The recent revision of the Covid 19 directives saw the country receiving a cruise ship on Monday and auto mart convenience stores along with supermarkets are expected to reopen on Sundays. The entertainment group hard hit by Covid 19 directives has started a strong lobby to be able to restart some level of event promotions. The Haywire Weekend being promoted by a foreign travel travel company on the weekend of 2 July to July 6 in Barbados has given impetus to the entertainer’s lobby.

It is no secret the local economy is service based and significantly dependent on tourism. Raging Covid 19 pandemic or not, at some point- like all countries across the globe- we have to find a way to manage the risk of having to live with Covid 19. The global strategy of choice to mitigate against the rate of Covid 19 infection is to achieve ‘herd immunity’, a situation where about 70% of the population are vaccinated. There are no guarantees as the Seychelles experience has revealed. Although 60% of that country is vaccinated it has been experiencing a rise in Covid 19 infections. Seychelles is also dependent on tourism.

Uneasy lies the head that wears the crown.

Reopening the country to increase economic activity is fraught with risk. Daily we observe a minority of persons in the country who carelessly or deliberately violate public health protocols established to curb the spread of the virus. With the virus continuing to mutate to more virulent forms there is a high level of responsibility required by citizens and government to make reopening the country work to locals and visitors. We have made our beds by morphing to a service based economy and have no choice but to lie in it. 

We have two significant challenges ahead of us. Ensuring the screening process at ports of entry is fit for purpose and the demand by visitors calling for workers in the hospitality sector to be fully vaccinated. There is also the scenario where vaccinated employees may employers to work in a 100% vaccinated workplace. Already a weakness in the travel protocol has been identified – unvaccinated children under 18 entering Barbados with fully vaccinated parents being allowed to adhere to fully vaccinated guidelines. And there is the challenge of employers ‘forcing’ employees to be vaccinated. 

Citizens have rights, employers have rights and there is the dictum that limits the free choice of individuals when it conflicts with the rights of the collective. Some hard decisions will have to be made and the blogmaster is fearful given the unruly mindset prevailing in the country, we do not possess the maturity to navigate this stage of the Covid 19 journey with minimum fallout. In other words the loud voice of political talking heads and egotistical social commentators will grab the opportunity to choke traditional and social media newsfeeds to push narrow interest narratives. The current debate about our social values and public morals is an example.

Those employees who prefer to exercise a personal right not to be vaccinated should be paid severance. Unvaccinated children travelling with fully vaccinated parents should have to observe the quarantine period stipulated for the unvaccinated. In the unprecedented situation we find ourselves these are hard decisions we will have to make.

108 responses to “Hard Times, Hard Decisions”

1. Is it appropriate to modify the name of the dreaded disease Covid-19 to Covid-19(84), as in my post above? I report; you decide.

Techno-Tyranny: How The US National Security State Is Using Coronavirus To Fulfill An Orwellian Vision

Last year, a government commission called for the US to adopt an AI-driven mass surveillance system far beyond that used in any other country in order to ensure American hegemony in artificial intelligence. Now, many of the “obstacles” they had cited as preventing its implementation are rapidly being removed under the guise of combating the coronavirus crisis.

BY WHITNEY WEBB MAY 4, 2020

Also benefiting from the coronavirus crisis is the concept of “smart cities,” with Forbes recently writing that “Smart cities can help us combat the coronavirus pandemic.” That article states that “Governments and local authorities are using smart city technology, sensors and data to trace the contacts of people infected with the coronavirus. At the same time, smart cities are also helping in efforts to determine whether social distancing rules are being followed.”

That article in Forbes also contains the following passage:

“…[T]he use of masses of connected sensors makes it clear that the coronavirus pandemic is–intentionally or not–being used as a testbed for new surveillance technologies that may threaten privacy and civil liberties. So aside from being a global health crisis, the coronavirus has effectively become an experiment in how to monitor and control people at scale.”

https://unlimitedhangout.com/2020/05/reports/techno-tyranny-how-the-us-national-security-state-is-using-coronavirus-to-fulfill-an-orwellian-vision/

2. Steupse!

3. Congratulations to our government headed by our Supreme Leader Mia Mottley! No new cases of Wuhan Snuff. Only 18 cases left in isolation Very good.

So we can soon convert the isolation wards into internment camps for opposition doctors and others who dispute the efficacy of the vaccine doses administered by our government.

4. @ peterlawrencethompson June 11, 2021 7:20 AM

COVID19 is statistically fatal for people under 70 only if they are obese. When people are too fat, they are so by choice, because they are committed to gluttony.

It is not the state’s job to hold an entire society hostage for the fact that a certain part of the population cannot control its gluttony. It would be far more economical if we subjected the overly fat part of society to a compulsory diet of hard work, exercise and food deprivation.

5. A cruise liner having two Covid patients on board recently docked on Barbados shores
    Not a fellow detected that on board were two Covid infected people until the ship sailed out of Barbados

6. Baje what a stupid stupid comment…..you think I want to jump behind the bar and make my own drinks.

7. Ivor Cummins:
    “The title says it all. So many people know that what is occurring with lockdowns and masks makes no sense whatsoever – but cannot understand WHY the whole world has gone mad in unison. Here in this short version of a superb documentary, is a big part of the reason.”

