 2021.

17. Lack of transparency keeps shooting govt in the mouth
    Another brouha and govt PR wheels are in motion
    What a shame

18. Why would the government of Barbados approve something like this and local entertainers kept on lockdown? It does not smell right. The blogmaster is willing to give the benefit of the doubt to the government until the travel agency explain itself.

19. Enuff,

Exactly what is wrong with the comments?

Is this too a nothing burger in your estimation?

Why then do we have the denials?

Steupse man, steupse!

The can of worms has been opened and no stupid comment from you is going to get the worms back inside.

The people have had enough of the slave mentality!

They are attempting to break free.

20. Oh dear me, David!

After all we have been through this year, you are willing to give the Government the benefit of the doubt in this matter.

SMH.

21. These types of Raves / Parties are the models for Ibiza and Spring Break Holidays. Maybe it will become common in Barbados.

22. DavidJune 13, 2021 7:30 AM

Why would the government of Barbados approve something like this and local entertainers kept on lockdown? It does not smell right. The blogmaster is willing to give the benefit of the doubt to the government until the travel agency explain itself.

Cxcccccc

Why should the travel agency explain itself
    Lisa Cummins in one of her responses to the issue all but chastise bajans for being critical of the event
    Placing blame on those asking questions about the event as those wanting to step in the way of bringing Barbados economy back to life
    Hinting jobs and livelihoods were centred around marketing strategies which engaged the tourism industry

23. Lisa Cummins words

“So it is unfortunate that some people who for their own purpose, would then take videos of events which occurred before COVID and present them for circulation to inflame the passions of Barbadians, as if events the entire world over have not had to change since COVID. We no longer do events the way that we did before COVID.

“But I want to say something as a Barbadian first and as a tourism official as well. I need to be very clear on this because it has troubled me in a lot of the ongoing commentary on anything tourism.

“There are thousands of workers and businesses, large and small, in our sector who have stepped forward to be vaccinated. Why have they done that? They have done that so they can get back to work and support their families. These are people that range from taxi operators in the Port to shop vendors in the airport as well. Every corner of Barbados has people who depend on the tourism industry and they’re anxious to get back to work safely. They’re the people that we get up for and we do this for every single day.

“So, for me, this isn’t about any event. It is about the continued attempts by some, not all, just by some, to stir up a false debate, trying to pit tourism and visitors against locals. That is not who we are. And I take strong objection to the views of some with their own agenda that suggest by their position and their stance that tourism workers and people who depend on the tourism sector, which remains our largest revenue earner, should not be able to eat or feed their families or send their children back to school until COVID is extinct from the Earth.

“I feel as though we have to stand up for these people. Barbados is safe and open for business, for tourism, as long as our officials do exactly what they do every day – guide potential visitors on how to observe and to have our protocols enforced.” (PR

24. What Lisa Cummins said is what we know and that is visitors have to observe local COVID 19 directive. What is being promoted on Haywire website conflicts.

https://fb.watch/65GTpRyP_F/

25. “Why do they get to hav\ events and we can’t at all. It’s not even a thought now. It’s unfair af. It stinks of Two Barbadoses all over again. To make it worse it seems this event is sanctioned by the BTMI. I think the govt needs to explain this one cause it not adding up. If the tourists get to hold them events I wanna know the timeline for when we gonna be outside. I wanna know what events gonna be happening for Crop Over. I wanna know all I ain’t fighting nobody weekend. I just want what’s fair to me as a Bajan living on this island.”

One island, two sets of rules
    One island, citizens come second

26. The government with its DPA has allowed another issue to blowup by not getting ahead of it. Just come out and say what is the position with the haywire event. The MoT is aware. The MoC is denying he had talks. The MoH is saying he have no knowledge.

For crissakes!

27. Donna
    I said no such thing; but I find the clairvoyantes funny. Not to mention the ones that suported the pastor and his church in the north.

28. What Lisa did not say is that govt officials have no knowledge of the event an event planned since Feb
    However leave it to u to find another excuse of govt incompetence driven by the lack of transparency leading to
    Flaws and mishaps being shoved down the throats of the people which people ought to accept
    Not good

29. If the blogmaster were to read between the lines base on the Lisa Cummins video, this event will take place in a bubble. Similar to how Celebrity cruise ship guests were handled on Monday. Why should we have to guess?

