The blogmaster changed the title submitted – David, blogmaster

grenville-phillips
Submitted by Grenville Phillips II

If your house was flooded with water, and the water level was rising, what would you do? The obvious solution would be to close the water faucet, and then start cleaning up.

With our COVID-19 cases rising, we recommended closing our borders to visitors and shutting down the economy for 2 weeks, starting Wednesday 25 March 2020 (Point 1 on the graph). We stated that that date was critical to reducing internal transmission rates to zero, with minimal disruption.
That advice was not accepted, and we waited until the horse was out of the stable to do a half-hearted shut down on Sunday night (Point 2 on the graph). However, for some mysterious reason, we kept the faucet running.
All of our cases can be traced to someone who was allowed to enter through our open ports. If we wanted to keep them open, then the obvious solution would be to test everyone for the virus before letting them into our general population.

barbados-covid-graph

That advice was not accepted either. So to the present day, we continue to allow persons to enter Barbados without being tested. We again plead with the Government to close the faucet, so that we can start to get this under control. This now has fatal consequences.
On Wednesday 1 April 2020, the Government instituted a mandatory 14-day quarantine for everyone who arrived in Barbados. It would be a far more efficient use of our resources to test each traveller, and only quarantine the infected persons. But that advice was not accepted either.
As can be seen from the graph, the number of cases is not declining. How can it unless we close the faucet, or at the very least, test everyone who enters? Why is this so difficult to understand?
RECOMMENDATIONS
A 14-day shut-down could have been effective, but we are not taking advantage of this opportunity. If the number of cases on Sunday 12 April 2020 is about 75, then we would have unnecessarily squandered this opportunity.
If the shut-down is extended, because there is no improvement, then you need to survive. If you are receiving welfare grants, or have been selected to share in the Government’s $10M needy families program, or similar programs, then you should be looked after.
Due exclusively to Government’s procurement policies, many Barbadian are either working-poor, or house-poor, or both. If their job or house excludes them from receiving assistance, then they still need to look after their families.
Banks have provided a useful mortgage deferred payment initiative. Banks will allow persons to not make any mortgage payments for the next three months. After that time, you may have three options.
You may: pay the accumulated mortgage after the 3 months; extend your mortgage for three months; or treat the unpaid mortgage as a short-term loan, and pay it back over an agreed time.
The main benefit is that if you are not earning for a prolonged period, then you have the option of spending your remaining money on food, without putting your mortgage at risk.
We recommend that you communicate with your bank on what you want to do, before making another mortgage payment.
Grenville Phillips II is a Chartered Structural Engineer and President of Solutions Barbados. He can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

335 responses to “COVID Pleading”

1. MEDIA WANTS TO WHIP US UP INTO A FRENZY!!

Now you May Begin to Understand that there is a Bigger Ploy Intended that is the Panic Pandemic of Fear to Control the Masses!

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=10163476233690296&set=a.10152256076715296&type=3&theater

2. @ MoneyBrain,

To be fair, that was only until the City was opened. Remember Big Bang? The Yanks came in and shook that up. I remember the days, arrive at work at 8.30am, work to 1pm, have a 2-3hour lunch, then go home. The introduction of the big investment banks, out went the old family names.
    In Fleet Street, we did much the same thing on a four-day week – long lunches and outing your credit card behind the bar and settling at the end of the evening.
    People do not do long lunches now, and even so they do not drink alcohol at lunchtime. People now routinely work a six-day week.
    As to the quality of the leadership, I can vouch for that. It is one reason why I am so angry with our political and business leaders. If only they get rid of the nonsense about being world class and think they CAN become world class. We have the potential, but egos get in the way.

3. “Grenville Phillips II has been unanimously re-elected as president, to lead Solutions Barbados for another one-year term. His re-election took placed on Thursday, April 9 during the political party’s Annual General Meeting. It was held virtually to comply with the current COVID-19 restrictions. In accordance with Solutions Barbados’ Constitution, two independent committees must be elected at each annual meeting. An Executive Committee is elected to manage the organisation. An independent 3-member Disciplinary Committee, separate from the Executive, is elected to resolve any disputes.”

Who are the other members of the Executive and other committees referred to above? See why I can’t take GPII seriously?

4. who chose Santia to act as PM? was it the PM or a majority of MPs?

5. AS PROOF OF THEIR HIGHEST LEVEL OF COLLABORATION AND INTEGRATION, THE FIRST COUNTRY THAT XI XINPING CALLED TO TALK ABOUT “CORONAVIRUS” WAS CUBA. HE TALKED WITH MIGUEL DIAZ-CANEL AND RAUL CASTRO ON FEBRUARY 29.