Best Geopolitical Documentary Ever to Explain the Why? of Coronavirus (30min)
    odysee(DOT)com/@IvorCummins:f/Best-Geopolitical-Documentary-Ever—Explains-Near-Everything-720:9

The above link is to an abbreviated 30min version of the longer 52min documentary THENEWNORMAL which can be viewed here: https://happen.network/

THENEWNORMAL
    It’s January 2021, the world is in lockdown and our economy is on the brink of collapse.

Will the new vaccine enable our lives to return back to normal or does it mark a pivotal point in the evolution of humanity (one that is driven by artificial intelligence, will reimagine capitalism and be governed by extreme tyrannical laws that are dictated by global elites)?

The New Normal, a factual, 50-minute documentary, investigates The Fourth Industrial Revolution, what the 1% has to gain and the rest of us are about to lose.

8. Bostic: No need to worry
    Minister of Health Lieutenant Colonel Jeffrey Bostic says Barbadians need not be alarmed at the news that two passengers aboard the seven-day Celebrity Millennium cruise tested positive for COVID-19 days after making a stop in Barbados.
    In an interview with the Saturday Sun, Bostic said developments of this nature were to be expected and it reinforced the importance of ensuring that the protocols set for the restart of the cruise industry are properly adhered to. He also disclosed that since the vessel came to Barbados, a number of tests for COVID-19 had been conducted on individuals who welcomed the visitors. He said all returned negative.
    “I am confident in our protocols and that they were rigorously enforced for that particular cruise. The science is there to support the protocols that we have put in place. This is something that is being conducted as seriously as we possibly can in terms of the exposure. We have also gotten back the test results for persons involved with the ship’s arrival and they have all been negative. So I am fully satisfied that we are okay in this regard,” the minister said.
    The two guests, who shared a stateroom on the cruise from St Maarten, are asymptomatic, in isolation and being monitored by a medical team, Celebrity Cruise Lines said in a news release. All guests aboard the vessel, which made port stops in Barbados, Aruba and Curacao, were required to show vaccination proof and a negative COVID-19 test within 72 hours of departing St Maarten on Saturday. Approximately 500 passengers were on
    board, with more than 95 per cent fully vaccinated. Children who could not yet receive vaccinations were required to show negative COVID-19 tests.
    Supports protocols
    President of the Barbados Association of Medical Practitioners (BAMP), Dr Lynda Williams, urged Barbadians not to treat the development as an “I told you so” moment, noting that her organisation supported the protocols in place for the reboot of the tourism sector.
    “We have to bear in mind that the economy is still an important consideration, and that the majority of our people are in some way connected to the sector, so we have to try. It is my view that we did the best possible protocols that we can. We have to put something in place and give it an opportunity to work, but we must ensure that we maintain our frequent monitoring and evaluation. We cannot let down our guard in this regard,” said Williams, who disclosed that BAMP was instrumental in coming up with the protocols.
    Williams said while she had confidence in the protocols for the tourism sector, Government must be prepared to act quickly to amend and adjust areas that had proven inadequate while never lowering its guard on monitoring both visitors and the general population.
    “We have to be flexible with the protocols and be able to change quickly if we see that there are some areas that require shoring up. We must ensure that definitely only fully vaccinated people are coming in contact with fully vaccinated workers. This must be the case if we really want to have the best possible outcomes.
    We also must have a lot of surveillance and testing built into our population as well so that we can detect if anything happens or passes through our ports of entry,” she said.
    Williams added: “So I cannot say that we are premature because at some point in time we have to start and whenever we start we must accept that there is some risk. We never said that fully vaccinated people cannot get the virus, only that they have reduced ability to become sick as well as reduced transmission of the virus. Vigilance is what is necessary. We cannot stay shut down until this goes away; we must put things in place, monitor them and try.”
    (CLM)

SOURCE: NATION NEWS

9. Despite what the Minister says about “protocols” it is not clear whether the restrictions in place for those arriving via airlines are the same for tourists arriving by cruise ship.

10. @Sargeant

Information around the revised COVID protocol for arriving cruise ship visitors is still being worked out. The visit on Monday was a pilot run of sorts that operated in some kind of bubble. Minister Kirk Humphrey touched on it briefly in an interview with David Ellis a few days ago.

11. I have full confidence in our Supreme Leader and General Bosstic when it comes to the so-called Wuhan Snuff. Our government has so far managed the crisis brilliantly, while the opposition is calling for the apocalyptic horsemen.

In the next elections in 2030, the people will certainly confirm government.

12. Nobody wants to hear minister input
    His influence in Maritime issues are zero
    Under his watch the reefs were destroyed
    Hard to believe he had any input on the Cruise Industry decisions or even any input on the protocols necessary for them to enter Barbados waters
    Fact being the evidence now shows a Covid infected cruise ship entered Barbados waters docked in the ports and passengers were allowed to disembark without govt detection or intervention
    Minister bobbled head is clueless

13. Cox,

you act as if the Wuhan cold is a fatal disease. The fact is that in our country all vulnerable people have been vaccinated for a long time. Those who will still contract the disease and come to hospital have – in 90 % of all remaining cases – only themselves to blame, because they are either too fat or smoke. The remaining 10 % are unfortunate happenings.

Life must now go on as normal. We need several hundred thousand tourists on the island again from Oc. 2021 on. I therefore urgently recommend that all critical doctors who, contrary to scientific findings, dramatise the dangerousness of the Wuhan snuff for younger people be imprisoned. Our Corona emergency laws allow this with ease.

