The Four Seasons Project – Story of Failure continues to be an example of how the public continues is short changed by public officials elected and recruited to serve us. The inability of taxpayers to solicit answers to legitimate questions regarding the quality of decisions made by successive governments is an embarrassment to the type of democracy we should be aspire. This has to be a significant contributing factor to the social dysfunction we have been reminded by the Trojan Riddims video affair – see How De Yutes Get So?. Officialdom expresses righteous indignation at a group of artistes for violating public morals of the country, however, successive governments and public servants have been unable to defend malfeasance, financial indiscipline highlighted in years of Auditor General (AG) reports. It is surprising local calypsonians hasvenever penned a title ‘politicians laughing at we’. The Paradise 88, Four Seasons, Clearwater Bay issue suggest there is opportunity for another title, ‘public servants also laughing at we’.

Some took umbrage to the call by BU that some public servants should be fired for unresolved issues highlighted in years of AG reporting- see 2020 Auditor General Report – Time to Fire Senior Public Servants. Yesterday AG Leigh Trotman was quoted in the press calling for tougher legislation to force public servants to comply with requests for information to complete audits. A decade of AG reports and not one person handed over to the justice system for processing. Not a single public servant sacked. As we prepare to convert to a Republic meant to solidify people power, it begs the question – why are senior public servants betraying the trust of the PEOPLE?

The Four Seasons matter is a classic case of the cloak of secrecy zealously guarded by politicians AND public servants. How on earth can a government incorporate Clearwater Bay Limited, appoint directors who are public servants with a fiduciary responsibility to citizens of Barbados, yet, feel comfortable guarding the interest of politicians and the money class? These public servants must be held accountable.

Although the AG is constrained to audit public sector business, it should not be forgotten the other signature on public agreements is often times a private sector player. The company Clearwater Bay Ltd had oversight over the transaction which led to the following comment by the AG:-

The treatment of the investment in Clearwater Bay needs to be further explained. The investment in this government-owned company was recorded at a value of $124 million investment in prior years. It represented an investment by Clearwater in the Four Seasons Hotel project. The value of this investment remained unchanged on the books of government for several years even though the property on which the investment was based was significantly impaired.

Leigh Trotman, Auditor General

The part of the AG’s comment (highlighted) taxpayers should be concerned about is that public servants who sat on the Board of Clearwater Bay as directors have been complicit in the ‘cover-up’. Many, if not all of the directors are considered respectable citizens of Barbados and competent public servants. The meetings of Clearwater are recorded in board books and should be available to the public. Unfortunately the public does not have the avenue of Freedom of Information legislation to activate an important check and balance in our system of government, this should not be necessary if the public servants serving as directors of Clearwater protected the public’s interest they are ethically required to do.

It is never too late to right a wrong Directors.

William Decoursey Layne

Adrian Maurice King

Louis St. Elmo Wooddroff

Margaret E Sivers

Sonia Carol-Ann Foster

Junita Thorington-Powlett

Nancy L Headley

Enter Clearwater to see Clearwater directors listed in the ICIJ – Offshore Leaks Database.

Related Documents:

1. Paradise 88 and Clearwater Sold to PHARLICIPLE INC
  2. Request for Offers to Purchase and Develop ‘Paradise Property’

174 responses to “Four Seasons Project: Public Servants Must Serve Taxpayers NOT Politicians”

1. NorthernObserverAugust 14, 2021 1:39 PM

Tell muh, causin I en got it yet. Who are are the ‘two parties’, principal party and first party you refer to?
    Imagine the GoB could lend out over $100 million of de peeples munny, and get stiff for all of it? Who valued the asset prior to the guarantee to ensure its value covered the guaranteed amount of loans

Xxxxxx
    Them questions asked Straughn
    He the one with all the info
    Yuh get it

2. @NO

The same approach was used by the then government, issue 600 million in bonds with underlying assets totaling 60 million. You simply cannot make this rh up.

