Submitted by the Mahogany Coconut Group
The fears of many progressives that Caribbean leaders will not embrace a new economic path post COVID -19, are slowly surfacing. While we support the current efforts in the fight against COVID-19, we must admit that as the region returns to state of normalcy or what is being branded the “new norm”, there will be nothing new about their economic management.
There is a collective pandering to the same institutions and backward policies that are essentially stagnating growth. We therefore expect the status quo to remain entrenched and we predict that we will witness blatant attempts, to apply the finishing touches to the death of trade unionism. The commanding heights of our economies will continue to be dominated by whites, Asians, and other minorities both local and expatriate. The relentless quest for wealth will continue and many poor Black Caribbean citizens, will be expected to carry the burden.
These hopelessly backward and visionless leaders are once more placing almost all their eggs in the tourist industry basket. They have quickly forgotten how rapidly and comprehensively the tourist industry collapsed as the vicious COVID-19 spread throughout the world. They are hell bent on cajoling with a good servant but a bad master and the vacant air and seaports resembling ghost cities, put fear r in their timid hearts.
The agricultural and manufacturing sectors have been ruthlessly abandoned and in some countries golf courses, marinas and multimillion-dollar homes have replaced anything resembling food crops. The islands are essentially for sale and in some territories, citizenship can be bought to boost foreign exchange levels. The worst kept secret in some islands, is the fact that three generations of white plantation owners have no interest in agriculture. They have destroyed some economies and are in cahoots with some high-flying politicians who live above their means and find themselves in the pocket of corporate marauders.
Against this background of leadership sycophancy, the MCG, has no choice other than to call on progressive forces to blunt this socio-economic destruction. We can no longer limit ourselves to pseudo intellectual mumbo jumbo while our brothers and sisters, in some cases, work for less than $150 USD per week.
We note that some leaders are forced to eat humble pie as they slip into bed with known corporate pirates. Our distinguished head of the University of the West Indies finds himself begging the same corporate elites that he once vehemently castigated. We watch in awe as one leader a once considered a Marxist, finds himself at the center of unsavory acts unbefitting his tremendous intellect and academic brilliance. And another leader finds herself embracing a rich white corporate heavy roller, whom she viciously attacked in a general election just about two short years ago.
The COVID-19 has not only unhinged our socio-economic model but has left naked for all to see, a barren collective leadership that now finds everything, apart from sunseekers on their beaches, beyond their bankrupt imagination.
We expect to see more pigs walking on their hindlegs.
Sir William
Of course we agree with much of your analysis.
However, the pipedream that some misbegotten set of ‘progressive forces” could somehow get into the way of Pachamama as She wreaks total destruction on all of Christendom requires a belief system which has outlived its usefulness.
Sir William, you must come to know that this world has already rejected the best chance it had to make this a better world evidenced by the intelectual whores to whom you referenced. The stars will never again be aligned in that way again. At leat, not for 24000 years.
We advise you to get of the way and let the Great Mother have at them.
@William,
spot on. but all in vain.
it was quite ironic that when giving that all- is – legal- with -the-appointment -of -the-DCOP BS speech flanking her was no other than Maloney.
the real question is- what can we do to get Black Bajans to take ownership and command of their economic future and stop this mendicant behaviour?
It will stop when the political class leads by example in thoughts, words and deeds.
@ David BU at 8:15 AM
True . Thue. True ! The thoughts, the words and the deeds are out of alignment.
@Vincent
why are we surprised? like this doesnt happen all the time and we fall for it all the time. seems like we are trapped in a (reoccurring) loop from which we cant extricate ourselves
What it is, we are happy to go with the flow because to change path calls for effort, calls for sacrifice, calls for discipline, calls for political actors to risk the popularity they crave, calls for the sycophants to be understanding, calls for NGOs and social activist to form partnerships…
@PRO Skinner, no one can dispute the central themes of your org’s essay but reading this in 2020 I am dismayed rather than uplifted because it too could have been a screed written in 1989 …. and thus it leads me to ask: What have your team (generally) or others suitably minded, done to redress the deep seated issues raised?
