Peter Odle

We now know veteran hotelier Peter Odle was recently appointed Chairman of Barbados Port Inc to replace Senator Lisa Cummins who was promote to the Cabinet of Barbados. His first salvo to the media was to sell his private sector experience acquired over many years. We will see Mr. Odle, we will see.

Meanwhile elsewhere it is left to social media players to prosecute a matter where Peter Odle’s name is mentioned. In recent days an unsigned letter addressed to Prime Minister Mia Mottley has been circulating in the Barbados social media space.

In brief, a dispute has arisen between Irish investor Alan McIntosh (Emerald Investment) and newly appointed Chairman Peter Odle. The investor resorted to the Barbados Courts on April 2018 – seeking for matter CV1233 of 2018 to be heard on an urgent basis. Mr. McIntosh has expressed shock that to date the matter is outstanding. See the letter attached which reaffirms an issue promoted regularly in this space, justice delayed is justice denied.

The blogmaster has communicated with our source, reviewed voluminous documents received to understand the details of the dispute. Mr. McIntosh deserves his day in court. The letter confirms a similar filing was made in a Guernsey court – the jurisdiction in which a loan agreement between the parties was consummated – and it was resolved in five months. There are no words to describe how Mr. McIntosh and others gripped in a full nelson by our court system must be feeling. Barbados is a country dependent on tourism and foreign direct investment (FDI). This case does not recommend Barbados as an easy place to do business if our courts are not functioning efficiently to dispense justice in a satisfactory time frame.

It is noteworthy Justice Rajendra Narine is acting Chief Justice now that former Chief Justice Marston Gibson has retired. The vacancy was advertised across the region and the application process will close on 7 September 2020. Successive governments have been unable to wrestle our moribund judicature labouring under the weight of a backlog of cases. Check BU Archives and Lawyer in the News Page for the avoidance of doubt. Prime Minister Mottley was on CNN International assuring all within earshot that Barbados is open for business despite COVID 19. On the flip side our Courts are not equipped to discharge all assigned duties were our guests forced to seek legal remedy.

The blogmaster holds no brief for Peter Odle, therefore this blog is not meant to denigrate the newly appointed Chairman and veteran hotelier. The primary message is to ask why Barbados is unable to deliver timely justice guaranteed under the Constitution to its constituents. William Alan McIntosh deserves for the local Courts to rule on his claim of USD550,000 (with interest and cost) owed by First Defendant Sandy Bay Holdings (2014) Inc and Second Defendant Peter Odle. For an aggrieved party to have to fight the Barbados Courts et al to remedy an injustice is the antithesis to what it should represent.

Emerald Investment Partners (“Emerald”) is the private UK and Irish family investment office of Mr. Alan McIntosh. Our investment record in the UK and Ireland includes co-founding Cairn Homes plc, Ireland’s largest house builder which is quoted on both the Dublin and London stock exchange with a market capitalisation of £800m. Emerald is a significant stakeholder in Interserve plc, a UK outsource provider that employs over 50,000 staff. Mr. McIntosh was co-founder of Punch Taverns in the late 90’s a company he grew to an estate of over 5,000 pubs. Emerald was the lead investor in the acquisition of a portfolio of airport hotels which were being privatised by the Irish Government (Great Southern Hotels) and we acquired and funded Carechoice, a company that has gone on to become one of the largest nursing homes operators in Ireland. Emerald continues to be an active investor in UK & Irish residential and commercial real estate, hotel and leisure assets.

Emerald Investment

66 responses to “Foreign Investor Unable to Have Case Heard Against Hotelier Peter Odle”

1. Shame. When nationals complained about the theft by lawyers, delays and corruption in the legal system, most gave a hurumph and went on. Now this non operative legal system is being told to an international audience. I also noted the lack of even a common acknowledgment of the businessman’s correspondence. Par for the course…it has happened to me too.

