Submitted by Roslyn Stanherd

The fervent tone of most of the panellists supporting the removal of Lord Nelson’s statute on the Sunday July 12, 2020 programme, ‘The Peoples Business’ muted that of the sole panellist against its removal.  There was a lot of emotion, stated positions but no balance view on why the statute should be removed.  Research was necessary to determine fact from fiction and emotion from material evidence.

Lord Nelson shared via his writings, his ‘old-school’ views of a profitable British colonial system dependent on the slave trade, i.e., supporting money for the plantation owners and death for thousands of slaves.  Production was of prime importance to plantation owners who had mortgages to pay. The common practice therefore was for slave owners to deliberately work slaves to death via overwork, poor nutrition, poor work conditions, brutality, and disease simply because it was cheaper to replace slaves every 7 years than to feed them properly.  The high death rate among the Barbados slave population in the 1770s is evidenced by the annual importation of the 5,000 slaves necessary to increase the population by 700 per year. Therefore, slave owners by their actions bring into question the validity of the contention that Lord Nelson’s sinking of ships carrying food including bread fruit to the islands caused the death of thousands of slaves.  Sugar cane was a land intensive crop that required plantations used most of the arable land. With few exceptions, slaves were only allowed to cultivate food crops on rubble land but were granted limited time to do so. Owners did import costly foodstuff but they rationed these with a stingy hand. It was the Amelioration Act of 1798 which forced planters to improve conditions for slaves.

Yes, he spoke of his support for slave owners and the slave trade but was Lord Nelson overtly or privately racist.  Evidence suggests otherwise. He helped secure the release of slaves, hired ex slaves, paid them well and supported the idea that plantation slaves should be replaced by freed, paid industrious Chinese workers.

Finally, his success at the Battle of Trafalgar created the conditions that supported the British abolitionists.  Now in control of the seas, the British adhered to the abolition of slavery capturing 1600 slave ships and freeing around 150,000 slaves.

Whether we choose to learn our full history or err on the side of emotion is left to us.

The Sunday Nation of July 12, 2020 article ‘Black Lives in the Spotlight’ by Colville Mounsey addressed realities centred around the position “that elements of our historical starting points still shape the Barbadian economic power structure’.  This balanced article provided a contra position that was interesting, in that it might remind one of the American constitution which informs that all men are created equal, yet generations of blacks continue to be marginalized. The article is worth the read.

From my Barbados experience, though black business people had limited experience running businesses, they all had good ideas.  Unfortunately, they were naive always expecting business to be good and never planning for worst case scenarios.  Their mindsets prevented them from being responsive to situations which hampered businesses growth and development. In addition, money to cover business lags was not every easily accessible and most of them failed.

Retail banks and credit unions are usually wary of startups. Most of the local companies once providing funding to businesses as well as offering much needed advice and guidance are no longer in operation. A business plan along with collateral security are prerequisites for obtaining loans but whites and Indians have the option of obtaining financial handouts and other material support from family and friends something that is a rarity for blacks. In addition, the long preparatory process inclusive of financial assessment  can open doors for ideas to be subtly and overtly sabotaged.

Even at the end of a successful black businessman life cycle there is generally no succession plan for the handover of the business to a competent offspring. A failed black business most often means a loss of property/ies with black people poorer for it. Successful black businessmen also fail on a macro level in that they do not transfer key business information and knowledge via offers of support and guidance to start ups.

Then there’s this; the A students work for private enterprise, the B students for Government and the C for themselves, with the later typically starting at an early age.  There is no need to guess the categories preferred by black people.

My response is not analytical because there’s little evidence to support the perceptions and questions raised by those who doubt that black businesses are disadvantaged.  It is an area that should be investigated/researched.  Meanwhile, successful black businessmen should develop strategies to offer support to startup businesses.

520 responses to “Bajan Black Lives Then and Now”

1. Did somebody say AUSTRALIA?

“The Donald and I, we AREN’T winning and winning in the polls.

“We AREN’T winning so much. We AREN’T winning like we have never won before.