Not picking on you or the MCG but rather saying that a screed like this sounds sweet but realistically does NOT properly address the concerns.
++What of the tepid prediction re the intent to kill unionism !
Let’s be frank, honest and blunt …. Many unions leaders have done the “pigs walking on their hindlegs” routine … In short they sold out.
So the MCG’s prophecy should add some provisio’s like: self induced extinction possible.
++ Absolutely “our economies will continue to be dominated by” others. Whose fault is this if not we Bajans who in our “relentless quest for wealth” and material shiny objects give our politicians repeated mandates to facilitate that domination.
++How is it that lack of interest in agriculture is “the worst kept secret in some islands”? How so???
Wasn’t in our political directorate that signed treaties like LOME in the 70s and subsequent pacts on agriculture (sugar primarily) and overtime due to all sorts of issues ( beet sugar, pricing etc) induced the bold and reckless discourse of getting rid of every single cane blade from the lands!!
Most of those pols were Black not White…
Besides by the third generation the experts suggest that family businesses can start to see strains of dissolution/lack of interest by the off-spring who shift into other things.
So all in all you speak eloquently but I ask that you bring a realism to your screed…
Let the blame go where it should… Let’s recognize the White-Black-Ethinic issues surely but FULLY appreciate that that is now about MONEY and POWER… He or she who has the money will get a seat at the table regardless of skin tone.
And thus I fully agree when you say: “We can no longer limit ourselves to pseudo intellectual mumbo jumbo…”
The time to ‘fight’ by BETTER controlling the levers of power is long overdue.
@Dee Word
Does it matter that they sold out or that we the citizenry needs to ensure the union movement remains strong for what it represents.
Unfortunately @David, in my half century time here so far I have not seen a continuous and thus truly successful effort that we the public have held the feet of union leaders or political leaders to the fire to ensure that they “remain strong for what [they are supposed to] represent.”
@Dee Word
Does COVID 19 pandemic present the opportunity to change course? Especially with 40% unemployment at present staring us in the face?
@ Mr William Skinner
As usual you can be depended on to pen a thought provoking article.
And to bring focus on who the criminals are AND THE REALITIES OF THE PATHWAYS THAT WE ARE OBVIOUSLY FOLLOWING
“…Against this background of leadership sycophancy, the MCG, has no choice other than to call on progressive forces to blunt this socio-economic destruction.
We can no longer limit ourselves to pseudo intellectual mumbo jumbo while our brothers and sisters, in some cases, work for less than $150 USD per week…”
I often wonder how and where change might enter into this equation AND NEW REALISTIC DIRECTIONS SET & ACHIEVED?
It truly is evident how paltry the choices of our gene pool are as we compare, contrast and try to compose a new symphony to meet the times.
The fact is that WHAT WE HAVE obviously does not work, and our political leaders AS WELL AS ITS COUNTERPART PRIVATE SECTOR ACTORS are devoid of any ideas!
If only one could see some small glimmer of hope.
I am mindful of your own efforts Mr. SKINNER and the changes that you envisioned then.
I look out on our landscape and see efforts at the micro level and some efforts that have national indicative impact e.g. Peter Lawrence Thompson and his outreaches.
But then I see how his initiatives are being crushed because he is among the small minded men and women of this BLP administration!
And suddenly it hits me!
Persons like you and Peter and others who still have Hope for improvement, and who wants to jump start the process, MUST APPROACH ALL 3 PLAYERS IN THE POLITICAL Arena , simultaneously
Not one or the other but all.
And take them a single idea that is a winner, WHICH NONE OF THEM CAN TEIF NOR REPLICATE!
And let all of them know of the other’s existence and interest.