3. Good luck
    Wunna not big shots llike Four Seasons and others who for years suck off govt nipples wunna just poor working class

ClassifiedsRead ePaper
    Home / Top Featured Article / NUPW calls for cave workers to be paid outstanding pensions

NUPW calls for cave workers to be paid outstanding pensions – by Randy Bennett August 14, 2021
    Nearly a year after being made redundant, more than two dozen former employees of Harrison’s Cave are yet to receive their pensions and gratuities, prompting the National Union of Public Workers to call for urgent resolution.

Two months ago, Minister of Energy, Small Business and Entrepreneurship, Kerrie Symmonds told Parliament that the rebranded Caves of Barbados Limited had paid out over $3 million in benefits to the cave’s severed workers.

Symmonds said close to $2.5 million of that total was severance payments.

Acting General Secretary of the National Union of Public Workers (NUPW) Wayne Walrond Friday said the ex-workers are at their wits’ end and out of pocket. He called for the situation to be rectified urgently.

While conceding that those former National Conservation Commission (NCC) workers would have received their severance, he said they were still waiting for their pensions 11 months after being laid off as part of the restructuring exercise at Harrison’s Cave.

Walrond said Harrison’s Cave was run by the NCC before Government awarded Jamaican company Chukka Caribbean Adventures a 25-year lease to manage its operations last year.

Barbados today

4. As usual shift when found out. Your modus operandi is known.

5. […] NorthernObserver (call for transparency by BU commenter in the Paradise/Clearwater Bay matter) […]

6. NorthernObserver Avatar

The only RH u got was your conclusion the govt ‘ fulfilled it’s obligation’ whatever the sh!!te that means.
    They sold out the taxpayers!!!
    Invest in Buhbaydus, no down side, for the govt will cover any losses ONCE u agree to pay our lawyers and consultants as directed in fx offshore, using funds we will provide. And this isn’t a B or D thing, the whole RH lot of them in bed together. But the natives are docile and obedient (this is for WW&C) and so you rip them off and they will remain calm.

7. NorthernObserver Avatar

And if some jobby is heading towards the fan…play the race card, talk about how govt is supporting the white business elite, and suddenly all facts get lost in the more powerful emotion of massa. We can’t even remember the topic formerly being discussed.

8. “Here goes the tell tale of the Blame game. At this point who is managing the economy should be asked.”

It’s obviously clear your main intention is to BLAME the current BLP administration for the previous DLP administration facilitating the ‘shafting’ of Barbadian taxpayers, by creating Clearwater Company and ill-advisedly guaranteeing a $124M loan for the Four Seasons project.

And, you’re ‘talking’ about “blame game?”

Hypocrite!!!!

I’ve always held the view that you’re an idiot. And, based on the evidence, there isn’t anything anyone could say that would convince me otherwise. You’ve essentially demonstrated your ignorance for all to read.

9. Artax

I’ve always held the view that you’re an idiot. And, based on the evidence, there isn’t anything anyone could say that would convince me otherwise. You’ve essentially demonstrated your ignorance for all to read.

Xxccccccccc

It takes a idiot to know a idiot
    For what it is worth I never place blame on any govt
    I said present govt fulfilled it’s obligation in repaying the loan
    My beef lays with govt not pursuing a legal avenue to demand repayment from the first party involved in the agreement

10. NorthernObserver Avatar

How do you know it was “present government” who repaid the money as guarantor? Surely that occurred under a former administration.
    And here you go with “first party” again. They were a few companies involved.
    What beef? The GoB had no business guaranteeing any monies without the necessary collateral. Did you note any significant progress in the re-start? The money was used to pay off existing debts, already accumulated prior to the guarantee. They was no restart of any consequence.
    Meanwhile you cry daily about the working person being skinned, while it was your team who orchestrated this deal to the benefit of all the debtors, and left the working class holding the bag. Shame.
    No wonder Mia and Sinkyuh are “good friends”.

