Will it be about the quantity or the quality, both in terms of numbers and beneficial contribution when cruise ships finally return to Barbados?

Traditionally of course, we usually only see one or maybe two cruise ships arrive weekly during the long summer months, but come November under post pandemic conditions the Bridgetown Port is thriving with a multitude of cruise ships docking with passenger capacities ranging from 150 up to 6,000 persons plus crew.

Last week the world’s largest cruise line, Carnival Corporation reported a net loss of a staggering US$2.2 billion for the fourth quarter of their 2020 financial year. Their website boasts ‘the cruise lines within our portfolio include the most recognised brands in North America, the United Kingdom, Germany, Italy and Australia – areas that account for 85 percent of the world’s cruise passengers’.

Among those brands is Princess, which had no less than seven* of its ships (Grand, Diamond, Coral, Sun, Ruby, Pacific and Regal) involved in serious Covid-19 outbreaks and another two (Emerald and Royal) with suspected cases or given no-sail orders. *source: Wikipedia. Overall, as a consequence of the pandemic, so far Carnival has ‘accelerated the removal of 19, older less efficient ships, 15 of which have already left the fleet’.

To put that in overall perspective, those retired 19 ships represent approximately 13 per cent of pre-pause capacity and three per cent of operating income in 2019. Despite the groups astronomical losses, its chief executive (CEO), Arnold Donald, remains remarkably upbeat , stating ‘2020 has proven to be a true testament to the resilience of our company’.

Adding ‘We took aggressive actions to implement and optimize a complete pause in our guest cruise operations across all brands globally and developed protocols to begin our staggered resumption, first in Italy for our Costa brand, then followed by Germany for our Aida brand’.

‘We are now working diligently towards resuming operations in Asia, Australia, the United Kingdom and United States over the course of 2021’.

‘We are well positioned to capitalize on pent-up demand and to emerge a leaner, more efficient company, reinforcing our industry-leading position’.

At this stage no specific mention of the Caribbean has been made, which for decades has produced their single largest source for sales and passenger numbers, but Mr. Donald is quoted as stating ‘we are working toward having all our ships back in service by the end of the year’.

Clearly, this may encourage our tourism policymakers to plan for the upcoming winter 2021/22 season and to finally evaluate exactly how ‘we’ as a country can justify the massive taxpayer subsidies already spent on our local cruise infrastructure over the past decades, to ensure this ‘investment’ becomes truly cost-effective?

Will the cruise companies remember the overwhelming support given to repatriate passengers and crew during the most challenging times of their entire history, or will this be lost in the wind or stormy seas?

To ensure accuracy, I submitted this column to the media department at Carnival and Princess for any corrections and/or comments prior to submission.

Roger Frizzell, Carnival Corporation’s Senior Vice President and Chief Communications Officer, was gracious enough to respond personally with the following message:

‘We are extremely thankful and greatly appreciative of the assistance and support provided to our cruise lines and crew members during this difficult time’.

119 responses to “Adrian Loveridge Column – Contribution of the Cruise Industry During and Post Covid 19”

1. Whether quantity or quality the results will be the same given history, culture, trajectory.

The more important question must be -why is it so possible for an industry which has been failing for decades could be allowed to continue to hog both tits of the national budget.

2. @Pacha

Your question can be legitimately asked about many things linked to the establishment.

3. Carson C Cadogan Avatar
    Carson C Cadogan

Bring in all the disease Tourists allow them to spread their DISEASE IN BARBADOS where protocols are more lax and BLACK LIVES are not important:

4. David
    True.
    The difference here is that this industry has, come hell or high water, received no end of taxpayer support.

That it continues to so do, we are shut off from possible alternatives. That is a developmental culdesac to be avoided.

5. Carson C Cadogan Avatar
    Carson C Cadogan

“”Another new coronavirus variant found across California, including L.A. County””

LA Times
    Jan. 17, 8.20pm

Where are these cruise ships coming from to enter Barbados??????

6. @Pacha

We have discussed many times the reasons why.

