It will be worth the time to study Walter’s brief odyssey into local politics to extract learnings;

David, Blogmaster
Walter Blackman,
Actuary and Social
Commentator Extraordinaire

If we are going to extract learnings, we need to look at the dots and connect them. I have reaped no success in politics to justify the writing of a book or my memoirs at this point in time, but there are a few revelations I can make exclusively on BU which would help Barbadians to understand the genesis of some incidents which extensively damaged Barbados, the lives of Barbadians, and the Barbados brand.

I do not know if this particular topic is the best place for me to start, but I am going to start. You, as blogmaster, have the right to package my writings and place them wherever you see fit.

I hope by taking this course of action that I will inspire other Barbadians who believe that they have a tale to tell to start doing so. William Skinner readily comes to mind.

The success of our oppressors stem primarily from the fact that they want to silence us and make us cower in fear. They want to make us feel that it is a sin for us to share our experiences. It is my deep-rooted belief that our shared experiences will help us to understand and appreciate each other more, and by so doing, will create a catalyst for change, however small.

These are my writings and I own them. I have attached my name to them so they are my intellectual property. I reserve the monopolistic right to use them as part of any book I decide to publish in the future.

Let me state, up front, that I have not been privy to any secrets created or held by any political party in Barbados, so it is impossible for me to divulge any. Almost all of the positions adopted by me arose out of deductive reasoning, or by analysis of events that stumbled into the public domain.

273 responses to “Walter Blackman’s Political Insights”

1. Hi Walter:

Looking forward to it.

Grenville.

2. One time, a log time ago, when we were in Infants D at school, Ossie Moore told me that an odyssey is never brief. He told me to change brief to bibbadee and we still got it wrong. The teacher accused me of copying and said she had five minds to make me run a short marathon.

3. @Walter

Looking forward to read your “connecting of the dots”. The blogmaster is one who felt that your opportunity to trigger meaningful change would have been better served entering the belly of the beast of a different breed. Sometimes one has to take a pragmatic position based on the options available. Third parties have not been attracting candidates with “pedigree”, they are unable to attract financial resources and often lack the expertise to engage in effective strategic and tactical decisions. After over a decade behind the BU dashboard it has become obvious the opportunity for a third party movement to take root in Barbados is a pipe dream. Today the most visible of the third parties is Solutions Barbados and recent results show it has been a slog for Grenville with negligible returns.

Thank you for agreeing to share your insight, hopefully it might assist others thinking of making their way.

4. @Raw Bake

Behave!

You are aware there is the BUblog lexicon.

5. Politics is a double edged sword
    1. Corruption of Power*
    2. Protest against Corruption

Career politicians have leanings towards 1. where it is a dirty dog eat dog two faced cut throat game and abuse their power to steal money from public tax payers offering Government contracts in cronyism.

If you have leanings towards 2. then it has to be a special calling and a life purpose where you are willing to spend all your time and effort in a long drawn fight to fight the power the powers that be.

The Haves usually win,
    but sometimes the Have Nots prevail.

A good example of a political fight is Vietnam War which divided USA into Doves and Hawks
    and was based on paranoia and fear of Communism

The soundtrack of that era reflected the fight between different sides of the US population where people protested and police used violence to squash protest and killed students and protesters.
    Most people know about the Kent State Uni Massacre in Ohio as White Students died as they were shocked and outraged and it was covered extensively in media, but people don’t know about other “Kent massacres” the overlooked Jackson State College Massacre in Mississippi 11 days later and the South Carolina State Massacre in Orangeberg against segregation two years earlier, as they were in predominately black colleges and people were not outraged or shocked about similar killings of black students.

Republicans often play the rock version of Bruce Springsteen’s “Born In USA” in their Campaign rallies as they think it is an gung-ho American anthem, but have never listened to the lyrics as it is another anti-war protest song. If you listen to the acoustic and demo versions you will understand the song meanings better.

2020: The current state of US politics election fighting / Trump shenanigans could well be another “Vietnam” civil war in USA about to kick off around half past three when the butterflies fly in their usual hour.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=22Gh1wQEe1I

(*) Power corrupts, Absolute Power corrupts absolutely

6. Unfortunately i cannot invite some people JUST YET to certain things that are going on, but until then….who want to take it personally, too bad, it should be received in the spirit in which it’s being given..