This COVID-19 ENVIRONMENT IS GOING TO FORCE ALL THEIR ASSES TO VIE TO SUPPORT YOUR PROJECT
All them want to be seen as winners. While you, as innovators, dont really care about their respective interests, all you care about changing the US $300 per week iniquity.
Use the conditions to effect the needed change
De grandson could do a Cartoon for the promotion he been busy in de Caymans at de Bank so I dont hear him too regularly
But let all of them – BLP, DLP and PDP, contend among themselves to be part of progress.
@ Peter Lawrence Thompson
When I said “…because he is among the small minded men and women of this BLP administration!…” is did not mean that you are one of them.
Rather that you contend to bring your ideas to fruition while surrounded by these under performers
Needed to clarify that lest is be interpreted incorrectly
It will stop when the political class leads by example in thoughts, words and deeds
Right. Hope is a road in St Lucy.
The only thing that will happen is the continued empoverishmemt of the masses via increased inequality, financialization and globalization in all national economies and the inevitable strife and chaos.
These outcomes are certain. They are baked into the current world system. This understanding rather than a naive hankering after past eras is better preparation for the days ahead.
@ Dullard at 9 :37 AM
What do you mean to say? Are you suggesting that everything is predetermined and that Barbadians can do nothing to arrest inequality,financialisation and globalisation in Barbados? I am very disappointed to read that coming from you. I do not recall seeing any foreign forces seizing public assets and transferring them to capitalists. I do not recall seeing any alien bodies taking segregated pensions and insurance funds and handing them over to private speculators. Do you get the drift? Think on these things.
Dullard
Well said.
Finally Wily see’s “some” of the enlightened BU populace floating to the top of the cesspool, the big question is this MORE TALK or the sharp point of CHANGE. The PAST would dictate that the is just more elegant TALK in support of BAJAN’s greatest pastime, CHANGE GOSSIP. The change this COVID 19 is going to force on the Barbados populace is more likely to be one of DICTATORSHIP, which has already made significant inroads into the present society structure. The supposed intelligent and freely educated, indocternated populace is “SLOW”(mentally) to recognise this gradual creep of dictatorship, fascism, when and if the populace WAKES UP it’s going to be too late.
@ Pacha
Who will then write for those who have left?Your thesis that Pacharama will take of the oppressors is taken. She still requires our help. Always remember somebody showed us; we are in no position to let the call go unanswered Comrade Pacha.
@ DPD
Each of us has a duty to honor the blood of our ancestors.
@ Greene
We need a new culture.We cannot continue doing the same thing and expecting different results.
The longest day has an end.
Sir William
The same as happened previously in the preceding 5 extinction events. Pachamama intends to shake us off. No people were here even for last mass extinction event.
Pachamama is unfortunate not motivated by the personal concerns held by us both.
We have more than a modicum of respect for your efforts in tryinh to make the world a better place but that opportunity has passed and cannot be made to return.
@ Piece
I think that the PdP scored big on exposing the incompetent AG Marshall. Caswell certainly outfoxed the sleepy DLP. Our democracy seems to be on a slippery slope when a PM has to speak untruths to save a QC like herself. We are in Senator Franklyn’s debt.
I agree that one should take policy positions to the major politics players.
@ Piece
I think that the PdP scored big on exposing the incompetent AG Marshall. Caswell certainly outfoxed the sleepy DLP. Our democracy seems to be on a slippery slope when a PM has to speak untruths to save a QC like herself. We are in Senator Franklyn’s debt.
I agree that one should take policy positions to the major politics players.
@ Pachamama May 18, 2020 7:05 AM
Sir William, you must come to know that this world has already rejected the best chance it had to make this a better world evidenced by the intelectual whores to whom you referenced. The stars will never again be aligned in that way again. At leat, not for 24000 years.
We advise you to get of the way and let the Great Mother have at them.
++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
You sound like a man with the intellect shaped by the masters from the schools of thought influenced by Hermes Trismegestus.