A people unimaginative and lazy in thought?

A group of SIDs marginalized by the MDCs perhaps?

A people addicted to unbridled consumption behaviour?

All the above?

A pragmatic view is that we have to leverage capitalist system to feed the material man, to satisfy basic human needs. This will be the continual struggle until end times.

7. William Skinner Avatar

What about a people doing the same thing over and over and expecting different results ?

8. David

We are unsure whether “end times” should be seen in that way.

However, we should plan for capitalism’s end.

For it is impossible for socalled SIDs to continue to absorb the higher and higher demands extracted as capitalism goes through a downward evolutionary spiral.

9. If the tourism industry does not reach its pre-crisis level within 12-24 months, we will have to cut salaries for civil servants by at least 75 percent.

We can no longer pay wages like in a developed country when our gross national product per capita is lower than that of most African countries.

This as a warning to all those who think they can do without tourists.

Tourism is the new sugar cane, hotels the new plantations, Sandals the new Drax Hall.

10. @William and Pacha

The blogmaster has no issue with the view the definition of change is not being applied in the Caribbean space for whatever reason. It is perplexing.

11. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Adrian
    I began to read this with such anticipation because the headline promised me that you would talk about the “CONTRIBUTION OF THE CRUISE INDUSTRY DURING AND POST COVID 19” to Barbados.

You can sympathise with my disappointment at reading instead about the pathetic attempts by an exploitative and beleaguered cruise ship industry to rescue its own financial fortunes, without a single word about how Barbados might benefit despite the Caribbean being their “single largest source for sales and passenger numbers” and despite “the massive taxpayer subsidies already spent on our local cruise infrastructure over the past decades…”

You are far too kind to the massive boondoggle that is the cruise ship industry in Barbados. It has always been an ecological disaster, a sociological cess pit, and an economic catastrophe. Now in the COVID era it is, in addition, a public health time bomb.

You ask “our tourism policymakers to plan for the upcoming winter 2021/22 season and to finally evaluate exactly how ‘we’ as a country can justify the massive taxpayer subsidies…” but you are among the most experienced tourism experts on the island. Barbados has been good to you and it is now time for you to give back the benefit of your many decades of experience by helping to lead the industry with your wisdom and analysis.

What then @Adrian, should we do with cruise ship industry policy in Barbados?
    1. Expand public investment by building new infrastructure to allow cruise ships to dock at Speightstown, despite the environmental devastation that will be caused by digging and maintaining adequate channels of sufficient draft for those ships.
    2. Allow more cruise ships to home port in Barbados so that we get a few more accommodation dollars from the pre and post cruise overnight stays, despite the cruise ship agenda of using Barbados as a home port to escape Center for Disease Control COVID restrictions on their activities because their current home port is Miami.
    3. Allow the large cruise ships to dock in Barbados without testing and quarantine protocols in place that are exactly the same as visitors arriving by other means, despite the fact that we know from our small cruise ship experiment earlier this year that testing and social distance on cruises does not stop COVID outbreaks.
    4. Shut down all local docking of cruise ships so that the inevitable surges they cause do not catastrophically ruin the embryonic long stay and remote work visitor business that we are building with the Welcome Stamp and other initiatives, given that our revenue from this new business has already surpassed anything we could possibly earn in the future from cruise ship tourism.

12. @Peter

The headline was inserted by the boogmaster.

13. David
    But is there any appetite to go beyond the usual tinkering we’ve always known.

To consider a wider range of policy options, some more radical than others?

14. The legendary ex-BU contributor Bush Tea aptly likened the tourism “industry” (as practiced in Bdos) to prostitution.
    As the prostitute ages and younger more exciting versions emerge, the old head is forced to resort to ever more desperate and risky behaviour in order to attract and retain clientele. We are seeing this clearly now in this pandemic environment. We also saw it with the Sandals give away.

Whatever amount of malarkey the tourism talking heads in B’dos spout the future of tourism is being dictated by public health policy in UK. US. etc.They have little control in the short to mid term.

