Whether studying the issue in the classroom or conversing in a rum shop the amount and timing of the implementation of a national minimum wage generates robust discussion in any country. Pros and cons are easy to find on both sides of the contentious issue.

The Barbados government some suggest are moving like the proverbial bull in a china shop to implement a minimum wage of $8.50, up from $6.25 with security guards to get $9.25 to take effect on All Fools Day 2021. The trade unions are saying it is too low and it should be implemented without delay. Some in the private sector suggest it is too high and the date of introduction is too aggressive.

This government’s decision to increase the minimum wage is commendable and long overdue. The evidence support in the last 5 years there has been significant upward movement in the rate of inflation and the Retail Price Index supports Barbados being an expensive place to live.

The concern by parties of the dispassionate kind entering the debate is not the amount of the minimum wage being introduced but its timing. Moving from $6.25 to $8.50 is significant. Its introduction must be weighed against how the market is likely to respond. Unfortunately this is an unknown. After more than 10 years of a struggling economy many businesses are operating with depleted cashflows. Bear in mind COVID 19 would have exacerbated stress to the profit and loss of many businesses. It is easy for some to sit in the armchair and make the uninformed assumption that all businesses make money. Many operate at the margins.

On the biscuit and cheese side of the discussion, the data supports those earning at a subsistence level must be experiencing an enormous challenge. The obvious position is that a caring society must find ways to support the most vulnerable. The blogmaster will not join the politically motivated and uninformed crews by shouting the minimum wage should be hiked to $10.00 and to hell with considering the consequences. Many debating the issue are unaware this is a debate raging in many countries including the most developed.

It may be useful for the calculus used by the technicians to be made public. The majority of Barbadians will not understand it but it make help to deflate the emotional arguments that a national minimum wage amount is not determined by pulling from a hat.

It seems the majority of opinion from the private sector is that the timing is bad given the vagaries of market of the last 13 years and the consequential negative impact. From the view of trade unions and under-represented workers, now is the best time because of the current state of things.

In is against this background the government has had to make a tough decision.

The blogmaster is always amused when decisions – as in this case moving forward with the implementation of a minimum wage is made – several interest groups will make themselves heard post facto. What is the purpose of the tripartite arrangement (Social Partnership) we beat our chest again? The discord the many dissenting views must cause the public does not help to inflate confidence into the Barbados space. In a situation like this why the social partnership could not have agreed to a communique registering the different concerns after discussing government’s decision to move ahead? It seems all issues in the country have to be resolved after a predictable adversarial process. Historically this has not been the Barbados way.

Whether the government folds to the request of private sector to suspend the hike in minimum wage or not, there is a problem to solve.

How do we (society) protect the vulnerable and marginalized worker in the society at a difficult time.

How does government implement a minimum wage policy to equatable redistribute income in the society.

So far the statement on the matter from Andrew Bynoe of A1 supermarkets is one of the more sensible ones registering with the blogmaster.

I would even advocate moving to $10 an hour to somebody who works for 40 hours, so they would have a gross take-home pay of $400. However, having said that, the cost of living has to be addressed, because for businesses to be able to support the minimum wage up to $10, we have to look at the other areas of costs that affect the running of businesses…Employees would have to honour efficiency and higher productivity within the workplace…

Andrew Bynoe

354 responses to “Minimum Wage (Yes) Timing (No?)”

1. It’s amazing how everything which comes the the fore in the united states of amerika is immediately headline news in bulbadhus, – public policy, a national issue

We”ve never seen or cant recall the reverse happening.

2. @Pacha

Is it relevant though.

3. ”minimum wage up to $10, we have to look at the other areas of costs that affect the running of businesses…Employees would have to honour efficiency and higher productivity within the workplace…”

Maybe. But, does this mean that with higher productivity, less workers will be needed, so the company pays the same gross wages?

Perspective is everything.

Secondly, that quoted statement above categorically infers that Barbadian workers are not productive.

Some may disagree with that. That is some thin ice being trod upon.

Sounds like it is from a course ”how to xxss people off 101”.

4. @Crusoe

New skills will be needed in some areas for sure. What are the determinants driving efficiencies?

5. William Skinner Avatar

It’s a damn pity we were not so balanced when “ we pulled from the hat” a decision to write off millions of dollars in taxes, some say a billion, pre-COVID.
    I sincerely hope the government does not back down from ensuring that those who labour get the increase in wages.
    The minimum wage being proffered is still paltry when we take into consideration such realities as the high costs of public transportation ( bus fares) and the basic foods in the supermarkets.
    No pretty words and comparisons matter at this time.
    The lazy private sector will always pretend that they never make a profit. Ask them what ideas other than “ open back ” they have brought to the table to reform the economy.
    Perhaps the best option is to let some of them go under so that others can get a chance in the great rebuilding effort we need in order to survive the post- COVID world.

