The blogmaster has sympathy for small open, tourist dependent countries. Developing countries with meagre resources that were struggling to manage poorly performing economies have been struck for SIX with the onset of COVID 19 pandemic. The challenge for governments to implement policies which balance shoring up livelihoods with public health priorities is real.

The blogmaster will not enter the toxic arena of blame gaming. At this juncture it is not a constructive exercise. Unlike New Zealand, Australia and a few other countries which are commodity driven economies and can support an aggressive quarantine protocol, Barbados has been caught out by operating at the margin which conflicts with the proposal from the local medical association of doctors (BAMP). The proverbial between a rock and a hard place.

• Have we made mistakes managing the pandemic, YES.
  • Did the country become complacent, YES
  • Do we need to find ways to earn hard currency, YES.
  • Do we need to ensure COVID 19 screening is robust to adequately protect residents, YES.
  • Do we need to ensure authorities enforce laws to signal to those who compromise public health safety are penalized, YES.
  • Do we need to make the local economy less reliant on services, YES.
  • Have successive governments been unimaginative and lazy in charting a more sustainable economic path for the country post independence, YES.

The blogmaster could have added several more bullets to the list.

The harsh reality is that the country is ‘broke’ and to close the country again if it can be avoided to “keep out the virus’ as some promote is silly. The COVID 19 virus will be with us for the foreseeable future. Even if 100% of people take the vaccine health experts are unsure how new strains/variants may compromise the process. Even if the vaccine is 100% effective it will take possibly two to three years to immunize the global population to achieve heard immunity level. Then there is the issue of countries operating outside the purview of WHO like China, Russia…

Obviously Barbadians are concerned given the recent surge in COVID 19 positive cases. It is what it is, we have to deal with what is before us and move on. Have a look at the BU Sidebar Covid 19 Tracker and COVID 19 Update Page. Barbados is not waging the COVID 19 battle alone.

The government needs to ensure that our COVID 19 protocol is relevant/fit for purpose.

Residents need to ensure we adhere to the health protocol – wear your mask properly, wash your hands and physical distance please!

We can do this Bajans!

#rally

685 responses to “Fighting the Good Fight Against Covid 19”

1. Here comes the #throwashadecrew who are living in covid infested countries. Specifically the US and UK.

Will the Real Bajans please raise yuh hand.

2. I listened to most of the conference but yet to hear any of the talkers say that people must PAY MORE CARE TO THE ELDERLY, particularly those with underlying conditions and are most vulnerable.

]..everyone is not like me cause i would point a gun at ya face ya ever come near me….see what gets ya first…..even family members know there is a distance to be kept.

PROTECT THE ELDERLY…don’t expose them to ya infected selves..

3. “who are living in covid infested countries. Specifically the US and UK.”

specifically the countries being pimped for tourists, ya can’t have it both ways….diversify the economy or keep the infection spread…variant and all.

“That is retribution for slavery!”

explain???

4. Wuh loss and Mia invited the people from COVID infested countries to come and live in Barbados
    A country that has a large percentage of the elderly
    Now the umbrella man talks about shade throwers from the infected country

5. @ David January 20, 2021 12:44 PM

As a globalist AND patriot, I raise my hand!

6. @ WURA-War-on-U January 20, 2021 1:26 PM

The British used to lock up the Africans in Drax Hall, now the descendants of the Africans quarantine and torture the British with the bad food in the Hilton.

7. I heard Emmanuel Joseph ask Mia if she don’t think that allowing visitors in from high risk countries is putting people in Barbados at risk and she said ..”no, next question.”

we are hoping for the best, but that forceful answer makes sure that should things go sideways, no, “we all won’t be going down together” as she also asserted, she’ll be taking that dive to the bottom all by herself…

8. It was a rude, arrogant and contemptuous reply. Then she looked away. Awful.

9. It was a rude, arrogant and contemptuous reply. Then she looked away. Awful.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

NOW YOU SEE WHY HER SURROGATES AND THE BLOGMASTER BEHAVE THE WAY THEY DO,

10. But then again the blp thinks bajans are idiots
    Hence her response falls in line with such thinking

11. Mia’s response to Emmanuel Joseph is now a social media meme. She could have elaborated, but the “no..next question” answer….smacked of not caring what people think, it was her time to shine, not go all disconnected.

