A dispute involving Irish investor Alan McIntosh and other parties with local hotelier Peter Odle continues to be a source of embarrassment for Barbadians and makes public what ordinary Barbadians have been complaining about for many years. We have a court system that is broken and a ‘buddy system’ that protects the favoured in society. In local parlance, two Barbadoses.

The two political parties come and the two political parties go and the problem remains.

See other blogs posted on a dispute which continues to expose our moribund court system and to dent our reputation as a domicile fit and proper to conduct international business. This imbroglio is occurring as Prime Minister Mia Mottley has been promoting the Barbados Welcome Stamp – Work Remotely in Barbados initiative in the international media. It should not be forgotten that attracting foreign direct investment is important to the economic planners to ensure we can honour foreign commitments.

Alan McIntosh dubbed by Barbados Underground as that pesky Irish investor has written a second letter to the Prime Minister of Barbados which encapsulates in summary detail the dysfunctional governance setup and toxic business ethos prevailing in Barbados. The letter separates the issues for the Prime Minister’s under the headings – Court Delay Tactics, Corporate Governance and Abuse of Personal Relationships to Circumvent Creditors.

It is clear from reading the letter that Attorney General Dale Marshall is also aware of the ongoing dispute that threatens to compromise Barbados’ economic recovery effort. In an Affidavit filed with the Barbados court, Abagi Ekoku who is a shareholder in Sandy Bay Holdings Inc (SBHI) named as First Defendant in the pending court matter, explains how a repurchase agreement with Richard Bradford and Peter Odle has gone south and precipitated litigious action.

Clause 23 extracted from the Affidavit sworn by Agagi Ekoku:

On Monday the 10th day of February, 2020, pursuant legal advice which I received from my Attorney-at-Law, I wrote to the Attorney General of Barbados, the Hon. D. Marshall, Q.C., MP. I requested acknowledgement of my aforementioned letter from the office of the Attorney General and received the acknowledgement on the same date from Hazel Mederick, the executive secretary to the Attorney General. To date, I have not received a response to my letter. True copies of the email/letter dated 10th day of February, 2020 and the acknowledgment of the same date are hereto attached and marked “AE3”.

Extracted from the Affidavit of Abagi Ekoku

It pains the blogmaster no end each time a blog of this type is posted which shines a light at the underbelly of Barbados. The upside is that it is being done with the aim of making Barbados a better country for ALL.

Barbadians should be reminded of an Irish saying – May the enemies of Ireland never meet a friend..

187 responses to “Peter Odle Under the Gun”

1. Yes mr blog master. He acknowledged receipt of notification. Does that prove guilt or innocence.
    As to Heather Cole’ s 2 affidavits , so what ?

2. @Spikes

It makes your posit moot that he should not have written to the prime minister. The AG is already aware of the issue. You will note from the affidavit he is implicated as well.

3. Yes mr blog master. The AG acknowledged receipt of notification. So what ? Does that prove innocence or guilt ?
    Heater Cole has not 1 but 2 affidavits , so what , pray tell me

4. @Blogmaster
    Ethics?
    Delay is a perfectly allowable legal tactic. It’s permissibility is one reason we have Judges. So I have no expectation the Assoc will get involved.

5. In the black art of the law there is something called a pre action letter or protocol or something like that.

I suspect the letter to the AG was such a something like that.

If so the AG is on notice that Mr. Mcintosh intends to take the matter further and will be suing the GOB through the office of the AG.

Letter to Ms Mockley may be one last attempt to avoid litigation against the GOB in a court that has its problems.

The AG represents the GOB and Ms. Mockley is a part of the GOB.

