Part 1

We are in the midst of what may become the most important part of the of the 21 Century. It is a period ripe with the prospect for change, a revolution not yet coined. A global movement has arisen from the phrase “I Can’t Breathe” in support of black lives and as it affects Barbados, we too must become involved and ride it until the end, pushing to achieve all that we can as the ball is finally in our court. We will not pass this way again in our lifetime.

Blackout Day

The two ladies Marcia Weekes and Lisa Niles who brought to mainstream the recent Blackout Day in support of black businesses in Barbados must be commended. I hope that they will continue and become more organized so that ultimately one day of each week will be dedicated to patronizing black businesses in Barbados. In the spirit of inclusiveness I also hope that all white, brown and any in between will also support black business as black people have patronized their establishments for generations. Some may not have supported this action but the masses have to start somewhere to achieve economic enfranchisement and reduce inequalities in Barbados.

Although I was not surprised by the comments of the Private Sector Organization leader Edward Clarke in the media on July 7th 2020 (I will not comment on it in part 1), I was quite taken back by the comments of Senator Lynette Holder, CEO of the Small Business Association. She stated that “We have identified that small businesses tend to be disadvantaged and they are vulnerable and they represent a vulnerable group and so our focus has been on the issue of size and not the issue of race.” One can ask, how could the organizers not focus on race when it is the determining factor of the disadvantage and vulnerability. In addition she nullified her point as there in a correlation between the size of businesses and race in Barbados.

I hope that in time she recognizes that the activities of her organization to date have not changed the dynamics of black business in Barbados. With respect to both organizations there has been no effort to assist in black economic enfranchisement, shared prosperity, advocating to the banks on the behalf of black businesses, no programs developed to attempt to level the playing field or bringing suggestions to the table at a national level. They had the audacity to say that a blackout day was not the way to go but their way has not worked for black Barbadians. In essence, their way has served to maintain the status quo of inequality.

It is indeed disheartening that the black organizers and participants did not get the satisfaction of a symbolic victory without the accompanying backlash.

The value of black economic lives must matter to those who make up the private sector or black people will choose where to spend their dollar.

Reparations

I watched a recording of the online discussion From Apology to Action – CARICOM’s call for Reparatory Justice on June 6th, 2020. It was stated that the commission has spent 20 years pursuing reparations from Great Britain. Sadly their 10 point plan is missing its most important element; economic enfranchisement. It contains:

1. An apology 6. Eradicating Illiteracy

2. Repatriation 7. Debt Cancellation

3. Indigenous Peoples Programs 8. Psychological Rehabilitation

4. Creation of Cultural Institutions 9. Technology Transfer

5. Public Health 10. African Knowledge

What struck me for the very first time is that CARICOM has recognized the ills of slavery to the extent that it has created a body to pursue reparations for unpaid labour yet at home they have done nothing to create opportunities for economic enfranchisement and black generational wealth. How can they be so cognizant of the fact that it was the lack of compensation to the ex- slaves at emancipation which led to generational poverty and yet do nothing (I am not speaking about the removal of pit toilets) to halt the vicious cycle of poverty?

It is as though Black lives of the distant past matter for reparations, for advocacy to external governments, corporations and universities but the governments turn a blind eye on present oppression. No advocacy, no body or commission has ever been set up to focus on economic enfranchisement or creating generational wealth that has been missing for so long in the lives of the masses of Barbados. 20 years ago if a body had been set up to deal with these issues, I am sure that it would have reaped some measure of success by now.

There is no guarantee that there will be reparations or the form in which they may be given. It is time for our government and the governments in all the territories that made up the British West Indies to make the black lives of the present a priority.

The Statue of Lord Nelson

I was having these should he stay; should he go moments about Admiral Nelson. My resolve now is that any obstacle, feature, relic or law from the colonial era must be removed as it inhibits the economic and social growth of Barbados and infringes on its politics. Admiral Nelson’s statue is a relic of a by gone era that was to have ended in 1966. It is beyond comprehension why he is still standing in National Heroes Square. In leaving the statue up, we will only be passing on this psychological problem to the next generation of black children. If the presence of his statue is still too much for black people to bear, why would we wish to pass this trauma onto the next generation? Black lives in the future must matter too, so Nelson has got to go.