14. I speak with precision pointed observation concluding that Minister Kirk is a clueless bobblehead assign to a job of which he knows nothing about
    A job which requires specific training and specialized school in the field of environmental details having to do with land sea and air
    Putting a boy to do a man’s job always end in catastrophy as with the case of Kirk involvement
    I would hold him to his recent remarks about engaging with the cruise line industry seeking compensation for the reefs

15. DavidJune 12, 2021 1:05 PM

Vincentian Minister refusing to see unvaccinated people

Xxxxxxx
    Utter rubbish
    He as a servant of the people has a right of duty to attend the needs of the people first and foremost
    If he feels uncomfortable then he should resign his post

16. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Small island idiot politicians in their uppity negro mode as usual.

17. WURA-War-on-UJune 12, 2021 2:51 PM

Small island idiot politicians in their uppity negro mode as usual

Xxxxx
    These banana republic clowns tek the populace fuh clowns
    Imagine he talking that crap in other international countries
    A bunch of clowns wearing crowns

18. Our Supreme Leader continues to conqueror de roughest seas to date……Who calling, who calling? Souse n clean breadfruit, no humongous hog tails n it…Who calling🐖🐖?

Mia fuh life don’t make no strife 🎼🎹🎸🎤Mia fuh life don’t make no strife 🎸🎼🎤🎹🇧🇧
    Grynner, Grynner, Mia fuh lifeeeeeeeeeeee…🥁🪘🎺🎺

19. HANG ON!
    AG: Two top cops asked to hold off on retirement
    By Maria Bradshaw
    mariabradshaw@nationnews.com

Commissioner of Police Tyrone Griffith and Deputy Commissioner Oral Williams have been asked to continue in office until the end of September instead of going on pre-retirement leave.
    The two were due to go on pre-retirement leave from this month but Attorney General Dale Marshall told the Sunday Sun yesterday that they have been asked to stay on a while longer and were presently assisting the force in “special projects”.
    Griffith is due to officially retire on November 11 and Williams on October 18, after serving the Royal Barbados Police Force (RBPF) for 46 and 43 years, respectively.
    Marshall explained: “Ordinarily, both of them would have proceeded on pre-retirement leave, but both have been requested to serve until the end of September 2021 instead of taking the leave that they are due.”
    He added: “Both of these fine officers have agreed to continue in service and I certainly am deeply appreciative of their willingness to continue and of their continued sacrifice and commitment to the organisation. Both of them are currently deeply immersed in special projects and exercises and the force will benefit immeasurably from them keeping their shoulders to the wheel for a while longer.”
    Asked about the selection of a new Commissioner and Deputy, the Attorney General said no one had been chosen as yet to fill either of the two positions but the selection process would be undertaken by the Protective Services Commission.
    “Let me make it clear
    that the choice and appointment of persons to those offices are matters for the Protective Services Commission, established under the Constitution of Barbados. The matter of promotion to those two offices will be dealt with by the commission, but there is no question of the Commissioner of Police Tyrone Griffith, who was due to go on pre-retirement leave this month, has been asked to continue in office until the end of September.
    Commissioner and Deputy Commissioner staying on because no one has been chosen to replace them.
    “The commission alone determines matters of promotion to senior offices either to act or on appointment and they have been dealing with their responsibility in an orderly and deliberate manner, and they must be allowed to continue in that vein. I am confident that the commission will give those matters consideration in due time,” he noted.
    Asked if the position of Commissioner of Police will also be on a contract basis, as was being done with other senior posts in the public service, Marshall said: “While the matter of appointment of senior public servants on contract is very much under discussion, I do not anticipate that such would be the approach with the Commissioner of Police, a key post in our national security framework.”
    In relation to previous reports of political interference in the hierarchy of the force, which some years back had reportedly led to major disagreements among some of the senior officers, Marshall said: “I have absolutely no idea of any affiliation, political or otherwise, of any current or previous Commissioner of Police. I can assure the public that this administration will allow the commission to do its work without any interference or influence from us.”
    He revealed that members of the RBPF will be receiving continuous training, starting with 15 senior officers who will later this month undertake a two-week leadership programme with trainers from the (United Kingdom) UK.
    “The force must constantly plan for the departures
    of officers in its senior ranks, and part of that process requires that officers are constantly receiving appropriate training,” he said.
    “From 21st June, 15 senior officers of the force will begin an intensive two-week leadership training programme, with the trainers coming from the Durham Constabulary of the UK, and with inputs from local experts. This programme will draw in particular on the extensive experience of the that award-winning UK police force and will cover key aspects of police leadership.”
    Marshall hailed this as a new approach.
    “In the past, a few officers had the opportunity to travel overseas for training to the UK, the US and to Jamaica. However, no sustained effort at providing continuing policing education was in place. This is the beginning of a new approach, where training will be provided at all levels of the force on a continuous basis,” he added.

