Encouraging signs are to be seen of late from trending reflected on the Barbados Covid 19 Situation Report. Yesterday recorded 9 reported positive cases with the positivity rate falling below 2%. Compared to Jamaica, Bermuda and The Bahamas to use three regional examples of service economies highly dependent on traffic from outside of country, Barbadians, including the government have done a good job to clawback from the precipice which beckoned a few weeks ago when all COVID hell broke loose.

Another encouraging sign is the rapid rate of penetration of Barbadians vaccinated. It has been reported that 1st dose stock of vaccinations were exhausted this week and the country is waiting on the next shipment to restart inoculation to satisfy high demand.

Clearly given the unknowns associated with COVID 19 and the virulent nature of the virus Barbadians cannot allow themselves to be lulled into complacency. The state of the economy combined with COVID fatigue by citizens everywhere must continue to motivate us to listen to the health officials in whom we must trust.

Congratulations Barbadians!

183 responses to “COVID 19 Update – Well Done Bajans!”

1. David

At a time when vaccines are more available is it not less than good management to have run out.

In addition, we still have the thorny issue of variants to contend with. Be careful with your assessments. Remember, most governments have thus far been feckless.

2. Congratulation are indeed warranted for the government and people of Barbados on the achievement of this goal. Special mention must also be accorded Minister Bostic, the lead doctors and all front like workers whose sacrifices made this possible. This just goes to show what we can achieve when we work together as a team and pull in the same direction and all at the same time. The challenge now is to be able to maintain this unity in holding Covid at bay.

With Easter just around the corner, it would be in the interest of all parties concerned if the government would give an early indication of the direction it intends to take rather than wait for the Thursday before Good Friday to so do.

3. Panch, I believe that it has been said on numerous occasions that the vaccine was on order for quite some time but government has no control over when orders are filled. Further, government has said that our (Barbados) order is so small compared to global demand that we had to group our request through a regional organization in order for our request to have any impact.

Keep in mind that there are countries throughout the globe who are yet to see their first vaccine delivered.

4. Before anyone breaks out the champagne isn’t this “congratulations” a bit premature? What percentage of Bajans have been vaccinated? I know some that haven’t, either because they have never received a call after being registered and a few because of vaccine hesitancy.

In North American terms its like spiking the football before they have reached the end zone, and haven’t we been here before with many praising the Gov’t for its handling of COVID until either the ill-fated bus ride or the tourists liming at bars in St. James.
    Remember the adage, “Don’t count your chickens…….”

5. The reduction in the number of positive COVID-19 cases on the island in the past few weeks could be tied to the fact that significantly fewer persons are being tested.

That admission has come from Chief Medical Officer Dr Kenneth George, who said the reluctance of Barbadians to come forward was one of the main reasons for the reduction in numbers.

He said the Surveillance Unit of the Ministry of Health and Wellness had picked up the substantial drop off and is monitoring the situation.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/03/25/bajans-hedging-bets-with-vaccine-avoiding-tests/

6. @Pacha

You should have a reread. The language used was in the context of where we were a few weeks ago.

Secondly it is not secret small nations have been unable to access vaccines from those approved. Barbados is not alone.

From all reports the COVAX order should be with us soon, a few countries in the Caribbean have received their allotment.

7. @Sargeant

The report is posted, Barbados has a population just under 300 thousand. Do the math. The penetration is much higher that the developed countries.

8. @ David,

did you read what Dr. George said about fewer test ?

9. @Hants

Yes, we must test more. For the moment we have to go with what is before us.

Bajans, hedging bets with vaccine, avoiding tests – Bajans, hedging bets with vaccine, avoiding tests: https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/03/25/bajans-hedging-bets-with-vaccine-avoiding-tests/

10. @ FearPlay March 25, 2021 8:43 AM

Something of greater concern is that India has just announced the suspension of the exporting of that brand of vaccine until further notice because it has come to the position that home drums will be first to beat in the international vaccination race.

But Barbados can breathe a sigh of relief as the country prepares to endure a period of heat of never felt proportions possibly up to December; after which any number can play as far as Covid-19 and its mutants are concerned.

By that time, hopefully, most Bajans would have been vaccinated for the country’s population to achieve an acceptable stage of herd immunity.