Actually, i should upgrade this to reflect that as long as STUPID present and wannabe politicians’ ONLY INTENT IS TO continue to use and misuse Elizabeth’s CORROSIVE, archaic HUNDREDS YEARS OLD colonial system to lead people who were/are already socially reduced and financially demoralized and dehumanized by the same system that was NEVER CHANGED IN ANY WAY, as long as they are intellectually incapable of creating and putting forth a new more sophisticated, AFRICAN/Black FRIENDLY system..ya still on a highway to nowhere.

Most people still don’t get it, …am specificlaly speaking about those on BU…..there are those in other forums who fully understand this, as long as you leave the same colonial system in place, you will continue to go nowhere..the system is not yours, and NEVER WILL BE….i have been saying this for years and will probably have to repeat it again and again until am tired, because hard heads never listen until something cataclysmic happens, which finally has, and now everyone is in a tailspin

unless all of that happens, and people commit to doing REAL WORK, to making real changes, and stop using someone else’s system, existing politicians and upstarts are only looking for titles and fame. i say that with no apology whatsoever.

7. Maybe, if yall can SHOW and not just talk and promise……the majority population WHOSE VOTES YOU NEED or yall NEVER be elected..,,,that ya are capable of creating a NEW system that BENEFITS THEM ONLY….ya will DEFINTELY BE AHEAD of the nobodies who are now polluting everything and are all on their WAY DOWN..A…

sorry i can’t post any ideas for the crooks in parliament to feed off and steal, but in the fullness of time, much will be revealed publicly, which will give ya a starting point to add to anything yall devise…..

8. The title of the book

Connecting Dots & Trembling Botsys

Good luck looking forward. I shop on Amazon

9. @Walter

Holding you to your word to ignore stupid comments by some who we know will never be part of the change required to solve the problems they rail about daily.

10. Carson C Cadogan Avatar

You will do the same to Walter Blackman which was done to GRENVILLE PHILLIPS II. Encourage him to enter politics and then curse him when he enters.

You are a devoted supporter of the BARBADOS LABOUR PARTY.

11. David words can endear or words spoken can hurt or hinder
    Those were Walter Blackman words not mine
    He has to live with them
    I encourage him to write and connect along with cleaning his character
    He step into the mud all by himself he was not pushed
    He came on BU recently to ask people who were behaving in inappropriate manner to clean their words
    Hence the manner in which he invoke ethics and self righteousness was pointed in his direction
    Enjoy yuh rum and coke

12. @Walter
    Looking forward to your posts.

I have an admiration for some of the folks here as they have made an art of distracting and pulling people off course.

If you decide to respond to a jab, let some time pass before you reply, as nothing here is immediate or urgent. You cannot recall the ‘spoken’ word.

Above all, always maintain a high standard of behavior.

Looking forward to your posts.

13. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Raw Bake at 3 :36 AM

Your teacher in Infant D was quite right . Whether you changed “brief” to “bibbadee ” or went commando at your ages made no difference in the swing of the pendulum. Not even on a race as long as a marathon.
    @ Walter
    I certainly would buy your autobiography . Those local authors who have dared to write their stories can be an inspiration to those who come after them. Autobiographies and first novels of Barbadians have helped me to understand myself and my society. They are authentic sources of inspiration. We learn how to change probabilities into possibilities.
    I wish you success.

14. Walter wants to be counted amongst pedigree status whilst maintain slum dog style
    He can’t have it both ways
    His own words have already condem him

15. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ TheOGazerts at 8:19 AM

I agree with you 100%. Yesterday I was so focused on avoiding rabbit holes that I was inches away from falling into the gutter. A timely reminder of those institutions, that assisted in my intellectual development, pulled me back from the brink.

There is plenty gallow’s bait around.

16. @Vincent

You should be complimented for always trying to walk the high road. A reminder that respect is earned.