(FP)

20. SSA: We must solve bulk waste problem
    By Barry Alleyne
    barryalleyne@nationnews.com
    Barbados has a massive problem with bulk waste disposal as individuals continue to dispose of old refrigerators, stoves, bath tubs, and even cars and old bicycles.
    Sanitation Service Authority (SSA) officials say soon there will be no more landfill space to put the heavy material, but they are attempting to solve the problem as a matter of urgency.
    The SSA’s assistant manager of engineering, Leona Deane, told the Sunday Sun that disposal of metal had been a problematic issue for decades.
    “We did not have possession of a metal disposal site from 2012, so there was a crisis with metal disposal and quite a pile over by the landfill. This also became one of the areas that people were bringing metal to and it built up over a number of years.”
    She said waste brokering in Barbados was an essential part of solid waste management, and a general plan would have to be developed. Up to yesterday, scores of old appliances were being dropped off at Bagatelle, the new site for bulk waste after the Ministry of Health served notice on B’s Recycling at Cane Garden in the same parish, to stop accepting metal waste.
    “You would be amazed at what people in Barbados are throwing away every day. They are throwing away fridges and we can’t understand why there are so many fridges coming in [to the country]. We get about 500 beds a month, hundreds of fridges, and hundreds of TVs,” she said.
    The SSA official added that it was not sustainable to keep burying all that metal.
    “We are too small, and we just can’t continue to landfill the material. All kinds of avenues that can remove metal are welcome. Once that is done we can move forward and have a circular economy where we are recycling, we are shipping and hopefully we get to zero waste one day,” she added.
    No need to fear
    Deane revealed that even though the four million tonnes had been brought over from the B’s Recycling facility since the last week of April, there was no need to fear Bagatelle also becoming an environmental hazard and being overrun with metal waste in a short timeframe.
    She said the Bagatelle facility still has plenty of life and space left, even after more than four million metric tonnes of metal waste had been placed at the site in a mere two months.
    “We recently returned to the Bagatelle facility about two years ago. There was a large new cell, a quarry that was available for filling, so we are currently filling the bottom of that quarry. With this material (from B’s Recycling) we are filling up a lot faster. Normally every month we would get about 100 fridges, but now we’ve been getting about ten- or even twentyfold that amount,” Deane revealed moments after a team from the SSA, along with the Chief Fire Officer Errol Maynard and Minister of Home Affairs Wilfred Abrahams gave an update on the situation at B’s, which was closed by health authorities in April.
    Material compacted
    All metal waste removed from B’s after it was served notice was taken to Bagatelle, which prompted an exponential increase in waste received by the facility.
    “There is a tractor on site, and a lot of the material has already been compacted. Once it is crushed and laid out it really does not take up much space.
    “It (the increase in waste) will take time off the availability of space at the site, but we are still fairly far down inside. We still have a lot of years at Bagatelle, and I want the residents in the surrounding areas not to be concerned because we are covering and compacting. When we’re done it will look like a flat football field. You would never even know the metal is there,” Deane said.
    The engineer, who is responsible for disposal of waste in Barbados, said they had been involved in that practice for more than 40 years.

21. Members: Circle a blessing
    By John Boyce
    johnboyce@nationnews.com
    Several members of a blessing circle have expressed “vehement objection” to the position taken by Fair Trading Commission (FTC) director of consumer protection Dava Leslie-Ward in relation to them.
    Leslie-Ward, during a recently held online seminar entitled Scams And Schemes, organised by the Barbados Association of Retired Persons (BARP) in collaboration with the FTC, said the commission was working on getting the regulatory framework in place to deal with all blessing circles and pyramid schemes.
    This, however, did not sit well with the members who spoke to the Sunday Sun recently.
    One member, who gave his name as Vere, said: “It is very necessary, particularly in times like these, where the economy is facing stagflation [high unemployment and high prices] to have an avenue through which you can generate income.”
    He said it was a means by which people could wean themselves off having to depend on Government for handouts.
    Furthermore, he said Government should welcome the blessing circles as they take the burden off the Welfare Department and other agencies on which some were dependent.
    Pointing out that not all circles should be lumped together, he said: “I find the C11 platform [which has about 4 000 members] to be very transparent and authentic and people should come and try the system for themselves before launching into
    criticism.”
    Another member, who owns a business in The City and wished to remain anonymous, said: “People are getting their debts cleared and some are no longer in a place where they have to worry about losing their house or vehicle.”
    She said people were now able to feed their children though they were still unemployed.
    C11 platform
    “With an investment of $2 700 you get $21 000 on the C11 platform and it is legitimate and has been going for over a year. So what is the reason for lumping all circles together?” the businesswoman asked.
    Peter, another member, queried the law that would stop people from giving, pointing out that people gave freely to the church and asked whether that too would be regularised.
    “When I joined the blessing circle, I made a conscious decision to give and share with the person to be blessed and it is a gift which goes back into the economy.”
    However, the FTC director, in her presentation said: “A blessing circle is not even a circle; it’s a pyramid and is just another fancy name for a pyramid scheme. It depends on where you are in the pyramid that increases your likelihood of seeing a return on your investment. If you are not within a certain point in the pyramid, consider it [your money] gone,” she said.
    This comment was rubbished by Michael, another member, who said it was “really unfortunate” that a person holding such a high office could comment like that without seemingly
    fully understanding how a blessing circle works.
    “There are four stages before being ‘blessed out’ on the C11 platform. Therefore, just like a pay day at the office, it comes at a certain time and there is nothing to suggest that your money is gone if you have not yet been blessed out . . . . There is generally a three-month wait,” he said.
    Admitting that some other circles had failed “for one reason or another”, Michael said some segments of society seemed bent on targeting blessing circles.
    During the online seminar with BARP and the FTC, one member spoke out against the consumer protection director’s position, saying: “I have received more returns from my circle than the time I invested in debentures, which was more of a scam to me than the blessing circle. Where was the FTC then?”