11. @Miller

You should add the PM in one of her many press briefings advised Barbadians discussion about sourcing vaccines has started with China and a couple other countries.

12. Please try not to celebrate to vigorously and remember that there are a number of countries which are registering their third wave.

Take note with what is happening in Kenya. A country that has done so well. Apparently the numbers of covid-19 transmissions has recentlyexploded in the country. It is reported that their hospitals have reached their capacity.

Whilst we wait for vaccine handouts. Strong willed and independent minded Iran and Cuba have produced their own vaccine. They have just commenced trial vaccinations on their own medical professionals. This should be food for thought for Barbados and her citizens.

13. Who wrote that stupid article needs a good cut a..sss

14. FearPlayMarch 25, 2021 8:36 AM

100% AGREE.

TLSN, Kenya’s vaccination percentage to population is extremely low. Mnay European countries, where the third wave is taking place, are also low percentage vaccination.

Pacha,

It is better to vaccinate more people with the first shot, than half that with both. The first shot gives the body a chance to see what the virus looks like. If that keeps more people out of hospital then that is a better approach.

The Barbados government has demonstrated foresight and excellent management of the situation, circumstances considered.

Next step is to get more vaccines. Bear in mind that latest estimates are that some poorer nations will not get vaccinations for a couple of years. Therefore they will rely solely on naturally acquired immunity, with accompanying hospitalisations and deaths.

Well done Barbados!

15. It is good to know that our moderator is also on the right, neutral side.

Tron has been predicting since last April, with unwavering loyalty to our Supreme Leader, that we will handle the pandemic brilliantly. That is exactly how it is turning out. We are a celebrated role model internationally.

Thank you, dear Supreme Leader Mia Mottley!

16. Good news was always expected.
    . Masking, hand washing, social distancing and sound covid-19 protocols is the way to go. Regardless of the course of action pursued by the GOB, the risk of a spread in reduced if all safety procedures are followed.

Apply the protocols equally and more people may be tempted to follow them

Note to Mia:
    Any senior official that goes or or promote a “brandy and poonanie”, ‘whiskey and hussy’ or “rum and pum pum” tour should be punished. Leaders should set a good example.

Good Luck

17. Cursoe

There seems to be no discussion about buying the Russian or Chinese vaccines.

They are both much more affordable. However, geopolitics may be taking precedence over health. Western medical organizations have given them approvals.

There is no evidence that a single of the double shot vaccines is efficacious.

18. @Pacha

Those vaccines are included in the COVAX arrangement. We will know the composition at delivery.

19. “It is better to vaccinate more people with the first shot, than half that with both. The first shot gives the body a chance to see what the virus looks like. If that keeps more people out of hospital then that is a better approach”

I think you missed the most important part of that strategy,
    So far I have received just a single shot with the second due sometime in April (4 weeks after the first shot). Before, being vaccinated, I was just going crazy. I even whipped of a nasty email (with my full name) to the state .
    After being vaccinated, I still maintain my safety routine, but my mind is quite a different place.

20. There was a box where one could complain. My complaint was something like this (95% accurate)

All I am getting from you are silly emails and no vaccine. Keep your stupid emails, I do not want them.

I was petulant and I was going crazy, but I have not received an email since

21. There a 10 week recommended wait for the Aztrazeneca vaccine between doses. This is based on scientific data.

22. I got Moderna:
    The available data continue to support the use of two specified doses of each authorized vaccine at specified intervals. For the Pfizer-BioNTech COVID-19 vaccine, the interval is 21 days between the first and second dose. And for the Moderna COVID-19 vaccine, the interval is 28 days between the first and second dose.

23. @Sargeant March 25, 2021 8:51 AM “What percentage of Bajans have been vaccinated?”

My math is not too good, so somebody who is better at that than I am can do that.

Population: 287,632
    Those who have received at lease one dose of the Astra Zeneca vaccine: 62,765
    Those who have already had covid and may have some immunity: 3550
    Those younger than 18 for whom no vaccine is yet available: 54,400
    Those who are antivaccine and may never take the vaccine: 3,500 guesstimate
    We still need to vaccinate about another 163,420 people before we can say that we are nearly there.