In theory, the Judiciary is independent of the executive

“The Judiciary of Barbados is an independent branch of the Barbadian government, subject only to the Barbadian Constitution. It is headed by the Chief Justice of Barbados.[1] Barbados is a common law jurisdiction, in which precedents from English law and British Commonwealth tradition may be taken into account.[2]”

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Judiciary_of_Barbados

6. Wiki like they got it down pat!!

“In the 1990s the Judicial Committee of the Privy Council (of the United Kingdom), ruled that Barbados’ Constitution was clear with respect to the death penalty.[22] However, it ruled that to carry out such sentences it required that Barbados and other Caribbean Islands carry out trials at a quicker pace.[23] In response to this verdict, the Barbados government announced that the country would be leaving the jurisdiction of the Privy Council and would further consider becoming a republic.[24] Since then, calls have continued to be made by members of the local legal profession ridiculing the length of time which court cases in Barbados take to be fully adjudicated.[25] Other criticism has been that the court process was appearing to be breaking down.[26][27][28][3]

Since Barbados left the jurisdiction of the JCPC, similar sentiments have been expressed and re-iterated in 2010 by the Caribbean Court of Justice which Barbados replaced the JCPC with.[25]

In 2011 Owen Arthur, the Leader of the Opposition announced that the BLP would not support [4],[5] the ruling party’s goals to amend Barbadian law to allow for the appointment of Marston Gibson as the next Chief Justice of Barbados.[6][7] Questions surround the fact that Mr. Gibson has not maintained the requisite 15 years of practice as an attorney-at-law in Barbados.[8][9] The governing DLP maintains that it plans to proceed as planned by amending that stipulation from the Barbados Supreme Court Judicature Act.[29][10]”

7. Did you know the CCJ exists because of the sloth of the Barbados courts?

I never knew that!!

This wikileak is stunning.

8. Concerns have been expressed that the Judges of the Court would be paid by governments which can exert decisive informal pressure on them to deliver judgements favourable to this or that government. In order to pre-empt this eventuality and fund the Caribbean Court of Justice in perpetuity, a Trust Fund of US $100 million has been established, so as to enable the expenditures of the Court to be financed by income from the Fund. In this way, the expenditures of the Court, including the remuneration of the Judges, is not dependent on the disposition of governments. As a consequence, the CCJ is the only integration court of its kind financially independent of the largesse of governments and free from their administrative control. The Caribbean Court of Justice Trust Fund is administered by a Board of Trustees drawn from regional entities.

https://www.ccj.org/about-the-ccj/ccj-trust-fund/

So somebody had to come up with $100 USD to start the court back in 2005.

It is financially independent of the largesse of governments and free from their administrative control..

9. Heather,

Is your co-op ready to go? If so, I have decided to pledge some.

10. @ Donna, thank you for your support. we are making progress. We await the decision on the lease at Todds. I do not understand why it is taking so long. The Ministry of agriculture has not responded regarding other lands for lease. The Chief Fisheries Officer has not responded to us regarding the marine farm. So the progress we have made to date is a short video that is being edited to inform the public of our plan and hopefully motivate them. The other options would be to purchase another plantation. I do not know if the co-op fund that was mentioned in the throne speech will allow for such but we will explore it when it becomes available. I do not know why the government departments do not like to respond.

11. I wonder how many times Odle has sold this apartment. Has the game moved from land theft to apartment fraud? We have an apartment that was sold to a foreigner who lived in London and then came to take up abode. He has papers to prove the purchase yet is wanted off the property. Something is wrong. Then do we have a person that used as a shadow board member to scam an investor? What on earth is Mr. Odle involved in?

12. “Therefore you and the regulars can speculate all you want i gone.”

Liar…..all ya fowl slave games are coming home to roost, exposure hotter than ya can handle we can see, now ya got a swindler as port chairman….a notorious swindler who will bring down the whole corrupt colonial shitshow, long before yall can unhitch from UK.

13. @ John A
    You get to heart too well

“So what we saying here is we have a court system here that will allow somone to borrow millions and dont pay them back as committed. Then if they dont like it you tell them “Well carry me court then”, knowing it will take ten years.”