22. Too much uncertainty surrounding vaccines

The COVID-19 virus has been called novel. It is something new. How we should respond to it will therefore be an issue for discussion. The issue of mandating or coercing COVID-19 vaccination was an issue hotly discussed on Brass Tacks last week.
    Hal Gollop QC stirred up a hornets’ nest on the call-in programme when he stated that “If the scientific proof, or might not be proof, but if the way points towards the fact that by being vaccinated you will give the employer the opportunity to satisfy that requirement of providing a safe system of work and, conversely, if all the evidence . . . points to the fact that a person who does not get himself vaccinated presents a risk to the employers’ satisfying that obligation to providing a safe system of work, in my opinion the employer is entitled to demand that any worker working in his workplace be vaccinated.”
    This opinion rests on the legal requirement that an employer must provide a safe working environment for their workers. It may also rest on the non-legal assumption that a person not vaccinated against COVID-19 poses some kind of threat to the health and safety of others in the work environment. But to deprive any person of their livelihood based on unsubstantiated fears wouldn’t be fair. There are just so many questions.
    Consider that the vaccines available are reported to provide varying levels of protection, from around 50 per cent for Sinovac, 70 per cent for AstraZeneca and around 95 per cent for Pfizer. The question would then be, “What level of vaccination should we accept as adequately vaccinated?” What about the fact that people who have already had COVID-19 also have a level of protection and immunity to the virus?
    Natural immunity
    A study from the United Kingdom, reported on in Vox magazine, found that people
    previously infected with COVID-19 could have up to 99 per cent immunity. Would they count as a threat to others as well? Is it fair to force a person with a high level of natural immunity to undergo a possibly less effective vaccination?
    In any case, most instances of COVID infection are mild. This is not to say they are not serious. In India, the high rate of severe COVID cases and high death toll is thought to be linked to the high rates of diabetes and to a rare fungal infection which is associated with diabetes. Would it be right to force people who are particular about taking care of their health and have no co-morbidities, to take a vaccine even if they are at low risk?
    And then there is the elephant in the room. Producers of COVID-19 vaccines have sought and won immunity from lawsuits should you suffer any ill effects from their vaccine. In an article available on the Reuters website, Ruud Dobber, a member of AstraZeneca’s senior executive team, is quoted as telling the international news agency that, “This is a unique situation where we as a company simply cannot take the risk if in . . . four years the vaccine is showing side effects.” Will an employer who insists on an employee getting vaccinated agree to assume liability if that employee is injured by the vaccine?
    On June 18, the Centre for Disease Control in the United States is holding an emergency meeting to deal with a higher than expected number of cases of inflammation of the heart in young men who received the Pfizer vaccine. The Pfizer vaccine, like others, has gotten emergency approval despite not having undergone the normal levels of oversight and testing. Situations like this led one caller on Brass Tacks to say that people taking the vaccination are guinea pigs for an experimental treatment.
    Despite, all of this, the common advice is, “Trust the science”. However, is it the science which
    we put our trust in or the opinion of those reporting upon the science? Dr Anthony Fauci has found out that he is not immune to losing public trust. His leaked emails have suggested to some that he knowingly misled the public when insisted that COVID-19 was not engineered by scientists in a laboratory in Wuhan, China. Now, this fact is not so certain. There is a lot that is uncertain about this novel corona situation. Too much to mandate, force or coerce people into vaccination.
    Adrian Green is a communications specialist. Email Adriangreen14@gmail.com.