Wash your hands
    Wear your masks
    Keep 6 feet or more from others

24. A good read
    https://www.scientificamerican.com/article/is-it-safe-to-delay-a-second-covid-vaccine-dose/
    “he original recommended interval was 21 days between doses for the Pfizer vaccine and 28 days for the Moderna shots, the two currently authorized in the U.S. Now the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention has updated its guidance to say that people can wait up to 42 days between doses, though the agency still advises individuals to stick to the initial schedule. And developers of the University of Oxford–AstraZeneca vaccine—which is authorized for use in the U.K.—suggest even longer stretches are possible, saying their shot performs better when its doses are spaced 12 weeks apart. ”

“Two-shot vaccinations aim for maximum benefit: the first dose primes immunological memory, and the second dose solidifies it, says Thomas Denny, chief operating officer of the Duke Human Vaccine Institute. “You can think of it like a gradient,” he adds. One dose of the Pfizer vaccine can reduce the average person’s risk of getting a symptomatic infection by about 50 percent, and one dose of the Moderna shot can do so by about 80 percent. Two doses of either vaccine lowers the risk by about 95 percent.

25. David
    Aware but countries are also going directly to Russia and China. Just like how Mugabe went directly to India.

26. @Pacha

Auntie Mia go this.

27. @TLSN March 25, 2021 9:41 AM “…Strong willed and independent minded Iran and Cuba have produced their own vaccine…”

True

Iran has a population of 84,773,193, therefore 294 times as many brains to pick. For every Bajan brain, 294 Iranian brains.
    Cuba has a population of 11,321,570, therefore 39 times as many brains to pick. For every Bajan brain, 39 Cuban brains.
    Barbados has a population of 287,632

We trying.

Don’t give up on us yet.

28. Nobody told these poor Indians they could get COVID from water!!

They all tested negative before the pilgrimage where they took a bath in the rivers.

https://www.india.com/news/india/negative-covid-19-test-report-mandatory-for-devotees-attending-kumbh-mela-uttarakhand-high-court-4521329/

Here is the result 2 weeks later!!

https://imgur.com/78i5RoV

29. Here was the situation in India 3 weeks ago before everybody decided to go take a bath!!

https://www.news18.com/news/india/top-american-pandemic-explains-why-covid-cases-plummeted-in-india-3491120.html

30. Both Iran and Cuba are under US illegal sanctions for 40 and 50 years respectively. Barbados has never been.

Maybe if we imposed such sanctions on ourselves we too would exhibit the scientific ingenuity to develop not only vaccines but the vast range of cutting edge items which they have.

31. @Pacha

You know what they say- necessity is the mother of invention.

32. Johnny
    You still selling that one dimensional snake oil bout water!

33. JohnMarch 25, 2021 4:10 PM

Its not the water, John. It’s the mass of pilgrims!
    Yuh tested de water?

34. Sibling in TO, older than 75 got the Pfizer vaccine, a few minutes ago.

35. The Minister of Education, the Honourable Santia Bradshaw is now speaking, Teachers return on 19th April, students beginning on 20 April. A phased return starting with the 11+ class 4’s and the 5th and 6th formers returning first.

1,500 teachers, aides and other ancillary staff and officials of the Ministry of Education have been immunised. This includes the Minister herself who has had well documented health challenges.

36. Students who are not ready for exit exams can defer.

School day shortened.

37. I posted a link where an Indian professor was discussing Sputnik V on the other COVID blog and he said that the Russians had submitted their info on Sputnik V to WHO months before the others came on stream but he hinted that WHO has ignored the Russians (probably due to pro -western sensibilities) but the general Russian population doesn’t trust Sputnik V either, still because of the high demand and low supply of the vaccines produced in the West some countries are going to approach Russia to obtain Sputnik V.

The Russians probably chose the name “Sputnik” to remind the world of their scientific achievement in launching the first man in space.

38. Things like they out of control in India!!

Latest explanation from the experts, its “the old double mutant ” strain!!

I expect that soon they will tell us it is the mutant ninja turtles that are appearing in their rivers biting the pilgrims in their exposed parts.

First time ever India had more than 50,000 cases in a day!!