12. Sounds like a page out of Trump play book
    What a dam shame

13. Is there a link for the press conference. Would love to watch.

14. Seems as if Covid-19 and US politics took all the oxygen out of the room.

Wura, corruption investigator, has been drawn in

15. And the big lie continues
    No community spread

Management at Courts and Servitech say the work stoppage earlier today was not a form of industrial action, but rather a COVID-19 positive case.

Trisha Tannis, managing director of parent company Unicomer, said they were following health and safety protocols.

“There was no [industrial action]. Management was made aware of a positive COVID case and asked the staff not to enter until we received guidance from the Ministry of Health. All staff were screened and a small number sent for testing. The operation reopens on Friday morning after the bank holiday,” she said.

Workers did not report in this morning and were seen in and around the compound. Potential customers were turned away as he entrance was blocked by cones. (CA)

16. Missed the press conference. Were the figures updated? If not, what explanation was given?

17. There is a pattern with black face politicians, when they’re picking up Black people’s money by the tens of millions to give to minority crooks in the social partnership, they make a big splash and boast, but when it’s time for the Black population to get access to THEIR OWN MONEY…there is ALWAYS a …we can’t do this, we can’t do that, we have to do only what we can and a litany of LIES…..no wonder billions is missing from the economy and Black people don’t have a dime of it….the wretched of parliament act as if the money belongs to the social partnership of thieves…..

but…’

there is not enuff in the social partnership to reelect anyone to the parliament…still gotta come back to the Black population to BEG THEM FOR THEIR VOTES…

tiktock, it’s soon 2023.

18. A bunch of clusters running govt

A rehearsal of the same except health officials had to admit that an individual having underlying conditions and becomes infected with Covid
    The death would be treated as a COVID case number

19. Theo…go on barbadostoday page, the press conference is there.

20. Of course they will find ways to suck money out of your pocket, until they screw up the new gimmick too..

Theo…if you dont see the press conference it was removed to put up some kinda useless boastful shite in it’s place, that i wont waste time reading.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/01/20/health-passport-ready/

21. Police should investigate whether the opposition has anything to do with the new COVI19 death. This cannot be completely ruled out after all the agitation.

22. Disgusting Lies & Propaganda TV Avatar
    Disgusting Lies & Propaganda TV

Re the supporters of Barbados’ closing it borders as COVID-19 prevention measure. .At what point would you reopen the borders…..when the vaccines have had sufficient worldwide penetration? WHO would determine that?? that but more importantly how long would it take for that determination to come? supposed it had taken 2+ years to develop the vaccines ??? can Barbados afford to close borders for an indeterminate period?? Literally what logic would be used and how long would it take to reopen the doors once it has been closed. For the present circumstances surrounding this virus, border closures in my opinion was always a “sledgehammer to crack a nut” solution. The equivalence of strangling oneself as a cure for the cold. It is a very last resort measure to implement.

Dr. Ralph Gonsalves stated that “curfews, lockdowns and states-of emergencies don’t work”, that “current restrictions and regulations will be tightened and managed more closely and, where necessary and desirable, his government will ramp up the restrictions and controls”. Although I agree with his statement at a basic level, the impression might be given that he conceded defeat to the virus. The aim is to strike a balance between allowing economic activity WHILE REDUCING the virus spread. The logic for night time curfews is sound and more pragmatic than for example a daytime curfew or daily stay at home order. Most people socialize when they leave work. Therefore night time curfews allows for necessary (and temporary) social interaction during working hours(between customer & employees), more people at work mean less people doing the “less than necessary”( prolonged) social interaction during the day and reducing the “less than necessary” social interaction that MOSTLY occurs at night. It has nothing to do with the virus spreading easier at night which is nonsense.
    In my mind, this virus is so pervasive that local\community spread would have be a eventuality in every country in the world
    The tactic NOW as it should have always been for every country from the BEGINNING of this pandemic is to reduce the number of ACTIVE CASES in any period to place less of a burden on medical facilities hence aid in the saving of lives. Barbados now has more active cases than some larger countries e.g. Australia and New Zealand, but that is expected to be transient and eventually go down . In these two countries they have now managed the virus to the extent that they can allow limited attendance to sports facilities in their countries. It means that a MATURE, MANAGED response can be successful in combating this virus.