23. Need to improve standard of doing business
    By Tony Best Barbados, which relies heavily on its offshore financial services sector to raise government revenue to finance its economic and social development, is unlikely to face any overnight danger of being forced out of the global competitive investment markets by a proposed global minimum tax on corporate profits.
    However, it must continue to pay close attention to the efforts of the world’s richest nations to increase “their fair share of the taxes” imposed on foreign multinational corporations and high-networth individuals from the United States, Canada, Britain, France, Italy, Japan and Germany who establish a corporate presence on Barbados’ soil as one way of lowering their taxes.
    At the same time, Barbados must also devise its own plans to raise standards of doing business with foreign and domestic companies.
    G-7 agreement
    That was the collective reaction of international analysts and experts familiar with Barbados’ offshore sector who commented on the impact of a G-7 agreement to establish a minimum foreign global tax floor.
    From Winston Cox, a former Governor of the Barbados Central Bank, to Noel Lynch, Barbados’ Ambassador to the United States, and Toby Sanger, a Canadian who heads Canadians for Tax Fairness in Ottawa, to Bruce Zagaris, an American tax law expert in Washington, who once advised Barbados on international tax negotiations, the story was the same. They said it will take some time, perhaps years for the G7 and the G-20 countries to conclude a deal of about 15 per cent minimum tax on corporate profits in each country where the firms operate.
    Cox said: “It is going to be very difficult to negotiate such an agreement and implement it. It is going to take time, perhaps years, to negotiate it. Although the Organisation of Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD), the rich nations’ club with headquarter in Paris, is pushing it and the European Union is behind it, there are countries in both of those organisations which are resisting it.
    “It is going to face a difficult implementation challenge. It is not so easy to decide what somebody else’s fair share of taxes is. However, Barbados must pay attention to the discussion, including the need to compete in other areas for international financial business. I think Barbados is well placed to achieve that. It has a comfortable social set of norms and it is a country that respects the rule of law,” he said.
    Expressed doubts
    Cox, a former member of the executive boards of the World Bank and the Inter-American Development Bank, expressed doubts that a global corporate tax regime would bring about the “death” of Barbados’ financial services sector.
    Bruce Zagaris said that after confronting several hurdles, the G-7 and G-20 nations were likely to reach an agreement on the corporate profit tax but warned it might run into serious headwinds in the US Congress, especially with the Republicans in the House of Representatives and the Senate.
    “The US Congress is pretty split, and the Republicans have said they are not going to support an increase in corporate taxes. It is going to take some time before it gets through. Not every country will approve it right away but it is definitely going to happen,” he said.
    Like Cox, Zagaris thinks Barbados must continue its efforts to improve its standards of doing business in international financial services. But he was quick to warn that it was “going to be very hard to compete”.
    Lynch, a former Minister of Tourism now serving in Washington, said Barbados was “seeking clarification on a number of (crucial) issues” arising out of the G-7 agreement.
    “My sense is that it is not going to be easy to negotiate and implement and it is going to take some time, perhaps by 2023 for the beginning of it. It is not going to hit us overnight but in the interim I would advise that we must gather definitive information on the issues. We must get a clearer understanding from our tax experts” on what may be negative to us, a small economy. We should consider our ranking in the business
    index and improve it,” he said.
    Barbados must pay attention to the discussion, including the need to compete in other areas for international financial business.

24. DUTY-FREE PUSH
    Govt reviewing list of items to come under legislation
    By Shawn Cumberbatch shawncumberbatch@nationnews.com
    Barbados’ duty-free shopping sector, which is heavily dependent on tourism, has “taken a beating” during the COVID-19 pandemic and changes are being contemplated to ensure its survival.
    Minister in the Ministry of Finance Ryan Straughn said the ministry and the Customs & Excise Department are “in the process of reviewing the lists of items and the legislation governing this activity”, but said changes related to alcohol and tobacco would not be included “at this time”.
    He made the announcement to the Sunday Sun as the Barbados Chamber of Commerce & Industry’s new president Anthony Branker warned that the duty-free business needed alternative ways to generate cash flow, “otherwise it will not be able to meet its financial obligations, most important of which is to its employees”.
    He said the Chamber, which has 23 members involved in duty-free operations, would continue to urge Government to create duty-free zones where Barbadians could shop.
    Both Straughn and Branker agreed that tourism’s recovery was key to the duty-free sector’s revival. The chamber president reported that the number of visitors travelling to Barbados for the rest of the year was likely to be drastically reduced, resulting in an estimated reduction in sales of 70 per cent for the period April through December”.
    He said tourism’s collapse and worldwide travel restrictions negatively impacted duty-free retailers at the Grantley Adams International Airport, the Bridgetown Cruise Terminals Inc., and all remaining duty-free retail operations located in hotels, as well as in the tourist belt and in Bridgetown.
    “A significant percentage of the estimated 625 persons employed by the key duty-free retailers in Barbados have had their employment reinstated with reduced hours. Retailers who have been forced to permanently reduce their headcount due to lack of sales, therefore now have severance liabilities which have negatively impacted their businesses,” Branker said.
    Seeking reductions
    “In an attempt to protect cash flow and preserve future employment, operators continue to seek reductions in rental fees from landlords and make other significant cuts to operational expenses,” he said.
    Branker said the chamber’s members in the duty-free sector had also collectively developed proposals to be presented to Government.
    The chamber, he added, had already walked away from the duty-free facility it operated at the airport.
    “A review of the performance of the facility has shown that the chamber experienced a peak of 54 per cent in 2018 over the 2017 performance, followed by a decline of 18 per cent in 2019, and a further decline of 82 per cent from 2019 to 2020 in respect of the handling of duty-free packages for travellers and triplicates processed,” he said.
    The two officials reminded that before the pandemic struck, duty-free sector changes were to have taken place from April 1, 2020.
    Straughn said after coming to office in 2018, Government was concerned there was a “haemorrhaging of tax revenue” related to Barbadians making purchases “on a regular basis in any retail store in town offering the duty-free service”.
    It was determined that since dutyfree service was primarily an export activity, it should be transacted in foreign exchange.
    “To be consistent with that premise, we liberalised exchange controls to allow Barbadians to hold foreign exchange accounts at commercial banks without the need for large surrender percentages as was the case in the past,” the minister said.
    “The underlying notion was that Bajans like any visitors could make duty-free purchases but only in foreign exchange whether in cash or by credit or debit card linked to their foreign exchange account. Visitors would make purchases in foreign exchange cash or by credit or debit card issued by a foreign banking institution,” he added.
    Straughn said it was intended that participating retail stores would be required to deposit foreign exchange from duty-free transactions into the banking system and participate in the Balance of Payments survey conducted by the Central Bank annually”.
    “After deliberations with the sector, we agreed to continue to allow locals to make duty-free purchases on their return to Barbados within the arrival areas of the airport and seaport in local currency to further boost activity which was set to come into place April 1, 2020,” he noted.
    Straughn said COVID-19 disrupted travel and therefore that segment of the economy had taken a beating due to the global cessation of travel.”
    He said he expected the resumption of global travel would over time see this sector re-emerge from what had been a most challenging

25. “With an investment of $2 700 you get $21 000 on the C11 platform and it is legitimate and has been going for over a year. So what is the reason for lumping all circles together?” the businesswoman asked.