17. The Haves usually win,
    but sometimes the Have Nots prevail.

Just Keep On Keeping It On
    and Keep On Trying

Losing and failing is just a part of the journey and important lessons to be learnt along the way. What doesn’t kill you makes you stronger. Like Filing Complaints, Court Cases or Tribunal hearings there are further processes at various levels, such as raising complaints at the next higher level, higher courts, appeal courts and new cases can be refiled again to keep trying again when things don’t go your way. You need to play the long game and keep pushing to force the opponents in adversarial processes to make errors. Strengths can be their weaknesses, as shown in Civil Rights fights such as Sharpesville, South Africa and Birmingham, Alabama, where Police violence lost them support when the whole world was watching. Honest, moral and truthful people don’t usually fare well in Politics or against Government. Sometimes you have to play dirty and tactically lie to swing things when fighting against a Hideous Strength, (but the moral of every fairy tale story is don’t fight evil, resist evil). Every slave learned from an early age that you have to lie, as those who told the truth died early. Sometimes you just have to just up your game and up the ante. Malcolm X said to fight by any means necessary and Black Panthers and other groups decided there comes a point where peaceful protests have proved not to work and should be replaced with more radical, militant and violent protests or as in case of ANC utilise military force with allies.

Sittin’ in the morning sun
    And watching all the birds passing by
    Oh how sweet they sing
    And oh how much I wish that I could fly
    And I try
    I said I try
    I try
    I really try try try
    But I got to
    Pick myself up
    Dust myself off
    Start all over, again Sittin’ in the midday sun
    And wondering where my meal’s coming from
    After working so hard
    Not even piece of bread at the yard
    And I said I try
    Oh Lord I try
    I try
    I really try try try
    Sittin’ in the evening sun
    And watching the same birds passing by
    Sittin’ and wondering
    And waiting for the time for me to fly
    And I try
    I said I try
    Good Lord I try
    I really try try try
    So long and I just find
    It was just a waste of time
    So long and I just find
    I been been wasting all my time
    I’ve got to pick myself up…

— Peter McIntosh

▷ Pick Myself Up, (Acoustic Version)
    ▷ Pick Myself Up, (7″ Single)
    ▷ Pick Myself Up, (Live At The Ritz, NYC 1981)
    ▷ Pick Myself Up, (Live At San Carlos, California 1981)
    ▷ Pick Myself Up, (Atlanta, Georgia 1979)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S_co-6A87Bw

18. I watch with a sense of conviction how the men ran up to the goal post as goal keepers to protect Walter
    So amazed that many are showing their true colors without realizing that their sexist colors are being shown
    Woman have fought long and hard for due respect.
    Some of that respect goes along the track as to how men treat them verbally
    I remember my youngest child not more than eight years old chastising a man for his expressive manner in how he was staring me down
    Older men on this blog seems to think that a man eyeballing woman or teenager’s give them a notch up their belt
    However i leave it for the younger generation to call them dirty ole men

19. nextparty246
    November 20, 2020 11:50 PM

“Hi Walter:

Looking forward to it.”

Grenville,
    I want to take this opportunity to commend you for your political efforts which were aimed at making Barbados a better place. Please don’t give up. You still have a contribution to make.

Congratulations should also be extended to your family members for offering their support as you embarked on a “mission impossible”.

You too have a tale to tell.

20. “I watch with a sense of conviction how the men ran up to the goal post as goal keepers to protect Walter
    So amazed that many are showing their true colors without realizing that their sexist colors are being shown”

I do enjoy your writing and your clever distortion of facts. To ask a man to travel the high road is now a sexist act.

Perhaps you have realized that if he sticks to the high ground then his contact with you will be limited. I can feel your pain.

Still loving you, Theo

21. I have not commented on the blog master use of the word ‘pedigree’. It would be interesting to know if he consider Walter as belonging to the ‘pedigree’ or just an aspiring member of the political class.
    #HiddenShade

22. Yes, Walter has the “pedigree” defined by his body of work as a talk show host, his intelligence and an obvious sense to want to serve. If he has persevered he would have eventually found a spot on the team.

23. A quote from a book currently on the blogmaster’s bedside table, seems most relevant:

I tried to explain to her the conflict tat I was feeling between working for change from within the system and pushing against it; wanting to lead but wanting to empower people to make change for themselves; wanting to be in politics but not of it.

24. @David.
    How come you ain’t tell Vincent to behave too?
    My name easy to call nuh?

(~_~)

David November 21, 2020 12:35 PM

…If he had persevered he would have eventually found a spot on the team.