You know Mr Odle in truth.
    He do exactly that to McIntosh and it what he tell the other people who he owe money.
    Time for Mr Jordan to speak up. He know everything on this and can only speak truth

14. Minister Jordan a man who will be loyal to his former employer. The fact that he is a devout Adventist may have to come a distant second.

15. Wow! David seems to have first hand knowledge about this. And about Mr. Jordan too.

Mr. Jordan, if he is loyal should have a word with his employer if the situation demands it. True loyalty to a friend means giving an honest opinion and encouraging good behaviour.

I hear something coming from David that I am not used to hearing. Maybe this explains the slew of blogs on this same topic.

16. That may well be the case Blogmaster and EXACTLY why court redress should not be delayed or denied.

Mr Jordan can pick who he serves; GOD or MAMMON.
    If struggling, his sense of duty to country should make decision easier. Not too difficult for a serving Cabinet Member with crucial Govt. portfolio.

17. Heather,

I will look out for the video. I assume you will post it here. When the time comes I will do the necessary.

Going back out to my garden now.

18. as more and more BLP get implicated in this matter the shouts of lost decade will get louder and louder. we will focus on the past whilst closing our eyes to the present

19. So wait if half of what i reading about this man is true how the hell Mia could make he chairman of anything? You mean party faithfuls could do as they like and still be rewarded? This gone past a joke now.

20. Vincent Codrington Avatar

Since the church is not reaching out to the wider community,there is a case for ethics to be a compulsory course at primary and secondary levels . Imagine a commenter suggesting that the Minister of Labour get involved in a civil dispute that is sub judice. Lol!!! Wuh Loss!!

21. @Vincent

The blogmaster suspects the comment should be taken as an appreciation for how decisions are made covertly in smoke filled rooms.

22. @ John A

We cannot have trial by the mob. What should happen in this case is that the responsible minister should call in Mr Odle and ask him if these reports are true. This gossip cannot be allowed to continue.
    If they are not, then he should be asked to take action against his accuser in order to protect the reputation of the Port Authority. If they are, then he should be asked to resign. Whether he is innocent or guilty should be left to the courts.

23. @John A

What the Disciplinary Committee of the BAR should do is call in Vonda Pile again to ask why she would not pay over clients money. Once she repeats that the client owed her money and this is why she withheld the man’s money, the gossip about her coming from the Pine should stop and a class suit be brought against all who cast aspersions on the Barbados Courts.

Steuspe.

24. Going to wish all a happy day

@John A
    A
    I read your contribution above.
    I saw how you referred to Mia.
    I saw how you objected to the appointment even if the charges are true.
    I saw how you objected to the distribution of scratch grain
    I gun send Lorenzo fuh you.
    Murdah
    Mi belly
    John A – Have a great day

25. DavidSeptember 20, 2020 10:15 AM

@John A

What the Disciplinary Committee of the BAR should do is call in Vonda Pile again to ask why she would not pay over clients money. Once she repeats that the client owed her money and this is why she withheld the man’s money, the gossip about her coming from the Pine should stop and a class suit be brought against all who cast aspersions on the Barbados Courts.

Repeating is not good.

Invoices for fees and incidentals need to be produced.

Should be an account for the money in the client account.

She has a conviction from the court.

Not sure what good the BAR could do.

How long has the accusation stood?

26. John it was a tongue in mout kind of remark. It obviously escaped you.

27. Yup

28. For those with relatoves in US. We all know that mental illness and homelessness can cost lives. So far there were only injuries.

“Manhattan subway train derails after laughing saboteur puts metal clamps on tracks: police sources

By ROCCO PARASCANDOLA, CLAYTON GUSE and THOMAS TRACY

NEW YORK DAILY NEWS

SEP 20, 2020 AT 11:19 AM

A Manhattan subway train derailed Sunday morning. The uptown A train was entering the 14th St./Eighth Ave. station in the West Village at 8:17 a.m. when it ran into debris, officials said. (@DayDayLavine)

A Manhattan subway train derailed Sunday morning after a laughing homeless saboteur put metal clamps on the roadbed, police sources said.