Are you implying mankind has missed that ‘golden age’ opportunity in the Great (Solar) Year of TIME to make up and be ‘best friends’ with Pachamama?
How can ‘man’, in its current dimension, handle the coming Age of Aquarius unless the species is refashioned by the Piscean tail of emerging technologies?
They say a fish rots first from its head. Is that what we are witnessing as Christianity is put to the survival test?
Well we know the politicians can talk the talk but can they walk the walk?
They will get a taste of our financial reality when the April to May Vat returns are filed. What we have seen so far is our leaders dancing around the fire and talking, let’s see now who will be the first to walk on the financial flames of reality.
As far as tourism goes as I said before, i liken that under the post covid era to a man buying a bigger boat to fish in the same barren ocean he couldn’t catch anything in with his smaller boat.
We are hanging our hopes on an industry there is no market for in the medium term. Of course should another wave of the virus hit later this year or next year, that medium term could change to ” medium to long term.”
Surely our leaders can see the folly in doing this.
@ Wily Coyote May 18, 2020 10:06 AM
What do you mean? The Prime Minister’s construct of a “dictatorship”? There is no such dictatorship, because the people wanted a one-party democracy.
Rather we get the dictatorship of the international capital market. It is highly welcome to me, because as a globalist I believe in world governance of transnational private players.
In this game, Barbados is just a relay station for the offshore financial market and a resting place for the top international performers in their mansions and villas.
May 18, 2020 8:15 AM
It will stop when the political class leads by example in thoughts, words and deeds.
The political class is incapable of thoughts and deeds, but can emit all the words in the world.
The problem is the words have made the economic class go elsewhere to practice their skills and benefit from the talents given them.
@ Wily e Coyote
“… The change this COVID 19 is going to force on the Barbados populace is more likely to be one of DICTATORSHIP, which has already made significant inroads into the present society structure…”
There is an experiment that uses a set of coloured sneakers and asks people what colours they see.
It is claimed that, if you have a shortage of certain colour detectors in your eyes, cones, or in the actual pathways to your brain!
Imagine if I came to you and decried your daughter or son? The normal response from a parent in a case like this is akin to colour blindness, we rarely see our children’s faults.
Hopefully, in this 30 to 0 whitewash, in the absence of everyone else, Mia Mottley’s blackness will be seen!
I note that you continue to speak about the people and sheeple dat de ole man often talks about here daily.
I does get de Honourable Blogmaster and a few others of he sheeple here quite vex.
You continued to say and I quote
“…The supposed intelligent and freely educated, indocternated populace is “SLOW”(mentally) to recognise this gradual creep of dictatorship, fascism, when and if the populace WAKES UP it’s going to be too late…”
Men like you and Mr Vincent Codrington and Mr. William Skinner and the Sage Annunaki are well educate men who speak words that never carry abusive language. I wish I was like dat!
Wunna is men who, in real life, de ole man never see wunna use a bad word yet (I should add I never saw Mr Skinner in real life)
Wunna does use reason and logic to progress a point!
I however, while grappling with my obvious absence of those gentlemanly skills in this incarnation, realize that we got a majority of sheeple to interact with AND LITTLE TIME. So dat is why i does get on like I mek meself hoping dat de cussing and ting will wake up more people
But Mr. Wily e Coyote you, in two short paragraphs, have said what de old man knew and knows to be true.
Mugabe Amin Mottley is a dictator and seeks to be President for Life and will destroy all constitutional rights to achieve that objective
Sir William
We see 4 Iranian tankers are on their way to your ‘one Caribbean nation’ – its seas
Transporting fuels for the good people of the Bolivarian Republic.
We know that you are want to avoid issues which you consider non-Caribbean.
How do you locate this one as the Criminal-in-Chief believes that he owns the world?
That he can sanction countries and determine who trades with whom.
How can we continue to think about any regional issue absent the wider environments in which it must operate?