Just like the Oysters did with the Walrus and the Carpenter?
    https://barbadosunderground.net/2017/12/04/another-walter-blackman-column-the-walrus-and-the-carpenter/
    Man you ain’t easy atall boy.

Anyhow he now seems to be suggesting that GPII should not make the same mistake he did.
    If thirsty wait, hot would cool. Yes?

Pulling out too early is never a good thing.
    This is especially so for the ambitious or aspiring politician.
    Pedigreed or not.

Patience, the gift of gab and the ability to pretend, will more often than not, allow you to enjoy the fruits of your labour and ultimately, political success.

Probably.

25. Has it not been already establish on this here BU, that there will be no changing of the system from within?
    If you join them, you will become them or go mad trying not to.
    Ask Guy Fawkes.

Resistance is futile.

26. David
    November 21, 2020 5:40 AM

“@Walter
    The blogmaster is one who felt that your opportunity to trigger meaningful change would have been better served entering the belly of the beast of a different breed. Sometimes one has to take a pragmatic position based on the options available.”

On the surface, how you felt appears to be quite reasonable. However, I was looking at the situation from a completely different angle. That is why it is so important for us to speak with each other. There are forces and experiences that shape all of us. What one person might view as pragmatism, another might see as brazen opportunism, parasitism, or the selling of one’s soul to the Devil. In the final analysis, we have to live with ourselves as individuals.

Every year, some Barbadian children are highlighted in the newspapers as the top 11+ performers. The objective is to make them feel, from an early age, that they are brighter than their peers, and that great things are expected from them. In a subtle way, the seeds of ambition are being sown deep down within their breasts.

Every year, some Barbadian students are highlighted as the top Advanced Level performers and are awarded Barbadian scholarships. They are encouraged to be ambitious. Barbadian taxpayers fork out hundreds of thousands of dollars yearly to feed the academic ambitions of these scholarship winners. The underlying justification behind this expenditure is that these potentially brilliant Barbadians will develop their skills and use them to help develop Barbados for the benefit of all Barbadians.

No one (not even the newspapers) takes a minute to cross check the names of the Barbados scholarship winners against the names of the 11+ exam stars who had surfaced about six or seven years earlier. Most of these scholarship winners chose an area of study in line with their personal ambitions (rather than national needs), leave Barbados, and are never heard of again. This political strategy is deliberate – identify the bright ones from an early age and create a pathway for them to leave the country in a blaze of academic glory. Discourage them from returning.
    This simple observation is enough to start us thinking about the problems inherent in our system of education, and the remedial action that needs to be taken.

Our history has shown us that many Barbadians who have studied, worked, and lived overseas can help to bring progressive change to Barbados as members of the House of Assembly.

Leading up to the 2018 General Election, most of us had realized that the Thompson/Stuart administrations had charted a course which was retarding the growth of Barbados. A political rescue effort was needed. Barbadians who felt they had something to contribute to national development needed to stand up and be counted.

Now, it’s question time.

Can you name one political party which reached out to Barbadians with unique skills living overseas and offered them as a candidate for the House of Assembly in 2018? (For example, do you remember Errol Barrow and Branford Taitt in 1976, Tom Adams and Don Blackman in 1981?)

Can you name any Barbadians living overseas who stood up and offered themselves as a candidate for a political party in 2018?

Now let us look at the reverse concept.

Can you name Barbadians who were sitting members of the House of Assembly and were then selected by a political party to go and live and work overseas at a job that really called for unique skills? (Examples are Elliott Mottley by the DLP in 1976 and Gline Clarke by the BLP in 2020).

27. @Walter

Your point is taken. A budding politician offering themselves to serve has to be aware of the need to balance a Machiavellian approach with his or her conscience. In the majority of times, some will small every time, there is only one winner.

28. re Our history has shown us that many Barbadians who have studied, worked, and lived overseas can help to bring progressive change to Barbados as members of the House of Assembly.

I DONT KNOW WHY to bring progressive change to Barbados as members of the House of Assembly. IS SO IMPORTANT BUT WHAT I KNOW, AND IT CAN NOT BE REFUTED I THAT ABOUT 40 YEARS AGO A DR THEO TALMA AND A DR ATHERLY WHO HAD STUDIED, WORKED AND LIVED OVERSEAS RETURNED TO BARBADOS

DR TALMA, A GREAT PAEDIATRICIAN GOT SO MUCH HELL FROM THE LATE SIR A C GRAHAM, THAT HE BEATED A HASTY RETREAT.