“We AREN’T. We AREN’T. Not the FOX polls. Not the FOX polls. They’re the ones we are not winning in.”

s://www.foxnews.com/politics/fox-news-poll-biden-holds-lead-over-trump-as-coronavirus-concerns-grip-nation

2. https://youtu.be/kMxokey64pU

Since January.

3. Like I said, the choice for Americans is between LIFE and DEATH! If they choose death that’s more their problem than mine. If they hate black people more than they love themselves then so be it. It may impoverish Barbadians but THEY WILL BE DEAD.

And Trump, “…will be right eventually….” Corona virus WILL disappear……. AFTER all the fools are dead.

4. Side note
    If you were to participate in a clinical trial they would ask your Race (Asian, Black, White, ……).
    Then they would ask your
    Ethnicity
    (Hispanic or Latino, Non Hispanic or
    Latino).

5. Your right about gibberish geez too many vodkas out partying, Barry is the yoga enthusiast from the boardwalk but it has exposed a little bit of yourself and family but what the heck like they say… what happens in the ozarks stays in the ozarks

6. More gibberish! Vodka in the morning too??? I only drank orange juice! I am way too smart and happy to need alcohol for fun.

There’s been free alcohol here for years left behind by my brother. All I drank was the wine. Put some whiskey in my stew when I remember.

7. Trump should keep an eye if he wants to regain the presidency to help #BLM.

https://nymag.com/intelligencer/2019/06/the-mercer-family-has-reportedly-bailed-on-trump-in-2020.html

8. And….parties are for DANCING, not drinking.

But I don’t blame the average white man for drinking until he looks stupid. They look even more foolish when they dance!

Like puppets being jerked by a string!

9. TheO,

Precisely! Hispanic is NOT a race. Hispanic has to do with ETHNICITY.

That was just another specious argument.

Hispanics are often WHITE.

10. John the Johnnie,

I don’t know where Hunter is. I do know where he is NOT. He is NOT in THE NEWS.

Turns out COVID TRUMPS Hunter.

Who woulda thunk it!

11. DavidJuly 24, 2020 9:02 AM

Trump should keep an eye if he wants to regain the presidency to help #BLM.

https://nymag.com/intelligencer/2019/06/the-mercer-family-has-reportedly-bailed-on-trump-in-2020.html

How many votes do the Mercer’s have?

Two!!!

Do they even matter?

12. 2 votes in 63 million … I reckon alot more!!

Something weird would have to happen to affect Trump’s chances of winning in November.

It’s not the Mercers!!

13. Something weird – COVID IN TRUMP COUNTRY!

He’s losing his old white voters. Some are dead and some are watching their friends die!

And they know who’s to blame!

14. Yup! The old white racist voters who wanted to turn back the clock to 1950.

“I SAID 1950 not 1920!”

Headline: Trump Time Machine Malfunctions

New Corona virus spreads like wildfire.

“This is what happens when you do not rake your forest!” says Trump.

“It is not my job to rake forests. That is the job of the governors.

“It is my job to keep out the Spanish, sorry Chinese.

“I passed my cognative test. I know which year it is! Nobody else could answer that question! “

15. Donna 32000 covid deaths in new york 5000 in florida I think we all can agree cuomo putting people with covid back in the old age homes really was a major problem.

16. DonnaJuly 24, 2020 11:25 AM

Something weird – COVID IN TRUMP COUNTRY!

He’s losing his old white voters. Some are dead and some are watching their friends die!

You are listening to Joe Biden too much.

120 million Americans have not died from COVID.

17. Cuomo was dealing with an unknown virus. Cuomo admitted his mistakes and changed course quickly. Cuomo did his absolute best when he realized his mistake. Cuomo oozed empathy every day. Cuomo was willing to kiss Trump’s ass to get help for his people. Cuomo did not make it about himself. Cuomo is not running for president. New York will still go for Biden. 32 000 lost New York votes will have no effect on the electoral college tally.

https://www.bradenton.com/latest-news/article244284287.html

Florida out of ICU beds. Texas, Arizona requests refrigerated trucks.
    BY GOVERNOR ANDY BESHEAR JULY 16, 2020, 5:16 PM
    KY Governor Andy Beshear reports Florida running out of ICU beds for COVID-19 patients, and Texas and Arizona requesting refrigerated trucks as morgues run out of space for COVID-19 related deaths.

https://www.bradenton.com/news/coronavirus/article244443257.html

The situation was not always as dire in this rural South Texas county.

