Mia Mottley exerted her prerogative as prime minister in the system of government we practice by making a few changes to her Cabinet last month. Two of the changes included the promotion of two chairmen of statutory boards Senator Lisa Cummins and Ian Gooding-Edghill.

Both individuals have distinguished themselves as competent, hard workers with a capacity and resolve to get the job done. I have been impressed with their stewardship in their respective roles as chairman of the National Insurance Scheme and the Transport Board, in the case of Gooding-Edghill… Mottley said.

Nation Newspaper

The promotion of Ian Gooding-Edghill piqued the interest of some including the blogmaster. On paper he is/was responsible for the influential NIS and problem riddled Transport Board. We cannot be sure of the performance metric used to determine how he has “distinguished” himself in the dual role. However, as a concerned citizen the blogmaster must evaluate from an armchair distance. In a simple summary the blogmaster has not observed any gargantuan shift in the performance of the National Insurance Scheme if a most important metric is applied- the production of current audited financial statements. Audited financial statements are important because it provides a comfort level to the public through the eyes of a qualified external agency about the financial health of the Fund. The failing of successive governments to remedy the situation points to a systemic problem that should concern an ageing society.

The raging pandemic has serve to make a bad situation worse given the stress currently being exerted on the NIS and will for some time to come. Although Ian Gooding-Edghill has uttered mouthings in an attempt to assure the public the NIS is solvent. His voice cannot replace the independent assurance of the external auditor.

Two observations continue to puzzle the blogmaster. The avoidance of the normally loquacious prime minister Mottley when it comes to discussing any and everything under the sun. The recognition of Gooding-Edgehill given the current state of the NIS. Until we are told what measures have been implemented at the NIS under his tenure a sensible public must assume was business as usual.

Mottley and government may miss the irony that despite its focus on the economy – supported by an army of ministers and consultants – it has been the other ‘issues’ that have been clipping at the political heels.

96 responses to “Mystery @National Insurance”

1. @David
    What mystery? There is no mystery the PM said the Chairman of the NIS did a good job in her words “I am impressed with their stewardship in their respective roles” etc. and that’s good enuff for me. 😊

As recorded in the good book “Blessed are those who have not seen and yet have believed”

2. @Sargeant

Some of us do not get intoxicated drinking koolaid.

3. but lots get inebriated and never even tasted the koolaid

4. David, is this the same Mia Mottley that your now criticizing, that only a couple of years ago you could not stop blowing a HORN for. Remember what Wily told you at the time, SAME OLD SAME OLD. Some crusty old seniors with poor eye sight can still expertly read between the 30-0 lines. Don’t give up your optimism as it eventually may come to pass, however Wily does not expect to see it in his lifetime.

5. NorthernObserver Avatar

Beg KK to see if he can unravel the mystery? It is sure to be a red tainted view, but will provide a few laughs. Laughing is good when discussing the NIS, for truth is likely to be painful. So let’s ignore it.
    The challenge is the NIS needs to be explained in black and white terms. That is the onliest thing the BU gang will jump on.

6. @Wily

What is your point? We are playing the cards dealt. Whither the third party movement in Barbados?

7. The NIS is bankrupt after the Sinckler government systematically plundered it. If we had invested the money in decent stocks or in ETFs, Barbadians would be incredibly rich now – instead, “Professor” Robinson and the other figures inexperienced in money matters sunk the money into useless projects like the Apes Hill Plantation.

The main reason for the misery is that Barbados has nowhere near the foreign currency reserves to invest the local NIS contributions in foreign stocks. The Barrows Dollar is just a piece of toilet paper without any value for really good investments.

8. @NorthernObserver August 10, 2020 5:28 PM “Beg KK to see if he can unravel the mystery?”

Now why are you assigning big people’s business to a callow youth?

9. We have discussed the NIS ad nauseum. But we could definitely discuss it from a white and black perspective. Plenty there to discuss. For instance, I understand the government used the funds to invest in certain projects involving the usual suspects.

You see, the reason why we discuss everything in terms of black and white is because everything in this country CAN BE DISCUSSED IN TERMS OF BLACK AND WHITE.

Our country was build in terms of black and white. We have yet to replace that foundation.

10. Correction – built

11. Uh-oh! Tron beat me to it! Black and white and APES.

12. We need the audit financials, this is the priority.

13. NorthernObserver Avatar

@SS
    because the big people have failed miserably; maybe the youth can help. It is less about age, than the inclination to work and produce tangible results. David is pushing for audited financials, which while the ultimate goal, the Act requires an annual report from the Board AND audited financials. People like Ms Moore, who has been a Board member for umpteen years, can wax poetically about a Senate vote, but be completely quiet on the NIS. As a union member is this what you expect from your leader? Silence on your pension.