30. You want to talk about no-brainer
    “What Lisa Cummins said is what we know and that is visitors have to observe local COVID 19 directive”.
    Would you expect her to say something different?

31. Allow me to return to just commenting on comments.
    “GO PLACIDLY amid the noise and the haste, and remember what peace there may be in silence. As far as possible, without surrender, be on good terms with all persons.”

32. Little Barbados, big fetes.

From the time I read Lisa Cummings statement I did in depth research using Google and You Tube.

Conclusion. Endless dancing drinking and eating. Social distancing 6 to 12 inches apart.

33. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Another pending COVID SURGE…am sure they already chose the Black people to blame it on, hence the secrecy……

so which big shipment of cocaine came in for the event..

34. So David, it takes place in a bubble. Explain that to me. They will not be having contact with any locals whatsoever?

Steupse man, steupse!

As for the tourism workers, the local entertainers etc. are workers too.

I understand that this is a difficult situation but visitors cannot be permitted to do what we cannot do in out own country.

35. @Donna

We await the protocol assigned to the event by government.

The key is for locals to observe the COVID health protocol in an environment where there is still community spread.

36. Minister of Culture John King and Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of the National Cultural Foundation (NCF) Carol Roberts-Reifer have been called upon to explain why the local entertainment industry has not received any response to proposals submitted to resume events in the island.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/06/13/entertainers-say-theyre-in-the-dark-about-resumption-of-local-events/

37. Moral Policing by Public and/or Government is a waste of space and time.

People may think that in small countries like Barbados their views matter are important and listened to, but are deluded.

In larger countries you know your views are just your own opinion and you cannot influence Government voicing them.

If anything political parties will steal them for their own purpose or if deemed a tad too radical will implement policy to counter it.

The whole war against “wokeness” was identified as a threat by right wing when it was deemed “black slang” which youths adopted, when it was really just progressive thinking being voiced.

Don’t waste your time getting angry on internet.

38. my kind a event when I was single or between wives lol.

39. These days ah fraid to post anything related to promotions, last time i posted about showcasing creatives….the frauds had no clue what i was talking about, rush and hurried to direct people to some page to showcase designers and next thing ya know people ended up on a porn site because the LYING FOOLS did not realize that .co which no one is familiar with is a COLOMBIAN domain extension…

people are still asking why they did not register a .bb domain name…lawd…

same liars claimed that they were planning it for 2 years but have no website….🤣😂😍😜

when ya clueless to what people are talking about STAY IN YA LANE…..and wait and see the outcome.

at least now that they got EXPOSED AGAIN for hiding information, they can’t blame Black people for any Covid surge, now that their dirty secret is out.

40. This govt used social platforms effectively to ran a strong campagain handing them 30-0 victory
    Now the cards have been turned having a band of social media public journalist exposing govt lies half-truths and conceptions on matters which are being handed by backdoor methods instead of full fledged transparency and Accountability
    This new issue ran along the same tracks as all other issues that have caught govt looking like clueless headless chickens
    Minister of culture says he knows nothing
    Mia keeps a tone deaf silence
    Hard to forget how she decried Stuart silence on issues she deemed lacking of transparency

41. Disgusting Lies & Propaganda TV Avatar
    Disgusting Lies & Propaganda TV

@DavidBU Not withstanding the big question why and under what protocols this Haywire event would be held and advertised months ago, If gov’t have been accepting proposals to hold crop over events, the inference is that govt may be looking how to modify the protocols in subsequent releases of the EMD. They probably would be using this Haywire as a “test event”.

The way I see it the next “problem” to tackle is how sporting and leisure activities can be held in a COVID-19 environment. Economic activity has all but fully relaxed in Barbados. Leisure events can’t be banned indefinitely. The expectation is that when tourism restarts in the second half of the year it would help to have such events allowed as part of the attraction. It will also help those who organize to and participate in such events to earn a living.

From what I’m watching from the UEFA Euro 2020 football competition even England has allowed limited attendance into stadiums. Other countries have started allowing in person attendance into sports stadiums months ago. The general stance is that the world is seeing a slow but discernable decline in the pandemic (with some hotspots) just 6 months after vaccines have been made available.
    Personally, even though we have have several days of 0 cases I cant see how Crop Over (for example) can be held this July – August. but the stats are very encouraging to hold it as as late as November, if at all, this year.

42. The qualification to enter stadia is to be fully vaccinated?

43. 🎵Oh-oh here he comes!

