Submitted by Roslyn Stanherd

The fervent tone of most of the panellists supporting the removal of Lord Nelson’s statute on the Sunday July 12, 2020 programme, ‘The Peoples Business’ muted that of the sole panellist against its removal.  There was a lot of emotion, stated positions but no balance view on why the statute should be removed.  Research was necessary to determine fact from fiction and emotion from material evidence.

Lord Nelson shared via his writings, his ‘old-school’ views of a profitable British colonial system dependent on the slave trade, i.e., supporting money for the plantation owners and death for thousands of slaves.  Production was of prime importance to plantation owners who had mortgages to pay. The common practice therefore was for slave owners to deliberately work slaves to death via overwork, poor nutrition, poor work conditions, brutality, and disease simply because it was cheaper to replace slaves every 7 years than to feed them properly.  The high death rate among the Barbados slave population in the 1770s is evidenced by the annual importation of the 5,000 slaves necessary to increase the population by 700 per year. Therefore, slave owners by their actions bring into question the validity of the contention that Lord Nelson’s sinking of ships carrying food including bread fruit to the islands caused the death of thousands of slaves.  Sugar cane was a land intensive crop that required plantations used most of the arable land. With few exceptions, slaves were only allowed to cultivate food crops on rubble land but were granted limited time to do so. Owners did import costly foodstuff but they rationed these with a stingy hand. It was the Amelioration Act of 1798 which forced planters to improve conditions for slaves.

Yes, he spoke of his support for slave owners and the slave trade but was Lord Nelson overtly or privately racist.  Evidence suggests otherwise. He helped secure the release of slaves, hired ex slaves, paid them well and supported the idea that plantation slaves should be replaced by freed, paid industrious Chinese workers.

Finally, his success at the Battle of Trafalgar created the conditions that supported the British abolitionists.  Now in control of the seas, the British adhered to the abolition of slavery capturing 1600 slave ships and freeing around 150,000 slaves.

Whether we choose to learn our full history or err on the side of emotion is left to us.

The Sunday Nation of July 12, 2020 article ‘Black Lives in the Spotlight’ by Colville Mounsey addressed realities centred around the position “that elements of our historical starting points still shape the Barbadian economic power structure’.  This balanced article provided a contra position that was interesting, in that it might remind one of the American constitution which informs that all men are created equal, yet generations of blacks continue to be marginalized. The article is worth the read.

From my Barbados experience, though black business people had limited experience running businesses, they all had good ideas.  Unfortunately, they were naive always expecting business to be good and never planning for worst case scenarios.  Their mindsets prevented them from being responsive to situations which hampered businesses growth and development. In addition, money to cover business lags was not every easily accessible and most of them failed.

Retail banks and credit unions are usually wary of startups. Most of the local companies once providing funding to businesses as well as offering much needed advice and guidance are no longer in operation. A business plan along with collateral security are prerequisites for obtaining loans but whites and Indians have the option of obtaining financial handouts and other material support from family and friends something that is a rarity for blacks. In addition, the long preparatory process inclusive of financial assessment  can open doors for ideas to be subtly and overtly sabotaged.

Even at the end of a successful black businessman life cycle there is generally no succession plan for the handover of the business to a competent offspring. A failed black business most often means a loss of property/ies with black people poorer for it. Successful black businessmen also fail on a macro level in that they do not transfer key business information and knowledge via offers of support and guidance to start ups.

Then there’s this; the A students work for private enterprise, the B students for Government and the C for themselves, with the later typically starting at an early age.  There is no need to guess the categories preferred by black people.

My response is not analytical because there’s little evidence to support the perceptions and questions raised by those who doubt that black businesses are disadvantaged.  It is an area that should be investigated/researched.  Meanwhile, successful black businessmen should develop strategies to offer support to startup businesses.

520 responses to “Bajan Black Lives Then and Now”

1. All that matters is what the inhabitants of this time/era think.

2. DavidJuly 26, 2020 5:49 AM

All that matters is what the inhabitants of this time/era think.

You are right!!!

But you probably don’t even know why!!

3. … and I am right too!!

4. #nelsontocomedown

5. John,

You really cannot be serious with that argument.