IN LIKE MANNER, THE EQUALLY OUTSTANDING AND HIGHLY REGARDED AND GENUINE CARDIOLOGIST (IN THE US) DR ATHERLY WAS ALSO RUN OUT OF BARBADOS BY SIR TREVOR HASSELL, THE CARDIOLOGIST, SO CALLED

THESE ARE FACTS THAT CAN NOT BE REFUTED.

IS “This simple observation enough to start us thinking about the problems inherent in our system of education, and the remedial action that needs to be taken”?.

OF THE BAJANS IN THE 78 GRADUATING CLASS FROM UWI ONLY WAYNE WELCH REMAINED TO SERVE IN BARBADOS–ALL THE OTHERS WENT ABROAD TO STUDY WORK AND LIVE
    OF THE BAJANS IN THE 😯 GRADUATING CLASS FROM UWI ONLY ONE REMAINED TO SERVE IN BARBADOS–ALL THE OTHERS WENT ABROAD TO STUDY WORK AND LIVE
    OF THE BAJANS IN THE 79 GRADUATING CLASS FROM UWI ONLY ONE WHO WENT ABROAD TO FURTHER THEIR EDUCATION HAS RETURNED I NEVER LEFT UNTIL I MIGRATED TO TEACH, BECAUSE I WAS FORCED OUT

IS “This simple observation enough to start us thinking about the problems inherent in our system of education, and the remedial action that needs to be taken”?. I JUST ASKING

29. David
    Kay McConney and Rawdon Adams were living overseas. Both are now Senators and Kay McConney is a minister. The appointment of both was ridiculed on this same BU and people questioned if persons living in Bim weren’tgood enough. Some of the consultants are Bajans who lived and worked overseas. One or two of the ambassadors were also living overseas. It is also clear that Bajans in the diaspora contributed ideas to the party’s manifesto. One need not be a candidate to serve/contribute.

30. GP,
    My focus here is on the political arena.
    I take your point, and i agree with you, that many Barbadians who have studied, worked, and lived overseas can help to bring progressive change to Barbados in many other areas as well.

31. Boy, are people mixed up! A Bajan is a Bajan, is a Bajan. They should be able to come back any time and serve anywhere. Has nothing to do with rejecting who is here. All are Barbadians and there should be no distinction. It should be about who is better for the job.

Why do we make things so difficult????

32. WALTER
    RE My focus here is on the political arena.
    I KNOW THAT SIR ….BUT WHY IS POLITICS ALWAYS THE MAIN FOCUS ON BU?

RE I take your point, and i agree with you, that many Barbadians who have studied, worked, and lived overseas can help to bring progressive change to Barbados in many other areas as well.

THERE IS A NEED TO ENCOURAGE THEM TO RETURN TO PARTICIPATE IN SEVERAL AREAS

33. Gold is a rare metal. As a result of its rarity, scientists investigated it and discovered that it is formed through a supernova (the explosion of a giant star), or through the collision of neutron stars.

I have looked specifically at the cases of political parties bringing home Barbadians who were living and working overseas and offering them as candidates for the House of Assembly. I identified Branford Taitt and Don Blackman as the only two candidates in our modern history.

Let us investigate these rare events. Was there something special about these two gentlemen? Did their contribution to Barbados turn out to be special? Was the rare action of identifying them and bringing them home for House of Assembly duty justified?

I also mentioned the reverse concept – a political party identifying a sitting member of the House of Assembly and sending them overseas to live and work. I identified Eliott Mottley and Gline Clarke.

Let us investigate these rare events. Were these two men lured, and then tempted to resign their Lower House seats because they possessed unique skills that their country required to do a critical job overseas? Or were their resignations obtained to simply satisfy the political objectives of a political party?