2. This fiasco in the judicial system only gives greater credence to Hal Austin’s mantra that Barbados is a “failed state” but still pretending to be punching above its weight.

The Law faculty at the Cave Hill Campus ought to be closed for the sake of efficiency in the local judicial system since it is proving the old adage to be totally relevant that:
    ‘Too many c(r)ooks (paperchasing corrupt lawyers) are spoiling the broth’ (justice in Barbados).

3. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

I have been informed by a senior local attorney with no political affiliation that there is currently a defamation suit, Odle v McIntosh, before the court. Furthermore that the suit filed by McIntosh has been judicially ruled to be seriously flawed, requiring significant amendment prior to any pursuance. He says the ball is actually in McIntosh’s court and the delay largely of his own making.

4. I have been informed by a senior local attorney with no political affiliation that there is currently a defamation suit, Odle v McIntosh, before the court. Furthermore that the suit filed by McIntosh has been judicially ruled to be seriously flawed, requiring significant amendment prior to any pursuance. He says the ball is actually in McIntosh’s court and the delay largely of his own making.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

YOU SEEMED TO BE INFORMED BY EVERYBODY.

YESTERDAY IT WAS AN IMMIGRATION OFFICER WITH SUSPECT BOGUS OVERSEAS NUMBERS AND A FEW YEARS AGO THE DRUG DEALER CHARLES HERBERT.

YOUR CREDIBILITY SMELLS LIKE THE SEWAGE WHICH LAID IN THE STREETS FOR 2 YEARS UNDER THE DLP.

BARBADOS CIVIL COURT SYSTEM IS F@@KED UP. I HAVE HAD MATTERS INVOLVING HUNDREDS OF THOUSANDS $$$ SIMILARLY DELAYED WITH DISHONEST LAWYERS INVOLVED WITH A CROOKED DEFENDANT.

THE MORE THINGS CHANGE THE MORE THEY REMAIN THE SAME.

5. @plt
    Recently I noted your amazement at how any public body in Bim could process 1000 applications in the time period stated.
    I concluded a deal in late 2016, and despite no communication that my submissions are incomplete, inaccurate or outright wrong, funds remain in abeyance. Nobody knows why, it’s a mulberry bush.
    So while your information maybe accurate, Barbados has a well earned reputation for tardiness in the extreme.
    It is difficult for me to imagine going to these lengths if the foreigner is playing the delay game. Part of that strategy is keeping a low to non-existent profile.
    Has the Rogers-Prescod case been heard or scrapped? We are now past two years since their arrest.

6. If the legal system is in chaos, then the democracy is flawed. If we look closely at ALL our democratic institutions they are all flawed in some way.
    The cumulative effect of all this is that our democracy is badly fractured, that Barbados is a failed state. To add to this, the present government came to power on May 25, 2018; it entered in to a contract with White Oaks on May 30th, five days later, and defaulted on all its foreign and domestic debt.
    Now a senior consultant to this government is denying that a basic truth by Victoria Mutual, the Jamaican finance house, tht Barbados bonds are high risk. This is finance 101.
    The act of defaulting destroyed investor confidence. Added to this, the semi-compulsory (workers had to opt out) BOSS is further confirmation of this.
    Pare-2008, the banking crisis, Barbados became a magnet for a large number of Irish ‘investors’, including many involved in horse racing.
    Our nation is in serious crisis, while idiots talk about foreign reserves and CNN interviews..

7. Dear Mr MacIntosh

The legal system in Barbados has been dysfunctional for decades. Every Barbadian knows this. The only people who benefit from this crooked system are the politicians, high level criminals and incompetent attorneys. While the dysfunction is known to all, the local elite and apologists go to extreme lengths to deny or even cover up the same. It is a mess!

I hope you get your day in court… but I doubt it.

Your advice is sound: ” Do Not Invest In Barbados”.

Yours
    A Former Investor

8. There is a sophisticated network of crooks which has for generations operated in Barbados. People with an ability to privately influence process and final determinations.