Starr County once went about three weeks without a COVID-19 case at the beginning of the pandemic. It banned large gatherings, tested hundreds of residents a day, issued stay-at-home orders and required face masks — many of the same mandates now commonplace across the U.S. The poor and mostly Latino county on the Mexico border was containing COVID-19.

“A model for the country,” Starr County Judge Eloy Vera said Tuesday — as he shared an update that now appears gloomy.

In April, its aggressive and successful approach to beating the coronavirus was spotlighted by NBC News.

“We are very proud at this point that our numbers are very low, considering we are an at-risk population and the disparity in medical services and our low socio-economic population,” Joel Villareal, mayor of county seat Rio Grande City, told NBC News. “We rank as one of the poorest counties in the nation. However, that does not deter us.”

But after Gov. Greg Abbott issued orders for the reopening of the state, overriding local control and decision-making, COVID-19 cases surged.

Who pushed for re-opening?

18. Why don’t you go look after “the furniture and the future of your children”?

A mere slip of the tongue, straw clutcher.

HOWEVER……

…it does not take millions of dead Trump voters to effect a swing. The margins were not that big. And…. the old folks who remain are watching their friends die as well, and suffer as a result of listening to Trump.

The very stable genius has been exposed as a fool! Now selling himself as The Lone Ranger, he can’t even get THAT right. The Lone Ranger did indeed wear a mask BUT AROUND HIS EYES! Oh and he had a Native American beside him not a picture of the Indian Killer president on his wall.

19. Did you hear where the British Open Championship golf tournament is NOT being held????

Not at Trump’s Turnberry golf course. Well, at least he tried!

https://finance.yahoo.com/news/trump-golf-misadventures-didn-t-182257250.html

(Bloomberg Opinion) — Donald Trump’s affinity for golf is one of his defining traits. So a report in the New York Times that he asked Woody Johnson, the U.S. ambassador to the U.K., to push the British government to steer the British Open to one of Trump’s golf properties back in 2018 might not have surprised a lot of people. The New York Times said the White House declined to comment on Trump’s instructions to Johnson, as did the ambassador and the State Department.

Bloomberg Opinion senior columnist Timothy L. O’Brien has spent years reporting on Trump and the Trump Organization. Trump sued him, unsuccessfully, for libel, claiming that O’Brien’s biography “TrumpNation” did not accurately represent his wealth. Here’s a sampling of O’Brien’s work on Trump and his golf courses.

Inside Trump’s Money-Losing Scottish Golf Paradise — “Conflict-of-interest issues involving the Trump Organization’s golf ventures will remain a problem for the Trump administration. Even if golf isn’t a huge business, it’s a meaningful one for the president and his family. Foreign governments and businesses courting Trump’s favor are likely to be well aware of that. Trump has an incentive to get a helping hand on some of his courses if his money-losing Scotland operations are a guide. The president also has tried to find ways of putting a better face on Turnberry, including filing misleading financial disclosure forms with the Office of Government Ethics. In the meantime, Trump will have to mend some fences if he plans on drawing the kind of championship play that would help improve Turnberry’s finances. The Royal and Ancient Golf Club of St. Andrews, one of professional golf’s august ruling authorities, has said it won’t allow Turnberry to host upcoming British Open championships due to Trump’s disparaging comments about Muslims, Chinese, Mexicans and women.”

Trump’s Golf Misadventure in the Scottish Dunes — Trump International Golf Links in Scotland “is a reminder that Trump still hasn’t fulfilled the grandiose economic-development and job-creation promises he made when he convinced locals to bend environmental rules so he could build a pair of major golf courses in Aberdeenshire. Trump purchased 1,800 acres of land there in 2005, developed the property from scratch, and then opened it in 2012. His representatives say he has spent as much as $140 million on the project. The Washington Post has reported that Trump probably spent much less: about $12.6 million to buy the property and at least another $50 million to develop it. But Trump International lost about 1.4 million pounds ($1.7 million) on revenue of about 2.63 million pounds ($3.25 million) in 2016, according to corporate filings in the U.K. — and it remains a shadow of the project Trump originally said he would deliver.”