He’s a red rooster.🎶

If the Government is using it for a test… why have they not said so?????

STEUPSE!

44. Read ePaper
    Home / Entertainment / Entertainers say they’re in the dark about resumption of local events

Entertainers say they’re in the dark about resumption of local events – by Barbados Today June 13, 2021
    Minister of Culture John King and Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of the National Cultural Foundation (NCF) Carol Roberts-Reifer have been called upon to explain why the local entertainment industry has not received any response to proposals submitted to resume events in the island.

The call came at a virtual meeting on Thursday night, hosted by the Entertainers Association of Barbados (EAB) and the Barbados Association of Event Professionals, when stakeholders were up in arms about authorities allowing a four-day event being marketed to tourists by international company Haywire Event, while events for locals were still restricted under the COVID-19 protocols.

Contributing to the robust discussion, Jeremy Nicholls, bandleader of party band Xhosa Barbados, said although local associations and representatives for promoters have submitted, to the NCF, numerous suggestions on how events could be executed in a safe and responsible manner, there has been no response or acknowledgment.

“So, when all of these associations go out there submitting concept notes to the NCF to put together a package to submit to Parliament, but we don’t even get the respect to hear or see some version of what was completed, if it was submitted, or given some type of timeline for when it can be considered, but we have to sit here and hear that somebody else is capitalizing on something that we could have done?

“I am seeing in the paper that the Minister said he did not know anything about it; that is not good enough. What do you mean you do not know anything about it? That is not okay,” he said.

Nicholls added: “Really and truly, both the CEO of the NCF and the Minister of Culture really owe this industry some kind of explanation, considering we have not worked or done anything for so long. We have boats parked at the side of the dock, we have equipment in bonds paying storage fees, we all have lives, and you have somebody that can turn around and sell an event in Barbados.”

EAB president Rudy Maloney reiterated that local promoters have long submitted numerous protocol frameworks to Government and the NCF, as to how the industry planned to keep patrons and staff safe on the resumption of event life on the island.

However, he said, no meaningful response has yet been received.

“We believe the protocols we have sent forward to Government and the NCF, for Government and [the Ministry of Health] to look over are solid protocols. I believe that we should be getting a response; I mean that is the respect. We should be getting a response based on the protocols we submitted. We have not received anything,” Maloney said.

Nicholls further contended that, given the unfortunate situation over the last year when the entertainment industry was used as a “scapegoat” for several COVID-19 outbreaks, the industry needed representation in the Social Partnership.

“The entertainment industry would like a seat at the table when it comes to the Social Partnership; we have been asking for it. I am concerned that the representation that we have at that level, where policies and discussions are being done in this country, does not accurately represent what we do. We need a seat at the table when it comes to the Social Partnership,” the Xhosa bandleader said.

The Haywire event, which appears to have been planned for July 2-6, has been marketed to tourists as one that will include “parties”, “champagne showers”, “beautiful people” and “exhilarating

45. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

They rushed out to distract with some crap about thugs holding the island hostage, the only thugs holding the island hostage are the MINORITY THUGS LIKE sandy lane now ILLEGALLY CUTTING EMPLOYEES SALARIES WITHOUT THEIR CONSENT;…trying to DRIVE THE PEOPLE INTO SLAVERY…

and all the finger pointing and fake blaming on the people in the depressed areas that yall set up for over 40 YEARS with guns drugs and crimes….will NOT CHANGE THAT…

46. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Go after the THUGS at sandy lane and the other dirty minority employers trying to reestablish SLAVERY…

47. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Why don’t Mia and the attorney general come out publicly and tell sandy lane and the other thieves that what they are doing to the employees IS ILLEGAL and THUGGERY…

48. I wonder if those people who were brought in after “no suitable applications having been received” have had their salaries slashed.

49. Al Sharpton just highlighted on his show that climate change will affect us in the Caribbean and other SIDs more than white countries in Europe etc.

The black people of the world are joining forces.

50. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Be that as it many, sandy lane is never going to get away this, they will NOT REINSTITUTE SLAVERY in my grandchildren’s face, they will become 10 star famous…

i take it personally as insulting, degrading, disrespectful and taking their cocaine addled selves to a whole new level, but it is NOT GOING TO BE at the expense of my grandchildren being thus TRAUMITIZED., THEY WILL HAVE TO LEAVE THE ISLAND.