Members of that network are sometimes given titles like “hotelier” even when they are not the actual owners of hotels but mere employees, though in the case of Odle there might be an exception.

This false and imposed respectability is itimately connected to the idea that a country should make a living by being a refuse for questionable international financial activities. Enter the OECD.

In both cases there are people looking to get away with forms of immortality or the barely legal. It is within this cesspool of illegality where this case, this legal system, is best located.

Errol Barrow tried to warn us about ” staying out of coleridge street” but now official corrupting activities, like a cancer, have taken over the entire system it far too late to adhere.

9. @Hal
    You have often made some brilliant posts. However, you take away from your contributions when you resort to calling people by various names.

Always remember this
    1) People can discuss whatever they are interested in. They do not have to follow your lead. No one sets an agenda.

2) People can have an opinion that differs from yours in

The above does not make them fools, idiots or any of the various names that you choose to call them.

I will end there.

10. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@PLT yours is an interesting post… why would an experienced investor get stumped by “flawed” legal filings for several years and NOT have his – one presumes- elite lawyer revise his suit?

Coupled with the fact that he has expeditiously executed a legal matter in another jurisdiction against the same person – presumptively his elite lawyers there are working under the same English legal ‘authorities’ as we are here – it beggars belief that he would be so carefree or careless for so long in THIS matter .

So with that said one has to take your remark that the “suit filed by McIntosh has been judicially ruled to be seriously flawed” with care… afterall our judges have been lambasted by the CCJ REPEATEDLY for their poor judicial case and time management .

So one can reasonably ask: exactly what has the judge deemed as so flawed to keep a matter in abeyance for three year and which a competent lawyer would not have revised promptly !

11. Another blacklisting added to the 4 Seasons scam blacklisting where they all ripped off quite a few multi-millionaires and I believe an Irish billionaire or two….so just imagine what they do to the average Black Bajan.

…their evil corruption proceeds them, as for the fraudulent supreme court, don’t even look for them to care….they are violating the human rights of the elderly, 60 YEARS OLD AND OVER., to an expedited court process as we speak…that is what they do…human rights organizations must be alerted.

12. @PLT

“judicially ruled to be seriously flawed, requiring significant amendment”

YOUR JACKASS BRAINS ARE ON FULL DISPLAY for all to see. This statement is used routinely and frequently by the CORRUPT & DYSFUNCTIONAL Barbados Justice System to STALL and cover-up their corrupt actions.

13. The Barbados Today Editorial is shocking. It is a must read for those who care about Barbados.

14. Everyone is waiting for Mia to get rid of the racism, oppression, exploitation and ROBBING of the Black population in Barbados BEFORE she pulls the RACE CARD on the EU….

15. Hants…can you please post the Barbadostoday article.

16. @Peter

Have a challenge understanding the comment. As far as the blogmaster is aware there has been no ruling by the Court on the matter being contested. Mr. McIntosh as far as the blogmaster is aware has not been notified of a lawsuit. You would have read the BT article earlier in the year?

https://barbadostoday.bb/2020/02/22/irish-bajan-investors-fall-out-lawsuit-follows/

17. I commend the reconnection to Africa as long as the house slaves understand it APPLIES TO and for African descendants in Barbados ONLY…still don’t know why any embassy is needed when African governments are in talks to grant the African descended in the Diaspora their birthright citizenship and there is NO TRIBE IN AFRICA CALLED BAJAN….so don’t bring ya backward evil colonial shit into Africa…..and don’t think ya carrying crooked ass maloney, bizzy, cow, bjerkham etc there either…because all their names are already being exposed as thieves posing as investors.

“Barbados has established an embassy in Ghana which is set to open next month.

Minister of Health and Wellness Lt. Col. Jeffrey Bostic, who made the announcement, said there are also plans to establish an embassy in Nairobi, Kenya, as he acknowledged the cultural and historical bonds between Barbados and the African continent.