I’ve Seen Trump’s Tax Returns and You Should, Too — The president took to Twitter one early morning in May, which turned out to be just the beginning of the coronavirus pandemic, in a state of elation: “So great to see our Country starting to open up again!” “He shared that sentiment with nearly 80 million followers and attached it to a tweet from one of his golf clubs, Trump National, in Rancho Palos Verdes, California. ‘Game on! We are thrilled to announce the reopening of @trumpgolfla beginning Saturday May 9th!,’ the club tweeted. ‘We look forward to welcoming you back. Book your tee time now!’ Sometimes a tweet is just a tweet. And sometimes it’s an advertisement for your business. And sometimes, when the president of the United States promotes his business on Twitter while overseeing the federal response to a pandemic gutting the economy, it’s a financial conflict of interest.”

Emolumental: Mulvaney and Trump Like Doral for a G-7 Quid Pro Quo — “The Trump Organization has been struggling to keep revenue and profits robust at Doral — its biggest golf property — and thus has incentives to steer government business in its own direction. Doral has also received bad press about bedbug, roach and other insect infestations. … Like Sean Spicer before him, Mulvaney appears entirely willing to throw himself in front of the media and dissemble while essentially serving as one of Trump’s crash test dummies. It’s also still astounding how easily Trump co-opts people like Mulvaney and how readily Mulvaney and his ilk trample on the Constitution and shred core, nonpartisan public values in Trump’s service.”

Story continues

Joe/Hunter pales in comparison.

Perhaps Trump’s next ad should feature the woman who claims Biden sexually assaulted her.

Oh dear me!

20. The story continues….

President Donald Trump attempted to wield his political influence to get the prestigious British Open golf tournament hosted at his Trump Turnberry resort in Scotland, The New York Times reported Tuesday.

Trump in 2018 reportedly asked the U.S. ambassador to Britain, Woody Johnson, to see “if the British government could help steer” the televised event to the money-losing course bought by The Trump Organization in 2014, according to the newspaper, which cited three unnamed sources.

Johnson reportedly ignored ethics concerns raised by his then-deputy, Lewis Lukens, and floated the idea with the secretary of state for Scotland, David Mundell, per the Times. Lukens later reportedly flagged the request with State Department officials. He was later forced out of his role at the U.S. embassy in London after telling a positive anecdote about former President Barack Obama during a speech, reported the Times.

Mundell declined to comment on his dealings with Johnson, according to the Times. He referred the paper to a British government statement that said Johnson “made no request of Mr. Mundell regarding the British Open or any other sporting event.”

Donald Trump, pictured playing golf at his Trump Turnberry resort in 2018. The president reportedly sought to move the British Open to the money-losing golf course. (Photo: Leon Neal via Getty Images)
    Mike Woodcock, a spokesperson for the R&A golf association that runs the tournament, said he had not “received any approaches from the British government or the Scottish government” about moving the event to Trump’s resort.

Johnson, the White House and the State Department all declined to comment to the Times.

The 2020 British Open was canceled due to the coronavirus pandemic.

Trump, as president, is exempt from U.S. conflict of interest laws. Still, his request may have violated the Constitution’s emoluments clause banning federal officeholders from receiving payments from foreign governments because the security bill would likely have been footed by the British government, the Times reported.

Noah Bookbinder, executive director of the Citizens for Responsibility and Ethics in Washington watchdog group, tweeted it was “hard to think of a better example of using the presidency for personal gain in ways that could affect international relations.”

21. Lol stayed at Culzean castle a few years back took a picture of me at trumps turnberry sign which was just down the road when i want to piss my liberal friends off i leave it out
    Cuomo admits nothing of the sort but I wasnt suggesting that they wouldnt go for biden what i was saying is there was a hell of a lot of people dying in ny as compared to other states infections are one thing but the only meaningful stat is deaths.