6. @William

The blogmaster is not so naive to understand some of the inputs that go into policy decisions. In your neck of the woods some call it pork barrel stuff.

If we aspire to leap to a better place we must not allow our expectations to be anchored in the past.

7. William Skinner Avatar

For one blasted moment let us discuss my “neck of the woods” which is BARBADOS. Thank you. You are unfortunately slipping back into the nonsense about what’s happening in Grenville Georgia , while William Skinner , is trying his best to deal with the suffering in Bank Hall.
    Research your blog and disclose how many times William Skinner has entered any foolish discussion about : Trump, Biden, Johnson . I don’t know why you feel pinpointing where I live is important to whether Black Barbadians are working for $250BDS. per week.
    Gimme a frigging break !

8. William…not one Black person on the island have to care about the problems OF MINORITY THIEVES aka social parasites…they always have access to tens of million of dollars of the PEOPLE’S MONEY…..TIEF/embezzled A BILLION DOLLARS IN VAT and don’t even get charged…..while the population who generate that money DON’T have access to their own funds in the treasury or NIS pension/severance and go to prison with fanfare for stealing a saltbread, nailclip anything…..

….let these frauds go to hell…. and the suffering people get their increase in wages…or make a concerted effort to get away from toxic, useless governments and their thieving sidekicks…to protect themselves and families.

9. David

Permit us to disagree. Both in the USA and Barbados the issue of a minimum wage is and was always a distraction.

A fool’s errand.

What workers really need is ownership of the places where they work, period.

All a minimum wage says for most is that workers agree to a fraction of the surpluses they create. This model has never worked for labour and never will. Is therefore anti-developmental.

Post covid, should we not be seeking to redesign systems as Mugabe and Biden promised?

10. A Change Is Gonna Come
    It’s been too hard living
    But I’m afraid to die
    ‘Cause I don’t know what’s up there
    Beyond the sky
    It’s been a long
    A long time coming
    But I know a change gonna come
    Oh, yes it will

11. David
    you need is patience to deal with the lil ones
    why don’t you fill in for striking teachers

12. @Pacha

Yes we need to promote employee ownership but this design is not possible to satisfy all worker categories, especially those operating at the bottom of the scale. We must resit conflating positions.

13. David
    Not true.

It is precisely that type of thinking which has led to the distortions in wealth distribution, in our world one of the main causal factors.

Meaning a few people have more wealth than half the world’s population.

In every work situation value is being created and therefore an opportunity for ownership of the process, We must disintermediate useless labour unions.

In reconsidering what work means even the jobs of caregivers and parenting add societal value and must be compensated accordingly.

14. @William calm down.

The point: issues some of you living in the US, UK and elsewhere constantly bring to the blog is that Barbados is the most backward place on earth with thieves and more thieves. Guess what, right there in your blasted ADOPTED countries the same damn things occur times over. The point Donna made on another blog is worth repeating –

Barbados is not a failed state! It is a state that needs to do better in several areas. If we use Hal Austin’s definition of failed state then almost all the countries of the world can be so called, including those where most of you live.

Steupse! How could I live so happily in a failed state whilst hardly breaking a sweat???

But there is still much work to be done. Time for a reset!

Covid will become the mother of invention. If you look whilst actually wishing to see, you will notice some movement.

15. @Pacha

Please use scenarios/specifics to Barbados. Some jobs are do not have the structure to support such a position.

16. William Skinner Avatar

@ WURA
    Can you seriously imagine , any Black person with a conscience , trying to defend employers , who don’t want to pay an increase in wages from $6.25BDS per hour to their brothers and sisters. Can you imagine any Black person with a conscience , trying to defend his or her brothers and sisters working for $250BDS per week ?
    Is this what the poor Black people underwrite these bastards education for ? To be constantly kicked to the curb to protect the wealthy. We are in a deep moral crisis and the joke gets more pathetic every single second. These retrogrades are enemies of the people!

17. David
    Give an example of such a job. Please!

18. William Skinner Avatar

My name is William Skinner not “some of you”. I will not be put in any box by you or anybody. I am not here to defend anybody but me. I don’t give a damn about being cussed and told I am some idiot who don’t understand or can’t “distil’ B S. that my big brother explained to me before I was ten years old.
    However, I take very serious offense when you, as a Blogmaster, keep trying your best to align me with positions I have never taken. You can’t call for transparency and decency in public life and then descend to such low levels and unnecessary attacks on a person , who has taken time off , to write articles for BU, when you requested.
    Every time you attempt such blatant skullduggery, I will call you out. There is a reason why I put my name to what I write.

19. @William

There is a reason why the blogmaster posted the comment he did. Who the cap fit wear it.