Miller
As you know we locate our thinking with the ones from whom the Greeks learnt every thing they pretended to have known.
Central to that philosophical construction is the great multi-genius Imhotep.
Yes, we are minded that COMMUNISM/SOCIALISM, especially as developed by our Afrikan ancestors, was the best available organizing principle. We’ve found a way to nearly kill them.
Of course, our ancestors interpreted long-ranged phenomena with reference to the cosmos.
Moreover, the universe does not operate in ways to allow this phenomenon, a chance to re-order the world, to occur out of cycle.
We are already in the Age of Aquarius – 20 to 30 years in.
Pisces, the age of the fish, is gone. Therefore has no effect over the way of Aquarius. Water and woman are now ruling.
The Christians and their fish symbolism are dead in their fiery hell. Meaning they will have no affect on the Great Mother. .
The death of the unions is not unlike the death of the plantations. Demise occurs when those who make the decisions forget why they exist in the first place. What is their value proposition? Change becomes the enemy, not an opportunity.
Beyond the public sector and associated entities, the union movement is practically dead. Has been for years.
On an individual basis, humble pie maybe confused with power and status. The results, trump the path by which the destination was reached. One can expound on the path, yet does the person really care? We are often fooled by people. We assume we know who they are and what they stand for, until no longer in opposition or junior roles, they get to make decisions. And those decisions would not be our decisions? And like the dawn and sunset, this occurs repeatedly; just like our disappointment, and yet we imagine this will change.
Folks the rumblings have started with the PM talking about going to legislate the law governing public sector wage cuts and the unions saying it can’t happen hey!
Well to the union I say half a loaf better than none and dem got a choice. Take the wage cut of 5 or 10 percent or watch a few thousand members go home.
The MOF also comfirmed she was experiencing a short fall in revenue in excess of $400M so far. First sign that I have seen of post covid reality from government. Actually though by time the May figures come in the shortfall should be well over $500M. Remember she wouldn’t see the VAT returns for April and May before June 20th!
Madam PM ask the union boss if 30% of her membership stop paying their dues if she would still drive the Mercedes and have a big office? The union like all of us better realise fast they are in a post covid economy and that the private sector layoffs ain t start good yet.
What will the unions do? Call a national strike? If they do will workers follow? NO not in the same works agree the union leadership has played the a** in recent years. Now we are here.
What do you mean to say? Are you suggesting that everything is predetermined and that Barbadians can do nothing to arrest inequality,financialisation and globalisation in Barbados? I am very disappointed to read that coming from you. I do not recall seeing any foreign forces seizing public assets and transferring them to capitalists. I do not recall seeing any alien bodies taking segregated pensions and insurance funds and handing them over to private speculators. Do you get the drift? Think on these things.
@Vincent
Fiat money, fractional reserve banking and credit based finance has only one outcome when taken to its logical conclusion: ever increasing intractability then implosion under its own weight . It is less an issue of predestination but more about cause and effect.
Globalisation is its own worst enemy. The same reasons that recommend it are why it is so dangerous. Case in point. An honest. hardworking carpenter in St John cant go to work and provide for his family because ostensibly, people ate bats from a market in Central China.
@ William Skinner…Freedom can See that you are Disgruntled and you have a Lot of Traditional Peeves, you want to sound Enlightened but what you Speak is Regressive and although you have Spoken Many things, It is All to do with Tearing Down, Show us what you want to Build Up! And then maybe Freedom will Listen to you.
You sound like Your Brand of the Old Agenda you somehow think it is Magically going to Work…Tell us Where it has Worked before?
RE… “Each of us has a duty to honor the blood of our ancestors.”
AGREED, SO TO REMOVE WHAT THE CARIBBEAN PEOPLE HAVE ACHIEVED IS TO DISHONOUR THEM!
https://clmbmarketing.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/11/every-accomplishment-starts-motivational-meme-1.jpg
Exactly. I think the workers have all been keeping track of what’s going on in the world. If the union play the ass the workers will see it as projecting their dues and not them. Why wouldn’t a sensible union agree to keeping all employed at a lower wage as opposed to some winning and others losing?