The statue was erected in March 1813.

The Emancipation Act was some twenty years after and voting under Universal Sufferage, more than a century after.

At a time when most of the inhabitants could not even vote and worse, were slaves, you lay the claim that the majority at that time supported the installation of Nelson’s statue?

The majority of whom? The few plantation owners?

You must be mad. I am shocked that no one else called you on this point re the timelines.

6. @Crusoe

It will not making iota of difference. Some commenters are cemented to positions because of who they prefer to be.

7. @David, fair enough, but for him or others to make that argument they either actually believe it, which means that they only place value on certain lives, or they believe that the readers are stupid and will accept any old fodder as an argument.

But yes, we are who we want to be.

I have realised even more in the past two years just how many racists and Nazis there actually are in the world, including here.

8. “I found this article most instructive about how black lives matter.”

I found the article and its title to be a bit ambiguous.

The author’s message was cleverly couched in abstract language, perhaps to appeal to Trump sympathizers and those people pushing the narrative although Black people are chanting ‘BLM,’ they’re killing their own. In other words, doesn’t Black lives matter to Black people?

Reminds me of John’s M.O……. perhaps both Johns took similar courses.

These guys push arguments such as, why is it a Black man could wear a ‘T’ shirt saying ‘Black Power’ and is accepted……. but if a white dude wears one saying ‘White Power,’ he considered to be racist. They purposely ignore the underlying factors to advance their agenda.

Interestingly, however, hidden among the article’s rhetoric was:

“The MOTIVE IS NOT CLEAR, including whether the slaying was tied into Trammell’s political beliefs or Trump support.”

9. @ Crusoe July 26, 2020 7:52 AM
    “The majority of whom? The few plantation owners?
    You must be mad. I am shocked that no one else called you on this point re the timelines.”

It has been done ad nauseam. But to no avail.

The ‘John’ is not interested in the Truth but only seek to prostitute it to suit his racist agenda.

How can you convince the man John that he is both historically inaccurate and morally wrong to try to whitewash the past of the slave plantation called Barbados?

He holds rather rigidly to the view that chattel slavery is the best thing to happen to Africans since it saved them from a worse fate of barbarity under Moslem slave traders thanks to his white Quaker friends who paid for their transportation by luxury liners across the calm Atlantic Ocean to be warmly welcomed with open arms in heavenly Barbadoes.

He has arrogantly argued that at the time of Lord Nelson’s death the vast majority of blacks in Barbados were free men and women living in holy matrimony and in freehold possession of land with their children able to attend school and church on Sundays instead of being members of the third gang on the many sugar plantations.

The man is a fossilized relic of 18th Century Barbadoes.

10. CrusoeJuly 26, 2020 7:52 AM

You are not using your head!!!

If Adult Suffrage was in 1951 then both the Cenotaph and Nelson’s Statue were erected before it at a time when few had the right to vote!!

One man/woman one vote came after the Cenotaph.

In fact, women, black or white weren’t even allowed to vote until after WWI!!

The subjects of the Crown who lived in Barbados had sacrificed their lives long before women got the vote.

11. CrusoeJuly 26, 2020 7:52 AM

At a time when most of the inhabitants could not even vote and worse, were slaves, you lay the claim that the majority at that time supported the installation of Nelson’s statue?

I have made the claim based on irrefutable proof.

The inhabitants wrote it down on the plinth in 1813 for us to read.

If you can bring me one example of one inhabitant in Barbados who felt differently, please do so.

But you can’t!!

First of all, everyone is dead.

Second, like the parents of William Nelson Edward Hall, the first black man to be awarded the VC for Valour, in every country other parents, both free and slave, were naming their children Horatio, Nelson, or Horatio Nelson.

That is also an irrefutable fact.

For every one of the inhabitants at the time you can find who objected to the memorial to Nelson being erected, I will bring you any amount of examples where parents named their children Horatio, Nelson or Horatio Nelson.

Just bring me one example from 1813 who objected to the memorial in Barbados, just one!!

12. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Crusoe one can say to you sir, ‘better late than never’ or ‘really,what took you that long’…re: “You must be mad”. You then pt his ‘insanity’ into context when you added: “I am shocked that no one else called you on this point re the timelines. You really cannot be serious with that argument.[…]The statue was erected in March 1813. At a time when most of the inhabitants could not even vote and worse, were slaves, you lay the claim that the majority at that time supported the installation of Nelson’s statue?[…] The majority of whom? The few plantation owners?”

He was called on timelines and all of his non-argument …but be that as it may…. I would add his madness and those of his ilk is as calculated as the mad-hatter in ‘Alice’…. purely contrived to achieve and effect an agenda/narrative.

He can’t resist the opportunity to impress the world with his grand views but alas they are also illogical, flawed and hateful!

But the beautiful thing about flawed reasoning … you can turn it on it’s head … thus I contend that we should take @John on the point that this ‘majority’ hero of what could be ‘badly’ described as ‘antebellum’ Bajans, should be properly accorded his status by majority Black Bajans, TODAY.

It’s very, very simple… to the victor goes the spoils… the good Lord was thanked deeply by his adoring fans … none of whom cared a jot of blood about our well-being beyond the economic benefit we offered as chattel.. it was our blood and death that gave the funds for that effigy … all the income we should have earned was stolen and found its way to his graven image…. thus we have a large stake in it’s ‘existence’.

We have achieved the power now that those Bajans had then… and can enforce that economic share that is rightfully ours…. WE can decide -as they did then, for us – what symbols, effigies, and heroes should adorn our parks and places of remembrance!

I vote my share to REMOVE it … he is not a hero for THIS majority inhabited Barbados!

John simply needs to gain control and like his idol in US turn everything upside-down and make his style facts fit the newly accepted norm of ‘alternative facts’ if he wants to retain that effigy… failing that he needs to take his madness and retreat to his hateful past quietly to some dark corner!

13. … perhaps not every country, but every country for which baptismal records are available online!!

14. When I was a boy, my father had friends from Venezuela whose son was named NELSON!!

15. You are all worried about nelson,big bad nelson,we gotta move nelson well it doesnt seem to bother john lewis going over the edmu
    nd pettus bridge idiots

16. Attacking me is useless.

The facts remain the facts.

All you are doing is turning yourselves into poppets!!

Go and read what is on the plinth, everything!!

17. @ John July 26, 2020 11:48 AM
    “I have made the claim based on irrefutable proof.
    The inhabitants wrote it down on the plinth in 1813 for us to read.
    If you can bring me one example of one inhabitant in Barbados who felt differently, please do so.
    But you can’t!!”

Are you trying to tell us that even the Quakers and their remnants of friends were in complete support of Nelson’s erection in his drive to keep slavery alive and well in Barbadoes?

How about the legendary Bussa and those who were assassinated in the attempt to overthrow the system of chattel slavery?

Or are you going to argue that the 1816 rebellion never occurred and it was just a case of a few rowdy and drunk blacks returning to their village in St. Philip after spending the day in Bridgetown in awe of the recently erected statue of their ‘white’ Saviour (like Jesus) from French invasion and after hearing, belatedly, of the defeat of that devil Napoleon at Waterloo.

We are quite certain there must have been some blacks and a few whites (or those passing for white) with hearts full of compassion and enlightenment who would have been against slavery and would not have supported the erection of a statue to symbolize the promotion and glorification of its continuation.

18. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

“You are all worried about nelson,big bad nelson,we gotta move nelson well it doesnt seem to bother john lewis going over the edmu
    nd pettus bridge idiots”

Yes, @Lawson we are all idiots aren’t we! That you could be so petty and spiteful to evoke the memory of a man’s final journey over the bridge (named for another avowed racist) on which he was battered and brutalized in his fight to be recognized as a human being is telling of YOUR character…SMH!

But one suspects that another generation of Black Americans may one day walk across the John Lewis bridge rather than that of KKK grandee Pettus… so, indeed many will be elated that John Lewis’ last trip can officially be noted as being made over the John Lewis bridge!