The uptown A train was entering the 14th St./Eighth Ave. station in the West Village at 8:17 a.m. when it ran into the metal tie plates, which are normally used to secure tracks to the roadbed, officials said.

Three of the subway cars derailed, with at least one wheel leaving the tracks, and sideswiped several stanchions separating the track beds.

Closed subway entrance at 14th St. after derailment. (Clayton Guse)

The homeless man found the tie plates on a pile of construction materials at the 14th St. station, police sources said. He took the plates and put them on the tracks before the train came into the station.

Commuters saw the 30-year-old suspect laughing at his accomplishment, sources said. Good Samaritans held him at the station until cops took him into custody and brought him to Transit District 2 headquarters for questioning. No charges were immediately filed.

The train ended up stuck about 100 feet into the Eighth Ave. tunnel. First responders evacuated about 30 people from the train.

Manhattan subway train derails after laughing saboteur clamps planks onto tracks: police sources

Actually, we’re in deep trouble: Work is changing profoundly, and NYC will not be able to adapt

‘That ’70s Show’ star Danny Masterson, charged with raping 3 women, appears in court

Three passengers suffered minor injuries. One refused medical attention. Another was treated at the scene while the third was taken to Bellevue Hospital for further treatment, officials said.”

29. @ Hal

Yes I agree with you that under this cloud the appointment is definately in need of review. I also see a second minister mentioned now in Mr Jordan, who the PM can call as a “character witness”in terms of gaining a bit more background shall we say, on ones business practices seeing the work affiliation between those involved.

To be fair to the PM we can not assume that she could know everything about the indvidual’s business practices. After all no one can know things not in the public domain can they? Now that she has access to Minister Jordan who she can call to Ilaro Court for a fire side chat and enlightenment, I am sure based on the cloud over this matter, that she will recall the appointment to that board or any future ones, until the matter is heard by the courts. After all lets be honest, a minister’s oath to serve the state would far outweigh their personal friendship with anyone wouldnt it?

It happens all over the world in developed countries and maybe even other republics. You will hear Mr X has been asked to step down, or Mr Y has stepped down due to a matter involving a pretty young thing. Why even here I recall a Mr H stepped down from chairmanship of a company when charged with the importation of ” vegetable matter ,” only returning to the post once the charges were dismissed and he was not involved in future court proceedings.

I say dont blame the PM for the appointment to the gentleman of chairman. All that happened is that she was not aware of the cloud surrounding him. I am sure after she calls Minister Jordan to the big house for de fire side chat, she will see things differently. After all remember she ran on a ticket of transparency and accountability, surely that must trump ( no pun intended) the need to reward party loyalty?

Could dear Hal if the boss lady didnt know about other practices prior to the party reward, you cant fault her for giving the faithful a little pick can you? Thing is now that she can have “a fire side chat of enlightenment” with a fellow minister we will have to see what happens next.

Wunna just remember dem got nuff young people looking on. The same one we preach to about there being no reward unless you do the right thing. Dont educate them and then treat them like fools.

30. That should have been “former employer”. Right now Colin Jordan works for US!

Or he should be.

31. @ JohnA

The charges against Charles Herbert were dropped by the DPP, in the public interest. The president must know now t here is controversy surrounding Mr Odle, if her public relations people are doing their work.

32. @David

What i found most interesting was that i read one of the attorneys that was out on bail had apparently gone back practicing law! I noticed the Bar Association said when contacted that they were looking into it

33. @Donna

You should have attached a caveat to your comment. Ministers in the Cabinet who are lawyers by trade are known to support private practices (offline). Same for sitting judges. This is a general comment and not meant to besmirch the character of Minister Jordan.

34. @John A

Vonda Pile is on bail and practicing.

35. @ Hal

I would imagine by now the PM would know of the buzz around Odle. Its a topic of many discussions in the business circles right now at all levels.