22. “We have to be invited in”

All Trump needs to do is let the Democrat mayors fight him!!

They show what America can become without Law and Order.

Only one result likely, Trump gets back in easy!!

23. I found this video hilarious. Trump supporters are special breed of people.

Saw Freedom Crier and John being interviewed as well.

24. @Sargeant 1:50 p.m.
    Reminds me of the “Just say No” or “Let them eat cake” campaigns

25. ArtaxJuly 24, 2020 2:20 PM

Trump supporters are special breed of people.

Do you think you can actually find any Biden supporters?

26. Six months in……

27. Mr IRA,

Deaths are all that matters????????

Hell no! There are the astronomical medical bills!

Apart from that I hear suffering for the critically ill patients is awful. There is the possibility of neurological damage AND permanent lung damage.

What a simpleton you are!

Artax,

Saw that video months ago. That’s how dumb and unprincipled they are. John and Freedom Crier fuh real! They provide me with much mirth…. bitter sweet though!

But ah notice the BU scientists and Trump supporters gone either missing or silent. And we are left with a shell of a man who wants to know if anyone can find a Biden supporter.

He is so not a challenge he is boring me!

I gone man! Anything is better than this snooze fest!

28. Mr IRA,

Deaths are all that matters????????

Hell no! There are the astronomical medical bills!

Apart from that I hear suffering for the critically ill patients is awful. There is the possibility of neurological damage AND permanent lung damage.

What a simpleton you are!

Artax,

Saw that video months ago. That’s how dumb and unprincipled they are. Jackass John and Looney Tunes fuh real! They provide me with much mirth…. bitter sweet though!

But ah notice the BU scientists and Trump supporters gone either missing or silent. And we are left with a shell of a man who wants to know if anyone can find a Biden supporter.

He is so not a challenge he is boring me!

I gone man! Anything is better than this snooze fest!

29. @ Donna

I also found the following video amusing as well, especially the ‘appalling ignorance’ of the ‘stable genius.’

BTW, I remember sometime ago, using multiple posts, John was trying to convince us Trump is a ‘germaphobe.’ Perhaps he may want to explain why, until recently, ‘Agent Orange’ refused to wear a mask?

30. Is that Don Lemon, the dumbest man on TV?

31. Nelson Statue To Find A New Home
    by Paula Harper-Grant | Jul 24, 2020 | Top Stories

The Lord Nelson Statue in Bridgetown. (Stock Photo)Nelson is to be moved!

Minister with responsibility for Culture, John King, made this announcement today, explaining that the Cabinet had agreed to the relocation of the statue of Vice Admiral Lord Horatio Nelson from National Heroes Square in Bridgetown.

He further clarified that this decision was made in light of the fact that substantial consultations were carried out about two decades ago by the National Heroes Square and Development Committee as well as the Committee of National Reconciliation, which both recommended that the statue should be relocated.

The Cabinet has also agreed that there should be further public consultations with respect to the identification of a location for the statue, taking into account existing recommendations.

It is intended that the removal and determination of a new location for the statue would take place during the Season of Emancipation, which ends on August 23.

In this regard, submissions are invited from the public on possible sites for the relocation of the monument, which should be emailed to MCCS@barbados.gov.bb. The closing date for submissions is Wednesday, August 5.

paula.harper-grant@barbados.gov.bb

32. Did lemmon and cooper buy a baby or they dating different guys?
    Donna what medical bills the one thing about being a minority is most of the country pays for you.
    do you think that in usa democrats should own up to their slaver past , didnt pelosi date andrew johnson when she was young

33. @ David

Are you sure it was as a result of a Cabinet decision Nelson’s statue will be removed?

Because, according to BU’s resident ‘political analyst,’ our system of government “has evolved into a form of prime ministerial government and is now a presidency,” where decisions are made “by a bully.”

34. @Artax

One has to give credit to the government that the weight of the #BLM and the illogical position of having a symbol of a colonial past berthed in Heroes Square does not square with sensible people.