11. Do not forget the former Exec Chairman encrusted by the late David Thompson who continues to benefit from the public trough Mercedes and all.

12. NO

Meanwhile you cry daily about the working person being skinned, while it was your team who orchestrated this deal to the benefit of all the debtors, and left the working class holding the bag. Shame.
    No wonder Mia and Sinkyuh are “good friends

Xxxxxxxx

Funny enough how individually I am always singled as one playing the blame game although on this issue as presently presented and explained by Straughan I gave the benefit of doubt to present govt for fulfilling an obligation burden by a loan
    Now here u come with an exposed view build on a political assumption that past govt had no right of guareenting the loan
    My question to you what factual evidence can you provide to show the validity of such a strong opinion

13. NorthernObserver Avatar

Factual evidence?
    The AudG report that the monies re CBL had been sitting on the books for SEVERAL years.
    It is NO ASSUMPTION…political or otherwise…CBL was incorporated by a former administration of GoB to “restart the project”. The FACT, according to the AudG Report is it cost taxpayers $124M. The guarantor (taxpayer of Bdos) did NOT HAVE the required collateral OR there would be NO COST to the taxpayer.
    All the Barbadian taxpayers did was BAIL OUT all the big businesses and foreign investors and local professionals who had lost (were owed) money, UNTIL, the taxpayers gave those monies owed back to them.
    Shame. Shame. Shame.
    Why did the local taxpayers owe anything…what did they do to cause the losses?

14. The former government decided to bail a private project that went south?

15. Clarification on Four Seasons

Minister in the Ministry of Finance Ryan Straughn has said that contrary to the headline on the Back Page of yesterday’s Saturday Sun, Four Seasons Back On Market, Government was still in talks with a United States-based entity, which began in 2019, to have a large hotel built on the Paradise beachfront property.
    “We have always operated in good faith discussions with the investors and, therefore, there is no truth to us putting Four Seasons back on the market,” he said yesterday in a call to clarify the matter.
    (BW)

16. “I said present govt fulfilled it’s obligation in repaying the loan. My beef lays with govt not pursuing a legal avenue to demand repayment from the first party involved in the agreement.”

Hmmmmmm……….

To use your question, “My question to you what factual evidence can you provide to show the validity of such a strong opinion?”

The problem with you is, you DON’T THINK, READ or RESEARCH, always preferring instead to look for ‘the easy way out’ when criticizing ‘government,’ either by copy and pasting to BU, unsubstantiated information from people’s Facebook pages, without bothering to verify its accuracy or credibility of its source…………

………….. ‘picking bits and pieces’ from other people’s opinions as a basis of constructing your own contributions………… or fabricating, ‘making up things’ as you go.

Your comments on this Four Seasons issue are among several examples.

In 2011, Paradise Beach Ltd. secured an 18 month, US$60M (BD$120,000,000) loan from ANSA Merchant Bank, at an interest rate of 6.75%, for the purpose of ‘restarting’ construction of Four Seasons Resort.

The former DLP administration agreed to guarantee the loan in return for a 20% stake in the project.

For further information on the loan, read the ‘Clearwater Bay Limited (Guarantee of Loan) Bill, 2011.’

Paradise Beach Ltd. defaulted on the loan and the former DLP administration ‘trading as government,’ as guarantor, had to repay the outstanding amount and interest in the amount of $124,329,766.

On Wednesday, January 25, 2012, Avinash Persaud allegedly wrote, “If the guarantee is called by ANSA McAl, all lands and assets of Paradise Beach Limited will then transfer to the Government. The lands were independently valued recently at $200m.”

It’s about time you stop spreading misinformation in this forum.