14. Parliament is now prorogued until Sept 15. Keep your eyes and ears out for this president trying to force through policy on the sly. She is not above such things.
    Watch out for special perks to the business class; selling off Crown lands; grants and tax waivers; appointments; etc. She is also not above using Dale Marshall, the legal expert, to do some of her little deeds. Be on the ball.

15. @NorthernObserver August 10, 2020 10:51 PM

You completely misunderstand me. I was not talking about KK at all. I was responding to David’s concerns about NIS, and saying that the NIS is a big job for a big man or several big men and women, that we should not overburden our young people with something that is no fault of theirs.

Of course I want the NIS to be well managed. Of course I want my pension to be secure

I may be foolish, but not that foolish.

16. But having said that, I am my mother’s daughter. When she was just a teen her stepfather told her that she “could survive where an ant would starve”. And that’s exactly she did, until she was nearly 86.

Survived World War 1, survived the 1917/18 ‘flu pandemic, survived the harshness of Barbados’ economy pre-1937, survived the1937 uprising in Barbados heard the police and the military shooting the people, survived World War 2, survived raising me [and many others], survived a 30 year battle with diabetes, then one Friday morning, woke up, drank her tea, and went quietly to be with her God.

Stepdaddy? He was gone by his early 60’s.

Neither you nor KK should worry ’bout me.

I am like my fore-parents a survivor of the crossing.

17. “White and Dark Shadows loom over Barbados and Guyana, but Without Silver Linings!”

https://www.thevoiceslu.com/2020/08/white-and-dark-shadows-loom-over-barbados-and-guyana-but-without-silver-linings/

18. @ Hal Austin August 11, 2020 6:58 AM

Barbados is going through its worst economic crisis since the abolition of slavery. Our leader and lifelong president of our hearts will not simply sit back until mid-September, but will act quickly to save Barbados.

As long as the emergency legislation is in place, our Most Honourable Prime Minister is the supreme legislator and is not accountable to anyone. The people want it that way.

19. @ Tron

You are again absolutely right. Clearly you are earning your crust. Under the cloak of the prorogation of parliament and an extended emergency, this president can do as she pleases. Since she has no original ideas, and @PLT will be stupid to offer her any more, her only recourse is to brutalise ordinary working people. Watch this space.

20. First thing in the morning. Into the vituperative bucket this goes

Time will tell if you are AGAIN proved wrong. Barbadians were expected to starve when COVID struck. Supermarkets should have seen food stocks depleted according to you.

#steuspe

21. The reality on ground is dire yes they are bajans who are close to starving not knowning where there next meal be coming from
    Unemployment numbers are enough to figure that many households have met poverty levels sufficiently so that the social impact of some of these households are severely compromised
    David you can sit back and scrutinized all u want but even if the supermarkets are well stocked the end result of people having no money to buy food to put on their tables would very well mean starvation for many

22. Managing poverty is a work in progress everywhere. Check out what is happening in the great USA.

https://spotlightonpoverty.org/states/florida/

This is why proper management of the NIS is important.

23. Well where are all the fat cats govt help in first year in office
    Tax waivers and cuts galore went to the most elite and influential in business
    Yes they were financially rewarded while the working stiff were handed the debt wagon and told to hold strain
    Millions were handed to the big cruise industry in docking fees while the poor was becoming penniless and hungry for lack of jobs
    Presently barbados has become the bread basket for visitors on a policy of Humanatarian “cause “while the bajan sucked salt for lack of everything including water
    Meanwhile govt boast of million in reserves
    Go figure

24. Poverty must be managed true
    Why it is of most importance govt release some of those millions in reserves and put money in the populace pocket to maintain a semblance of spending power which goes into the local economy and in turn the spend is way of collecting taxes for govt revenue
    A win win for all

25. “ACCURATELY AUDITED FINACIALS” for the NIS is never going to happen. Yes some audits may appear in the future, however they will be politically messaged and only present the auditing facilitator in a positive light/lite. All previous government’s have/are using NIS as their personal ATM and thus do not want any kind of audit which would imply their malfeasance. Barbados implimented a good Canadian idea with the setup of the NIS, however operation of the same has been a downward trend ever since.

Do not understand how a country that is always trying to BAT ABOVE ITS WEIGHT can fail in most endeavours it undertakes, starting with independence.

26. Can we get a full financial breakdown of the NIS from 1994 to 2008? Such historical data should be freely available. Can some enterprising and competent newspaper reporter take this on as a project?

27. Aren’t foreign reserves used mainly to pay external debt, fund capital projects etc. Will give way to Vincent and the other financial gurus on this matter.