“This is a very serious undertaking by the Government of Barbados, to really have those connections and those ties, and to cement something that should have been cemented really several years ago,” he said.

Bostic further revealed that negotiations have started to establish a direct air route between Barbados and Ghana.”

18. Dont know if there are 2 such newspaoer articles circulating about the corrupt supreme court, but here goes.

https://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_fbid=10157943707468191&id=246784233190&sfnsn=scwspwa&extid=gDgpubV2Xu6NePl2

19. It should be noted that the above article outlines the backward procedures regarding the granting of bail for repeat offenders, it is also a serious indictment on lawmakers and on ALL CJs and Judges in the last 25 years regarding criminal matters and who collect these large monthly salaries and pension….

….that same indictment also EXTENDS to the same lawmakers, CJS and Judges in the last 25 years who IGNORE and VIOLATE the San Jose Charter on the Rights of the Elderly in Latin America and the Caribbean..when they REFUSE to hand down decisions and bring closure to civil cases especially where insurance companies are involved.

20. YOU SEEMED TO BE INFORMED BY EVERYBODY. {Quote}

But, skipper, you got the same problem too. You does come here and brag bout how much people you know. You does make some wild accusations and then tell we you were reliably informed by some businessman, police, customs, immigration officers or somebody in the know.

Wuh mek me laugh is when you say you buy an illegal item from a policeman and then give it to your lawyer. Up to now I here laughing and wondering if that make any sense or you just more ignorant than we.

21. Bajan Free Party warn the World about the crooks, liars, and scumbags in Barbados government and all the court’s setup to rob and kill people, land and money laundering over and over again < We ask all investor stand clear until 2023 or sooner if Trump wynns the election to clean out the swamp and gullies, Every Minister, every lawyer you meet is a long time crook, Corruption is the way of Life in Barbados! vote BFP we have all your Answers !

22. According to the Editorial, two hard back known criminals walking free while you have one man sent to jail for a nail clipper and another for stealing a salt bread because he was hungry. Welcome to Barbados where prison is for the poor and hungry.

23. @de pendantic D 06:17 Excellent point. PLT has to carefully protect his analytical reputation against cool-aid contamination if he wishes his opinions to be taken seriously.

24. David on September 3, 2020, at 10:02 AM: does it really state “Peter J Jole” as defendant? Guess it could be an error. If so, is this a minor or serious flaw?

25. https://www.msn.com/en-us/tv/news/prime-minister-of-barbados-says-women-make-better-leaders-than-men/ar-BB18Fwxd?ocid=msedgntp

Mugabe seems to have PR people, contacts, capable of exposing her to international media

We see her, one of the leading ‘criminal’ lawyers in Barbados, pontificating on how women also mek better leaders than men. L for lawyers, L for leaders.

Well, Afrikan men are genetically predisposed to being led by women. Nothing new there!

However, there maybe a largely Western imposed, Piscean induced, problem when certain predominately male oriented activities are surreptiously compromised – Kompromat as our Russian friends would say.

Yes, we fully expect our women to rule the universes ………….. with water in this new age. However, on other private matters of ‘water’ and the regulation of its flow, must be the sphere in which male dominance is complete. This is a matter in which steadfast resistance must never cease. LOL

26. @Wilie

It is a minor issue.

27. WillieSeptember 3, 2020 2:43 PM

David on September 3, 2020, at 10:02 AM: does it really state “Peter J Jole” as defendant? Guess it could be an error. If so, is this a minor or serious flaw?

Take Notice sent by Court.

Doesn’t exactly inspire confidence in the abilities of its functionaries!!

28. Well, it does seem as though an effort is being made to speed up the process.

29. Wasn’t Marston Gibson supposed to cure the court systrm. It looks like he simply added to the swamp! Now retired at what cost to Barbados. Anither piece of shite from NY!