RELATIONS BETWEEN CUBA AND COMMUNIST CHINA

By Luis Zuñiga

Luis Zuñiga is a diplomat, international analyst and former Cuban political prisoner for 19 years…

Did you know that the Caribbean is the first place where Communist China began its engagement with the region? This article by a well known international analyst and activist explores the alliance between the Cuban Regime and Communist China.

Cuba was the first Latin American and Caribbean country that established diplomatic relations with Communist China in 1960. From that moment on, their ties, like a roller coaster, have been full of ups and downs, with periods of closeness followed by periods of distancing that eventually culminated in fraternal gestures.

The frustration of Fidel Castro with the Soviets for the way that Nikita Kruschev dealt with the Missile Crisis in 1962, disregarding him completely, moved him to establish a closer relationship with the Chinese who, at that time, had serious discrepancies with the Soviets for diverging from Stalinism, a political ideology fervently supported by Mao Zedong.

The Chinese, who were rejected by the majority of countries in the world, saw the Cuban rapprochement with satisfaction and, without hesitation, helped Castro in solving rice scarcity in Cuba. The relationship was warm and, as it was common at the time, there were frequent diplomatic and political visits where the countries signed numerous agreements that were never accomplished. But, as the Cuban crisis worsened, it became harder for the Chinese to meet the ever-growing economic assistance that Castro requested. Eventually, in 1966, Castro distanced the country from the Chinese and he returned to the Soviet sphere of influence, as he was convinced that the Soviets were the only ones who could support his regime economically.

For several years, the Sino-Cuban relations were kept within a formal framework that was almost distant, especially since Communist China began its economic reforms under Deng Xiaoping in the 80s. During that time, the relations between Castro and Brezhnev’s Soviet Union were excellent. The Castro regime watched the Chinese experiment’s special economic zones (SEZ) cautiously and suspiciously, without understanding the Chinese political maneuver to save their totalitarian communist system.

Read More @… https://freedomsynergy.world/relations-between-cuba-and-communist-china-p379-117.htm?fbclid=IwAR1UCDGMAaGps7tKM_iMBMeTM2Vfu0Q6vkA-UxfaeOSBRbFXok8JzlxcKH4

https://freedomsynergy.world/clients/freedomsynergy/4-7-2020-1-50-28-PM-8999230.jpg

AMERICA IS THE LAST BASTION OF FREEDOM IF THEY LOSE FREEDOM HERE…

CHOOSE FREEDOM OR TYRANNY

“THE GOAL OF SOCIALISM IS COMMUNISM”…Vladmir Lenin

“A BITTER FOUNTAIN DOES NOT BRING FORTH SWEET WATER”.

https://www.quotemaster.org/images/91/915fe431cc2d63add3b6468670a54f21.jpg

6. Hal AustinApril 10, 2020 10:25 AM

@ John

Ten years ago we had a banking crisis and capitalism had to be rescued by the monetary system (G20); now we have a health/medical crisis, which is leading to a supply side crisis, and it is being saved through fiscal programmes from the major economies.
    Your idol Trump, is handing out US$2.2trn, this from a president that cannot afford a proper health care service for the 45m people without insurance.
    Funny thing, capitalism. We now have insurance companies and banks in the UK that want to pay out hundreds of millions in dividends. So it looks as if they have no morality either. Is there a cultural reason why white Barbadians find it easy supporting Trump, Boris, Mussolini and others? Does it remind them of days of old? Just asking.

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Don’t bother asking! These are the same people who cussed me and called me disrespectful for turning my back to the British monarch Elizabeth when QC staked my black skin out in the sun to line the streets in 1976. Don’t recall it bothering any of the blacks. Just the white Barbadians. I was supposed to be a happy little native and abide by the status quo. I don’t think they ever forgave me. Never bothered me because nobody in my family ever had to ask them for employment. And I just recently told my son, who has only heard second hand about their attitude, that he will NOT take a part time job while he studies, not with ANY of their ilk. I am well able to pay him pocket money for his chores and he makes some money through his own enterprise. which I have advised him to save and re-invest as needed. I am well able to take care of all his needs and most of his wants that I consider appropriate. I have a long memory

I know what these guys are made of and it isn’t pretty!

7. Yuh could call that no solutions party a ghost party. And i hereby appoint myself the chief ghostbuster!

8. 🙂 Grenville made a serious misstep when he took up his bat and ball and walked away. When he comes out to ply in 2022/23 he will find that tsulking doesn’t pay 🙂

9. @Greene

This is a word of mouth feedback? Can you share some specifics to inform a constructive conversation?

10. https://youtu.be/AroNyp9ovUc

Yup! Just like Alice the Democrats fell unsuspectingly down the rabbit hole and were late for the tea party. And now it’s going to be a long hard fight to end the nightmare.