28. NIS saga

For years run by a bunch of incompetent and govt using it as a ATM machine to bail out businesses
    Nobody ever thought the money belonged to the people
    So now what is the point of all the noises
    People with an arrogance having an interest unto themselves and who were in part given authority to managed public purses should be hauled to jail for this kind of injustice done towards the working class
    Even the Union bosses who took membership fees and have not delivered means which are of effort to help the members should be held accountable
    All this unfairness towards the people must stop
    Can only be done when these low life officials are handcuffed and put in jail
    People backsides are suffering will the morons enjoy a quality life

29. Yes . However when the debt is paid off and the other projects are completed
    A story of devastating failure would result because govt refused to be guided by commonsense to help the
    people
    Presently the local economy is suffering because the spending power of the people has been depleted
    Furthermore i indicated that such money borrowed from the reserves would return to the economy with dividends
    Hence a profit margin would result because of taxes paid on that money by way of spend
    As for hotels they also can derived benefits from such spend with a need to be creative and innovative lead by a desire to have plans to attract local culture and entertainment for the people along with other plans of attraction for the locals

30. The supermarkets didn’t run out of food and the sun will rise tomorrow bet your bottom dollar…

31. @ Mariposa

There is an even bigger trick, worked not only by the incompetents at NIS, but by commercial organisations, such as banks and hotels. It is called tax arbitrage, based on the corporations own internal markets, but for tax waivers. In effect, taxpayers pay these companies to operate in their jurisdictions.
    This is also backed up with regulatory capture, which is big in bigger economies, in that the top tax personnel are offered jobs by the very companies they are meant to be supervising.
    Because there is no clarity on how businesses report in Barbados, we can be certain that the scams they run are even deeper than the mess at the NIS. Then we get economic waffle about fiscal space.

32. “Tax waivers and cuts galore went to the most elite and influential in business. Yes they were financially rewarded while the working stiff were handed the debt wagon and told to hold strain.”

++++++++++++++++++

You know you’re being disingenuous and ‘spinning’ a situation to suit your political agenda. Government did not give “tax waivers and cuts galore.” It WROTE OFF taxes deemed uncollectible for EVERYONE…… individuals, small, medium and large businesses.

Taxes that were due and remained uncollected under both BLP and DLP administrations. The same taxes that remained outstanding when you established the BRA to manage and improve the efficiency of the tax reporting and collection system.

But we know the fibbers and self appointed lawyers will ‘tell’ you “spot on” and “you are correct.”

33. If memory serves correct there was a significant lowering of taxes to the business class in govt first year in office

34. If memory serves correct there was a significant lowering of taxes to the business class in govt first year in office
    This govt has asked of the people to use some of their finances to invest in govt and some have responded
    When is govt going to return said favour of investing in the people
    Could it be a lack of trust in their populace
    A trust that is only afforded to the elite and influential
    Yes it get it
    Politicians have a strange way of rewarding the poor which usually occurs around election time in all shapes and manners

35. Are you referring when the government moved to a ONE rate tax regime for companies in Barbados? Do you understand why this was done and how it impacts?

36. @ Mariposa

The notion that taxes are uncollectable is a nonsense. Government is obliged to pursue all taxes owed to the state. If people have defaulted, then they should be prosecuted.
    I have called for changes in corporation law so that directors and shareholders can be pursued in their private lives for corporate debt. The idea that companies are bodies legal in themselves is 1920s crap.
    The alternative, is the transfer of wealth from the poorest to the wealthiest in Barbados, a policy pursued by both DLP and BLP governments – Stuart because he was weak, the president because she has not a clue.
    We have the obscenity of companies collecting VAT and then refusing to hand the money over to the tax authorities. What? This is lunacy. Then we get some bogus economic notion of fiscal space. Collect all taxes or prosecute the deviants. Make them pay, and on time.

37. Hal
    Correct only in barbados and turd world countries would such nonsense be fed to the people
    Only to prove that govt like to blind the people with smoke and mirrors
    If what govt claim is true then what did govt of recent hauled a black man to prison for not paying his taxes
    The same could have been applied years ago to the big shots before this now expiration date of past period time became a fools fantasy for the people

38. @ Mariposa

It is an even bigger scandal. Taxpayers pay for company directors’ cars, their petrol, their expensive lunches in classy restaurants, sometimes their children’s education, mobile phones, etc. some of it tax deductible and some of it not. All of which ordinary workers have to pay for themselves.
    I worked in a job in which if I wanted to I could have had a long list of benefits paid for by the company. Apart from the basics, I declined them all, including reclaiming the costs of lunches.
    Again, we need to reform our corporate legislation and make these highly paid people pay for their keep. That will create the fiscal space.