23. @ Disgusting Lies & Propaganda TV January 20, 2021 7:51 PM

Thank you, DLP Antigen, for your valuable, neutral contribution against the opposition’s inflammatory smear campaign! If Donville or Chris were in power now, we would have to feed all the COVID19 bodies to the sharks.

In about 2 weeks, the clusters will be eradicated. The opposition should already practice now to apologize for the evil agitation.

24. @Hal Austin January 20, 2021 10:41 AM “The management of the CoVid crisis has been incompetent”

Why don’t you tell us how brother Boris & Co. have been managing? Have they been incompetent? No comment on the Covid19 response in the place where you and your lived ones love? What happened? The cat got your tongue?

3,505,754 Covid19 cases in the United Kingdom, including 38,905 new cases

93,290 Covid19 deaths in the UK, including 1820 new deaths

1,840,945 active cases of Covid19 in the UK, including 3,947 who are in serious or critical condition

51,491 Covid 19 cases per million people in the UK; 1,370 Covid19 deaths per million people in the UK.

Barbados 4,020 Covid19 cases per million people; 31 Covid19 deaths per million people in Barbados.

The UK’s infection rate is 12.8 times higher than Barbados’

The UK’s death rate is 44 times higher than Barbados’

And not a word from Hal.

But we can still catch up with the UK if we play the @ss.

So we must still:

ONE: Wash hands

TWO: Wear masks which cover BOTH our mouths and our noses

THREE: Keep at least 6 feet away from other people

We can’t can’t say “no Covid ’bout here” until there is no covid anywhere in the world.

We are truly all in this together.

I too have family in the UK, the USA, Canada, and in many countries of the Caribbean.

Their worry is my worry.

25. @ Cuhdear Bajan,

You do realise that for every single Barbadian there exists 200 Brits. A large majority of these Brits live in cities.

It should be far easier to manage and maintain covid-19 on such a small island like Barbados. Please stop trying to score cheap points as it serves no purpose.

26. @TLSN January 20, 2021 8:44 PM “@ Cuhdear Bajan, You do realise that for every single Barbadian there exists 200 Brits.”

My response: Yes I do realize, which is why I quoted cases per million people.

The United Kingdom has had 1,370 Covid19 deaths per million people, while Barbados has had 31 deaths per million people yet not a word from Hal nor from you accusing UK health officials of being incompetent.

@TLSN January 20, 2021 8:44 PM It should be far easier to manage and maintain covid-19 on such a small island like Barbados.”

My response: True. And Barbados’ covid response is so much better than the UK’s that our mortality/death rate is 44 times LOWER than the UK’s, and not a word from Hal or from you about the UK’s response. And this is not to boast, because things can still go really, really badly if we refuse to wear masks correctly, wash our hands with soap and warm water or an alcohol based hand sanitiser, and if we refuse to keep our social distance.

Cudear Bajan, completely non political, and who has close friends and relatives all over the Caribbean, Europe and North America, so no “agenda” here except sending “this covid monster back into the bushes from whence it came.” Because none of us is safe, until all of us are safe.

I wish you well.

27. @ Cuhdear Bajan January 20, 2021 10:11 PM

Thank you for supporting our Supreme Leader and her rightful government!

28. I wonder what you and Hal would say if instead of 9 deaths, we had had 44 times as many.

44×9=396

Almost certainly if Barbados had had 396 deaths by now some of those people would have been your relatives and mine, and Hal’s and Baje’s too.