…… and this country is on top of its vaccination program!!

All sorts of experts heaping praise on it up to 3 weeks ago.

https://indianexpress.com/article/india/coronavirus-live-updates-maharashtra-punjab-delhi-karnataka-lockdown-7242516/

39. Meanwhile Dominica still to record a death, Australia has its spread under control, ANZACS in control, Singapore in control, Bermuda cool even we seem to be in control, …. at least for now.

Even most of Africa cool.

40. “The ministry said up to 40 people were testing positive for COVID-19 daily around the site of the weeks-long Mahakumbh that began this month and peaks in April in the Himalayan holy town of Haridwar, next to the Ganges.

The festival is held only once every 12 years. Organisers have said here more than 150 million visitors are expected, as many Hindus believe bathing in the river during this period absolves people of sins and bring salvation from the cycle of life and death.”

https://www.reuters.com/article/health-coronavirus-india-cases-idUSKBN2BD04N

41. Shades of Chinese New Year, Mardi Gras, St. Patrick’s Day last year, but on steroids with the water dimension!

Still, no expert is able to figure out it spreads by water as well!!

Where is Faucci when you need him?

42. Once India figures out the Chinese are responsible, don’t look for any warm and fuzzy Sino Indian relations in the near future.

43. NorthernObserver Avatar

@SS
    Congrats to your family member.
    Keep following sensible precautions, dis en done yet.
    My precautions are to keep in the woods, and far away from Torunna.

44. PachamamaMarch 25, 2021 4:22 PM Johnny
    You still selling that one dimensional snake oil bout water!

I am beginning to think that ‘John’ is from the past and found some time portal to the present. Whoever he is, used to travel about the Wild West in a caravan selling snake oil medicines.

Maybe he has some ‘Father John’s Spectacular’ remedy to heal Covid. Come in a nice brown bottle with a cork stopper and all.

45. Disgusting Lies & Propaganda TV Avatar
    Disgusting Lies & Propaganda TV

I don’t think anybody is “popping the champagne” just yet but the fact that with community spread, we can beat down the positivity rate to ~5% for all of March 2021 (after it was uncomfortably high for the first half of Feb 2021)is an unqualified success. Added to that the ability to have one fifth of the population vaccinated with “free” vaccine only 3 months after the vaccines have been made available
    globally can definitely be celebrated . It is a case study of how to manage out a situation. From my observations Barbados have managed the COVID-19 pandemic the best out of the CARICOM and one of the best in the entire Western Hemisphere.
    With the further opening of the country we can hope to maintain this positivity rate and the current number active cases for the rest of the pandemic until “textbook” herd immunity is achieved

46. There is the issue of the quarantine policy that was skewed towards facilitating the tourism sector. This is the big learning.

47. @ Cuhdear Bajan,
    You stated:
    “We trying.
    Don’t give up on us yet.”

Covid-19 should inform us how we in the Caribbean need to combine our forces. What was stopping Caricom from combining its resources with Cuba to research and develop a vaccine for the region.

Cuba appears to the only country within our region carrying out research into sickle cell anemia. A condition largely associated with negro people.

Since the revolution, Cuba has become largely self sufficient. It is country with a make-do-and-mend mentality. When presented with hurdles it does its best to overcome them.

This is why Hal often refers to Barbados as a failed state. A country which prefers to borrow its way out of trouble rather than to innovate its way to a brighter future. A critique which some find unbearable.

48. Don’t count the chickens before they hatch, numerous other jurisdictions looked to have COVID under control only to have significant reoccurance.

49. The vaccines are to be paid for. There is no such thing as a free lunch.

50. Disgusting Lies & Propaganda TV Avatar
    Disgusting Lies & Propaganda TV

@DavicBU re March 26, 2021 7:14 AM

No doubt, but i’m separating it from the actual managing of community spread which has been a reality for most countries. I’m hoping that the bus crawl super spreader event would have beat some sense into the COVID19 doubters (and to Bajans in general) that we are not “immune” to the COVID-19 pandemic. We cannot play with this virus.
    Globally, the pandemic is not yet over by any measure, so Bajans cannot allow any complacency to creep in, but with vaccine production and distribution being ramped up, it is being brought to a slow but eventual end.