34. @ Walter
    This may be a very bitter pill to swallow but very few Barbadians of your ilk will be enticed to return to serve the political masters in the BLPDLP. The last I recalled was Vic Johnson of the BLP.
    There are dozens who tried to return and even if they did , they did not last. Barbados is steeped in classism. The recently resigned Chief Justice, was given hell because he was not from the elite lawyer class.
    I know both brothers and sisters who could not even survive the classism in the public service, the teaching service and even the snobbery in the corridors of Cave Hill.
    I know a Comrade who returned and could not get a job teaching with a masters degree because he was a radical. The first opportunity he got was from white Father Taylor at St. Gabriels. Even with all the qualifications, a godfather is needed.
    They never let you forget which side of the tracks you are from. Let us begin with the unvarnished truth , at present the country is a play ground for the corrupt political class of the BLPDLP. No new blood going to overcome that. Chris Sinkler was a failure as MOF but they always thought he did not have the right school tie .
    It’s time to remove the rose tainted glasses. The philosophy that if you can’t beat them join them will not work.
    Taking any advice from @David is self defeating, he is a die hard defender of the status quo. I repeat – they will eat you up and spit you out before you blink.
    Good luck my Brother.
    Peace

35. GP
    November 21, 2020 8:27 PM

“WALTER
    WHY IS POLITICS ALWAYS THE MAIN FOCUS ON BU?”

GP,
    Barbadians have reached the stage where they view every single issue through a political microscope. BU is a microcosm of the wider Barbadian society so we have to expect and anticipate the level of politics we witness on BU.

If we plan to commence and sustain a national discourse, we have to utilize politics. As an alternative strategy, try reaching Barbadians through medicine or religion, for example.

36. GP
    November 21, 2020 8:27 PM

“WALTER
    THERE IS A NEED TO ENCOURAGE THEM TO RETURN TO PARTICIPATE IN SEVERAL AREAS”

GP,
    I agree with you wholeheartedly.

37. The Gov’t introduced a Constitutional amendment to remove the residency qualification to serve in the Parliament of Barbados and many people here disapproved.

Senator Caswell Franklyn, Cometh the Man, Cometh the Hour | Barbados Underground

38. William Skinner
    November 21, 2020 9:36 PM

“@ Walter
    The recently resigned Chief Justice, was given hell because he was not from the elite lawyer class.”

William Skinner,
    If the retired CJ was given hell, it was because many thought that he was unable to reform the justice system. It is quite possible that he was unable to make an impressionable dent in the system because the problems were, and still are, too massive for one man to wrestle to the ground.

I have a lot of confidence in the ability of Patterson Cheltenham GCM, QC (he has to be knighted, right?) so if he is unable to wrestle the judiciary beast to the ground, I would have to conclude that the problem is really intractable, and by extension, the country is in deep trouble.

On a related note, I have nothing but admiration and respect for Madame Justice Margaret Reifer, so I would like to take this opportunity to offer her congratulations on her elevation to the position of Justice of Appeal, which takes effect on December 1.

39. William Skinner
    November 21, 2020 9:36 PM

“@ Walter
    Barbados is steeped in classism.
    I know both brothers and sisters who could not even survive the classism in the public service, the teaching service and even the snobbery in the corridors of Cave Hill.
    They never let you forget which side of the tracks you are from.”

William Skinner,
    The public service, the teaching service and the corridors of Cave Hill are dominated by blacks.

Slavery was abolished in 1834. The Apprenticeship System ended in 1838. Have you ever stopped for a moment to reflect on what that really means?

It means that just about 6 generations ago, all of our ancestors were slaves.
    So all of these feelings of classism and superiority were developed in such a short space of time? So we have a group of blacks who went through slavery and their offspring emerged as class-conscious beings with a superiority complex, and another group whose offspring evolved into weak-minded, fawning, diffident underlings?

There is no man or woman on Earth who I view as being superior to me. There is no man or woman I look down upon. I advise every Barbadian to adopt this view.

Our problems in Barbados stem from the lack of opportunities. Scarce resources and scarce opportunities create a sense of power for some who ruthlessly exercise this power to exploit, subjugate or humiliate others.

The bitter pill you and I have to swallow is the impotence we feel from knowing that we are unable to create meaningful opportunities for Barbadians who just need a start.