20. @Pacha

Let us answer this way- what type of business in Barbados pay workers at an hourly rate?

21. Look into the face of this criminal again…then let it SINK IN…

https://www.nationnews.com/2021/03/26/bpsa-supports-national-minimum-wage-concerned-timing/

22. David
    They are any number of categories of workers being paid hourly both in the usa and Barbados.

We are making a few points relating to all categories.

One, that trade unions have outlived they usefulness.

Two, that workers should own every interaction, process.

Three, that the paradigm where value is created for others, or corporate interests, can not best serve society.

Four, that if both Mugabe and Biden agree that wealth distribution paterns show gross distortions, then tired memes about minimum wages can never be a corrective.

Five, are we to build back better or not, post covid? And if so why resort to a failed notion of wages which have never even kept pace with inflation farless provide more even distribution patterns.

23. Go for the big targets x Arrest the leaders
    When you fight corruption, it fights back

24. @Pacha,

Good comment, with you on this.

25. @Pacha

Your position is noted. Whether unions have outlived their usefulness is sure to be challenged. What is a fact is that the way unions operate in Barbados are not fit for purpose.

26. The Blogmaster has raised two questions.

First, is the minimum wage adequate?

$8.25/hr. Weekly that is $330 or $1,320 per month. $10/hr is $1,600 per month.

Assuming the lowest paid workers rely on public transport, even the minimum bus fare per month, of one trip each way is $140 per month.

So right away ten percent of the wage is gone.

NIS contributions take another eleven percent.

So, the employee on the minimum wage must pay rent, bills, food and clothing from a maximum of $1,042 per month. That is if they are lucky enough to take only one bus route.

Yes the minimum wage is bare essential and should be closer to $10.

On the timing, yes that is tough.

So, if we cannot afford the minimum wage increase at this time, there should be a wage freeze across the board and management should also forego any bonuses and other incentives for the duration. In fact, surely anyone in management can take a 10% cut to ensure that companies can survive?

In addition to this, audits of landed cost to sales price, to ensure that price gouging does not take place, is called for. This audit should include review of overseas invoice costs.

27. …Employees would have to honour efficiency and higher productivity within the workplace…

Andrew Bynoe

Xxxxxxxxxx cc

In layman terms i take the above comment to mean
    That employers can pursue a harsher and sturdier environment under the guide of productivity
    Making rules which might collide with labour laws
    I also envision such words can have employees working at break neck speed to cover 8 hrs of work doing a job that requires two or more people

Having said the above 8.50 is still poor man wages when the cost of living and income tax withdrawal is applied
    I also see the rush to implement the wage increase as a way forward for govt to squeeze more taxation out of the people to pay the billions in borrowed debt

28. Mariposa

What percentage/how much of the $8.50 will go towards paying income tax?

29. Angela Cox

The problem has been that socalled productivity levels have been rising for decades but wages are still at 1970s levels when adjusted for inflation.

30. Cruseo if you go from 8.25 to 10 bajan dollars an hr that means you can live in a midsize car instead of that compact your living in What nonsense is it that minimum wage cant be 14 dollars an hour. Each time I come to the island I drop thousands us for two weeks , where is it all going if the people who make the trips enjoyable live in poverty.

31. @John2

Stop LOL

32. John2

What percentage/how much of the $8.50 will go towards paying income tax?

Your answer lies in how much the employee makes per week and what is the percentage take out on the weekly or monthly salary for govt
    The long and short being that income tax would be applied

33. “…Employees would have to honour efficiency and higher productivity within the workplace…”

maybe teachers can go on a go slow instead of striking

but there is a fine line between doing 10% less work and doing none at all

they should just work hard one day a week to make a point

34. What criteria is used to determine minimum wage in Barbados ?

35. As for the private Sector there would never be a good time for wage increase
    Seeing that after lol many years the subject was never given preference as part of the private sector agenda
    There will never be a good time for them

36. I am with Pachamama on this one. Minimum wage is a like plaster on a gun shot wound. What we need is surgery.

These old time constructs are built to increase inequality. They must be discredited and abandonned. The coffers of the one per cent have increased by billions and billions on the back of Covid.

Imagine, the masses are in danger of becoming homeless with burning bellies, if they don’t die from Covid and simultaneously, THE RICH ARE GETTING RICHER!

Even a pandemic works for them!

GROTESQUE!

37. Old age showing up in my spelling!

38. Mari

Above why limit is subject to pay income tax
    Or
    Below what limit is exempted from paying income tax ?

Give me a number and not no long talk

39. The blogmaster will not join the politically motivated and uninformed crews by shouting the minimum wage should be hiked to $10.00 and to hell with considering the consequences. Many debating the issue are unaware this is a debate raging in many countries including the most developed.

Xxxxxxxxxxxx

WHAT A BUNCH OF SMALL ISLAND SHITE.