36. @ John A

Vonda is appealing and has a right to represent her clients.

37. @ David

Well i asked an attorney friend of mine how that could happen and his reply was ” you know how many Zr drivers out there with cases pending and past convictions that still driving?”

His view was that the legal system as it stands is to blame.

38. @ Hal

All i would say is ” buyer beware”.

39. Question for debate:

If a surgeon has been convicted of malpractice in his profession, should he be allowed to operate pending the results of his appeal?

40. John A

It is our democratic system, innocent until proven guilty. Guilt includes exhausting the appeal system. In some jobs people are suspended on full pay, or, in the case of the police, sent on so-called administrative leave.

41. SargeantSeptember 20, 2020 12:50 PM

Question for debate:

If a surgeon has been convicted of malpractice in his profession, should he be allowed to operate pending the results of his appeal?

I reckon his license to practice medicine would be revoked and if he did practice medicine he would have a second charge to answer … driving without a license.

Who licenses lawyers to practice?

In the case of engineers, a fee is paid in January of every year to the Registrar of the Supreme Court and a license is issued and signed by the Registrar of the Supreme Court.

I would guess the same process is followed for doctors and lawyers so it would be the Registrar of the Supreme Court who issues the licenses to doctors and lawyers.

There will be an act regulating the practice of law and medicine.

Since I am only half a lawyer, I do not pay anything to practice my half of law.

There is no act regulating the practice of a half a lawyer.

42. Hal AustinSeptember 20, 2020 12:45 PM

@ John A

Vonda is appealing and has a right to represent her clients.

She can only practice law if the Registrar of the Supreme Court licenses her to practice.

She was convicted in June 2019, her license for 2019 would have had to be renewed in January 2020.

Once the Registrar of the Supreme Court licenses her she can practice.

43. Sarge’s point above opens this up for interesting discussion. So where does moral obligation stop and the law start for example? Is it a case that in the past someone involved in a court case over money would not even consider accepting a seat on a board to begin with? Is it a case now where we need more guidelines written about serving on Gov boards because today as we say ” nobody dont have no shame?”

So where does doing the right thing morally and legally meet?

44. We are constantly bombarded with accusations of being something of a pariah in the legal and financial world and yet there are others far, far worse than us and when they do their dastardly deeds, a tap on the wrist is sufficient.
    FinCEN Files: HSBC moved Ponzi scheme millions despite warning https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-54225572

Can you imagine this taking place in Barbados …and the repercussions.

45. … and if the Registrar of the Supreme Court has not licensed her .. well … she may have a second charge to answer.

But you would need to read the act regulating lawyers.

46. @ Fearplay

I think this is where being small helps. Yes we been hit with Clico and a few other schemes but we knew what was going and and could of stopped it. Had the supervisor of insurance chained clicos door when they continued to write policies after the cease order was given, some damage could of been avoided.

The Usa market is so dam big that by time a Ponzi is recognised it has already stolen several million from the gulables.

47. Cap. 370A Legal Profession –

Can be downloaded from the Barbados Bar Association

48. “Practising Certificate” means a certificate issued pursuant to section 11,
    and “valid Practising Certificate” means a Practising Certificate
    which is in force;

(5) The Registrar shall cause to be published in the Official Gazette

(a) in the month of February in every year, an alphabetical
    list of persons who have at the 31st January in that year
    obtained a Practising Certificate;

(b) as soon as practicable after he obtains a Practising
    Certificate, the name of any person obtaining a PractisingCertificateafterthe31stJanuaryinanyyear.

(6) A copy of the Officiaial Gazette containing the list referred
    to in paragraph (a) of subsection (5) or the name of any person
    published pursuant to paragraph (b) of that subsection shall be
    prima facie evidence in any court of the registration on the Roll of
    the name of, and the holding of a valid Practising Certificate by,
    any person mentioned in paragraph (a) or(b) of that subsection.