19. WHAT MATTERS IS THAT THE LIKES OF YOU CANNOT INSTRUCT US HOW TO THINK AND WHAT WE SHOULD READ.

WHAT MATTERS IS THAT WE DO NOT HAVE RESPECT FOR ANY CLAIMS TO SCHOLARSHIP THAT YOU HAVE. YOU MAY HAVE BEEN LISTENED TO BEFORE BASED ON THAT. NO LONGER! GET USED TO IT!

WHAT MATTERS IS THAT NOBODY WHOSE OPINION WE VALUE THINKS WE ARE POPPETS.

WHAT MATTERS IS YOU DON’T GET TO TELL US WHAT ARE THE FACTS. NO MAN THAT SUPPORTS KING LIAR HAS ANY CREDIBILITY.

WHAT MATTERS IS THAT YOUR IDIOTIC “CONTRIBUTIONS” ONLY SERVE TO CRYSTALLIZE OUR THOUGHTS AND SHARPEN OUR ARGUMENTS. ( IT HELPS ME TO TEACH MY SON ALL THE SNEAKY RACIST ARGUMENTS AND HOW TO COUNTER THEM.)

WHAT MATTERS IS THAT THE VILE THING IS COMING DOWN AND THERE AIN’T ONE DAMN THING YOU CAN DO ABOUT IT!

20. HEY DRUNKARD!

There is a move afoot to change the name of the bridge to the John Lewis Bridge.

A Robert E. Lee school has already been so renamed. If you are joking about the fact that John Lewis is dead and impotent you should know that a new voting rights law in his name will be laid in the congress tomorrow. His death will only add impetus the cause.

PS. Your words speak for themselves. You made fun of homosexuals, minorities and an older woman because of her age all in one post.

Look, go drink your happy medicine! You sure seem to need it!

21. DPD,

I see you beat me to it re John Lewis. He claims he is not racist but he does things like that. I gave him a chance a couple of weeks ago just to see what he would do. He could not keep up the pretense for more than a few minutes.

He is awful!

22. These old racists are going to die unhappy. Sad, sorry, pitiful and hateful. I however, will die happy knowing that the arc is going to bend toward justice if even in slow motion. It is bending!

23. You know there is an even better way to demonstrate the racism of Lawson.

When I watched the casket being taken over the bridge I cried.

LAWSON LAUGHED!

24. Sir Benwood DickJuly 25, 2020 6:36 AM

David, on the other hand, recognition should be given, in Heroes square, to William Wilberforce. Why isn’t he a National Hero?

He did so much to liberate the world from slavery. Hypocrisy to not recognise his input. There was a man who deserved it, if anyone did.

Actually, he didn’t.

His health was failing and he resigned his seat in Parliament in 1826.

“In later years, Wilberforce supported the campaign for the complete abolition of slavery, and continued his involvement after 1826, when he resigned from Parliament because of his failing health. That campaign led to the Slavery Abolition Act 1833, which abolished slavery in most of the British Empire. Wilberforce died just three days after hearing that the passage of the Act through Parliament was assured. He was buried in Westminster Abbey, close to his friend William Pitt the Younger.”

Wilberforce’s contribution was to the passage of the act abolishing the slave trade in 1807.

By 1817, about 6% of the slave population of Barbados was born in Africa.

The vast majority (>94%) was born here.

The abolition of the slave trade in 1807 did not affect Barbados.

I don’t know of any places named Wilberforce in Barbados.

I found 4 slaves in Barbados in 1817 named Wilberforce.

Results 1–4 of 4
    View Record Name Birth Date Residence Date Residence Place Owner View Images
    View Record
    Wilberforce
    abt 1816 1817 Barbados Joseph Mayers
    View Record
    Wilberforce
    abt 1814 1817 Barbados William James Greenidge
    View Record
    George Wilberforce
    abt 1810 1817 Barbados Thomas Bishop Harper
    View Record
    William Wilberforce
    abt 1816 1817 Barbados Samuel Ralph Branch

By 1834 the number had increased to 13.

Foxwell Buxton would have been a mover and shaker in the effort.

Did you know there WAS a Buxton school in Barbados?

No slaves called Buxton in 1817 but by 1834, there were 2, one born in 1832 and the other in 1833..