BLP PROMISED 3 YEARS AGO FOR A HIGHER MINIMUM WAGE WITHIN 6 MONTHS NOW COMING 2 1/2. YEARS LATER AFTER PROMISED IMPLEMENTATION PERIOD.

SO THE TIMING COULD NEVER BE WRONG AS LONG LONG LONG OVERDUE.

SECONDLY USA IS DEBATING US$15 OR BD$30 PER HR MINIMUM WAGE WHETHER ONE IS A GAS STATION ATTENDANT, SECURITY GUARD, MAID, GARDENER ETC.

BD$10 OR US$5 IS PEANUTS IN COMPARISON FOR SAME WORK IN THE USA.

THE WORKERS ON THE 2 X 3 ISLAND ARE USED TO BEING EXPLOITED BY THE SAME PEOPLE CRYING OUT NOT THE RIGHT TIME OR TALKING ABOUT INCREASING PRODUCTIVITY.

WHEN ONE PAYS PEANUTS ONE ONLY GETS MONKEYS.

40. David,

I digress here but I know you would be interested in the Kraken Lady’s legal defence statement in the Dominion lawsuit.

Basically she says that “no reasonable person” would have taken her allegations as fact since the legal process had not yet played out.

Ahem! Didn’t Tucker Carlson once answer a lawsuit by claiming that no reasonable person would consider his programme a credible news source?

I guess they both agree with me that the people who swear by them are looneys!

Murdaaaah!

Now back to the topic at hand!

41. “SECONDLY USA IS DEBATING US$15 OR BD$30 PER HR MINIMUM WAGE.”

Costco kicked off the minimum wage in the US at $16.00 per hr, went into effect llast month…that will bring healthy competition in the wages area with AFL-CIO…

small time crooks in Barbados will never want a wages hike, they will pretend they are ok with it then do everything to SABOTAGE the process…the greedy pigs, then still turn around and steal from the treasury, NIS and VAT….and still beg for concessions and relief, and the ignorant, corrupt small time governments go along with it because they are greedy too, hand to mouth and wicked…although they get a decent salary with perks.

42. @Donna

Read it. Let us wish the Dominion lawsuit naming FOX takes it out.

@whoever The blogmaster mentioned that the issue of a national minimum wage is a never ending debate even in developed countries, this is the point.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_countries_by_minimum_wage

43. This too was recent..

“While politicians and lawyers involved in these activities proudly wallow in self-reverence. Dr. Don Marshall, Director of a University of the West Indies think tank, the Sir Arthur Lewis Institute of Social and Economic Studies brought it all into focus, as he editorialized with emphasis in Barbadostoday newspaper that since achieving independence in 1966, both governments have consistently up to this day failed Black businesses. He further implored current lawmakers to strive to break the cycle and asserted that people have always suffered at the hands of minorities who use the centuries-old classless colonial tactic of inhibiting Black progress to their advantage.” Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved.

44. William…there are those who don’t know the difference between a struggle and a FULL BLOWN WAR…..meant to keep the majority Black population under subjugation, oppression and suppression..

.they have learned NOTHING after 400 YEARS….their ancestors must be in tears…

45. As wunna all know I am no theoretician, so as usual let me keep it real. Let me go directly to the personal. About a year ago I hired a “small black businessman” to do my yardwork. His three workmen showed up at 1:12 p.m. yesterday and left at 1:34p.m. I paid the bossman online $100 BDS. The men did a good job. I do not have to buy tools nor fuel. I do not have to do any administrative work. I am satisfied. If the workmen get paid $10 per hour or MORE from the boss for the work done at my home they DESERVE it.

Just after the beginning of the 21st century and ending at the end of the first quarter of 2006 our family had to hire a domestic worker to provide elder care, cooking, house cleaning, laundry, assist with baths. The lady hired quite sensibly said “I cannot do it for less than $50 BDS per day, and you must pay the national insurance” We did. Subsequently we asked her if she would be willing to work for 4 hours every other Saturday if we paid her time and a half. She agreed. So $250 one week and $300 the other, so about $1,100 per month in 2006.

So EXACTLY fifteen years later some Bajan employers are still paying $1,000 per month and objecting to paying more?

46. NorthernObserver Avatar

I propose BU gives WW&C, or more recently WARU, her own dedicated thread to continue her important work. To have that important body of work scattered among various threads is a waste.

47. If people don’t have money to spend then businesses can’t thrive.

48. NorthernObserver Avatar

Unsure why the BPSA stance is this thread’s title line. This is the best time, for they can blame any of the fall out on the pandemic. It is called MANAGING your costs. And finding solutions.

49. if anyone wants a job that pays 4 us dollars per hour so much as to give up your time your ambitions your self respect , by all means keep it.