In order to earn the equivalent pre-Covid spend, more and more giveaways are necessary. What is the acquisition cost of per UK tourist? Per US tourist?

15. Barbados’s last money making success story was SUGAR, run by white plantocrats and off shore governments financing for BENEFITS. Then came INDEPENDENCE and things started a roller coaster ride to four(4) financial failures in 65 years. Small independant nations whining about slavery and continually playing the BLAME GAME and devoid of entrepreneur thinking are destined to Haitian status sooner or later.

16. On the cruise industry, the evidence is clear that they engage in regulatory and tax arbitrage and contribute very little on a net basis. There are ample studies that show this. I’m surprised that this is still a debate in Barbados.

17. Not Wily Enough Coyote,

With free labour and later pittance wages anybody of any colour can make a profit!

Totally disingenuous argument rooted in white supremacy.

Cannot let you get away with that!

You come with that shite EVERY TIME!

I see you.

18. Does Adrian whine? Yes he does.

Black Barbadians have a reason to whine. The only reason I discourage it is because it wastes the time and energy we need to beat the system. And I believe we can beat it! But it requires ALL of our time and energy.

BECAUSE THE SYSTEM IS RIGGED AGAINST US AND HAS BEEN SINCE THE DAYS OF SLAVERY.

SO…we are allowed to chastise each other but we will tolerate no such thing from white supremacists our oppressors.

They have no right!

We have to be super human to achieve what white humans take for granted!

19. @Donna

Wily rests his case, you follow the tired old white slavery supremacy argument.

20. @Pacha

This blogmaster is of the view many of our problems are traced to the islands operating as standalones.

21. @ Pacha
    Sooner or later you and others will come to the common sense conclusion that we have to solve our own problems and those that are imposed on us. Our intellectual power must be creatively used to achieve a new and vibrant Caribbean. Anything else is a lazy and shortsighted .
    view on all counts.
    We need a cultural shift driven by intellectual competence and a desire for true regional unity.
    Otherwise we just wasting time.

22. @ Donna
    Are you saying it’s better to be bitten by your own dog?

23. My wife;s grandfather was run over walking on the road by a truck in front of a rum shop, remarkably everyone in the area went blind, so I do not understand why anything on the island is a worry, all the car wrecks that seem to be coming your way just do a Helen Keller.

24. @ David January 18, 2021 10:31 AM

That’s exactly how it is. If Barrow had not been so arrogant, ideologically inflamed and mediocre, he would not have pushed for independence with all his might. Independence is the mother of all evils on the island.

Without independence, we would have a black government today, but no administrative overhead with our own military, embassies, etc., and could beg headquarters in London for money in any emergency.

Look at the Caribbean islands that remained with France and the Netherlands and compare them to the now independent, formerly British islands. A difference like night and day. The French islands have the EUR and are financially supported by Paris. Bridgetown, on the other hand, is a run-down poorhouse.

25. @ Tron

How about Bermuda?

26. Wily does not understand what he reads. Donna exhorts her people to stop whining and deal with the reality. That does not mean that the reality is not the reality. We have to come from waaaaay behind. White people had one magic formula – the gunpowder you stole from the Chinese and repurposed.

If you don’t admit that then you are part of the problem.

But is long time I see you and your twisted arguments.

They shall not be allowed to stand.

27. And now I rest my case.

28. DonnaJanuary 18, 2021 9:59 AM

But what I realise is that it is not only Barbados that has to deal with a change in perspective, if it is to develop in a positive way.

Sure, Barbados has to also deal with the issue of years of brutality. But other places have to deal with the issue of allocation of resources, capital and labour.

That is where Trump was politically birthed. Because there were those who saw the Clinton and Obama years as moving the country towards a more equitable distribution of assets and empathetic way of life, which was not to their liking. They used Trump as the answer.

The answer that few billionaires came to, in order t address the swing towards true democracy and social reform was to push a hardline president. Many saw Trump’s seeming animosity to Obama and his desire to destroy anything that the Clinton / Obama era produced.