17. All the screaming and hollering does not erase the fact that present govt pursue an easy way out instead of a legal avenue to.pursue the 124million
    I gave govt benefit of doubt however with more revelations by those pursuing facts
    Most of interest reveals that present govt did not fulfill a rightful obligation firstly one which should have been founded on accountability bearing the full brunt of the law on those who took advantage of past govt generosity to disadvantage the taxpayers
    On that much said I find fault with present govt given the footsoldiers side of the story

18. How do you suggest the government have pursued the 120 million if the guarantee to Ansa had to be honoured?

#askingforafriend

19. DavidAugust 15, 2021 10:15 AM

How do you suggest the government have pursued the 120 million if the guarantee to Ansa had to be honoured?

The loan was honored and correctly and wisely so done
    However the principle party could have been pursued
    There are laws on the books stating that debt owed can be collected through legal process
    What I find mostly disturbing in Barbados that when big business refuse to pay debt whether be taxes or loans govt closes the books in easy manner
    Find it hard to understand why govt never use the justice system for final resolution
    After all it is bold face theft of govt funds

20. Who should have been pursued? Who is the principal party?

21. Time and time again one read the Auditor general report of guaranteed loans by govt where the principle parties involved reneges and govt writes off or repay the loans and govt does nothing to recoup the money
    Millions went out the treasury without any govt using legal force which would send messages to business thinking of pulling off shut a sister heist
    Why it seems as if some intellectuals here belive that govt cannot do any thing by legal resolution
    Bet if the same parties tried such game plan in the USA there would not see the light of day unless they repay the money owed to govt
    But not Barbados govt throws hand in the air writes off debt and that is the end of the story
    Can govt afford to be that generous time and time again

22. DavidAugust 15, 2021 10:49 AM

Who should have been pursued? Who is the principal party?

Xxx.

Ask Ryan Straughan

23. Cuhdear govts for bigbusiness only having no sympathy for small business
    Cuhbdear

24. The others nailed it, on this issue you prefer to hinge an argument on your political partisan view.

25. DavidAugust 15, 2021 11:23 AM

The others nailed it, on this issue you prefer to hinge an argument on your political partisan view.

Xxxxx

Well good
    I did give present govt benefit of doubt
    However that was clearly overlooked by one Artax who proceeded to bring facts
    Which on so doing he opened up to me certain facts giving me reason to point way of how govt policies protect businesses even when these businesses do wrong
    Hoping that next govt would not be so generous with the treasury purse
    Two many wrongs and no right ways in pursuit of good governance

26. I have been reading this ‘all seasons, all parties’ blog.
    The truth is that I do not understand it fully, but it seem like a good way to transfer the people’s money to private and politicians pockets. Politicians? the possibility of ‘kickbacks/passing money under the counter’ cannot be ruled out.

27. So how come the highway Phase one project on the that started in November 2020 finished in less than a year and the project for the vendors that started in 2018 still not finished
    If memory serves correct there was COVID in 2020 an excuse which has been used by govt and footsoldiers as reason why the Fairchild Street project to house vendors is not finished
    But then again who cares about vendors problems and concerns

28. “……..and the project for the vendors that started in 2018 still not finished……”

Hmmmmm…………

“My question to you what factual evidence can you provide to show the validity of such a strong opinion?”

In other words, please provide BU with any credible, official documents that would substantiate your claim?

29. ArtaxAugust 15, 2021 3:01 PM

“……..and the project for the vendors that started in 2018 still not finished……”

Hmmmmm…………

“My question to you what factual evidence can you provide to show the validity of such a strong opinion?”

In other words, please provide BU with any credible, official documents that would substantiate your claim?
    Xxxxxccc

The proof is lies in what is not being shown with the Fairchild street project

Case and point

The PR machine which has been unfolded giving evidence to the completion of the Highway project
    Same is not being shown or unfolded with the stalled Fairchild street 3 year project or any evidence shown to say differently as to completion

30. “The proof is lies in what is not being shown with the Fairchild street project.”

“What is not being shown with the Fairchild street project,” is proof it began in 2018?