30. @David

Blog appears to have two “Wily” Coyote and a new “Willie” !, not the same animal.

31. Any coincidence that the present FIRE in Speightstown has any relationship with this case, ie does Peter Odlie not own the building on fire.

32. @Wily

Noted, the other is Willie.

Peter Odle is the owner of Mango Bay Hotel.

33. Is there a case to be made that directors of public boards should be suspended or recuse themselves until court matters in which they are named get resolved?

34. Too much scandal and corruption in Barbados, too many corrupt ministers and lawyers…

https://barbadostoday.bb/2020/09/04/icbl-sold-to-finance-firm-in-bermuda/

“Hinting that BF&M was not happy with its Barbados investment, Wight told the Bermuda newspaper: “We feel the capital could be better utilised pursuing other opportunities in other jurisdictions that we’re more comfortable with.”

35. “Well, it does seem as though an effort is being made to speed up the process.”

if you knew how those lowlifes operate, you will come to learn that it’s no attempt at all, there is no guarantee that there was any hearing, a Take Notice means nothing to them..

36. Is there such a person as a mass murderer in Barbados? Must the murders be done simultaneously?

37. @ Quaker John

Some time ago we talked about slave-owning ‘coloured’ Bajans. Do you have a list? Is there an Odle on it?

38. @ Hal September 4, 2020 1:35 PM
    The Judiciary in Barbados is as crooked as a bent coin. If PLT actually believed what he was told by a local lawyer he is really a very gullible person.

39. @ Robert

Spot on. Welcome back.

40. @ Hal September 4, 2020 1:59 PM
    I am not posting as often as before: I got bored with the sameness of the comments. Will post about food fraud which I encountered locally, most likely next week. A real classical case of food fraud. Barbados really does not have people trained to the level to handle such elegant cases of food fraud.

41. @ Robert

Don’t take BU too seriously. I use my lap top, so can multi-task when doing other things. I have an escape – we have literally scores of televisions stations, 18 national newspapers, hundreds of magazine and journals and nice, cheap restaurants in which to relax. I enjoy my own company.

42. SMFH

43. @David “On the flip side our Courts are not equipped to discharge all assigned duties were our guess [replace with guest] forced to seek legal remedy. The blogmaster holds no brief for Peter Odle, therefore this blog is not meant to degenerate [replace with denigrate]

Dear David: Corrections please.

Some will recall that I thought that Marston should not have become Barbados’ CJ. i was cussed royally, especially by the late Amused.

See wha’ I tell wunna now/

44. Dr. Lucas

Any comment posted by you or others should be shaped by your perspective and not what others post.

45. Tanks Simple Simon, you are hired. A case of the fingers getting ahead of the brain.

46. ” Joe Poulin, chairman of PBF said: “ICBL is a household name in Barbados, and I am honoured and privileged to join the family. I am particularly happy to bring ICBL’s ownership home from Bermuda to Barbados.” Paynes Bay Finance.

ICBL, a provider of general, life and medical insurance coverage, is listed on the Barbados Stock Exchange and last traded at $3 per share.

Now that ICBL has been sanitized it could be a worthwhile investment.

47. @Hants

The matter is not fully sanitized until local players involved are probed by the police.

48. @ David September 4, 2020 5:17 PM

What are you implying here, dear blogmaster?

That you could soon see an arrest warrant issued for the other players in the Donvillegate bribery and the M/L actus reus?

Should we get our lawyer friend Greene to be that complainant for the local law enforcement agencies to act or will the EU and OECD have to keep Bim blacklisted?

Barbados will always be seen as a non-compliant jurisdiction unless justice is served to the other ‘joint principals’ to the bribe and M/L as was done with Donville in Uncle Sam’s country.

As Brother Hants has always argued, you cannot have bribees without bribers.

So what is good for the Don must also apply to the others; if the scales of justice are to balance.

49. @Jamal

One suspects the new owners will want to oversee a purge.