Some Solutions

Black people must recognize their economic value not only to others but to themselves. I wonder if it is the deprivation of slavery that makes us do things in excess. Constant feting, buying a new outfit each week or changing a phone whenever there is an upgrade are just a few things that we do that are not necessary. Why have we adopted the philosophy of a fool buying things that we do not need? If we squander away our earnings, how do we expect to leave an inheritance for our children?

We must buy from each other, save for rainy days, to start businesses, invest in property, to visit the motherland (it will be good for our souls) and for our children’s inheritance.

128 responses to “Another Heather Cole Column – BLACK LIVES MATTER!”

1. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Barbados will have to figure out its place in the grand scheme of things…unless the leaders who are delusional and believe they are rulers and controllers of the black population …and not the servants of the people…..have fallen in love with their current labels of maintaining a racist apartheid slave society that they force their own people to pay for generationally, money that could uplift the population and generate jobs and wealth…….up to them, people will be writing books about them for decades going forward, continuous embarrassment and no one cares if they will be able to handle all that fall out…..

The Black majority who fund the island will have to understand that they will be entitled to not only dual citizenship on the Continent but the way things are shaping up will have multiple countries in Africa to choose from, they also have to understand that all the trappings and birthrights that being the descendants of African slaves affords them…..it will be up to them to waste that opportunity…at this point, they coming to grips with the changes occurring IN THEIR FAVOR, thanks to BLACK PEOPLE…REAL PEOPLE….and not the pretenders who jump out from time to time and definitely NOT a bunch of greedy, trifling frauds in the parliament who would seek to destroy any movement that will help their people, they can’t even bring themselves to speak out against racism or the killing of Black people in US and UK…… checking for ancestral homeland is even more important than dwelling on UK or US who have their own massive problems right now. and are quite busy….unless Black Bajans plan to remain the victims of colonialism, greedy, dependent parasitic minorities and their own corrupt governments and go down as just a footnote in history…victims again…. all up to them…

am sure many on the blog did not even think things would have gotten this far, they have seen nothing yet……but i did warn Ms. Fighting Imperialism to dismantle the slave society, racism etc.. the very first month or earlier when she got elected…

2. Hal AustinJuly 16, 2020 10:54 AM

Is the Quaker-founded Barclays Bank, one of the key funders of slavery, going to pay reparations? And if so, to Sir Hillary’s Corporate Investment fund?

Slavery was going on long before Barclays came on the scene.

Do the math, about 200 years!!

By 1585, 63 years before there were any Quakers, there were about 10,000 African slaves in Pernambuco.

Where did the bulk of the slaves in the trans Atlantic slave trade wind up?

Portuguese and Spanish colonies.

The British Empire emancipated ~800K slaves in 1833/4.

Considering upwards of 12 million were taken out of Africa to the New World that is a remarkably small number.

Peanuts.

How come so few people (Quakers) could have such a remarkable effect on the entire World?

3. In less than 200 years, Quakers abolished slavery and the slave trade.

Isn’t that remarkable?

4. https://youtu.be/uLjyHswWH3I

Lord Nelson day coming soon.

5. https://youtu.be/BWacpuRWl5E

One day coming soon the people will rise up.

6. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

The indigenous African in the western diaspora and across the Caribbean Americas has the right to peace, security and protection from threats to their well being and quality of life. The indigenous African women and children have the right to be protected from all forms of rape and violence directed at them, that is what their taxes are paiding for, protection from crimes against themselves..

▼Article XXX. Right to peace, security, and protection
    1. Indigenous peoples have the right to peace and security. 2. 3. Indigenous peoples have the right to recognition and respect for their institutions for the maintenance of their organization and control of their communities and peoples. Indigenous peoples have the right to protection and security in situations or periods of internal or international armed conflict, in accordance with international humanitarian law.