35. July 23, 2020 at 11:57 AM CDT – Updated July 23 at 6:53 PM
    WASHINGTON (KLTV) – Rep. Louie Gohmert has introduced a resolution calling for Congress to to ban any political organization or party that has ever held a public position supportive of slavery or the Confederacy.

Gohmert specifically pointed at the Democratic Party’s position on slavery.

Gohmert released the following statement:

“As outlined in the resolution, a great portion of the history of the Democratic Party is filled with racism and hatred. Since people are demanding we rid ourselves of the entities, symbols, and reminders of the repugnant aspects of our past, then the time has come for Democrats to acknowledge their party’s loathsome and bigoted past, and consider changing their party name to something that isn’t so blatantly and offensively tied to slavery, Jim Crow, discrimination, and the Ku Klux Klan. As the country watches violent leftists burn our cities, tear down our statues and call upon every school, military base and city street to be renamed, it is important to note that past atrocities these radicals claim to be so violently offensive were largely committed by members in good standing of the Democratic Party. Whether it be supporting the most vile forms of racism or actively working against Civil Rights legislation, Democrats in this country perpetuated these abhorrent forms of discrimination and violence practically since their party’s inception. To avoid triggering innocent bystanders by the racist past of the Democratic Party, I would suggest they change their name. That is the standard to which they are holding everyone else, so the name change needs to occur.”

https://www.kltv.com/2020/07/23/rep-gohmert-calls-congress-ban-democrats-due-past-position-slavery/

36. So, the Democrat Party in the USA may have to change its name!!

37. Nelson to be Moved.

The Government has decided that Nelson’s statue should be moved – based on thoroughly discredited information.

The Government has chosen to believe false claims that Nelson was a racist, white supremacist mass-murderer. There is no credible evidence supporting the reckless accusations by our historians and political activists.

The Government now wants to know where to put the statue.

Nelson lived in a time when the slave trade was legal. After he saw the horrors of slavery for himself, Nelson went against the popular culture. When others were opposing the slave trade, Nelson was opposing slavery itself, and freeing slaves.

Nelson probably freed more slaves outside of the US, than any other person when the slave trade was still legal. He was hated by slave-owning politicians during his career, and by our academics and political activists since our Independence.

Since Nelson genuinely cared for the enslaved, his statue should be among their descendants. I recommend that he be placed in the centre of the new Fairchild Street market, located at the end of Nelson Street. The recently paved plaza is wide enough to accomodate the statue.

There, artisans can examine the quality of workmanship, tourists can visit and patronise businesses in the market, and our emotionally fragile politicians can attend parliament without being triggered.

Grenville Phillips II is a Chartered Structural Engineer and President of Solutions Barbados. He can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

https://gisbarbados.gov.bb/blog/nelson-statue-to-find-a-new-home/

38. Gohmert betta talk to Trump

39. Sarge

I think it is hilarious that the Democrats may be forced to find another name because of their party’s past links to slavery.

40. Sir Benwood Dick Avatar
    Sir Benwood Dick

The removal of Nelson appears topical and is relevant to the optics in Barbados.

I have an idea of a suitable space where Nelson can be placed. However, it involves sending hi8m North and lodging him up a tight space.

41. @Sir Benwood

Are you comfortable with Nelson statue stationed in Heroes Square?

42. Sir Benwood Dick Avatar
    Sir Benwood Dick

David, of course not. Why should a slaver be celebrated? Either sell the statue and use the money to educate underprivileged children, or use the funds for a women’s shelter, or to fund the pediatric department at the QEH, or as I said above, send it North to be suitably placed, just as Barbados sent many others to the Carolinas, sent him there too, to
    be suitably placed. But that may not be appreciated by dem so. Or at least not by the Republicans.

Hero what. Marauder, nothing more than a legitimised pirate. Put a statue of Mother Barbados there instead.

Time to move on into the 21st century.

43. @Sir Benwick

Agree it must be removed from HEROES SQUARE, do not agree that it should leave the island. In a show of symbolism this blogmaster would deposit it in the local of the Stavronikita.