40. @ Walter
    “ It means that just about 6 generations ago, all of our ancestors were slaves.
    So all of these feelings of classism and superiority were developed in such a short space of time? So we have a group of blacks who went through slavery and their offspring emerged as class-conscious beings with a superiority complex, and another group whose offspring evolved into weak-minded, fawning, diffident underlings?”(Quote)
    “The bitter pill you and I have to swallow is the impotence we feel from knowing that we are unable to create meaningful opportunities for Barbadians who just need a start.”(Quote)
    Well said and absolutely true.
    However allow me to say the following:
    If I did not have the privilege of meeting and making life long friendships, with some of the most genuine progressive brothers and sisters ,I would not write a single word, run for no political party or you would never see me on BU or any other publication in Barbados.
    Some of these comrades have gone to their graves broken and destroyed by these criminals. I don’t have no fancy talk for them. They are rogues.
    Every time I lift my pen or open my mouth I do it for those who have gone ; or forced into exile. I don’t write to impress nobody else and when I read some of the hypocrisy and downright attempts in the press and here on BU , I realise that we are conning each other and some are pretending that they are more positive and love the country more than anybody else.
    Then there are the intellectual snobs who hide behind sophistry but they are also guilty of believing that they know more than anybody else.
    Do not for one moment be conned into believing that they would ever put an X next to your name when they can vote for the “ socialites @ and those with “connections” Even if perchance they put you in parliament, the moment you offend the financiers and the power brokers you would be destroyed. Within the same NDP, a candidate offended one of the power brokers and he now lives in North America. And he had a PHd. and was a lawyer.
    My eyes are opened wide and I will not be fooled by these rabid opportunists.So there you have it.
    Like I said good luck .
    Peace

41. There is a reason why some try to be agents of change. Alert, alert change will not happen by filling your head with all the problems. You do a better job of being excited by the possibilities when change occurs.

42. If I did not have the privilege of meeting and making life long friendships, with some of the most genuine progressive brothers and sisters ,I would not write a single word, run for no political party or you would never see me on BU or any other publication in Barbados.
    Some of these comrades have gone to their graves broken and destroyed by these criminals. I don’t have no fancy talk for them. They are rogues.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

SO HOW WOULD YOU CLASSIFY DAVID COMMISSONG?

43. @Baje
    Comrade Commissiong has served at high levels in the BLP, DLP and NDP. He has apparently put his own Peoples Empowerment Party on a long rest. It means that he sees his goals being achieved by association with the BLP at this time.
    I would not judge him because in many ways I identify with some of his positions.
    He and others have more stomach for the rogues than I do.
    However I was quite alarmed when Comrade Prescod compared Toni Moore with Harriet Tubman. I had to drink a straight white to catch myself. Then another Pan Africanist compared Mia Mottley with Fidel Castro.
    Strange things happen from time to time.
    Peace

44. WALTER
    WHAT YOU HAVE SAID IS VERY TRUE
    WHEREAS I DO NOT KNOW A LOT ABOUT THE POLITICS GENERALLY, I CAN TELL YOU ABOUT WHAT I SAW AND PERSONALLY EXPERIENCED IN MEDICAL SCHOOL AT QEH

THE WHITE LORD SIR HENRY FRASER CAME HOME WITH A PhD IN CLINICAL PHARMACOLOGY, BUT HE KNEW NO BIOCHEMISTRY ORGANIC CHEMISTRY. WHILE SEEKING TO SHOW THAT A WHITISH BOY WAS SMARTY AND FIT FOR HONOURS, A BLACK STUDENT, WHO DID NOT KNOW ANY BETTER, WENT TO THE BOARD DREW THE CHEMICAL STRUCTURE OF THE DRUG AND EXPLAINED ITS OBVIOUS BREAK DOWN. THAT STUDENT SUFFERED IMMENSELY AS A RESULT.