States, in compliance with international agreements to which they are party, in particular those of international humanitarian law and international human rights law, including the Geneva Convention relative to the Protection of Civilian Persons in Time of War and Protocol II thereof relating to the protection of victims of non-international armed conflicts, shall, in the event of armed conflicts, take adequate measures to protect the human rights, institutions, lands, territories, and resources of indigenous peoples and their communities. Likewise, States: a. Shall not recruit indigenous children and adolescents into the armed forces under any circumstances; b. Shall adopt effective reparation measures and provide adequate resources for said reparation, in conjunction with the indigenous peoples concerned, for the damages or harm caused by an armed conflict.

c. Shall take special and effective measures in collaboration with indigenous peoples to guarantee that indigenous women and children live free from all forms of violence, especially sexual violence, and shall guarantee the right of access to justice, protection, and effective reparation for harm caused to the victims. 5. Military activities shall not take place in the lands or territories of indigenous peoples, unless justified by a relevant public interest or otherwise freely agreed to or requested by the indigenous peoples concerned.

7. Here is some music for your brain with a tune called

This Foundation, Jah Foundation, Guided Missiles From Left Toe
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eaNjZaPo9lE
    on earth he dwelled behold lambs bread of mount zion although I am not a slave they use me + 144 thousand + they were all formed by his name jah rastafari
    this foundation is in holy mount zion great things have been said of thee oh city of zion I make mention to them that know ethiopia is their desire faith has come on them + he delivered
    Jah loves gates of zion more than all dwellings of jacob

8. What is remarkable is that you have not realised that you have no credibility on this blog. What is remarkable is that you continue to waste your time posting nonsense that nobody believes. What is remarkable is that you have nothing better to do.

PS. What is remarkable is that hungry Barbados is now considering whether a burning belly is preferable to inflamed lungs and is therefore hesitant to resume travel out of the USA.

It seems that the epicenter of the COVID pandemic is now your “functioning” states. The refrigerated trucks outside the overwhelmed hospitals is apparently frightening to our officials.

Why would anyone believe anything that you say seeing as how you were totally on board with the USA Destroyer?

Where is your learned wicket-keeper Dr. GP? Why has he abandoned you?

#somuchforbarbadosscholarships

9. NorthernObserver Avatar

That lady must be @John sister.

10. WURA,

WUHLAUS! The criminal syndicate got some familiar names!

11. NO,

Yup! Seems she has maintained her sanity, though.

12. DonnaJuly 17, 2020 8:39 AM

It seems that the epicenter of the COVID pandemic is now your “functioning” states.

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-8525813/CDC-director-says-COVID-19-spike-South-likely-caused-Northeast-vacationers.html

13. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

“WURA,

WUHLAUS! The criminal syndicate got some familiar names!”

lol…

14. NorthernObserverJuly 17, 2020 8:44 AM

That lady must be @John sister.

Yup.

She is the clear one in the family!!

15. Same old same old. Puck up yuh inheritance and hope yuh die of old age.

16. @John July 16, 2020 10:16 PM
    “In less than 200 years, Quakers abolished slavery and the slave trade.
    Isn’t that remarkable?”

But still the same Quakers could NOT object (or refuse to participate in) the horrendously similar destruction of the indigenous peoples of Australasia.

Isn’t that just as “remarkable” a case of pure hypocrisy?

Did the blacks of West Africa have more standing as slaves in the eyes of your ‘whitewashed’ Yahweh than those wild dark -skin aborigines of the Southern hemisphere?

When are the pale skin invaders going to return the stolen lands to the rightful first settlers of that southern ‘land mass’ protected by the Southern Cross?

Are you waiting for the Sun to eliminate the pale-skins through UV radiation to be replaced by the Indians and Chinese?

Now stop with the crap of Quakers being good slave owners and Christians at the same time.
    Forget about the Judeo-Christian hypocrisy.

For it is made clear in your Jewish book of myths and legends that you cannot serve mammon and Yahweh at the same time.

The exploitation or elimination of one group by another technologically superior group (along with their invading diseases) is par for the course in human anthropology in the race for control over the planet’s ‘limited’ resources for survival and domination.