“Although he was a member of the Church of England, Buxton attended meetings of the Friends (Quakers) with some of the Gurneys. In this way he became involved in the social reform movement, in which Friends were prominent.”

Thomas Clarkson was also a mover and shaker. He wrote a three volume study called “A Portraiture of Quakerism”

No slaves called Clarkson in 1834.

…. but in 1834 there were 100’s with Nelson or Horatio in their names.

There were 144 Wellington’s in Barbados in 1834.

There was a Trafalgar Square, Trafalgar Street, Nelson Street and Nile Street also commemorating Nelson.

There is also a Wellington Street.

Obviously people will be more attracted to men of action than men of letters.

In Jamaica in 1834, there were over 6,000 slaves called Nelson

No Clarksons, Buxtons or Wilberforces.

… and no Wellingtons.

25. DonnaJuly 26, 2020 2:13 PM

You know there is an even better way to demonstrate the racism of Lawson.

When I watched the casket being taken over the bridge I cried.

LAWSON LAUGHED!

I did not hear him laugh but I have to admit I find the Virtue Signaling pathetic.

26. Poor losers!

More to come!

27. That was 2016!!

28. Don’t watch your videos. Only skim your posts.

Wondering when you are going to stop flogging your dead horse or butting your head against a brick wall.

Nobody cares or believes what you think or say, fool! Have you nothing better to do???????

Nobody at home to talk to?????

29. I thought that your recent manhandling would have thought you a lesson. But you are a glutton for punishment, you take your beating and then start again with your silly trope. A high school scholarship winner has shown himself too dumb to learn.

30. I thought that your recent manhandling would have taught you a lesson. .

31. TheO,

I think he is a sado-masochist. He gets off on snuff videos of black men dying and being virtually whipped raw by a fantasy ” Dracula’s bride”.

Like I said, sick.

32. To be quit frank donna i didnt laugh i didnt see it out making money but do you not think that he is being hauled over a bridge named after a democrat member of the klu klux klan , I would have waited till it was renamed or gone over another but as time changes another 100 years on it will be the herve lopes or wayner wong bridge

33. and by the way john.the only thing funny I see in nelsons erection is you and your ilk in the past wanting to gobble it

34. Ah yes! The picture becomes clearer and clearer!

By watching the white man killing the black man, White John is attempting to kill Black John.

The whipping and draining by His virtual “Dracula’s Bride” (his name for me, not mine) is John’s way of trying to rid himself of his black blood.

That’s why he seems to act so compulsively! Because HE IS!

Like I said….sick!

35. Well Johnny,

I am here watching Al Sharpton. It seems like a senator from Illinois and Tammy Duckworth presented Trump with a letter with serious suggestions on how he could help Chicago and received NO RESPONSE..

Is anyone surprised by that?

NOPE! He does not want to help Chicago. He wants to stir up more violence so he and his fellow racists can kill even more black men and lock up the rest in his friend’s for profit prisons.. And the rest of you will watch the videos and jerk off!

Sick!

LawsonJuly 26, 2020 11:58 AM

You are all worried about nelson,big bad nelson,we gotta move nelson well it doesnt seem to bother john lewis going over the edmu
    nd pettus bridge idiots

lawsonJuly 26, 2020 5:27 PM

To be quit frank donna i didnt laugh i didnt see it out making money but do you not think that he is being hauled over a bridge named after a democrat member of the klu klux klan , I would have waited till it was renamed or gone over another but as time changes another 100 years on it will be the herve lopes or wayner wong bridge

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

You know, that might have worked if you hadn’t called us IDIOTS!

You actually think you can get that shit past me????????????????????????

Long steupse!

Now, my job is done for today! No weak-minded readers will be swayed by your lot today.

36. Jesus Lawson… I did not get the ‘herves long’ bit but the “wong wei (pronounced way)’ is a bit old.
    Your love of a cheap laugh amazes me.

Cheap CoVID joke that I ripped off
    Officer: Monsieur Lawson, have you been drinking that vodka
    Lawson: No sir, just sanitizing

Come join me and avoid the deep water

37. Don’t worry your heads about me.

I’ve been at this for decades.

Today I spent most of the day working outside from 5:30 am and whenever I came in I put in a few words to keep the folks on the boil.