39. Here comes the fibber to spew his usual know-it-all rubbish.

It’s customary on BU for certain contributors to refer to or dismiss other jurisdictions as examples, when it conveniently suits their purpose. However, even the USA’s IRS deem taxpayers’ accounts as uncollectible or temporarily uncollectible.

Also, what purpose does it serve coming on BU to call for changes in laws other than one of self-aggrandizement?

Rather than harping on about written off taxes, citizens and special interest groups should be lobbying government not to allow a situation where income tax and VAT receivable are collected instead of remaining outstanding for several years.

40. NorthernObserver Avatar

@SS
    my apologies for misinterpreting your comments.

41. The biggest fibbers is the govt
    Enough proof out there
    Gives govt workers. 5 percent pay hike and take all back in taxes and fees
    Then to add insult to injury sell them a pig in a bag call a BOSS program

42. A lady on social media always say bajans dotish as sh..te
    They allowed the merchant class to lead them down a fanatical path of prosperity
    Now the merchant class got the benefits and the people got gripe

43. I have to agree this Mottley administration has so far performed terribly. To borrow a phrase from Freundel, they seem to be in a dark room searching for a black cat. I’m also a bit disappointed that, after being a robust, proactive Opposition Leader, Mottley has ‘flattered to deceive’ as PM.

However, I await their new throne speech to see what direction they’re going to take.

44. @ MMariposa

It is not the merchant class. The biggest traitors to ordinary Barbadians are the half-educated men and women in their robes, that professional middle class, the sons and daughters and grand sons and grand daughters, of carpenters, and blacksmiths, and mechanics and cane cutters, who now see it as their mission to penalise people for being poor.
    Just look at our braindead magistrates. But, give them time. When the New Barbadians have the appropriate numbers (and they breed like rabbits), they will take over the island and traditional Bajans, black and white, will be driven in to the sea. If the whites think they are going to get a pass, they are living in a dream world.

45. I’ll have to agree this Mottley administration has performed terribly so far. To borrow a phrase from Freundel’s notebook, they seem to be ‘in a dark room searching for a black cat.’

We have the PM as Minister of Finance, Economic Affairs and Investment; Marsha Caddle is Minister in the Ministry of Economic Affairs and Investment; Ryan Straughn – Minister in the Ministry of Finance; Dr. Clyde Mascoll – Chief Economic Counsellor to the Prime Minister; Kevin Greenidge – Senior Economic Advisor and Professor Avinash Persaud is the Special Envoy to the Prime Minister of Barbados on Investment and Financial Services, yet Barbadians are not clear on what are ‘government’s’ economic policies.

I’m also a bit disappointed that, after being a robust, proactive Opposition Leader, Mottley has ‘flattered to deceive’ as PM.

However, I await their throne speech to see the direction they’re going to take.

46. Artax,

is that sarcasm?

47. Yes Mia threw out the scamp George Psyne and a few others
    However kept White Oaks and other largess consultants at ridiculous fees
    Pray tell what help are these high flying well to do big wigs are to an economy feeling the pangs of COVID
    All of them should have long be show the exit sign in order to save the barbados economy some much needed funds

48. @Hal Austin August 12, 2020 10:36 AM. “When the New Barbadians have the appropriate numbers (and they breed like rabbits)”

How many children do you have Hal? Have you moved to England and “bred like a rabbit”?

“They breed like rabbits” statement is exactly the sort of thing said about immigrants, and especially about black and brown immigrants. But do you have any data to support that the birthrate of New Barbadians is any higher than the birth rate of “Old Barbadians”?

The demographic truth is that the number of children a woman has in her lifetime is mostly determined by her level of formal education. In this 21st women with no formal education at all may have up to 10 children, women with only an elementary school education may have 5 or 6, women with a secndary educaion ma have 3 or 4, university educated women will have maybe 2; and women with a post graduate education even fewer than that.

In 21st century Barbados every female has to attend formal education until she is at least 16, many choose to remain in education even longer than that. Blck women, white women, brown women.

If you think that 21st century women will let themselves be bred like rabbits by irresponsible men, you are living someplace in the 1950’s.

it int going to happen.

So you can dream on.

And it is really about time that you garbage the hate which you have learned in miserable England.

49. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Artax
    Aye…you live in Hope? Maybe Strong Hope? or Hopewell? or Hopefield? or Hope Land? Maybe your home is Good Hope, Hopecot, or Hopeville, or Casa D’esperanza. We all live in hope.

50. @ Mr. Greene

Unlike you, I don’t drink the very strong rum punch Astor was famous for serving at George Street…….. or the Koolaid in Roebuck Street.

But, if you believe its sarcasm….. then, ‘whatever rocks your boat.’