“There are four stages before being ‘blessed out’ on the C11 platform. Therefore, just like a pay day at the office, it comes at a certain time and there is nothing to suggest that your money is gone if you have not yet been blessed out . . . . There is generally a three-month wait,” he said.
    Admitting that some other circles had failed “for one reason or another”, Michael said some segments of society seemed bent on targeting blessing circles.

Put in $2.7K and get back 8 times the amount in a “3 month wait”.. A scam anywhere.

26. “By Tony Best Barbados, which relies heavily on its offshore financial services sector to raise government revenue to finance its economic and social development, is unlikely to face any overnight danger of being forced out of the global competitive investment markets by a proposed global minimum tax on corporate profits.”

This is a partial answer to a question I asked previously. However, the general response is …. this will not impact on us immediately as it will take some time for a global minimum tax to be implemented.

The question “if implemented, how will this affect us?” remains unanswered.

27. We know how it will effect us, it is a no brainer.

28. Precisely!

29. Don’t tell me how it will effect you, tell me how it will affect you. That is the brainer..
    Share the answers.

30. Armed with wo strategies
    (1) Attempt to ridicule
    (2) Attempt to silence
    and two answers
    (1) The other guys did it too,
    (2) It happens elsewhere

31. Let us make it simple, if companies domiciled in Barbados have to immediately pay a flat rate of 15% it will decimate the sector, a cadre of well paid professionals who depend on the sector will be on the bread line. There is the indirect impact to tourism, restaurants, rental properties, rental cars etc.

32. There are several ways of bringing matters that are not fully ventilated into further discussion.

Here we had the G7 embarking on a policy that could have a great impact on tax-havens and off-shore banking centers. And to the best of my knowledge, just one BU contributor (VC) hinted at the implications for Barbados. Then there was this article above, which, instead of laying out the stark reality provided a reason why the impact on Barbados would not be immediate (the slow pace of negotiations).

Having this hard cold fact come from one side of the fence may serve to wake up some 9(today). It would be good if we start thinking about this problem and possible solution from today and not act surprise when things begin to fall apart.

33. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David, bro u got me kerfuffulled with “Let us make it simple, if companies domiciled in Barbados have to immediately pay a flat rate of 15% it will decimate the sector, a cadre of well paid professionals who depend on the sector will be on the bread line

I use ur informed comments to step into these debates and ur “tone” can be perplexing at times.

1.Are u really saying that a financial services company will ALLOW an imposition of 15c on the $1 to implode their business! Fah real.

They ‘does’ STUDY and FINESSE money management, RIGHT!

2.Are you further saying that the supposed GLOBAL imposition will impact Bim comps more significantly than all its competitors all bout de place!

3.And are you then also further saying that this highfalutin worldwide tax will be actually EFFECTED so legally and operationally well that companies will NOT find ways to expense their way around it!

Excuse me for being cynical, bro but I have paid little attention to Biden and his fellow leaders hype on this matter as I simply cannot see it being effectively achieved.

This is a high-wire political walk by the G7 folks which is sweet sounding hype likely to be either still born or so under weight at birth that it endures the life of an undernourished weakling.

But either way, as former Director Cox said: “It is going to be very difficult to negotiate such an agreement and implement it. It is going to take time, perhaps years, to negotiate it.

So let’s rejoin this matter a few years on … we can study and be alert steadfastly till den and likely watch the baby get aborted in that hostile US Senate … an additional 15% tax eh … OK …. let’s also look first closely at the corporate welfare that is enriching these financial services corps and that recent reminder of how billionaires AVOID the incidence of taxation so effectively.

A major issue … nope. A bother to be avoided and finessed, yes!

34. @Dee Word

Educate yourself.

What might a global minimum corporate tax mean for Caribbean International Financial Centres (IFCs)? – Caribbean Trade Law and Development

https://caribbeantradelaw.com/2021/06/13/what-might-a-global-minimum-corporate-tax-mean-for-caribbean-international-financial-centres-ifcs/

35. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Trust the science…NOT THE EXPERIMENT…..that is the stage it’s STILL AT..

and only the very ignorant STILL DON’T KNOW….that you are just as likely to pass the virus on and die from it yaself…even if you are FULLY VACCINATED…

..it’s the MUTATING VARIANTS STUPID…and yall done know how yall love to let every half assed tourist in just for a few dollars…and most of them will be CARRIERS.

36. Great article, David! Everything in nutshell!

37. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

David, I get it that the leaders are trying to squeeze the multinationals to pay more tax from off-shore operations like those in Bim and how that can ‘encourage’ said companies to repatriate, thus squeezing us … all clear.

I am simply CYNICAL that it will be IMPLEMENTED.

I call it a bother at this point because there will be LOTS of finessing and bare knuckled lobbying to stop this ‘bill’ … the US Senate will be hyper actively lobbied undoubtedly.

Furthermore, let’s recognize that a positive of the pandemic has been the awareness of how awesome ‘Welcome Stamp’ business operations can be … or said differently: corporations can see big benefits of keeping operations in remote locations.