That’s why your racist Yahweh has his own ‘chosen people’ (descended from Jacob) to look after; and not the racially-cursed riff raff of the planet.

But the same way the ‘dominating’ rule of the bull and the ram in the form of the Apis Ptah and Baal came to a zodiacal end so too will your Yahweh in the form of the Fisher(s) of men.

In the cycle of life the future is not determined by the present but by the past; for there is nothing new under the Sun.

‘Knowledge is power (scientia potentia est)’!

17. So, when did Australia become British?

See if you can figure out why that might be important.

All the knowledge I have been freely making available and still ….

18. Doesn’t matter where it came from. A functioning state should function to handle it. Instead you have mini Trump governors denying the very methods that saved the “non-functioning” states. Cutting off their noses to spite their features. Their hatred is killing them.

19. Stuff your lying knowledge, fool! Nobody takes you seriously!

20. Will GP11 take some time off from defending Nelson to defending the integrity of GP1 who is included in the “Criminal Syndicate”?

21. De Bride like she get up pun de wrong side o’ de bed this morning

22. Now is this the same one with all the big talk for the BLACK population just last week.. same majority population who have all the SPENDING POWER right in their hands…….the power to keep empowering those racists or to SHUT THEM THE HELL DOWN….it’s a no-brainer….build ya own Black businesses….the people better hold on to their SPENDING POWER…

https://barbadostoday.bb/2020/07/17/customers-just-not-buying-say-business-execs/

“Despite the country being fully re-opened, businesses in Barbados are struggling.

The situation has led to reduced opening hours for some with owners complaining of a significant decline in the number of customers patronizing their businesses.

President of the Barbados Private Sector Association (BPSA) Edward Clarke told Barbados TODAY businesses from all sectors were being affected, as shoppers were simply not spending.”

23. BTW…it’s been some time now that Emerald City has been accused of price gouging, even by visitors who realized that they were over charged for items……Bynoe is even being told about it by people on FB.

24. Emerald City is even more expensive than the extortionate Massy’s in Oistin’s.

25. And ready to go for your jugular!

You began by attacking Heather for her supposed hypocrisy re Nelson.

Isn’t it funny how the much maligned CDC becomes a credible source when their info suits your narrative?

HYPOCRITE!

But back to the substance …

The “non-functioning” states did not manufacture the virus. It came from abroad. At that time it was an unknown quantity. They made mistakes and it cost some people their lives. Here’s the difference – they learned quickly, acknowledged their mistakes and followed the science. NO POLITICS INVOLVED. THAT IS WHAT IS CALLED FUNCTIONING- FUNCTIONING BRAINS.

Your so-called functioning states had a headstart. The virus was not as mysterious. They had clear guidelines and evidence that they worked. They had time to prepare facilities and stock up on supplies. And most importantly they had time to make laws and to educate the people.

AND WHAT THE HELL HAVE THEY DONE WITH THAT GREAT ADVANTAGE?????

Followed that Idiotic madman to THEIR GRAVES.

Brain death leading to final death for many!

PS. I promised Heather to deal with you on Nelson.

As you know we are not proposing to destroy the statue, just to relocate him and place him in context out of Heroe’s Square.

Language is a lovely thing. It reveals so much.

“PUTTING SOMEONE ON A PEDESTAL” is a phrase that reveals much. It is used to mean putting someone in a place of esteem. Its origin is obviously to be found in busts and statues.

Buildings can be repurposed to serve us well.

Statues cannot be repurposed. Their only purpose is to revere the person whose likeness has been reproduced.

We the majority population do not wish to revere the vile creature known as Horatio Nelson.

Tek down Nelson….

…and all who would keep him up!

26. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@NO. re “That lady must be @John sister.”… :-)… if you can make those definitive statements then you can surely tell us more of what’s afoot! Without giving up your own family connections you should be able to offer an insightful analysis of ‘why and what’ is causing folks like her and others like her (John excepted) to give public voice to their internal squabbles!

Is it a Mary Trump “clear my conscience, and get what’s financially due to me” ploy; simply a nod to the openness that social media offers or something more!