@William SkinnerMay 18, 2020 10:26 AM
I heard you contribution to Brasstacks on Friday 15, May. Well done.
The usual WHAT but no HOW or WHY. Sigh.
Enuff
That is untrue.
Writers don’t operate in a vacuum. And it is always impossible to say everything in 750 words. This writer, above, has no need to repeat all the things previously stated by him.
But the ‘WHY” was obvious and dealt with. The writer is talking about regional survival. Or must he read and write for you?
And the ‘HOW” was essentially proposal to replace the dearth in political and other elite leadership from all parties/forces, including yours, in the wider region, with a more enlightened ethos.
It can also be said that you only criticize this particular writer, with the same refrain, because he may have disagreed with your BLP regime more often than not.
In any event, should you not be looking to the Mottley regime and demanding the WHY and the HOW you seem to be seeking? Were they not elected to answer your every question?
The usual WHAT but no HOW or WHY. Sigh.
Where is the HOW or WHY from you Lord and Master, President Mugabe?
Why don’t you jot down a few thoughts of your own? If you can.
@ Hants May 18, 2020 3:23 PM
Barbadians are lucky to have such a great and strong woman like Mia Mottley as their leader.
“the Barbados Workers’ Union (BWU) is calling on the Ministry of Labour to urgently address” [quote]
see the issue?
as a unionized employee, or any employee, my take away is the power, the value to me, lies with the Ministry of Labour. What could the BWU be DOING, other than calling upon somebody else to act?
Is this a dereliction of their role, of how they create/prove value to their membership or potential new members.
@ David May 18, 2020 2:50 PM
If our unreasonable unions prevail (better unemployed than wage cuts), we will soon have 60 percent unemployment.
@David, previously you have answered your rhetorical query posed at 9:05 AM… so yes absolutely “… COVID 19 pandemic present[s] the opportunity to change course […] Especially with 40% unemployment at present staring us in the face”…. The fact, however, as the BU economists, progressives and enlightened entrepreneurs have noted is simple: that ain’t really going to happen if left up to the government.
The course change is obviously one WE have to make … WE MAKE the pols change … they NEVER change otherwise!
@Northern, that 2:12 PM post was smooth. Very smooth. I offer that your simple sentence “Demise occurs when those who make the decisions forget why they exist in the first place” is essentially the alpha and omega of ALL these debates on governance.
If only those MPs could recall WHY our forefathers were motivated to shed their safety so that we could enjoy this wondrous life we now enjoy (pre covid of course) and if only WE too could remember the realities of those grievous struggles then all this BS corruption, talk of dictatorship, etc etc would absolutely not be as problematic…. because we would purposely demand a different destination to ‘trump’ this current crazy path.
So ABSOLUTELY on our “…individual basis” there is NO “humble pie” because everything is about “power and status”.
I would challenge you on one point, however: are we in fact “often fooled by people” or do we wantonly accept them as a mirror image of ourselves and reason that ‘there too I would go, if given the chance’! …. As an example, absolutely we know what Mia Motley stands for because we have seen and read of her exploits – good, bad and indifferent – since she was a lass at QC … that’s over 35 years now we have seen her take-no-prisoners personality as a leading public figure!
[A]nd yet we imagine [things] will change. NOW … UNLESS WE MAKE THAT CHANGE … so the same question remains: are WE going to continue to forget or change the status quo!
Well stated sir!
Pachamama
Well enlighten me. Point me to where the WHY and WHAT in relation to manufacturing is stated.
The discussion on BU is dominated by old men who in their insulanism still believe that Barbados is the centererror intuitu personaey of the world. This limited view is only too understandable.
There is no such thing as unemployment. A Barbadian VIP told me yesterday, “unemployment is a state of mind, not fate”.