11. David,

about what?

12. About your charge of price gouging in Barbados.

13. TheOGazertsApril 10, 2020 3:35 PM

🙂 Grenville made a serious misstep when he took up his bat and ball and walked away. When he comes out to ply in 2022/23 he will find that tsulking doesn’t pay 🙂

Grenville had a coconut branch for a bat and a tennis ball with which he was trying to play test cricket. He did not sulk off the field. He just realized he was ill equipped to play. He was being embarrassed. He had no answer but to call people who saw his fake claims and called them out “haters” and “cyberbullies”. When others finally tired of his inadequacies and began calling him out HE WISELY EXITED. I am sure he is counting on the notoriously short memories of Barbadians and our tendency to say “cuhdear” to allow him to re-enter the fray at a later date. I bet he will spend no time whatsoever trying to acquire a good kit bag of equipment but shall return with the same coconut bat and tennis ball. Hopefully he will find Malcolm Marshall, Gordon Greenidge and Deandra Dottin waiting to show him up all over again.

14. i didnt make any charge about price gouging in this thread. in another thread i said they are confirmed reports of price gouging in Bim during the lockdown. what more would you like me to add.

i got that from a cousin in the country side. she shopped at a village shop and an item that cost 2.35 last week is 3$ now. that is confirmation enuff for me

15. So based on one report of one item it provoked a cry of price gouging? At a village shop? Seriously?

16. “who chose Santia to act as PM? was it the PM or a majority of MPs?”

Ask the Constitution or the Pitbull!🤣🤣

17. Actually, from $2.35 to $3.00 is not that uncommon in Barbados. Could very well be business as usual. But that aside, I agree with David that one report of one item at one village shop is not enough to provoke a cry of price gouging.

Please! Be serious! Remember what happened to the boy who cried wolf prematurely!

18. that was not the only item either. she said overnight almost all the basic items went up. when the shopkeeper was confronted she said you can buy it or go shop elsewhere with a smile

19. Village shops tend to hike prices based on demand or if an item is scarce. Doesn’t make it right but has been the practice from time in memorial.

20. Emma Clarke taught at Ormiston Bolingbroke Academy in Runcorn
    A teacher has died at the age of 35 after it is believed she contracted Covid-19, the school’s principal has said in a letter to parents.
    Emma Clarke, who taught at Ormiston Bolingbroke Academy in Runcorn, Cheshire, died on Thursday after becoming unwell, the school has said.
    In a letter to parents, principal Tony Rawdin described Ms Clarke as “one of those people who everyone liked”.
    She was “a much-loved and gifted member of staff”, he added.
    “She was a brilliant science teacher and very popular with her pupils, not least her Year 11 tutor group, and her colleagues,” said Mr Rawdin.
    He said staff and students would be able to remember Ms Clarke together when the academy reopens.
    Mr Rawdin added: “For now, I speak for everyone connected with the school in saying that we will always remember Emma extremely fondly.”(Quote)

21. fair enuff. so are you saying that is not price gouging? you know there were earlier reports on gouging, right? i have no first hand knowledge or even second hand of that so i dont want to speak to it. i am sure others can.

22. Making he point it happens and not related to the curfew necessarily.

23. @enuff

Santia was chosen by MAM according to my BLP friends and it has been noted and not gone down all that well. first off she did not attend any of the well known old secondary schools, she was not educated at UWI and does not practice “real law.”

as there is no constitutional position of deputy PM it exists at the whim of the PM. Freundel did the same as did many Bim PMs. i have real issues with this, a PM and deputy PM should always be in place

i have to say i think she is a joker. from how she handled the 11 plus and then ending the school term was juvenile. how she vacillated over the closure of the supermarkets was worse.

24. @Greene

Who will dare to challenge Mua? Not a boy.

25. David

in that u r correct. none of them has the balls so to do. she is not easy to deal with and she has stacked the deck well. it would take a syndicate

26. The more pertinent question – is the skillset present in the parliamentary group to come close to rivaling her.

27. man what skillset? she is just a talk ass bird. as a minister she was a failure. look back at her record in education, foreign affairs, and as AG. she is not a policy person. not good at fine details. has no accomplishments as a minister. she is just brand name. i knew her way back when in school debates and she was all bluster. she is still good at that and it hides her many faults.

but we like it so

28. You have not answered the question, who do you recommend to be a good challenger for the job.

29. Greene
    Well there is your answer–the Constitution. So why come on the blog and try to be a whore? Look how long PMs in Bdos and throughout the Caribbean have been appointing acting PMs. Now all of a sudden you’re trying to pelt spaghetti. But you ain’t a Dem, right? Furthermore, haven’t your partner repeatedly belittled UWI degrees and recently praise the one chosen? You soon collapse with nausea from so much spinning. All yuh too dishonest!