And @Sargeant, what’s there really for GPII to defend?? The ‘cognoscenti’ here and beyond know that GP1 was a MAJOR player in Bim’s corporate/political world in his day so his son really has nothing to defend re his father’s legacy!… For example, Phillips the elder is reputed to have been a stallion with ‘his mistress(s)’… whereas junior despises and resolutely dismisses that style of life….. So let’s cut him some slack re his father’s career… there is more than enough of his own career to critique!

I note also that in that list of names in the alleged criminal syndicate there was at least one name who would have been a former school-mate (generally so) of yours… in sum another Black Bajan … so although the problems we face are easily framed as Black vrs White that dynamic to easily obscures the reality of the many Blacks who were complicit and enjoyed the spoils of corruption/alleged criminality.

Or to more broadly echo the Blogmaster: “The structure of how business is done is different to compare to other countries. Many businesses in Barbados have a mix of beneficial owners …”

And generally to all: I remember a professor in US college taking me to task about my accent (was in speech class) and I was seriously pissed because all around me they were US born white students who drawled, sing-sang or pronounced names like New York as New Yawk… and she was questioning MY ‘sweet English sounding speech patterns’ 🙂 … the gall of the woman!…. But above I was again suitably impressed that in fact the Bajan accent can be easy on the ears 🙂 !

27. @Dee Word

BU exhaustively covered the Kingsland Estates and Nelson Barbados years ago. Many key players have died or close to death. At the heart of it is a family dispute that should have been resolved down Cattlewash over a rum. Key documents can be found in the BU Library or by entering Kingsland in the BU Search box.

28. July 17, 2020 12:09 PM

Emerald City is even more expensive than the extortionate Massy’s in Oistin’s.

Sho’ nuff.

If you stop at the village shop you will find things are even more expensive there too.

But we are told we should support Black businesses.

You think Bajans foolish?

29. DonnaJuly 17, 2020 12:16 PM

As you know we are not proposing to destroy the statue, just to relocate him and place him in context out of Heroe’s Square.

“PUTTING SOMEONE ON A PEDESTAL” is a phrase that reveals much. It is used to mean putting someone in a place of esteem. Its origin is obviously to be found in busts and statues.

Why would you want to remove a “Hero to the Inhabitant’s of this Island” from Neros’ Square?

Read what’s written on the Pedestal!!

You went to QC, …. right?

30. Steuspe

31. What will the blacks spend their reparations monies on?
    Don’t Laugh
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RoStPB3KXaY
    Jamaican Paradise
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CsZJ_Ajls0I

32. Act A Fool

33. Those inhabitants were liars. They are also dead. We the living truth tellers will take him down!

I have moved on from Queen’s College which should be renamed. I suggest we do so when the stupid eleven plus examination is abolished.

All schools with nasty names should be renamed to signal a reset.

Maybe then we could finally let go of our superior attitudes due to our attendance at such schools, grow to hell up and stop clinging to examinations done when we only had to regurgitate.

My son did not take tests well. He went to a school named after my great uncle. At age sixteen he has a business set up, website, youtube channel, google ad and is earning foreign exchange. It is a business in its fledgling stage but oh the gumption of the boy!

To hell with Queen’s College!

34. NorthernObserver Avatar

@DIW
    I haven’t a clue. As the Blogmaster noted the topic has been well covered on BU, in Philip Nicholls book, on a blog Keltruth, etc etc
    Trump’s niece, Bolton et al, only have a few months to make some $$$. After Nov, Trump maybe recent history?

It is generally a Bajan tradition not to “air out one’s dirty family laundry”. Since the Deane family row is far from “new”, who else is airing out?

Unlike some comments (a Bajan condition?), I don’t “think” the lady in the video’s husband, and the family which founded GEL are related. If so, waaay back.

35. Emerald City is indeed more expensive with respect to certain itemsvbut it is a nice place to shop. I assume one is paying for the convenience. One used to get a five percent discount on Mondays and loyalty points with a customer card. Customer service is good and there is no hassle if one has to return a defective or spoiled product. It is not as impersonal as Masseys. There is a kind of homey atmosphere.