The masses are just too lazy to look for work. In Greater Guyana, they construct new buildings and roads every day. The highest economic growth in human history. They need lots of house servants and construction workers there.
Time for Barbadians to emigrate instead of causing high costs to the NIS.
Enuff
Before you wanted the WHY and the HOW.
Now you want the WHAT and the WHY.
Ask Uncle Mia. She is the one who said ‘watch muh’
We watching! LOL
Pachamama
Show muh the WHAT, HOW and WHY. A lotta obsolescent talk. Wey de hard evidence? #idontpostfuhlikes
@ Pacha
No POTUS has ever respected our waters. They appointed themselves the supreme leaders of the world. It’s not that I don’t understand our region’s importance in global matters but spending long periods discussing them without deeply analysing our many issues present some challenges for me. Using our waters for any reason other than our own must be condemned.
Thanks for reminding others that I have been sending BU WHYS and HOWS for years.
@ Freedom Crier
Read the above
@ Bajan in New York
Thanks for the shout out
@DIW
you know writing is not a strength. But I try. So you can take ‘often fooled by people’ to mean whatever the reader wishes, be it a mirror image or not. Which is certainly one angle. I would use a single word to describe all 3 personas sketched. Dangerous. And again, the reader can determine their risk tolerance and limits.
Well, it looks as if he have wait before we declare victory over COVID-19. Seem as if people can come to the island whilst infected. They tempting God.
https://barbadostoday.bb/2020/05/19/covid-19-update-two-new-cases/
“They are a 58-year-old Barbadian woman, who arrived in the island yesterday and whose case is under investigation, and a 42-year-old crew member of one of the cruise ships off Barbados, who was transferred from the ship for emergency medical treatment.”
https://barbadostoday.bb/2020/05/19/ambassador-liz-thompson-tests-positive-for-covid-19/
“Ms Thompson arrived on a private jet and was tested at Paragon immediately after her arrival. This morning we received information that her test was positive”.
” All precautionary measures and protocols are being observed.”
Best wishes to the Thompson family.
That is like bolting the gate after the horse fled.
Best wishes to the Thompson family.
Barbados’ Minister of health has just announced that Barbados now has zero COVID19 cases, and that there have been no new infections for the past 35 days.
We wish the same for the rest of the world.
The issue of some employers cutting workers’ pay was mentioned on BU recently, but ignored. Their reasoning is that if government can do it to public sector workers, then they can do it to privately employed people.
Where is this money going? Here is the powerless union appealing to the Ministry of Labour. So, we have employers cutting wages, not paying VAT ort national insurance. What is the government doing about this?
We can either be ultra-nationalistic and praise everything Barbadian, or accept that we are in deep doo doo. Every one of those businesses cutting wages should be shut down and barricaded. Every single one. Then take the protest to the owners homes. Their lives should be made as miserable as possible.
Where has the government cut the wage of public sector employees?
How many private sector companies have been exposed and the result?
@Hal Austin June 26, 2020 12:23 PM “Their lives should be made as miserable as possible.”
My boy Hal beginning to sound like Theresa May. Is that an English thingy? To make other people’s lives miserable?
“In 2012 Theresa May, who was the Conservative Home Secretary at the time, introduced the Hostile Environment Policy saying that: “The aim is to create, here in Britain, a really hostile environment for illegal immigrants”.In May 2007 Liam Byrne, who was the Labour immigration minister at the time, had referred to a “hostile environment” in an announcement of a consultation document: “We are trying to create a much more hostile environment in this country if you are here illegally”
@Simple Simon
A few weeks ago some here were preaching Banjans would starve. The country would run out of food. The COVID infections would skyrocket. What a few weeks make, meanwhile elsewhere at the farm…
Meanwhile elsewhere at the farm Donna planted some banana suckers and pomegranate and she is going out right now to transplant eggplant, Chinese cabbage, spinach, basil and dill.