I CAN TELL YOU TOO OF THE RED SKINNED TRINIDADIAN LAD WITH A PhD WHOM THE WHITE LORD SIR HENRY FRASER GAVE HELL

THEN THERE IS THE INCIDENT OF THE LEBANESE TRINIDAD STUDENT WHO FAILED PATHOLOGY TWICE, AND THE RULES WERE BROKEN TO ALLOW HIM TO TAKE PATHOLOGY THE THIRD TIME ALONG WITH FINALS. HE HAD SERIOUS CONNECTIONS WITH THE ABEDS

THEN THERE IS THE INCIDENT OF THE BLACK DR WHO WAS STROKING A WHITE BAJAN DR
    HE WAS VIRTUALLY RUN FROM THE QEH

A PARTICULAR POOR BLACK STUDENT FROM BLACK ROCK WAS TOLD ON A WARD ROUND ONE NIGHT ON A1 THAT HE WOULD FAIL THE SURGERY EXAM…….LONG BEFORE THE EXAM WAS HELD
    HE HAD TO REPEAT SURGERY IN MONA IN THE OCTOBER EXAMS. HE NEVER RETURNED TO WORK IN BARBADOS. HE IS A GYNAECOLOGIST IN TRINIDAD WITH THE MRCOG

THEN THERE IS THE WHITE ENGLISH FELLOW WHO CAME TO BIM ON HOLIDAY THINKING THAT HE HAD FAILED HIS EXAMS IN THE UK, AND HAD NOT MADE PLANS TO WORK UP THERE.

HE WILL TELL YOU THAT HE WALKED INTO THE QEH BAREFOOT OFF THE BEACH AND SIR AC GRAHAM ARRANGED A JOB FOR HIM HE THEN MARRIED INTO A RICH WHITE BNAJAN FAMILY AND WAS SET

I CAN GO ON AD INFINITUM AD NAUSEAMQUE

45. William Skinner
    November 21, 2020 11:48 PM

“@ Walter
    Every time I lift my pen or open my mouth I do it for those who have gone ; or forced into exile. I don’t write to impress nobody else and when I read some of the hypocrisy and downright attempts in the press and here on BU , I realise that we are conning each other and some are pretending that they are more positive and love the country more than anybody else.
    Then there are the intellectual snobs who hide behind sophistry but they are also guilty of believing that they know more than anybody else.”

William Skinner,
    You are taking your gaze away from what is important. Don’t get distracted by who you perceive to be hypocrites and intellectual snobs. If being that way “floats their boat” all power to them. Maybe that is their way of enjoying life. You have to know yours.

Focus on the ideas of “some of the most genuine progressive brothers and sisters” who you have met, and who had a positive impact upon your development. Pass those progressive ideas on to the next generation.

You have never allowed the actions of backward-thinking Barbadians to define your happiness, so you should not, at this stage of your life, allow their actions to define your anger, sadness, or disappointment.
    Life is short and we are nearing retirement, so we should start relaxing our minds and enjoying ourselves. We brought nothing in this world and we will take nothing out. Votes, the number of terms spent in the House of Assembly, fortune, and fame are all ephemeral. The baton needs to be passed to the next generation. Let them carry on the fight.

As you continue to age, you might want to take a closer look at the words that Shakespeare put into the mouth of King Lear:

‘Tis our fast intent
    To shake all cares and business from our age,
    Conferring them on younger strengths, while we
    Unburden’d, crawl toward death.

46. @ GP
    Thank you ! That’s who we are.
    Peace

47. @ Walter
    Thanks bro’ . Believe I am trying.
    Peace

48. GP,
    In Barbados, all of the events you mentioned are possible. The persons who you highlighted that got “unfaired” are the ones pinned down by limited options. When we are being “unfaired” and we have options or other opportunities, we flee. You and I know the feeling. Every day, I thank the Lord for the options I had.

However, as Donna pointed out, there are many Barbadians who live a very enjoyable life. They never really encounter racism, have no interest in mingling with the snobbish well-to-do, do not depend on politics or politicians for anything, and do not have any problems with lawyers. They keep their affairs in good order, pay their bills, and revel in the beautiful climatic conditions of Barbados. They are not wealthy by any means, but they are happy and contented. For them, there is no place in the world like Bim.

49. Well, I am one of the positive ones who love Barbados, although I have never claimed to love it more than anybody else.

My position is that these evils of which we speak are not peculiar to Barbados and it is counterproductive to behave as though they are. If we describe Barbados as though it is the worst hellhole on earth and Barbadian politicians as a unique brand of monster some people will switch off because they know it is not so.

I believe in keeping it real. Our politicians and others in positions of influence and authority must be made to do better. Activism is gaining traction in Barbados. I have hope that it will soon do its job. Some day I hope we will march against corruption and force the issue to the forefront. Until then, the powers that be shall do as they please.