Enjoyable day, accomplished alot plus had some fun here.

38. Realised since the last test that WI weren’t worth the time.

Figured so months ago.

Would be great if they hold out but I doubt it.

Won’t make any predictions as cricket is cricket.

39. Pakistan next, could be good 9f the Pakistanis perform at their full potential.

40. Hear O$A died.

Time waits for no one

41. Like I said….. sick!

42. A hopeful sign for our future

by DAVID COMISSIONG

THE DECISION of the Government of Barbados to implement the 20-year-old recommendations of the Committee For National Reconciliation and the National Heroes Square Committee by removing the statue of Lord Horatio Nelson from its prominent location in the heart of Bridgetown, has filled me with great hope for the future progress of Barbados.
    I say this because this positive development has to be attributed to the tremendous work done by the current generation of young Barbadian activists in launching a campaign to secure the removal of the statue, and thereby building upon and bringing to fruition the work that had been done by their elders – a previous generation of Barbadians.
    I was a member of both of the national committees that recommended the removal of the Nelson Statue. But after the reports of these two committees had been allowed to lay dormant for so long, I had concluded that they had died and had been buried.
    But then along came my children’s generation, taking up the cause, and having such an impact that our Government felt impelled to go back and look at the two 20-year-old reports of the two national committees.
    Surely, this is how progress is made – this is how a society positively evolves – one generation building upon the work of a previous generation and bringing it to fruition.
    Cross-generational compact
    So this is a very hopeful sign for the future. It suggests that we can develop
    a strong cross-generational compact in Barbados, and come together across age groups and generations to collectively take our country forward.
    I would also like to extend praises to the Barbados Private Sector Association (BPSA) for having demonstrated that the traditional Barbados private sector has evolved to the point where it was able to support the removal of a monument that represents values that were and are antithetical to the dignity and interests of the masses of the Barbadian people, and indeed, of all decent human beings.
    As we look around in today’s world at so many nations that are so riven by racial and class divisions that they have become utterly dysfunctional, we must resolve not to permit this to become the fate of Barbados. Let us therefore be proactive in addressing the racial and social contradictions that are a hangover from our colonial past and that still exist in our society.
    These recent positive developments pertaining to the Nelson Statue tell us that such a mission is well within our capacity to accomplish.
    Let us all therefore look back on our history and collectively resolve that we are going to learn the lessons of that history and work together across racial and class lines to make 21st century Barbados what it ought to be – a nation of social justice, a nation that provides for all of its people, a nation that is determined to eradicate all vestiges of systemic anti-black racism and to uphold the value of human dignity.

43. “Surely, this is how progress is made – this is how a society positively evolves – one generation building upon the work of a previous generation and bringing it to fruition.”

Evolves is the right word. Evolution is a slow process and given it has taken 20 years to do nothing, and it might take another 20 years before something is done. Evolve is the right word. Queue up generation #3.

A nation of wordsmiths

44. Who actually owns the Statue of Nelson and the land on which it stands?

45. #irrelevant

46. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@John July 27, 2020 2:49 PM “Who actually owns the Statue of Nelson and the land on which it stands?”

I do.

I own the Brooklyn bridge too.

Both are for sale.

Make me an answer which I can’t refuse.

47. Lol Donna get it passed you???????, it was intended for you and pathetic john. Its always difficult to figure out which one of you is driving the clown car.
    Your right of course Theo but I had hoped that they must both be past menopause and maybe in that three month grace time frame before they start dementia
    Vodka isnt the solution to all my problems but its worth a shot

48. Donald Trump, who in recent weeks has stirred racial tensions, says he has no plans to visit the late Congressman John Lewis as the civil rights icon lies in state at the US Capitol.

“No I won’t be going,” the president said. “No.”

https://www.independent.co.uk/news/world/americas/us-politics/trump-john-lewis-capital-rotunda-washington-dc-joe-biden-a9640886.html

49. Gibberish again! I guess YOU are driving the clown car since you think everything is a joke.

This is about the life my son gets to live in this world.

That is not funny to me.

The only difference between you and John is that he writes nonsense in perfect English and you write nonsense in gibberish.