I am thankful that a family friend was seriously ill last week, is better and at home now.

29. @Tron January 20, 2021 10:15 PM @ Cuhdear Bajan January 20, 2021 10:11 PM “Thank you for supporting our Supreme Leader and her rightful government!”

I don’t think she is Supreme, and I am pretty certain that she does not think so of herself either. But I believe that our health officials and our political officials have been doing a pretty decent job in very, very difficult circumstances. And it is our duly and honestly elected government, not her government. We the taxpayers, both local and foreign pay everybody and for everything.

I wish us all well, and I will continue to :

Wash my hands
    Wear my mask
    Keep my 6 foot distance

Cuhdear Bajan
    Completely Non-partisan

30. TLSNJanuary 20, 2021 8:44 PM

And if you read my population adjusted example, comparing Jamaica to Barbados, you would see that deaths to date in Jca are roughly four times that of Barbados.

Jamaica is also an island.

31. yardfowls are going to die being stupid, never listen to yardfowls, they’re a stain on the earth, skid marks..

32. So PM says NO to closing the borders
    What she does not realise is that control is the main reason many are asking for such policy
    Think about the school system which has all been in lockdown and children schooling on line still cannot access adequate technological equipment for proper learning
    The time is long past due for govt to take a hard look on the educational damage that is happening to the school children
    Keeping our borders open would continue to be a negative impact on our educational system as it keeps the future of our children in limbo
    The PM needs to look further beyond the impact of the economy and look at the future with which an economy cannot survive without a strong educational system if the education of the children become drawfed because of govt failure to recognize

33. Critical Analyzer Avatar

There is nothing wrong with open borders.

What is wrong is there is no preventative treatment being told to the public. Our per patient treatment costs for COVID needs to a few dollars instead of the thousands it has to be currently.

Where is the discussion of medical treatment?

34. NorthernObserver Avatar

The travel fallout continues
    “A member of Ontario’s COVID-19 vaccine distribution task force has resigned from her role after travelling outside of the country during the holidays.
    Linda Hasenfratz, CEO of auto-parts manufacturer Linamar Corporation, on Tuesday said she spoke with Premier Doug Ford and retired General Rick Hillier, who chairs the task force, and made the “difficult decision” to step down from her role. She said she did not want her travel to “cause distraction” from the work of the task force, which is helping to chart Ontario’s vaccine rollout plan.
    The Globe and Mail inquired on Tuesday about Ms. Hasenfratz’s travel after learning that she was in Barbados over the holidays. Ms. Hasenfratz did not say in her statement where she travelled. Public health officials have for months been urging Canadians to avoid non-essential travel.
    “While it is true that I travelled outside the country over the holidays, I followed all pandemic protocols of both countries and remain in quarantine today as public health guidelines require,” Ms. Hasenfratz said in a statement to the Globe and Mail.
    “I regret my decision to travel, and I apologize to the Premier, General Hillier and members of the Task Force for any impact this may have had on their work.” (quote)
    There are also a host of social media, particularly Instagram, serial posters who haven’t been seen in weeks. you KNOW they travelled, and posting pics in a sunshine destination, or with a tan for the fairer skinned ones, it currently a ‘bad thing’.

35. Cuddear agree with you.By whatever comparison anyone uses Barbados has done very well in terms of controlling the death rate in Barbados to 9 persons.There are persons on here like Austin , Baje, Dullard, Tsln, Waru and a few more who reside in countries who are yet to have control over infections and deaths but they are health experts in running their mouths in giving authorities in Barbados what they should do.Save the advice for your own countries if those persons which to hear any thing from you.Let bajans here in the failed state solve their own problems.I wonder if any of you have family or friends here?Some of you shouting close the borders.Tell us how would we earn foreign exchange to run the country to provide pensions to the elderly and medicines to the hospitals or provide buses or garbage collections to the society.Private sector companies would have to close sending home more bajans.Is this what some of you want?It is always easy to stand and the sidelines and be critical but very hard in these times to create a balance between lives and livelihoods.In my view the government and the health officials are doing the best they can at the moment and most right thinking bajans are 100% behind them.The time for petty political games is not now but later on.Therefore the overseas gloomers can take a hike.