RUBBISH!!!!!

You’re purposely sidestepping the issue.

There has to be a source, for example, official documents, media reports or an official statement from the Minister or authorised personnel in the Ministry that provided you with the basis to conclude the Fairchild Street market project began in 2018.

If you cannot provide BU with proof, then it clearly indicates you’ve fabricated the claim.

All you have to do is provide BU with one of those sources to substantiate the project began in 2018.

It’s that simple

31. “Who should have been pursued? Who is the principal party?”

Two very important questions angela cox purposely overlooked…………… and clumsily sidestepped in the process.

As NorthernObserver previously indicated, “the AudG reported that the monies re CBL had been sitting on the books for SEVERAL years.”

Assuming “the principle party could have been actually pursued,” what PREVENTED the ​PREVIOUS administration from doing so?

It’s obvious angela cox HAS NOT READ ANY INFORMATION relative to this issue, including the Audit General’s reports………..

…………. and has reduced herself to ‘scraping the bottom of the barrel’ looking for reasons to blame the current administration for the previous administration’s blunders.

32. ArtaxAugust 15, 2021 3:56 PM

“The proof is lies in what is not being shown with the Fairchild street project.”

“What is not being shown with the Fairchild street project,” is proof it began in 2018?

RUBBISH!!!!!

You’re purposely sidestepping the issue.
    Xxxccc
    Steupse

33. angela cox August 15, 2021 4:51 PM #: “Steupse……….”

https://tenor.com/view/laughing-smiley-emoji-rolling-on-the-floor-laughing-gif-14617892

34. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Artax
    There is nobody to pursue.
    The contract was if you default, the GoB guarantees the loans AND gets ownership of the property.
    Now whether the GoB sold some or all of what is was to get upon default (Pharliciple) remains unknown.
    So I return to my opening comment.
    Was any money ever repaid, or was this an intentional default (bail out) from the start?
    So I disagree with JohnA on another thread, Bdos is an excellent investment choice. Just ensure you know WHO to pay, and like magic, once you share, the GoB will give you the Fx to cover any debts.
    The challenge as David pointed out, is despite the long talk from Persaud et Al, the value placed was well in excess of reality, a trick that administration was well known for doing.
    So I return

35. NorthernObserver August 15, 2021 8:00 PM #: “The contract was if you default, the GoB guarantees the loans AND gets ownership of the property.”

You are correct.

Perhaps you should read the ‘Clearwater Bay Limited (Guarantee of Loan) Act, 2011.’

Obviously, there isn’t anyone to pursue. But, apparently angela cox seems to be confident there is. Hence, the reason why I ‘asked’ her ‘who.’

However, I have doubts ‘government’ would establish a company with at least $125M on its bank account, in anticipation of Paradise Beach Limited defaulting on the loan.

According to the ‘Clearwater Bay Limited (Guarantee of Loan) Act, 2011’: “Clearwater Bay Limited” means the company incorporated under the Companies Act under the name “Clearwater Bay Limited,” and wholly owned and controlled by the Government for USE as a SPECIAL PURPOSE VEHICLE to FACILITATE the recommencement of the Four Seasons Development project.”

So, perhaps the $124M recorded on Clearwater’s ‘books’ as an ‘accounting formality,’ where it remained for several years, before being subsequently transferred to probably an ‘irrecoverable debt account’ to remove it from the balance sheet.

36. Took three years to complete thirty three out of forty four stalls
    Govt said COVID delayed the projects
    Yet at present the stalls remained unoccupied
    Meanwhile a 15 million dollar highway project takes only one year to complete even with COVID in the midst

https://fb.watch/7pX8m8734Q/

37. You continue with your lies although several commenters have corrected you. This says a lot about you. It does nothing to breathing credibility into what you do on the blog.