That was only the face of it. It was an agenda being pushed by those who helped Trump into office. The conservative far right. They do not want the USA to develop social programs to assist the under privileged. They see the country as their playground, to make money, to control. Labour to them is just a unit of production, not people. Not men and women with families, not love, not lives lived.

This is the first step t understanding the Trump years. Knowing that it was contrived to return the USA to the capitalists only, not just first and foremost, but only.

The nincompoops running on the Capitol were only stupid cannon fodder. There was no benefit for them. They were led into thinking that there could be, because it was what they wanted to hear.

The real beneficiaries are the capitalists.

However, the capitalists will still make money under the democrats. That is the way of the USA. It is just that the Democrats have a more inclusive and sustainable approach to profits.

The far right way can only end in destruction.

The same thing has happened over the pond, in the UK. The Tories are systematically dismantling the social services. They have managed to convince the working class man that it is in his interest to do so.

But that is the whole ideology of the Tory party, just as the far right Republicans.

Their wish is for hard capitalism. It is thus at this point that the stakeholders, including labour (the people), need to assess what the future should hold for them and what direction the country should take.

Unfortunately, recently the news media has been run by the same far right billionaires, in both the UK and USA, pushing the far right agenda. The manipulation has been significant. Perception, isn’t that what a famous Barbadian politician said, that it is all about perception?

29. Fool wants to rewrite history and deny what we are seeing playing out worldwide! All over the world the truth is finally being acknowledged and one fool thinks he can put the dirty toothpaste back in the tube.

Good luck with that!

30. This is the fallacy the white supremacists always seek to advance – when you tell the truth over and over again it becomes tired and therefore less true.

Steupse!

31. @ Hal Austin January 18, 2021 12:05 PM

Bermuda? Bermuda confirms as an exception (British overseas territory) the rule case (islands independent of Great Britain). GDP per capita is twice as high in Bermuda as it is here.

Let’s not misunderstand each other: I am also in favor of our island population being self-governing, especially that no minority rules the majority. Also, the British as a civilization are not superior to the blacks in the south. But we would have needed a financially intelligent solution, not an ideological one. Mia Mottley is the first Prime to recognize that Barbados cannot survive on its own as a small nation. The solution is “Barbados as a global brand” now that we cannot reverse independence.

32. “Barbados as a global brand”

What does this mean?

33. Saw this and wanted to share

Quotes The truth is still the truth even if no one believes it. A lie is still a lie, even if everyone believes it.

34. @ Dullard January 18, 2021 12:55 PM

Barbados as a brand means that (1) anyone can buy this product, provided they are wealthy and comply to our standards; (2) we are not a sealed-off nation, but a global village and thus part of the global society.

Nationalism and nation are the social concepts of the past. Globalism and global governance are the concepts of tomorrow.

35. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Tron January 18, 2021 12:01 PM
    The “mother of all whatever” is a rhetorical construction which denotes both much larger scale and, to a lesser extent, prior location along a historical timeline.

Your assertion that “Independence is the mother of all evils on the island” must therefore be taken to mean that you consider independence to be a much greater historical evil than the enslavement of African peoples, the genocide of the middle passage, and the White supremacist ideology which powered those evils.

This positions you as (a) as evil as John Knox or any other KKK adherent, (b) the most self delusional person that I have encountered so far in my 64 years, or (c) a satirist of such subtlety and cunning that you use reductio ab absurdum concealed within an almost impenetrable veneer of versum ineptias.

36. @ peterlawrencethompson January 18, 2021 1:14 PM

You insult the intellect of your readers.

Of course, my phrase refers only to the 20th century because I want to blame everything that went wrong after 1966 on the DLP.

Indeed, the injustice of slavery was historically the greatest crime. Likewise, I strongly support restitution for those crimes.

However, we must not turn a blind eye to the economic crimes committed against the black masses by numerous nationalist governments in Barbados since 1966.

37. William Skinner,

No. I am saying that family members can speak in certain ways to one another. We have a shared experience. We carry the same burden. I will not allow us to be lectured by one who does not. It’s sorta like the “n” word. Sounds different depending on who delivers it.