36. Northern difficult decision to step down.. the conversation probably went like this
    Do you think they will catch me,
    The Bo Derek hair do may tip them off
    Arcand the quebec MNA didnt leave when he traveled to barbados
    Yeah but he is a man and a liberal you can do black face and hang around in that party
    What if I say I was seeing how they are handling their vaccination roll out on the island
    Ha Ha Ha
    okay I resign.

37. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Lawson…..Since it was a Provincial body and not a federal one, maybe the question was “are you going to ram a firecracker up my ying-yang”?

38. “Tell us how would we earn foreign exchange to run the country to provide pensions to the elderly and medicines to the hospitals or provide buses or garbage collections to the society.”

yall falsely claim to be the most educated people in the Caribbean if not the world…so why would anyone have to tell ya how to go about diversifying an economy…we have long known that yall don’t have the first clue…OR IT WOULD’VE BEEN DONE ALREADY….unless ya really TOO STUPID AND CORRUPT.TO SEE WHERE YALL ARE HEADED.

at this time, no one who understands give a shit anymore…..Black/Africans in Barbados have options, the only way they won’t is if they don’t want them…that’s on them..

BTW… FacetoFace Africa ran an article…hope yall ain’t planning to rob the Liberians with ya lies, deceit and tiefing minorities in the we gathering scam….or someone will have to tell them what to expect…the good thing about Liberians, they don’t fcuk around and would through down a civil war and kill all you tiefing fcukers.

39. What goes into any of their heads optics is everything, if things aren’t going as expected don’t compound the problem by letting the idiots undermine you. Ford had his own cottage incident but I am really tired of being lectured to, doing my part in hunkering down as much as I can and watch the ones at the top flaunt the rules. I was going to the island twice , spain,england ,scotland this year cancelled sometrips had some cancelled on me, there is no I in team we are all in it together supposedly. I think the maddest I have been seeing that putz trudeau in a picture at harrington lake after telling us not to go to our cottages on the quebec side. Rules for thee but not for me.

40. Waru why not just do what you guys always do wait till some one comes up with a new or good idea then copy it, I saw gweneth paltrow on the news this morning, which reminds me, how are your smell like my asshole candle sales going.

41. “Waru why not just do what you guys always do wait till some one comes up with a new or good idea then copy it.’

you mean TIEF IT,..

i don’t know, why dont ya ask ya boyfriend.

42. Happy Errol Barrow Day if only he could be here to address our present mirror image
    Our educational system in crisis
    The childrens future hangs between an economic boondoggle and a Covid crisis
    Leadership lost without having viable solutions having an answer which can affect a sustainable economy negatively and topple the fragile health system
    The question of what mirror image barbadians have of themselves is just as relevant and important today as when Barrow asked of the people themselves

43. Waru lol glad you still have your sense of humor

44. Wash your hands
    Wear your mask. And “yes” you should wear your mask even at home if you or members of your household are going out to work etc., or when you have visits by “others” to your home.
    Keep your 6 foot distance

It isn’t that hard people.

45. Barrow would have kept the borders opened under the same conditions that currently exist.

46. @ angela cox January 21, 2021 10:15 AM

My sincere condolences to all on Remembrance Day! Today we commemorate the founder of the DLP, the party which is responsible for the whole economic mess.

It would be best to abolish this day as a public holiday and celebrate 1 October instead.

47. the problem with home schooling / lack of technological equipment etc is not unique to Barbados and is more prevalent throughout the world than you can imagine.

its a PANDEMIC.

48. Barrow was a regionalist
    Most likely he would have COVID as an opportunity for all Carribbean nations to come together and build an economic empire upon which they can be economically self reliant without having to ask the big international countries to hold their hands during times of economic crisis