38. what lies

39. This matter has been exhaustively prosecuted elsewhere on the blog. Have the last word.

40. What lies
    Is it a lie that the highway project has been completed in a year even with COVID on the island
    Is it a lie that the three year ongoing Fairchild street market is not concluded having only thirty seven stalls said to be finished
    Is it a lie stalls are not occupied
    Every time some one points out govt flaws u David flys off the fence wild a wild geese cackling lies lies

41. Here’s another story confirming we are being lead by donkeys.
    https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/08/15/btspeakingout-how-are-we-still-getting-the-basics-wrong/

42. NorthernObserver Avatar

@TLSN
    That is called ID or Implementation Defecit.

Possibly you should look at the two contracts and to whom they were awarded to gauge the speed of completion.

43. @NO

You had defecate in thoughts?

44. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Artax
    You know a lot more of accounting procedures than I.
    However, based on the information laid before the House, they were SEVERAL tranches of loans for varying amounts and reasons.
    My question is the servicing pattern experienced on all. For at the end of the day the amount in total bore a striking similarity to the total of all tranches. If none were ever serviced, to me, it was an intentional bail out?
    After all they were to pay existing debts, this was stated in the document laid before the house. So you clear the debt, to allow a restart. Problem is, the project never restarted to any meaningful degree.

45. NorthernObserver Avatar

Lol…not at all. Public bodies are infamous for such things. In Canada we have a Federal payroll system, aptly called Phoenix, which despite costing billions has never worked to it’s design intent. Many employees are still over or under remunerated for long periods.

46. @N
    You and Artax speak a language that is different from my own..
    tranche, irrecoverable debt account ….

Here I am a man of three letter and four letter words trying to cope. Are the words sham and scam applicable to this situation. Break it down so that the guys who went I school long but not often an understand.

Thanks for any help.

47. David August 16, 2021 5:50 AM #: “You continue with your lies although several commenters have corrected you. This says a lot about you. It does nothing to breathing credibility into what you do on the blog.”

What else do you expect from a NOTORIOUS LIAR, but blatant misrepresentation of the truth?

I’m sure you recall angela cox’s ORIGINAL ARGUMENTS were:

“angela cox June 15, 2021 12:57 PM #: 2 million dollars spent on 2×4 stalls in two years and not one completed. No one. Tax payers money at work.”

“angela cox June 16, 2021 4:15 AM #: April 18 2021…. 3.8million dollars. Long talk. Nuff promises and excuses. Not one stall completed.”

Arguments based on a Youtube video she copied and pasted from some idiot’s Facebook page to BU, in which the information he presented therein, was subsequently proven to be inaccurate. Yet, she continued with her dishonesty.

It is interesting to note that, according to her, “the citizen reporter/journalist’s” video was made on Monday, June 14, 2021.

“angela cox June 16, 2021 6:20 AM #: Theo don’t get distracted. The citizen reporter assured me his video was done on Monday.”

“angela cox June 16, 2021 8:14 AM #: A video done on Monday, showing that over 2 million in two years spent on the Fairchild street project and not one stall has been complete doors missing no electricity no running water. Nada just skeleton stalls to stare at.”

Using the SAME project construction TIME LINE, she has NOW CHANGED her ARGUMENT from “not one completed in 2 years” TO, “Took three years to complete thirty three out of forty four stalls.”

“angela cox August 16, 2021 6:02 AM #: “Is it a lie that the three year ongoing Fairchild street market is not concluded having only thirty seven stalls said to be finished.”

And, posted a September 29, 2020 Nation News video of Indar Weir’s previous day’s visit to the site, perhaps as proof “33 (or 37)” stalls were completed.

She is essentially ADMITTING the information the guy presented in his Monday, June 14, 2021 video is INACCURATE…….

……… information she spent two (2) days on the Haywire blog DEFENDING as TRUTH.

Have patience and wait……… angela cox will always eventually expose her tail.

When caught out in her lies, she will immediately move on to ‘exploit’ another topic with more lies.