Village shops do not enjoy bulk discounts as do larger enterprises. They also cannot make money by volume of sales. I love the convenience of being able to walk there, take my time, have a nice chat and pick up whatever I have forgotten or just had a sudden urge to eat.

I love Emerald City and I love my village shops. Your racist self will not make me penny wise and pound foolish. There is a greater cause at stake.

36. NorthernObserverJuly 17, 2020 1:55 PM

It is generally a Bajan tradition not to “air out one’s dirty family laundry”. Since the Deane family row is far from “new”, who else is airing out?

KEL’s business been in the Newspapers since the early 1990’s when some genius politicians came up with the idea to convert 2,400 acres on the Christ Church Dome into 5 golf courses!!

It was even in newspapers in Canada, and if memory serves me right, other countries.

I told the principals they were crazy back then using the same logic I routinely use on BU regarding the water supply.

My family opted not to sell and considered the offer to be incapable of working, completely dysfunctional.

An attempt was made to transfer all of the assets out of the company to circumvent the preemptive rights.

It failed.

We got the same legal advice from Joey Armstrong who Sir David Simmons described in his cross examination in 2008 as follows:

“I remember once, after I sent Joey Armstrong a letter, I remember him inviting me to his office to discuss it, and said to me…he was the expert, the doyenne of legal practitioners in this area, and he said, I will draft the stuff when necessary and send to you, and you can check it, peruse it and settle it”.

Joey Armstrong’s advice was a one liner: “All must sell or none can’t sell”

There are 103 pages of decisions from courts here and in the UK and still the matter remains unresolved.

“the law is a ass — a idiot”

Joey Armstrong routinely dealt with family companies and set up Kingsland Estates Limited in 1958.

37. Didn’t take much logic to reject the idea of golf courses.

Is that all yuh got? Is that supposed to establish your superior thinking?

Hahahahahahaha!

38. JohnJuly 17, 2020 2:45 PM

NorthernObserverJuly 17, 2020 1:55 PM

The point NO is that it was never about family!!

39. NorthernObserver Avatar

I have only read KEL in passing.
    Your comments suggest a Special Majority, 100% of shareholders, must agree. The dissent of any is the dissent of all. Your side said “no”, I assume the brothers said yes. Hence the lickup. They had to manoeuvre around you, and somehow did.

40. NorthernObserverJuly 17, 2020 3:38 PM

The best is yet to come!!

41. NorthernObserver Avatar

If all the shareholders were family, how is it not about family?

42. Doan mind he! In the last video his sister posted and WURA reposted his sister made reference to certain actions by “male family members” that were not kosher.

This problem started with family members. They are however entitled to have it arbitrated by the Court. This is an egregious failure of the court system. It is unfair to categorise it as a problem that should have been resolved amongst themselves. Family disagreements are a part of life. Family disagreements are routinely expected to be settled by the courts for much smaller stakes.

Why should they be held to a higher standard?

43. DonnaJuly 17, 2020 10:52 AM

Doesn’t matter where it came from. A functioning state should function to handle it. Instead you have mini Trump governors denying the very methods that saved the “non-functioning” states. Cutting off their noses to spite their features. Their hatred is killing them.

Looks like all that needs to be done is to get the source of the data to operate consistently!!

https://www.wptv.com/coronavirus/florida-department-of-health-confirms-missing-negative-coronavirus-test-results-in-states-infection-rate

44. NorthernObserverJuly 17, 2020 4:09 PM

If all the shareholders were family, how is it not about family?

What is family???

45. DonnaJuly 17, 2020 4:17 PM

Doan mind he! In the last video his sister posted and WURA reposted his sister made reference to certain actions by “male family members” that were not kosher.

This problem started with family members. They are however entitled to have it arbitrated by the Court. This is an egregious failure of the court system. It is unfair to categorise it as a problem that should have been resolved amongst themselves. Family disagreements are a part of life. Family disagreements are routinely expected to be settled by the courts for much smaller stakes.

Why should they be held to a higher standard?

What is family?

46. What does 5 golf courses have to do with family?

47. Philip Nicholls’ next book should be interesting!!