The proof of this bill will be how effectively it’s written so let’s await those details and THEN too let’s await the political fights.

We have a long gestation yet on this and even then seems to me there are programs countries like Bim can adopt to keep many of their multinationals happy in managing their tax incidence… they will need to be super creative/practical (legally) to push back on the OECD etc.

38. From BT (by MM)
    “Persaud explained that one of the measures Barbados took to counter the “shifting goal post” in recent times was to change the corporate tax rate to allow both local and international firms to pay on a sliding scale of between one and five per cent.

However, with the US engaging G20 nations to agree on a global minimum corporate tax rate, Persaud said the time had come to “move to a different playing field” as they seek to shift the goal post.

“The next thing we need to do is to actually make sure that businesses are headquartered here. America and the UK may decide to have a global minimum tax rate. That is currently being debated. Now, they can decide how they tax a Barbadian subsidiary of a British company, but they cannot determine how they tax a Barbados-headquartered company. So we need to bring these companies to Barbados to do real business in Barbados and be headquartered here,” he explained.

Persaud said in order to attract the businesses, several things must be done including training and certification of individuals to provide high-level skills, greater use of advanced technology and an improvement in the doing business climate

Allow me to compliment Persaud on acknowledging the oncoming problems and (though early, as some suggest) beginning to think of a way out of the increasing maze.. He could have (1) completely ignored the looming problem (2) acknowledge it bus as some are suggesting … Kicking the can down the road or (3) wish for a ‘Hail Mary pass’ similar to PLT’s welcome stamp suggestion.

It is a no-brainer (my new favorite phrase) that at some stage we are competing against IFCs from all over the world. In same way that we saw the welcome stamp idea being implemented in other countries the suggestion of making “sure these companies are headquartered here” will be implemented elsewhere. He has also pointed out that we must consider “training and certification of individuals to provide high-level skills, greater use of advanced technology and an improvement in the doing business climate”.

I highlighted his contribution, because it begins to show the depth of thinking that is (not will be) required. We must walk and chew gum at the same time. i do not believe it is any more difficult than walking and kicking the can down the road. The future begins now.

39. Jordan: Employers can’t dismiss workers for not taking COVID-19 vaccination – Barbados Today

https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/06/13/jordan-employers-cant-dismiss-workers-for-not-taking-covid-19-vaccination/

40. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Was just reading that, don’t know why the hell these nuisance lawyers like to push Black people into being oppressed…frauds…they need to shut up if they don’t know what they are talking about and STOP ROBBING CLIENTS..

“Workers in Barbados are protected by the Employment (Prevention of Discrimination) Act, which, among other things, prohibits discrimination on the grounds of a person’s medical condition. Additionally, employers are prohibited from requiring a person to be tested for a medical condition either as a precondition for entering into a contract of employment or as a condition for continuing employment. This prohibition is subject to if the test or knowledge of a medical condition is required because of what is called a genuine occupational qualification.”

41. (Quote):
    “The next thing we need to do is to actually make sure that businesses are headquartered here. America and the UK may decide to have a global minimum tax rate. That is currently being debated. Now, they can decide how they tax a Barbadian subsidiary of a British company, but they cannot determine how they tax a Barbados-headquartered company. So we need to bring these companies to Barbados to do real business in Barbados and be headquartered here,” he explained. (Unquote).

If only this same ‘slick-tongue’ salesman of dreams had secured those investors to complete the Four Seasons project there would be many villas ready and available at ‘Paradise’ to accommodate the expatriate staff to manage those HQs of the multi-national corporations.

From one hotpot of hotel bullshit to another full of pipedreams.

If Barbados cannot even get its own local business environment sorted to make the public service function effectively (except for the Immigration Dept now under TQM) how on earth can it expect to service the headquarters of international brand name companies on a 24/7 basis?

42. Coronavirus cases rise in places with high vaccination, fall in places with low vaccination rates – The Washington Post

https://www.washingtonpost.com/health/2021/06/14/covid-cases-vaccination-rates/

43. @ david

Don’t think for a minute they are not ways around that 15% tax but using ” other non associated ” companies to handle the invoicing and such like. Biden is no Trump when it comes to business that much we know already.

44. @John A

What are you saying? Hope you are not perpetuating the notion Barbados is a tax avoidance domicile.

45. @ david

You know the difference between tax avoidance and tax evasion?

One legal and the other is a result of poor accounting and legal advise. .LOL

46. Like cricket you must know where the crease is and put you toe on it but never get caught outside it. If they move the crease then just move you toe.

47. @John A

It is why the blogmaster deliberately used the term tax avoidance because developed countries (OECD) lump the two together.

48. @ David

As long as you keep within the IAP rules for accounting they can do what they have to do and you can do what you need to do. Yes they will keep moving and playing with the “rules” they make up from one day to another, but they are basic International Accounting Practices that ALL companies are bound by.

If you think a government got better tax advisors and legal teams than Google or Amazon trust me you wrong. Trump new this and decided not to fight it. Biden has now to learn it. He does not understand the corporate world as he is a career politician, but if he tries to tamper with it they will send him a message. Dont get too worried about the coughs and splutters from the politicians. The companies way ahead of them.

49. @John A

Who are heavily influential in formulating these accounting rules?