30. @Enuff

didnt the BLP come to power promising to right all wrongs, to be transparent and promising to enact proper governance reforms?

i have never and will never hid the fact that i support the DLP over the BLP.

the rest is throw away nonsense

31. Greene
    Oh shite, right the wrongs? So a PM appointing an acting PM is a wrong and should be a Cabinet decision? Using this as a basis, who should the PM confer with to appoint and disappoint Ministers? Jesus take de wheel! Nausea mi sey. #donkeylogic

32. dont you think that if something happens to a PM there should be a clear line of succession?

that the country would not have to wait until a PM is selected to know who is PM?

becos it wasnt done before do you think it should always continue that way?

in fact i believe you should be voting knowing who is likely PM and deputy PM

where is the other nonsense coming from?

33. A PM is selected by the parliamentary group not so? Appointing a deputy although the PM in seat preferred means nothing if a PM vacates office outside of process.

34. David,

i didnt realise that was a question? should she be challenged?

i dont get the sense that Santia would command a majority of MPs at the moment and i dont see anyone else with a clear majority either.

i think Payne could get 5 or so behind him but not the newer people. the others are light weight.

Marshall for his years in Parliament should be more commanding but he has no presence.
    Bostic’s voice is too high pitched: he and MAM should exchange.

so no, i see no rivals. but nature abhors a vacuum.

35. @Greene

Then it behoves you to hurry back to improve the bench strength of the DLP before 2023…lol.

36. David

didnt i say this- in fact i believe you should be voting knowing who is likely PM and deputy PM?

what i mean by that is every party should go into an election with a named PM and deputy

if a constitution change is required then do it. we have done so frivolously to get certain people to be senators, havent we?

what is to stop them from getting together now and choosing a deputy PM

37. David,

would i get your support lol

38. @Greene

You would have to earn it.

39. Worth a listen!!

40. that is fair enuff

41. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David, very well said at 6:48 PM re “A PM is selected by the parliamentary group not so? Appointing a deputy although the PM in seat preferred means nothing if a PM vacates office outside of process.

The refrain a deputy essential really does NOT apply here!

@Greene to what avail really in naming a deputy during campaigns…there are all sorts of political sloganeering and imaging that makes that an attractive feature on the trail but as David said in our Westminster system in can make a jot of difference …. the person who commands the respect and support of a majority of MPs is the one to lead in a non-electoral PM departure..

Writing it into the constitution is totally unnecessary as we do NOT have the immediacy of a power vacuum that can create a major problem as say the lack of a stated deputy in US would cause.

In short… a solution seeking a problem where there is non really!

42. By the way, I would think that the model did not factor in extreme measures such as those that have been taken. The revision downwards is likely as a result of such measures. Or to put it another way, if we had continued shaking hands, kissing and hugging, sneezing, coughing and breathing in each other’s faces, did not wear masks and wash our hands frequently, the worst case scenario may very well have occurred.

43. I see your Looney Tune and raise you a better one!

44. “Crops rotting in fields. Dairy farmers incentivized to quit for good. Beef/pork processors shutting down. All by design. Spread the word and make sure everyone starts growing food, no matter how small scale — every bit helps.”

https://youtu.be/m4jr0wkt7HY

45. “in fact i believe you should be voting knowing who is likely PM and deputy PM.”

PMs usually have safe seats that they earned, certainty of victory at the polls for the Deputy PM would also be required. Should you know the Ministers and their portfolios too?

46. Corona World Order

“Some are suggesting that the current crisis is the end of globalization, or that it will wipe out the New World Order altogether . . . but they are wrong. In fact, this crisis is the globalists’ dream, and what we are witnessing is the birth of a totalitarian control grid the likes of which could scarcely have been imagined before this pandemic panic kicked off. Welcome to the Corona World Order.”

CorbettReport(DOT)com/coronaworldorder/

https://youtu.be/HB00mLArYBQ

47. Good VIDEO AGAIN MONEY BRAIN
    MAY GOD PROTECT USA FROM DR FALSY AND DR BURP AND THEIR LIES
    GO OUT AND BUY YOUR SCWEPPES FRIENDS
    GOOD ADVICE

HE MAKES A GOOD POINT

WILL DR FALSE’S VACCINE BE SUBJECTED TO DOUBLE BLIND CLINICAL TRIALS?
    BUT DR FALSY SAID ONE SHOULD GET DOUBLE BLIND CLINICAL TRIALS FOR A DRUG THAT HAS BEEN AROUND FOR OVER 5O YEARS THAT IS KNOWN TO HAVE A WIDE THERAPEUTIC INDEX