We do need to put away the whining and put our heads together and fight.

Taking to the streets, marching, chanting, dancing like the South Africans against the rigged system is productive. Whining is not.

In the meantime, we can join forces and make progress financially.

We can walk and chew gum, can’t we?

38. I think Tron might be (c). He is very good actually. Makes me laugh despite myself.

Sometimes I think he is some sort if instigator meant to awaken the masses.

39. @PT

Tron telling Truths obviously getting under your skin, time to read what’s he’s saying and get off the ideological band wagon. Tron and Wily basically on the same page, philosophies may vary, however we can see that civil service requires a significant downsizing(60%), Black management of independence has been a FAILURE and the SOCIALIST philosophies are not appropriate for small resource limited states.

40. Afterthought –

You do know that I share your One Caribbean dream. Have you any information on the association recently formed by manufacturers in the region? Do you think it could be helpful and if so, in what way?

41. Stress on the black management. White “management” was only successful because they had a big stick in hand.

White-run countries with all the gains they made from slavery are still in a bloody mess. Ask Tron what he thinks about them. You will be surprised.

42. William H Harriss Avatar
    William H Harriss

Would Adrian Loverage please contact me at william.h@reddiamondhotelawards.com

43. There was a time I would have given Tron an a). With the passage of time, I now give him a strong c).

The way he writes will push buttons. Horrifying and outrageous at times and sometimes a good laugh.

44. @ Wily Coyote January 18, 2021 1:38 PM
    @ Donna January 18, 2021 1:41 PM

The fact that the masses of the population in Barbados are black and many entrepreneurs are white is not a law of nature, but is due to historical circumstances.

There is no such thing as black or white governance, society or bussiness, only good and bad. To claim that good govrnance or entrepreneurship is inherently white and government failure black would indeed be the logic of racism.
    The sprawling, costly welfare state, the lack of entrepreneurs, the lack of foreign currency, the one-sided focus on tourism, the lack of competitiveness due to the overvalued dollar – these are not ideological phrases, but very real problems.

45. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Wily CoyoteJanuary 18, 2021 1:38 PM
    “@PT
    Tron telling Truths obviously getting under your skin…”
    I read BU mainly for Tron’s commentary… I sometimes prod him to drop the satirical cloak as he does here in his 2:17 PM contribution which states our dilemma in stark and lucid terms.

46. William Skinner Avatar

Your handling of Willie was excellent !
    As for the new manufactruing grouping, I read a bit about it. Actaully I don’t think we have a choice other than to look regionally. Just this morning I was in an Asian market and I saw wines from what they call plums . For years , there have been people making all kinds of wines in Barbados,but they were never taken seriously. Golden apple wine is better than most I have tasted. Then we have mango wine and I could go on and on.
    When I come across more information on the regional manufacturing effort , I would share it.

47. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@TronJanuary 18, 2021 2:17 PM
    “The sprawling, costly welfare state, the lack of entrepreneurs, the lack of foreign currency, the one-sided focus on tourism, the lack of competitiveness due to the overvalued dollar – these are not ideological phrases, but very real problems.”
    ++++++++++++++++
    BINGO! Now… what then shall we do about it? Complaining about the politicians is diversion for fools… acknowledging the historical roots of our sick society in colonialism and enslavement is similarly impotent.

It is pointless mental masturbation to enumerate our obvious problems without using some sort of analytical tool to try to chart a productive way forward. The time has come when we must move beyond simply telling truths… we must move on to building a better future.

48. William,

Just recently I suggested to my best friend’s daughter that she try using those local wines with her “Valentine’s Sweet Treat Package” instead of the foreign wines. She has recently started a business after being disappointed with the hotel industry.

49. Many of us have ideas. Many of them have been ventilated. Individually we try to do our little bit. But government buy in and facilitation and mobilisation of the people is necessary for wholesale change.

50. @Donna

One sense Peter is pushing for citizens and NGOs to create strategic alliances from outside the established way of managing to create that change.